Barbadians were promised in recent days that 10 new garbage trucks – urgently needed – would have been mobilized in time for the Holidays. Although there has been no official announcement by the Mia Mottley government as to why a faulty configuration of the 10 trucks have prevented deployment, information in the public space indicates that the cab of the truck accommodates only two persons and the standing bar on the outside,  one instead of two. It should be noted this government in its infinite wisdom has recruited a PR/Communications team that is second to none if compared to previous governments. There is no reason information should not be readily available regarding matters affecting state apparatus.

The blogmaster is sympathetic to the fact there will be breakdowns in procedure from time to time, although it should never happen in a well functioning system. Garbage collection continues to be a hot button issue and the government leading into the last general election was not bashful about reminding the electorate the former government had not purchased a single garbage truck during its 10 year tenure.

The embarrassing fiasco currently playing out that the $400,000 dollar garbage truck x 10 will have to be retrofitted – no doubt at taxpayers expense – is cause for concern. Given the size of the procurement order, coupled with the importance of the transaction to maintaining a clean environment, a simple thought at the time of signing off on the purchase order should have suggested that those responsible ensure the garbage trucks  ‘fit for purpose’.

All that is left for the blogmaster to opine is that any self respecting administration should immediately request the resignation of the minister responsible (Trevor Prescod) and chairman of the Sanitation Service Authority (Rudy Grant) with immediate effect. We have to start to hold our officials accountable. Given historical behaviour the firing and or resignation of ministers appear to be removed from the remit of the Prime Minister.

The blogmaster is keenly aware the political polarization that exist means that every mistake will be amplified for political gain. This blogmaster is more concerned to ask – how was this sizeable mistake allowed to happen given the modus operandi of this government in period of enhanced financial surveillance ans austerity.

Thg more things change the more they remain the same.

668 responses to “Garbage Trucks Saga”

1. My name is Mariposa i was born in Panama my mother gave me that name because she said i reminded her of a beautiful butterfly
    My parents settled in barbados when i was very small and remained her e for most of there life
    Efforts by many to unmasked the identity of Mariposa has remained futile
    I will continue to speak with a loan voice supported by my own conscience and let the chips fall where they may

2. Why is Grenville so scarce, did i miss one of his posts, gotta go back and scroll. I can’t remember seeing a how do you do for the holidays.

3. You are such a liar. Started the new year hot to trot.

4. As expected, we have some who are doing their job and some who are not.

Where does the divide occur….
    What separates the man who collects garbage or the postman from those who are not working.
    The level of education? Expectations? Office morale? Management?
    We must identify and correct what causes this divide?

Legal System
    And we know that the courts also need fixing?
    Appointing one or two good men to a ponderous and ineffective dinosaur will not solve the problem?
    In the end, the good men may find that they lost their good names and credibility?
    I do not have a solution..
    I would not suggest a “Commission” (time will past and the recommendations will not be implemented)
    But the AG has to find some way to make the system respond more quickly to those who turn to it…

But if the AG is as flawed as some say that he is —- under his stewardship, we will not attain the desired response

5. “So police will continue to go to fatal accidewhund serious accidents, but the run of the mill accidents – somebody bounced your car in a carpark and you are not moving until the police comes – that takes up valuable policing time,” said Marshall

Dont worry u will soon see the end result which will bring the ending of such a measure
    That an occurrence such as u called a scratch and bump and it leads to a deadly altercation
    People today have short fuses and u as a minister of law should know that

6. Let us try in 2020 to provide solutions and positive suggestions.

But fs they try to sneak a cookie out of the jar (and they will), then let us continue to bawl for murdah.

“and they will – it’s their nature”
    Wikipedia (edited)
    A scorpion, which cannot swim, asks a frog to carry it across a river. The frog hesitates, but the scorpion argues that if it stings the frog, they would both drown. The frog agrees to transport the scorpion, but midway across the river the scorpion stings the frog. The dying frog asks the scorpion “Why?” despite knowing the consequences;, the scorpion replies: “I couldn’t help it. It’s in my nature.

7. Those in there are worse than scorpions, at least the scorpion takes you out in one, these would let you linger for decades while they methodically reduce you to poverty….and send eveything offshore by the tens of millions.

8. That is indeed something to consider, Mariposa! Considering how some fellas feel about their cars and how tight their budget may be, a fatal altercation as a result of a fender bender is not beyond the realm of possibilities. However, with limited resources one has to prioritize. The probability of such an occurrence as opposed to a mere possibility would be considered.

9. Back to serious issues; it now looks as if the president want hassle-free travel within CARICOM. Is that the most important unifying issue she can think of for 2020?
    I say again, she is not a policy person, a deep thinker, she is all proselytising speeches and hand gestures. No substance. Snake oil saleswoman with the sales pitch of a waffler in chief.

10. wants…

11. Am here i was thinking this earlier to day

dont know how long the drivers going put up helping govt blow more smoke in them faces
    I heard stories about retrofitted but i aint see nothing retrofitted
    This gonna blow up in govt face cause the problem lies in risk and probability of accidents

Then later only to hear that there was a Garbage truck and car accident today

12. A car ran in the back of the garbage truck , those two workers could have been killed.

13. Nothing wrong with prioritising but so far this govt has been far off some where in left field coming up with good reason to prioritise
    All have seen the many govt initiatives that have soured after govt have launched them in the public domain causing govt to renege after much hollering by the populace
    This measure by AG could not have been well thought out properly given the number of daily road accidents on the streets of barbados also the number of uninsured vehicles owned by occupants who have fined ways to skirt the law
    I for one would not be happy if my vehicle is scratched and dent and the persons causing the accident just shrugs shoulders and drives away telling me it is not a big deal knowing that police presence is not required

14. .@waru waru
    Remember i said earlier that pressure bust pipes when all the blp gladiators where cheering govt response to put the trucks on the street in haste

15. An out of control SUV runs into the back of garbage truck and predictably you blame government.

16. @ Mariposa

You seem to bring out the anger and vengeance in some men on BU. The intelligent ones understand your position.
    Have a Prosperous New Year and keep on fighting.

17. David couldn’t care less what these immature and insecure angry men feel
    Notice they say whatever they like and Mariposa doesnt get angry
    But then again the anger emotion might be typically a male emotion
    Not my problem bro

Btw where in my comments i made a comment as to whose fault it was in the accident
    As far as i read by my comments i spoke of the retrofitting of the vehicles and drivers at risk
    Dont know how u come up with a conclusion on my part concerning the accident

18. The first part of my above comment was for Hal

The second part was for David

19. Mari

you send someone to try to take out one the $400k junk metal? You to bad!

20. Donna

Why are you so touchy? Why do you consider it a low blow? They have more property in Barbados the me – so is that I self inflicted low blow?

They probably own more property then David or mariposa or hal – is that a low blow to them?
    I said they probably own more that you because it was you I was addressing not one of the others.

keep your knickers on!

21. Hal

@ Mariposa

You seem to bring out the anger and vengeance in some men on BU. The intelligent ones understand your position.
    Have a Prosperous New Year and keep on fighting.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

IT IS THE PETTINESS WITHIN MANY LOCAL BAJANS SEEKING TO DISCREDIT OTHERS AT EVERY TURN BY LABELLING THEM TO DISCOUNT THE PERSON OPINIONS AND ALSO TO APPEAR SMART.

I SEE ABSOLUTELY NOTHING WRONG WITH MARIPOSA HIGHLIGHTING WHAT IS GOING ON DAILY IN BARBADOS WHETHER SHE IS A STAUNCH AND DEDICATED OF THE OPPOSING PARTY OR NOT.

I HAVE HIGHLIGHTED THE OPPOSING PARTY FORMER MISDEEDS AND CORRUPTION MANY TIMES AND SHE HAS NEVER FOUGHT TO DEFEND THEM.

AGAIN LABELLING AND PUTTING OTHERS IN A BOX IS A BAJAN CONDITION SO THAT EVERYONE MUST DISMISS THE INTENDED TARGET THOUGHTS AND OPINIONS IN THIS CASE MARIPOSA.

MARIPOSA IS A BAJAN AND HAS A RIGHT TO SPEAK HER MIND SAME AS ANY OTHER BAJAN DESPITE WHAT ALLEGIANCE SHE MAY HAVE PREVIOUSLY OR NOW.

IT SAYS MORE ABOUT THE PETTY INDIVIDUALS CONSTANT HARPING ON MARIPOSA’ POLITICAL ALLEGIANCE TO MALIGN THAN ABOUT MARIPOSA HERSELF.

22. What is petty about letting ac know when the blogmaster catches her telling lies. To go further will expose and further embarrass her. It is enough that she knows the blogmaster knows. Right Jezzebel?

23. Davis i heard u say it was an SUV involved in the accident i took note that nothing such was mentioned in the local media

https://barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/Capture.jpg

24. AC IS AN IDIOT BUT SHE IS NOT JEZZEBEL SHE IS NOT MARRIED TO GRENVILLE OR DPD

25. David in reference to your above comment u got problems mek laughed out loud
    Poor ac can’t catch a break
    Dam when ac did dam when ac doesnt
    Guh long bozie

26. Just happy the men weren’t injured, think one got a bruised hand..he got lucky.

don’t know what the problem was, the driver could see a truck too wide for him to pass unless the truck moves…steupppps

27. Mariposa…i would more blame this one on the selling of duppy dust..remember, removing resting spirits..

28. John 2
    Mari
    you send someone to try to take out one the $400k junk metal? You to bad!

…………………………………………………………………………
    John u can add useless i give u permission

29. not an expert in vehicular accident but form what i see it looks like the vehicle was stationary and the truck backed into it
    now cuss me blp foot soldiers that is my opinion

30. What is petty about letting ac know when the blogmaster catches her telling lies. To go further will expose and further embarrass her. It is enough that she knows the blogmaster knows. Right Jezzebel?
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

WAS NOT MAKING REFERENCE TO MARIPOSA TELLING TRUTH OR LIE AND BLOG IDENTITIES USED.

MY PREVIOUS REMARKS WERE MADE IN REGARDS TO CONSTANTLY AT EVERY TURN MARIPOSA BEING MALIGNED AND PUT IN A BOX BY SEVERAL PETTY INDIVIDUALS ON BARBADOS UNDERGROUND FOR HER POLITICAL SUPPORT/AFFILIATION TO DISMISS THOUGHTS AND OPINIONS,

31. Mari

It aint usless according to reports it was/is doing the a job at wat is was bought for.

You try to make it useless now by running into the retrofittings? Yuh too bad!

32. Mari

Could it be one of your boys trying to take out one of the trucks or one off the loaders to give you something to holler bout?

33. Not an expert in vehicular accidents but from an eye view vantage points it looks like the vehicle was stationery and the truck reversed onto it

34. mari

I sure u read the I witness said in the news. yuh liar. yuh too bad

35. I read nothing about eye witness report but i will check to see

36. @ Mariposa

Looking at the video above the car ran straight into the back of truck without stopping one worker was saved by coworker alerting him to move quickly away from the back of the garbage truck.

37. John 2 this is what i read in locsl newspaper

A crew from the Sanitation Service Authority escaped injury when a vehicle collided with one of the new trucks working along Paynes Bay, St James this morning.

SSA representatives say they are still awaiting an official report on the matter but have disclosed that the truck was not extensively damaged.

No mention made of eyewitness statement

38. This another version of the story
    Nothing is said as to how the accident happen
    But we are all entitled to speculate until the truth is told

A crew from the Sanitation Service Authority escaped injury when a vehicle collided with one of the new trucks working along Paynes Bay, St James this morning.

I could tell you is that I did dumping a can and de fellow tell me ‘move’. When I look back, I see de car on pun de back uh de truck; dat is all. I ain’t know what went down; I ain’t see what went down. All I see is de car on pun de back uh de truck. Thank God to be alive, first day of the year to besides!” said Horseman.

Alleyne said it was the Lord that told him to look over his shoulder and when he saw the car approaching, he shouted and told Horseman to move out of the way.

SSA representatives say they are still awaiting an official report on the matter but have disclosed that the truck was not extensively damaged.

39. There is a voice clip with one of the workers and a witness.

they couldn’t belive the other worker escaped and was not seriously injured.

40. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mariposa

Girl you too bad.

You said and de ole man quotes

“… Mariposa January 1, 2020 3:26 PM

not an expert in vehicular accident but, from what i see, it looks like the vehicle was stationary and the SSA truck backed into it…”

Girl that is the best one for the day.

But there is a sound file circulating that gives another version heheheheh

But de ole man gives you to Mark’s for that piece of comedy

41. However you look at it, crazy stuff.

42. Piece the Legend Avatar

Top marks ***

43. Really reverse accidents happen all the time
    Nothing here is comical
    I am also pressed to not understand why the noise of impact was not mentioned by the SSA if one is to believe the car was coming at high speed

44. Ok ..i challenged govt to publish the police report
    However i wont hold my breathe

45. Because present govt has made itself the poster child of lies and deception it is hard to belive any thing that will come out of their mouths when it come to challenging issues
    Also bearing in mind people working for this govt are feeling a sense of job insecurity and rightfully would preference to protect their ar ss

46. Mari
    The police report will be publish after it is determined that the driver was a DLP supporter

Forgot them does cover for one another

47. how could de blog master call AC JEZZEBEL.
    dat is a nasty insult. SHE IS NOT MARRIED TO GRENVILLE OR DPD. AND SHE NO FAMILY TO FREEDOM CRIER?
    AC IS A PAIN IN DE TAIL SOMETIMES………BUT SHE CERTAINLY IS NOT JEZZEBEL.

48. AGAIN LABELLING AND PUTTING OTHERS IN A BOX IS A BAJAN CONDITION SO THAT EVERYONE MUST DISMISS THE INTENDED TARGET THOUGHTS AND OPINIONS IN THIS CASE MARIPOSA. {Quote}

Barbados Underground has now become comedy central.

A few days ago a certain person who was insulting Donna for HER opinions, is NOW here talking about the Bajan Condition and saying people are petty for responding to Mariposa.

Donna posed uncomfortable questions to a certain person and they went on the attack and as she persisted, they became foul-mouthed and abusive. When Donna backed them into a corner, they came out talking about how many degrees and PhDs they have, the countries they lived in, how many businesses they owned or managed and the amount of universities they taught at. This was described as intellectual intimidation, meant to close down the discussion. They started an argument with Donna and walked away when things were not going their way.

Some time ago a certain man described these composite behaviours as the Bajan Condition.

I have learnt from experience that anyone who constantly wants to CONVINCE THEMSELVES and PROVE to others they are more than what they actually appear to be, suffers with grandiose delusions (delusions of grandeur) and are usually liars that lack self confidence.

A next thing, why should it bother anybody or is their business if people reply to Mariposa or not?

Mariposa give licks and does share licks and I’m sure she likes the back and forth.

49. I’ve had garbage picked up twice this week.

Thank you, dearest Mia, for this great job! I haven’t seen trash bags standing around for years.