How many Barbadians are cued to the fact Trinidad, or should we say Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, has vehemently opposed the reappointment of Secretary General of CARICOM Carla Bennett?

As the story goes: the reappointment of CARICOM Secretary General Dr. Carla Barnett stems from a dispute over whether the February 2026 decision to extend her term followed the rules of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas (RTOC). At that meeting of the Heads of Government of CARICOM (HOGs) in St. Kitts and Nevis in 2022, the HOGs announced that Barnett had been unanimously reappointed. A few months later, Trinidad and Tobago’s Prime Minister Kamla Persad‑Bissessar publicly rejected the legitimacy of that decision, arguing that the process was procedurally flawed. She claimed that the required formal vote never occurred, that key ministers were excluded, and that decisions were circulated informally rather than through established treaty mechanisms.

Fast forward to the just concluded 51st HOGs held in St. Lucia where the dispute of Bennett’s appointment was addressed. St. Lucia’s Prime Minister Philip Pierre, who is the current rotating Chairman of CARICOM updated that the issue will be deflected to the Caribbean Court of Appeal (CCJ) to secure an advisory opinion. Pierre’s view is that CARICOM’s credibility required clarity on whether the reappointment complied with the RTOC.

It is an open secret that Persad-Bissessar has an ongoing concern with Bennet going back to 2022. At that time she claimed Bennett failed to respond to a diplomatic concern about a Trinidad national raised by Trinidad. Although Persad- Bissessar did not mention details about the national, it is know that there continues to be tension related to the ‘abduction’ of a Trinidadian businessman in Barbados with the support of the Barbados Police Force (BPF). Some speculate if this is why former Attorney General Dale Marshall had to demit office prematurely, a request from Trinidad made in a smoked filled backroom..

It is embarrassing that a few islands making up CARICOM would have to refer a simple matter of a routine reappointment of the Secretary General to the CCJ. These are HOGs charged by regional citizens to manage complex affairs of states, When the HOGs can become so publicly divided over a basic procedural matter, it suggests there is an institutional fault line. How are CARICOM citizens expected to be confident to deal with Haiti’s failed state concerns, food and energy insecurity, equitably sharing regional resources, regional crime that has been declared a public health crisis and always there is the mother of all challenges, external geopolitical issues.

The ongoing dispute erodes trust, reinforcing public perception that CARICOM is slow, divided, distracted and INCOMPETENT. That it is an institution mired in insularity and small mindedness. Most critically, it highlights that if routine governance tasks become contentious, then future decisions risk a similar ending, threatening CARICOM’s capacity to act collectively on threats to the region when cohesion would be most needed.

The blogmaster has always opined that our small islands, now more than ever, need to commit to a framework that promotes practical cooperation. However, as we have seen with the abduction of Maduro and the meek reaction by CARICOM HOGs, we have a long way to go to represent a One Caribbean policy on the issues.

39 responses to “CARICOM’s Leadership Crisis: The Persad-Bissessar Carla Barnett Controversy”

1. Caricom: no half measures

AS THE CHAIRMANSHIP OF CARICOM moves to the Prime Minister of St Lucia, Philip J. Pierre, it does so in a moment where the most open and direct threats to secede are being made by certain sections of Caribbean leadership.

These threats should not be brushed aside as a temporary descent into anti-diplomacy on the part of a loose-tongued generation of Caribbean leadership, but should be understood as part of broader global structural shifts of which the “rethinking” of CARICOM is only a small part.

The collapse of the post-World War II order, and the United States’ intent on reshaping its role in the Western Hemisphere even while it strategically withdraws from “global leadership”, are at the centre of these anti-CARICOM noises. Put bluntly, had there been no “Trumpism”, there would have been no Kamla Persaud-Bissessar quarrel with CARICOM.

Given the seriousness of the moment, the current CARICOM phase being ushered in by the St Lucia deliberations should be treated as an extraordinary moment demanding extraordinary responses.

Good opportunity

While the positive energy which has pervaded the assumption of Pierre represents a good opportunity to “reset CARICOM”, as argued recently by veteran journalist Julian Rogers, it would be a mistake to assume that the way forward for CARICOM is the pursuit of “small deeds” minus bold aspirations.

However, despite the potentially ground-shifting nature of the current moment, there appears to be two dominant responses from the main actors in CARICOM.

First, there is a pretence at “nothing to see here” normalcy. Those in this tendency exhibit strong doses of “false consciousness”, since their actions do not match reality.

The second approach is from those claiming to be “pragmatic”. They insist that CARICOM should pursue a “minimal programme”, since the situation is too delicate for any big gestures.

They take comfort in completing elusive basic tasks like “regional travel”. They see themselves as “saving CARICOM” by “working on the issues that have been ignored”. This seems to be the dominant narrative being prepared for what is likely to be the main feature of the St Lucia chairmanship.

However, none of these approaches fully addresses the deep structural issues that have brought us to the current moment. The way forward for CARICOM is for the emergence of an uncompromising, radical, committed core willing to articulate and organise for a deeper programme of integration never experienced in the region. It requires the presence of a vanguard organisation committed to the pursuit of a federal sovereign state as its sole purpose.

The Caribbean people need a new sovereign political arrangement beyond the limited, singlestate independence inherited at Independence. This cannot be achieved by the familiar “small technical detail”, bureaucratic approach. A new sovereign nation state of the West Indian people arising out of the dust of the currently collapsing world order is the only solution.

Tennyson Joseph is associate professor of political science at North Carolina Central University. Email tjoe2008@live.com

2. Kamla ‘committed’ to grouping

TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO remains committed to CARICOM, says Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar.

She was addressing a question from a journalist on her thoughts after previously describing the Caribbean Community as “an unreliable partner”, during the closing media conference of the 51st Regular Meeting of CARICOM Heads of Government in Castries, St Lucia, yesterday.

“My position from the start remains to now and that position has been whilst I would have levered some concerns about the operations of CARICOM, I have always said Trinidad and Tobago remains committed to CARICOM. We have unwavering support to CARICOM for us to work together to better the region and, of course, all our citizens,” she said.

Persad-Bissessar said during the meeting, held under the chairmanship of St Lucia’s Prime Minister Philip J. Pierre, and with the cooperation of other Heads, they ironed out some of the concerns she had.

“So my position has not changed. I remain committed to CARICOM. We will have issues from day to day; from time to time in a family you have issues. We have issues of concern and . . . my position is that we must raise them. We must not put our heads down in the sand like ostriches. We raise them when they are and try to find resolutions.”

She said that after ironing out those issues, it would be “better as we go forward”. (SAT)

3. Moves to cap cost of living

INDIVIDUAL CARICOM NATIONS have put measures in place to fight the rising cost of living in their respective countries, but say they are powerless over the cost of fossil fuels which drive all aspects of the economy.

That was one of the key points emerging from discussions held at the 51st Regular Meeting of CARICOM Heads of Government which ended in Castries, St Lucia, yesterday.

However, Prime Minister of St Kitts & Nevis Dr Terrance Drew said while there was no energy crisis in the region, there was an energy-harnessing issue.

“On the issue of the cost of living, it seems like the Caribbean is just on this wave, up and down, up and down. There’s a war, we’re down, up, down; a hurricane, we’re up, down. We suffer these shocks mainly because a lot of what we consume, we import,” he said during a media conference at the close of the meeting.

“We have wind, we have solar, we have geothermal, and we have wave, and we have started to invest heavily in these. There’s nothing that can really stabilise our economy or transform our economy or deal with this constant up and down, like stabilising our energy sources and our energy situation.”

Petroleum products

Drew said that at a meeting of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States, a chart showed billions were being spent on petroleum products.

“Cutting into that with renewable energy can really help from our perspective to transform the Caribbean, to transform the region and help us to get on a sustainable path of really managing the cost of living of all of our people here in the region. So that is one of our proposals that we are putting forward.”

He said St Kitts had also put to tender a plan to build a 50-megawatt facility and they would share via under-sea cable with other countries around, like Antigua and Barbuda, to help reduce the cost of energy.

Barbados’ Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley said CARICOM was about to enter discussions with Trinidad and Tobago about the use of one of its ferries that can ply the Southern Caribbean as a “proof of concept” on how inter-island trade can lower the cost of living. Trinidad has long used ferries for trade and travel with its sister island Tobago.

Mutual recognition

“I’ve undertaken the responsibility of working with colleagues to be able to get the treaty arrangements for mutual recognition of licences, insurance, so that vehicles, cargo vehicles can literally go on and come off where possible. This is a work in progress,” Mottley said.

She added that said while it would be a first in the Southern and Eastern Caribbean, it would also reveal the infrastructural arrangements that needed to be put in place at the various ports.

“So I give you the assurance that we are singularly focused on being able to reduce the cost of intra-island cargo which, in addition to the other measures that we have taken to increase disposable income of our citizens, but also to reduce the cost of freight, the cost of gas and the cost of electricity, all of which, when combined, can be completely inflationary, is what we’re doing together.”

Mottley said the region was also looking at the application of the Common External Tariff. It was put in place to protect regional production, but remained on some items even as production ended over the decades. Some countries have asked for different arrangements so it can be removed, and thereby lower the cost of goods.

Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago Kamla Persad-Bissessar also outlined three key medical services available in her country which she said could be accessed at a fraction of the cost elsewhere. These include a National Prosthetic Centre – set up with assistance from the government of India.

She said prices in the United States ranged from US$3 000 to US$120 000, depending on “the mobility of what you want that artificial limb to do”.

Persad-Bissessar said the twinisland republic also had many medical graduates in various fields, adding they have shared with CARICOM members and are willing to work with them to provide fully trained doctors, mostly trained at the University of the West Indies.

The third service is a children’s hospital, which she said had affordable prices, and these ventures would also help them earn foreign exchange. (SAT)

4. What a collection of hapless jokers….!!!

5. Fiddling while Rome burns…

Shiite!
    We can practically FEEL the flames…
    – of fuel scarcity
    – of food shortages
    – of valueless currency
    – of actual warfare and health crises

…and they are talking shiite about ferries and personalities….

But, on the other hand, …how the Hell can people who are at a lost for solving problems like – potholes, basic health-care, traffic management, crime, education, water quality, energy transformation, vehicle tinting, etc
    …even CONTEMPLATE a response to the imminent existential threats that are upon us…?

It may indeed be best to strike up the Crapover bands on the top deck of the BB Titanic, …that way we can all go down ‘wukking up and doing dixie’…

What a waste…
    What an end!

6. @Bush Tea

You must agree PM Mottley’s recent salvo at Massy is a project that has merit? How is it our largest supermarket retailer can make 49 million and food prices high? Massy promised when it was gifted BS&T on a platter that Barbados would benefit from trade discounts given its regional market share.

7. By all accounts it appears the HOGs have kissed and made up now that Kamla has gotten her way and the matter sent to the CCJ.

8. Well, this is just a continuation of American interference within its backyard.

Bessesar is obviously a booster for the Drumpf regime. And must feel victorious given her role in the war against Venezuela, the abduction of its duly elected president. Maybe there are such latent fears of imprisonment amongst the cowards in Caricom too.

Hemispherically, America’s backyard has been going further far-rightward with the growing presence and political power of the colonialists agents or religious evangelical churches; as evidenced in the recent elections in Colombia, Argentina and elsewhere which were directly influenced by far-right forces aided by Plalantir the big data CIA front; the determination to crush Cuba; and on and on.

All these children of empire and the European Unión, are in the same spot. The Afrikan Unión is the same. For like Caricom, they rely on their masters to keep paying their bills, to build their headquarters, to fund their bank, to generally direct the region.

Maybe, we’ve again reached the point when ten minus one equals zero. An arithmetic well made infamous.

9. “When the HOGs can become so publicly divided over a basic procedural matter, it suggests there is an institutional fault line.”

Euphemism par excellence.

The tinpot HOGs if these micro states are a bunch of failures. They have been mismanaging the region for decades now.

NTSH.

10. A Useful Idiot Avatar
    A Useful Idiot

Persad is a useful idiot for Uncle Sam.
    The Caribbean is supposed to be divided so it can be ruled (CIA 101)

11. The entire world is on the horns of a dilemma!

On one horn is the spectre of a recession as strategic petroleum reserves (SPR) are reaching their lowest levels, the Straits of Hormuz remains effectively closed, the illegal hot war on Iran is being restarted, the misleadership class in Washington continues to lose its way.

America produces up to 15 million barrels per day of petroleum and is the single largest producer. However, it consumes up to 22 million barrels daily. In addition, very little of that domestic production is sour crude. And sour crude is the feedstock needed for the production of downline products like deisel and jet fuel. But as high as 70 percent of America’s needs come from sour crude.

Some might say that the oil prices were going down over the last weeks until the three days old new flare up. We have contended that those prices were based on speculation within futures markets and that no oil was deliverable unless much higher prices were paid. Markets are deceptive. Moreover, Drumpf and his government deliberately led a campaign of manipulation, a highly illegal act.

The bottom line of this horn is that Drumpf himself brazenly admitted, a few weeks ago that the SPR were so low that they would have been totally depleted in as few as four weeks.

With global supplies tightening, with the up to 50 percent of pre-war numbers of ships leaving the Persian Gulf going to Asia almost exclusively, with Iran in full control of passage, with economic indicators, especially inflation starting to rise, recession or depression economics rite large.

The second horn has to do with a rising risk of nuclear war. As the new Supreme Leader in Iran is reported to be prepared to exit the nuclear NPT, the Non-Proliferation Treaty, and test a bomb as a means of self defence like North Korea, upnto now, has proved conclusively.

Either horn of this dilemma is highly likely to change the global geo-political landscape irretrivably, or worse!

12. “Bush Tea… You must agree PM Mottley’s recent salvo at Massy is a project that has merit?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Merit shiite!!!
    Is that not just like Trump complaining that Iran closed the strait of Hormuz?

What the Hell did she expect?
    …that Massy would be our fairy godmother, and look after our best interests?
    Can anyone actually be so naive?

Was she not the one that essentially closed down LOCAL small shopkeepers during the Covid conspiracy – in favor of Massy?
    …So that instead of having 20 people go to a village shop, she had us lined up in THOUSANDS – like idiots, making Massy our king.

Was she not in Parliament when government allowed the BS&T unpatriotic traitors to pass their holdings over to that FOREIGN ownership, rather than empower the LOCALS who fueled their success? You think that could EVER happen in Trickidad?

Steupsss!
    Typical shiite talk – seeking to blame OTHERS for her incompetence and lack of performance.
    This is also best seen at the Parish talks – where public servants who are TOLD WHAT TO DO, and also when, and where… are publicly chastised when things inevitably fail…
    …and also in the well of parliament – where the spineless Public Servants are grilled about the things that they are FORCED to do, by the very same politicians doing the grilling.

Bushie is SOOOO tired of the lotta shiite that it ain’t even funny anymore…!

Massy shiite!
    EVERYBODY is ripping off brass bowl Bajans… and EXPORTING HUGE profits, while our stupid politicians run around looking for forex loans to fund their profits…

Massy
    Cable & Wireless
    Sagicor
    Republic Bank
    Emera / BLPC
    Parkland
    CIBC
    Scotia Bank
    The Insurance Companies
    Digicel
    Practically every damned Hotel…

So who do you think SHOULD be responsible for addressing this folly…?
    – Stinking Bushie?
    – The missing DLP?
    – Caswell?

Give Bushie a break do!!

13. Today’s Nation Editorial 10 July 2026

An untenable position

Within the Caribbean Community there is always a strident call for unity and this newspaper generally supports it.

Last Sunday’s opening of the 51st Regular Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government in St Lucia under the chairmanship of Prime Minister Phillip J. Pierre saw a resurfacing of a wound that threatened CARICOM earlier this year.

Though it is clear that every effort was made to have a show of unity, there is still an unresolved issue with the reappointment of Dr Carla Barnett as secretary general of CARICOM when her term ends next month.

In March this year, CARICOM Heads purported to reappoint Dr Barnett for another five-year term without the participation of Trinidad and Tobago.

This move was challenged by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, who publicly criticised the manner of the reappointment of Dr Barnett in February this year in St Kitts and Nevis and threatened to reduce Trinidad’s financial contribution to the regional grouping.

Persad-Bissessar also wanted Dr Barnett to be engaged on a “month-to-month basis” until there is a determination by the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ). However, Pierre said CARICOM agreed that the status quo will remain until the advisory opinion from the CCJ.

However, reports out of Jamaica indicate that Prime Minister Dr Andrew Holness sent a letter, dated July 5, 2026, to chairman Pierre indicating that the “length of time devoted to this agenda item attests to the gravity and potential ramifications of the issue at hand”.

He said while Jamaica was not seeking to overturn the decision of regional leaders to reappoint Dr Barnett, it remains concerned that the approach taken “has neither resolved the matter nor promoted the spirit and goals of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas”.

In a prepared statement to reporters, Pierre said the regional leaders discussed the issue after Trinidad and Tobago “maintained its objection to the process used in the reappointment of the secretary general and wanted the issue referred to the CCJ for an advisory opinion”.

He said that to facilitate this request CARICOM leaders have agreed “to commence proceedings to secure such advisory opinion in accordance with Article 212 of the revised Treaty of Chaguaramas.

Pierre said CARICOM acknowledged that the CCJ was the appropriate body to interpret the treaty. In a 22-page letter written to the regional leaders, Persad-Bissessar said “regional unity cannot rest upon expediency and irregular practices masquerading as precedent”.

Holness appears to support the position of Persad-Bissessar though he did not explicitly say so. He reiterated Jamaica’s position taken on May 8 and that it “will expand on the concerns expressed regarding certain procedural matters”.

He said that as a matter of principle, the fact that one CARICOM member state “has formally and consistently expressed opposition to a matter, on procedural and other grounds, and the fact that the issue has since become one of public controversy, should be of grave concern to us and should not be disregarded.

“It has become clear that we were not all on the same page. Therefore, it is important that any concerns be addressed in a meaningful manner to restore cohesion, if not unity, which is indispensable to the effective functioning of CARICOM,” Holness wrote.

His point is well taken and this issue should be resolved without further ado.

While this matter is, hopefully, fast-tracked as a matter of urgency to the CCJ, it remains an untenable position for Dr Barnett as leader of this critical regional grouping.

We express no opinion on whether she should tender her resignation, as suggested by the Jamaica Gleaner earlier this year, but in order to function effectively as secretary general, the confidence of all leaders is required.

14. @Bush Tea

One can feel your frustration. Unfortunately no one person can reverse or make a difference. Too many individuals, some posting to BU, have vital information that would help to shed light where there is darkness, but they are scared of the establishment.

Until we grow gonads – no disrespect to women- it is business as usual.

15. Reports today are now indicating that America’s reserves of sour petroleum and its byproducts, airplane fuel, deisel and kerosene, have now reached enough to last only eight days at present consumption levels.

While Drumpf fiddles Rome burns. And all Washington can do is to play childish games of chicken, even as he has no ability, desire nor will to address the problems which the emptiness of his over-sized head has wrought.

Rome is Washington is Drumpf as the music on the deck of the Titanic plays “Abide With Us”.

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

I know each time you find something negative about ‘the West’ it tickles your fancy. But where the hell do you read about 8 days?? Admittedly several specific petrochemical inventories are down 5-6% over historical averages, but none are even approaching 8 days. 30 maybe. The feckers have increased crude production internally by over 40%. They have recently been producing more oil/day than Russia and Saudi.

The USA uses high sulphur and heavy crudes to mix with their own light crude in refining. There isn’t any shortage of either.

17. Do your own research!

Did your fucking racist president not say around the time of the agreeing to the MOU with Iran, over two weeks ago, that the SPRs (Strategic Petroleum Reserves) were down to about four weeks supply?

And did that not explain why every clause therein favoured Iran?

Has it not been pelucid that Persian Gulf daily supplies after the MOU was agreed only reached no more than 50 percent of pre-war levels, at their highest?

And has those levels not gone down again to nearly zero?

Why would you presuppose that America is hellbent on doing the impossible, opening the Persian Gulf?

And is it not true, that the mainly Iranian oil leaving the Persian Gulf, when it did leave, was going to Asia?

Do you have the intelectual sophistication to understand that there are several types of oil and regardless to how much of one kind you have, if you don’t have the sour types, and America does not, which makes the products most needed, that the rasssoul rest of them are unuseable?

The contention that there was only a 5 or 6 percent reduction in SPRs are the normal reductions, which are easily replenished, this happens all the time. That normality does not hold when America has to supply all its allies with petroleum for as long as they’ve had to. These do not include reserves held for the military.

Columbus! America has long been the largest oil produced in the world. At times they have been producing over 20 m/b/d. Whereas the Saudis only around 9 m/b/d and Russia even lower. In fact, America can produced more than the Saudis and Russians combined. With sour crude, they are paupers.

They however stand a risk of running out of in-place reserves, oil in the ground, but this writer has never agrued about daily output. Our argument was about sour crude, the feedstock for deisel, airplane fuel and kerosene oil.

Have European Airlines not cancelled many flights already? Are goods within America not dependent on trucks which use mainly deisel? Is kerosene and jet fuel not veey similar?

For your apparently misinformation. One of your people, Alastair Crooke, a former diplomat and MI6 officers, weee believe, has written this on his blog and said so during this interview below. There are area specialists all over YouTube speaking to this phenomenon, with alarm.

We’ve long been resigned to the fact that for you Whiteness is rightness! Added, you exhibit all the fears White people have of losing control, the global racist construction. Whereas Pacha’s predetermination is the driving home of the mushroom-headed deckie in wunna crotch.

https://www.youtube.com/live/y_XEMVMLwkM?si=OBMDcQaALzx0ogxw

The last words are your!

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

First, that idiot Trump isn’t MY president. And the USA gets plenty heavy sour crude from Canada, and more recently Venezuela.
    I can find no evidence of shortfalls in inventory.
    You can take your Whiteness rhetoric and put it where the sun doesn’t shine. Spend your time finding out how Chinese officials can teef so much for so long, and instead of Xi taking accountability for happening under his watch, they order death to scare others. Find the stolen funds and replace them?

19. No one can steal more than White people have. Everything White people have was stolen. Everything! And Drumpf is just another data point of White decadence.

And it was this writer who brought the 30 years of thief in China, by one man, to this blog’s attention. It was not you. At least a critical eye, even for a country well liked.

Don’t you have a former Glodman Sacks banker as PM. What do you think they do, but thief.

Are you forgetting Maddoff or Drumpf? Maddoff was stealing for as long. The nature of the Ponzi Scheme. Are Western socalled democracies not totally brought by moneyed interests. The argument that thieffing big is unique to Chinese is racist.

We’ll spend our time however the fuck we shall. You are in no position to give us direction on anything.

Your problem is that nothing you’ve ever said or wriitten or thought about had to be expertly refereed by subject matter experts. Your arguments are generally weak and lack rigor.

This gotcha attitude of yours is informed by the ignorance of mainstream media. Having demanded evidence supportive of a statement made, that is now to be ignored. Fortunately this writer is never so influenced by the propaganda of White people.

Observers will be watching the galloping inflation in Western economies, the ten year bond rate in the USA which is around 4.5 percent currently, if it reaches 5.0 percent yuh done wid say the subject matter experts, and of course relative petroleum prices expected to surpass 100 dollars in the coming period.

Canadá shiite! This is a dynamic set of forces. Supplies stolen from Venezuela weak production capacity and imported from Canadá cannot compensate for the Persian Gulf supply chains. Added, are declining Russian supplies because of war.

Lastly, the Chinese are the last to want any of this. They are more businesslike than the leaders in the West. All they really want to do is to mek money. For them the wars are causing problems.

Not even economic calamity in the West serves their interests. They see this as a lost of demand. None of this becomes important once White people determine that you are a Communist country, even when they themselves disbelieve their own propaganda. But their foot soldiers will.

20. lurking within Avatar
    lurking within

Lilly whites think they are all individuals especially when it comes to the crooked whites, criminals, murderers, thieves and rapists, who they claim do not represent them, but all others who are coloured get tarred with the same brush. You cannot reason with their prejudice, but it easy to push their buttons and awaken the inner racist populist hypocrite waste of space disgrace to the human race lurking within. There is a Trump in them all.

21. https://www.youtube.com/live/4PcbE0nEbAI?si=ulJesYbQwX8x1z4F

Drumpf is no more an idiot than Reagan or any, and weee say any, other American regime president, including obama.

Racism is alive and well in Whiteness incorporated!

And Pacha intends to fight it to the death, no exceptions, not even for orioles.

22. Rowley rejects Kamla’s Caricom ‘victory’
    ‘You started the fire, then put it out’

Former prime minister Dr Keith Rowley has dismissed suggestions that Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar secured a diplomatic victory at the recent Caricom Heads of Government Meeting, saying instead that regional leaders “bailed out Trinidad and Tobago from itself” after what he described as an unnecessary foreign policy dispute.

Rowley was responding to claims that Persad-Bissessar emerged victorious after Caricom leaders agreed to seek an advisory opinion from the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) on issues surrounding the reappointment process of Caricom Secretary General Dr Carla Barnett.

Rowley rejected that interpretation, arguing that the matter only reached that stage because of the way Trinidad and Tobago handled the issue.

“It was a totally unnecessary, unforced error by Trinidad and Tobago in the way it went about, in a confrontational way, to treat with an issue which other people would have dealt with differently,” he said.

Using an analogy to explain his position, Rowley said creating a problem and then being praised for resolving it should not be considered an achievement.

“If you take a match and start a fire in the forest and then have to put it out, and you’re then labelled the hardest-working fireman, what victory is that?” he asked.

“This was created by Trinidad and Tobago mishandling foreign affairs.”

Persad-Bissessar had previously raised concerns over the process used for Barnett’s reappointment, arguing that issues of transparency and governance needed to be addressed.

The Prime Minister’s position has since been defended by members of her administration and some university lecturers, who described the decision to seek the CCJ’s guidance as a win for accountability and institutional reform within the regional body.

However, Rowley argued that the referral did not represent a change in Caricom’s position.

“No part of the decision has been changed and they’ve gone for an advisory from the appellate court. What is that? They bail you out. That’s what we should be grateful for. The rest of the Caricom leadership has bailed out Trinidad and Tobago from itself,” he said.

Rowley also questioned the Government celebrating the CCJ referral while Trinidad and Tobago has not adopted the court as its final appellate jurisdiction.

“Look at where they park it, in a place where we never want it to be. Trinidad and Tobago are no part of the appeal jurisdiction of the Caribbean Court of Justice, but you’re happy now to go there for an advisory?” he said.

Trinidad and Tobago recognises the CCJ’s original jurisdiction, which deals with matters arising under the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, but continues to use the Privy Council as its final court of appeal.

The former prime minister also criticised Persad-Bissessar’s previous statements about Trinidad and Tobago’s relationship with Caricom, including remarks concerning the country’s financial contribution to the regional organisation.

He claimed the dispute stemmed from Persad-Bissessar’s dissatisfaction with Barnett over previous correspondence sent while she was Opposition Leader.

“This didn’t come as any examination of any process. She wanted to punish Dr Barnett,” Rowley claimed.

He said if Persad-Bissessar had concerns, those matters should have been addressed directly at the Caricom meeting where the reappointment was discussed.

Rowley said he hoped the country would now move forward with a more measured approach to regional diplomacy.

“I’m hoping that we go forward in a more sober way and that the Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago behaves herself in a more decent manner with Caricom,” he said.

Source: Guardian TT

23. Well, Rowley sounds sensible, more likeable.

But what does this say about Young, his successor as party leader?

That it is he who we’re hearing from, still fighting against Bissesar, may have meanings.

24. @ Pacha
    You serious?!!
    Rowley could really hush up!

He is the Trini equivalent of Biden…
    Incompetent enuff that, DESPITE their previous disgust with Ms Loud Mouth, they held their noses and chose her again…

…at least Biden went away quietly and quickly.

25. The ‘Convenient Court of Justice’

This article was written and submitted by Julian Rogers, a veteran Caribbean journalist and communications consultant. The decision by CARICOM leaders at the 51st Regular Meeting in Castries, St Lucia, to refer the reappointment of Secretary General Dr Carla Barnett to the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) is a manoeuvre wrapped in legal irony and political evasion. Trinidad and Tobago’s meticulous 22-page objection letter, a document that reads more like an indictment of administrative overreach than a simple HR query, effectively freezes Dr Barnett in her position until the court delivers an advisory opinion. This tactical deployment of legalism bypasses an executive contract framework that explicitly requires six months’ notice, creating a state of suspended animation for the region’s top executive office.

Faced with a high-stakes management dilemma, the head table defaulted to intellectual laziness. Instead of settling the score like mature executives, they chose to treat the region’s highest tribunal as a convenient substitution bench to run out the clock. They kicked this administrative football straight downfield to the CCJ pitch in Port of Spain, hoping to park an uncomfortable political gridlock on the court’s turf.

It is a cynical piece of political theatre so egregious that even former FIFA vice-president Jack Warner, the master of global football manoeuvring himself, would raise a red card and cry foul.

By running to the judiciary to escape an executive decision, Port of Spain treats the highest tribunal in the region as the “Convenient Court of Justice”. This trend of “judicialising” political stalemate sets a dangerous precedent, where the sanctity of the courtroom is exploited to mask the absence of consensus in the boardroom. It suggests that when the political heat in the Caribbean kitchen becomes too intense, the leaders prefer to outsource the fire to the judges rather than manage the flame themselves.

The ghost of integration past

This referral is not happening in a vacuum; it echoes the structural ghosts that have haunted West Indian integration since the collapse of the Federation. The Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas was intended to be a living, breathing constitutional framework for the CSME (CARICOM Single Market and Economy), but it is increasingly being used as a shield for sovereign foot-dragging.

When a nation-state uses the letter of the treaty to undermine the spirit of regional cooperation, the entire architecture of CARICOM begins to rattle. By forcing the CCJ to interpret the minutiae of an employment contract under the guise of treaty interpretation, the leaders are trivialising the court’s mission. The CCJ was built to handle the heavy lifting of trade disputes and fundamental rights, not to serve as an expensive human resources department for a deadlocked Conference of Heads.

The Advisory Opinion Illusion

Under Article 212 of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas (RTC), the CCJ possesses exclusive jurisdiction to deliver advisory opinions, but these are fundamentally non-binding. There is no enforcement authority behind it. The CCJ will eventually hand down an opinion that carries persuasive authority, but that opinion will be referred right back to the Conference of Heads of Government, the same body currently locked in stalemate.

By running to the court, the leaders have merely outsourced a political hot potato to buy time. It is the diplomatic equivalent of playing for a boring, scoreless draw in extra time. If the conference is unable to reach a decision now, what suggests that an academic exercise by the judiciary will suddenly provide the backbone for an executive resolution later? The reality is that this delay serves the status quo, effectively stalling any progress on the Secretariat’s modernisation agenda while the legal gears grind slowly toward a non-committal conclusion.

Broken HR guardrails and public shaming

This tactical sidestep shatters the basic decencies of executive talent management. In reputable multilateral institutions, a six-month notice window is an absolute, non-negotiable guardrail designed to protect operational continuity and safeguard the dignity of the office holder. By choosing to punt it to a judicial body as a stalling mechanism, CARICOM has violated these basic tenets and chosen to handle a highly sensitive corporate HR matter in the cold glare of the public theatre.

This isn’t just about one individual; it is about the standard of governance we expect from our regional body. If the rules of engagement can be bent for political expediency, the integrity of every contract under the CARICOM umbrella is called into question. It creates an environment of professional insecurity that ripples through the entire civil service, suggesting that loyalty and performance are secondary to the shifting sands of political favour.

The severe, unprecedented reputational damage to the incumbent cannot be ignored. Dr Barnett is left sitting in her official residence in Georgetown, Guyana, facing weeks of administrative purgatory under a public cloud of uncertainty. This is nothing short of a public shaming of the region’s top civil servant, systematically undermining her authority before international partners and internal staff. The ultimate tragedy is the message it sends across the region: what brilliant West Indian technocrat would choose to return and labour in the regional vineyard if this is the reward for an impeccable career?

Institutional erosion and the brain drain

The broader implications for Caribbean human capital are devastating. We often lament the “brain drain”, the migration of our brightest minds to the global north, yet we fail to examine the push factors we create at home. When the highest office in the region is treated with such levity and lack of procedural respect, we signal to the next generation of West Indian leaders that their talents are better spent in the private sector or in international organisations like the UN or the IMF, where professional standards are respected. We are effectively building a glass ceiling constructed not of gender alone, but of parochial political warfare that no amount of professional merit can shatter.

The Port of Spain paradox

The institutional irony makes the situation even more egregious. Trinidad and Tobago is the literal headquarters of the CCJ. The state has enacted domestic legislation granting privileges and immunities to its operations in strict keeping with international law.

Yet, Trinidad and Tobago famously refuses to recognise the CCJ in its appellate jurisdiction, remaining fiercely loyal to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in London for its own domestic appeals. This “pick and choose” approach to justice is the height of post-colonial hypocrisy. When asked directly at the conclusion of the St Lucia summit whether Trinidad and Tobago would finally adopt the CCJ as its final appellate court, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar flatly replied, “Not at this time.”

Port of Spain has engineered a politically convenient paradox: Original Jurisdiction for highlevel executive treaty mechanics, but the Privy Council for the domestic legal rights of ordinary citizens. The CCJ is treated as a premium, ondemand arbitration service for prime ministers who want to avoid making a tough call, whilst being denied its full constitutional purpose for the people of Trinidad and Tobago.

This schizophrenic relationship with the judiciary undermines the very court that CARICOM leaders now claim to respect. It suggests that the CCJ is good enough to resolve their internal squabbles, but not good enough to adjudicate the justice of the man in the street. This dualism is a symptom of a deeper malaise where regionalism is treated as a buffet – where leaders take what serves their immediate needs and leave the rest on the table.

A failure of executive courage

This entire litigious circus was wholly unnecessary. If the Heads of Government truly required independent, objective clarity, they could have easily empanelled an independent board of eminent Caribbean jurists and left the CCJ to address macrointegration issues. But a panel of independent jurists would have delivered a swift, definitive answer, which is exactly what our leaders were trying to avoid. Faced with an acrimonious disagreement, they chose the path of political convenience, relegating our highest court to a body of convenience and leaving their top civil servant to bear the fallout.

David Rudder would have an entire album for this – a soundtrack of broken promises and institutional decay. The summit in Castries is over, but our premier regional institutions will be nursing this self-inflicted hangover for a long time to come.

Until our leaders find the courage to govern by consensus rather than by litigation, the dream of a truly integrated Caribbean will remain an advisory opinion, persuasive in theory, but powerless in practice.

26. Reading between lines Avatar
    Reading between lines

Trinidad & Tobago / Prime Minister Kamla Persad‑Bissessar has a single vote that would have made no difference to the unanimous decision.
    Her objection reflects animosity to the unity of Caricom / African Caribbean community and also her bad mind and bad leadership. She is a very nasty piece of work.

27. There is a very BASIC problem with Roger’s otherwise astute analysis.

Given that CARICOM has ALWAYS been an ill-conceived diversion from reality from its very inception, it is superfluous to expect that logical outcomes would evolve down the road, … that harmonious relations would be a reasonable expectation, … or that ANY kind of common sense would prevail.

CARICOM is literally just a waste of time, money, effort and goodwill.
    If you STARTED wrong, building on a flawed foundation, what is the point of now critically analyzing cracks in the walls, leaks in the roof and strange noises from the floor?

‘CARICOM’ provides regular, free, first-class, Caribbean holiday packages – for ever one of the petite bourgeoisie small island rulers and their bands of sycophant yardfowls and lackies.
    IT IS GOOD FOR NOTHING MORE!

This is somewhat like having our Terence do an academic review on why the missing $60 million HOPE funds are difficult to account for…

…Or asking UWI’s Dr Don to explain possible reasons why CARIFESTA, under the watch of a Christmas Carol, would be over-budgeted by 1000%…
    …and is yet to be accounted for, or explained.

Check out how these all started…

We all know that, Like Sutherland, a person (or persons) will be reallocated …and the matter will die a natural death as the newly anointed musical guru strikes up a brand new scheme…

Only bout here… and now in the US of A!
    What a place!
    How is it even POSSIBLE…?!

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

You make me laugh. Thank you for sharing the Chinese sentencing, which was widely publicized. Surprised, you haven’t been sharing the many seizures of private assets by the Russian state, to help pay for their war, sorry SMO. Or the massive gifts from other oligarchs afraid the Kremlin seizes their assets too.

And you are correct, they only want to mek.money, otherwise known as profits, the definition of a capitalist. But God forbid don’t call them that!!! And as the world’s best manufacturer, they make plenty money. Yet, reigning in those “private profits” and the merky world and deals, experienced everywhere there are humans, is a PR challenge. And now they are just not hiding behind massive offshore real estate holdings, you have miners like Zhang, the owner of Yulong Investments, parading all over Australia, and more recently Europe, challenging the likes of the oil royalty, for horse racing glory. But he has to “know his place” and keep investing in China, or face the wrath of the CCP.

Seems to me, names and terms aside, the globe has an uncanny way of operating in a similar fashion. And hence, face many of the same challenges. We just use different terms.

29. “Seems to me, names and terms aside, the globe has an uncanny way of operating in a similar fashion. And hence, face many of the same challenges. We just use different terms.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    @ NO
    BINGO! … six is half dozen.

Do you have any suggestions for better terms than ‘albino-centric’ as the common modus operandi, vs ‘community-centric’ for the desirable alternative?

…or to replace ‘brassbowlery’ to describe the albino-centric disposition that we call capitalism?

The difference between the West and Eastern versions however is the inclination towards State-mandated community focus – rather than Bushie’s God-mandated concept based on righteousness – as defined by the Creator.

You have to agree that it is better that Putin forcefully extract resources from the oligarchs to fund his wars – than is is for Trump to extract taxes and social benefits from the poor to fund his wealthy friends, family and stupid escapade in Iran.

BTW
    The ‘similarity’ in brassbowlery is driven, powered and guided by a chap called ‘Lucifer’… ever heard of him…?

What a place and time!

30. PM MIA.

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

Once the terms are broadly understood, use whatever.
    I avoid words with ‘IST ot ”ISM, largely because as Pacha himself has pointed out, many of them are hybrids today. They are constantly adjusting.
    Some tell me Canada is a socialist country, solely because it offers Universal health care. And that is under serious attack, because we can find money to buy fighter jets and submarines, but not build out and maintain healthcare. We gave foreign firms billions to build battery plants which are at various stages of non- construction. Now the latest hotspot is data centres.
    I guess grabbing from oligarchs is more efficient, and possibly available, than running up the country’s credit card. And since I don’t know how they came upon their ventures in the first place, maybe like the many army owned hotels in Cuba, they are deemed state assets under temporary management.
    Talking bout building, the Bay St hotels/complexes, either Hyatt or Afrexim Bank under full construction yet?

32. @NO,
    “Talking bout building, the Bay St hotels/complexes, either Hyatt or Afrexim Bank under full construction yet?”
    ~~~~~~~~
    Like your battery plants in Canada, they are at various stages of ‘non-construction’.
    Lotta hoarding, …VERY reminiscent of Four Seasons.

But no one has articulated better than you have, the methodologies by which monies are STOLEN long before any real construction is done.

These ‘projects’ are simply opportunities to open up STATE EXPENSE ACCOUNTS to fund ‘work contracts’, deposits, consultants, …and especially lawyers.

The difference between Brassbados and Canada is that here, the SAME USUAL SUSPECTS get to repeat the IDENTICAL fraud – over …and over …and over…
    But as long as they can BORROW money, or seize NISSS funds to cover the losses, they are guaranteed election victories.
    In Canada, some body’s donkey would eventually be fined and confined…

What a place!
    Brassbowlery par excellence!

33. If greedy wait, hot will cool. Ground breaking was just the other day in March this year.

https://www.afreximbank.com/afreximbank-breaks-ground-on-historic-state-of-the-art-aatc-in-barbados-first-outside-africa/

34. Poor you!
    No doubt we are ‘UN-greedily’ awaiting the HOPE report, along with the one from the Commissioner on the slap…?

How long ago was the ground breaking on Four Seasons boss?

Wait!! … The Doo-doo dental school in St Peter is still on your agenda too?
    Dat was a sweet groundbreaking!

There is a big difference between being ‘greedy’, and being ’not gullible’.
    You can continue to HOPE….
    …but not stinking Bushie!!

35. The Hope files are being used by the Auditor General’s Office, the PMs investigation has to wait to access the same files, a reasonable position. The report is coming.

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

I see Dwight in that photo. What is he up to?

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

Lol….the Auditor General “special audit” on HOPE was provided over a year ago? Why should that office still have the files?
    6 months should be adequate? And if it isn’t, it is up to the GoB to inform citizens on the expected timing. “We en got de files” is no longer valid?
    But this is how the cookie crumbles. Causing we don’t care if the report is issued or not. Who else yuh want we to vote fuh?
    Citizens will be lucky to get any report, before the HOPE project is merged with BESCO and ABC (perfect fit….both providing energy!!) to get GACU Co, the. Government Agricultural Cooperative and Union Co, otherwise known as Govt Always Covers Up.
    To besides, providing the Union (not Unity 🤔) with ownership gratis, would be well received by the people. After all, weren’t workers to get ownership in BESCO.
    I think Dwight is right Sutherland should be GACU CEO, and the Chair, former AG Marshall.