Barbadians were promised in recent days that 10 new garbage trucks – urgently needed – would have been mobilized in time for the Holidays. Although there has been no official announcement by the Mia Mottley government as to why a faulty configuration of the 10 trucks have prevented deployment, information in the public space indicates that the cab of the truck accommodates only two persons and the standing bar on the outside,  one instead of two. It should be noted this government in its infinite wisdom has recruited a PR/Communications team that is second to none if compared to previous governments. There is no reason information should not be readily available regarding matters affecting state apparatus.

The blogmaster is sympathetic to the fact there will be breakdowns in procedure from time to time, although it should never happen in a well functioning system. Garbage collection continues to be a hot button issue and the government leading into the last general election was not bashful about reminding the electorate the former government had not purchased a single garbage truck during its 10 year tenure.

The embarrassing fiasco currently playing out that the $400,000 dollar garbage truck x 10 will have to be retrofitted – no doubt at taxpayers expense – is cause for concern. Given the size of the procurement order, coupled with the importance of the transaction to maintaining a clean environment, a simple thought at the time of signing off on the purchase order should have suggested that those responsible ensure the garbage trucks  ‘fit for purpose’.

All that is left for the blogmaster to opine is that any self respecting administration should immediately request the resignation of the minister responsible (Trevor Prescod) and chairman of the Sanitation Service Authority (Rudy Grant) with immediate effect. We have to start to hold our officials accountable. Given historical behaviour the firing and or resignation of ministers appear to be removed from the remit of the Prime Minister.

The blogmaster is keenly aware the political polarization that exist means that every mistake will be amplified for political gain. This blogmaster is more concerned to ask – how was this sizeable mistake allowed to happen given the modus operandi of this government in period of enhanced financial surveillance ans austerity.

Thg more things change the more they remain the same.

668 responses to “Garbage Trucks Saga”

1. Is that 400K BDS or US?
    Good attempt at damage control….
    I suspect we have a good story here

2. Well it is about time you say something about this one ..in the on going saga of govt embarrassing mistakes one after another
    However yuh couldn’t help yuhself but to throw Prescod under the wheels of them badly retrofitted trucks
    However sources close to what is going on states that Mia knew of all the specifications of the trucks and signed and agreed to buying the trucks at cost
    As one blogger indicated Mia should be impeached and thrown out if office on her fat a.ss
    In less than a month taxpayers money has gone to waste because of Mia hot and sweaty agreements
    Makes for wonder what stinking smell would emit from all those African agreements she has signed
    Lawd have merci the Moe’s are now charge of running barbados govt
    Who would have thought !

3. It is a pity that OSA has foolishly re-aligned himself to the party he once said that has lost its way
    Now he can be called a runaway. who found himself caught up in a whirlwind of Moe disease
    A man who had separated himself from the blp party for all the right reasons cannot now open his mouth with truthfulness and help save the barbadian people from torture and the reckless strategies of Mia Mottley
    Something gotta give cause for more years of these nightmare policies and hell will break loose

4. 400hundred thousand worth of idle metal brought out if taxpayers pocket and can’t and unable to remove a toffee paper off the streets
    What an embarassment
    Say what
    Who is in charge
    Mia or duppy Dust
    I think duppy dust now at the wheels of management
    Mia has to go

5. BDS $ or US $
    Let me stop beating about the bush… Probably US $

I expect scam and kickback as the final outcome.. Too ignorant and too greedy.

There….

6. “I expect scam and kickback as the final outcome.. Too ignorant and too greedy.

There….”

Lol, lol.

7. Nothing falls off a truck anymore…

During the elections, the BLP had a good grasp of the impact of social media, but were not prepared for the massive victory.

What they should have done after the elections was to compile a list of the ‘wrongs’ done by the DLP and make a promise not to go down the same path. The victory gave them a chance to
    “write our names on history’s page
    With expectations great
    Strict guardians of our heritage
    Firm craftsmen of our fate”
    but what we have is a slow trickle of urine and the smell of shit.

It appears that they entered office with a “Now, it’s our turn”. With the massive victory, they thought that they could do as they like and run the same scams as before. They same social media that they mastered is now kicking them in their ass. Stories that would once take months to mature are breaking in a matter of days.

Well they can control CBC,
    they can put the fear of God into a local online newspaper (so that one hint at the garbage truck issues but never fully breaks the story),
    they can send their main operative out to try to control the garbage truck narrative,
    but they cannot silence the keyboard warriors, the Salemites, the pick-a-noise crew or those who read to respond but never to understand.

The same social media that they used to win the elections is now kicking their ass.

The Mugabe defense force (MDF) has almost vacated the battle field. I would like to believe it is because they are seeing the light and not because of a shortage of scratch-grain (money).

The guy who publishes the enemies list has been silent for some days.

The guy who usually trots out a quick but lame response has been unusually quiet.

Gentlemen, now is the time your party needs you; the good works will speak for themselves. The screw-ups need defending.

My advice to Mia, would be to trim her current crew. They are some here who may not sing from the same hymnal and they are not B or D. But they are patriots and honest. Employ and protect them.
    You are not going to get it right if you continue to rely on “Keystone cops”. Ignore those who tell you how great you are. A few honest persons in your entourage/team would save you from these missteps.

8. Why should the trucks be retrofitted?

9. Thanks. I followed your link and for the first time I see BDS $.

400K BDS $ = 400K BDS $
    400K US $ = 800K BDS $
    Whenever, I see a figure without stating the actual currency…. I think … scam
    I google some prices for garbage truck and $400K BDS may be a very good price (if the things work)

🙂 Tell them 🙂 don’t put figures out there without stating the currency

Thanks

10. @John2

You have been living under a rock in the last week?

11. Thanks for the link.

Have a great day Barbados
    Make a great noise and let people know you are watching them. When they realize that that they are not considered as “Caesar’s wife”, they will behave

Remember: you don’t have to be right, but they do. The bar is much higher for them than it is for you …
    Have a great day.

12. CHOOSE THE RIGHT

Soon after the Election the Government was seeking to Purchase Garbage Trucks, there was a Big Hullabaloo about a Vehicle Company in Barbados that was Following the Government Delegation that wanted to Purchase these Garbage Trucks, and the Delegation was told “COME BACK TO BARBADOS”! The Garbage Truck Situation was Desperate then and the Government knew it was a Desperate Situation and we had to wait almost Two Years before they Arrived? WHY?

Were they Choosing the Perfect Truck and if so how does a Garbage Truck cost $400.000 DUTY FREE? How does this Perfect Truck arrive as a Left Hand Drive? And if these Trucks Conformed to International Standards and this was the Government’s Position, are we now going to make the Roads in Barbados Conform to International Standards to Suit the Trucks? Wouldn’t it have been better to LET A GARAGE BRING IN THE CORRECT MODEL TRUCK? They have been in the Business a Long time and KNOW THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A LEFT HAND DRIVE AND A RIGHT HAND DRIVE.

NOW YOU UNDERSTAND WHY GOVERNMENTS ALWAYS MAKE MISTAKE, THEIR INTENTIONS NEVER WORKS OUT IN REALITY!

WHAT OTHER MISTAKES ARE BEING MADE THAT WE ARE UNAWARE OF?

WHAT ABOUT THE MILLION TREES THAT IS TO BE PLANTED? (Since Governments are Prone to make Mistakes as in the Garbage Trucks) what are the Trees they are going to Plant? Are they going to be Ornamental or Fruit Bearing Trees? Freedom Recommends FRUIT BEARING TREES. To grow any Tree before it is Transplanted to where it is to reside any Tree before it is Transplanted will cost a Minimum of $30.00 dollars to get it to the Size to where it can be Relocated. A Million Trees by $30.00 is $30 Million Dollars. To Care and Plant and Prepare the Soil must cost a Minimum of another $30.00 (that does not include the Cost of the land and the Maintenance of the Trees.) So now, they have Spent 60 Million Dollars. (What Could Possibly go wrong with this undertaking)… MAYBE DR.LUCAS CAN GIVE US SOME INSIGHT FROM HIS PAST EXPERIENCE IN THIS FILED?

Barbados has survived many Bumbling Actions by Government but we will not Survive the Blundering actions of these Magnitudes including the SO CALLED GREEN INITIATIVE OF WIND AND SOLAR ENERGY. WE MAKE MISTAKES WHEN WE CHOOSE IDEOLOGY OVER PRACTICALLY AND WHEN WE FOLLOW PROPAGANDA AS IT LEADS US IN THE WRONG DIRECTION.

https://www.facebook.com/SupportMiaMottley/videos/579930915916319/

13. David
    You stated the trucks WILL have to be retrofitted. where did you get that info from?
    Isn’t Retrofitting just one option?

Why will they have to be retrofitted?

14. Piece the Legend Avatar

A good morrow to ye all especially to Commander Theophillus Gazerts, recently promoted as Commander of both the Northern & Southern Elite Forces!

As is evidenced here Commander Theophillus you show that your command has a superlative grasp on the lay of the land and the state of the now devastated Mugabe Army.

As you Commander Theophillus would know from Tsun Tsu’s the Art of War there are several verses that your style employs

“…6. Standing on the defensive indicates insufficient strength; attacking, a superabundance of strength.

The general who is skilled in defense hides in the most secret recesses of the earth; he who is skilled in attack flashes forth from the topmost heights of heaven.

Thus on the one hand we have ability to protect ourselves; on the other, a victory that is complete…”

The Mugabe Regime continues on in the only mode they can!

The defensive mode!

Remember that at this time, they are all employed in THE GATHERING 2020 where they will be gearing up for election parties for 12 months of festivals!

12 months of Kadooment and revelry to keep Bajan People and Sheeple preoccupied with jobby.

12 months while people running round at a grand Q IN THE COMMUNITY, giving a false sense of activity and fun and frolic!

Then 2021 and General Elections!

Once people are in party mode we can expect that ANYTHING CAN HAPPEN and stupefied bajans wont give a badword Commander.

“…7. You can be sure of succeeding in your attacks if you only attack places which are undefended.

You can ensure the safety of your defense if you only hold positions that cannot be attacked.

Hence that general is skillful in attack whose opponent does not know what to defend; and he is skillful in defense whose opponent does not know what to attack…”

The People’s Party for Democracy and Development UNDER THE LEADERSHIP OF REVEREND JOSEPH ATHERLEY is noticeably silent in their attacks “in places which the Mugabe Regime CANNOT DEFEND”

For example US$4,000,000 in UNFIT FOR THE PURPOSE OF GARBAGE COLLECTION TRUCKS!

and Commander Theophillus Gazerts one more egregious area that the Leader of the Opposition Reverend Joseph Atherley REFUSES TO DEFEND IS one that the Barbados Labour party has attacked.

THE PUBLIC TERRORISM ACT AGAINST THE MORE CAPABLE LEADER Caswell Franklyn!

We Salemites and Pick a Noise crew understand why Mugabe Mottley has suppressed the story in the news.

We Patriots understand why the Minister of Disinformation has been characteristically silent during this attempted murder and attempt to frighten the strategically sound choice for Competent PdP leader

But what we dont understand IS WHY JOSEPH ATHERLEY IS SO RH SILENT!

UNLESS HE IS MIA’S PLANT and would not mind if Caswell Franklyn is killed!!!

Hmmmmmmmm!

Makes you wonder right Theophillus?

15. I will bet that the 400hundred thousand cost thrown around does not included taxes paid to the mexican govt also the shipment
    18mths of lies and deception boils over in the public domain brought in by a horse driven person called Mia Moe Mottley

16. Sources close to the truck saga says Mia is livid and ministers are told to stay away from the press

17. How did the good news about garbage trucks morph into bad news?

Didn’t someone do “due diligence”?

A bit of unsolicited advice to anyone arriving for “We gatherin”, Don’t get stuck behind a garbage truck.

18. Wily just looking out his front window of his Canadian residence, yes on Saturday, to see local privatized garbage truck come and pickup Christmas numerous leaving, one employee only, driving the truck and throwing the garbage into the truck. From article same truck in Barbados takes 3 to 4 individuals to do the same job of 1 in Canada. This fact is TELLING THE BAJAN story of Unions and thier political influence.

SAME OLD SAME OLD.

19. @ Sargeant

“due diligence”? This word is not found in BAJAN dictionaries along with “maintenance”.

20. Mia Moe Mottley said that the trucks had to meet international standards
    Yet a real bold faced lie as to specifications and design
    Again looking out my window i remember seeing old design garbage trucks doing the job required to keep the environment clean
    It seems like every time Mia opens mouth a barrell of lies roll of her tongue

21. If the Sanitation Service Authority had gone about acquiring these trucks, using the Government’s normal procedure, this mess would have been averted. This kind of thing happens when someone is looking for a kickback. Could this be the reason for the mess?

22. Wily can hardly wait for BARBADOS NEW YEARS POLITICAL RESOLUTIONS, going to be pretty hard to come up with any that top this GARBAGE TRUCK SAGA, well Wily knows the political elite will come good with a topper.

23. @Caswell

“Could this be the reason for the mess?”

Caswell you might ask yourself if UNION UNRESLISTIC work demands might also be the problem.

24. David

That article was published today. I did not read it until you posted the link.

If you call being very busy living under a rock then yes I have bee living under for about the last few months not only this week.

Like Willy I am in the USA and see different option for the trucks but understand what goes on in Barbados

I don’t see what all the fuss is about.

25. @ Sargeant

“Due Diligence?”

Here are some hypothetical examples of the use of due, FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSED ONLY, in an effort to share that those people may not understand the term “due diligence ”

That is someting like “due Courts?” as in “you due to pay Courts 30% on their usurious loan?

Or “your library books are due to be returned to the Barbados Library that has been closed for nuff years?”

Or that “Trevor Prescod and Rudy Grant DUE to get paid a kickback from the people who have supplied these inutile Garbage trucks?”

So Sargeant who is this fellow called Diligence?

26. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

This fact is TELLING THE BAJAN story of Unions and thier political influence. Is this an attempt at Canadian 2020 humour!

How and when did Union influence become such a specific Bajan tale?

…we STILL looking for the remains of famed US “unionist” influencer extraordinaire Jimmy Hoffa.

…we STILL trying to pierce the veil of the whopping salaries and expensive perks of the leaders of Canada’s unions … and we STILL impressed with the over $5 billion in local assets and $2B invested outside Canada by unions there and their outside influence over the years in the always challenging political campaigns there.

But yet it’s a BAJAN same old-same old story of unionism…. isn’t this lil nation awesome in being the originator and maintainer bar none of life’s despair !

27. Equal Rights &Justice Avatar
    Equal Rights &Justice

10 trucks better than no trucks at all , to get them retrofitted to suite de bajan worker is not rocket science it can be dun.

28. @Equal Rights & Justice

Have you even tried to make contact with the issue?

What was the procurement process?

What were the requirements/specs agreed with the seller/contractors?

29. Wunna read this Rass**le?

By one of the reconstituted Rented Jackasses?

“…10 trucks better than no trucks at all , to get them retrofitted to suite de bajan worker is not rocket science it can be dun…”

But look at the counter to that shy$e statement by none other than Senator Caswell Franklyn WHOM DE HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER SAID WAS PUN VACATION!!!

“…If the Sanitation Service Authority had gone about acquiring these trucks, using the Government’s normal procedure, this mess would have been averted…”

First of all Senator Caswell Franklyn

De ole man wishes you seasons greetings and a safe and healthy New Year

I am glad that the Effort to Destroy your growing popularity only resulted in your loss of keys and your phone

If it was an iPhone I pray you had it locked

Android is not as easy to protect and you can be sure, IF ITS AN ANDROID, Mugabe has its contents and now she AND *** know***.

Stop using WhatsApp for secure communications.

Migrate to Telegram and lock that app.

Please provide a summary of “Government’s normal procedures” so that people and sheeple here UNDERSTAND THAT MUGABE MOTTLEY AND HER REGIME are equal opportunity teives LIKE THE DLP!

30. Observing....still Avatar
    Observing….still

With a 30-0 (29-1) majority and a juggernaut marketing, PR and social media apparatus “this too shall pass.”

The opposition parties and media are duty bound to hold any government to account but alas this may now be a thing of the past.

Prescod and Duguid have repeatedly made a mess of their ministries and bungled major initiatives.

Others are like muzzled sheep towing the line with token comments every few weeks.

All the while serious anti-socially driven murders, crime and behaviours rise.

Yes we will Gather-in 2020 and yes MAM has her Vision 2020 but some in this lot need to go and a respectable opposition “put” in place for balance, accountability and competing views.

Just observing

31. A govt that bungles abd blow smoke in peoples faces
    Have shown how easy it is fir them to make simple mistakes
    Yet talking about building a hotel corridor
    At present time the whole govt should be placed under Psychiatric observation
    Ten RH trucks and not one suitable for garbage pick up on barbados street

######tengarbagetrucks heeee

32. The comedy about the garbage trucks shows too clearly what the situation in Barbados is like. Unions always striking, demanding wage increases. Lazy public servants living off the taxpayers’ money. The civil servants are always looking for excuses not to work: Sometimes it’s the supposedly low wages, sometimes it’s the sun, sometimes it’s the rain, sometimes it’s all the filth they’ve ruined their building with.

Take good note of what Tron prophesies: with this rotten work ethic, we won’t have an upswing next year, not in five years, not in ten years.

However, the real joke is this planned Barrow monument in St. Lucy. A monument for an arrogant figure whose party has driven Barbados into the abyss. Barbados is really the only place in the world where you get a medal for failure. I seriously wonder when Donville Inniss will be declared a national hero. Or Chris Sinckler. Or another semi-educated local from the lower class who has dragged the country into the mud.

33. There are many more options one of which can be shortening the routes for the trucks with one loader and use the driver as an assistant loader when needed. you may have to pay him a little more for some time but with increase in trucks you may have to hire more people to work 3/truck.
    Shorten the routes will be to make sure you don’t over the one man loader or to keep his work load as close to normal as possible.

34. any retrofitting/kickback money would be going into the pockets of the workers/driver.

35. **Documents no longer fall off trucks ***

I have assemble a team of thinkers and asked them to take me where the average Bajan would never go. Here are their efforts:

Scam within a scam?
    Did our representatives set out to scam the citizens of Barbados and ended up being scammed by the Mexicans?

Language barrier?
    Were the negotiations done in Spanish or English?
    Did our team have professionals assist in performing translations?
    Did our attempts to be secretive and hide information the reason for this failure?
    Why is there such a colossal screw-up?

Mistake or not?
    Was this a mistake or was it an attempt to provide a local with a lot of business and hero status?
    How deep is the scam?
    Scammed at both ends?

Can we return these trucks?
    Or the fact that we started retrofitting means that the trucks must now stay on our hands?

Will heads roll?
    Does Mia have the courage to call for resignations?

Total costs
    What will be the total cost of each truck? Will we see an extra $50-100K added to the price?

Recommendation:
    Mia, I have often received emails indicating that I was the heir to some fortune in Africa. I would urge you to ignore such emails and that some groups are ahead of in running scams. A word to the wise.

36. Donks, Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks, Gripe and Josh

Is it true last government never bought garbage trucks?

Will an impartial person with facts clarify because garbage collection issues only arose in last admin second term.

The Mottley regime campaigned on promise to resolve garbage truck shortage it took country by surprise when people sent to purchase trucks abroad were recalled empty handed.

The frivolous excuse of being followed around like a spy movie was bollocks then as it is now.

How does the fiasco of long awaited US$400,000 trucks arrive not fit for purpose. Surely heads must roll.

Standard management practice is discussion and training of operators as integral part of transaction. Lesson 101 in commonsense. Somebody dropped an expensive ball.

How did we get back here?

The PM obviously following carefully laid out PR road map will ride in clad in white, scarf blowing in the wind to save the day.

The ministers and their water carriers look like bungling fools.

Apologists e.g. the blog mechanic will search for an exit to weasel GoB out of this latest debacle.

The end users the taxpayers as usual end up the biggest losers.

37. Greetings to Senator Caswell.
    Wishing you the very best in 2020.

38. Happy Holidays Caswell…

Glad you are still with us.

39. “Did our representatives set out to scam the citizens of Barbados and ended up being scammed by the Mexicans?”

40. I will be back later to reveal the result of my investigations [ 🙂 or to apologize 🙂 to any who are found to be innocent].

As always… Have a great day, Barbados

41. @Theo at 9:01 a.m. “The guy who usually trots out a quick but lame response has been unusually quiet.”

Yes I miss our boy Enuff, or maybe our girl, or maybe boy/girl. Whatever, Enuff, where are you? Hope that you had a merry Christmas, but Christmas dun. Time to get back to work.

42. Greenland
    The Nigerian solar heaters
    The Mexican garbage trucks
    What do they all have in common
    Go figure

43. Yeah…i miss Enuff too..

44. The minimum wage will rise to 123.22 pesos ($6.50) A DAY next year, Labor Minister Luisa Alcalde announced at an event in Mexico City.Dec 17, 2019

Mexico to Hike Its Minimum Wage to $6.50 A DAY | Time

https://time.com › mexico-minimum-wage-hike-2020
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I KNOW MEXICO REAL REAL WELL FIRST-HAND KNOWLEDGE.

THE FACT THAT THESE GARBAGE TRUCKS WERE BOUGHT IN MEXICO AND NOT IN THE USA LEAVES A NASTY STENCH SINCE THEY ARE LEFT HANDED VEHICLES.

@ THEO SAID HE GOOGLED PRICES HOWEVER THOSE PRICES ARE STANDARD US PRICES AND IN MEXICO WOULD BE AT LEAST 50 – 60% CHEAPER IN COST.

ALSO IN MEXICO CORRUPTION AND TAILORING OF INVOICES EITHER PROFORMA OR COMMERCIAL ARE PAR FOR THE COURSE.

IN BARBADOS HAVING PERSONALLY TENDERED AND WON GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS ANYTHING OVER $99,999 meaning $100,000 AND ABOVE MUST BE ADVERTISED IN NEWSPAPERS FOR PUBLIC TENDER ALONG WITH SPECIFICATIONS FOR BIDS FROM INTERESTED SUPPLIERS.

THE FACT THAT THESE GARBAGE TRUCKS COSTING THE LOCAL TAXPAYERS $MILLIONS WITH NO PUBLIC TENDER IS OBVIOUS NOT ONLY A BREACH OF GOVERNMENT’S OWN FINANCIAL RULES IT ALSO SPEAKS TO SKULL DUGGERY AND ONGOING CORRUPTION SAME AS TOOK PLACE UNDER THE DLP.

45. It has been established that the previous administration purchased at least 1 truck in 2013, still this Minister of Misinformation continues to mislead this once honourable house.

Call for what resignations what!
    These same likkle boys had to haul ass and come home when MAM ordered them to abort the first mission to source trucks. Um did big news back then, how could you have forgotten?

Wunna really believe anybody could buy a single truck from Mexico without getting permission from the micro manager. Resign for buying trucks that meet international standards? You ain’t hear your boss dropping remarks about self-loading trucks. Resign my ass.

The worst opposition the country has ever seen is now the the administration, and wunna still fail to see that it has always been dem against we.

46. “get them retrofitted to suite de bajan worker”

Better still get the BAJAN WORKER MODIFIED to suit the garbage vehicles as delivered.
    Tron & Wily typically row the same boat on this issue. It’s about time Barbados had a WORK ETHIC adjustment, UNIONS included.

47. Oh where, tell me where has my little rooster gone?
    Oh where, tell me where has my little rooster gone?

Well, he hasn’t ‘gone wi’ streaming banners where noble deeds are done’

But still “it’s oh, in my heart that I wish him safe at home!”

Come out, come out, wherever you are! Loren-zooooooooo!

But seriously folks, how many times has this administration bungled simple situations in the last year and a half?

Is it incompetence, corruption, carelessness? Whatever it is, it does not inspire the confidence we need to get on board.

Our minister has admitted that he is not Jesus. So maybe we should pray to Jesus that he will find a job more suited to his capabilities.

48. John2 December 28, 2019 11:35 AM

Like you I really do not see what all the noise is all about. We are living in rapidly changing times. and adaptations have to be made. As you suggested, what is wrong with having one ,instead of two workers on the truck ? I will answer for you : the noise the Unions will make. It is possible this the move government wants to introduce. Soon ,all of these trucks will be driverless and be programmed to be used with robots. That this will happen is like night following day. As for the refusal of the workers to work any five /six in the week, as I have said previously, shut SSA (Sanitation Service Authority) down, pay the workers out and start anew under the required conditions. Automation is coming and it cannot be stopped.