Barbadians were promised in recent days that 10 new garbage trucks – urgently needed – would have been mobilized in time for the Holidays. Although there has been no official announcement by the Mia Mottley government as to why a faulty configuration of the 10 trucks have prevented deployment, information in the public space indicates that the cab of the truck accommodates only two persons and the standing bar on the outside,  one instead of two. It should be noted this government in its infinite wisdom has recruited a PR/Communications team that is second to none if compared to previous governments. There is no reason information should not be readily available regarding matters affecting state apparatus.

The blogmaster is sympathetic to the fact there will be breakdowns in procedure from time to time, although it should never happen in a well functioning system. Garbage collection continues to be a hot button issue and the government leading into the last general election was not bashful about reminding the electorate the former government had not purchased a single garbage truck during its 10 year tenure.

The embarrassing fiasco currently playing out that the $400,000 dollar garbage truck x 10 will have to be retrofitted – no doubt at taxpayers expense – is cause for concern. Given the size of the procurement order, coupled with the importance of the transaction to maintaining a clean environment, a simple thought at the time of signing off on the purchase order should have suggested that those responsible ensure the garbage trucks  ‘fit for purpose’.

All that is left for the blogmaster to opine is that any self respecting administration should immediately request the resignation of the minister responsible (Trevor Prescod) and chairman of the Sanitation Service Authority (Rudy Grant) with immediate effect. We have to start to hold our officials accountable. Given historical behaviour the firing and or resignation of ministers appear to be removed from the remit of the Prime Minister.

The blogmaster is keenly aware the political polarization that exist means that every mistake will be amplified for political gain. This blogmaster is more concerned to ask – how was this sizeable mistake allowed to happen given the modus operandi of this government in period of enhanced financial surveillance ans austerity.

Thg more things change the more they remain the same.

668 responses to “Garbage Trucks Saga”

1. dONNA

This is what baje said

“ANYONE WHO CAN ESCAPE THAT RATS NEST OF AN ISLAND AND GO ABROAD AT A CHANCE OF A BETTER LIFE THEY SHOULD DOESN’T MATTER WHETHER BE CANADA, UK, USA or elsewhere.”

You are WRONG that he is encouraging EVERY RESOURSEFUL bajan and encouraging them to the USA ONLY.

KEEP YOUR KNICKER ON !

2. I don’t agree with him bashing Barbados
    I don’t agree with you for bashing overseas bajans

I too would encourage any bajan the can afford too to seek a living outside if they can. There is benefits for some of us leaving and some of us that stay benefit by some of us that leaves in various was.
    leaving a country to look for a better life for yourself does not mean you have abandoned your love ones.
    You can also uplift you love one according to the quality of life you made in the host country.

3. The issue is you have corrupt ministers and lawyers set to rob you again…that is the whole issue with garbage trucks and this and that and never ending…who has time for all of that…you must have a death wish.

stop looking at others and work as one to get them gone…ya got the last set gone.

4. @ Lorenzo / Enuff / Other Bajan

Maybe someone can answer the following questions to enlighten the whole island and outsiders looking in:

1) What are the Barbados Government Procurement Laws in regards to purchases above $100,000 in this case $4 million.

2) Has this Procurement Law change and if so when for Public Tender?

3) Was Public Advertisements placed in National Newspapers for Bids by Qualified suppliers?

4) Was the Technical Specifications of these garbage trucks made available in the Public Tender?

5) Was there a Surety Bond required in this Public Tender?

6) Was the winning Bidder/supplier bid opened in front of all Bidders of the garbage trucks?

7) Was there a technical evaluation done by a technical committee to evaluate and select winning bid as is normally done?

8) If no PUBLIC Tender which breaches the Government Procurement Laws, why?

9) Is Promised Transparency done in this case, if not why not?

10) Is Promised Integrity done in this case, if not why not?

5. And speaking of the last set, many of their fingerprints AND signatures are all over those same stolen estates and bank accounts too…..from various people….all a dem ah TIEF.

they are all thisclose…air can’t pass between them and are covering up for each other…..see your PM cannot touch not one of dem..

they have no shame, vote beggars ya hear….but give them a title and access to your money and other taxpayer funded entities and they gone clear…ah want to see them all clear in a prison cell..demons..

6. Speaking of accountability and transparency
    Let’s start by having Mia account for the money she has given away in unpaid taxes and waivers to business and associates
    Also the money wasted on buying contaminated fuel
    Also the monies being paid to her big gust ministers for and oversize cabinet for doing
    nothing
    Also lets Zoom in on white Oaks
    Also them useless garbage trucks
    In one year the taxpayers have been taken for a joy ride at their expense with Mia the driver
    Also i am looking forward to the next debacle when the water tanks which used to be serviced by innotech has to be done by BWA workers

7. Gazzerts i was going to ignore your rubbish as usual but you made a statement saying you are not looking back water under the bridge.This suits your anti Mottley agenda since the majority of the problems inherited by this government of garbage, buses, water, etc were a direct result of gross mismanagement of the Dems over 10 years in my view.Therefore for you to give the Dems a free pass and on here everyday like some others that all of the country,s problems began on May 18th 2018 is at best dishonest and i will not allow you or any of the other naysayers to get away with it.The country like other countries have problems which will be resolved over time it is not a quick fix.As for a response on the garbage issue i unlike you who seems to be an expert on everything under the sun,am not an expert in garbage trucks or their costs so i will reserve judgement capice.

8. Baje… you will get no answers, don’t hold your breath…that is how they operate when elected, a law and small island power unto themselves, but now they have been caught…let’s see how much delusional power they got.

9. @ Greene

Do you plan to return to work?

10. @Hal

no.

i am retired and plan to remain that way. have been offered work and declined. i will volunteer though.

11. john2December 30, 2019 11:14 AM

dONNA

This is what baje said

“ANYONE WHO CAN ESCAPE THAT RATS NEST OF AN ISLAND AND GO ABROAD AT A CHANCE OF A BETTER LIFE THEY SHOULD DOESN’T MATTER WHETHER BE CANADA, UK, USA or elsewhere.”

You are WRONG that he is encouraging EVERY RESOURSEFUL bajan and encouraging them to the USA ONLY.

KEEP YOUR KNICKER ON !

Have you ever heard of a paraphrase? Was it necessary to quote word for word? Was the meaning not the same?

USA, Canada, UK the same holds.

I stand by what I said and maintain that you are WRONG.

“I don’t agree with him bashing Barbados
    I don’t agree with you for bashing overseas bajans

I too would encourage any bajan the can afford too to seek a living outside if they can. There is benefits for some of us leaving and some of us that stay benefit by some of us that leaves in various was.
    leaving a country to look for a better life for yourself does not mean you have abandoned your love ones.
    You can also uplift you love one according to the quality of life you made in the host country.”

Would it not sink the island if every resourceful Bajan left? Have you never heard of the “brain drain” and its effects?

There are still many competent people doing a good job in Barbados. Unfortunately they seldom make the news. If there were not some competent people doing a good job we obviously could not have survived as long as we have. Mind you, there will never be perfect people doing a perfect job but often they do clear up some of the mess or prevent some of the mess of the incompetents.

If all of these people leave then what do you think would happen? How do you plan to uplift your parent in a shell of a country where nothing at all gets done? Short of removing them from the country, you would have to be a multimillionaire to supply all their needs.

PS. Fair criticism of Barbados is not bashing. Neither is calling out overseas person’s whitewashing of their new countries bashing.

Signed,

Donna (who will keep her knickers on and take them off as she pleases)

12. Lorenzo
    Dems over ten years
    The blp mantra for govt present failures
    Waiting to see how yuh all gonna fix the garbage problem
    Dems over ten years and wunna in one year fucked up every sh..it
    Go figure duffus

13. And here’s the difference between me and many. Good questions, Baje! All deserving of answers.

14. @ Greene

Good luck to you. Enjoy..

15. Also them African agreements
    Would be interesting to see how much free room and board Mia has agreed to give the African nurses
    Also of recent when govt offered to give the Squatters twenty-five thousand dollars in exchange for them not squatting
    But as if that was not enough govt sent the Squatters papers indicating they can buy the land at 10cent persq foot and govt would pick up the remaining balance
    If by now barbadians are not aware of the slickness of Mia they never ever would be

16. WURA,

What do you suggest we do rather than chip away, try to blow up the House like Guy Fawkes?

From what I can tell violent revolutions lead to other violent revolutions. Once the concept is introduced into a nations psyche it gives license to the next would be revolutionary to do his thing. I prefer gradual reform. That sticks around for longer.

And note above I said that the chipping will go on not until I am eighty but long after I’m dead.

That’s just the way it is!

Patience is a virtue. It often accomplishes far more than impatience ever will!

Crash diets lose pounds quickly and they return just as quickly. Disciplined and measured lifestyle changes allow one to maintain a healthy weight.

Change is better assimilated when gradual. There is less resistance.l

17. Mariposa you should be in comedy fest.You supported everthing the Dems led by try a thing PM,s Mr Thompson and Mr Stuart along with people like Mr Sinckler with his 6 or 7 strategic plans which led to 23 downgrades almost to junk bond status, no buses or garbage trucks bought, sewerage floating on the South Coast, aspiring university grads not being able to afford to go to UWI, roads in a deplorable state, tbousands sent home in 2013 some like the beautify workers and the BI DC workers without their money along with other problems and you got the audacity to be even speaking.Do like the ex MP,s and keep a low profile as you seemed to be suffering from amnesia NOT most bajans though.In fact had the voters returned you to office i am fairly sure our dollar would already been devalued.This is why all of you were kicked out of office for incompetence in my view.

18. “Change is better assimilated when gradual. There is less resistance.”

Don’t worry your head Donna…it has already been taken care of…i told you pretty words accomplish nothing…talk is cheap, whisky is expensive,

19. Piece the Legend Avatar

What is so difficult to understand here?

1.Hee Hee and Hee Haw are two Rented Jackasses which we have been beating like the Rented Jackasses they are!

2.the job of the Rented Jackasses Hee Hee and Hee Haw is to launch an unflinching attack against ALL PERCEIVED DISSENT ON BARBADOS UNDERGROUND

3.the mere fact that he has listed all of these persons should be noted

He/she said and I quote

“…There is a group of overseas bajans who on a daily basis look for all the negatives they can find to pull down Barbados like Baje, Skinner,Austin,Sarge,Hants,Waru,Piece and his wing man Gazzerts but the country will rebound despite them…”

Note the inherent genuflection factor as they defer to Mr. Vincent Codrington, Caleb Pilgrim and The Sage Annunaki

Why do they defer thusly to these 3 men?

Brother Hants DOES NOT EVER SAY ANYTHING BAD ABOUT THE BLP, HE JUST POSTS LINKS and sends de ole man looking for the Blue Boxcart damsels

But if you compare, Mr Vincent Codrington with Brother Hants you will agree that Hants’ links are less dissent that Mr. Codrington’s pellucid responses and critical thought responses.

So why enjoin Hants AS A DISSENTER?

Because Hants’ true identity and his political persuasions are known not to be supportive of Mugabe Mottley perhaps?

Ten names, roughly, 10 DISSENTERS targeted by the Rented Jackasses and other Mugabe Regime agents and spyware.

10 people whose IP addresses have been stored and shared for investigations

10 people whose cache and referrer info is analyzed to see where you visit so they can benefit from your history!

I continue to pray Barbados DOES NOT REACH 50 deaths!

But as I am on record here as saying, “what we will not experience in the exhalation of breath 2019, the first month of 2020 WILL MAKE UP FOR!

I, PIECE THE LEGEND, HAVE SPOKEN

20. “10 people whose IP addresses have been stored and shared for investigations”

i think they should be more concerned about the investigations ON THEM, we are the least of their problems, it’s their decades of wrong doing following them around and none of it looks anything like us.

they were taking it for a joke all along thinking they were so untouchable until they are seeing, if most aren’t, that nothing about any of it is a joke anymore..

they cannot pretend it is not happening, don’t care how delusional they are and they KNOW…it is not going away.

21. Lorenzo
    All and sundry knows why the DLP was kicked out of office..but what all and sundry wants to know how in one year can Mia give away and wasted millions of tax payers dollars and cant show a dam thing of improvement for all the give aways
    Now come next year planning a year long kadomment party call The gathering which tax payers have to foot the cost
    In the meanwhile the rats big as mangoose are showing who is in charge all across barbados

22. Nassar confirmed today the trucks have spaces at the side for the SSA workers. It appears the workers prefer to ride at the back. Could it be they live the scent of the garbage?

23. @ David,

IT IS BETTER FOR WORKERS TO RIDE ON THE BACK CORNERS.

24. @Hants

Why do you have this opinion?

It all could have been avoided with some dialogue between workers and management.

25. WURA-War-on-UDecember 30, 2019 2:38 PM

“Change is better assimilated when gradual. There is less resistance.”

Don’t worry your head Donna…it has already been taken care of…i told you pretty words accomplish nothing…talk is cheap, whisky is expensive,

On the contrary, pretty words can educate and motivate, They are often the precursor to action.

26. @ David,

Some of the roads in Barbados are narrow.

27. I can only repeat myself. With the trucks, we have no problem with the government, but with the unions and their workers.

Barbadian men must finally learn to follow orders. Instead of always criticizing and discussing, they should work harder and finally take responsibility. We do not need semi-educated chatterboxes, but workers who follow orders and work properly.

Barbadian men should take Mia Mottley as an example. The lady works day and night for her country.

28. Iwas of the opinion it was the result of a scam, but I am now convince it is all above board.

“It appears the workers prefer to ride at the back. Could it be they live the scent of the garbage?”

I guess there is a reason why the trucks are left handed. truck driver…

Bajan experts knows better than the man on the job.

29. Maybe that’s what you need but do not presume to speak for the rest of us.

30. That is one of the issues here. They do not consult with those who actually have to do the job. Much can be learnt from the man who actually has to do the job but dictators like Tron would have mindless slaves to follow their masters orders.

i guess he wants to take us back to 1627 and all that.

31. Would you want to travel on the SIDE of a garbage truck on roads that have no side walk and sometimes a 2 foot deep gutter ?

32. “On the contrary, pretty words can educate and motivate, They are often the precursor to action.”

oh we are seeing those results and actions all like know…and you are still complaining.

33. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants

Most of the roads in Barbados are narrow. David does not have to ride on the side running boards so he does not care. It is ok in America so it must be better for Barbados.
    No discussion with workers after acquisition will /can solve the problem. Did the procurers consult the workers before commitment?
    David stop looking for excuses for incompetence.

34. So Mia became Attorney General in 2001 but somehow as AG facilitated the “theft” of land in 1998. The lies told on BU….wow!!🤔🤣

35. Mariposa all and sundry except you it appears based on the rubbish you post on here.You asked where the money gone let me refresh your memory, firstly students were again able to to UWI without having to look for exhorbitant fees, the sewerage was takem of the street and both sewerage plants including one where trees was seen growing inside were serviced and are back to full operating capacity.Garbage trucks has started to be bought, many roads have been resurfaced for example the one by the National Stadium among other things in 18 months. Now Mariposa tell us what the Dems have to show for their 10 years with the reserves they found and licked out.

36. “So Mia became Attorney General in 2001 but somehow as AG facilitated the “theft” of land in 1998.”

somebody struck a nerve…but ah hope they pin that THEFT ON YOU…cause ah know yall running for cover now, but ya can’t run far Enuff nor fast Enuff…evidence in ya backsides..

let Mia give ya the whole story…..easier to get ya to take the fall.

37. Ah want to see some yardfowls go to prison too..

38. 24Hrs.after social media informed the public of the death of the shooting victim in Redmans village
    Here comes the rag tail media with the story
    Really make for belly laugh watching how the media is being manipulated by govt to cover up stories
    Somethings wunna cant hide cause social media got eyes all over the place
    Wunna a bunch of jokers fuh real

39. And there is even more, look at that, but ah don’t want to spoil the surprise..

40. I do not complain. I fight my own battles. And win more than I lose.

41. Did i mention that not one of you can remove not one document from ICIJ…facebook superstars and their signatures….lol

42. This blog will be closed shortly if…

43. @Vincent

Simply exploring Nassar opinion on the matter. In fact he hinted the workers would be more safe than riding on the back.

44. Lorenzo who u kidding sure as hell u cant blow smoke and mirrors in my face
    Since when have the blp been paying students fees
    If memory serves me correct the dlp foot the blp for years to let free education be a priority
    As for talking about dump trucks what good is having a pile of metal which cant be used
    Also the big year long kadooment when is Mia going to tell the taxpayers how much it will cost them
    Also how much is it going to cost to retrofit the dump trucks
    Wunnna had a 30-0 mandate and squander it
    People still want to know how much money was written ofg in taxes and waivers given and the names of business
    Dont forget the stinking fuel that couldnt be use
    How much money was lost because of that huge mistake
    Go find answers and come back
    The people want to know

45. lawd me gawd…but wait there is even more and more and more and more to come…lol

Donna…don’t worry…we are winning.

ask the fowl..

46. If what? Close um.

47. Wont stop TIEFING taxpayer’s money…what 400,000 for what truck what….they always hit the treasury for 3-5 times their sham amount amount, but ah staying in me lane…..look where ya tax dollars went…in the THIEVES POCKETS…this comes complete with prices and pictures…..how a truck selling for just 100,000K…suddenly moves to 400,000K….

we racketeering AGAIN…while selling out we fellow thieves on facebook for the same racketeering…wuhloss murdahhh!!!! and the whole world is seeng all ah this….somebody p9ocket now FAT…lol

https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Ftomstrucksales.com%2Finventory%2F%3Ffbclid%3DIwAR30dnwQuvcDZcGlAeB_ssRezVCZ6YnnshjfIIraXFuIlx-q5QGoGZdUfL8&h=AT2AjLTwqOrXfUB76X8L56_nWkRBQxyy-aQIZf6E4sbT-pHwD4pQsiFotUVdaA-MsIbaXypeZQ-xfrG9PVZk1JTQRXdvneipzXUDfSHNtvksUXPvdSjSxmmUXi5iY3VBDgRj0w

48. Baje…ya see what i told you now, you will never get a straight answer from them on anything, no explanation to the taxpayers or pensioners, you have to go digging to find out just HOW MUCH THEY TIEFING..

49. And may i remind yall…that is in US prices, NOT MEXICAN PESOS…ah could swear someone posted that the Mexican prices for each truck would be even 50-60% less…

..ya got robbed AGAIN, ya eyes JUCKED OUT…

wuhloss..

50. “As for talking about dump trucks what good is having a pile of metal which cant be used.”

Mariposa

You’re always on about the garbage trucks cannot be used. I was thinking the loaders had problems with having to stand at the sides of the truck rather than at the rear and the cab could accommodate only one loader.

Yesterday, one of the new garbage trucks was collecting garbage in Vauxhall, Christ Church. Unless this was one of the old trucks they painted white to trick the public.

Could you please direct me to any information in which it was mentioned the new garbage trucks cannot be used?

Or did you hear it while liming with your George Street colleagues and drinking Astor’s very strong rum punch………… or did you read it on the DLP’s website?