Submitted by Douglas
Sandals given concessions
Sandals given concessions by government

In October 2013 this Democratic Labour Party administration made public, by way of a Ministerial Statement, the details of the two memoranda of Understanding signed with Sandals Resorts International for the development of two Sandals properties in Barbados. There is no one that would argue that the signing of those MOUs have helped to rescue and bring new life to Barbados’ tourism product. We eagerly await the reopening of the Sandals Casuarina during the coming winter tourist season.

The idea of that MOU stuck in the craw of the Barbados Labour Party. For 14 years they were unable to convince Sandals to develop the Paradise Property in Barbados. The DLP administration was able to get Sandals to develop not one but two properties in Barbados. To say that the BLP did not like the idea of these MOUs is a major understatement. They found every fault possible and accused the government of selling out to sandals.

The members of the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association also placed pressure on the government to fulfil their promise to make similar concessions offered to Sandals available to other hoteliers. Today, this Democratic Labour Party administration can say that they have delivered on their promise.

With the passage of the amendment to the Tourism Development Act, which was recently passed by the House of Assembly and the Senate, the way has now been cleared for Hoteliers in Barbados to access major concessions. These concessions, it is hoped, would allow hoteliers to transform and upgrade their properties, improve their ratings, service delivery and position the Barbados Tourism product to reclaim its market share in the world travel market. These concessions if used wisely can go along way to stimulate growth in the Barbados Economy.

The premise behind offering the concessions was to classify the tourism industry as an export industry where taxes are placed on the output and not the inputs for the industry. This is a tremendous sacrifice for an economy which has a revenue challenge resulting in a high fiscal deficit. However, this sacrifice is viewed as being necessary given the foreign exchange earning potential of the tourism industry and its ability to drive employment and stimulate economic activity.

To ensure these concessions redound to the economic gain of Barbados, this DLP administration has taken the process a step further. Through the Ministry Commerce, MOUs were signed between the BHTA and the Barbados Manufactures Association as well as the Barbados Agricultural Society to ensure that Barbadian farmers and manufactures are given an opportunity to share in the economic pie. This will provide tremendous opportunity for growth in the manufacturing sector and in the agricultural sector in Barbados. Providing increased avenues for entrepreneurship and employment generation. At the same time, allowing Barbados to save foreign exchange by utilizing goods and services produced locally; while increasing the export potential of locally produced products.

Much has been given to the hotel sector in Barbados by way of a mini-stimulus. If they follow through and deliver they can help the Barbados economy to bounce back to record sustainable economic growth from 2015 onward. To whom much has been given, much is expected! These concessions can bring about a major transformation in the hotel sector in Barbados once the hoteliers take up the opportunity and upgrade their properties. If they develop a business culture to support and purchase Barbadian manufactured products it will also lend to increased economic activity in the country.

It is fitting to end this week’s column with a word of advice from our departed party stalwart, Tennyson Beckles, who will be laid to rest today:

“Barbados cannot get out of the present predicament unless it starts producing internationally competitive products. We cannot continue consuming more of other people’s products than what we are producing.” (Tennyson Beckles, Business Monday, October 13th, 2014).

Tennyson Beckles, retired Economist, Democratic Labour Party stalwart, former Senator. May he rest in peace.

35 responses to “Tourism Concessions”

1. “Barbados cannot get out of the present predicament unless it starts producing internationally competitive products. We cannot continue consuming more of other people’s products than what we are producing.”

First we must have high quality controls, open to criticism and be consistent. We lack discipline so we won’t be able to compete. In other words we have no frigging standards and crab mash everything and expect others to buy because it was made in Barbados.

In reality we do not have the right attitudes to work. There is no Pride and Industry. The workforce today is difficult to train many seem to suffer from ADHD.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Douglas

Answer me this: did money pass under the table to consummate this Sandals deal, and if so who were the beneficiaries?

It is reasonable to ask that question in light of Sandals behaviour in Turk and Caicos.

3. Mia Fired For A Second Time Avatar
    Mia Fired For A Second Time

Franklyn this is a DLP govt and NOT the BLP making the decisions, you loss that way back in 2008.

4. We have just relaunched the Buy Bajan appeal, under some other fancy name.
    What happens when St Lucia follow suit and advise its citizens to Buy Lucian . And Grenada, Guyana, Dominica, Jamaica, St Kitts , St Vincent and the Grenadines ,etc etc . Will each individual country still complain about not being able to sell its products to any of its neighbours ?
    There was a time when such labels as Made in England, or Made in Germany , became synonymous with quality,and encouraged universal sales.

5. Lincoln Carrington Harper Avatar
    Lincoln Carrington Harper

There’s an old politically incorrect joke that “Paddy-on-the back” was the nickname of an Irish queer. I find it a bit strange that Douglas should have made so much of the concessions given to the tourism sector without considering their serious downside, but he probably knows that a good hard slap can be used to dislodge more than the odd hairball. The comment in Appendix 3 of the Krelove/Crivelli/Gendron report that I quote below raises a number of issues relating to the award of concessions that always have been of concern to local officials. Caswell Franklyn’s question raises another important dimension involving inducements for the use of political discretion.

“Empirical evidence suggests that a country’s tax burden is not the main factor in business investment decisions. According to a survey by the World Bank 55 of firms investing internationally, national taxes rank number 11 among the top 20 important factors in determining their location decisions. Accessing markets, political stability, labor markets, and other operational costs are more important than taxes. Tax measures are poor substitutes for these key determinants of investment. In such cases, the first-best solution would be to address these underlying problems directly. Even related to the tax structure, the most important tax considerations are not necessarily the relative tax burdens of competing economies but whether the tax system is stable, predictable, and transparent. Stable tax policy is an essential feature of a competitive tax system as frequent changes create uncertainty, dissuading potential and existing investors from investing.”

In short it makes little sense to use further distortions as the antidote for illnesses that could be avoided by appropriate prophylaxis. No wonder Barbados is slipping in the stakes of business-friendly destinations.

It will be interesting to see how the authorities respond.

6. Douglas

Thank you for your totally objective and unbiased post – copied from http://www.dlpbarbados.org/site/

7. Colonel Buggy | November 7, 2014 at 11:09 PM |
    Buggy countries around the world push buy local, Barbados is not alone. Even mighty USA demands its citizens buy Made in the USA products. You mean little Barbados shouldn’t follow suit. Are you buggers really interested in this country prospering or are you in sick fashion enjoying the prolonged economic crisis. The neighboring countries you name only buy Bajan products because of CARICOM rules they don’t even buy Banks beer, Deputy,Ten Saints etc although they are available . Mind you enter any of Barbados 1500 rum shops and you see an array of beers from the same neighboring countries being consumed by Bajans to the detriment of the local brews. Of interest the many Guyanese who make Barbados their home consume only Banks although its a second cousin to their own Banks. We should take a leaf out of the Guyanese books when it comes to buying local. As Bobbi Mckay says it not only saves foreign exchange it saves jobs, You Buggy like you prefer to see Barbados lose both.

8. @DD

Douglas is a DLP spokesman on BU a la Beresford.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy | November 7, 2014 at 11:09 PM |
    “We have just relaunched the Buy Bajan appeal, under some other fancy name.”

Would that appeal include ‘Bajan Sugar’ too? Soon from now all sweet drinks and sweet ‘breads’ will be made from 100% imported sugar (like the rum and molasses) .
    The only thing left for the sugar industry is to bury it with the epitaph “RIP CLICO”.
    King Sugar is dead, long live diabetes.

10. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

Somewhere in this piece Douglas wrote “To whom much is given much is expected.”… Well hey big brother, we are well into the second term. Any idea as to when Barbadians can expect the start of delivery?

11. Well said just asking.

12. Gimmicks will not work, serious initiatives to drive behavioural change in consumers must be at the root of national initiatives. How can we ask citizens to buy local AND we continue to manage a high import bill? The movers and shakers are the importers not the manufacturers. Let us see if the government will accept the IMF recommendation I.e. We can’t continue to spend heavily on agriculture which accounts for 1.4% of GDP.

13. Please note the ‘just waiting’ who commented here is not the same as the other on Sick Healthcare. This one is the yardfowl waiting.

14. David wrote “We can’t continue to spend heavily on agriculture which accounts for 1.4% of GDP.

What about food security?

15. David “the importers not the manufacturers.”

The status quo will not change unless Barbados Importers have no forex to buy goods.

16. @Hants

It is what the IMF people are recommending and one the BLP for sure and by the decisions of the government buy into. Estwick needs to resign or shut the hell up.

17. David the problem for Barbados is that it has NO NATURAL RESOURCES and must import every raw material except sand.

A transition from importer to manufacturer is not easy.

It cold as shiite but I gine fishing. I is a canadianised Bajan. lol

18. The DEM’s can post these stupid articles all they want. But the people know the truth and are feeling it everyday. Sandals can’t save a country! In fact up North (where I am) all the advertising dollars of Barbados like they now been given to Sandals. All the ads for Sandals in Barbados now have big Barbados (New Logo I Guess) plastered all over them – that means that the dollars been given to Sandals for the Ads by our BTA – What the a$$ we doing providing marketing dollars for a meg corporation to advertising their own product? We should be using our own dollars to advertise our own Country. Where is the pride in this Government in Barbados right now – it is a sorry day. If they want to help tourism then give the dollars to the BHTA who I am sure will spend it better than the Government doing right now and you would be supporting Bajans.. at least.

19. @ David
    “…Estwick needs to resign or shut the hell up.”
    …OR?…… you mean AND……

After that UAE put down by Fumble and Stinkliar, and now the scuttling of his Japanese sugar scheme it is clear that the doc, while remaining Bushie’s second favourite political shiite-talker (after Lammie “onions” Craig) is nothing but a loud mouthed waste….something like John Boyce.
    …they BOTH should BOTH resign AND STFU….. (France 🙂 )

20. Lincoln Carrington Harper Avatar

“The movers and shakers are the importers not the manufacturers. Let us see if the government will accept the IMF recommendation I.e. We can’t continue to spend heavily on agriculture which accountS for 1.4% of GDP.”

I feel that much of the emphasis on “buying local” is misplaced. Jingoism cannot be supported by economic reality. Economic nationalism can have consequences which few citizens are prepared to bear. Anyone who had the misfortune of being required to visit Guyana in the 1970s and 1980s on a regular basis can understand the effects of misplaced policies.

I may have misunderstood your comment about government spending on agriculture, but I cannot find any recommendation in the KCG report that would disadvantage agriculture. While I agree that some of the statements seem to indicate a bias against agriculture, the calculations in the report show that concessions to the agricultural sector account for around 1% of the total. Here there seems to be a clear case that while there is a raft of concessions and support for agriculture on the books these do not compensate for the structural problems that impede agricultural production.

21. @LCH

Sure we can disagree on how to interpret the IMF’s observation about agricultural sector contribution to GDP Vis a Vis concessions etc but your point about jingoism must be challenged in the context that any sector needs a strong domestic consumer base to allow build at the margins.

22. It seems that to some “buy bajan” is translated to buying food.how about the other areas of manufacturing in clothing and furniture that are part of the barbadian landscape those areas are neglected in terms of spending by the bajan populace

23. @LCH

Given our import and export profile it is impossible for aggregate domestic spend to make a significant dent in the import bill in the short term. How do you see an effective short and medium term strategy given the current state?

24. @Just Asking
    You Buggy like you prefer to see Barbados lose both.
    …………………………………………………………………………….
    One of Errol Barrow’s fears, was that Caricom would become a Who will buy my white sand, and who will buy my grey sand,market.

25. Lincoln Carrington Harper Avatar

“Given our import and export profile it is impossible for aggregate domestic spend to make a significant dent in the import bill in the short term. How do you see an effective short and medium term strategy given the current state?”

I’m afraid that I do not have a short answer to your question, David. It is evident that the GoB’s first priority is to maintain and protect the current currency peg, and this involves the use of rather blunt instruments to curb import demand. Unfortunately much of the action taken can be deflationary. This suggests that we need to take a hard look at the structural policies that should be implemented in the short and medium term.

Sorry that I can’t be more precise at this time.

26. As Bobbi Mckay says it not only saves foreign exchange it saves jobs,
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Buy Local Save foreign exchange and save jobs.
    Tell that to LIME ,Massy and BL&P (Emera) and others who rake in millions of dollars selling their services to Bajans ,and we have seen many layoffs at those companies, with LIME being the most affected. And to add insult to injury, I passed by Sheraton Centre a day last week, and observed on my left a team of LIME workers, from Europe,and on my right a two-man team possibly from Asia.

27. @LCH

Thanks and agree Barbados finds itself in a very bad situation.

It begs the question if by defending the peg at all cost which has had the effect of dampening economic activity something bad has to happen. The fact that as a country key stakeholders continue to snarl across the divide fueling dwindling confidence has only made for a fractious environment. We wait for the budget and the recommendations selected from the IMF menu.

28. David | November 8, 2014 at 9:23 AM |

Please note the ‘just waiting’ who commented here is not the same as the other on Sick Healthcare. This one is the yardfowl waiting.

Once you don’t support the detractors who hammer the government David and Island Gal deem you a yard fowl. From where I sit David and Island Gal are the biggest yard fowls of all. What is the issue about using multiple handles it is done on all the international blogs. David allows multiple handles once it supports his political views if they don’t he deletes or bans them.

29. @ Waiting
    ….you mean that you see no problem with a blogger using someone else’s handle to post a comment on a blog?
    …and you are complaining that the blogmaster pointed this out to everyone?
    Are you serous?
    How would you react to Bushie putting some warm lashes in Freundel’s sleeping tail ….and posting it under the handle ‘Waiting’?

30. Waaaiting you crowing too early this morning for me bosie. What the phuck yuh calling muh name for? Yuh calling me a yardfowl and yuh is a paling COCK waiting to see what yuh get get from either side of the fence. Hope yuh or yuh family won’t need an Ambulance soon.

31. We have a lot to be thankful for in our region. Let us work harder to keep it so.

BREAKING: Dozens Dead In Nigeria School Bombing Attack

PIUS UTOMI EKPEI via Getty Images

A suicide bomber disguised in school uniform detonated explosives at a high school assembly in the northeast Nigerian city of Potiskum on Monday, killing at least 48 students, according to survivors and a morgue attendant.

Read the whole story

32. Yes David, “We have a lot to be thankful for in our region.

MEXICO CITY, Nov 4 (Reuters) – Mexican police have captured a fugitive former mayor and his wife who the government says were the probable masterminds behind the abduction of 43 student teachers feared massacred in September, officials said on Tuesday.

33. Pay attention BTMI,

“The early taste of harsh winter weather that has gripped Western Canada begins its move into Ontario and Quebec today, bringing snow and frigid temperatures.

While skies will clear over Alberta and Saskatchewan on Wednesday, Edmonton and Calgary will remain frozen with forecast highs of –13 C and –14 C, respectively.”