Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge

Even if the repeatedly broken promises confirming that all registered hotels will qualify for the same concessions given to Sandals last year came into practical effect this week, it is now far too late for the vast majority of properties to make any meaningful use of them this year, at least in terms of major upgrading. Whether it was Government’s honest intention or not, Sandals look like they will re-open with an enhanced quality product advantage in late January 2015 that virtually every other hotel cannot hope to compete with.

Again, it’s important to repeat that like most other tourism businesses we welcome the group’s arrival and in the long term hope that it will drive additional investment and upgrading on a level playing field. Despite the continued speculation about added airlift, it simply will not happen until the Beaches property is hopefully completed in a yet indeterminate number of years from now. The short term reality is that we have lost a potential 25,000 airline seats in the interim reconstruction period. That would not have happened if the former Casuarina/Couples hotel had remained open. Only time will tell if punishing around 5,000 rooms, while rewarding just 280 will prove to be a sustainable long term solution to the overall industry challenges.

In hindsight it’s perhaps easy to see how this situation developed. The trappings of a private corporate jet, a luxury yacht, well oiled and orchestrated publicity machine with seemingly impressive amounts of money running into tens of millions being mentioned almost every day. It was a tantalising and perhaps almost impossible option to resist in the current economic climate. When you look across the state of our entire tourism industry perhaps the closest comparison can be made with Rome burning while Nero played the fiddle in A.D. 64. 70 percent of the ‘eternal’ city was destroyed, but it enabled the Emperor to re-build the capital in a style that he preferred. Of course someone had to be blamed and Nero chose the Christians who were ruthlessly rounded up, tortured and killed. Perhaps in a modern day context those victims should be more fairly compared with the disadvantaged ‘other hoteliers’.

I wonder how many other industry observers cracked a wry smile when the Minister of Finance was reported as saying ‘we (seem to) live in an instant coffee society: everybody wants everything done now’.  Using the same analogy clearly the ‘espresso’ concessions extracted by Mr. Stewart escaped the beverage scenario. So without, what could amount to additional reinvestment in the entire remaining accommodation sector, we are yet another year away from upgrading existing plant. Personally I cannot understand why our policymakers while recognising they cannot provide ‘instant’ solutions but seriously expect us to.

The danger lurks that yet further tour operators will withdraw more programmes from Barbados, while transferring them to lower cost destinations to meet the more realistic expectations of their clients. It’s a perfectly natural progression. You go where your source of business can obtain the best value-for-money with the least possible financial risk.

141 responses to “Sandals Concessions Too Late to Make a Difference to Tourism Industry!”

1. […] Sandals Concessions Too Late to Make a Difference to Tourism Industry! […]

2. @ Adrian

“Christians who were ruthlessly rounded up, tortured and killed”

Substitute Politicians for the Christians in the above comment and Barbados is on their way to a CURE.

3. A certain future coalitional government of Barbados and of which the PDC will be part shall help to usher in a post-TAXATION society for Barbados, where in, et al, the government of the people of this country shall have to respect the remuneration rights of the relevant people, businesses and other entities in this country, and shall not any longer TAX, or otherwise stated steal rob, countless portions of the relevant incomes, revenues and transfers of the relevant persons, businesses and other entities in this country.

4. A certain future coalitional government of this country and of which the PDC will be part shall help to make sure that there is a financial revolution in the financial commercial systems of Barbados.

Hence, among other things, there will be the Abolition of ALL Interest Rates in the financial systems of this country.

Under such a government, therefore, NO money banks, so-called credit unions, finance houses etc will be allowed to charge or bestow interest to any financial accounts of any persons, businesses or any other entities in this country.

It is complete madness for any money banks, so-called credit unions, finance houses etc. in this country to be purporting that money costs money or money makes money – when they go about agreeing with the relevant parties on their charging interest from the remunerations of the same relevant parties, or when they go about agreeing with the relevant parties on bestowing interest to the remunerations of the same relevant parties.

These interest rate regimes are one of the fundamental reasons why the actual cost of use of money in this country has over time been skyrocketing, and why they have been always helping provide dire consequences for the proper functioning of the financial and commercial systems of this country.

Therefore, interest dealing establishments must be made to get incomes or revenues (represented by money) from the relevant others, with their (the former) having provided – at whatever times and within the context of the same contracts – commercial products or services to the same others.

By doing so these establishment shall – on those bases – further strengthen the financial commercial affairs of Barbados and by extension enhance the prospects for the greater holistic development of this country.

5. In the August 23, 2014, edition of Barbados Today there was an article titled “It’s the Mix” at http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/08/23/its-the-mix/

In the article, Gordon Butch Stewart, extols the benefits that local restaurants. bars and other businesses will receive from the guests of Sandals Barbados.

“I want people to come here and get more than they expected when they are spending their money . . . . People will leave this hotel, probably a hundred a day for attractions outside of the hotel. It happens everywhere.

“We have a company that is called Island Routes that sells the attraction out there. So our job is to bring the visitors to Barbados and then get them out so they can taste the country, taste the flavour, the different food and [interact with] the different people.

“I can guarantee you that when this hotel opens, you go down the road [in] the bars and the restaurants [and] you will see Sandals people in there,” Stewart added.”

After being virtually invisible for over a year from the Canadian (Toronto at least) newspaper Travel sections, Barbados’ name has finally reappeared. Not a BTA ad – it is the first ad (I have seen) for Sandals Barbados, a half page in the August 23, 2014 Globe Travel section of The Globe and Mail. .
    Here is a summary of the copy,

THE SANDALS DESTINATION YOU’VE BEEN WAITING FOR

BARBADOS

WHERE EXCLUSIVE IS ALWAYS INCLUSIVE

BARBADOS’ ONLY FIVE-STAR LUXURY INCLUDED RESORT

Welcome to the new Sandals Barbados — the most exclusive Sandals resort ever created in a premier destination that’s always been a favourite among jet-setters. Now Sandals Barbados brings five star luxury to this chick playground with the finest of everything included. Unlimited land and water sports, including scuba diving*. Dining at 11 outstanding restaurants, Premium drinks served all day and all night. And beautifully appointed suites with spacious patios and balconies featuring Tranquility Soaking Tubs with privacy curtains – a new Sandals signature. The new Sandals Barbados. Distinctively chick. Decidedly luxurious. Unmistakably Sandals.

Opening January 2015.

EXCLUSIVE OFFER
    BOOK NOW AND RECEIVE UP TO A $1,000 AIRFARE CREDIT

PLUS SAVE UP TO 60% ON RESORT ACCOMMODATION.

DD is sceptical about Butch’s pitch.

When there are 11 restaurants at Sandals where their meals are included; how many of the Sandals guests will be dining at nearby restaurants, When premium drinks are served at Sandals all day and all night; how many will be going to the neighborhood bars. When unlimited land and water sports, including scuba diving* are included, how many Sandals guests will be venturing off the property to visit other attractions.

Butch said “People will leave this hotel, probably a hundred a day for attractions outside of the hotel”. 280 rooms – with two to a room = 560 guests. If 100 leave, there are 460 who do not leave.

For those who are Butch Believers, DD suggests they read WILD COOT: What is the gain? at:

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/wild-coot-what-is-the-gain/#156345

To quote WILD COOT “The jury is out with respect to the net benefits to be attributed to the Sandals arrangement – maybe in 2037 our grandchildren will benefit.”

6. BARBADOS tourism ad is in a Canadian national newspaper. both dead tree and online.

http://www.westjet.com/vacations/en/deals/SANDSavings/index.shtml?i_cid=wvi-wvihome-vactile2-vdeal-SANDSavings_20140807-20140814

7. What star is Adrian’s premises should be more appropriate.

We had this befoe….

Are Davids blogs getting worse.

The role of the ” Blog Master ” is to make things clearer for those at home but, after David’s expert comments on F1, I was more confused than any of us. In the background there were trying to debate ” Hamilton’s collision” in the Belgium race. These expert comments By David and clearly his Buddy presumably know that Hamilton is under contract until 2016 @ approx £1 million a week with endorsements.

So what is happening? Is David really getting worse? Blog suggests people certainly think. He seems to cater for his buddy’s a lot. While people are suppose to be working, the site is busy and yesterday. He placed only selective “spin.”

The captive audience really makes a social difference to a captioned matters.

David please up your game.

What star do people rate the country..???

8. Hants

Beyonce looked (and sang) great; BUT Jennifer Lopez Looked Amazing in Shimmering Silver at the VMAs”

9. DD is Sandals a proven product or not?.

10. @Due Diligence ,

J Lo is looking good for a 45 year old.

11. Hants

Absolutely

Is Butch a bully?

12. Hants

Disregard the bully comment.

Should have said Did the Three Stooges, Stuart Sinkler and Sealy, give away the farm?

13. The hotels in Barbados asked for a level playing field (concessions) and now they have got them they are complaining it is too late.

Barbados is a Capitalist country so there will be buying, selling, restructuring and bankruptcy.

I am sure some hotel owners have already stashed their retirement cash in the safety of overseas investments but some are brave enough to ride the storm and smart enough to devise ways to feed off the advertising crumbs from the Sandals table.

Just so you know. Every Bajan who gets a job at Sandals don’t give a puck about the politics or leveling of the playing field or the shiite we write on BU.

14. Hants,

again total misinformation. Please list ALL the hotels who you state have received the same concession.

1) Sandals

2)……..

3)……..

4)……

5)……

15. Sorry Adrian. Let me rephrase.

When the hotels get the same concessions as Sandals they will say it is too late.

16. For those who have refuse to accept the fact that Sandals is a well managed product it is about time you all abandoned your scandalous approach in trying to undo the Sandals product that is well accepted and recognize world wide.makes me wonder if this deal was done by the blp govt if the same crticisms being leveled at sandals would be heard..i wager a bet such would not be heard.

17. @Hants

Hotels refurbish in August and September, to give the concessions so late would have to be construed as deliberate or the outcome of an inefficient decisionmaking system.

18. David I prefer “the outcome of an inefficient decision making system.”

19. I am still asking my self why the BTA chairman waited 3 years to articulate his “Vision”.

20. @Hants

Some of us are asking why it has taken 4 years to rollout the Tourism Masterplan.

21. @David as you well know everything in Barbados takes time. Slow and steady like a turtle going to lay eggs.

22. no matter when the hotels get the concession. very few would have put it to good use,,the truth is that the concession hijackers have being manipulating the system on for years with more demand of the taxpayers money,.next year this same time the same ole tune of .”It wasn’t enough would be heard all over again..

23. the govt strategy to withhold was a good one, for it will ensure that the hotels would have very little wiggle room to squander,,

24. Are hotel operators asking for concessions which would make the cost of doing business cheaper or are they asking for hand outs from Government? Is it beyond the capacity of Government to monitor any concessions granted so as to make sure that the stated purposes for the concessions are adhered to?

25. Thousands of young people are hoping to enter the job market. They do not have any wiggle room!

26. Minister ac

Your government’s strategy is clearly a prudent one – coming from the gang that drives Benzs and Beemers.

27. @Ping Pong

The sector has asked for a level playing field a la Sandals. Many of the hotels refurbish at this time, the cocessions will ease their cashflow which has taken a beating in the last 5 years. The tourism numbers can support if they have been having a tough time or not, confirmed also by outgoing chairman Elcock.

28. wait are u jealous that a black man can drive a luxury car,,have u ever seen what other govt officials in other countries drive… by the way chauffeur driven too ,,and yes the same hoteliers that asking for every level playing field drive luxury cars,,u think any of them gonna give up there benz in preference to refurbishing their hotel,,,,,,, u think so,,,,,

the long process to withhold the concessions was an intent ..one that has served a real purpose,,,,,,if these hoteliers had received these concessions in spring going into summer … u can bet yuh last dollar some of them would have used the resources for personal pleasure or investment in other areas then would have had the gumption to go back shamelessly with cup in hand after taxpayers money ,,,,now that window and temptation to play fast and loose with tax payers money has been slammed shut and the only alternative is to swim up stream…. u get it,,,, good strategy,,,,..

29. Bajans are being told they have to pay more for university, solid waste disposal and soon for health care BUT the Government can propose tax concessions for Crop Over bands!

I believe I understand the hoteliers position. I pray that AC is NOT representative of Government officials’ thinking.

30. pray all u want,, what u need to understand that other concessions have been giving over the years to no avail,,this is not FS or Chris sinckler money,,this is the taxpayers money,,maybe next year u ping pong can ask govt to propose a bill that at any time some of these hoteliers need money to refurbish ,the govt must hand over readily,,,u are the same guys that are always talking about accountability,,but only when it serves your purpose,,

31. I shall continue to pray. By the way, the only purpose I seek is that all Bajans of goodwill be able to live in peace, material sufficiency and happiness.

32. @Ping Pong

Ac has nothing to do with government.

33. @ David
    “Ac has nothing to do with government”
    …so what is a DLP yardfowl if not related to government….?
    Skippa, ac is the backbone of this government…. 🙂

34. @Bush Tea

Directly was the meaning.

35. Interesting read.

Op-Ed: Is the Caribbean Tourism Industry Looking Up?

August 23, 2014 | 6:01 am | Print

Op-Ed: Is the Caribbean Tourism Industry Looking Up?

By S Brian Samuel

Op-Ed Contributor

By now, most (but not all) Caribbean countries have submitted their first half 2014 tourism statistics to the Caribbean Tourism Organization (CTO). It makes for some interesting reading. Overall, the Caribbean recorded a weighted average growth rate of 5.2 percent in visitor arrivals during the first half of 2014 (some countries reported shorter periods, but all included the bulk of the winter tourist season). This sector performance reads like my old school report cards: Good – but could do better! Cruise ship arrivals also increased, but at a lower rate of 4.6 percent.

http://www.caribjournal.com/2014/08/23/op-ed-is-the-caribbean-tourism-industry-looking-up/

36. What type of an industry perpetually begs for corporate welfare and could never tell anybody when these government hand outs will be no longer necessary?

37. We like to say we have a tourism industry, the reverse was always true.

38. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

No one likes to do the Math . just long talking and singing bad deals for the people

39. Con – sessions…..,,

Adrian – David –anyone…. Are you really sorting 6 for $10 at the rum shops?

Or does that mean 2 for $10 in the bars in St Lawrence Gap?

Let me know anyone no rush…

In the mean time …,,
    Six for ten vote now…….

40. @Pacha

All the sectors in the economy are subsidized or benefit from tax breaks. For example, the offshore sectors attract a rate of 1 to 2% to lure captives to our domicile.

41. the fact is that this sector should be held up to scrutiny ,especially when taxpayers money is given to them …..more than any other sector… a called for accountability from hoteliers is missing and one that is necessary,,,,,the taxpayers have a right to know ,how and where their money is being spent by these hoteliers..

42. The bottomline is this, both political parties have publicly committed to supporting tourism. The difference between the two is that the DLP has been very inefficient in implementing announced policy. The tourism master plan, 10 point plan, implementation of the restructure of the BTA etc. The word that comes to mind is clueless.

43. No clue less – timeless.
    According to the facts agreed to here –

http://www.caribbean360.com/news/cto-carpha-agree-plan-to-ensure-sustainability-of-caribbean-tourism.

The Island new we had to upgrade the country years ago. To what and when by seems to be Barbados’s “Futures” question, along with some action on in depth reports on what’s being done.

Instead of pissing down everyone’s back and telling them its raining…
    All day everyday …..

44. @ David
    The offshore set is just that. From inception it was based and can only be based on a low or no tax regime. Tourism is and was completely different. Or are you now say that the country is to subsidize the travel of foreigners on par with the off shore sector. If you are, this represents a significant departure from the norm.

In your jibe at the DLP you seem to forget the BLP too has a history of being in power in Barbados. Some may persuasively argue that that history is not much different in its fleclessness than this lot.

45. sector

46. @Pacha

Until we dismantle the current economic model we have to subsidize it to compete with all the others who are doing it.

47. @ David
    If it walks like a duck, quacks like a duck, has webbed feet and shits all over the yard……it is a duck.

We are talking about national prostitution – pure and simple.

It is very lucrative when the mademoiselle is young, unspoiled and beautiful…
    ..but after 50 odd years yuh have to lower yuh standards…
    ..after you have been exploited and knocked around you NEED to give concessions….
    …and even expensive plastic surgery by Sandals will not be enough to restore our youthful attractions….

A nations development should be built on the productivity, creativity, innovation and persistence of its people….not on pandering to the lust of rich foreigners by bending over to accommodate their warped fantasies……

The end result of such a development policy is well documented.. ..just check in Nelson Street, Bush Hill etc

48. Don,t get it twisted David no one is disputing the fact that the tourism sector should be subsidize especially in a high competitive carribbean market and it being a real source for the economy..however a reality that is a sore point and cause for concern is after billions of dollars given …how much of a return ..not necessarily in dollars have this. econmy profit given the huge sums they have received over the years..understandably the sector needs support however one cannot overlook the fact of an anemic dispostion from some hoteliers to produce..yet expect to continue to feed from the taxpayers troff

49. ac | August 26, 2014 at 6:23 AM |

“the fact is that this sector should be held up to scrutiny ,especially when taxpayers money is given to them …..more than any other sector… a called for accountability from hoteliers is missing and one that is necessary,,,,,the taxpayers have a right to know ,how and where their money is being spent by these hoteliers..”

Surely you must agree that this same “taxpayers’ money” has been entrusted to this DLP administration to spend on our behalf. Hence, you should make a similar call for accountability from government, especially against the background that transparency and accountability seems not to be an important priority for them.

It appears as though the DLP cannot do anything wrong for you. But, this is your M. O….. blame others…… praise the DLP. You are blaming the hoteliers for the lack of a vibrant tourism industry, instead of the lack of innovative policies by an inept MoT. Over one year ago, [in July 2013] MoT Sealy announced a “tourism point plan”, can you tell the BU household the progress or the success of these plans?

What puzzles me is plan #10: “The Government of Barbados is engaging a variety of multilateral and private partners for the construction of a new hotel plant in Barbados and the re-building and re-opening of a number of derelict properties.”
    So far, Barbadians have witnessed the government purchasing Almond Beach Village to refurbish it and “put it back into operation in the shortest time possible time”, as well as acquiring the Sam Lord’s Castle property. After all the criticism leveled at the GEMS project, why would this government want to enter into a similar arrangement?
    Based on government’s failure in tourism so far, what makes them think they will be successful managing hotels this time around?

Are you just being downright naïve due to your unwavering support of the DLP, or are you paid to be their “voice” to push their propaganda on BU?