The blogmaster read your scripted message on how you intend to proceed in the role of Commissioner of Police with interest – an interest heightened by the high incidence of crime on the island. However, it would be rude not to offer sincere congratulations on your promotion.

Now that all courtesies have been dispensed, allow the blogmaster to ask a few questions with observations. These question, some of which you responded to in your plans, will be used by this forum to look for measurable results. Your predecessors – like you – came to the job with flowery words and lofty promises. Although the argument can be made that the Barbados Police Service (BPS) has done well given the constraints caused by a lack of resources, this has led to obvious systemic and structural issues that must be addressed urgently if the BPS is to become fit for purpose.

1. You have inherited a murder rate that has shattered public confidence. Beyond the usual words, what is the plan to introduce community policing tactics? It is no secret the BPS is enforcing the law better than executing prevention strategies. It should make sense that the BPS must prioritise winning the hearts and minds of Barbadians across all strata of society. If we want to deal with some of our problems at the root.

2. There is so much ambivalence as it relates to the nature of gangs operating in Barbados. From all reports they are better armed and have effective local and regional networks. What concrete steps will you be taking to dismantle the nexus between the local gangs and those criminal operatives operating outside of Barbados?

3. A visit to any police station in Barbados, one is immediately embarrassed at the lack of technology being used to administer crime. The types of crime being committed by white collar actors especially are largely going undetected. What is your technology plan Commissioner Boyce?

4. It is known the Barbados Police Service is undermanned by about 300 officers. This is a significant number relative to demand for services by the public. In a climate of rising crime and lawlessness, what is the plan to ramp up recruitment strategies?

5. Trust is corroded by persistent whispers of corruption and officers tipping off criminals. Will you invite an independent or an external body even to investigate the integrity of the force, and are you willing to publicly dismiss and name any officer -regardless of rank -found colluding with the underworld? On a side note, what is the outcome of the investigation of the police officer that slapped a man on Kadooment Day 696 days ago? Former Commissioner Richard Boyce promised to report back to the country, but he lied. Now he has retired.

6. A few years ago retired Commissioner Tyrone Griffith was in office, we detected there was tension between the police service and the Barbados Customs department. It should be obvious that a key strategy to fight crime must be to harmonise with other security agencies. We cannot have the police high command ‘beefing’ with Customs. What is the plan to ensure all security agencies are harmonised to support effecient crime fighting?

7. The Barbados Police Service is responsible for handing complaints levelled by the public through the Police Complaints Authority (PCA). How can the police regain the public’s trust if is responsible for investigating itself? What will you do to promote transparency in this regard?

Let us leave our sensibilities at the door and work TOGETHER to make Barbados a better place.

58 responses to “A few questions for Commissioner Sonia Boyce”

1. Two more cops move up

TWO MORE OFFICERS were yesterday announced as part of the senior command of the Barbados Police Service during the first internal address by newly-appointed Commissioner of Police Sonia Boyce.

Christine Stanford has been appointed Acting Assistant Commissioner in charge of Special Operations and Vernon Farrell, Acting Assistant Commissioner in charge of Crime.

Stanford, who was the first female chief instructor at the Regional Police Training Centre and rose to the post of deputy commandant, was previously Acting Senior Superintendent in charge of the Bridgetown Division and was also in charge of the Northern Division.

Farrell was an acting senior superintendent in charge of the Criminal Investigations Department.

They will join Deputy Commissioners Adrian Broomes and Barry Hunte, as well as Assistant Commissioners Stephen Herbert, David Welch and John Boyce, who were previously announced last week.

The announcements were made in the Prince Cave Hall of District “A” Police Station, the home of the Barbados Police Service Band.

Addressing rank and file members of the service, Boyce set out her vision for a modern, trusted, community-centred and intelligence-led organisation committed to keeping Barbados safe.

She said she assumed office with “deep humility, a clear sense of responsibility and great confidence” in the men and women who served Barbados every day.

She acknowledged the past year was one of the most challenging periods for policing, citing gun violence, public anxiety about safety, rapidly evolving technology and rising expectations of transparency and accountability.

The Commissioner thanked members of the Police Service for their professionalism and sacrifice, noting that their dedication, resilience and quiet excellence had helped to keep communities safe, support victims, uphold the rule of law and maintain confidence in Barbados as a safe and secure society.

She reaffirmed her commitment to the service’s strategic direction and its “Community Focused, Service Driven” approach, stating that the philosophy remained right for communities, partners and the service.

Boyce identified the police’s priorities as strengthening public trust, preventing and detecting crime, reducing fear, protecting life and property, increasing meaningful police visibility and engagement, supporting the well-being and development of members, modernising policing systems and technology, and deepening partnerships with communities, agencies and civil society.

Over the next six months, she said she would engage directly with members at every level and in every division to shape a detailed plan to deliver on these priorities. Such engagements will include station visits, town hall-style meetings, focus groups and virtual sessions to hear members’ views, concerns and ideas.

The Commissioner said change management expertise would be brought in and that internal capacity would be strengthened with additional specialist staff where necessary.

The aim was not to create bureaucracy, she pointed out, but to ensure the service had the skills, structures and support needed to deliver sustainable change that improves frontline policing and public service.

Acknowledging that change can create uncertainty and fatigue, Boyce committed to communicating openly and regularly with members, explaining not only what was being done, but why it was being done and how it would help them perform their duties more effectively. (PR/SAT)

2. You need to find out of her predecessor left the report on the ‘slap heard round de nation’

3. The BPS is no longer ‘undermanned’ …..

Maybe under-womaned, it now appears.

On this factoid and the more meaty ones weee should expect more of the same

More of the same mentalities

More of the same growing crimes

More of the same culturally bound responses.

More of the same of a sameness.

For this police forces was never, from its beginning, set up to be anything more or less than it currently is substantively.

Except, the prevailing politics which seems to now want the commissioner of police to be a woman, like the next prime minister and the ones afterwards. Even as the country enters cultural death throes. Within this schema appearances matter more than substance. Personality trumps vision.

In this Barbados there seems to be a predetermination for women, qualified or not, to run men. These injustices cannot reverse the underdevelopment caused by a colonial inheritance of a male chauvinism of the past but possesses country-destroying dynamics as we play to the gallery while ignoring the forces intent on destroying us all.

Woke-ism rite large!

Gallop on!

4. NOW LET’S GET TRULY REAL HERE!!! IS IT EVEN DISCERNIBLY POSSIBLE FOR THE BPS* 2 BE SYSTEMICALLY REFORMED – ROOT & BRANCH(es)? AS SOMEONE WITH A UNIVERSITY ACADEMIC TENURE IN CRIMINOLOGY – I CANNOT HELP BUT PUT MY HAND UP TO SAY THAT THIS MOUNTAIN MAYBE AN UNASSAILABLE FORTRESS INCAPABLE OF TRUE POSTMODERN CHANGE WITHOUT A COMPLETE & UTTER REVAMP – BOOTS 2 COMMISS* HAT! AFTER ALL THAT HAS TRANSPIRED OVER DECADES, HOW WILL THE BPS HAVE TRUE “independence” – FREE FROM POlieTICAL CONTROL WHEN THE LEADERS MEDDLE & PEDDLE IN CRIMINAL BEHAVIOUR SO ENDEMIC ACROSS EVER SECTOR OF BAJAN SOCIETY?

Ladies & gentlemen, this is gonna’ be a “HARD READ”!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Outta’ the gate, here’s a theatrical illustration of a problem that is well-documented & deeply corrosive – where the perception & reality of political interference in the Barbados Police Service has been “BAKED-IN” for donkey’s years!!!

Changing such a culture, where a phone call from the Prime Minister can countermand a police operation on the ground requires dismantling the very structure that enables that phone call to work…

This is what I am saying

Let us begin by getting into the Sargassum weeds

Here we go

In a widely reported 2021 “GOOD FRIDAY” incident where a businessman, with previous drug convictions, reportedly called then, (NOW)-Prime Minister Mia Mottley while police were at his establishment.

Officers were documented as backing down, leading to a public outcry and fears that this emboldened criminal had eroded public trust.

This event triggered significant public and political debate, with the Opposition Leader warning that political involvement in operational policing sets a “DANGEROUS PRECEDENT”!

The problem is framed as a clear breach of the constitutional separation of powers.

A former acting Commissioner, Bertie Hinds, has stated that politicians “like to put roadblocks in your way” and that “I know politics have influence on almost everything”.

Former Deputy Commissioner McDonald Woodroffe called political meddling in the force “CANCEROUS,” describing how it begins at recruitment and extends to transfers and promotions, facilitated either through fear or favour within the Force!

The questions to be asked represent the public’s demand for genuine transformation – not just a reconfiguration of existing structures.

The success of Commissioner Boyce’s tenure will be judged by her willingness to confront these deep-seated issues with concrete, measurable plans.

BUT WILL SHE BE ABLE TO TELL MIA MOTTLEY TO *FOOK-OFF* AND LET HER DO HER JOB?

The legal reality of the Police Commissioner’s powers, based on “The Police Act” and the Constitution of Barbados define the Commissioner’s role.

While the Commissioner is responsible for the operational matters of the force, appointments, disciplinary control, yet broader oversight are shared with the Police Service Commission (now the Protective Services Commission) and the Governor General.

This means her power is not “ABSOLUTE”, particularly concerning senior appointments or dismissals, which require the Commission’s involvement.

The critical barriers reveal a deeply ingrained historical challenge, where perceptions and reality of public corruption is as clear as mud!

A 2024 public perception survey in Barbados found that police officers were perceived as the most corrupt group (37%), followed by Members of Parliament (32%) and political parties (48%).

The previous Commissioner, Darwin Dottin, who headed the Anti-Corruption and Anti-Terrorism Agency (ACTA), promised to go after corruption “IN HIGH AND LOW PLACES” with operational independence.

This demonstrates that prior leadership has tried to tackle it, but the pervasive perception of corruption suggests the problem is so deep-rooted, and the outcomes of such efforts are not always visible.

THIS IS THE POISONED CHALICE SHE INHERITS!

The Commissioner of Police is meant to be independent in operational matters and is protected by a commission structure that is designed to insulate her from direct political interference in appointments and discipline.

Therefore, the “MOTTLEY-CREW GOV*” tying her “hands and feet” would be a serious constitutional breach.

What “COMMISS* Boyce says in her address, set out a “VISION BOARD” focused on “community-focused” policing, “reform, accountability, stronger investigations, greater police visibility,” and “rebuilding public trust”.

SHE HAS MY BEST WISHES AND MY PRAYERS

Boyce is already making high-level appointments, like Christine Stanford and Vernon Farrell as Acting Assistant Commissioners, signaling an intent to reshape the command structure.

What Boyce has supported was a powerful indicator for her predecessor’s public support in an independent review of police complaints – a position she has endorsed.

This directly addresses the “POLICE INVESTIGATING THEMSELVES” problem.

The Attorney General is currently reviewing the Police Complaints Authority Act to give it more power, which she has welcomed.

The challenge of resources will be her “Achilles Heel” given the point about being “UNDERMANNED BY ABOUT 300 OFFICERS” is crucial.

A lack of resources is not an excuse – but a real constraint.

Without a major recruitment drive, it will be difficult to implement community policing or a sophisticated technological strategy to effectively combat “WHITE-COLLAR CRIME”!

The necessary changes are enormous and would require a paradigm shift from the current reactive model to a proactive, intelligence-led one.

The changes would involve the modernisation of crime-fighting capabilities to detect and prosecute complex “FINANCIAL CRIMES”, amongst the current “BIG KINGPIN PLAYERS” on the island (FOR THEY KNOW WHO THEY ARE), with a massive investment in forensics and data analysis!

Tackle “whispers of corruption” by using an independent body to investigate officers and dismiss those found colluding – a radical departure from past practices!

PERMIT ME TO POSIT SOME OTHER CRITICAL QUESTIONS FOR COMMISS BOYCE

(a) Will you invite an independent body (like Jamaica’s “INDECOM”) to investigate police integrity, and commit to publicly naming officers found colluding with criminals?

(b) Will you make body-worn camera footage public in cases of controversy to ensure true accountability?

(c) Beyond enforcement, what is the specific, resourced plan to implement “community policing” tactics that win “hearts and minds”?

(d) What concrete steps will you take to dismantle the nexus between local gangs and their regional/international criminal networks?

(e) How will you address the 300-officer shortfall and the lack of technology, especially to combat “white collar crime”?

(f) What is your specific technology plan to modernise crime-fighting and data analysis?

(g) Do you support the controversial clause in the Police (Amendment) Bill 2025 that could fine citizens $10,000 for declining to assist an officer, and will you advocate for its “REMOVAL”?

(h) Do you support strengthening the Police Complaints Authority (PCA) to be a genuinely independent oversight body?

(i) How will you ensure frontline officers treat the public with respect and professionalism, moving beyond the “COLONIAL RELIC” of a “FORCE” to a true “SERVICE”?

(j) What is the outcome of the investigation into the police officer who assaulted a man on Kadooment Day 696 days ago?

Changing the BPS* culture, therefore, is not about better training or more resources alone.

It is about fundamentally restructuring the relationship between the political class, the police, and the public!

It requires legislative changes that codify independence!

An empowered and independent oversight body!

A Commissioner with the moral courage to resist political pressure!

A citizenry that demands and expects equal treatment under the law!

Without these changes, the “PM SPEED DIAL” will remain more powerful than the warrant card.

On that existential jurisprudence note

Semper Fidelis

5. Trust is corroded by persistent whispers of corruption and officers tipping off criminals. Will you invite an independent or an external body even to investigate the integrity of the force, and are you willing to publicly dismiss and name any officer -regardless of rank -found colluding with the underworld?

XXXXXXXXXXXXXX

I WILL START BY GIVING HER SEVERAL.

ALL NAMED BELOW HAVE WORKED IN DISTRICT A STATION HILL AND COLLUDED FOR BRIBERY AND KICKBACKS WITH WELL KNOW FIGURES IN THE UNDERWORLD ON THE 2X3 ISLAND.

SARGEANT PINDER ALLEGED TO BE A RELATIVE OF NIGEL PINDER ALIAS BOUNTY NOW IN PRISON ON MURDER CHARGES DID HIS BIDDING WHILST IN THE FORCE AND ALSO STOLE A $7000 DIAMOND RING DURING CONDUCTING A SEARCH WHICH WAS NEVER RECORDED OR REPORTED OR RECOVERED.

CONSTABLE WAITHE AND HIS FELLOW OFFICER WHO RESIDES NEXT TO WESTBURY CEMETERY DID THE BIDDING OF ALIAS JERSEY A US DRUG DEPORTEE AND A FORMER BUSINESS PARTNER OF NIGEL PINDER ALIAS BOUNTY FOR EXTORTION AND MONEY KICKBACKS.

ALL 3 OF THE ABOVE HAVE WORKED IN THE SAME STATION AND ARE INVOLVED WITH SHARING INFORMATION, DRUG TRANSACTIONS AND MONEY LAUNDERING.

6. 🤔

7. Not detracting from the BM’s concerns raised… but..

One possible advantage of recruiting a woman in the role of Po Po Commissioner,
    is she may be less likely to be a member of the secret gang of Freemasons, which is primarily a male fraternity brotherhood and network of people in high positions, who grant each other favours whenever asked, albeit Quid Pro Quo for promotions, corrupted bribes, covering up crime, injustice etc.

Masons claim it is their right to have a secret fraternity and they are just a bunch of good old boys hanging out together in a union club, but other say it induces a culture of dirty cops with malfeasant theatrics engaging in wrongful, illegal and harmful conduct in public service positions of trust, such as Police, Courts, Government Office etc and are not acting moralistically or legally with integrity in public’s interest.

Will there be less institutional corruption with a Woman as Head calling the shots shaking up the status quo system? Time will tell..

8. LOL
    Using Rasta Cowboy’s logic, we should recruit children to run things then… since the worse case will be membership of school gangs…

Ras, …the objective MUST BE to recruit HONEST, LAWFUL, ETHICAL, persons of excellent repute, …and WHO ARE ALSO COMPETENT to get the job done.

Such persons are best identified by their HISTORY OF PRIOR SUCCESSFUL PERFORMANCE.

The process also REQUIRES full transparency, openness, and an atmosphere where FACTS and RESULTS dominate all considerations.

…not where some insecure dictator micro-manages everything …and then dumps blame on others – who don’t have the balls to even protest.

This is why we are diametrically OPPOSITE to Singapore, and will therefore see OPPOSITE results.

Steupsss…
    To understand our situation, …think of the USA….

What a place!

9. We live in a world today where thriving to nurture a meritocracy will inevitably face resistance. While there will always be those who are lawless and ignorant in society, values and morals that have been honed over time must be defended.

10. @ David

I’ll join you in extending congratulations to Sonia Boyce on her appointment as Commissioner of Police.

I also hope she introduces progressive and innovative crime fighting initiatives, similarly to how St. Lucia’s new CoP, Verne Garde, responded to the rising crime situation in that island, the murder rate of which is 40.

It’s both ironic and interesting that former CoP Boyce, new CoP Boyce and Dep CoP Hunte were among the 14 police officers who filed a civil lawsuit in 2012, against the Commissioner of Police, Police Service Commission and Attorney General (1st, 2nd and 3rd respondent/defendant respectively), after they were denied promotions by the then Police Service Commission led by Chairman Guyson Mayers.

Perhaps there’s some truth in the ‘Bajan saying’ that “wuh fuh a man he does get?”

Additionally, for anyone to identify one or two police officers who are corrupt, take bribes, or abuse the privileges and powers of their position, as the basis to continually insinuate the ENTIRE police service is corrupt, is absolute NONSENSE.

11. @Artax

Your observation is spot on. The BPS as it is known now has been managing a rift in the hierarchy for some time now.

12. We are diametrically opposed to to Singapore when it comes with the ability to protest against government

13. Barbadians are talkers. Over time we have allowed officialdom to beat us into submission.

We have become so accustomed to cow towing that we willingly ceded our rights. In any sensible place this would have been non negotiable.

As they say, for every action there is a reaction now there is crypto corruption, supported by a culture of mediocrity. Here is the big one – public trust in key institutions has been eroded.

14. First congratulations to our new commissioner. I know you have to settle in but when you get time I have a few “left over” concerns.

Seeing plenty vehicles with very dark tint still on the road after the original hoopla.

The one wheel motorcycles is still a concern too.

Oh Lord the PSVs I really would like them dealt with too.

The gun thing worrying me also.

Now I been watching Trinidad where they catching the big fish as well as the small ones. Can’t wait to see that happen here too.

Will leave it there for now cause I don’t want to overwhelm you with my concerns.

15. Removing corruption Avatar
    Removing corruption

Ras, …the objective MUST BE to recruit HONEST, LAWFUL, ETHICAL, persons of excellent repute, …and WHO ARE ALSO COMPETENT to get the job done.

The process also REQUIRES full transparency, openness, and an atmosphere where FACTS and RESULTS dominate all considerations.

Removing corruption in Banks, Police, Courts, Government etc is more involved than relying on high morals alone, but putting checks and balances in all processes

examples
    Staff positions rotate to change job roles,
    all work performed is verified and authorised by others,
    people are ordered to take a couple of weeks of to conduct a review of their work

16. The USA is the most lawless state in the world.

We recall vividly when a Colombian won a case in Barbados against extradition to America. They believed him to be a drug runner.

As the presumptive felon was travelling back to Colombia, ignoring thr Barbados judgement, he was taken off an aircraft and flows to American territory.

Only recently Donald Drumpf, in violation of the rules of soccer made the FIFA president, in the most ultravirus manner, as the simplest indication of the lack of international law and therefore no local law, reversed a footballing decisión by a referee to impose a red card on an American soccer player.

FIFA also had to swallow the indignity of having Iranian players travelling to and fro to México before and after every match. This meant no recover time and represented a stark disadvantage to the Iranians. Of course, American racism, supposedly illegal, was a central factor in the issuances of visas. Again, against both law and FIFA rules.

Long gone are the days when Whites, in protection of the Apartheid state, were telling us that politics and sport should not mix. An obvious self serving position then, so as now.

Question? When will the time ever come. for the cowards here and elsewhere, wake up to the idea that the fish of general lawlessness is rotting at the head? Maybe if the heads were sent looking for shoulders, as Clarke would have said, the body or body politique, would not also rot.

17. @RAS

The (OWF) Order of Women Freemasons was founded in 1908…

It is the oldest & largest Masonic organization 4 women in the UK…

It has approximately 4,000 – 10,000 members across hundreds of lodges!!!

It follows the same “Ceremonies & Regalia” as #BrotherhoodFreemasonry…

Yet independent of (UGLE) United Grand Lodge of England…

Freemasonry4Women (formerly HFAF) was founded in 1913…

It is a smaller fraternity with about 700 – 800 members in the UK…

Like the (OWF) – it mirrors traditional Masonic practices…

CORRECTION: there are “FEMALE FREEMASONS” in Brassbados & across the Caribbean!!!

GUESS WHO LEADS THEM???

18. Additionally, for anyone to identify one or two police officers who are corrupt, take bribes, or abuse the privileges and powers of their position, as the basis to continually insinuate the ENTIRE police service is corrupt, is absolute NONSENSE.

XXXXXXXXXX

I HAVE NEVER SAID WHOLE POLICE FORCE ON THE 2X3 ISLAND IF IN ANY WAY DIRECTED AT ME.

I HAVE ALWAYS MADE REFERENCE TO THE CORRUPT ONES I ENCOUNTERED ON THE 2X3 ISLAND INCLUDING SELLING TASERS, PEPPER SPRAY AND GUNS.

IN REGARDS TO THOSE I HAVE IDENTIFIED EARLIER LET ME NOT FORGET PLANTING EVIDENCE IN MY FORMER BMW IN COLLUSION WITH OTHERS.

I JOIN THE CONGRATULATIONS TO THE NEW CHIEF OF POLICE AND WISH HER THE BEST IN DEALING WITH SOME WHO SHE OVERSEES INCLUDING SENIORS ENABLING MAJOR DRUG DEALERS AND BUSINESS LEADERS.

I HAVE LEFT THE 2X3 ISLAND ALMOST A DECADE AGO SO NO ONE CAN ACCUSE OF BEING PART OF THE DECAY.

I FOUND IT AMUSING THOSE SAME POLICE COULD BRING ME INTO A DISTRICT A POLICE STATION AND SAID THAT THEY WOULD LIKE TO WORK WITH ME AS I KNEW HOW TO MAKE MONEY IN AN INTERROGATION ROOM.

I REFUSED AS I KNEW THAT I WAS BEING SETUP FOR $15000 FROM PRIOR RECEIVED THREATS OF ALIAS JERSEY US DRUG DEPORTEE TO SENDING HIS ‘BOYS TO DEAL WITH ME WHO I LATED FOUND OUT PLAYED BASKETBALL REGULARLY WITH HIM AT THE TIME AT UWI CAVEHILL.
    THE BOYS TURNED OUT TO BE SAME POLICE OFFICERS.

WHEN I SAY A LOT OF THE POLICE KNOW ON THE 2X3 ISLAND WHO ARE THE MAJOR PLAYERS BOTH UNDERWORLD AND CORPORATE BUT LOOK THE OTHER WAY OR WORK DIRECTLY FOR KICKBACKS BECAUSE OF THEIR LOW SALARIES OR GREED.

HOPE THINKS TURN AROUND FOR THE BLACK MAJORITY POPULATION OF WHICH MANY SUFFER IN SILENCE AFRAID TO SPEAK OUT OR RECRIMINATIONS.

19. John A

I’ll remind you not to forget about those Chefette and KFC delivery drivers who, with the seats’ back-rest reclined to the extent that it gives the appearance they’re ‘laying down,’ drive as recklessly as PSV operators.

The ZR drivers continue to park at the junction of John Beckles Drive and River Road, impeding the free flow of traffic during the day, while blocking both entrance and exit of the Fairchild Street bus terminal from approximately 4:30 pm until late at night.

Some PSV drivers, especially the youngsters, can be seen with the ZRs parked on QEH pasture, smoking herb and drinking alcohol…… then to drive passengers afterwards.

Minibus drivers plying the Bridgetown Speightstown route continue to ‘drag’ impeding the free flow of traffic.

One of the problems I find with Barbadians is they often find excuses to uphold certain behaviours.

20. Based on the comments
    Riding a motorcylce without papers is worse than operating a social security fund and not producing reports
    Parking a ZR willnilly is worse than politicians parking incompentent corrupt persons in important positions because they have the right affiliation
    Dark tint on cars is worse than the dark tint covering the operations of SOEs and Ministries

The police know their job and for the most part they do it, the problem is we refuse to do our job as part of a functioning society.

21. @ Artax

I nearly forgot those delivery swifts for true. The ones where the drivers practically lie down and drive.

As for the Herb smoking alcohol drinking group of ZR drivers, I don’t know what the excuse, sorry reason, could be for allowing them endangering people’s lives driving stone and drunk.

22. Isn’t the Minister responsible for Justice Michael Lashley a former Minister of Transport? Then he went into private practice as a lawyer when he was booted from parliament in 2018? Now he is back ! To do what?

We love the brown stuff being rubbed in our faces.

23. @Redguard

The BPS cannot do what it is suppose to as you suggest if undermanned and under resourced.

24. https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c33y0n1v1xjo

A public official sentenced to death for taking millions or billions in bribery over 30 years.

Certainly, to have a chilling affect, even if a seldom used corrective, as weee would hope.

A serious country!

25. Harbour them and face jail!

GOVERNMENT IS CRACKING DOWN on the harbouring of criminals, warning Barbadians afresh that if they do so, they become criminals too.

In addition, the punishment will be worse if the person being protected is affiliated with a gang.

To help enforce this and spread public awareness, the Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit has created two public service announcements (PSAs) as well as posters. These were revealed yesterday during a media launch in the Office of the Attorney General, Webster’s Business Park, St Michael. In attendance were Minister of Legal Affairs and Criminal Justice Michael Lashley and Commissioner of Police Sonia Boyce, as well as other officials.

Two PSAs

Criminologist Kim Ramsay said the two PSAs were called “Harbouring Them Will Cost You” – dealing with the existing legislation against harbouring criminals – and “Gran Will Not Go To Prison”, which spoke specifically to harbouring gang members under the new Criminal Gangs (Prevention and Control) Act.

The PSAs detail how harbouring a criminal carried various sentences, such as ten years in prison for harbouring a murderer, seven years for harbouring someone convicted of a different serious crime, and three to five years otherwise. For harbouring a gang member, the sentence is ten to 25 years in jail.

Lashley said the focus was on educating the public, as enforcement alone could not adequately address every criminal challenge.

“I want Barbadians to really view these two PSAs not only as a warning, but view them as something that you can now go out to your fellow man and say, ‘You know what? Let us engage in this fight, engage in this public education programme’.

“Yes, in some instances you’ll be loyal, but you cannot let loyalty bring you into breach of the law. That is where the Criminal Gangs Act places a specific provision in relation to relationships and that if these relationships redound to punishment, that relationship would also act as a mitigating factor. But it’s still an offence, so I want to laud the ministry for its involvement in this,” he said.

The minister added that the PSAs and posters were just the tip of the iceberg as they will also be spreading the message via social media and community practitioners.

“We now have to reach and go into communities. I have full confidence in the Commissioner of Police that we’ll be engaging shortly and going into communities because we cannot solve crime by just enforcement. We have to solve it by reaching into communities and getting persons who are at the brink of touching the criminal justice system, and those young persons who we believe are vulnerable, might not be part of the criminal justice system, but might be vulnerable to gang leaders and drug leaders.

Positive leaders

“We must go to the other end and say, ‘Let us get the positive community leaders to be involved in this crime prevention programme’. I look forward to working with all community groups, all the law enforcement agencies, in this fight against crime,” he said.

Lashley also said a wider national public education programme speaking about various other initiatives was upcoming, including digital safety education, youth empowerment and violence reduction initiatives.

As part of the proceedings, posters were presented to the Commissioner and the Barbados Association of Principals of Public Secondary Schools. (CA)

26. “A public official sentenced to death for taking millions or billions in bribery over 30 years.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    @ Pacha
    The challenge in Brassbados would be to find a public official who would be competent and unbiased enuff to lead such an investigation in the first place.
    As the Don is alleged to have stated in his defense, “Wuh this is STANDARD practice in Buhbadus”

In any case, this is only an issue where honesty, transparency, and public service are top of government priorities. When our KEY objective is accessing MONEY, then there is no easier route than bribery and theft.

What a place!

27. To help enforce this and spread public awareness, the Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit has created two public service announcements (PSAs) as well as posters. These were revealed yesterday during a media launch in the Office of the Attorney General, Webster’s Business Park, St Michael. In attendance were Minister of Legal Affairs and Criminal Justice Michael Lashley and Commissioner of Police Sonia Boyce, as well as other officials

xxxxxxxxxxx

HHHHHMMMMM

HYPOCRISY KNOWS NO BOUNDS.

MICHAEL LASHLEY A LAWYER FORMER DLP NOW BLP WAS A MAJOR FRIEND, SUPPORTER AND BENEFACTOR OF DRUG LORD NIGEL PINDER ALIAS BOUNTY WHILST BOTH WERE IN ST PHILIP AT THE TIME OVER MANY MANY YEARS.

BOUNTY ALSO FORMER LEADER OF A NOTORIOUS DRUG KILLING GANG NOW CURRENTLY SITS IN DODDS PRISON ROTTING ON REMAND AS A POTENTIAL SERIAL KILLER.

THESE POLITICIANS NO MATTER WHAT SIDE THEY ARE ON TAKE THE PUBLIC FOR FOOLS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND.

UNFORTUNATELY PEOPLE IT SEEMS VOTE ON FEELING AND NOT ON RECORD AND REALITY.

IT IS THE PRIMARY REASON WHY I HAVE NEVER VOTED ANYWHERE.

28. Advocates at odds with prison

By Maria Bradshaw

mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

Two men who were the subject of an advertisement by the Barbados Bar Association regarding their nonattorney status say they have been “banned” from Dodds Prisons and branded “undesirables.”

Colin Roach and Winston Clarke, who have been assisting inmates who cannot afford legal counsel, told the Weekend Nation that they were informed of a memo written by Superintendent of Prisons DeCarlo Payne indicating that as of June 23, they would not be allowed on the Barbados Prison Service property to visit or conduct any business.

The directive, shown to this newspaper, dated June 23, states: “The superintendent of prisons has deemed him [Roach] as an undesirable according to Prisons Rules Cap.168 rs63 (5) which states: ‘The officer in charge may refuse admission to the prison of any person who in his opinion is undesirable.’

Legal action

However, Roach, who has already filed legal action against the superintendent over the ban, is defiant. He questioned the timing of the eviction, which comes hot on the heels of his successful assistance to inmate Corey Lynch.

Acting as a McKenzie Friend, Roach helped Lynch file a constitutional motion against Payne and the Attorney General for failing to provide adequate medical and social care while incarcerated.

The matter was decided on March 29 by Justice Patrick Wells, who found that the State violated Lynch’s right not to be subjected to inhumane and degrading treatment and awarded him $20 000 in damages at four per cent per annum.

Roach told this newspaper that on June 9, he went to the Dodds, St Philip institution to serve a writ of habeas corpus on the superintendent regarding an inmate whose appeal matters had not been adjudicated.

Advised

Roach said an officer informed him that the superintendent had been advised not to sign the application.

“I insisted that the superintendent must sign because he had the body,” Roach said. He said he was ordered off the premises by senior personnel.

Two days later, on June 11, Roach said police officers visited him and handed him a written note which stated: “The superintendent ask you to cease and desist from coming to the Prisons.”

In a sworn affidavit sent to both the Minister of Home Affairs and the Solicitor General, Roach fired back: “I was following Section 57.4 of the Supreme Court (Civil Procedure) Rules 2008 and Mr DeCarlo Payne as superintendent of Dodds Prisons, violated my right to be in a public space where I was conducting business. I have been prevented from visiting inmates, who gave me power of attorney to act on their behalf.”

Clarke, a paralegal who is already locked in a separate legal battle with the Barbados Bar Association after they published his name in a newspaper advertisement warning the public that he was not an attorney, signalled that he is fully prepared to take the superintendent of prisons to court as well.

While he said he was not officially informed of the “ban”, he was aware of a memo at the prison indicating that he was no longer welcomed there.

“If somebody – don’t matter who it is – does something that I believe is counterproductive to those under their care, whether it be the Prime Minister, whether it be the superintendent . . . . I will speak about it as long as what I am saying is true and I have the documentation or truth to substantiate what I am saying,” Clarke said.

He believes his legal success with prisoners might be behind his ouster.

“One of the reasons that I have been banned and as he say undesirable from the prison, is because of my assistance to inmates. . . who are representing themselves,” Clarke said.

“I can say that there are about 23 matters that I have done consecutively where I have been successful for the inmates and for some reason this administration does not like to see people being set free. If we continue to speak out, these people would not be able to get away with these things.”

The Weekend Nation reached out to Superintendent Payne by telephone and email but up to press time there was no response to queries concerning the ban.

Minister of Home Affairs and Information Gregory Nicholls declined to comment on the situation.

He would only state: “The issue was one for the management of the prison to respond to directly as it is not a matter brought to me for action”.

He further explained that his hands were tied by the very legislation governing the facility.

“My remit in respect of the Prisons is set out in the Prisons Act and it doesn’t permit me to get involved with operational matters.”

However, he added: “I am not aware that the alleged banning of people has risen to the level of policy intervention but I will assure you that if this reaches me, I will faithfully discharge my duties fairly and impartially according to the law.”

29. @THE BLOGMASTER

Thank you 4 posting Ms Bradshaw’s piece from the “NATION”…

THANK GOD 4 MEN LIKE #ColinRoach & #WinstonClarke who are “JUDICIAL ROBIN HOODS”!!!

May this “TREND” of #MackenzieFriends take over the “CUNTRY” & “FORCE CHANGE WITHIN THE BARBADOS BAR ASSOCIATION” & amongst those “DIRTY, FILTHY BASTERDS” who call themselves “LAWYERS”!!!

#CROOKS

#WANKERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

#PUSSY-GRABBING HIGHWAY ROBBERS

WOE, WOE, WOE

30. Trust is the new word.

Boyce: Your safety our priority

New Commissioner of Police Sonia Boyce is determined to earn the trust of Barbadians, she said prior to inspecting the troops in her first inspection during yesterday’s ceremonial parade to commemorate her appointment.

The first woman to hold the post, she used the parade at the Regional Police Training Centre, Seawell, Christ Church, to outline her plans for a modern policing outfit that earns the trust of the public.

She was supported in that quest by Minister of Legal Affairs and Criminal Justice Michael Lashley, who revealed that the condition of the police stations was being addressed with state-of-the-art police stations expected to be built over the next two years at Six Roads, Black Rock and Holetown.

Lashley said the environment which the Barbados Police Service is operating had changed considerably and continued to change rapidly.

“The criminal element is just as informed and well equipped as those whose job it is [combat them]. It is therefore important that one of the immediate priorities of this Government is the continuation of looking after the interests of members of the Police Service,” he said.

His remarks and that of Commissioner Boyce came two days after they were part of the launch of public service announcements and posters encouraging residents not to harbour wanted people, and the price they will pay if they do so.

Boyce said: “We recognise that trust must be earned, not demanded. It is built through consistent action, through fairness and through respect. My commitment is that the Barbados Police Service will work tirelessly to strengthen that trust. We will be present in your communities, we will listen to your concerns, we will respond with professionalism and cheer, and we will hold ourselves accountable to the standards you rightfully expect,” she said.

The commissioner also advised her officers as well as the public to remember they were more than simply upholders of the law.

“As you stand on parade this evening, remember that each badge, each stripe, each medal represents sacrifice and service. Let it also represent a renewed promise to uphold the highest ideals of this profession. To the people of Barbados, let me say this – your safety is our priority, and your trust is our greatest asset. We are here to serve you, not merely to enforce the law, but to uphold justice, protect the vulnerable and maintain the peace that defines our nation,” she stated.

Renewal of purpose

Yesterday, she said, marked not simply a change in leadership but a renewal of purpose.

“We are operating in a time of complexity and change. Crime is evolving, becoming more sophisticated, more transnational, and in some cases, more violent. Technology is reshaping how offences are committed and how they must be investigated. Public expectations of policing are higher than ever and rightly so. The people of Barbados expect a service that is responsive, professional, fair and effective, and they deserve nothing less.

“My vision for the Barbados Police Service is clear. To build a modern, trusted and highly capable police organisation that delivers safety, justice and reassurance to every community in this island. This vision is not an abstract slogan; it must translate into how we lead, how we deploy, how we train and how we treat our fellow citizens every single day,” she said.

Boyce said the need to modernise was not optional but essential and the service would seek out the appropriate technologies to improve case clearance rates, enhance officers’ safety and improve service to the public.

“From client analysis to communication systems, from forensic capabilities to administrative processes, we must modernise how we operate. Efficiency and effectiveness must go hand-in-hand. We will seek out appropriate technologies that support our mission, not gadgets for their own sake, but tools that will also look critically at our processes, simplifying where we can, digitising where we must and always asking ourselves, does this help the people we serve?” she asked.

Boyce, who attended the ceremony with her mother, Cynthia Best and daughter Kelly-Ann Boyce, said she was “deeply honoured and profoundly humbled” by her appointment and thankful for the confidence shown in her while pledging to perform her duties with “an unshakeable commitment to lead with integrity, courage and purpose”.

She also praised the work of her predecessor Richard Boyce for his “distinguished service and dedicated and principled leadership”, both to the service and to Barbados.

“His tenure was marked by professionalism, steady stewardship and a clear commitment to duty. On behalf of the Barbados Police Service and the nation, I extend sincere appreciation for his sterling contribution. We build today upon the foundation he helped to strengthen,” she said. ( CA)

31. William Skinner Avatar

Has anybody ever done a comprehensive report on the record of crimes the Barbados Police Force has successfully solved ?
    Can we honestly state that our police force is extremely corrupt.
    Until quite recently, the murder rate was relatively low and other crimes seem quite manageable.
    It seems that the biggest obstacle facing the force is blatant political interference and this certainly did not start yesterday. Both political parties, have always attempted and succeeded in interfering with the functioning of the police force.
    Many police have opted for early retirement or entered private sector jobs dealing with other crime related activities. Some just went overseas and tried to further their careers.

32. @William

The straightforward answer is no. We have had reports of crime over the years, but cannot recall any that specifically match the focus you are asking about.

33. “The straightforward answer is no.”

The Barbados Police Service, similarly to any other police service/force, actually compile and prepare categorical data on the number of crimes committed and solved, often referred to ‘detection rates.’

A crime is labelled as ‘detected’ when police have identified at least one person responsible for committing the offence, and accumulated sufficient evidence to charge him/her as a result.
    The detection or clearance rate is essentially the percentage of recorded crimes police determined are solved or legally cleared.
    In other words, detected crimes ÷ the total number of recorded crimes within a specific time period = detection rate.

For example:
    – Homicide & Related offences: 85% detection rate for crimes reported in Q1 2024 compared with a 90% detection rate for crimes reported in Q1 2025.
    – Drug offences: 90% detection rate for crimes reported in Q1 2024 compared with 97% for those reported in Q1 2025.

I’m sure you would’ve heard references made to such information when Commissioners of Police discuss crime statistics during press conferences, AG reports in parliament or read stats in the police annual reports.

Unfortunately, it seems as though a police annual report has not been prepared since 2013.

34. William Skinner Avatar

If these reports are what we are going by, it’s very obvious that we have a very competent police force. Therefore to suggest that the force is vastly corrupt and unsuccessful at solving crimes is grossly overstated. Taking into consideration that the force has been short of at least three hundred police for close to thirty years, clearly shows that our police are working under very stressful conditions and should be actually complimented for the job it does.

35. @William

Yours is a fear statement but the issue of law enforcement is much bigger.

36. @ David
    I agree the issue of law enforcement is much bigger. However, we have reached the sorry stage , where we sometimes , give opinions without one iota of facts or data.

37. @William

Again while what you stated is true, the everyday experience of Barbadians, especially in low income communities, rings loud. We need to do a better job with community policing; we need to do a better job with nurturing trust between communities and police. The BPS needs to do a better job how it interacts with the public it serves. There is enough data available to support.

The example BU has exposed for two years now, is how the police hierarchy has ignored a promise to reveal the outcome of an investigation of a policeman slapping someone on Kadooment Day.

38. Please note, the information I provided was NOT based on actual figures but USED as an EXAMPLE to illustrate how the detection data is compiled and presented.

However, the Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit (CJRPU), for example, would provide the forum with relevant, reliable information.

I agree that, despite BPS being undermanned, police officers have been successful in solving crimes, especially under circumstances where dedicated teams of detectives were assigned to solve specific crimes.

Additionally, I believe identifying one or two ‘bent police officers’ from 20 years ago, should not be used a basis to suggest/imply the entire organization is corrupt or the majority of its members.

39. @Artax

To suggest the BPS has done well although significantly under resourced is falling short of a culture of meritocracy. We have to fix the problems to ensure the BPS overachieves.

40. William Skinner Avatar

This is not a question meritocracy, it is whether the Force has done well under limited personnel and technical resources.
    In terms of performance, it would be extremely difficult to give the Force a failing grade. It will also be equally difficult to establish that the Force is broadly corrupt.
    As for meritocracy, our last five or six COP have all met excellent standards of qualification for that office. Maybe even before the last five or six.
    The tools used in community policing three decades ago are no longer applicable to the communities that exist today. And that’s where the lack of personnel and technology is clearly evident.
    You can’t fight

41. @William

The challenge with your argument which is theoretically correct is that it does not provide an accurate basis to measure performance. If the BPS is undermanned and under resourced, talk about the force doing well is simple a feel good statement. We can agree to disagree of course.

@Artax

What is the latest about the BPS not enforcing the ‘tint’ law?

42. Only fools bury their heads in sand Avatar
    Only fools bury their heads in sand

We are indeed stupid people if we think there are only 1 or 2 corrupt POLICE in BIM from 20 years ago.

How many people have been beaten at every station or killed in POLICE custody.

How many drugs have been stolen as EVIDENCE and resold back on the streets.

How many work with DRUG DEALERS including business men/women.

Pick sense from nonsense.

43. “We are indeed stupid people if we think there are only 1 or 2 corrupt POLICE in BIM from 20 years ago.” 🤔🤔
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What an IDIOT! 😂😂😂

Perhaps the author of the above captioned comment should refrain from using a multiplicity of pseudonyms and concentrate on using ONE only. 😎

The phrase “one or two” is an IDIOM that simply means a FEW or an INSIGNIFICANT, INDEFINITE NUMBER of PEOPLE or things.

It is typically used to downplay the quantity of something, suggesting the number is very small and manageable (e.g., “I have one or two questions” essentially means “I” only want to ask a few questions).

Similarly, “20 years ago” was an ‘idiomatic expression.’ That the alleged crooked cops and associated events identified and used on BU as examples of corruption in the then RBPF aren’t RECENT.

Of course, we’ve heard about suspects who were beaten or killed while in police custody, the resale of confiscated narcotics, and ‘bent’ police officers associating with known criminals.

But, is such behaviour widespread in the police service? Of course not.

44. @ David

You’ve given your opinion, which must be respected.

To suggest BPS is “significantly under resourced” is not entirely correct.

Examples of the technical resources BPS has progressively acquired over the years to fight crime are as follows:

…… introduction of a verification unit
    …… tactical equipment such as the deployment of drones
    …… specialized information technology infrastructure for in-car and body-worn camera systems
    …… digital forensics for the extraction and analysis of data from computers and mobile phones
    …… installation of CCTV camera systems at high-traffic intersections, crime hotspots and other strategic areas around the island to monitor public spaces and gather evidence

I remember when the regional police forces requested RBPF to provide them with forensic ballistic services.

Our main problem is HUMAN RESOURCES…… the ability to recruit the required number of police officers to achieve full compliment.

You are essentially suggesting one cannot accurately measure BPS’ performance simply because it is undermanned.

Yet, despite that constraint, we’ve been able to ACHIEVE an island wide detection rate of 66% in 2025.

For you to dismiss any reference to that achievement as a “feel good statement,” is nonsense, especially if the variables affecting recruitment are not taken into consideration.

We have to ask:
    Why are Barbadians, especially males, not interested in joining the service?
    Should the qualifying requirements for recruitment be lowered to attract recruits?
    Do we have to consider the option of ‘applying for work permits to recruit non-nationals,’ similarly to Antigua, Bahamas, Bermuda, and Cayman Islands?

We also have to ask why many of those persons selected for recruitment fail the recruitment process.
    The competency exams, which includes a written cognitive and intelligence or aptitude tests; psychiatric/psychological evaluation, and the drug test where candidates’ blood samples often test positive for disqualifying substances, such as marijuana.

David, you mentioned “meritocracy,” which is simply defined by some sources as a “system or society in which people are chosen and moved into positions of success, power, and influence on the basis of their demonstrated abilities and merit.”
    Over the past 55 years, police officers worthy of the position, were appointed as commissioner. From Girwood Springer in 1971, to Sonia Boyce in 2026.

As it relates to “BPS not enforcing the ‘tint’ law,” there are several laws on the statue books that are not being enforced, such as riding bicycles without helmets, rear reflectors and a lamp affixed to the front; driving while using mobile phones, which the insurance companies identified as being responsible for several accidents; PSVs picking up and setting down passenger at places other than a bus stop; speeding; jay-walking.

We should be advocating for ALL laws to be enforced, rather than conveniently looking at the tint laws.

45. @Artax

If BPS is stated to be 300 or 400 short in manpower, this is significant. It does not matter the tech and other advances you mentioned, although welcomed.

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

Artax
    While I agree on the enforcement of all laws…..there is also something under the AG called the Law Reform Commission.
    While the website list two deceased persons as members, the concept is analogous to ‘cleaning our clothes closet periodically’.
    While Parliament produces more Bills and Acts, many with associated Entities to run/oversee them, little is done to clean or refresh them.
    As but one example, each time Trump comes up with new reasons for tariffs, duties etc, it is based on combing though old, but current, legislation to find reasons, which permits the President to bypass Congress. The latest references Section 338 of the Tariff Act of 1930. This follows his “forced labour” declaration.
    Reality is, all nations enforce laws unevenly, on an “if and when they feel like” basis.
    Wait, we get an Auditor General Report yet? The last, and it was later than any before it, was April 2025.

47. @ David

I agree with you that BPS being “300 or 400” officers short of full compliment are significant numbers.

Unfortunately, however, in addition to terminations, resignations and retirements, RBPF/BPS has been struggling to recruit suitable applicants.

These are facts over which government or police hierarchy DO NOT have any control.

Unless…… we lower the entry requirements or recruit non-nationals.
    …………………………………………………………………………

@ NorthernObserver

The Auditor General and the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) are essential pillars of public financial oversight, ensuring government accountability, transparency, and the proper use of taxpayer money.

When, in the interest of transparency and accountability, the current BLP administration should be creating an environment to develop and sustain effective Auditor General & Public Accounts Committee relationships, they continue to spend in the ABSENCE of BOTH……

…… a situation which I believe should’ve drawn public outcry.

I would not be surprised if AudGen reports aren’t prepared during the period the AudGen post remained vacant.