@Enuff
“Up to now you can’t say why the man is not deserving. In a small country how do you escape proximity to “power/decision-making”?”

Once I see you heading down this road, I know things bad.
No, No, No.
The onus is upon those conferring the honour to highlight the contributions, which are being recognized. Period.
Is Barbados, the country conferring the knighthood, doing so for work in Bermuda, Belize, Caymans, Turks and a little in Barbados too. Or for the leverage used in the BLP leadership battles.
Seems like another Marston Gibson were a Bajan leaves home and spends much of their career working elsewhere, only to return home and be knighted.
To me, if the PM had an ounce of moral decency, she would avoid selecting her father at all costs, especially in the first few opportunities she gets to bestow such an honour. What’s the rush? Is the man ill? – Northern Observer

To be honest the blogmaster does not pay too much attention to the New Year Honours list. The selection appears to be less than transparent and more importantly we are not enthused by a system that awards titles that is anchored to an irrelevant colonial past.

The New Year Honours List for 2019 released by the Government Information Service is as follows [blogmaster’s emphasis]:-

The Queen has been graciously pleased to approve the following awards in the 2019 New Year Honours:

KNIGHT BACHELOR (KtBach)

• Assad John HALOUTE for services to the hospitality industry and philanthropy

KNIGHT COMMANDER OF THE ORDER OF SAINT MICHAEL AND SAINT GEORGE (KCMG)

• Elliott Deighton MOTTLEY for services to the legal profession, diplomatic service and the community

ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE

COMMANDER OF THE ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE (CBE)

• Dr. Frances Louise CHANDLER, OBE for services to agriculture and sustainable development

OFFICER OF THE ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE (OBE)

• Ms. Cynthia Joan WILLIAMS for services to nursing and the community

MEMBER OF THE ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE (MBE)

• Reverend Hughson Carlos INNISS for services to youth empowerment and the fight against HIV/AIDS
  • John Wayne Anderson WATTS for services to environmental health

The decision to award Elliott Mottley a knighthood has attracted robust and muscular public comment across the length and breath of Barbados, notwithstanding the din generated by the holiday season. There is no need to be prolix with this matter. A repost of the blogmaster’s too brief comment to Northern Observer is enough.

Agree with this comment, the optics are bad and the brazenness of doing it in the first year of term is a foreboding act.

The opinion of the blogmaster is not meant to ignore Elliott’s Mottley’s contribution in his field of work. However, if the Prime Minister is serious about being a change agent she must avoid decisions that will distract and deepen citizen apathy. The herculean task to turn the country around is bigger than the aggrandisement of any family member. Even if that family member is her father. In fact some will suggest with good reason that the controversial waiver of the tax and penalties (NOT TAX DUE) in the amount of $1,051,872.28 to Elliott Mottley which came out of an audit of Mottley’s accounts is reward enough.

A word to the Prime Minister should be sufficient.

625 responses to “Prime Minister Mottley’s Father Awarded Knighthood”

1. @Pacha

Please enlighten the blog.

The ‘famous’ Elliott Mottley press conference with Roger Forde didn’t clarify the matter for you?

2. Guide to Interest and Administrative Charges
    https://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=32582&section=html

3. David

We are in no position to enlighten this blog on this matter.

You however cite one press conference. Indeed, we recall OSA had something to say as well. And the DLP campaign, Stuart, also read from documents at several meetings.

So we have other sources of ‘evidence’ which you have selectively not recalled.

Why are you so very protective of Mottley? What is so special about her?

Your veiled threat to Mariposa (AC), to us, is highly unwarranted.

4. @Pacha

The matter was thoroughly ventilated in the public space. Let google be your friend.

What Arthur needed to shed light was why he allowed CLICO to operate short reserve in his capacity as MoF.

5. David if it was a penny her father received from the treasury it was a penny too much and by all means which tax payers including those without good financial support must repay
    Now apply that decision to the increased if taxes on water which this govt had threatened the people by way of the ironfist to disconnect their water if the people refused to pay the tax levy which govt had placed on water
    Why were those people who could ill afforded to pay the increased water levy not given a waiver
    David Your Champion of this govt policies exposes you to be grossly accommodating to the needs of the wealthy while the average barbadian household have to keep crawling on hands and needs trying to dig themselves out of this economic quagmire at a high cost instilled by govt policies

6. Pacha

Pacha buddy – who the dog like he licks and who he doesn’t like he will kick.

I say again – compare how he treats those who praise the Bees and cuss the dems – with gentle words of remonstration – people like enuff,miller,prodigal,artax, – the lot.

Then compare the venom directed at those who point out the hypocrisy,lies and double standards of the BLP and this new government.

I have considered many time from withdrawing from participating on this site – but then again that would be like promoting what we already have.

30 – 0 with no dissenting voices in the official parliament and an identifiable few here on the peoples parliament at Barbados Underground..

7. David

You are obviously being evasive. We are not so minded.

Perceptions of ‘ventilation’ do not equate to a legal finding, as is in Mariposa’s comparative analysis of treatment.

It may have been satisfactorily determined in your estimation but Mariposa is not satisfied. And she has every right to. She has different political moorings.

Ventilation did not satisfy many about the Stokes case, or Pele Parris either.

Again, we surrender the last word to your Lordship.

8. Remember what 45 govt post here early on this blog about that Shitehood that was awarded.

45 govt said :

That her father is least deserving of this award – and he hinted at other hidden info of which have no knowledge.

9. @ David
    ALL these politicians have been doing shiite.

So It is dead easy for Maripoka to make solid points in an environment where the BLP adopts the attitude – championed by Enuff – that whatever the DLP did, …THEY too can do, …as long as it is ‘not as bad’….

Your challenge is not with Maripoka …but with Enuff.
    What can possibly be so hard for the BLP about being transparent, open and up-front as a BRAND NEW government….?

Unless of course they are being led and advised by the VERY SAME ‘experts’ (senior public servants) who ‘advised’ the DLP…?
    How do you think this new fancy relationship between the two MAM’s could have been brokered so smoothly…?

Find the common denominator…. one able to ‘convince MAM1 that her best options are not those which got her elected…. and ALSO able to get MAM2 to drop his old cohorts for the new PIPs.

There is ALWAYS a reason for everything boss…

10. @Bush Tea

The blogmaster always calls it like it is, all are given latitude until…

You recall when the same agenda being pushed by T.Inniss and ac was being done by BLP operatives Henderson Bovell and Greenidge et al all those years ago? They have the gumption to accuse BU blogmaster of this nonsense?

Anybody can visit the blog and post what they want within reason. As always the blogmaster will comment as he sees fit. Bear in mind we have our views which do not have to agree with boy or girl.

11. T. Inniss

We like to be fair. And you are quite right.

In an atmosphere where the people of Barbados have predictably over-corrected there should not be an obsequious devotion to Mottley, the BLP or this government.

We have been highly critical of Mariposa and the DLP in the past and will be again in the future. But for anybody to threaten her because she represents her DLP political views cannot be condoned by us.

12. What is my agenda David ?

Except to highlight the hypocrisy of what Mottley and her agents from every quarter lambasted the last government for – and now are at ease in Zion – with the said very things they criticize.

Not one or two things that they speak on platform on and then switch – alomost all politicians do that sadly.

But I am talking about major issues which she BOLDLY declared must change – and will be changed once she is elected – and now on ALL these lies – we hear silence.

What is my agenda

Except to speak to the question of ethical leadership – is this change we got on 25th May 2018 or EXCHANGE ?

13. David again i say. ..You always seem quite able and ready to accommodate the greed of the wealthy( mostly those who wear red shirts) guh long do day run till night catches
    If you can not see the insentivity and unethetical and immoral conduct created in a plot which endears and reward one segment of society along friends and family lines
    Your opitcal lens need changing as it is obviuos that there is a thick fog which blurs or blind your visiion not allowing you to see darkness from light

14. Ac posted an inaccuracy that was clarified on the blog many times before. If you would deny the right of the blogmaster to remind ac of this fact using muscular language so be it. You and all the others can have the last word. Time is precious.

15. LOL @ David
    Actually Bushie respects you a lot…
    cause…
    The Bushman would have banned her donkey long ago ….just for being sooooo dense…
    But then again, Bushie is in the whacking business …no time with entertaining weeds and plimplers
    You – on the other hand, has been a paragon of virtue – …almost to a fault.

Good to see you ‘lose it’ occasionally…

16. @David
    The ‘famous’ Elliott Mottley press conference with Roger Forde didn’t clarify the matter for you?
    What happened to the “lawsuit”?

17. Bushie

We have surrendered the last word and can therefore not respond. Apologies!

18. @Sargeant

The same thing that happened to the one Estwick and members of the Eager 11 filed against the Nation newspaper 🙂

19. In here own words about leadership
    permanent fixes for the sewage problem

Talk is Cheap

20. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

If as stated in the Barbados Today story I am truly surprised. Little Johnnie a student in the great white north, in a very nice city is paying less than half that for an immaculately clean flat shared by three people, which includes, water, electricity, heat, free wifi, fully furnished including sheets and towels, bed, desk, lamp etc. Shared fridge, freezer, stove, microwave, vaccum cleaner and all cleaning and laundry supplies. 90 seconds walk from a sheltered busstop. A lovely garden maintained by the landlord and landlady. Garden includes shelter, and a barbeque grill for the students use. Fuel included.

21. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

I’ve NEVER heard of a university requiring students to live in university provided housing; although some universities recommend that first year students live on campus; and some with a shortage of on-campus housing may reserve on campus housing for the first year students.

If this story is true I would not be at all surprised if the students haven’t already complained to their respective embassies or high commissions.

If this story is true and if this is an American company I would be very surprised to learn that this was lawful thing for an American company to do.

22. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

I trust that somebody has already provided the more thrifty students with the link to the transport bus schedules. Multiple buses pass right by The Lloyd Erskine Center. Get on one of those, pay your $2 BDS and within the hour you are at school. plenty of reasonable priced rental accommodation along all of these routes.

https://www.transportboard.com/route-finder/

23. What Arthur needed to shed light was why he allowed CLICO to operate short reserve in his capacity as MoF(Quote)

New year, new rules, so I will be polite. Does the person who said the above understand financial regulation? The Barbados government’s failure with Clico (and others) was a failure of financial regulation. But, according to the Bajan collective morals of a tom cat, it is easier to attack the individual than it is to condemn the flawed system.
    I have been saying for years now on BU that regulation generally, and financial regulation in particular in Barbados is appallingly incompetent. What the apologists (and village idiots who masquerade as jokers) for this infantile system would say is that they have LLMs in law and diplomas in regulation so they must be clever.
    But as a nation Barbados is sailing on auto-pilot, it has lost its focus, as a nation it has no aim or purpose. That is why, fifty years after constitutional independence, it is still fighting an imagined colonialism, an obsession, and think it is winning. In fact, the former colonisers could not care less about them – apart from the occasion holiday.
    It is why we have allowed a number of poorly educated business people, who historically spent their time on the St Joseph/St John border fishing to survive, to swap political control for business influence and are laughing their way to the bank. They have discovered the black political operatives are not only amoral, but corrupt.
    The nation’s real future is staring us in the face: we either form a coalition with traditional white Barbadians (not those willing to corrupt our politicians, they are enemies of the state) and reclaim our nation; continue with a reactionary nationalism, which we define as some form of infected loyalty (loyal to whom or what is never clear); or we wait, like ducks in a row, for the New Barbadians to take control and shoot us down one by one.
    Unless we make the right choice and now, and this Mottley-led BLP government has not the dream, vision or well thoughtout roadmap, to lead us to prosperity. It will end in tears.
    Barbados, the democratic Republic with a foreign Monarch, is a failed state – and its docile people are in danger of being collateral damage.

24. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

@T.Inniss January 1, 2019 6:54 AM ” a million dollars in tax write off.”

So who was it again who gave the Barbados Turf Club a $20 million, or was it $40 million tax break?

You can remember?

25. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

@Robert Goren January 1, 2019 7:37 AM “It is the norm for yardfowls.”

Please let us not call anybody “yardfowl” in 2019.

Let us call them by their proper more dignified name: gallus gallus domesticus.

26. You see how one can play words to twist their agenda
    The story of Mia Mottley father receivership of getting a knighthood gave causes as to why he should not receive one
    I pointed out one of the reasons point to his failure to his patriotic duty in not paying his taxes
    David says what i say is not true using a vague technicality of process to waived penalties
    Well for what it is worth his failure to pay his taxes was the reason why penalties and fees were applied which by law is permitted by govt to recoup along with any other outstanding debt owed by Ellot Mottley to country
    Lo and behold David proceeds on his hubris attempt to villify my comments to casually dismiss the point where Eliott along with his daughter took advantage of a loop hole to wipe away millions of dollars in fees applied to taxes he owes
    I further indicate that whether it was a penny owe Eliott first duty was that of paying what he owed and not have relied on tax payers money and his daughter interference for a bail out on monies which he owed to the treasury
    Needless to say that it doesnt matter how many press conferences or defenses thrown from him in the public domain as to satisfy why he was negligent in his financial duty to country
    What he did and the process taken to wipe away millions of dollars in the form of waivers does not suffice or is sufficient enough to give him a pass towards knighthood
    There are plenty citizens who do not have the financial wherwithal but cannot escape govt hand which forces them to pay their taxes
    Also on the issues of tax cheats given waivers one cannot forget Mia Unilateral decision to wipe off millions of debt to unknown sources as her first role in becoming PM
    Still waiting to know who were these mcgufgies
    If i had to guess friends and families were included in the list
    Never mind “we” the people would be forced to pay those monies back.

27. “There is no where on the Internet that anyone can find where Mariposa has been involved participate with the dlp party on any level…..”

Mariposa

As I mentioned previously, the internet has characteristics similar to that of a data base and information can be easily retrieved, as long as the correct search parameters are entered.

Technically, you are correct that “There is no where on the Internet that anyone can find where Mariposa has been involved participate with the dlp party on any level.” But there are contributions WRITTEN by your former “ac” persona that suggest OTHERWISE.

Since “here of late” you seemed to have developed PSYCHOGENIC AMNESIA (when an individual is unable to retrieve MEMORIES of SPECIFIC SITUATIONS), as it relates anything occurring during the period January 15, 2008 to May 24, 2018, it’s highly unlikely you’ll remember posting the below comment to BU in 2012.

So, uh gine jog yuh memory uh lil bit.

ac May 30, 2012 9:56 AM: “WE the DLP stalwarts are very happy and proud of the/way OUR govt have managed to stabilise this economy we too have felt the burdening pressure of economic pain and making the /sacrifices which we made and in doing so did not let selfish ness get in our way our most important goal was too see the survival of our country by putting its vital interest first and in so doing we knew that our sacrifices would not only be a benefit to a few but be beneficial to all. “THANK YOU DLP” for showing the way.”

Please pay particular attention to the “WE” and “OUR.”

Perhaps the “WE” and “OUR” were meant to include all of your personas (ac/Angela Cox/Angela Skeete/Coxable/Mariposa),

………….or, at the time, you may have written the comment ON BEHALF OF the “DLP stalwarts.”

If it is the latter, surely you would have met and communicated or “participated with the DLP party on any level.”

28. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

@Hal Austin January 1, 2019 10:12 AM “Barbados does not need ethical leadership; ad a Christian nation…”

Barbados has NEVER been, and is not now a “Christian nation.”

29. Simple Simon

You mean to say yuh continue where yuh leff off last year – so early in the year?

Picking out bits and pieces of people comments and making stupid snide remarks.

Yuh ain’t got no original comment on a subject that yuh can post ?

Any subject – pick one – yuh mean yuh only capable of being a sniper ?

All the time so ?

Goodness gracious man

30. I’ve NEVER heard of a university requiring students to live in university provided housing; although some universities recommend that first year students live on campus; and some with a shortage of on-campus housing may reserve on campus housing for the first year students.(Quote)

This is more normal than you may think. Remember, most first-year students are 18 yr olds away from home for the first time. Many of them cannot even boil water. If the university is two, three, 1000 miles away from their homes, then they need approved accommodation That is why most universities in the UK suggest (in fact demand) that first-year students stay in student accommodation and not wait until Freshers’ week to search around for somewhere to stay.
    Having said that, in the 1970s and 80s, with the growth of polytechnics, most black students would stay at home and travel in to the poly. The reason for this was to avoid racism and racist attacks. In Barbados (14×21 mls), most local students can stay at home, have mummy cook for them and do their washing, and go up to Cave Hill. It is only the overseas students that need accommodation.

31. Sir SimpleSimon January 1, 2019 2:09 PM

@T.Inniss January 1, 2019 6:54 AM ” a million dollars in tax write off.”

So who was it again who gave the Barbados Turf Club a $20 million, or was it $40 million tax break?

You can remember
    ……………………………

Not hard to remember who got the write off.
    But would surely be hard to remember in Mia unilateral decisions who were on the list of tax cheaters that got waivers after May 25th upon Mia becoming PM
    It bodes well to say that the word “transparency” which Mia and her tag along geese talk (about) did not apply or matter in that case

32. @ T. Inniss,

You are spot on. I think it speaks to a moral and intellectual vacuum in their personalities. To suggest that Barbados is not now, nor has ever been a Christian nation, speaks to a certain state of mind. Our values were once based on Christian belief, as we became more secular we have lost those values.
    There is nothing called secular morality or relative values. These are the myths of the failed multi-cultural project.

33. Ac has been found out posting lie after lie on the blog, why bother. The blogmaster recalls engaging former minister Ronald Jones on Facebook during the launch of the St. Peter Dave Cumberbatch constituency office. To his credit he was very receptive to responding to hard questions posed. You want to guess who was verbally aggressive to the blogmaster that evening? It is a matter of record.

Respect is earned.

34. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

@T.Inniss January 1, 2019 10:13 AM “What did the Court tell Michael Carrington – Find the money and pay the old man the money that is due him. What did Freundel Stuart advise Carrington to do? Or did he not say – that a lawyer is never advised to handle his own case so he will tell Carrington to hire a lawyer.”

But why did Freundel think it necessary to say hire a lawyer.

Would it not have been better if he had said to Michael “immediately take out your cheque book and pen and immediately pay the old man”

Would it have been too much trouble to say so?

if he had done so maybe Stuart, Carrington, and you too Inniss would still be MP’s

But too many of the political class seem to believe that the people who elect them and feed them are stupid.

The people are NOT stupid.

35. Artax the wird “We” is subjected to one intrepretation
    You would find the word “We” written in my legal briefs or writings example the Constitution
    Which doesnot necessarily mean thst everyone is in agreement with every word mention
    Btw ac can only be the one to give views or intrepretation on that comment
    But as far as the issue is e tended and have previously mentioned never met or communicated on any subject matter having to do with barbados with any dlp minister

36. Hal Austin

The secular humanist would argue that the Pleasure and Pain Principles forms the basis for evolutionary morality… and some would even go as far as to argue that there no need of religious morality or religious morality isn’t the only way to ascertain a moral worldview when there is such a thing as the Golden Rule or Hammurabi code which is secular in its application…

37. @ Lexicon,

I am not a psychologist.

38. “I’ve NEVER heard of a university requiring students to live in university provided housing; ”

In Nroth America…ONLY FOR THE FIRST YEAR..which can be 2 to 3 semesters…

39. LOL @ David & Artax
    Recall the time ac was caught out claiming she was traveling in St Lucia…..
    …when she was right here pon de rock ?

40. If Ross/lowlife Crooked Maloney is DEMANDING 4 or 5 semesters of chaining these kids to the disgusting slave plantation/concentration camp that is Coverley…they are CROOKS…but we know that..

41. @ Lexicon
    Wait…!!!
    You swallow Don Blackman…?

42. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Miller

Re: your comment on December 31, 2018 at 4:13 p.m.

I am presently out of the island, my first vacation in three years and am only now going through BU.

The waiver of duty for the Mercedes Benz motor cars are just an example of the BLP/DLP corruption that has been going on for the last sixty plus years.

The duty was waived by the Minister of Finance, as required by law, thereafter the order should have been laid in the House of Assembly and Senate. However, at that time, parliament was dissolved and the order could not be laid. Now that Parliament is back in session, the order should have been laid as soon as practicable. So far the new Minister of Finance has not seen it fit to lay the document.

After the order is laid, either house had the power to annul the order within forty days of it being laid. I will leave you to speculate why the Minister has not laid the order. But when you are doing so, maybe you can speculate about Ross University coming to Barbados and the person involved in the waiver.

43. BushTea
    Why you don’t rest me nuh? You enjoy being eviscerated by me? I don’t post false information to support my position on the blog. David has a right to demand truthful information from posters, if not what purpose would the blog serve? Requiring truth is not denying Mariposa & Co the right to defend their party. Her cohort came here and insulted Corey Lane and labeled him partisan because he was to head up a mitigation unit. Up to now he can’t confirm this statement but the unit up and running. Wunna gine stop when somebody put wunna in court, I hope wunna got court clothes. The Mottley interest waiver as David correctly pointed out was well ventilated. Wunna need to read to understand rather than read to reply. But I am a yardfowl?

44. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

@Hal Austin January 1, 2019 11:11 AM “Mr Parris was allowed to ‘park’ his millions in the central bank the main because of regulatory failure – local regulators allowed a foreign bank to reject Mr Parris as a client without a reasonable explanation. Don’t blame the victim, but the awful regulators…”

So why did not Mr. Parris do business with any of the local credit unions? Or why did none of the local credit unions do business with him?

Why the Central Bank. That is the question.

45. “You would find the word “We” written in my legal briefs or writings example the Constitution…..Which does not necessarily mean thst everyone is in agreement with every word mention….”

Whatever the above means……..at least you tried.

46. @ Simple Simon,

A credit union is not a bank. Are they connected to the global payments system?

47. “Wunna gine stop when somebody put wunna in court, I hope wunna got court clothes. ”

What court…YALL AINT GOT NONE..ya mean that SUPREME COURT FILLED WITH BRIBERY AND CORRUPTION…that is now CLOSED.

What yall should be doing is GET THE Supreme Court FUNCTIONING…get ALL THE PERSONAL INJURIES CASES OUT OF IT..so that the Transport Board…FUNDED BY TAXPAYERS ..can at last have some EQUITY..

48. @ Enuff.. 3.09 pm

WAIT !!!!
    What the Hell Bozie…. You got clothes hang out and looking fun rain..?
    How you pelting rocks at poor Bushie…?

Bushie trouble you pon this blog?
    You like you can’t rest yuh –
    …your sins too heavy..?
    …yuh conscience hurting yuh…?

Shiite Enuff .. you have uncharacteristically typed NINE lines there…
    YET managed to not say a SINGLE pang of substance …as is your wont.
    What Corey Lane what…??!!
    Red Herring…

You GOTTA be a lawyer….

49. ALL YALL ARE TOO GODDAMN CORRUPT AND SHOULD BE IN PRISON…no one should do any business in Barbados PERIOD…

50. BushTea
    Like I said, read to understand. Happy New Year too.
    WARU
    Y’all? It is a new year stop making yourself look foolish by constantly talking about me like you know me. Had Roleric Hinds put your ass in court he would have won some $$$ easily 🤣🤣🤣