Barbadians were promised in recent days that 10 new garbage trucks – urgently needed – would have been mobilized in time for the Holidays. Although there has been no official announcement by the Mia Mottley government as to why a faulty configuration of the 10 trucks have prevented deployment, information in the public space indicates that the cab of the truck accommodates only two persons and the standing bar on the outside,  one instead of two. It should be noted this government in its infinite wisdom has recruited a PR/Communications team that is second to none if compared to previous governments. There is no reason information should not be readily available regarding matters affecting state apparatus.

The blogmaster is sympathetic to the fact there will be breakdowns in procedure from time to time, although it should never happen in a well functioning system. Garbage collection continues to be a hot button issue and the government leading into the last general election was not bashful about reminding the electorate the former government had not purchased a single garbage truck during its 10 year tenure.

The embarrassing fiasco currently playing out that the $400,000 dollar garbage truck x 10 will have to be retrofitted – no doubt at taxpayers expense – is cause for concern. Given the size of the procurement order, coupled with the importance of the transaction to maintaining a clean environment, a simple thought at the time of signing off on the purchase order should have suggested that those responsible ensure the garbage trucks  ‘fit for purpose’.

All that is left for the blogmaster to opine is that any self respecting administration should immediately request the resignation of the minister responsible (Trevor Prescod) and chairman of the Sanitation Service Authority (Rudy Grant) with immediate effect. We have to start to hold our officials accountable. Given historical behaviour the firing and or resignation of ministers appear to be removed from the remit of the Prime Minister.

The blogmaster is keenly aware the political polarization that exist means that every mistake will be amplified for political gain. This blogmaster is more concerned to ask – how was this sizeable mistake allowed to happen given the modus operandi of this government in period of enhanced financial surveillance ans austerity.

Thg more things change the more they remain the same.

668 responses to “Garbage Trucks Saga”

1. The only thing these limited intellect backstabbing crooks in parlaiment want to do is boast about how great Barbados is for visiting, how about making it great for the majority citizens so they can enrich themselves, enjoy their estates, pass their estates on to their beneficiaries without getting robbed, not have to worry about their bank accounts and properties being robbed, not having to worry about their tax money and pensions being stolen… and be able to live free of parasites and racists…..you thieves..

2. @WURA-WAR-on-U December 31, 2019 10:22 AM “…achieve billionaire status…”

Who say billionaire status is an achievement? Steve Jobs int dead? Donald Trump brother int dead from all the drugs he put in his system? Being a billionaire doesn’t mean that one cannot also be a complete idiot.

3. @Tron December 31, 2019 10:30 AM “…a court jester of the government…”

Glad you recognize yourself for the court joker that you are.

Ga long do and sing for your supper.

4. They are the ones believe they are achieving billionaire status by stealing from the people Simple…they steal your money and estates and then look down on the same Black population…black like themselves mind you…and believe they are better…they carry a lot of contempt for their own black skin.

that is why i get so pissed to see the population elevating these parasites to some kinda false stardom when they are nothing more than the PEOPLE’S EMPLOYEES.

5. de Pedantic dribbler

I know the “issue isn’t really about the ‘actual value’ of the trucks,” but I raised it for a specific reason.

However, I agree with you and Caswell Franklyn re the “seeming infelicities and “incompetent’ missteps in the procurement process!”

The politicians and their apologists will be quick to remind us that state-owned and quasi government entities do not necessarily have to follow central government guidelines, since the rules governing those entities allow the Board to by-pass certain procedures and make decisions they believe are in the immediate interest of SOE.

More often than not, they manipulate the rules. Look at what happened at the Transport Board, QEH. The post of General Manager was abolished at TB and replaced with Chief Executive Officer……. and Hospital Director with Executive Chairman.

Recall on Saturday, October 26, 2019, during his presentation at the 81st BLP Annual Conference in Queen’s Park, SSA Chairman, Senator Rudy Grant announced government ordered 12 “purpose built” garbage trucks. But these would take seven to nine months to make, because the chassis were built in Japan and the bodies in Iowa. All of the former in the United States and the latter were completed so the manufacturing of the trucks was taking place. As they were completed, they would be shipped to Barbados.

Grant said on a previous occasion, they would “consider a different approach” to getting trucks in a shorter period of time.

It begs the question if duh did purchase dem new garbage trucks from Mexico, wuh happen tuh de 12 trucks, the chassis of which were built in Japan and the bodies in Iowa?

6. “Parks her car in the road at a corner ALL of the time even though she has a big, big driveway,”

she is very lucky the car has not disappeared yet, now that would really hurt the fool’s pocket..

7. “Ya gotta be lying Artax.”

Silly Woman

Lying???? Far from it.

REMEMBER, de topic wuz about RUMOURS….. and dah wuz one (I think).

8. @de pedantic Dribbler December 31, 2019 11:09 AM “Was the tender process corrupted and if so why?”

A tender process is only ever corrupted because somebody looking for money that they did not WORK for. And I went and paid hundreds of dollars in tax this morning. Feeling like a complete idiot den! Wondering what % of my dollar will go into somebody’s pocket, instead of going to fix the massive pot holes in my gap.

I shudda just drop the cash in the potholes.

Stupssseee!!!

9. @William Skinner December 31, 2019 11:46 AM “…a despot and unfit to lead the country…”

Sometimes rum talk is just rum talk. I had an uncle who was a notorious drunkard. He never married (good thing) never had any children (even better thing) lived to almost 80 (a miracle I tell you) was often pistoratically drunk, but when sober he would say to those he had offended—“that was just rum talk man”

10. @ Silly Woman
    It’s just the way the Duopoly works- drunk or sober. If you think rum talk is just rum talk all you have to do is check the cool aid drinkers on BU. Their crap worse than rum and dat don’t got in no alcohol. They were so stupid they were cussing Owen saying they going with Mia. They didn’t know dat Mia was still going with Owen.

The Duopoly Rules

11. @ William

Here we are, on the dawn of a new year, a new decade, and we are talking garbage. Must be the rum talking.

Happy New Year to you and yours.

12. so the BLP campaigned, inter alia, on the promise to clean up corruption in general and or the corruption of the DLP and to be more transparent but its first act of parliament, so to speak, was to invite drug dealers who were former supporters of the DLP, to the BLP opening of parliament?

why are we surprised at what has since transpired, rumours notwithstanding?

13. @ Hal
    Thanks . The same to you and yours. Well, my Brother, the country has been talking garbage now for six months.
    Fifty three years after the Union Jack came down.

14. @Hal Austin December 31, 2019 1:04 PM “we are talking garbage. Must be the rum talking.”

Talking garbage AND paying me taxes.

It is possible to do BOTH at the same time.

Have you paid your taxes?

Have all of you political friends paid theirs?

A Blessed new year to you. I especially wish you good health, peace, happiness and love.

15. This is an issue that will not go away and will be pursued by this blogmaster in 2020.

16. which issue?

17. The way the duopoly works is given life by an enlightened electorate yuh think?

Around and around we go, where we end up only the duopoly knows.

18. The ramifications of those in Authority fraternizing with doubtful characters brought to head when they were allowed to grace our august chamber.

19. @ Silly

Good health and happiness to you too.

@Greene

It is called equality – a democratic principle.

20. Here we are, on the dawn of a new year, a new decade, and we are talking garbage.LITERALLY!

21. @David

Good issue to pursue

@Hal

have a happy new year, yuh old codger -lol

somebody gave me a box set of Minder the TV series from the Thatcher years

22. @ Greene

To you and yours too. I remember Minder. Good fun.

23. Transport board said they revenue declined because of increase bus fare
    Now another question which call for accountability and transparency
    How much of the taxpayers money would be funnelled into the year long fete called “the gathering ”
    Mariposa predict that govt gonna spend more on this smoke and mirror fete than govt would receive in revenue from the gatherers
    I for one would attend and eat till my heart content
    After all it is tax payers money being feted out

24. wuh if she LIED to a grieving mother who lost her son…hosting a couple drug dealers in a cursed parliament and telling them don’t worry ah got ya back, the marijuana trade is yours and telling Maloney the same thing too….. is something…steuppss..

25. @ David
    This is what has happened. Stuart and company were justifiably slaughtered by the electorate. Mottley and company were justifiably given the greatest victory ever.
    Those supporting Mottley actually thought that almost every minister would by now be locked up.
    Suddenly it becomes obvious that nothing significant will change.
    Immediately those accused of corruption are given an olive branch: “ Come to Jesus moment”.
    The AG declares : We just can’t lock up people without evidence. So the talk about corruption apparently was without evidence.
    Those who were certain that looking after friends and family would be a thing of the past got the shock of their lives. Constitutional amendments deftly utilized for strictly semi nepotism reasons.
    The picture emerges: Atherley finds a political lottery ticket. Gets the biggest salary increase since independence when his staff is included. Game on.
    It gets better: A high profile Dem gets to be a consultant ( and I don’t mean Mascoll).
    Picture gets clearer by the minute: Maloney public enemy # 1 gets his golden handshake.
    Well the year is drawing to a close so the next step :Mottley and Stuart in a lovely photo op. This disturbs the cool aid gluttons on BU.
    But before that: The well pensioned Arthur joins the team that according to him had “ lost its soul “ He gets his pocket money now from a person he once called an “ unfit despot”
    But it gets sweeter our own Caswell all smiles as he is lovingly hugged by the AG. Another wonderful photo op. That’s the official : welcome to the club my friend photo op.
    Ok David. You cannot be that blind . In the mean time a BLP parliamentarian is being cussed for not giving out hams and rum in the East.
    The sacrificial dance has started. As I have said the status quo is in tact. The sacrificial lambs have already been identified. There is a calmness by Lionel C Hill Supermarket and St Cyprians Church. All is well.
    The little squealers on BU from both sides will continue to entertain us in 2020.
    The best apples are being eaten by the Duopoly. The Boxers will be worked to death and on their way to the hospital will magically turn into corn beef.
    Hope this brief analysis helps you in your quest to investigate why and how the Duopoly rules.

26. We can always count on you to miss the salient points of the discussion.

Out of some blind loyalty you may have for the DLP because of Errol Barrow, you may want us to believe its ONLY the BLP that’s corrupt.

I don’t care anything about Barrow. In my opinion, he, similarly to all the other prime ministers, and politicians did the job they were PAID by Barbadian tax payers to perform.

The fact is, BOTH the BLP and DLP are corrupted. They enrich themselves off the backs of poor taxpayers through scams such as 3S Barbados SRL and CAHILL. They talk about corruption to appease their supporters, only to protect their counterparts from investigation or prosecution, whenever they hold the reigns of government. Then continue the process of distributing the “fatted calf” to their supporters and financiers “who stayed the course” while they were in Opposition.

Politicians associating with known drug lords DID NOT BEGIN when Mottley invited some of them to Parliament. It’s a WELL KNOWN fact these same drug lords FINANCED the campaigns of certain BLP & DLP politicians and provided them with hired vehicles. During election campaigns and on election day, the politicians use these men and their accomplices for the distribution of largess ……….. bestowing money and gifts upon the electorate in exchange for votes.

Your lot gave them contracts at NHC and various SOE’s…… this lot, has so far as we are aware, invited them to the opening of Parliament. I won’t be surprised when your lot returns to the helm, they may be elevated with knighthoods.

So, yes, “why are we surprised at what has since transpired, rumours notwithstanding?”

27. @ William

Your analysis is spot on.

28. “Ok David. You cannot be that blind . In the mean time a BLP parliamentarian is being cussed for not giving out hams and rum in the East.”

oh ya saw that one..and pretty lights…that is as far as the Duopoly have educated their people…to accept…LESS THAN BASIC….and cussing for it too. shameful Barbados, shameful leaders..

29. @ Artax

your analysis, such as it is, is spot on

my apologies, Hal-lol

30. Paid my taxes this morning. Gotta go and give some blood next week. We gathering, and if any of those gathered needs emergency surgery I hafta make sure that there is enough A positive blo on hand.

It alrite to talk the talk, especially from far away, but summa we, silly and simple but healthy as we are gotta to actually walk the walk.

31. Mariposa i wonder if you heard Dr Persaud on Brasstacks state that on coming to office there were only 5 yes 5 garbage trucks available.Perhaps you can tell us why this was? Tell us were you trying to privatize both SSA and Transport Board and to whose benefit? Certainly not ordinary bajans who would have had to pay at least twice what they are paying now and you got the audacity to be speaking about garbage.The garbage trucks you were claiming was a waste of money on the road collecting the said garbage you ain,t shame after creating the problem.Go take a seat in fact take several jackass.

32. Is Prof Persaud an elected politician? Voters want to hear from the people they elect.

33. This is what corrupt black leaders continue to use on the population today, it’s just invisible, keep their minds degraded and reduced to below basic so they can never see what is going on but are always being watched, prisoners in their own minds..

https://scontent.fbgi3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/s960x960/80823452_2604931879623544_2834753912295129088_o.jpg?_nc_cat=106&_nc_eui2=AeH5v8VCF3Sprb2J0qvbmD3EulcChDY2MKv9HbqPwscggOvDsKq9vcAkx9Zmn21Bcilnlb2Gff9x4YFCykqFb035bZlDmPD13aztFav6sSZNpg&_nc_ohc=l3QrDXPWfl4AQkcbbem7G80qMY83erWzHb6Tieqcw-C_dzYov9OA3tg0g&_nc_ht=scontent.fbgi3-1.fna&oh=40808110ad7807b2772a3c2c865fe49e&oe=5E98A5CC

34. Piece the Legend Avatar

Yo have spoken truth AND I PIECE THE LEGEND, AM GUILTY

You said, AND I QUOTE

“…The flipside is that the blogmaster ha(s) corrected errors in the past from (the) same individuals to protect their real identity…”

And de ole man will say THAT I AM GUILTY, FOR I AM HE!

let me ask you this.

Two fellows living in a house AND THEY RESPECT EACH OTHER.

One fellow like Ju-C de next one like Frutee and when either goes to the supermarket to buy a six pac the both buy 3 of each drink.

They Split the rent down the middle, buy food and split the bill

Respect reigns!

Then one fellow bring in he girlfriend and dem family and even though the household increased, one fellow still paying half and de girlfriend and she family drinking de next fellow drinks and taking liberties.

What you think going happen to that “RESPECT”?

When I post here David, I genuinely DO NOT KNOW WHO “YOU” ARE ANYMORE

I genuinely appreciate what you did for me then!

But the David I knew then and the other BU family members that have joined you now, THEY DO NOT CONVERSE LIKE YOU!

We used to disagree BUT WE WOULD RESPECTFULLY MOVE ALONG!

You might acknowledge a new influential blogger BUT YOU BOWED TO NOYONE! EVER!

People would clamour for AC, Marposa and all her multiple identities to be banned BUT, AS A BLOG, people recognised that the contrary opinion was germane.

Nowadays, I find that I am abrasive to you, and overly so!

Cause, when the shift changes on BU, and some of the others are on duty, those ground rules change!

I don’t enjoy seeing Barbados falter nor do I enjoy seeing these Dictator MOVES!

50 murders in 166 square miles is unacceptable

Leaders who are setting themselves above the Constitution of Barbados are Enemies of Barbados and my enemies

Leaders who are raping Barbados of its monetary resources are Enemies of Barbados and my enemies

Leaders without vision are Enemies of Barbados and my enemies

Barbados is at a precarious brink

I cannot claim to love Barbados and sid back and watch this nepotism and keep quiet.

I will help build a nation NOT BUILD A DICTATORSHIP!!!

I PIECE THE LEGEND HAVE SPOKEN

35. Lorenzo why should i listen to Persaud
    Isnt he one of them that help.f.k Fourseason after they got the best of what they wanted for self
    Guh long do talking about Persaud
    Jesus he is the last anyone wants to hear from about barbados economy

36. Austin you are always on here saying don,t play the man play the ball therefore it does not matter if Dr Persaud is elected or not is what he is stating factual and if it is why was there only 5 garbage trucks available for the whole of Barbados? Where was the maintenance for these vehiches under the Dems?Furthermore was a plan afoot to privitize the SSA and the Transport Board?I am waiting on Mariposa to answer or you as her tag partner or Dem apologist Skinner.

37. Had been saying since 2016 that this website was sold and in the hands of the blp
    People who were used back then should tek what is being dished out
    Cause the koolaid was being served up way back then and they loved it
    Yuh think it was happenstance the cries for ac to be banned was loud and clear
    However to do so (ban)would have shown an obvious bias and a leaning towards the blp and expose the hands of who were in charge
    Hee heee heee

38. @ Lorenzo

In a democracy elected politicians are responsible and accountable to the people. Non-elected people are not accountable. The simple point is that if they are found wanting they can be removed..

39. @ Piece
    “Leaders who are setting themselves above the Constitution of Barbados are Enemies of Barbados and my enemies

Leaders who are raping Barbados of its monetary resources are Enemies of Barbados and my enemies

Leaders without vision are Enemies of Barbados and my enemies

Barbados is at a precarious brink

I cannot claim to love Barbados and sid back and watch this nepotism and keep quiet.“

Well said Piece. I have on file your positions on the former administration. You are correct . Your posters were welcomed. I personally forwarded them to hundreds of people both at home and abroad. You have been more than consistent on BU. At present you are offering very creative advice to Atherley. You openly did the same for the BLP.
    I don’t always agree with you and vice versa but this country has never embraced people who think for themselves. They go about declaring people brilliant.
    That quote is the exact way to end the year. You damage Barbados you damage me. That’s a truly nationalistic position.
    Mottley and the late Thompson learned their politics well at the feet of the Duopoly. We can’t ignore CLICO and we should not ignore the garbage
    trucks fiasco.
    We did not ignore Maloney under the Dems and we shall not ignore him under the Bees.
    When and wherever necessary we must praise Mottley , Phillips, Eastmond, Edmonson, Atherley and Depeiza . We must not ever be afraid to scorch them when necessary. And when William Skinner ass deserves a
    scorching he must get it too!
    As James Baldwin said: “God gave Noah the rainbow sign; no more water, the fire next time.“

Let Us Bun The Duopoly.

Peace. Onto 2020.

40. Lorenzo up in here talking about Dems this and that
    But for sure when Dems left office crime was not at an all time high

Breaking news

Police are investigating a robbery that occurred at KFC’s Corporate Offices on Hincks Street, St Michael around 10:40 a.m.

An undisclosed amount of cash was taken
    Where is the AG

41. Mariposa i asked you a direct question since you are bellyaching everyday now about garbage .Why was there only 5 garbage trucks available by may 2018 ? You are dodging the question or maybe you need to consult your colleagues.

42. People are sick and tired of the less than basic services and incompetence…but ya useless leaders always boasting, boasting and for what…they fix and upgrade nothing and has everyone looking at the island as backward…cause that is how the foolish people who should be trained better act..

Let’s see if we still get these same decades old complaints next year while the clowns continue to gush about punching above some delusional weight..steupps. And am sure with all these clear warning on social media…they hope to be “we gathering” victims…without changing one thing…

“Yesterday at 6:54 PM
    This morning the son and heir and I went to Holetown to renew our driver’s licences.

To borrow from Paul Keens-Douglas, “Who tell we do dat?”

Here is the Cliff Notes version. We arrived around 9:30am, and found a parking spot on the Holetown Police Station/BRA/Library compound. The line to pay for the licence renewals was literally out the door of the Barbados Revenue Authority, so anticipating at least an hour’s wait, I let a nice lady borrow my folding chair until it was her turn. (This is the ancient aluminum folding chair that I carry to rugby, it resides in the trunk of my car.) While waiting, we were told that the camera was not working, so we would not be able to get new photos for our licences. I am thankful that by the time we got to the one of the three occupied and active cashier booths, we were told that the malfunction had been fixed.

Now, once inside, I was grateful to see three working cashiers. Others in line agreed that this was much better than SlowtiaBank or WorstCaribbean. The son and heir, fresh from five years in the US of A, was less than impressed. “There should have been six cashiers,” he commented. And he is correct. Given the high volume of applications for renewals etc., all six cashier booths should have been in operation, especially this close to month-end and a public holiday.

One other point, this office is open from 7:30am to 3:30pm. Now, why in the 21st century, with the internet, computer technology etc., we are still working with these antediluvian hours is a mystery to me. And please do NOT say, “We’ve always done it this way.” That hoary old excuse went the way of the donkey cart and for good reason. When last you saw a donkey cart, anyway?

Cut to the chase, the lady at the photo-booth end of things seriously needs some “out manners” training. Again, the son and heir was unimpressed. This led me to consider the looming “We Gathering 2020” invitation to our diaspora to return home en masse. Imagine how they will feel if subjected to this kind of verbal sandpaper roughness instead of true customer service…

A random thought from the right side of my brain. At one point, there were at least 25 people lined up at BRA for about an hour. 25 hours of productive work gone. More than half a 40-hour week. And we wonder why people complain about the lack of “ease of doing business” in Barbados.

How can we improve this situation?

Longer opening hours? More cashiers? More cameras to take the photos, since that is a much-discussed (and cussed!) issue? I would like to hear some suggestions, please.”

43. Lorenzo

On here piss parading and not a response to the 10 questions posed about your dishonest Party BLP CORRUPT PRACTICES no different to DLP.

WE CAN SEE THAT THE EMPEROR HAS NO CLOTHES IN.

The truth is many of you don’t care about your fellow Bajans it is ALWAYS about self preservation and protecting the powers maybe.

Barbados is carrying nuff nuff dead weight.

44. WE CAN SEE THAT THE EMPEROR HAS NO CLOTHES ON.

45. Lorenzo.i thought you blp foot soldiers were saying for the past year that past govt did not buy one garbage truck
    Uh see how wunna are blasted liars
    Tongue long out and truth drop out
    When u tell me how much govt has planned to spend on that year long fete called “we gathering” i would answer all and any question u forward
    Now go ask Mia that pertinent question since the money will be coming out the treasury

46. Look i going and get prepared for my NewYear bash
    My bullet proof vest included

47. @Mariposa: “My bullet proof vest included

Tends not to be terribly effective against a headshot. Nor a pierced femoral artery.

If you’re really so afraid (and encourage others to be), why are risking going out to celebrate?

48. @Chris

Do not get drawn into nonsense. For some people they will always prefer to flavour comments with negative suggestive positions. It suits their agenda.

49. Chris Hashell
    Because a year ago this was all planned before this craziness started
    Also they are very close friends and relatives who i cannot disappoint
    Also i cannot live behind walls like a prisoners for the rest of my life
    Therfore i do what is best to protect myself
    What others choose to do is entirely up to them
    Not here to arm twist anyone into being afraid
    Just saying how i feel

50. @David… I know, I just had to say that.

It is well accepted in security circles that it is effectively impossible to protect an individual’s life if the attacker is willing to trade their own life for the target’s.