The following article was published in the Nation newspaper today and @Dennis asked that it be reproduced here with the introductory comment:

Gregory “Clueless” Nicholls who does not even know advance airline passenger notification is the norm with IMPAC taking lead. QEH doctor Lafonde can provide information along with the AirPeace staff and the Nigerian connections who are part of the scheme. The money is big and how much is QEH getting from the scheme Gregory.

Scheme to get Bajan passport

By Maria Bradshaw

Behind the closed doors of some upscale AirBnBs across Barbados, a hidden industry is quietly taking root.

“They all look pregnant and we heard babies crying,” a resident in an affluent district recounted, watching groups of women dressed in hijabs strolling to the beach.

These are not standard tourists. They are in Barbados because of a highly-organised, heavily funded “birth tourism” scheme capitalising on Barbados’ citizenship laws, something the Government says is not on a widespread level, even as pregnant women stream into the country.

Wealthy African women are reportedly spending thousands of United States dollars to travel on the new Air Peace direct flight from Lagos to Barbados, a route that now runs twice a month.

Their goal is simple: secure a Barbados passport for their unborn children, instantly granting them visa-free access to over 150 countries.

This is not a new phenomenon. Back in 2024, this newspaper highlighted the same situation, exposing how wealthy Nigerian women were being encouraged to travel to Barbados specifically to deliver babies and obtain passport power.

Now, the scheme seems to have been enhanced with a direct airline route and an aggressive social media machinery.

Minister of Home Affairs Gregory Nicholls, speaking just hours after discussing the Barbados Citizenship Bill at the Joint Select Committee, was contacted by the Sunday Sun and shown the 2024 published story.

He responded: “My information suggests that this is not as widespread and pervasive as the initial story suggests. The Immigration Department has not detected any unusual cause for concern or alarm based on the number of persons coming from there.”

Nicholls admitted that Government lacked the hard data to back any claims made.

“More research would have to be done to confirm the number of births recorded to mothers in order to assess the claims made. I would have to get specific figures of these numbers and then crunch them,” he said.

It is understood that at the centre of the operation is a company called Stuttgart birth service, which charges a NGN$100 000 (US$77) consultation to orchestrate the entire endeavour. The company wrote on its Instagram page that the fee was necessary “because of the large number of enquiries we receive daily”.

For thousands more, it promises to handle everything: booking flights, securing accommodation, paying hospital fees and navigating the bureaucracy to obtain birth certificates, national identification cards and Barbados passports.

Its social media messaging is blunt and operational.

On May 14, just days before the inaugural Air Peace flight touched down at Grantley Adams International Airport, Stuttgart birth service posted a direct warning on its Instagram page under the headline Air Peace Flight Announcement: “Attention pregnant women travelling on Air Peace to Barbados on the 24th or 31st, please ensure you have all necessary documents in order to avoid being denied entry.”

The company left no room for doubt about its operations, posting a photograph of a Barbados passport cradled by a baby’s hands or feet: “If you are planning to have your baby in Barbados, rest assured that it’s a legally accepted practice. However, it’s crucial to familiarise yourself with our local regulations and guidelines to avoid any complications with immigration services.”

The scheme is a heavily marketed enterprise. A popular Nigerian social media influencer, boasting close to four million followers and serving as an ambassador for Stuttgart, is actively pushing the Barbados route. On Friday, she posted a video urging her large audience to act fast, telling “anyone planning their birth trip this year” to book their flight immediately if their delivery date falls between now and September, the duration of Air Peace’s flights.

With the Barbados Flag proudly displayed behind her, she promised a seamless process, stating: “So now that Air Peace operates the Barbados route twice monthly up until September 28th, you shouldn’t encounter any issues, provided all your documents are complete and properly arranged.”

Her sales pitch taps directly into the desires of wealthy Africans seeking better education, employment and health care systems for their children: “You give birth in Barbados or Brazil and boom, your baby is automatically a citizen, no long process, no stress, just a lifetime of opportunity.

“So if you ever decide to have your baby abroad, it should definitely be Brazil and Barbados as they both offer automatic citizenship by birth, which means your baby’s passport comes with real global power,” she said as she used the popular phrase “clock it”.

While the influencer promises “no stress”, the reality on the ground in Barbados is a frantic scramble. Sunday Sun investigations confirmed that pregnant women arrived on that inaugural May 24 flight. They are currently scattered across the island in AirBnBs, paying up to US$2 500 a month in rent. More women are expected to arrive on tomorrow’s flight and will be in need of housing.

A landlord said she was approached to “make money by housing pregnant African women” in her AirBnB. She said she politely turned down the offer, not wanting to get involved, but added she was “shocked” to discover how widespread the practice was.

56 responses to “Barbados Citizenship by Birth: The trend among Nigerians”

1. No involvement in baby ‘plot’, says Air Peace

Air Peace Management is stating that it has no involvement in any advertisements, social media campaigns, or online promotions encouraging pregnant women to travel to Barbados for the purpose of giving birth or obtaining citizenship benefits.

In a clear-the-air statement yesterday, the airline’s management said since the launch of its Barbados service, Air Peace had consistently promoted the route as a gateway for business, tourism, trade, education, cultural exchange and legitimate travel between Africa and the Caribbean.

“At no time has the airline advertised, endorsed, or facilitated travel for the purposes suggested in recent online publications and social media posts. Like all commercial airlines, Air Peace tickets are sold through travel agencies, online booking platforms and our official sales channels. The airline does not have prior knowledge of a passenger’s personal circumstances, including pregnancy status. . . .

“We further wish to clarify that the individual featured in the article currently circulating online is not an Air Peace ambassador, influencer, representative, employee or affiliate. Any advertisements, videos, social media posts, or promotional content that may be circulating on Facebook or other online platforms regarding this matter have not been authorised, endorsed, sponsored or approved by Air Peace.”

The airline stated that such content has not been published on its website or official social media platform and “should not be interpreted as reflecting the airline’s policies, values or marketing strategy”.( PR)

2. This writer’s base instinct is to reject this story. We’ll say why later.

But before, let’s explore a number of reasons or drivers in support of such a case.

Nigeria is a country which is currently ‘’hosting’’ as many as 80 Islamic terrorist groups throughout the country but particularly amongst the Fulani people. The Fulanis presence within such reproduces itself in many countries.

To travel from one state to another opens up oneself to a possible kidnapping. For kidnapping is the basic method used by the terrorists to generate revenue. As business person security costs should not be avoided. Even if not inclined the Nigerian government itself tries to intervene, especially if one has a ‘strong passport’.

Over the last few day a family of three was kidnapped in Nigeria. The state governor immediately called in all the leaders of the Fulani with the state and demanded that the victims, including a young child, be released within two hours, so said so done.

Of course, Nigerians have generally long carried a definition for being less than honest. That international Islamic terrorism, used as a geopolitical tool by Western power, also appears to be driving this charge that Barbados represents an escape valve should be concerning even as upmost care should be taken to avoid divide and rule measures.

This writer, on the balance of probabilities, reject this story for these reasons.

One, Nigeria is a member of the Commonwealth. Most of the countries to which visa free entry is available to Bajan passport holders are also available to Nigerian citizens.

Two, this writer cannot be drawn to a side of a discourse where Barbados has long had populations of Indians, Syrians, Lebanese, Europeans, and others maintaining enclaves within the country, separate and apart from the dominant population group, populations which seem not to concern that dominant Bajan mindset, to be located on the side of an argument informed a sensibility which tends to hate Nigerians, and the loathing of Afrikans, more generally.

And we may go on ………..

3. With Air Peace providing a direct service Barbados for the first time has been given the opportunity for possible exploitation.

4. Well, it seems like a Bajan passport holder can travel to up to 166 countries visa free or visa on arrival.

Whereas, for a Nigerian passport holder that number is less than 50.

Tooché!

5. Well I don’t put nothing pass nobody. Call me what you like it matters not to me either.

The facts are Air Peace was used as the carrier as this entity Stuggart has confirmed. This does not mean though that Air Peace is involved as there is no proof of this, so we must not condemn them at this stage.

It is very easy to confirm about the AirBandB accommodation as any reporter can secure this information from the article, as they seem to stay in a specific area. Which makes sense as you don’t want to be driving from Christ Church to St Lucy transporting clients to and fro.

But what concerns me the most is how are they getting the Barbados passports, as the sale of a passport is illegal by third parties or persons acting as agents there of. So who supplying the passports? Are these real passports or counterfeit? If real how were they obtained and basically guaranteed by Stuggart as part of their package.

Well we had the stolen car scandal and never heard who the cars went to and who were the final clients. So I don’t really expect to hear nothing bout this scandle either. What does concern me is the practical dismissal by the authorities this exist, with a “I ant hear nothing bout dat so I doubt it true.” What I EXPECTED to hear from the authorities instead was this. “We are looking into this as a matter of urgency in order to protect the integrity of our passport.” Then again the “wunna dont need to know” approach seems quite popular now as well.

6. “You give birth in Barbados or Brazil and boom, your baby is automatically a citizen, no long process, no stress, just a lifetime of opportunity.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

IS THIS AN APRIL FOOLS JOKE OF THE HIGHEST ORDER?

WHY ARE THERE SO MANY POOR AND STRUGGLING BAJANS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND WITH A LIFETIME OPPORTUNITY FROM BIRTH INCEPTION.

SOUNDS LIKE A TYPICAL FRAUD SCHEME TO FLEECED WHICH FITS WITH NIGERIANS MODE OF SCAMMING OTHERS.

A 2X3 ISLAND PASSPORT TO RICHES IS AN OXYMORON TO THE 90 PERCENT BLACK BORN BAJAN POPULATION.

7. HIER STURMER BITES THE DUST IN BRITISH POLYTRICKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WHAT IN HELL IS GOIN’ ON IN *BRASSBADOS* AS THE BUSHMAN OPINES???

#WhatAPlace

#EnoughIsEnough

8. Plug loophole!

Trade unionist says immigration ‘flaw’ putting Barbadian workers at disadvantage

by SHERRYLYN A TOPPIN

sherrylynclarke@nationnews.com

TRADE UNIONIST CASWELL FRANKLYN is calling on Government to tighten what he says is an immigration loophole which is allowing people to literally “walk off the plane and into a job” while Barbadians struggle to find work.

He was commenting yesterday on two notices which appeared in last Thursday’s DAILY NATION and the last SATURDAY SUN. They stated that having received no suitable applicant for the position of warehouse clerk and shoe store supervisor, respectively, it was the intention to submit for a work permit for a non-national to fill the positions.

Any objections, the notices added, should be made to the Chief Immigration Officer in writing within 14 days of the filing.

The notices have also evoked responses from Opposition Senator Ryan Walters and executive chairman of the Barbados Consumer Empowerment Network (BCEN) Maureen Holder.

Franklyn said he feared erosion of the Barbados passport, the National Insurance and Social Security Service, and the labour market. A former immigration officer, he said Government was making unnecessary changes to the immigration laws to “facilitate big spenders who only want a Barbados passport and then they’re gone”.

He noted: “Now you don’t even need a passport for some of these countries and people are coming and Bajans not getting the job because the employers do not pay proper wages, one. Two, they don’t pay national insurance and the people who come here they don’t pay national insurance either because they’re going back home, so they’re not looking to pay a national insurance pension and the employers are saving.”

Franklyn said one of the ads asked for someone who could speak Gujarati, the language of the Gujarat state in India, adding he was of the view that it was “somebody looking for work for their family in India”.

“Government will allow it, they always allow it. You have people who come to work in hotels and we train people in Barbados and then they just cannot occupy a senior management level job for whatever reason,” he charged.

Walters aired his view on his social media platforms.

“Whenever I see advertisements like these I am stumped! Am I to believe that no suitable applicants can be found for positions such as warehouse clerk, warehouse assistant, sales associate and store supervisor?” he asked.

“With so many young and experienced Barbadians struggling to find work, why would there be a need to import labour for these jobs? How is it possible that in a country facing serious youth unemployment, employers are seeking work permits for jobs that many of our people are qualified, capable and willing to perform?”

The Democratic Labour Party spokesman on finance and economic affairs added that given the amount of money Barbados invested in education and the willingness of people to learn, it was difficult to understand why young people were being told there were no jobs, yet there were advertisements for positions which did not appear to require any skills.

Holder told the DAILY NATION while it was not a consumer issue, questions had to be asked about the advertising process because managing a warehouse and a shoe store were not highly skilled jobs.

“Government seriously has to look at it because it might be a case where the thing was not advertised properly so that Barbadians could apply for it, or it could be a case that Barbadians were working in various positions and they were being exploited,” she said.

Work permits

“We don’t know, you see, but if that is going to become the norm, then we have to train Barbadians and upskill them to fit in certain positions that these people are applying for work permits to import labour, to import people to do the job.”

The question was posed to executive director of the Barbados Employers’ Confederation, Sheena Mayers-Granville, last week when she appeared before the Joint Select Committee (standing) examining the Barbados Citizenship Bill, 2026.

When contacted yesterday, Mayers repeated her comment: “I receive positions advertised and the process that exists is the one that persons will have to follow, and ultimately, the Immigration Department will, the officials will do their job.”

Her response prompted an explanation from Chief Immigration Officer Margaret Inniss, who was also in Parliament.

“If you submit an application and you are denying a Barbadian or a CARICOM person, we will ask to see the applications and the rationale for denying the person,” Inniss said.

She explained the applicants’ qualifications were reviewed by officials before any decision was made and not every employer would be automatically approved for a work permit.

Meanwhile, Walters said he would like to know what efforts were made to recruit Barbadians, the number of local applicants, if they were deemed unsuitable and how many such permits were approved in recent years.

“Barbadians are not asking for special treatment. They are asking for a fair chance to work in their own country,” he said.

9. I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE SAYING THE OBVIOUS BUT THE OSTRICHES, DENIALISTS, AGNOSTICS & PUFF DADDIES CONTINUE TO SPEW THE LINE (#Nothing2SeeHere)

For the record – “EVERYTHING IS GOIN’ 2 HELL IN A 3-WHEEL PANCART”!!!!!!!!!!!

#PrepNow or #SinkVerySoon

TIME 2 LOOK UP*

10. @ Terence
    Your above vid is…
    One of the most ‘ON THE BALL’ presentations in YEARS!!!

Except that ‘Hell is NOT coming…’
    It is HERE already…

But how will the blind be able to see it … UNTIL they can feel it?
    Give them a few more months…

As a bushman once quipped…
    When evening comes, you say, ‘It will be fair weather, for the sky is red,’
    and in the morning, ‘Today it will be stormy, for the sky is red and overcast.’

You know how to interpret the appearance of the sky,
    but you cannot interpret the signs of the times.
    A wicked and adulterous generation looks for a sign,
    but none will be given it except the sign of Jonah.”
    Matt 16:

What a time nuh!!

11. Ryan Walters should watch it for the same set of forces which gratuitously put him in the senate may also remove him. LOL

Substantively, Caswell Franklyn is hard to disagree with.

His is another data point pointing in a general direction which needs a radical internal or even mental transformation. A radical transformation inimical to the Bajan.

How does Caswell account for well-meaning Black employers, and potential enployers, who too suffer from a cultural malaise amongst Bajan workers?

These people are telling this writer that ‘good workers are hard to find’ even as unemployment is high, the university is kicking out graduates and as outward migration seems less of an avenue.

The other problem with Caswell’s argument is that it is essentially the same as he’s been making all his life. Is it not therefore possible to suggest that other cultural forces might have played a part in emerging perceptions of services rendered by Bajan workers.

We can’t be afraid to look inwardly before trying to externalize every problem. Is it possible that this problem is within? And if you suggest not, then how do we have mentalities in the Immigration Dept, the Customs Dept, politicians and others, who are sellouts and just as unproductive as some suggest Bajan workers tend to be.

This writer knows one man, a Black man, who recently refused to start another business because he was uncertain that the requisite workers attitudes could have been found, sustained.

Another Black business, which currently has a few “foreigners” working there and would like some more, if they could get them.

Caswell has to square this circle! Help us to better understand changing workers’ attitudes and how employers perceive such. And what has to happen to make a measurable difference. SERVQUAL is you must!

12. “Walters aired his view on his social media platforms.”

“Whenever I see advertisements like these I am stumped! Am I to believe that no suitable applicants can be found for positions such as warehouse clerk, warehouse assistant, sales associate and store supervisor?” he asked.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Management of hotels and other businesses in Barbados have been denying Barbadians employment opportunities under the guise that having not received suitable applications for vacancies, they are applying for work permits to employ non-nationals……

…… a common practice that has been occurring for several years under successive DLP and BLP administrations.

After all those years, Ryan Walters is suddenly “stumped?”

Come on, Ryan Walters. Surely you jest.

13. @THE BUSHMAN

“WHAT A TIME, NUH?”

I love the way you always “BULLET POINT” (no pun intended) – for maybe I should utilized the term: “BUSHW(H)ACKED” your message in a list of “GOV* FAILURES” of a “3-TIME GOV” where accountability & transparency has been completely lost – “BARRING A NEW GOV* (which in itself is equally doubtful)!!!

HERE ARE MY LIST, BUSHIE*

– Geoeconomics confrontation

– Economic fragility

– Economic downturns

– Trade fragmentation

– Severe Contraction in global trade

– Decouple Eastern & Western blocs

– State-based conflict

– Price spikes in critical minerals

– Debt crises & fiscal instability

– Mounting public debt

– Sovereign debt distress (POOR COUNTRIES)

– Asset bubble bursts

– Record high armed conflicts

– Humanitarian collapse

– Resource scarcity

– Climate-induced economic shocks

– Extreme weather events

– Water scarcity

– Food insecurity

– Civil unrest & youth-led protests & revolutions

– Societal polarization

– Erosion of trust

– Anti-establishment protests & political paralysis

– Poly-crisis of debt, climate, & conflict

– Coordinated global economic failure

– Great Depression II on steroids fuelled by mass starvation

Bushie, I have kept it simple!!!

You & I know the unmentionable “COMPLEXITIES” amount to the compounded interests of “ALL OF THE ABOVE”, including what most refuse to debate – “THE PROPHECIES THAT ARE CLEARLY OUTLINED IN THE HOLY SCRIPTURES”……………………

You’re correct – “HELL IS HERE & ENLARGING ITS BORDERS”!!!

#HeavenHelpUsAll

14. @ Artax

He said “whenever” How did you arrived at he is SUDDENLY stumped ?

15. In many countries there are categories of work that local people will not apply for. Many Barbadians have become fat because of a sense of entitlement and the fact we have these paper trophies.

As we fiddle all is burning.

16. @ A

It is not that they are getting a passport right away. They birth certificate will say they were borned in Barbados therefore they will be a citizen of Barbados and entitled to a Baja passport in the future if / when they apply for it.

Nigerian women were doing the same thing in the USA for as long as I can remember. Barbados = little USA

Nigerians are not the only ones doing it in US

17. @Artax

How do you reconcile the recent statement from the Chief Immigration officer that very few work permits were granted in recent years? Didn’t see any numbers quoted.

18. @ David

The problem is coming from the free movement of the Caribbean islanders who were allowed entry with a suitcase.

For example let me give you what I know personally. I had a bajan plumber come here to do some work for me, who has worked with me when I needed him for years. Nice guy, does good work and is punctual. Last time he was here around 2 weeks or so ago, I said to him I was glad he was able to come as with all the building I thought he might be too busy. He said there was work out there but not for him. The islanders up here with Mia free movement working for less he said. He also pays NISS at the self employed rate.

So we have opened the door for all this free movement but to benefit who, a handful of big developers? If the Bajan is being hurt by this decision how could it be a good decision? I have also asked on several media, how many of the 15000 that are said to have entered, have found legal employment and registered with the NISSS as was a condition of entry? Again a deafening silence was the response.

If people are coming in here and showing up at sights and working for cash without NISSS deductions, how can this be fair to the Bajan worker? I also asked what recourse is there in this agreement that would see a person who has not found legal employment to be returned in say 6 months and again the response I got was a deafening silence!

Finally Artax mentioned to listen to the accents in workplaces and see how many Jamaicans are here. So I have been doing that and have noticed quite a few in retail places, gas stations etc. We need to be very careful with what we are doing here, as it may well prove good for the rich developers but bad for the born and bred Bajan.

19. @John A

It does not matter that a wealthy class would take advantage of at the risk of devaluing a respected Barbados passport? Sometime we have to ignore the politics.

20. @John A

We can’t complain about cost of labour; construction etc and do nothing about it.

21. @ David

You really believe that any savings from lower labour cost will be passed on to the client? I sincerely doubt it. If that was the case these precast slab houses would not cost what they do to the consumer. You think it is by chance that these slab houses are being sold at the same price as a block house? The days of a few people and a carpenter and Mason hardly seen now pushing up a house. The reason being a bank will not lend money to that type of crew, even though their product may be excellent and price competitive.

It is the system being maintained to ensure things remain as is.

22. @ David

I’m a bit skeptical about comments from the Chief Inmigration Officer “that very few work permits were granted in recent years.”

The reason why?

You would’ve probably noticed there has been a SIGNIFICANT INCREASE in the NUMBER of work permit notices in the newspaper, which have gone from management positions in the hotel industry to warehouse clerk, shoe store supervisor, babysitter, artisan and all other types of jobs, which essentially do not require any SPECIFIC or SPECIALISED set of skills or qualifications.

In MY opinion, this increase and the types jobs advertised clearly suggest business owners have been ABLE or ALLOWED to EXPLOIT the work permit application process to their advantage and WITHOUT any CONSEQUENCES.

In other words, if the NECESSARY RESTRICTIONS were in place to LIMIT the distribution of work permits, then we would not see, for example, a business advertising that “having received no suitable applicant for the position of babysitter it was their intention to submit for a work permit for a non-national to fill the position.”

23. Agree with you @artax.

24. @ John A

I agree with you 1000%.

I’ve prepared construction contracts for contractors, and the labour costs are usually calculated based on current, acceptable industry rates.

If a contractor, for example, employs artisans at 75% of the going rate, he keeps the other 25% rather than passing it on as savings to the homeowner.

Additionally, there are YouTube videos highlighting the horrible experiences, (such as shoddy work, delays, additional expenses incurred), Barbadians living abroad have with contractors building their retirement homes.

25. The other thing we are not looking at is that 100 percent of what a Bajan worker earns is spent in Barbados. A foreign worker’s goal is to spend as little as possible here and send as much as he can back to his homeland. Again this has not been factored into the grand plan. What you end up with is someone who does not pay NISS and then remits all he can to another economy. Someone explain to me how this is better than ensuring Barbadian workers pay their NISS and then spend their money and invest it in OUR economy?

26. check yourself Avatar
    check yourself

Birth Citizenship is a fundamental law and right in many countries, if Barbados wants to change this law and legal right then the new Constitution would be to place to do it.

Pregnant Muslim Woman from Nigeria in Hijabs are not terrorists and more likely want to escape the terror and war in their country so their child has better opportunities in life.

People should be careful about their own prejudices and check themselves before they wreck them self as backward thinking is bad for your health.

27. David

“How do you reconcile the recent statement from the Chief Immigration officer that very few work permits were granted in recent years? Didn’t see any numbers quoted.”

Has Maria Bradshaw quoted any numbers of Nigerian “anchor babies”? Yet you running with the story!! I guess we’ll soon have months-old babies filing for their mothers. BU, the echo chamber where the choir has ran out of hymn sheets.🤣🤣🤣🤣

28. @enuff

We should ignore that an agency or agencies are actively promoting Barbados as a destination of choice to birth their new borns? We should ignore it is your position?

29. But Enuff

Are you not concerned that your maximum leader is as electedly as dictatorial as can be?

Are you not concerned that she’s long told us that there’s a population deficit and absolutely nothing else internal has been done to confront such a national threat?

Given this void and knowing her proclivities might she not be seeking another back hander?

Will your leader be moving soon to also control all acts of opposition within the bloggosphere as well, as suggested before, for it now seems that her present state of mind requires zero opposition everywhere?

30. Enuff

To be FAIR, David asked about a reconciliation of “the recent statement from the Chief Immigration officer that very few WORK PERMITS were granted in recent years?”

For clarity, perhaps YOU may want to, according to David, “reconcile” the issuing of work permits with the quotation of numbers of Nigerian “anchor babies.”

You’ve essentially presented a ‘straw man argument’ in response to David’s comments.

31. No Artax! I have simply asked for consistency, which is to provide evidence to back up claims. Maria and the anchor babies crew should provide robust evidence as should the Chief Immigration Officer. For too long, we have been seeing these questionable work permit ads in the local press. In presenting numbers, the CIO should also provide those on the number of objections received and the reasons for accepting or ignoring such objections over the years.

David – Nobody said to ignore, but it is not a front page story. Air Peace travels once a month to Bdos. Very MAGAesque. What a ting, Nigerians and others from the mother country find Bim an attractive future for their children. Meanwhile the BU intelligentsia daily promotes Bim as doomed etc etc. Again, I await months-old children filing for their parents, alert me when it happens.

Pacha – Name a developed or developing country where managing the “population deficit” is achieved by the existing female population simply having more pickney. Unless you’re one of the resident BU misogynists.

32. @Artax

The points to consider here from an ignorant blogmaster are:

1. We need to protect the value of our passport given the geopolitical implications and the rise of global governments.

2. Are we ready for a multicultural country which is where this is leading?

33. Reality check.

” Ethnicity: The majority of the population (about 90-93%) is of African descent. Mixed-race individuals make up approximately 3.1%, White Barbadians account for 2.7%, and East Indians represent 1.3%”

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

@enuff
    I agree totally. But pray tell, WHERE does one find factual evidence, when few public bodies report on anything?
    I’m not going to repeat all the missing reports. But without them, any one eyed man is king in a blind man land?
    How can one expect opposition to be factual and evidenced based? When those elected by the people, flaunt their role of reporting as required by law?
    Does someone have to sort through work permit ads, and contact the applying entity to discover what positions have been granted or refused.

35. We all come from the same place
    our mothers spaghetti region
    it is mind blowing that a baby pops out as a born Bajan when his mother was a born Nigerian,
    It’s deep
    But, what is the difference between a Bajan and a Nigerian
    You could be from Lagos
    You could be from Bridgetown
    One Blood
    We are all one blood
    One blood one destiny
    we are all going to die sometime
    we are like one way traffic

36. Enuff

Misogynists?

You are the last from whom we would have expected to read such a rejoinder. Were we misogynists when we supported her in the earlier years? Are we not the same who long believed, until recently, that women had greater potential to perform better in leadership than men? Are we still not arguing that engineers make better leaders than the lawyer-politicians?

More substantively, for decades Western countries, and others now more so, have been struggling with population deficits. Some countries, fearing immigration as the means of solving such problems, the fear of changing the cultural character of these countries, have totally relieve on the “existing female population” as a national security response. On the other hand, the Europeans now blame the immogration of people from Islamic and Afrikan countries for the cultural declines they currently face.

More precisely, Russia by landmass is the largest country in the world, it has 11 times Zones, less than 150 million people, a reletively small population. Yet, they main way of reversing population decline is precise the local female population. And they have long been doing this by massively constructing a supportive society.

Every child a woman has the state gives the kinds of incentives Barbados gives to foreign direct investment. With more than one child, the benefits increase, and they keep increasing thereafter. Housing benefits, education benefits, incomes benefits, tax benefits, travel benefits and more.

And they are other countries – South Korea, Hungary, Bulgaria and others. And its true, non of these countries are anywhere near a solution. Given the demographic of Barbados it would be criminal to resort to immigration as the solution before every other option is exhausted. However, a woman who knows not childbirth may be less so inclined.

If this is being misogynist then you are looking in the wrong direction. All you would have done is to locate Pacha to rejoind by arguing that Mottley herself is much better prequalified to be so accused than Pacha. What an internal contradiction.

37. One Blood, One Destiny Avatar
    One Blood, One Destiny

“Are we ready for a multicultural country which is where this is leading?”

Children aren’t partial and they’re our link to the future
    Ready or not multi culti is coming to your neck of the woods
    Racists and fascists can lump it so get it straight and don’t be late

This song represents the message of unity between human beings whatever race, profession or creed.
    One blood one blood one blood
    Yuh coulda come from libya or yuh come from ‘merica
    Coulda come from europe or yuh come from AFRICA
    Yuh coulda be irishman or a englishman
    Coulda be a mexican or a wedda indian

38. The current lot of world leaders are of a special breed. They have no interest in the natural order of things…
    So population stagnation is not seen to be a consequence of barren, wicking, women and bulling / effeminate men, but as a situation needing ‘immigration strategies’, artificial insemination, and incentives for citizenship by purchase.

Does anyone else but Bushie note the proclivity of current leaders to surround themselves with sexual deviants? … Including pedophiles, child sacrificers, LGBQ, …and with lovers and relatives?

It certainly looks like being a pedophile, batty-man, wicker, or at least looking like one, is a KEY criterion being considered in the recruitment of global leaders.
    Shiite! …We reached the stage where two of our young, male, recent-appointees – were apparently trying to breed one another…

In the old days, INCENTIVES for women to become MOTHERS, men to become FATHERS, and for ‘family’ to become paramount, would have been the default methodology used, and as ALWAYS, LIKE MINDED foreigners have always been welcomed to join the family.

Now, like prostitutes, we invite everyone with MONEY to spend – whether they are like-minded, racist, socially compatible, or evil. AS LONG AS THEY ARE RICH As SHIITE.

Not to repeat NO and Pacha, but only a BB idjut could feel safe with a leader who hides their own personal finances and morals, spends state funds on shiite like ballrooms and burial monuments, and who resists ALL efforts to produce LAWFUL accounts reports.

But the CURRENT WORLD is under SATANIC control.
    It would therefore be ‘STRANGE’ if old-time common sense prevailed, and if NORMAL heterosexual inclinations led to positive population metrics…

What a time…
    of EVIL!

39. I Ware My Slanders Avatar
    I Ware My Slanders

Something must have triggered old Bush who is a relic of a bygone era.

A long time ago gay meant happy not queer

I Wear My Slanders / If You Don’t Mind,
    ‘ll wear my slanders to your party
    If you don’t mind
    I’ll grow my hair in any kind of style
    All I want to say is that my heart is clean
    Don’t you, dont’t you know just what I mean?
    Mean….

If you don’t mind
    If you don’t mind
    Oooh baby!

I’ll drink a touch of brandy
    If you don’t mind

Is not that I like the stuff
    But something is on my mind
    All I Wanna say is just give me a chance
    Let me find a girl and enjoy this dance
    Dance…..

40. @ David
    @ NorthernObserver
    @ John A

I understand the Bermuda based Butterfield Bank has agreed to acquire CIBC Caribbean in a deal worth approximately US$1.8B, but is subject to regulatory approval.

Sources said the acquisition would create a banking group with US$29B in assets, in comparison with ‘Sagicor Financial, which manages more than US$25B in assets across its insurance, pension, investment and banking businesses, but it’s not primarily a bank.’

What are your thoughts?

41. @Artax

Any secret CIBC has been trying to exit for a while from the Caribbean? It will be interesting to see if all the central banks approve to create a mega bank in the Caribbean. Then it becomes too big to fail?

Not sure about comparing Sagicor to potentially Butterfield post acquisition. To different businesses.

42. @ David

I assumed you would’ve realised the source was comparing the VALUE of the assets being managed by both entities, Butterfield = US$29B and Sagicor = US$25B……

…… but also mentioned Sagicor Financial is “NOT primarily a bank.”

43. @Artax

Understood we have two different businesses is the main point to consider.

44. @Artax

This is not really a case of comparing apples to apples as you have said, but more a broadening of activity for Butterfield if the sale goes through. What I noticed if the numbers quoted are correct, is the asset base of the companies involved is close. Usually when this happens it may be a sale made up of some cash and the balance being settled as a share swap from buyer to seller. IF this is the case the shareholders of Sagicor are the ones at risk. Reason being the sale of Sagicor would be at an agreed price, BUT if the sale has a large portion of share swap the Sagicor shareholders are hoping that this merger will result in an increased performance per net dollar of asset base. In other words yes the combined entity would do more business, but would it make enough more to make the return per dollar of asset better than the 2 separate companies are each making today per dollar of asset base?

Has the details of the constitution of the sale been made public as yet in terms of cash purchase or cash and shares Artax?

45. my banking mergers and acquisition hat Avatar
    my banking mergers and acquisition hat

Putting on my banking mergers and acquisition hat on…

Reverse takeovers are a thing and when staff and public are notified about it on a needs to know basis it means the deal has already been done and dusted about a year ago, due diligence has been performed and rebranding system changes are already implemented for the due date.

Some staff will be invited to leave…

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

Artax
    A non issue IMO. However it goes from a +/-130B market cap owner to a $3B acquisitor. Recall what Butterfield did with Mutual Bank? First Caribbean had a S.American buyer previously and the deal wasn’t completed. Story was most interested parties wanted some of FC but not all. Butterfield takes all of FC, but at completion CIBC will still own 22%.
    Desperation?
    As a Canadian, who deals with none of those banks operating here, they are an embarrassment to get anything done at. Exactly WHY they haven’t transferred technology they have had for years, is an unknown. Concepts like BimPay wouldn’t exist if they had.