Barbadians were promised in recent days that 10 new garbage trucks – urgently needed – would have been mobilized in time for the Holidays. Although there has been no official announcement by the Mia Mottley government as to why a faulty configuration of the 10 trucks have prevented deployment, information in the public space indicates that the cab of the truck accommodates only two persons and the standing bar on the outside,  one instead of two. It should be noted this government in its infinite wisdom has recruited a PR/Communications team that is second to none if compared to previous governments. There is no reason information should not be readily available regarding matters affecting state apparatus.

The blogmaster is sympathetic to the fact there will be breakdowns in procedure from time to time, although it should never happen in a well functioning system. Garbage collection continues to be a hot button issue and the government leading into the last general election was not bashful about reminding the electorate the former government had not purchased a single garbage truck during its 10 year tenure.

The embarrassing fiasco currently playing out that the $400,000 dollar garbage truck x 10 will have to be retrofitted – no doubt at taxpayers expense – is cause for concern. Given the size of the procurement order, coupled with the importance of the transaction to maintaining a clean environment, a simple thought at the time of signing off on the purchase order should have suggested that those responsible ensure the garbage trucks  ‘fit for purpose’.

All that is left for the blogmaster to opine is that any self respecting administration should immediately request the resignation of the minister responsible (Trevor Prescod) and chairman of the Sanitation Service Authority (Rudy Grant) with immediate effect. We have to start to hold our officials accountable. Given historical behaviour the firing and or resignation of ministers appear to be removed from the remit of the Prime Minister.

The blogmaster is keenly aware the political polarization that exist means that every mistake will be amplified for political gain. This blogmaster is more concerned to ask – how was this sizeable mistake allowed to happen given the modus operandi of this government in period of enhanced financial surveillance ans austerity.

Thg more things change the more they remain the same.

668 responses to “Garbage Trucks Saga”

1. AC OR MARIPOSA IS CERTAINLY NOT JEZEBEL
    I HAVE OFTEN OVER THE LAST 10 YEARS FOUND HER TO BE A PAIN WHEN SHE TALKS RUBBISH BUT I THINK IT IS WRONG WRONG WRONG TO CALL HER JEZEBEL

2. Mariposa is my name i was born in Panama my mother gave me that name because she said i reminded her of a beautiful butterfly
    My parents settled in barbados when i was very small and remained her e for most of there life
    Efforts by many to unmasked the identity of Mariposa has remained futile
    I will continue to speak with a loan voice supported by my own conscience and let the chips fall where they ever they may

3. RG

A simple response to you taking up from your fellow Bajan Donna who can’t seem to read and comprehend like yourself.

Your pal chose to attack me because I said the locals should look for better opportunities abroad in Canada, US, UK or elsewhere and your colleague took a broadsided attack and choose to focus on the USA and as though I was referring to her directly to leave the island.

My comment was a very general comment made especially to young people who have many more years of productivity.

I have lived on the cesspool on the island so know most people don’t like the reality to be exposed.

For your reference, no one on BU can put me in any corner.

I chose to be in a very stress-free environment as a professional living a life that I would wish more locals could enjoy instead of the ongoing high taxes, misappropriation of the taxpayers’ money including VAT, illegality of purchasing of these garbage trucks with no Public Tender and the ongoing corruption among Politicians and criminal buddies.

That is what your focus and others should be on.

Thank God that as a teenager I was given the opportunity to do better for myself as I tremble to think of having to live my life on the island filled with crab in the bucket mentality.

I also didn’t respond to Donna because of her Political connections or allegiances if any.

4. @ Baje
    @Mariposa

There is joy in being contrarian, even on BU. There is a Bajan belief that to hold opposing views is to be the enemy. But to those who are sensible, opposing views force one to think through their own ideas. Ideas change the world, not aggression and pettiness or even exaggerated politeness. Let us have more of that for 2020.

5. Ok away from the garbage trucks
    Today the picture of the pope slapping a woman on her hand sent chilling pain across my body
    I know he is human but the picture is one which most would purposed to shades of domestic violence manifested in the Pope
    I hear he apologize however some pictures are hard to erase from the windows of the mind in a time of history when abuse of woman by men has been often highlighted and as woman seek refuge most often trying to steer clear of any memories connected to physical abuse

6. Imagine the news clip from VoB was posted with the image of the accident and your are debating nonsense. To top it off you have a retired journalist lacking the integrity to say that you posting nonsense. No credibility on the blog. To have a contrarian view does not mean that view is not nonsense and cannot be challenged..

7. Piece the Legend Avatar

In the Video Mariposa SHE TUGGED HIM AND PULLED HIM BACK FORCIBLY!

You does talk cause you have a mouth and frequently do not check your information.

Do you understand what it is like to “push” praise out to every hand that touches you AND THEN BE SUDDENLY PULLED IN A DIRECTION THAT YOU HAD SHIFTED FROM?

You cannot comprehend that state because you are indeed a …

8. RG this guy Baje is an egotistical jackass who feels he is better than anybody else.I hope he does not come crashing down someday.This usually happens to clowns like him.Of late he defended his Dem partner Mariposa.Who the hell is Mariposa a known Dem who always politicizes everything or you?Shr shares licks and will receive licks weather you or Austin like it.Therefore if Mariposa cannot stand the heat tell stay out the kitchen.You stated you arr accustomed speaking to Ms Mottley well ask your questions to her not me since as expected ypu only see corruption on one side i wonder why Mr Inniss is facing trial in the US perhaps you with your intelligence can tell us.Lastly i put NO ONE ON A PEDESTAL.

9. Piece i saw the video
    I also heard that the Pope on one occasion was in an almost similar situation when a male intercepted between the Pope and a handicapped person.The pope in that instance scolded the man
    Also seeing the now infamous video of the interaction between the Pope and the woman jarred my thoughts as to the bible story of the woman touching the hem of jesus and his response to her
    I also noticed with great interest the disgust look on the Popes face
    In my opinion the situation could have been handled in a not so harsh manner given the fact he is surrounded by personnel who could have responded to the woman actions

10. Lorenzo. Question
    Do u know how much of cost that big foot year long party called “we gathering” is going to cost the Tax payers
    A look at media files and the appropriation act 2019 shows nothing

11. He should have knock her to hell out

12. Some in attendance of the gathering says out of the entire crowd mostly barbadians living at home
    The dispora count was about fifty
    The event was described as the launch of the next election.
    Just another 400hundred thousand wasted today
    But who is counting food is free bus rides is free music is free
    Eat drink and be merry tax payers would foot the bill

13. Another 400k well invested in keeping the DLP count at 0 sane as last election
    Heheeee

14. Now let’s do some arithmetic here
    50 x12= 600 out of the dispora for a 12month year long party that cost taxpayers a whopping 400hundred thousand a month
    Then one clown says the money spent is worth winning an election

15. Lorenzo

RG this guy Baje is an egotistical jackass who feels he is better than anybody else.I hope he does not come crashing down someday.This usually happens to clowns like him.Of late he defended his Dem partner Mariposa.Who the hell is Mariposa a known Dem who always politicizes everything or you?Shr shares licks and will receive licks weather you or Austin like it.Therefore if Mariposa cannot stand the heat tell stay out the kitchen.You stated you arr accustomed speaking to Ms Mottley well ask your questions to her not me since as expected ypu only see corruption on one side i wonder why Mr Inniss is facing trial in the US perhaps you with your intelligence can tell us.Lastly i put NO ONE ON A PEDESTAL.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THANK YOU.

I COULD NOT HAVE ASKED FOR A BETTER RESPONSE SHOWING HOW YOUR UNSOLICITED FEEDBACK TYPIFY THE BACKWARDNESS ON THE ISLAND FOR THE WORLD TO SEE.

I DON’T KNOW HOW I QUALIFY TO BE A DEM WHEN I HAVE NEVER VOTED FOR ANY PARTY IN BARBADOS OR OVERSEAS WHERE I AM ELIGIBLE EXCEPT THAT I SPEAK OUT ON CURRENT WRONG DOINGS AND ILLEGAL PRACTICES BY CURRENT BLP Government Officials in ASSIGNED High Places.

THIS IS HOW BUTTHEADS LIKE YOU RESPOND LOCALLY WHEN YOU TRY TO PUT SOMEONE IN A BOX.

MY CONTINUAL SUCCESS OR WISHFUL FAILURE HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH YOU Again IT TYPIFIES THE BAD MINDED THINKING THAT IS SO PREVALENT ON THE ISLAND.

LET ME ALSO CORRECT ONE OF YOUR BOLDFACE LIES AS YOU SEEK TO MISLEAD, I NEVER SAID I AM ACCUSTOMED SPEAKING TO MIA, WHAT I SAID TO PARAPHRASE IS THAT WE SPEAK TO EACH OTHER ON A FIRST NAME BASIS IF WE SAW EACH OTHER SO I WOULD HAVE NO FEAR IN SPEAKING DIRECTLY TO HER IN PERSON.

I ALSO REALLY WOULD NOT WANT SOMEONE LIKE YOU WITH LIMITED INTELLIGENCE TO PUT ME ON A PEDESTAL OR ANYONE ELSE FOR THAT MATTER.

16. Let us do some mathematic here
    400 000 x 12 = 4, 800,000 < 7, 000, 000 the DLP spent on their 1 year block party and all that happen is a broken fork get buried at the garrison – al this happened when government getting down grades and couldn’t pay back people income taxes for a few years.

At least the tax payer getting bus ride, food and music out of they own money.

Only an idiot would believe the only 50 would come every month because only 50 showed up for the first day/event.

17. William Skinner Avatar

@ John A
    This is why we can’t go forward. One government determined to spend a few million on the country’s attainment of fifty years of independence and it became a big political debate on BU. A few million on 50th. anniversary of Independence was scorned but $100 million on Greenland is okay.
    Now another government in a creative attempt to instill a sense of patriotism has determined to have a gathering of nationals from overseas. I understand the thinking behind it and see nothing wrong with it. However we now have a political back and forth about a rather noble effort.
    Are we serious ? Can’t we get pass petty political posturing. Even if the government spends a few hundred or million dollars trying to reignite some patriotism , what’s the big deal?
    One of the saddest things that I have read on BU is a citizen feeling that his or her garbage being picked up is a cause for celebration.
    I ask : where are we as a country ?
    We need to celebrate important milestones and we need to support efforts of nationalism.
    Can’t we even find an ounce of maturity ?

18. Before u come back to show up what a fool you are, The best way to tell if there is an increase in the expats on the island or not is to get the figures from customs.
    To think that there are only 50 expats in the island at this time of the year because that is an estimate of the amount at the picnic is totally folly.
    Most bajans come home for crop over, independence, and xmas/new years celebration . To think that only 50 will come for each month of the year is another instant of total stupidity.

19. William S

I think you mean me.

Some of the things you say I agree with.
    Where I disagree with you is, to each his own and different people will react differently to different situations according to their experiences./ agenda.

Who on BU ever stated that the 100M on greenland was ok?

20. William Skinner Avatar

@ John A
    I simply said that we need to move the needle forward. BTW I don’t consider you to be one who see things through only party lens. I simply said that we blew one hundred million on Greenland but we had a major problem with less than ten million on the 50th. Anniversary of Independence. Obviously you weren’t following BU then.
    I think you miss my drift. I am supporting the Gathering..

21. Seems as though I am not the only one who cannot read and comprehend. Wherever did you get the idea that i thought you were telling me personally to leave the island?

Anyhow, i have moved on so long that I even endorsed your list of questions despite my “small island mentality” and “Bajan condition”.

I guess I don’t quite fit into YOUR box.

22. WS

I got that you support the gathering as well as the 50th independence celebration/s.
    I support both also but just like “ribbing” mariposa and keep it “sorta” balanced.

No, I don’t think I was around on BU for Greenland I only started after Solution Barbados which should be about 2016.
    But I would think most bajans would now think that the 100M was a waste , even if they didn’t think so back then.

I cant remember if I was very active on BU for the 50th independence but my view was that they should be some kind of celebration. Year long? I wasn’t to sure if it should have been purely due to the state of our finances at that time. And is the south coast was leaking sewage at that time…….
    But 7M was not bad if that was the final figure and I don’t think that it was declared before the end of the events.

I don’t know where mari got her $400k/ month from but I was just playing along with here figures.

23. William Skinner Avatar

@ John 2

Sorry for referencing you as @ John A.
    Apologies to you both.
    When I reference Greenland it was not BU. I actually meant “okay” as a country. A tinge of sarcasm. We all know about the explosion re : the independence celebrations on BU.
    Hope this clears up my position.
    BTW , Mariposa is no different from the others on the other side. I think what surprises most is that she never eases up. Some can give but not take. She takes as good as she gives.

24. “There is joy in being contrarian, even on BU. There is a Bajan belief that to hold opposing views is to be the enemy. But to those who are sensible, opposing views force one to think through their own ideas. {Quote}

Silly Man Austin, stop talking nonsense. Do you really think you are being SENSIBLE and thinking through your own ideas that when people hold opposing views to yours, you become angry and call them silly, appallingly ignorant, semi-literate buffoons and talk crap about some nonsense you call the Bajan condition? If they keep opposing your views you get angrier and say “I’m out of the discussion.”

Do you behave that way towards your friends?

Sometime ago you said you do not come to BU to be popular, but show the younger generations of Barbadians who may read BU in the future that not all Bajans are ignorant.

I remember you saying that the Transport Board was formed out 5 private bus companies including Elite and Rocklyn bus companies. Another contributor proved that you were WRONG. Instead of admitting you made a mistake and move on, you posted some nonsense you Googled.

A young Barbadian doing the research and reading what you wrote on BU would have to say you are just as ignorant as the rest of us here.

Stop believing you are perfect, because you are no better than anybody else here. Some days you would post a good contribution and on other days you post shyte, just like anybody else.

25. ……also but just like “ribbing” mariposa and keep it “sorta” balanced. {Quote}

@ john2

One thing you can say about Mariposa is that gives and she can take. She don’t need anybody to defend her.

I don’t think people have anything against Mariposa as a few people here are trying to make it seem. I certainly don’t. I believe people like “ribbing” her to keep things balanced, just like you. It’s BU fun. That’s why I think it’s nonsense trying to make it look as though people who “rib” her are not intelligent.

At least, they are not hypocritical. What David BU said about the retired journalist lacking the integrity to say when she is posting nonsense, is true. He prefers spending time telling other people they post waffle and how semi-literate they are.

@ David BU

The retired journalist always makes me laugh, because his descriptions and comments about other people on BU, usually comes down and hits him in his face.

Let me give you an example. On January 1, 2020 2:24 PM he said “@ Mariposa You seem to bring out the anger and vengeance in some men on BU. The intelligent ones understand your position.”

At least people debate with Mariposa and don’t usually go into insults.

However, whenever you, David BU, post something on BU, it BRINGS out the ANGER and VENGEANCE in the journalist, so much so that he goes into the gutter to insult you, calling you a semi-literate buffoon and other pejorative names and asks if you went to school.

What’s the difference between what he is trying to make it seem people are doing to Mariposa and what he consistently does to you when he disagrees with your comments? And he wants us to believe he is intelligent?

You should let him know the intelligent ones understand your position, too.

26. @Hal

This @RG must be Lorenzo the Butthead brother seems to have an agenda to discredit you.

My best piece of advice is to ignore and keep commenting.

You are doing a great job of sharing and exposing ignorance.

I might not always agree but you are on the right track.

To err is to be human.

27. Baje i do not know RG or vice versa, i do not know you or wish to know you.Therefore for you to spesk of my limited intelligence when you do not know me speaks of your arrogance.I do not have to boast of my education like you on here as this is not the place for it.As soon as you are rsttled you stsrt throwing a tantrum and behaving like a 10 year old.Better have come and gone on BU than you and on here you are just another contributor like any one else no better no worse.In closing like i said if you cannot stand the heat stay to hell out the kitchen joker.

28. Lorenzo

I may be a 10-year-old but I am not a batty boy/buller so I don’t deal in shit and that is what you are along with your BLP criminal syndicate.

29. Remember there was this contrived lawsuit shortly after Mia was elected, where she and her next twin and bosom buddy, something like her very close relationship with Maloney, suddenly fell out because she felt fake aggrieved that she was fake libeled and sued Barbadostoday making Kaymar the kinda sorta sacrificial lamb, well big SCAM ON BAJANS…Kaymar is safely working at a newspaper in Jamaica, some say thanks to Mia’s relative….and they plan to continue like nothing ever happened.

and don’t forget Daddy’s fake tears because Owen fake libeled him and her or both….all of them are FRAUDS…and worth staying miles away from..

.those fraud lawsuits all designed to blind and distract bajans are vehicles to move tens of millions of dollars through the corrupt supreme court… YOUR DOLLARS.. off the island. Start monitoring EVERY LAWSUIT they are all involved and the supreme court remains infested with them for decades on end, check and see how may Mia alone has and on whom, Owen also has a large amount…..newspapers are a great vehicle FOR FRAUD..no wonder Bajans can never get real news..

30. Piece the Legend Avatar

Look how far this topic has veered from the core of its submission over 5 hundred comments.

Such is the speed wobble mentality that few recall that

(1).The rules for the purchase of any item or service over $99,999 HAVE BEEN CONTRAVENED BY TREVOR PRESCOD & RUDY GRANT and bloggers are in a plussing contest over how many trucks the DLP bought during their tenure.

So Mugabe’s two henchmen GET A FREE PASS while the core issue was ignored.

(2).that said vehicles which were supposedly purpose built HAD TO SPEND ONE WEEK IN A WORKSHOP IN BARBADOS has incredulously been ignored while mature intelligent bloggers talk bout how much money one administration spent building a useless hole in a ground while giving a free pass to two of the Mugabe regime incompetents WHO IF THIS HAD HAPPENED ANYWHERE ELSE IN THE WORLD, would have been fired!

And in some jurisdictions with people AS OPPOSED TO SHEEPLE, tried for a criminal act.

But let us not forget that we are in Barbados where the Chief of Police does not investigate crimes!

http://imgur.com/Lhzwlp2

31. Yep…the Supreme Court is WIRED for money laundering, that is why the corruption can never, ever go away, they can never find a vision to fix it and will always label it as having NO QUICK FIX…

….if it is ever fixed…money laundering done.

32. I drove along the Rnald Map highway yesterday, and it is obvious that the good sanitation men (and women) and their trucks had been WORKING HARD all day. I couldn’t see not even a single one of Mariposa’s “toffee papers”

33. Barbadians look forward to holding the government to the promise ALL of the retrofitted trucks will be on the road next week to pick up garbage. This is the upside, getting our streets clean!

34. christ …at the high costs to taxpayers, those trucks better be working, am sure the workers are more than happy to have better and MORE tools to perform their jobs. They pay taxes too.

It’s a brand, new year, brand new i say, let’s see if this nehative control of the supreme court will continue.

https://insurecgi.com/jointheteam#section-directorlist.

35. The gathering in my humble opinion is a waste of taxpayers money
    I talk to oversees bajans and find them to be very patriotic and love their country
    Most say they wish they were able to live in Barbados but because of various curcumstances they had to leave
    This new concept of building a ” new barbados” derive from the hard work of overseas barbadians has nothing to do with patriotism but is a political scam built on gimmickry to hoodwinked the diaspora that they can make a difference in rebuilding barbados while govt sends out smoke signals of patriotism and goodwill gestures
    Talking to those living in the dispora one would get to understand that their have nothing but a great love of their country and most would invest their holiday time during crop over ..Xmas..and independence in barbados than any where else in the world ..and be boastful and proud to post on social media outlets how much fun they are having while in barbados all of which adds up to international exposure for the country.
    The debate across social media is of concern as to how much govt is spending to have a year long political party which is tied into political campaigning
    Listening to the remarks by Mia on River Bay one can get the sense of what the gathering would entail mostly tinged with political speeches and discourse
    Therfore along those lines it is only fair to ask and the public be told how much of the taxpayers money is being spent by govt to host this year long political gala/campaign called ” We gathering”
    People are not flooish as the old saying goes
    If it walks like a duck quack like a duck it must be a duck

36. Hopefully when the trucks are fully deployed we will see the garbage disappearing from the streets, this has been a discussion gripping the country for too many years. Also happy to hear commencement of the sewage plant will be started this year.

#staythecourse

37. “Therefore for you to spesk of my limited intelligence when you do not know me speaks of your arrogance”

I find it amazing that you do not know me and often comment on my intelligence. You also refer to a blogger as pea-brain.
    But do we have to know you to recognize the severe limitations?

38. January 2, 2020
    Start of anew Year..
    Have a great year Barbados.
    Have a great day.

39. William Skinner Avatar

Oh boy! Getting garbage pick up is now a cause for celebration. Are we going to have a public holiday?

40. Piece…multi-jurisdictional SET UP…lawd me gawd..lol

Ah staying in me hole…wuhloss.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1213151902227680&id=100005986451739&sfnsn=scwspmo&extid=WqO4kU6vNpCRRXS2

41. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr William Skinner

You speak truth Mr Skinner.

We are here congratulating a government for doing the badword job WE THE PEOPLE ELECTED THEM TO DO!

INCREDULOUS!!!

42. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here

43. So can any crook tell me where Sherbrooke Securities Ltd is registered, Paradise Papers don’t have it and to save people the trouble of looking ….just tell us… cause they will continue searching and may find ..much, much more… than has already been found….wuhloss..

Piece….fyah in ya wyah.

44. the garbage trucks are on the road
    see them pick up load by load
    sEE HOW THEY of mia’s name
    AND HOW THEY THE DICTATOR’S fame

IMAGINE IN 2020 BAJANS ARE CELEBRATING THE COLLECTION OF GARBAGE
    LOOK AT WUH BARBADOS COME TO

45. Oh boy indeed!

A simple comment that after many years of garbage blowing about the streets we are finally going to see our streets clean again is not cause to be happy? Does it mean that what brought us here should be forgotten? You really need to get that chip of shoulder William. Some of us can walk and chew gum. We have to learn to celebrate victories no matter if they are routine. It is how confidence in how we do things as a people will return.

46. “We are here congratulating a government for doing the badword job WE THE PEOPLE ELECTED THEM TO DO!”

Ya not only elected paying them but ALSO paying their multimillion dollar CONSULTANTS…

,,….limited intellect jackasses abound…maybe there is a market to sell these clowns,..

47. when the DLP was the govt they said the South coast sewage problem would only be fixed by a new plant. the BLP as opposition said they had a plan to fix the problem as soon as they got in power. both govts were taking directions from the technical officers in the department. the technical officers are still there so the same plan for fixing the system in the DLP’s time is the same plan that is present now- a new plant. notwithstanding the leakage of sewage on the streets as the DLP battled with the problem as oppose to storing it in the swamp and then dumping it in the sea as the BLP did. yuh just gotta luv politics.

i am an overseas bajan and i am not in the least swayed by this we gathering nonsense. i must say tho as usual from the PR Prime Minister it is a well packaged and articulated gimmick but i believe bajans overseas know this but we will praise the effort. well done MAM.

the trash truck thingy is one in the long list of political thrievry gymnastics that the DLP only wish they could pull off like the BLP. the tendering process was not followed but no one is saying why. just like White Oaks another brilliant pull -the -wool over the sycophants’ eyes once they are told that it worked and there was no other way to do it. but always check the cost, could the same have been appropriated cheaper and then ask, cui bono?

by the way why did MAM pull back the effort to source trash truck in Europe? we were told because someone was following the minister or some such nonsense as if that would stop the guvt from coming to a sensible decision whether to buy or not.

during the campaign Maloney was a DLP villain now he has being rehabbed as a BLP star. Freundel’s purchase of a guvt Mercedes was ridiculed but in what does MAM drive around? the Bridgetown hotel was in the wrong place and there was no EIA but now one has been done it is bigger and well located. we were broke but MAM’s next act after inviting drug dealers to parliament was to make ministers and junior ministers of almost all her MPs, and czars and gurus of her friends. i will stop there for now.

the BLP is slick and MAM is a master of smoke and mirrors. any incidents of infidelity that is lobbed at her party will be met with the DLP, a verb and corruption and off the sycophants will run

48. Ok govt picking up garbage
    Still all and sundry wants to know how much money the tax payers are being asked to pick for the long year political campaign called We Gathering sailing on a yellow and blue boat captained by Mia will cost the taxpayer

Most know how that behind all this collection of garbage the elephant sitting on the land fill is obese and cannot devour any more garbage
    It is just a matter of time before the obese elephant explodes