Barbadians were promised in recent days that 10 new garbage trucks – urgently needed – would have been mobilized in time for the Holidays. Although there has been no official announcement by the Mia Mottley government as to why a faulty configuration of the 10 trucks have prevented deployment, information in the public space indicates that the cab of the truck accommodates only two persons and the standing bar on the outside,  one instead of two. It should be noted this government in its infinite wisdom has recruited a PR/Communications team that is second to none if compared to previous governments. There is no reason information should not be readily available regarding matters affecting state apparatus.

The blogmaster is sympathetic to the fact there will be breakdowns in procedure from time to time, although it should never happen in a well functioning system. Garbage collection continues to be a hot button issue and the government leading into the last general election was not bashful about reminding the electorate the former government had not purchased a single garbage truck during its 10 year tenure.

The embarrassing fiasco currently playing out that the $400,000 dollar garbage truck x 10 will have to be retrofitted – no doubt at taxpayers expense – is cause for concern. Given the size of the procurement order, coupled with the importance of the transaction to maintaining a clean environment, a simple thought at the time of signing off on the purchase order should have suggested that those responsible ensure the garbage trucks  ‘fit for purpose’.

All that is left for the blogmaster to opine is that any self respecting administration should immediately request the resignation of the minister responsible (Trevor Prescod) and chairman of the Sanitation Service Authority (Rudy Grant) with immediate effect. We have to start to hold our officials accountable. Given historical behaviour the firing and or resignation of ministers appear to be removed from the remit of the Prime Minister.

The blogmaster is keenly aware the political polarization that exist means that every mistake will be amplified for political gain. This blogmaster is more concerned to ask – how was this sizeable mistake allowed to happen given the modus operandi of this government in period of enhanced financial surveillance ans austerity.

Thg more things change the more they remain the same.

668 responses to “Garbage Trucks Saga”

1. “Barbados is carrying nuff nuff dead weight.”

ain’t that the truth and they are all sucking on taxpayers and pensioners nonstop they always got a scheme and a scam……they should all be GATHERED up and dumped in the deepest part of the ocean….parasites.

2. AM I TO UNDERSTAND THAT BECAUSE AN EDICT WAS MADE THAT ALL BAJANS SHOULD RETURN SO THAT THEY MAY BE DEPARTURE TAXED IN SIMILAR FASHION TO JOSEPH AND MARY THAT BAJANS IN THE DIASPORA WILL REALLY OBEY?
    WILL THERE BE WATER AND ELECTRICITY?
    WHY WAS NOT A SUITABLE EDICT MADE ABOUT COLLECTING THE GARBAGE IN THE LAST 18 MONTHS?

3. Baje unlike Mariposa i do not spesk for the BLP but for myself if you have 10 or 100 questions ask Ms Mottley when next you see her if you got the guts. I was speaking to Mariposa are you her relative?As for Mariposa it was stated your Dems had 5 trucks working nothing about you all buying trucks two different things all together.It seems you have a comprehension problem.What was the plan to privitize the SSA and to whose benefit?

4. Auld Lang Syne

5. @WARU at 7:09 “How can we improve this situation? Longer opening hours? More cashiers? More cameras to take the photos, since that is a much-discussed (and cussed!) issue? I would like to hear some suggestions, please.”

Longer opening hours: Yes
    More cashiers: Yes
    More cameras to take the photos: Yes
    Maybe pay the fee on line?
    Maybe the authority can mail out the sticker once they have previously verified identity and received the money online?

I hate lines as much as anybody else, so what works for me is that I just renew my license once every five years. So I stood in line in 2017, and won’t have to stand inline again until 2022. then 2027 and then as I’ve already told the eldest grands, once they can drive, I QUIT, so I plan to give the Licensing Authority only 2 more hours of the rest of my life.

But seriously if everybody who can, opted for the 5 year license it would reduce the length of the lines significantly.

6. Mari
    I like how you fall of the $400k of junk metal real fast. I hope you didn’t land in the road on any of that toffee paper them cant even take up.
    The garbage truck is more a threat to you than the gun shot so you can left the vest at home.

7. I’ve had people tell me in line that they don’t want to pay for 5 years, because what if they die the government will get their $20 or $80 or whatever.

Honestly I hate standing so much that I am happy for the government to keep my $20 or $80 or whatever.

Because where I am going the streets are paved with gold so I won’t be missing the $20 or $80 or whatever.

Hallelujah!!!

8. One last one fuh u John2
    Never knew i was standing or sitting on one uh them things
    I said that the publicity can only last so long.
    I heard all the long appluase when the 400Hundred thousand dollars pieces of metal landed at the port
    Today i was awaiting to hear Trevor Prescod applause but i guess he was left gasping for breath
    Funny he like the AG is quiet as a mouse on this turn of events called GOOD News from the blp foot soldiers

9. @ Lorenzo

Why would I be afraid of speaking directly to Mia since we responded to each other on first-name basis in the past?

I am not a local idiot who has Mia or any other human being on a pedestal.

You want to castigate all who highlight your BLP corrupt politics, you should also be able to explain their underhanded dealings.

10. Always some flimsy slimy excuse why they can’t get rid of their corrupt pracitices…they always tell you WHAT THEY CAN’T DO…never what they can do, they are holding the people hostage so they can continue the corruption uninterrupted….first it was, oh, there is nothing we can do about the corruption, after promising they would with their red bag of evidence…now it’s no quick fix for the corrupt supreme court that the same CJ Gibson was hired to FIX OVER 10 YEARS AGO….it’s even more corrupt now, the pubic is even more at risk of being victimized and robbed..

All it really needs is to get rid of all those corrupt lawyers who slither in and out of the court on a daily basis polluting it with their nastiness, and get rid of all the known corrupt judges on the bench…it is not rocket science….Stop the corrupt insurance companies from misusing and abusing the court to destroy people’s lives…what’s so hard about that..

Barbados is the only country in the world that does not want to remove corrupt lawyers.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243323/judicial-quick-fix

“Barbados’ judicial system requires more than a quick fix.

Attorney General Dale Marshall has promised that since more judges have been appointed, and changes are coming to the Police Certificate of Character office, improvements will be seen in the way the courts deal with criminal and civil cases.”

11. Happy New Year to Blogmaster and everyone else.

12. Piece the Legend Avatar

De ole man, as is my usual perambulations, will travel north, to come south!

One notes that AMONG THE 400 BLOGGERS ON THIS TOPIC, the recently robbed Senator Caswell Franklyn came here and spoke in 7 short sentences about these trucks!

Now, here is a thing that de ole man knows well about Caswell Franklyn

De man DOES NOT OPEN HE MOUF TO SPEAK BOUT NUFFING unless he has the facts.

So if in that blog he did not share a fact, one of 2 things has happened, he has no factual matter in this case or, based on his substantive role, he has opted NOT TO SHARE THOSE DETAILS.

Which brings de ole man to the point I am making!

These are 400 blogs of speculation which the BLP regime has been observing here closely

The reason they are observing this article closely is because their interest lies in SEEING IF ANY THERE ARE ANY PUBLIC RECORDS OF THE DISHONESTY ASSOCIATED WITH THIS PURCHASE!

Things like these, if verified by independent documentation WILL MAKE MINISTER PRESCOD LOSE HE SEAT!

A WORD TO CASWELL THE WISE, IS SUFFICIENT

13. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

Your assistance please with an item here thank you

14. mari

I see you drop the word “useless” from ur description.
    maybe one will be useful to u now to pick u up after the ball.

15. John 2
    I put that in reserves until the next shoe drop
    Dont worry uh gonna hear that word a lot in the next four years
    Like useless AG

16. I believe that one Dale Whistlebower believes everytime he opens his mouth he is talking to idiots with NO MEMORY, they too love to disrespect and insult the intelligence of the population n WHO ELECTED THEM…both retarded governments have always done this…let me see them continue doing it in 2020 now that their corrupt, evil WICKEDNESS to the people has finally hit EVERY CORNER……..public nuisances and parasites.

hope they enjoyed their champagne last night and hope it turned to lime juice.

HAPPY NEW YEAR BARBADOS!!!!

17. They got a vision for everything except for the corruption and the corrupt supreme court….those never have a quick fix, even decades later..

18. wuhloss…ah see their fowls are saying on Facebook that it is Donville should be exposed like that…..Donville like he only THOUGHT he had friends…lol..now when there is an inferno and too much heat to bear…am sure they will throw a couple more DLP fiends UNDER THE BUS…too…only friends can do that to friends…

gotta save their own asses you know..

19. Piece my man…new year new rules from the Duopoly…IT’S ALL DONVILLE’S FAULT..lol

20. Read and enjoy my friends. They are acting like someone is lying on them.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=2535706270088210&id=100009465853405&sfnsn=scwspmo&extid=Hz8Rs57F7Tpe8Nnt

21. For some the history of Barbados started on May 24, 2018. For others it started 10 years before that date and ended on that date.

What both groups do not realize is that no matter when it started or ended, all they are recounting is a history of misdeeds.

22. The best new year ever….”we gathering”…lol

23. Theo…that’s what they love to do…go round and around and around in circles with their blame each other game….while meeting at each other’s house ps and laughing their asses off at the dummies who believe in them, not believing their GOODLUCK that they can still pull that fraud off since the 1940s….. and carry the weakest minds and dumbest yardfowls around and around with them….no one is stepping off…it has gone on for DECADES.

people have spent years warning the dummy believers but they won’t listen….it might take an earthquake or tsunami to shake and wake them the hell up.

24. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/12/31/mirchandanis-can-collect-stock/

BarbadosToday
    “Attorney General Dale Marshall is encouraging former owners of the Liquidation Centre building on Bay Street, The City to take possession of the items being stored if they were concerned about theft.

This advice comes on the heels of reports that some of the items that were removed from the building several weeks ago were stolen.

Confirming the report and without giving detail, Marshall told journalists on Tuesday that the stolen items have since been recovered.”

Items recovered, so it is possible the thieves have bee identified…… That should be story..
    “Ram’s stuff recovered:Thieves arrested”.
    Ram’s stuff was recovered from the homes of several … In addition, some security ……. arrested. …
    A magistrate was heard to exclaim ” This is more serious than the theft of a single salt bread” …

25. Some will awake, wash their face, say is a “New Year” and wish to begin with a clean slate. But a “New Year” is just time on a calendar. the issues remain.

Some will wish for one day of rest from these stories, but the doers of good and bad deals/deeds are active today.

Gautama Buddha
    “Wakefulness is the way to life.
    The fool sleeps
    As if he were already dead,
    But the Master is awake
    And he lives forever. ”

26. Mariposa

The only differences between former AG Adriel Brathwaite and current AG Dale Marshall are their names and the political party they represent.

Could you imagine, when the media asked Brathwaite about the increasing number of people engaging in the ILLEGAL activity of squatting at Rock Hall, St. Phillip, which, ironically, is in the constituency he once represented, he said he was aware of the situation and had FRIENDS living there?

You couldn’t want an AG more useless than that.

27. Does any of the blp foot soldiers know how much of the taxpayers money has been allocated for the “”gathering” 12 month fete

28. Artax .but what Braithwaite did not say that he would reward his squatting friends with a lump sum of 25thousand to remove their illegal backside off the land
    and offer them to buy the land at 10cents persqfoot and govt pick up the remaining cost

29. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/12/31/ag-pledges-action-to-arrest-crime/
    I applaud the AG efforts but I disagree with this section. Let me be fair and state that they are a number of police department that agree with his position. However, I see people getting in an accident with a fool who is in the wrong, does not have a driver license or insurance and unwilling to exchange information.

What are you going to do if the police will not come.

BarbadosToday
    “The Attorney General also said that come next year, police officers would also stop responding to minor accidents.

“Those matters are really matters best left to insurance companies because at the end of the day it is really about who is going to pay. Those are not the kinds of things people get charge for,” he said.

“So police will continue to go to fatal accidents and serious accidents, but the run of the mill accidents – somebody bounced your car in a carpark and you are not moving until the police comes – that takes up valuable policing time,” said Marshall.”

30. Usless Mariposa

I think you should hold on to that word real tight it suit you, your team and especially the current losers leaders/ than the $400k of metal..

31. “……..but what Braithwaite did not say…..”

You are correct, as Attorney General, “Brathwaite DID NOT SAY” or do ANYTHING about the illegal situation at Rock Hall.

If he had SAID or DONE something about it, this current administration would not have been burdened to find a solution, at the expense of taxpayers, to a problem he “stood idly by” and allowed to fester under his watch.

This is what the duopoly does. In the interest of securing votes, one political party would not take responsibility to solve a problem, but would allow it to continue, leaving it for the other political party to deal with.

When taxpayers’ money is used to solve the problem. yard-fowls like you would “jump out of the wood work” to talk shiite, rather than acknowledging BOTH political parties are responsible for that situation at Rock Hall.

At the end of the day, it’s the taxpayers that are burdened.

32. John2 December 31, 2019 11:14 AM

Donna

No one expect every resourceful bajan to leave the island all at once. There are some that will never want to leave no matter what. There are some that will leave and better themselves and then return to make a contribution.
    Mia, Thompson and Owen left and returned (just to name a few)
    Then there are others like a family from the pine/wildey housing units who left and are now owners of apartments and other properties in Barbados, just like the current PM and probably more than you.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And your point is…. besides your low blow at the end which was stupid seeing that you do not know me.

33. @ Theo

It has taken Barbados over 50 years, but the decision for police not to respond to minor vehicle accidents, in which there was no personal injuries, should have happened years/decades ago. That is a matter for insurance companies.
    The next development is charging the appropriate insurance company for the cost of calling out ambulances and for any hospital treatments.
    Th reality of this will mean better management of motor insurance.
    Happy New Year.

34. Go Vietnam…do not tolerate corruption…take them all out…they destroy too many lives and they do not care…..send a message the others will pay attention…they like to tief too much.

https://www.pri.org/stories/2014-04-03/vietnam-sentencing-corrupt-bankers-death-firing-squad?fbclid=IwAR0NYhiFgWTj9C2Y34PI_hhGnL1DH8Cbb9KxGfWPzUeyLGSw8KZkOJt9cAM

“The authoritarian Southeast Asian state doesn’t just send unscrupulous financiers to jail. Sometimes, it sends them to death row.

Amid a sweeping cleanup of its financial sector, Vietnam has sentenced three bankers to death in the past six months.

One duo now on death row embezzled roughly $25 million from the state-owned Vietnam Agribank. Their co-conspirators caught decade-plus prison sentences.

In March, a 57-year-old former regional boss from Vietnam Development Bank, another government-run bank, was sentenced to death over a $93-million swindling job.”

35. Artax wheel and come again not going down the rabbit hole in your sorry attempt to remove the blame of the unprecedent crime off the sorry arse of the AG
    You are one sorry dude in 2020 playing the political game of the lost decade nonsense
    Dude i call the shots here and i will in 2020 point my ak at Marshall as he spouts nonsense words about being satisfied and ask barbadians to stay the course in a year of death and violent crime on barbados streets
    Wheel and come again

36. The gathering party has begun
    Up to present time not one gawd blind account of how much money has been allocated for the year long party
    Memory reminds that when govt made plans for the 50th anniversary Mia made big issue about the money govt spent for the 50th anniversary of Barbados Independence
    Now present govt is having a year long block party in 11 parishes and not one word is said on how much money taxpayers would have to foot in order for this party to met any success if possible
    In international countries these kind of actions would be call for impeachment
    Seems as if this govt has taken the position that a 30-0 mandate gives them a right to be above the laws that govern a democracy

37. I agree with “the decision for police not to respond to minor vehicle accidents, in which there was no personal injuries.”

Most, if not all insurance companies, provide their clients with a 24 hour accident assistance service. In the event of an accident, the client could call a representative from their insurance company who, on arriving on the scene, would alert the emergency services (police, ambulance and fire, if necessary), take photographs and statements, arrange for towing and initial claim processing at the scene.

And, in some cases, all of this occurs before police arrive on the scene.

Supposed two individuals who are insured with Trident Insurance and Co-operators General Insurance respectively, are involved in a minor accident, they can call representatives from their insurance company who would have and exchange the same information the police asks for and process the claim at the scene.

I believe one person being unable to call his/her rep, would alert the other rep something is wrong, e.g. they don’t have insurance or driver’s license and would act accordingly.

38. Are you sure?

Have you checked the Estimates/Appropriations Bill?

Take a deep breath and breathe.

39. Cannot find any detail information on the slated approriation Act 2019 Grant words or numbers to the effect stating how much money was allocated for the govt sponsored “we gathering”
    This type of spend should be lettered out sufficient and enough in detailing amount of money to be spent on the year long fete

40. If there’s any “sorry dude” in this forum, it’s YOU.

You read, yet you conveniently or purposely do not UNDERSTAND what you read.

Please INDICATE WHERE in my contribution I:

(a). “played the political game of the lost decade nonsense”

(b). “attempted to remove the blame of the unprecedent crime off the sorry arse of the AG…”

………..in circumstances where when I made REFERENCES to BOTH BLP and DLP administrations?

I asked you on a previous occasion what could Adriel Brathwaite have DONE or Dale Marshall DO to PREVENT someone from being murdered as a result of a lover’s tiff or any other crime of passion, revenge, gang rivalry or hits on drug pushers?

How was Adriel Brathwaite responsible for the assassinations of Michael Edwards, Stephen Agard and Jerome “Wild Geese” Bovell in 2017?

How is Dale Marshall responsible for the altercation between two ZR conductors, which resulted in one being stabbed and subsequently succumbing to his injuries?

Rather ANSWERING the questions and having a SERIOUS DISCUSSION on the issue, you wandered off into your usual generalized statements and political rhetoric.

You are essentially politicizing crime because it fits within your narrow political agenda.

Crime is a social issue. What we need is a sociological analysis of crime, the results of which could be used to develop a comprehensive crime fighting strategy.

You are indeed a product of the duopoly.

41. Artax
    Nah not going down the rabbit hole yuh keep digging
    I rather scroll by
    Have a happy New Year

42. “Have you checked the Estimates/Appropriations Bill?”

David BU

Don’t be surprised. I’m sure she DID NOT read the Appropriations Bill, because she’s not that smart and does not like to research details. She relies mainly on the rhetoric posted on Facebook to formulate her arguments. That’s why she has to change her position often when the “loop holes” in her arguments are exposed.

After Mr. Phillips II mentioned something about Mark Adamson being active on social media, I decided to peruse his Facebook page.

Interestingly, Adamson has been saying there wasn’t any debate in Parliament about funds allocated to the “We Gathering” initiative.

What was even more interesting, was whose photo I saw of a “friend” commenting on this issue….. none other than A***** C**.

However, to be FAIR, the previous Freundel Stuart administration came under scrutiny and “heavy fire” for their year long 50th anniversary of independence celebrations in 2016 and the $7M allocated to host the events.

Therefore, in the interest of accountability and transparency, this Mottley administration should provide details on how much it’s costing taxpayers for “We Gathering.”

43. My garbage picked up this morning. The guys were as ususal efficient and courteous.

Went into Bridgetown too. Broad Street at least nice and clean. The urban villages still need some work, but at the rate the guys are working the backlog should be all cleared withing a week.

44. Yes i read the bill there is no detail estimate with accordance to law as to if or how much must be spent for the “gathering”
    Neither have govt actively stated any amount in correlation to good govt
    This govt has openly exposed and shown an indifference to democratic principles and laws to good governance
    Any one after a year who cannot see to where this kind of indifference can lead ought to be shove off to sea in a moses without a paddle or life jacket.
    If find it morbid Artax that your incessant obsession is to place me in every political theatre across social media

45. Hal AustinJanuary 1, 2020 10:18 AM

@ Theo

The next development is charging the appropriate insurance company for the cost of calling out ambulances and for any hospital treatments.
    Th reality of this will mean better management of motor insurance.
    Happy New Year.

Donville promised to do that when he was MoH but it was never implemented. We are left to wonder why as that should have been a smart, just and simple thing to do. Insurance companies pay medical bills when a private health provider is used. This would have saved the taxpayers millions of dollars.

46. @Silly Woman
    Good to see some positive news. Sometimes we focus on the negative and the good things pass us by.

Barbados can be transformed with a strategy based on wins by both the government and the people.
    Start fixing some roads (especially those in St Lucy) – gov
    Encourage people to capture rain water for their own use – people and gov
    Sensible water use – people
    Cleaning up the garbage – people and gov
    Life guards at beaches – people and gov
    Fixing and maintaining pipes at beaches – people and gov

These are small wins that would go a long way in making life more pleasant to all of Barbados

47. Silly WomanJanuary 1, 2020 12:28 PM

My garbage picked up this morning. The guys were as ususal efficient and courteous.

Went into Bridgetown too. Broad Street at least nice and clean. The urban villages still need some work, but at the rate the guys are working the backlog should be all cleared withing a week.

I see that your experience with your garbage collectors is the same as mine. Fast, efficient and so courteous and helpful that they always bring a smile to my lips.

More cheerful are my guys than those in the air conditioned offices.

My postman too is very cheerful and helpful.

That is why I refuse to let Tron besmirch the name of all government workers.

48. “If find it morbid Artax that your incessant obsession is to place me in every political theatre across social media.”

Perhaps you’ll be willing to PROVIDE me with the EVIDENCE to SUBSTANTIATE YOUR CLAIM.

But, did I mentioned ANYTHING about Mariposa?

Are you guilty of something?

Hmmmmmm……….

49. Mind not picked up yet
    Hope the drivers dont get frustrated with many inconveniences which they have encountered by way of manueveuring the trucks before they refuse on picking up any further piles including those lining my area.
    Everybody happy… so too should be the drivers who are still complaining about the risk involved in driving the trucks

50. Artax lest i remind u i would not be going down any rabbit holes u are building
    Keep moving and scroll by