Barbadians were promised in recent days that 10 new garbage trucks – urgently needed – would have been mobilized in time for the Holidays. Although there has been no official announcement by the Mia Mottley government as to why a faulty configuration of the 10 trucks have prevented deployment, information in the public space indicates that the cab of the truck accommodates only two persons and the standing bar on the outside,  one instead of two. It should be noted this government in its infinite wisdom has recruited a PR/Communications team that is second to none if compared to previous governments. There is no reason information should not be readily available regarding matters affecting state apparatus.

The blogmaster is sympathetic to the fact there will be breakdowns in procedure from time to time, although it should never happen in a well functioning system. Garbage collection continues to be a hot button issue and the government leading into the last general election was not bashful about reminding the electorate the former government had not purchased a single garbage truck during its 10 year tenure.

The embarrassing fiasco currently playing out that the $400,000 dollar garbage truck x 10 will have to be retrofitted – no doubt at taxpayers expense – is cause for concern. Given the size of the procurement order, coupled with the importance of the transaction to maintaining a clean environment, a simple thought at the time of signing off on the purchase order should have suggested that those responsible ensure the garbage trucks  ‘fit for purpose’.

All that is left for the blogmaster to opine is that any self respecting administration should immediately request the resignation of the minister responsible (Trevor Prescod) and chairman of the Sanitation Service Authority (Rudy Grant) with immediate effect. We have to start to hold our officials accountable. Given historical behaviour the firing and or resignation of ministers appear to be removed from the remit of the Prime Minister.

The blogmaster is keenly aware the political polarization that exist means that every mistake will be amplified for political gain. This blogmaster is more concerned to ask – how was this sizeable mistake allowed to happen given the modus operandi of this government in period of enhanced financial surveillance ans austerity.

Thg more things change the more they remain the same.

668 responses to “Garbage Trucks Saga”

1. @ Baje, you know it’s funny that I think you and Barbados Underground Whistleblower are the same person.

Anyhow, what makes you think I have an agenda against Hal Austin and why do you find it necessary to jump up to defend him, especially when you display all the behaviours he describes in his so called Bajan condition?

He said Mariposa brings out the anger and vengeance in some men here, when, at the same time, whatever David BU posts brings out a similar reaction of anger and vengeance in him.

Does SHOWING that he DOES the SAME THINGS he CRITICISE other people for doing or asking him to admit when he’s wrong and move on means I have an agenda against him?

The way you are always coming here to constantly tell us how ignorant Barbadians are and how you are happy to be living overseas to get away from them, criticise Barbados and make it seem as though it is the worse place anybody could ever live, I can say you have an agenda against Barbadians too. Yet, your moniker is “Baje.”

As I said before, if you are satisfied and comfortable with who you are, why do you use a pseudonym and find it necessary to remind us of your so called achievements, in every contribution you post here? You try too hard to convince people into believing you are someone you are actually not.

I might not have all the degrees and PhDs that you say you have, but academics use a certain writing style that is taught to them from master’s level. During serious discussion they express themselves carefully and methodically. For someone who says they have a PhD and taught at universities, you don’t express yourself that way at all. There is no substance in your contributions that would indicate a higher level of thinking. You come here to rant and rave and copy and paste just like the rest of us, and remind us how successful and bright you are

You’re a bluffer.

2. Ok

So govt picking up garbage
    Still all and sundry wants to know how much money the tax payers are being asked to pay for the long year political campaign called We Gathering sailing on a yellow and blue boat captained by Mia

Most know how that behind all this collection of garbage the elephant sitting on the land fill is obese and cannot devour any more garbage
    It is just a matter of time before the obese elephant explodes

3. @Greene

Politicians engage in rhetoric, nothing new here. The challenge is for the citizenry to fight to hold the political class accountable. When political parties are in opposition they will promise the moon if it will sway visitors. That said Mia did not have to promise much to win the last election but she did therefore she will have to deal with it. This is where the PR machinery comes in handy. All governments run propaganda arms.

4. Alyuh done know how the crooks in parliament operate…celebrate and be happy too much like good little island slaves and the hiuse negros in parliament will take that as a license and continue to act LIKE THEY ARE DOING YOU A FAVOR.

they all are the ones caused the sewage, garbage, lack of funds, lacm of buses, lack of garbage trucks etc by ROBBING THE ISLAND….so what the hell are you so happy about and celebrating again….what.

5. Mari

I thought you had the inside scoop on th $400k per month! now you gone and change your mouth (again)?

6. WS

Some shout from the hill tops when the garbage wasn’t collected for week why is it refer to as a celebration when one report when it is picked up?

This is the age of social media and impromptu reporters. Embrace it! we don’t have to wait until the nation man come around – I my case I don’t have to wait a few weeks to get a nation news to read whats going on in Barbados

As I said before- to each his own. some prefer to report only the negative news
    others keep it balanced by reporting the positive news.

There is space on BU for all

It good to finally start getting the garbage off the streets and even better to know we now have the equipment to make/keep the island a little cleaner that it was last year and the last few years.

7. David

with that i agree. sometimes i understand why they do but it still beats me why the BLP said all those things and made all those silly promises on this occasion when the people wanted to see the backs of the DLP and would have voted for Gearbox if they had to

8. Soon all will be singing the land fill blues a study done a few years back on the disposal of garbage in barbados taking into consideration methods and variables on quantity and storage along with manpower
    Says that the country needs at least 20 garbage trucks working simultaneously at peak hours having manpower working periods lasting more than forty hours including weekends
    The study spoke of barbados disposal techniques with.emphasis placed on a rapid technical enforcement to dispose of garbage in a a timely and adequate manner

9. Agree they went overboard with pie in the sky nonsense. The DLP was a sitting duck, on did not have to do a poll to predict the result. Politicians love to follow a script, it makes for good theatre on the campaign trail.

10. RG

Maripose can be my neighbor when I am living in Barbados.

On BU we can be politicians on different parties but still friends.
    only different is she is a total DLP yardfowl while I don’t vote or have any loyalties to any political party (althou I do support the BLP at this time).

11. GREENE

POLITICS!

12. Isn’t the breathalyzer set to go into effect jan.1st? Did they test the driver of the car that ran into the back of the garbage truck for alcohol in his system or DLP membership?

13. Greene

It’s politics!!!

Cast your mind back to 2007 when the BLP was becoming increasingly unpopular. David Thompson made several promises to the electorate, hoping he would win the 2008 general elections. The DLP was unable to fulfill many of those promises and, on reflection, your above comment could be reasonably rewritten as:

“sometimes i understand why they do but it still beats me why the DLP said all those things and made all those silly promises on that occasion when the people wanted to see the backs of the BLP and would have voted for Gearbox if they had to.”

You need to stop allowing your love for the DLP to prevent you from seeing things from one particular point of view and be a bit more OBJECTIVE and IMPARTIAL……. and ACCEPT there aren’t any fundamental political, philosophical and ideological differences between the BLP and DLP.

As Mr. Skinner always reminds us, “the duopoly rules.”

14. We know the the intent of garbage trucks and their usage
    However what we don’t know is what purpose and service is their govt to have a year long political gala called ” We gathering”
    The optics was clearly revealed yesterday at River Bay when Mottley gave the first campaign speech of 2020 at cost to taxpayers
    Much effort across social media is asking how much of the taxpayers money in being invested in the We gathering
    The issue would not go away until the truth be told

15. where did you get your $400 000 per month from?
    Are you now back tracking from your numbers?

16. @John2

As far as this blogmaster is aware no official communication as been issued about the final cost of the trucks, the following link might help.

http://www.loopnewsbarbados.com/content/over-2-million-spent-new-sanitation-trucks

17. RG

might not have all the degrees and PhDs that you say you have, but academics use a certain writing style that is taught to them from master’s level. During serious discussion they express themselves carefully and methodically. For someone who says they have a PhD and taught at universities, you don’t express yourself that way at all. There is no substance in your contributions that would indicate a higher level of thinking. You come here to rant and rave and copy and paste just like the rest of us, and remind us how successful and bright you are

You’re a bluffer.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

YOU ARE A BULLSHITTER AND A VERY DISHONEST BAJAN.

I HAVE NEVER CLAIMED TO HAVE A PHD AS AT LEAST HALF OF THOSE WHO TAUGHT OR TEACH DON’T AND A MASTERS DEGREE IN MOST COLLEGE DEPARTMENTS IS ACCEPTABLE ABROAD AND INCLUDING UWI.

SECONDLY, BU IS NOT A THINK THANK AND I AM NOT IN A COMPETITION SO JUST LIKE ANYONE ELSE WHETHER EDUCATED OR NOT CAN EXPRESS MYSELF IN ANYWAY I WISH.

AGAIN YOUR FEEDBACK IS A LOCAL BAJAN CONDITION TO PUT SOMEONE IN A BOX.

THIS IS WHAT LIVING ON THE ISLAND BRINGS WITH IT PETTINESS AND SMALL MINDNESS ALONG WITH BLATANT DISHONESTY.

MY AGENDA ON BU IS TO EXPOSE THE TRUTH NOT TO WIN FRIENDS OR KISS ASS.

THIS WILL BE MY LAST RESPONSE TO YOU.

18. @Baje January 1, 2020 5:52 PM “I have lived on the cesspool on the island.”

I haven’t found the island to be a cesspool. I have lived here and elsewhere, but mostly here. I have managed to make a decent living, without a government job nor government contracts. I have held a government job for a very brief period, less than 4 years out of a 44 year work life. I have never been a member of any political party. I have WORKED HARD all the days of my life. I still work hard and well because i enjoy doing so. I have happily paid my share of taxes, ensured that my children were well educated, most have graduate degrees, earned mostly through scholarships. ensured that they can all read and write and count, ride a bicycle, swim, sew on a button and put up a hem, drive a car, bake a chicken, prepare pudding and souse, use a computer. I was able to look after my aging parents, especially the parent who was disabled for nearly ten years. I still produce more pounds of food every year than I can possible consume. I sell a little and give away a lot. Waiting now for some people to show up. I volunteer. I donate blood. I get along well with my neighbours, and with my friends and relatives here and abroad. Will visit the great white north sometime this year, because I always enjoy my visits to family and friends there (even ex-boyfriends, lolll!!!) I an NOT from a privaleged family. I am an unrepentedly rural, working class Bajan.

I vote EXACTLY how I feel like. Sometime I vote “B”, sometimes I vote “D”, I happy to vote for a 3rd or 4th, or 10th party if I perceive that a viable one comes along. NOBODY has ever coerced my vote. Perhaps they know better than to try. Lolll!!! I am happy and well, and expect that I will remain healthy and happy way past the age of 80 just like many, maybe even most of my family. Nobody bullies me (perhaps they know better, lolll!!! i never bully anybody.

Life has been good/is good.

Went into Bridgetown by bus this morning. I left home at 6:30, got back home about 9;45. Along the route which I traveled most at the garbage that had been at homes and businesses has been picked up. The bus stands have not yet been cleaned. Whoever is responsible for cleaning the bus stands needs to get on the job NOW. We are paying $3.50 per trip, and we expect that for that the bus stands should be swept and the bins emptied once or twice each day. Saw a one of the big new trucks in the area near to the QE hospital, it was accompanied by a “Bobcat” loader . There were also men with rakes and wheelbarrows/pancarts sweeping up the “toffee papers”

19. Adjusting to an “alien” culture is hard. Readjusting to “your own culture” is even harder, because you have changed, your culture has changed and sometimes the changes in both parties makes readjustment extremely painful.

Some people can adjust/readjust to multiple cultures. Some people can NEVER do it.

Please do not be hard on yourself, or on others if you are one of the latter.

20. @ Mariposa January 1, 2020 6:40 PM “Today the picture of the pope slapping a woman on her hand sent chilling pain across my body.”

Mind you she should not have tugged at the man. He should have exercised greater restraint. If any man, pope or no pope ever hits me, he looking to get a body slam. His “security detail” can deal with me later. lolll!!!

21. @WURA-War-on-U January 1, 2020 8:11 AM “it might take an earthquake or tsunami to shake and wake them the hell up.”

Dear WARU: Here’s wishing an earthquake or tsunami on you too. And a happy, healthy and blessed new year.

22. David

I was not referring to the cost of the trucks

SEE BELOW

Mariposa
    January 1, 2020 8:35 PM

Now let’s do some arithmetic here
    50 x12= 600 out of the dispora for a 12month year long party that cost taxpayers a whopping 400hundred thousand a month
    Then one clown says the money spent is worth winning an election

Thanks but I was not referring to the cost of the trucks.

SEE BELOW

23. @John2

ac is spouting from the netherregion. We can agree as Artax opined the government should address the numbers supporting #wegatherin.

24. “Here’s wishing an earthquake or tsunami on you too.

no need to wish my dear…these are naturally occuring phenomenas, they keep the earth in balance.. we have no control over them…..when the time comes…they HAVE TO OCCUR.

25. @Mariposa January 1, 2020 1:58 PM “Then later only to hear that there was a Garbage truck and car accident today.”

Looks like the car driver may have taken ill suddenly, was sleepy, was distracted by an electronic device, was drunk?

26. @Mariposa January 1, 2020 3:26 PM “not an expert in vehicular accident but form what i see it looks like the vehicle was stationary and the truck backed into it now cuss me blp foot soldiers that is my opinion.”

Multiple eyewitnesses to the accident saw it differently.

27. @Mariposa January 1, 2020 5:06 PM “Because present govt has made itself the poster child of lies and deception it is hard to belive any thing that will come out of their mouths”

It was NOT the government speaking. It was MULTIPLE EYE WITNESSESS.

28. @Silly woman

have a happy new year. i enjoy most of your submissions. the personal perspective is always refreshing and lends credence to the message. keep posting.

29. @Mariposa January 1, 2020 8:14 PM “food is free bus rides is free music is free. Eat drink and be merry tax payers would foot the bill.”

Liar, liar, pants on fire!!!

My Little Susie gathered with the thousands of people at River Bay. People were asked either to bring their own food and drink, or invited to buy, or buy food and drink from the many, many vendors who were DOING BUSINESS there.

30. Did i not ask nicely about Sherbrooke Securities Ltd, am sure i did, the new year has brought out all the niceness in me. I would sure like to know why a company that does not exist…is walking tens of millions of dollars out of Barbados and has been all back in 2007…and am sure long before that..

…see…i asked nicely again.

31. A case study done some years back on Barbados Waste Management.
    Concludes that in order for barbados to effectively get waste under control
    There several necessary steps to be taken
    At least having 20 garbages trucks with an increase of manpower working more than forty hours weekly
    A place for disposing the bulk garbage which cannot present any harmful effect to the environment
    There was also mention of the tonage necessary to be collected on a daily or weekly routine

32. Silly woman dont ask me how got my food free but i did
    Now move on silly woman

33. @William Skinner January 2, 2020 7:51 AM “Oh boy! Getting garbage pick up is now a cause for celebration. Are we going to have a public holiday?”

Nope.

We went to work.

Elderly limers like me will find some way of doing 5 or 6 hours or work in and around the home today, so that the younger members can fully participate in the paid work force.

Will cook some soup for the family. Will have it ready for 4:30

We also serve who only stay at home and cook soup.

34. @ Silly Woman January 2, 2020 11:05 AM
    “I have lived here and elsewhere, but mostly here. I have managed to make a decent living, without a government job nor government contracts. I have held a government job for a very brief period, less than 4 years out of a 44 year work life. I have never been a member of any political party. I have WORKED HARD all the days of my life. I still work hard and well because i enjoy doing so. I have happily paid my share of taxes, ensured that my children were well educated, most have graduate degrees, earned mostly through scholarships. ensured that they can all read and write and count, ride a bicycle, swim, sew on a button and put up a hem, drive a car, bake a chicken, prepare pudding and souse, use a computer. I was able to look after my aging parents, especially the parent who was disabled for nearly ten years. I still produce more pounds of food every year than I can possible consume. I sell a little and give away a lot. Waiting now for some people to show up. I volunteer. I donate blood. I get along well with my neighbours, and with my friends and relatives here and abroad. Will visit the great white north sometime this year, because I always enjoy my visits to family and friends there (even ex-boyfriends, lolll!!!) I an NOT from a privaleged family. I am an unrepentedly rural, working class Bajan.”

Oh what a superwoman!

And have you achieved all these outstanding ‘things’ single-handedly; that is, without the help or committed presence of a “Bajan Male” in your household?

How wonderful a woman you were indeed, only in need of spermatozoa to achieve your list of ‘rearing’ successes!

Not a single word of acknowledgement of any man who has played a meaningfully positive part in bringing you to the pinnacle of parental perfection.

If only you could pass on those skills sets to the average Bajan wo(e)man then there would be peace in the Bajan valley where men are seen and not he(a)rd.

35. @Greene January 2, 2020 11:57 AM “@Silly woman. have a happy new year. i enjoy most of your submissions.”

36. Thank you Greene.

37. A picture is worth a thousand words, can anyone advise the significance of this photo? Did the photographer select the robot like pose or did the legal luminaries all gravitate to protecting the family jewels? Just found it curious, maybe a “body language” expert could deliver a verdict.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/12/31/new-court-of-appeal-judges-are-ready-to-serve/

38. @Mariposa January 2, 2020 12:44 PM “Silly woman dont ask me how got my food free but i did.”

Mariposa, we know that you are a member of the “political class” to use Freundel Stuart’s terminology, or a member of the duopoly to use William Skinner’s, and we know that wunna accustomed to sucking at the sore bubbies of the taxpayers.

So “yes” you would get free food.

But my Susie who only working at a part time pick had was to buy she own hot dogs and mauby.

But so it goes.

No surprise here at all,

39. @Miller January 2, 2020 1:17 PM “Bajan Male”

Now if only YOU Miller etc. were an ex-boyfriend you would be looking forward to some happiness.

But…

Lolll!!!

40. lol…Silly Woman..you go girl.

My nice streak is holding well, i will try for 12 months.

So i am still asking, what was Sherbrooke Securities, a company that does not exist, doing walking tens of millions of dollars from Barbados into banks in Miami and Turks & Caicos…and yall can’t even lie.

41. @ Silly Woman January 2, 2020 1:46 PM

If only you could accommodate the miller’s ‘Foot’ and not another female finger for a tickling digit.

Now handle that, you hard-working old ‘scrubber’!

42. Miller…me thinks you chased everyone away…lol

just joking.

lawd…but the money launderers though…

Piece…what say you..

check out Money Launderers Inc… yo.

43. Silly woman
    After all i prove u wrong
    The fete had free food
    So it was a boldfaced lie to say they was none

44. @ WURA-WAR-on-U January 2, 2020 5:26 PM

Just a heavy load of silly banter directed at the super woman the silly simple Simon(e) who believes that women are God’s gift to lonely horny men.

And she is right but wearing the wrong shoe.

Men are Nature’s gift to women. For without a phallus what would a woman do but moan and not groan?

45. Oh silly
    I worked for my living do not have to rice at any one fuh nuttin
    If the govt is using taxpayers money at will
    Then why cant i not enjoy some of the fruits of my labour after all i pay taxes and i am entitled
    While u are frowning see if u can used that frown wisely by asking govt how much the freebies gonna cost the taxpayers

46. Gazzerts hoe you get in this discusion .Trust you to jump in to defend someone.I refered to Donna as pea brain after she refered to me by some name before but you would not have seen that.You are upset because i called ylu out on your anti Mottley agenda but i won,t bother with you any further.As for Baje i seem to have you rattle now you are seeing me lile you a batty boy who others have seen as a bullshitter with nothing better to do but rant and rave. I done with you you are not worth any further response clown.As for Skinner now the garbage is being collected you seem to have a problem seems you wish to see the garbage remaining on the streets to give you and the overseas brigade reason to bellyache everydaySeems like you cannot please you people at all.Mariposa the eyewitness clearly stated the car run into the truck. You were not there and the udeless trucks are working collecting the garbage . What next you going to bellyache about? Poor you everything starting to pick back up with competeny government after 20 years of ypur try a thing government.

47. “For without a phallus what would a woman do but moan and not groan?”

You know Dame Silly is not going to let that one go..lol

48. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Sargeant

De ole man was looking at that picture as well.

But I wonder if you noticed that only two of the men there know how to dress?

Our Jeff Cumberbatch and the gentleman on the right of the picture

Where a 1/4 inch of their shirts show while their arms are bent.

All the rest, particularly Teets Marshall look like if de jacket is borrowed!

49. re that photo Piece

Jeff Cumberbatch looks very youthful but Belle seems to have aged a bit

50. If we are lucky Grenville might be able to tell us something about Sherbrooke Securities LTD..if we are lucky, but i have a feeling no one wants to talk about this at all, at all, at all…

…..as a matter of fact am sure all involved are seeing visions and flashes of Doville…lol

while your PM is giving rambling speeches…what a thing.

New Year started with quite the bang.