@Enuff
“Up to now you can’t say why the man is not deserving. In a small country how do you escape proximity to “power/decision-making”?”

Once I see you heading down this road, I know things bad.
No, No, No.
The onus is upon those conferring the honour to highlight the contributions, which are being recognized. Period.
Is Barbados, the country conferring the knighthood, doing so for work in Bermuda, Belize, Caymans, Turks and a little in Barbados too. Or for the leverage used in the BLP leadership battles.
Seems like another Marston Gibson were a Bajan leaves home and spends much of their career working elsewhere, only to return home and be knighted.
To me, if the PM had an ounce of moral decency, she would avoid selecting her father at all costs, especially in the first few opportunities she gets to bestow such an honour. What’s the rush? Is the man ill? – Northern Observer

To be honest the blogmaster does not pay too much attention to the New Year Honours list. The selection appears to be less than transparent and more importantly we are not enthused by a system that awards titles that is anchored to an irrelevant colonial past.

The New Year Honours List for 2019 released by the Government Information Service is as follows [blogmaster’s emphasis]:-

The Queen has been graciously pleased to approve the following awards in the 2019 New Year Honours:

KNIGHT BACHELOR (KtBach)

• Assad John HALOUTE for services to the hospitality industry and philanthropy

KNIGHT COMMANDER OF THE ORDER OF SAINT MICHAEL AND SAINT GEORGE (KCMG)

• Elliott Deighton MOTTLEY for services to the legal profession, diplomatic service and the community

ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE

COMMANDER OF THE ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE (CBE)

• Dr. Frances Louise CHANDLER, OBE for services to agriculture and sustainable development

OFFICER OF THE ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE (OBE)

• Ms. Cynthia Joan WILLIAMS for services to nursing and the community

MEMBER OF THE ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE (MBE)

• Reverend Hughson Carlos INNISS for services to youth empowerment and the fight against HIV/AIDS
  • John Wayne Anderson WATTS for services to environmental health

The decision to award Elliott Mottley a knighthood has attracted robust and muscular public comment across the length and breath of Barbados, notwithstanding the din generated by the holiday season. There is no need to be prolix with this matter. A repost of the blogmaster’s too brief comment to Northern Observer is enough.

Agree with this comment, the optics are bad and the brazenness of doing it in the first year of term is a foreboding act.

The opinion of the blogmaster is not meant to ignore Elliott’s Mottley’s contribution in his field of work. However, if the Prime Minister is serious about being a change agent she must avoid decisions that will distract and deepen citizen apathy. The herculean task to turn the country around is bigger than the aggrandisement of any family member. Even if that family member is her father. In fact some will suggest with good reason that the controversial waiver of the tax and penalties (NOT TAX DUE) in the amount of $1,051,872.28 to Elliott Mottley which came out of an audit of Mottley’s accounts is reward enough.

A word to the Prime Minister should be sufficient.

625 responses to “Prime Minister Mottley’s Father Awarded Knighthood”

1. @Dee Word

In a few words the blogmaster at midnight tonight would rescind all of these silly awards.

2. “Rumor has it that on the eve of the 2013 election, the houses were paid for using our NIS funds”

As was the plan all along to RAPE THE PENSION FUND..it is STILL the plan.

the thing about that plan is ..it could never have happened without the APPROVAL of Fruendolittle and his circus clowns…and it cannot continue WITHOUT the approval of Mia and her circus clowns…

We are still waiting for the ARRESTS of former DLP ministers..

3. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

The Governor General is the local representative of the foreign monarch, that is all!

There shall be a Governor-General of Barbados who shall be appointed by Her Majesty and shall hold office during office or Her Majesty’s pleasure and who shall be Her Majesty’s representative in Barbados.

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Well the sun has long set so those around the island who enjoyed that last sunset for 2018 at Maycocks or in Holetown I believe all of them would dismiss all our chatter and join you … at midnight tonight [and rescind] all of these silly awards…😂

And so too would scores here, but good sir that does not make them ‘irelevant’.

But I get ur point!

And to our blogger the Dean who ALWAYS elevates the level of debate with his presence I do hope when u get your accolade of a Knighthood for your life achievement and service to Bim hopefully it’s acceptable to you whether from a President or King…until then keep on elevating successful in 2019!

5. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Your assertion that Barbados is a constitutional democratic Republic headed by a foreign Monarch is, with the greatest of respect, gobbledegook. Please explain how a Republic – democratic or not – can be headed by a monarch (foreign or not)?

*In reality, the Monarchy has nothing to do with the government of Barbados…

Hal, You amaze me…you may of course have the last word on this matter…

6. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

And to our blogger the Dean who ALWAYS elevates the level of debate with his presence I do hope when u get your accolade of a Knighthood for your life achievement and service to Bim hopefully it’s acceptable to you whether from a President or King…until then keep on elevating successful in 2019!

A good night and a blessed, healthy and successful 2019 to you and yours, DPD. And to all here likewise!

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Jeff
    @ Hal

Barbados’ Head of State de jure is Queen Elisabeth the 11. The de facto Head of State is Dame Sandra Mason. Heads of states do have constitutional and ceremonial duties which they both do.

Hal
    Barbados is de facto a republic with the PM as Head of Government de facto and de jure.

Of course you gentleman can take up constitutional and legalistic purist positions ;but it really does not matter. Barbados is what it is. We the people know what it is.

8. December 31, 2018 10:11 AM

If we had a vibrant Opposition they would been choking the newsfeeds with the Freundel Stuart bloodline speech NOT Arthur. Then again, it is Christ.
    ……………………………………………………………

Then again Mia is doing a good job in proving OSA and Freundel right all by herself

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“Hal, You amaze me…you may of course have the last word on this matter…”

@Jeff, not only you!

It must be that editor gene in him: he has to be able to argue BOTH sides of a moot with equal vigour.

I suspect he forgets he is opining here and NOT editing. LOL.

@Hal, a great 2019 to u as well…editing or opining!

And of course again to all…Peace and Goodwill.

10. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Barbados is what it is. We the people know what it is.

Are you sure, Vincent?

Republic Law and Legal Definition. Republic is a system of government in which the people hold sovereign power and elect representatives who exercise that power. The word “republic” is derived from the Latin phrase res publica, which can be translated as “a public affair”.

11. What a difference a few months make: People who spent years castigating , cussing and being nothing more than destructive operatives, hijacking proper discussions and basically attempting to drag down others are now talking about lifting the debates and discussions. How can they expect to plant cassava and reap okra remains a mystery to me.
    The current cesspool in which we now find ourselves is the result of these inferior political miscreants, who dwell in close proximity to Lionel C Hill Supermarket and St Cyprians Church.
    Our fair land has been been the victim of these political gun slingers, firecrackers and non entities who should not even be called yardfowls!
    The yardfowls at least were palatable delicacies on many a Sunday table. This group would be nothing more than instant poison to any body who dares to eat of their flesh.
    As 2019 comes to its close let us hope that the country can go forward with the determination that we can and will do better. May these non productive political miscreants recognize that our country is bigger than B or D.

12. As a Com­mon­wealth gov­er­nor-gen­er­al, Sir Paul faced far more chal­leng­ing times than many of his coun­ter­parts whose lives would have been filled with more cer­e­mo­ni­al and less ex­ec­u­tive ac­tions.His care­ful and de­lib­er­ate de­ci­sions at a cru­cial time in Grena­da’s his­to­ry would place him in a cat­e­go­ry that will be re­served for some­one who could be called “Grena­da’s sav­iour”.

http://guardian.co.tt/news/sir-paul-scoon-grenadian-saviour-6.2.408077.313f72836f

13. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal
    We do have a throne speech to the joint Houses of Parliament. Should the Queen be in Barbados at that time she reads it,not the Governor General.
    So Jeff do we have a monarchy? According to the oath taken by the new Cabinet do they not swear allegiance to the Queen and her heirs?
    Wow!!! Complicated is it not? I hope David Bu is not going to revert to the maths of rocket science to settle this conundrum.LOL!!!

14. @J|eff,
    You said it yourself in your quote. The Majesty the governor general represents which you mention is the Monarch. That the Monarch does not interfere does not mean we are not a Monarchy.
    The same way that the UK is a Monarchy, but the Queen does not interfere with government. (We have local and national government and they both have their parameters). Rule by the Monarch went out with King Charles. In the UK parliament is supreme – not the Queen, not the Cabinet, not the Supreme Court, but the 650 men and women in parliament.
    To retreat in to a medieval idea of the Monarchy is beneath reason.

15. @Vincent,
    Is the Throne Speech a recognition of our Republican status?

16. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Jeff

The people are still sovereign. We elect the representatives and we vote them out. In extreme and rare situations the people deal with them according to the Pachamama method of dispensation.

17. @lawson December 31, 2018 5:22 AM “This is like when a woman gets off a plane in a country and has a baby then the baby can sponsor you into the country ..it just doesnt feel right.”

Except that the baby cant act to benefit its parents until it is an adult, some 18 or more years down the road. Minors are not permitted to sponsor anybody. I always wonder why women do this? It sems an awful long time to wait if you really want to migrate. There must be migration routes which are shorter than 18 years.

18. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal

The reading of the throne speech is ceremonial. It is the PM’s National Strategic Plan.

19. OSA was moving in the direction of Republic in a robust manner and Sleepy was brutally frank on his bully pulpit talk show Lawyer-on-Call that that can’t happen here! Sleepy and his supporters seem to have won that battle.

20. @WARU December 31, 2018 6:15 AM

@45gov“This has NOTHING to do with Buckingham Palace, and everything to do with local political filth.”

.@WARU .”that would be COMPLETELY true if the damn blighted titles did not originate from buckingham palace.”

I don’t know why we are surprised. The titles thingy came from the British monarchy. The British monarch routinely awards titles to their own kith and kin. Go ahead Big England, little England is behind you.

21. @Vincent,
    Thanks for telling me. I was totally ignorant of its significance.

22. @WARU December 31, 2018 6:06 AM “don’t hold ya breathe muhdear, I got all the titles I need..and Queen does not nearly begin to describe.”

Is that you Empress WARU?

23. @Vincent

The pragmatic view is to ask the question – if a state of emergency were to occur in Barbados as it did in Grenada to render the government inactive can the Queen of England act on her own to direct a response to support Barbados?

24. @Artax December 31, 20187:36 AM “Elliott Mottley is supposed to be an intelligent man and should have advised … should have exercised some level of doubt or hesitation…and respectfully refused the gesture.”

You being very nicey, nicey

When it is parent to son r daughter there is no need for soft terms like “advised” “doubt” “hesitation”

You just tell YOUR KID.

It ain’t happening.

Over my dead body.

Not ’bout hay.

The parent is ALWAYS the parent, and especially with something concerning the parent, should ALWAYS exercise PARENTAL AUTHORITY.

After all If Elliott had said “no” what could Mia have done about it?

25. Whatever happened to the Henry Forde Commission which discussed all these old issues?

26. @Enuff December 31, 2018 8:14 AM “All of a sudden a biography must accompany an honoree?”

A Simple Response: Actually going forward it would be an excellent idea for bios to accompany awardees.

@Enuff December 31, 2018 8:14 AM “Why no other recipient is being challenged/questioned?”

A Simple Response: Actually on the other blog I questioned the award to Assad Haloute. I wondered how the technical people in the Ministry of Health, and the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, that is those people who understand the nexus between high fat/high sugar foods and poor health outcomes think about a high national honour going to a fast food merchant.

Oh and before I get cussed I voted for the BLP on May 24. But that doesn’t mean that I will agree with everything the pary does.

Because I have voted for the DLP many, many times too, but not on May 24, 2018.

27. HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL BU LUMINARIES

28. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

You have answered that question in your submission at 7 :18 PM where you referenced Sir Paul Scoon’s coordinating role in Grenada’s situation. He was the Queen’s representative de jure but de facto the Grenada Head of State. He most likely did inform her after the fact as a matter of courtesy.
    In the case of Barbados the buck stops with the GG. That is the reason I always stress the need to appoint competent persons to these positions. It is the strength of character that they bring to these jobs that makes the difference. One cannot buy leadership at the supermarket. You either have that quality or you do not.

29. David

“You need also to accept that irrelevance of the awards as presently constituted.”

I have not denied that the current constitution renders the awards irrelevant and I have asked if you want us to vote, pointing out that we appoint MPs. You got my point?. I have simply argued that optics are not enough. if we are going to talk about processes lets address other areas too, not go from Saul to Paul only when the so-called “blooded” are the recipients. For example, how do we appoint our Governors General and how do they choose their independent Senators?

30. Every thing Mia does should be taken with a high level of suspicion as high as level Red
    I meaning everything . it all began and was obviuos when she took the country on a Jim Jones style caravan ride down the East coast and gave the followers and supporters koolaid to drink
    Thank God i was not one of them
    Soon after the entire country became bewitched
    The Unions fell asleep and the woman took control of a country too drunk to see straight

31. “Is that you Empress WARU?”

the one and only, you know how the dudes can be kinda slow..lol

32. @Bush Tea December 31, 2018 1:18 PM “Cuh dear Bushie. Ya din have to beat up Enuff so bad.”

33. WHAT BARBADOS NEEDS IS ETHICAL LEADERSHIP AMONG THOSE WHO SEEK LEADERSHIP POSITIONS IN THE POLITICAL CLASS.

The extract below jumped out at me from something I was reading – its not the most profound statement – its not a new principle – but one well worth repeating to those in the political field especially – but other areas of leadership as well.

Ethical leaders lead by seeing beyond the short term,beyond the urgent , and take every action with a view towards lasting values.

But those values like Truth, Integrity and Respect for others – serve as external reference points for ethical leaders to make decisions – especially hard decisions in which there is no easy or good option.

Ethical leaders choose a higher loyalty to those core values over their own personal gain.

Ethical leaders can mould a culture by their words and more importantly by their actions.

The opposite is also true – because dishonest leaders have the same ability to shape a culture by showing their people dishonesty, corruption and deception.

When HONEST historians do a review of our post independence history of Barbados – I an curious to see what type of national culture emerges as we examine each period where those who held the highest office in the land – governed.

34. @Hants December 31, 2018 2:16 PM “Taxes on gasoline will bring in a mobaton of cash.”

I hope that some of that cash will quickly to used to fill the massive new potholes on the road between Hinds Hill and the roundabout at the bottom of the university hill. Massive potholes, as massive as the pots families used in the good old days to cook soup for a dozen people.

Mr. Minister. Get MTW on the job first thing Wednesday morning.

35. I was one beating up on Mia a.ss about her LEC accreditation but after this bolden bare face ..up in the peoples face to have her father name submitted and recognized as knighthood it is now much more easier to belive that plenty politricks aided and abetted by favouritism attached to family ties was one of the driving forces behind her accreditation in the same manner her father was given millions of dollars in taxes compliments of the treasury.My God dont see how these actors of sinster misdeeds sleep at night
    Hell Owen was absolutely correct and for the sake of the country and the saving grace of the people he should speak out
    Even the Ross University that she pulled away from the poor people of Dominica sheds plenty light on Mia character
    A character which is boundless in its effort to be entitled even when it means stepping on the poor.

36. @Enuff December 31, 2018 4:05 PM

What does your post of 4:05 PM mean in plain English, or plain Bajan?

37. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent, seems to me you and the Blogmaster are arguing accepted points.

Is it not fundamental from their previous life accomplishments that a GG is inherently a ‘leader’!

Is it also not accepted “That competent persons [are always appointed] to these positions.”

In our lifetime certainly NONE of our GGs could be considered other than very competent.

And Mr Blogmaster, is it not also accepted that : “… if a state of emergency were to occur in Barbados as it did in Grenada to render the government inactive…[that] the Queen of England [CANNOT] act on her own to direct a response to support Barbados?”

Absolutely ALL direct action would legally come from ‘her elected’ administration but not from her in any direct form or fashion… Not so!

38. The Truth Shall Set You Free Avatar
    The Truth Shall Set You Free

“I was one beating up on Mia a.ss about her LEC accreditation…”

@ Mariposa

I knew it would not taken too long before you expose your ignorance.

Although the LEC nonsense has been proven to be a non issue, that even members of your DLP party abandoned pursuing it any further, you come here to reintroduce it and tie it in with the Mottley government giving her father a knighthood.

You have NOW ADMITTED and proven beyond a shadow of a doubt that you are GUILTY of VERBALLY ABUSING Mottley.

It is clear for all to read.

39. After 238 comments, one final one from me

The appointment does not pass the smell test.

40. Mariposa@9.35pm
    You will never win friends and influence people with that wish washy nonsense you posted.Grow up.You are not impressing anyone with your bs, save and except the unthinking members of the dead lost party.

41. TInniss

Ethical behaviour is not expected only from the political class. Look in the mirror and start there.

42. You are so right, Gabriel….ac just cannot get over the fact that the dlp was obliterated….l like your description Dead Lost Party.

Did you hear Verla last Sunday….wuh she had me beat, though…. the woman got on like it was not her party of which she was a part…. the woman wants answers…. like the ones we got from the Stinkliar and Fumble… She needs to shut the hell up.

43. Talking Loud saying Nothing Avatar
    Talking Loud saying Nothing

@ Millertheannuki,

I was in Barbados last April and have returned for reasons beyond my control and was struck by the number of pristine Mercedes Benz cars that are on the island today, I spotted a Mercedes with the number plate MP100. The week prior, I spotted three with MP number plates. These cars stand out like the proverbial sore thumb. I cannot recall seeing this phenomenon when I was last here in April.

With a new year approaching Mia should have been looking at introducing integrity and restoring the value of fairness and a sense of morality to the country. Instead she persists with handing out knighthoods to an elite group. Expect more of the same in 2019.

To all the BU family, Piece the Che Guevara of BU, the excellent of late T. Inniss and Mariposa (I wonder why?), Barbados Whistle Blower, the eccentric GP, Waru the keyboard warrior, Hal Austin, et al. I wish you all a prosperous and a healthy 2019.

The consequences of a 30-0 wipe out at the last general election will bear its fruit in 2019. Will Mia’s government attempt to remodel a Barbados that benefits the majority of Barbadians or will she continue to introduce policies that will favour the business elite/oligarchs over the masses.

On a personal note, I would like to see Bush Tea promote his Co-operative model for the island as an antithesis to the Mia model. As a country we desperately need other voices to enter the fray.

44. The Truth Shall Set You Free Avatar
    The Truth Shall Set You Free

Prodigal: You could really demonstrate some humility especially since we the tax payers are paying for that nice new cushy job you have been given. {Quote}

@ T. Inniss

And the way you have been performing pre-singing for your turn at the trough, we the taxpayers may be soon paying for your new cushy job if the DLP wins again.

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes the Archiver

You have made 4 excellent points culminating in THE PATTERN

MUGABE is a tyrant and she is bent on remaining in power forever or until her Mottleyian tribe is extinguished from the earth.

This is a very simple construct really.

The people were subjected to the Demonic Lyying Party fir 10 years.

The sheeple WILL SUFFER UNDER MUGABE FOR A TERM

But the people must wake up and replace Mugabe with a different type of leader SO THAT THIS WILL NEVER HAPPEN AGAIN

ALL HAIL MUGABE!!!

Oh by the way a Mr Lucas has said this about 3 times.

He asks us sheeple to review Sir Mugabe’s records in Bermuda so de ole man, IN KEEPING WITH A PROMISE TO KEEP WUNNA PUN WUNNA TOES, provides this link for you

http://www.bermuda.org.uk/infighting.htm

46. And a Happy New Year to all…same to you Talking Loud..

Wuhloss..trouble in scam land already, will it never end..some are calling the Coverley scam a concentration camp…and lowlife Maloney and his useless ilk already believe themselves to be slave masters…so watch out..

GP..the ink is not even dry on the agreement yet…

Seems like Adtalem Global Education aka Devry’s Parent Company BEFORE THE NAME CHANGE from DEVRY EDUCATION GROUP…can do with ANOHER 100 MILLION DOLLAR FINE from the feds…lol

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/12/31/rent-rage/

“Article by
    Marlon Madden Published on
    December 31, 2018
    A large portion of the estimated $100 million injection into the local economy from the presence of the Ross University School of Medicine (RUSM) will go toward their housing accommodation at the sprawling Villages at Coverley. Students are to pay between US$4,040 and US$4,840 per semester or BDS$2020-$2420 each month per student.

Each unit at Coverley is set up to accommodate three or four students, this means each student will be paying over US$1,000 in rent per month for the four months of each semester.

This could easily translate into more than US$4 million per semester or over US$12 million per year in rent for the approximately 1,000 registered students assuming the minimum three-student occupancy and the lowest associated rent.

And the students are expressing disappointment at the apparent ‘mandatory’ arrangement which gives them no leeway to find competitive lodging on their own.

According to irate students, the university is requiring “all full-time students enrolled in the Medical Sciences 4- or 5-semester curriculum, to reside in RUSM on-campus housing, located at the Villages at Coverley”. This was not the case when they attended the school based in Dominica said the irate returning student, livid at the change of process”

When Barbados TODAY reached out to officials of Adtalem Global Education regarding the students’ concerns, the university did not directly answer the questions posed.”

47. @ Dame Sir SimpleSimon
    Cuh dear Bushie. Ya din have to beat up Enuff so bad.
    Enuff can handle it….

Besides…
    To whom much is given, much is expected
    …and you KNOW what happens when yuh spare de rod….

48. Mortgage payment on those houses are around $1000-1200, and rent @ 2000-2400 per person x three per house?
    $6000-7200 .. now that is…

49. A large portion of the estimated $100 million injection into the local economy from the presence of the Ross University School of Medicine (RUSM) will go toward their housing accommodation at the sprawling Villages at Coverley. Students are to pay between US$4,040 and US$4,840 per semester or BDS$2020-$2420 each month per student.

Will this be paid offshore … or onshore? .!!

50. If I had any hope that there are some in the Barbados Labour Party who will operate with integrity or are guided by some moral compass then the contributions of their foot soldiers who have been on this site some for at least 10 years -showing such outrage and righteous indignation – now cannot even muster a feeble dissent by way of an even weak comment such as: No to give your father a knighthood for work done in Bermuda -where he was kicked out for said legal practice that he is now being honoured for; and after it was proven by the sitting prime minister at the time – owen Arthur – that in his absence it was conspired to ensure her father – the said honouree – get a million dollars in tax write off.

These former blp yardfowl representatives could not even muster a hell no – to that.