Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge

Even if the repeatedly broken promises confirming that all registered hotels will qualify for the same concessions given to Sandals last year came into practical effect this week, it is now far too late for the vast majority of properties to make any meaningful use of them this year, at least in terms of major upgrading. Whether it was Government’s honest intention or not, Sandals look like they will re-open with an enhanced quality product advantage in late January 2015 that virtually every other hotel cannot hope to compete with.

Again, it’s important to repeat that like most other tourism businesses we welcome the group’s arrival and in the long term hope that it will drive additional investment and upgrading on a level playing field. Despite the continued speculation about added airlift, it simply will not happen until the Beaches property is hopefully completed in a yet indeterminate number of years from now. The short term reality is that we have lost a potential 25,000 airline seats in the interim reconstruction period. That would not have happened if the former Casuarina/Couples hotel had remained open. Only time will tell if punishing around 5,000 rooms, while rewarding just 280 will prove to be a sustainable long term solution to the overall industry challenges.

In hindsight it’s perhaps easy to see how this situation developed. The trappings of a private corporate jet, a luxury yacht, well oiled and orchestrated publicity machine with seemingly impressive amounts of money running into tens of millions being mentioned almost every day. It was a tantalising and perhaps almost impossible option to resist in the current economic climate. When you look across the state of our entire tourism industry perhaps the closest comparison can be made with Rome burning while Nero played the fiddle in A.D. 64. 70 percent of the ‘eternal’ city was destroyed, but it enabled the Emperor to re-build the capital in a style that he preferred. Of course someone had to be blamed and Nero chose the Christians who were ruthlessly rounded up, tortured and killed. Perhaps in a modern day context those victims should be more fairly compared with the disadvantaged ‘other hoteliers’.

I wonder how many other industry observers cracked a wry smile when the Minister of Finance was reported as saying ‘we (seem to) live in an instant coffee society: everybody wants everything done now’.  Using the same analogy clearly the ‘espresso’ concessions extracted by Mr. Stewart escaped the beverage scenario. So without, what could amount to additional reinvestment in the entire remaining accommodation sector, we are yet another year away from upgrading existing plant. Personally I cannot understand why our policymakers while recognising they cannot provide ‘instant’ solutions but seriously expect us to.

The danger lurks that yet further tour operators will withdraw more programmes from Barbados, while transferring them to lower cost destinations to meet the more realistic expectations of their clients. It’s a perfectly natural progression. You go where your source of business can obtain the best value-for-money with the least possible financial risk.

141 responses to “Sandals Concessions Too Late to Make a Difference to Tourism Industry!”

1. @ David
    You are consigning us to an eternal state of underdevelopment. And at the same time espousing a narrative that says that within that improverishment there is to be an elite of oligarches who are to be supported regardless of the circumstances and protected from the vagaries of real markets. This position by you is staggering. You are saying that all that we are or have worked for must to sacrificed on this alter. It is a massive transfer of wealth from the poor to a would be rich. You and yours are to be castigated

2. Anybody who holds this view should be declared an enemy of the people and taken out back and blindfolded and …..

3. @ Artexe.
    Although we don’t like each other and I will dispense with the pleasantries.

The enemy of my enemy is my friend.

Good “enlightening”comment… More please…

4. @Pacha

This is the current state that confronts us. It is what it is, and not of BU making.

5. Are you saying the man is “Gypsy” -Manipulation on this site refers to making attempts at indirectly influencing someone else’s behavior or actions. As human beings, our emotions often cloud our judgments making it difficult to see the reality behind hidden agendas or motives in different forms of behavior. The controlling aspects or shrewdness linked to manipulation are sometimes very subtle and may be easily overlooked, buried under feelings of obligation, love, or habit. In his blogs you’ll learn some ways to pick up on manipulative behavior occurring around you, so that you can sort it rather than jump to it.To help you deal with your specific situation, here is a partial list of the Blog Masters manipulative behaviors, and how to respond to each of them. Keep in mind there are many more. Also, be aware that most – if not all – of us belong to this group of manipulative people at one time or another!

a. A question disguised as a statement
    b. Making a personal statement and pretending it is someone else’s
    c. Guilt trips
    d. Confrontational statements
    e. The “silent treatment”
    f. The “no way out” question
    g. Lies & propaganda

Check the site later….

6. @ David
    That’s true, in a way. But why does the conversation to do with the satisfation of corporate interests first, in a hope that some crumbs will fall after corporate welfare is continually rendered? Are you not tried of this bullshit? This same dog and pony show has been perpetuated on Bajans for decades as all the macro indicators continued to go from bad to worse. The truth is that no elites nowhere can exist unless on the backs of the masses. That the stinking BLP/DLP regimes continue to go along with these ransom demands from the tourism elites tell us that they too should be blindfoled, taken out back and be dispense with.

7. @Bush Tea
    And a dead duck at that. Continuing your analogy, the phrase lipstick on a pig best describes the current gov’t “health” plan to restore Barbados to its former self. But, as you say, no amount of cosmetic surgery can overcome the terminal debt tumor that has metastasized into an inoperable condition, nor can a tummy tuck overcome the bloated belly arrogance exhibited by the 3 Stooges (good one @DD), and the only option left will be Dr. IMF swooping in to the amputation capitol of the world to begin the necessary surgery required to sustain what little quality of life remains.

8. @Pacha

Barbadians on the ground are not ready yet for the conversation about reform.

9. Bush Tea and ComeHere

Well said to both.

You are sounding like the wise ole men – Wiley Coyote and PODRYR

10. @ david
    If not now, when?

11. When speaking as a native of Barbados I say NO to your captioned matter dealing with concession.
    We don’t need help.
    We actually do have all it takes to turn our economies around, and in my view, we are the cause of our own problems. We have consistently elect incompetent, corrupt and outright incompetent people into leadership, and expect that they will deliver us from our our problems. We define every important decision on the bases of our ethnic roots and we generally believe the west and secondly the east has all the cures for our problems ignoring the obvious fact that they too have their own interests. Developed countries did not need “help”- yes, they used resources gained from other nations, but more so, what they took from others they invested in their own. We on the other hand have every opportunity to learn from todays “west”and “east.”
    Nothing stops us from taking our young brains out there to gain from the advances in science and technology developed in the west and pick what will work best for us, to import appropriate technology that’ll turn around our agriculture, improve energy production, financial infractures and other social-structures that will propel our citizens and economies out of poverty. Barbados remains rich and has very highly educated people- we just need to wake up and start treating this Island as if it were our own, rather than wait for yet another imvestor to come and discover us.

So the question is, how come, after many years of so called independence from colonial rule, how come so many are so poor? Where is the dignity and pride we like to associate our heritage with? Is there something peculiar about us that we really can’t do better than be silent every time a different opinion is raised? For how long shall we remain dim witted, blaming our plight on others and forever seeking sacor from those we believe are brighter than us rather than find the strength & courage to fix our own problems. Problems will remain problems without timely solution.

12. @Pacha

When the roof starts to burn?

13. You wonder who lite the fireworks indoors…

14. @ David
    The whole house is burning, no?

15. @Pacha

It is all relative. Let us agree we have a systemic problem to solve and further, a government reliant on being popular is never motivated to be draconian. The situation playing out is analagous to CEO’s of companies expected to always deliver profits in the short term when they know long term strategies are also required that may erode profits.

16. Ever so often we hear other people calling for the erection of a cruise ship pier/jetty/terminal Barbados’ second “city”, Speightstown. Over the last few weeks we have been inundated with the CBC’s programme / documentary, ‘Speightstown, Lost Treasure.’ The picture,portrayed in this presentation does no justice to the virtual rot and decay that pervades this once beautiful community. It has to be eye balled to be head -shaked . The beautiful trellis and plants which were part of the esplanade , when it was refurbished some years ago, is a sorry sight, with the flora, still clinging in death, to the rotting and unmaintained woodwork.
    As a tourist attraction , it is surely lacking . Where is our sense of pride? And some day you will hear some myopic, full -of -shit politician, talking about making Speighstown a World Heritage Site.

17. @ David
    The issue is not about being draconian. Black people have had it rough since slavery in Barbados. The point is that the ‘community of interests’ is to get what they want all the time on the pretext that in so doing there would be of benefits for the rest of us ‘on the ground’. This is a bald faced lie. And everybody knows it but yet the country has to be mobilized around a lie.

18. This time White messianism will not save yuh, not this time.

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ LifeChanger +

Your comment “For how long shall we remain dim witted, blaming our plight on others and forever seeking succour from those we believe are brighter than us rather than find the strength & courage to fix our own problems…”

It is a mental thing, self confidence, self actuation, resilience of spirit the antipode of mental inertia.

It cannot be transferred unless as an indirect consequence of something else, i.e. if you want Bajans to move, let there be rain, or a fire out of control, or a car dat the brakes pop out and it is hurtling towards the sidewalk where they are.

Or by force of guns pointed at our heads…

Somebody pray fuh we as a notion and we cant get the “larga bless” off uh we soul cases at all.

20. This article sounds a lot like the same old conservatives in its criticisms of the Democratic party. Indeed accusing Democrats of demanding infanticide seems pretty much like the crazy right that I have grown up with throughout my life.

It’s nice to know that even though things do reform, they never really change in the concealing spiral of our political aids.

“Strike up the Band with another tune.”

We gather then – the 4 for $10 life span isn’t on the agenda.
    Suppose the Banks don’t know how much they are worth anyway.

21. I would suggest we take a more pragmatic approach and not set ourselves up for disappointment yet again. The Bajan political/judicial system is both complicated and convoluted, totally different than, say, ancient Israel where the right king could bring about a national transformation, especially over the course of his lifelong reign. Here we have two major parties (at least), often at war with each, often fighting for what is politically expedient rather than what is best for the country, sometimes internally divided as well. And then there is the ever-present “good old boy” syndrome, with its coalitions and deals and favors. We would be naïve to think that one charmed leader will be able to overcome all this in the short period of time he or she serves as prime minister.

22. @Pacha

Is it about managing change. The issue of what is just doesn’t change the fact change has to be manage some how.

23. key questions that the change you should answer are helpful in determining the likelihood that a major change will succeed or fail, although change suppose to be a good thing ( more efficiency ) as I have previously stated- Most are born with site, bit few are born with true vision asks this from you – is the “vision” different, better and more compelling? Are the leaders of Barbados personally committed to the change? Does the organization – The BU and its aids -have the capacity to make the change? How ingrained is the current culture of Bajans ?And will the change actually deliver the identified transparent outcomes to the nation? If you are a minister are you just flexing your arrogance ? Or do you intend to do nothing in the face of your impunity?

I think people are noticing the length of your brown tongue round your Buddies.

Oh and how will these concessions affect 4 for $10 at my local rum shop?

No rush, these answers may be taxing to your work load.

24. pacha u were slamming well …although i would not be so quick to throw out the baby with the bathe,,but most of your comments are sound .

25. but how does one manage change,,,,surely not by repeating the same old drum beat and expecting better results,,,,,,,

26. Barbados June Tourist Visits by Country

By Rafael Gayol Aug 26, 2014 6:38 PM GMT

Barbados tourist visits rose 1.3% in June from the same time last year, according to the Barbados Statistical Service in Bridgetown.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-08-26/barbados-june-tourist-visits-by-country-table-.html

27. The prople in charge of tourism dont seem to realize that a poor North American economy means that the so called tourist dont have travel or spending money. Another factor is very high prices, cruise ship passengers wait until they get to other southern caribbean islands if they have any money to spend. These people are mainly average working folk who use their credit cards and save for a long time to make these trips. Look at the ecomomic conditions in Europe and NA. you cant fill the rooms you have now. No More Debt for a sinking industry.

28. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

If you can’t see fraud and Ponzi schemes here… you aren’t looking!

http://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2014/08/25/newly-revealed
    report-details-harlequin-resorts-due-diligence-disaster/

I can see that BFP is learning the ways of PLANTATION DEEDS

29. David does the new BTMI have a website?

Does the BTPA have a website ?

Will the overseas offices keep the name Barbados Tourism Authority ?

When will the BTA website be changed ?

http://www.visitbarbados.org/about-barbados-tourism.aspx

30. @Hants

Outgoing Chairman of the BTA Elcock stated the name of the new CEO will be announced shortly. Let us hope all questions will be answered at that time. In the private sector if there is a rebrand/restructure as you know (like Massy) there is a drop dead date where everything falls into a slot and you go full steam ahead. So far the rebrand seems to be focussed on the legislative and HR bits. BUT BU maybe wrong.

31. David, while June 2014 figures are encouraging, please remember they are based on June 2013 which recorded the lowest long stay visitor arrival numbers for 11 consecutive years and that June 2013 was down 8.1 per cent against June 2012.

I have also heard that the new CEO of the BTM Inc., will not be announced until October.

32. David I hope they don’t repeat a previous massive mistake.

33. Caribbean Lover Avatar

“We have a company that is called Island Routes that sells the attraction out there.

Butch is correct. With Island Routes, a Jamaican company, no local tour operator dare come close to Sandals. For example, at the Grande in St.Lucia, there are notices all along the beach and in the hotel itself telling customers to avoid the local tour operators who come around trying to sell excursions as it might not be safe; while his Jamaican Island Routes have a desk in the lobby and gets all the business.
    How on earth can a Jamaican company know St.Lucia better than local St.Lucians? I don’t know.
    Another thing is the transfer from the airport. No Local taxis because Sandals provide a hotel bus.
    And instead of allowing Sandals visitors to mingle with the locals at the Friday Night Jumpup to support the local economy, Butch started his own Friday Night Jumpup at Sandals La Toc. I could go on and on; but time does not permit. Sandals is a wolf in sheep’s clothing.

34. “Power is nothing without control ”
    If Sandals wants its guests to enjoy his experience then visitors must use recommend facility’s.

Just follow the money to its final destination… Very little will reach the Bajan’s that need it.

35. @Hants

Note, the message and not…!

Ready to go

The Barbados Tourism Marketing Incorporation (BTMI) is now a reality and interim president and chief executive officer Petra Roach says the organisation, which will operate as a private sector entity, is already in top gear and ready to market the island. The BTMI began operations yesterday, replacing the Barbados Tourism Authority (BTA). The other entity which will join the BTMI in taking over the mandate of the BTA – the Barbados Tourism Product Authority (BTPA) – will come into effect as of September 1. That will remain a statutory corporation with the merging of employees from the Ministry of Tourism and some former BTA workers. With increased airlift and some major events to be hosted in Barbados, Roach told Barbados TODAY the BTMI was being proactive in its approach by identifying the right overseas partners in order to get more tourists to the island and tap into more niche ma …

36. The person who writes for fools is always sure of a large audience.
    While those who will not reason, are bigots, those who cannot, are fools, and those who dare not, are slaves.
    Hence everyone David, follows the “piper.”

37. Difference of opinion is advantageous in religion. The several sects perform the office of a Censor morum over each other. Is uniformity attainable? Millions of innocent men, women, and children, since the introduction of Christianity, have been burnt, tortured, fined, imprisoned; yet we have not advanced one inch towards uniformity. What has been the effect of coercion? To make one half the world fools, and the other half hypocrites. To support roguery and error all over the earth. Let us reflect that it is inhabited by a thousand millions of people. That these profess probably a thousand different systems of religion. That ours is but one of that thousand. That if there be but one right, and ours that one, we should wish to see the 999 wandering sects gathered into the fold of truth. But against such a majority we cannot effect this by force. Reason and persuasion are the only practicable instruments. To make way for these, free enquiry must be indulged; and how can we wish others to indulge it while we refuse it ourselves?

I suppose 2 for $5 is out of the question then in St Lawrence Gap, buddy.

38. David I will read the message after I have thoroughly enjoyed the eye candy.lol

39. Caribbean Lover | August 27, 2014 at 11:29 AM |

“Another thing is the transfer from the airport. No Local taxis because Sandals provide a hotel bus. And instead of allowing Sandals visitors to mingle with the locals at the Friday Night Jumpup to support the local economy, Butch started his own Friday Night Jumpup at Sandals La Toc.”

If your comments are true, then what does Barbados have to gain by having a Sandals here with its all inclusive model? Sandals St. Lucia has a number of restaurants and bars ranging from a pizzeria, Italian, French, British, Oriental and Indian cuisine to an English styled pub, as well as discos. It is interesting to note that Appleton Estate Jamaican rum, is served at all Sandals in the Caribbean. There are also tour buses that takes guests to and from the airport and on island tours.

Ok, Sandals opens in Barbados and would obviously follow a similar all-inclusive model to that of St. Lucia. Then the hotel is successful in attracting visitors who have special desires that the hotel caters to. The main beneficiaries of this arrangement would be Butch Stewart [profits] and the MoT so he could brag about an increase in visitor arrivals.

Unfortunately, the airport taxi men, tour bus operators, restaurants, bars, night clubs, water-sports operators, beach vendors, vendors selling fish, chicken and local delicacies would be at a disadvantage, because Butch will probably provide these things in his hotel or create an environment where he can subliminally inform tourist that local foods, etc is not as “classy” as what he has to offer.
    How does this model help the Barbadian economy? Will Butch seeks to create his own versions of the Oistins Friday night lime or Martin’s Bay fish limes in his hotel? Will Butch buy local foods, or will he introduce cuisine that will require food to be imported?

Perhaps it would be best if Butch and the MoT would be a bit more transparent with Barbadians so as to give us an idea of the benefits to be derived from the giving of all those generous concessions.

40. @Artax

The benefit is suppose to be global read Butch flexing his marketing muscle given his strong global brand.

41. David I sent you a confidential message.

42. Although its a bit late crying over spilled milk, to coin a fraze the Bajan / Brand image has not to be created, but is automatically formed. The brand image includes products’ appeal, ease of use, functionality, fame, and overall value. Brand image is actually brand content and in this case the Barbados image. When the consumers purchase the product, a Holiday in Barbados, they are also purchasing it’s image. Brand image is the objective and mental feedback of the consumers when they purchase a product. Positive brand image is exceeding the customers expectations. Positive brand image enhances the goodwill and brand value of an organization or relative in this case caribbean Island.

To sum up, “Brand image” is the customer’s net extract from the brand.
    The factored financial management of “surplus” product (cash) and where it filters out has yet to be seen, transparently or in action.

“Everything man made can be manipulated.”

43. @ Artax
    “….How does this model help the Barbadian economy….?
    You and David would do well to keep these things simple – it would all make sense…..all this talk bout “industry” and “all inclusive” only serves to confuse the issue….

Look….
    There was once a beautiful well endowed young lady, born to hard working plantation parents. They called her Ms. Independent Barbados…. AKA Bim….
    …talk bout chick was sweet…. Fuh days den….!!

Obviously she attracted the attention of the international well-to-do, and soon became the “go to” lady for R & R for movie stars, presidents, superstar athletes etc…especially Canadians… 🙂
    ..Life was SWEET….money was no problem….
    ..There was no need for stress…loans and grants were for the taking…

What productivity and agriculture what!?!?
    ..sweat and effort were things of the past
    ..only the best from “over and away” was fuh we…

As Ms Bim reached 40, she noticed a change….
    -the rich no longer so generous
    – other younger and prettier ladies challenging for the “clients”
    – falling sales

Bringing in Sandals is just our attempt to use some imported bait to keep our brothel relevant…
    …Wuh the only other alternative would be to learn some productive, creative skills which allowed us to produce some product or services that others wanted because of their QUALITY….
    We can’t have THAT can we….?!?!

…so all inclusive or not, we have to go with Sandals…..

44. Bushie if we started with a target to become 90% self sufficient in food production/food security/forex substitution we could employ a bariffle a young people.

45. “If”
    If my auntie had bollocks she would be my uncle…

If the ” old buddies club” recycled all
    the BULLSHITE they have debated in and out the “office” and put these simple matters to a vote, then the tired caption matter would have been decided already. Bit late shutting the gate once the horse has bolted..?!?

46. @ Hants
    IF …..we could come up with ANY sane national strategy and systematically commit our minds, resources, efforts and time to it…. We could employ a bariffle ah young AND OLD people.

Agriculture
    Fisheries
    High tech manufacturing
    Wellness tourism (clean, pure healthy living experiences)
    Banking and finance…

Practically ANY strategy can be made to work..with skill and talent..
    ….but NOTHING will succeed with brass bowls, cause where ignorence is bliss, it is folly to be wise….

MUCH EASIER to wait for the various, increasingly questionable, “johns” to turn up with their “offers”…and then see what some of us can skim off the top by way of legal fees, bribes, tips, and lubrication….

Bowls…….

47. Caribbean Lover

You are right on.

Sandals is a wolf in sheep’s clothing.

The MOF, MOT and BTA, heap praises on Butch for increasing the airlift

There there is no doubt that Butch’s “marketing might” and negotiating prowess will ensure that he has the airlift needed by Sandals – he probably already has has 560 seats per week allocated to Sandals by the airlines from January 15, 2015. But will the seats allocated to Sandals be additional seats, or will they simply be blocked off from others? Air Canada, Westjet, AA and others are unlikely to put on extra flights or use larger aircraft because Butch needs 100 seats a day (split among them) to service Sandals Barbados (which would have been used for guests of Couples). So if Sandals is simply eating into existing airlift, that will simply reduce the number of seats available to potential guests of the other hotels.

DD wonders if MOF, MOT, BTA,BTMI et al have thought this through.

48. the Sandals ‘Barbados website is breathtaking,,so far deserving of every concession butch got,,wish the same could be said of other hoteliers who have basked in the sun and royalty of concessions over the years, to no avail..,,,,make no bones about it, butch has done an excellent job so far in appealing to,,and captivating, most likely a newer and a more youthful and vibrant tourist to our shores,,,,the website speaks loudly to that aspect,,,,,,ching ching,,,,

49. “We are trying to bring incremental business to that island and not capitalise on the business that’s there,” he stated.
    CEO adam stewart emphasied
    Although the hotel in Barbados has not yet been opened, the Sandals Foundation has already started its outreach in the country. According to Stewart, the Foundation has supported three projects there already, spending over US$50,000. This include the fencing of the Dover field and the building of a computer lab at a basic school. Since 2009, the Foundation has raised US$16.9 million, 100 per cent of which is spent in the Caribbean, Stewart said.
    “There is no company in this region of the Caribbean that trains, develops and wants to see our people get to the next level. It is our duty; we have gotten to this stage and we want to share in this success,” he stated.

name any one business sector in barbados that has said words to such effect or have had the vision to put forward( as) an important goal in the lending to the overall growth and development of barbados,,,,

50. We always veer from the point. Adrian is suggesting in this blog that the concessions promised by government will not help the hospitality sector so late in the game. Remember the government agreed to give the concession and Butch Stewart agreed there should be a level playing field. Before the coming of Sandals the conversation was about transparency with the transaction.

Why we always have to politicize is amazing. Yes we will disagree on the how sometimes but do so based on a cogent position.