It has been a period of uncomfortable crime and violence that has engulfed Barbados. To be expected there is finger pointing, gnashing of teeth and frustration by the public directed at the authorities. There is resignation that lawlessness has become an entrenched behaviour and the relatively quiet and orderly society that characterised Barbados society in days of yore has gone the way of the dodo.

In 2009 the blogmaster posted a number of blogs around the theme weeds were starting to shoot up on our well manicured lawns. Many commenters suggested the blogmaster was being an alarmist. In fact the same observation was levelled when BU highlighted our dysfunctional court system in the series Tales from the Courts. Sadly our leaders with the citizenry complicit because of apathy and cynicism has led to the current state of things. 

…the deviance must be tackled in the homes but guess what, we have many children who don’t live in homes. This means the government by proxy must play the role as step-father, or stepmother for that matter…

Barbados Underground (2010)

The breakdown and decline in the social fabric of Barbados society did not start ‘yesterday’. The blogmaster again recalls the hullabaloo when a decision was taken to bring Vybz Kartel and Movado to Barbados by the Barbados Youth Action Program (an organisation affiliated to government) under the chairmanship of then Minister Hamilton Lashley. It bears reminding Lashley is known as a social practitioner par excellence. These were two dancehall artists known for smutty lyrics and behaviour. Minister Ronald Jones at the time to his credit expressed displeasure at the staging of the show. Then there was the public disagreement between then Commissioner Dottin and his deputy Bertie Hinds about staging the show. This is an example to illustrate how key leaders in our small society were unable to see the obvious, a government affiliate promoting a Vybz Kartel Movado show at a time when deviant behaviour, especially by our youth, was a concerned.

The other example of double standards fast tracking the decline of the society was the so called Trojan Riddim saga – How de Yutes Get so?, a group of artists known in the music underground for pushing smutty and anti social lyrics released a video to YouTube which provoked Prime Minister Mia Mottley to demand the artists remove it. The artists ignored Mottley, however, a few weeks many of the artists were included in Barbados Labour Party (BLP) sponsored activities. Soon after government continues to contract artists who were involved, Lil Rick, Peter Ram et al.

The examples cited are representative what will inevitably occur if there is a lack of leadership. It will be supplanted by the prevailing subculture. Is it too late to stem the anti social behaviour enveloping the global space? Probably yes although the blogmaster being the eternal optimist will never say never.

Who will show us the way to the truth and the light?

225 responses to “Crime and Violence Expose Leadership Vacuum”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Speaking of CRIMES…..this man needs to be recognized for his loyalty to the people and island….it seems the only one in the Civil Service with those RARE attributes…

“Auditor General Leigh Trotman, concerned that Government ministries and departments are being delinquent in providing timely financial information to his office, wants “credible sanctions” introduced to improve the situation.

He is recommending an amendment to the Public Finance Management Act to include fines and jail time for public sector officers who do not meet requirements for providing information to the Barbados Audit Office in a timely fashion.”

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The LAWLESSNESS starts in the parliament, in the CABINET..and trickles down into every other taxpayer funded entity..

3. Too late…
    Dog done dead!!!

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Bushman…despite your YEARS OF WARNINGS…don’t know how these thought it would END..

the trickle down effect.

even Barrow knew this would happen…he knew ACTIONS…have CONSEQUENCES….he voiced what they did and saw the fallout himself….he knew, he was a big part of the problem…can’t reverse these types of crimes, they have to play out TO THE END..

it’s this generation feeling them the most though….triggered so long ago by conmen….and now it’s PAY BACK..

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights ReservedJuly 8, 2022 6:10 AM

The LAWLESSNESS starts in the parliament, in the CABINET..and trickles down into every other taxpayer funded entity.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++.

We have not had a constitutional Parliament since 2018!!

The elected members of the House of Assembly are the product of the same criminal society that produces the criminals, ie they are criminals themselves as evidenced by their actions.

But, we let it happen.

6. EWB was instrumental in the degradation.

Remember Mark Stokes?

The difference back then was that it all had to be hushed up … like Pele Parris a few years later.

Today the two of them would have been routinely executed.

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Not in Barbados..they will never execute themselves when they are ALL INVOLVED..

….. but …there is so much more that people never knew took place on the island…that should be public knowledge, when these things remain hidden FOR THIS LONG….they FESTER…

what we are witnessing is a hundred YEARS OF FESTERING…

the good news….NO MORE HUSHING UP…

8. Barbados has become a “brek fuh yuself society.”

From the minibuses to the motor cycles riding on the back wheel and everything in between, the authorities lost control of this society years ago.

Yes its true that our leaders have failed too in maintaining order in their own back yard, as is pointed out every year by the auditor general. Thing is though who holds them accountable?

The recent shootings are a concern and like everything here such as the ZR culture 20 years ago, instead of nipping it in the bud with some 25 year sentences it will be left to escalate.

You see those involved are not fools, but look on and smile at how we have lost control so they will exploit the situation no doubt.

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“instead of nipping it in the bud with some 25 year sentences it will be left to escalate.”

can’t nip anything in the bud when you use it as COVER and distraction to do as ya like….CYA of other BIGGER, LARGER CRIMES…

AND

many of them and their minority friends own the same ZRs, minibuses etc…how will they control the very thing that they own and enrich themselves from….once the money keeps coming in, they will let everything DEGRADE…and stay in that messy state..

John…just saw that Blatter and Platini were acquitted on charges of defrauding FIFA…was wondering, what about Jack…

10. @John A

The blogmaster’s theory to which he is entitled to be sure is that the lawlessness is correlated to a growing middleclass.

11. It was reported that in the corridors of the House of Parliament, a minister in a previous government is alleged to pulled a gun on another member of Parliament. Did anything ever come of that? I guess the message was sent and received as intended.

12. You mean back in the 70’s when one put a bullet in the other’s leg or is this another instance?

13. @FearPlay

That matter died or was allowed to when that session of parliament dissolved.

14. Looks like there were two!!

Funny, I remember the first from way back when.

The 2010 incident had no blood and gore.

https://barbadosunderground.net/2010/03/19/two-members-of-parliament-david-estwick-and-dale-marshall-go-at-it/

15. Truth is from what i can see the level of lawlessness in some cases how now become accepted and I will give you an example.

If you ever use the blackrock road and have to deal with the lights at the 4 cross roads that takes you to deacons from grazettes, it is common knowledge to not move off immediately when the light turns green. Why? Because 8 out of 10 times you can bet there is a ZR or minibus coming from the North that will break that light. Now this has been the case for decades, yet with a police station up the road what has been done about it?

Truth is crime without response is accepted as the norm by those who perpetrate it and that is where this society is now. Both B and D must accept responsibility for this as well.

16. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

The “WORLD” is going to “HELL” in a pancart: Fr. Japenese PM Shinzo Abe fell to the assassin’s bullet!!! The #JESUITS strike again… As usual, the suspect is 41-year-old Japanese national Tetsue Yamagami who is clearly a #JesuitSympathiser…
    https://twitter.com/RandomCassette/status/1545305178009587712

17. William Skinner Avatar

A society that continues to plant okra and expects to reap corn , will always see things not as they are but how it imagines or wants them to be.
    At the root of these problems is a cesspool of raw politics that has infected the major institutions and ministries.
    It was Orville Durant, a former Commissioner of Police, who said a few decades ago , long before the “lost decade “ , that his hands were tied.
    We were planting back then and now we are reaping.

18. You are correct William, the late AG Maurice King confirmed there were no gangs. What a thing.

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“It was Orville Durant, a former Commissioner of Police, who said a few decades ago , long before the “lost decade “ , that his hands were tied.”

it’s very well known WHY…that nastiness they ALL ENGAGED IN…must come out….time for all of them to FACE THE MUSIC they created..

“Truth is crime without response is accepted as the norm by those who perpetrate it and that is where this society is now. Both B and D must accept responsibility for this as well.”

they BOTH CAUSED IT….lots of blood and other GORE on their hands…

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…let’s hope the political groupies…..those who hang on to politicians every word and would do anything they want, no matter how CRIMINAL. sees where all of this is going….

but ya done know groupies/fowls…

21. William Skinner Avatar

Maurice King perhaps set the trend for all
    AGs who have since followed.
    I recall when there were thirty something murders under Adriel Brathwaite the Bees wanted him to resign.
    Low and behold under Dale Marshall , there were almost fifty and the Bees said: can’t blame him because “ guns don’t kill anybody, people do “ and it’s not the AG’ s fault.
    Now the Dees want Marshall to resign.
    The game goes on and on.
    Pot calling kettle black everyday.
    So send the soldiers into Brittons Hill and solve all the problems. There is only crime in St. Michael. Fix that and we can all sleep very peacefully.
    Garbage in garbage out.
    Peace

22. @William

You should be sufficiently aware to be able to understand the real issues without having to listen to politicians. Don’t refer to politicians who are in the business of a popularity contest if you want to be taken seriously.

23. Here we go. Sigh!

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“So send the soldiers into Brittons Hill and solve all the problems. There is only crime in St. Michael. Fix that and we can all sleep very peacefully.”

their CRIMUNITY partners will see to it that CRIMES continue undisturbed…and untouched.

25. The drug and gun culture in Barbados is real and it will not and cannot be addressed overnight with bandaids. We have a generation of youts who have no problem pelting shots to show who is man.

26. Jamaica and Trinidad have far worse crime and violence so we are doing fine in Barbados.

27. Yup! Here we go A-SHOOTING!

The gangs that “didn’t exist” in Maurice King’s time used to hang out in Beirut and The Red Sea.

What is it that enuff is on about? Would he have us believe that brek black boys bring in the drugs and guns? Would he have us believe that our “very competent” Police Service has no clue who is/are the money man/money men behind the drug scene on this tiny little 2×3 island where money men are few?

Would he have us believe that they are not brought to justice because…..well I cannot even think of a plausible reason besides hands being tied.

Or would he have us absolve those who fight tooth and nail for the privilege of governing the country from blame when the country isn’t properly governed?

Would he have us absolve those who had all the answers BEFORE gaining office when no answers are forthcoming after we start to pay them a salary?

Or does he wish us to accept that this is just the way it is or has to be?

Yes, yuh damn right – here we go!

28. So far, I’ve read what could only be described as ‘knee-jerk’ comments….. without any practical solutions.

How in all fairness could anyone blame a politician for an accounting officer of any ministry, SOE or quasi government organization failing to perform his/her duty of presenting financial statements by the stipulated deadline?

As it relates to the PSVs. Drivers and conductors have on occasion been fined heavily or incarcerated for breaking traffic laws, only to have decisions overturned on appeal because the fines and time of incarceration were deemed to be overly excessive.
    Recently, the former Minister of Transport, who would have brought legislation before Parliament relative to traffic laws…… first case after the 2018 general elections, was representing a PSV operator for allegedly committing a traffic offense.

Why should the Auditor General be rewarded for compiling a report based on the results of audits conducted by AUDITORS in his department, and WITHOUT taking them into consideration for any reward as well?
    After all, the financial improprieties are DISCOVERED and REPORTED upon by the auditors.

Perhaps John A may want to explain what police officers at Black Rock station could do to prevent PSV operators from ‘running the red lights’ at the junction of Deacon’s, Fairfield and Black Rock Main Roads?

WARU is correct that “many of (the politicians) and their minority friends own the same ZRs, minibuses etc.”
    Former Minister of Transport, Michael Lashley would’ve been responsible for presenting legislation to Parliament as it relates to traffic laws.
    It is also alleged Lashley owns PSVs as well.
    Ironically or coincidentally, Lashley’s first Court case after the 2018 general elections, was representing a PSV operator for allegedly committing a traffic offense.
    He has been since then ‘the go to lawyer’ for the ‘minibus and ZR men.’

29. @Dullard

Exactly, we have wiggle room as they say even if we can see what the result will be if we continue on present trajectory.

30. Artax,

In matters such as these, the practical solutions are obvious. But they can only be enforced from the top. Where there’s a will, there’s a way!

Didn’t they promise us solutions? Are they mere seat warmers, then?

These are not mere politicians. They are supposed to be LEADERS and GOVERNORS.

31. Powerless people in “power”?

32. “How in all fairness could anyone blame a politician for an accounting officer of any ministry, SOE or quasi government organization failing to perform his/her duty of presenting financial statements by the stipulated deadline?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Surely Artax jest…..

Caswell has explained at great length and in minute detail, how politicians have taken control of the Public Service, to determine who is employed, who is prompted, who is appointed, who is acting etc.
    Why does Artax think those in the private sector actually WORK, and produce results?

….because if they don’t, they are out of a damn job.

So if politicians CREATE a situation where THEY put their lackies, families and stooges in these positions, AND where these lackies are UNTOUCHABLE – even when parties change…
    …and if ACTING appointments are used to create a bunch of ‘actors’…
    ..and if anyone who DARES to do what is ‘right’ may get transferred to Crab Hill, or sent on ‘special leave’ like the Supervisor of Insurance… or even voted out of the senate like Caswell…

Who the Hell does Arty think should take the blame?… Bushie?

For YEARS we knew that this kind of violence was ENDEMIC in neighboring countries. YET Arthur was hell bent on the CSME shiite…. What does ANYONE with a little common sense expect to be the result….
    Steupssss
    What a bunch of BB politicians….

You making sport right Artax..?

33. Bush Tea

RE: “Caswell has explained at great length and in minute detail, how politicians have taken control of the Public Service, to determine who is employed, who is prompted, who is appointed, who is acting etc.”

And?????

You seem to be implying ALL accounting officers in the public sector were employed through politicians.
    And, as a result, EVERYONE of them PURPOSELY NEGLECTED to FULFILL their RESPONSIBILITIES to prepare and submit financial statements by the stipulated deadline.

“You making sport right, Bushie..?”

If I were to follow your argument, then, why is it, for example, those persons employed by the Auditor General’s Office, CONTINUE to CONSISTENTLY perform their duties, FREE OF POLITICAL INTERFERENCE, as is evidenced by the fact that they are able to report on financial improprieties discovered while conducting routine audits of government owned entities?

RE: “and if anyone who DARES to do what is ‘right’ may get transferred to Crab Hill, or sent on ‘special leave’ like the Supervisor of Insurance..”

The Auditor General and his auditors have consistently “DARED to do what is RIGHT.”
    So, why haven’t any of them been “transferred to Crab Hill?”
    Or, based on his FORTHRIGHT REPORTS, why
    HASN’T Mr. Trotman been “sent on ‘special leave’ like the Supervisor of Insurance?”

“Surely YOU jest.”

34. @ David July 8, 2022 8:00 AM
    “@FearPlay
    That matter died or was allowed to when that session of parliament dissolved.”

Blogmaster, do you see how Karma works in “mysterious ways”?

Isn’t this a perfect case of ‘reaping what you sowed’?

Wasn’t the current AG one of the players in that one-sided quick draw McGraw gun play at the Palmetto Square and which was formally reported to the CoP?

Poor Adriel must be having the last laugh at the Pitbull’s ‘Smiley’ enemy.

Who will guard the guards when the very (business) people importing the guns are some of the largest financial backers of politicians and their political campaigns?

Those hopeless poor boys from the bloc(k)s carelessly toting the guns are just the small fish in the barrel of crime and will be easily targeted by the po-po.

Ask the drug kingpin from the red sea garrison with speed-dial connections to the Godmother!

35. Is anyone listening to or watching the AG’s press conference? Thus far, a total waste of time.

We had another AG who informed the populace that they did not have to worry about drugs and escalating gun crime because the gang members and drug dealers were dishing out their own justice within their community and the rest of us could sleep peacefully.

36. @Miller

Members of the political class do not see colours, only their yardfowl supporters and gullible citizens unaware of their civic responsibility.

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Who will guard the guards when the very (business) people importing the guns are some of the largest financial backers of politicians and their political campaigns?

Those hopeless poor boys from the bloc(k)s carelessly toting the guns are just the small fish in the barrel of crime and will be easily targeted by the po-po.”

can never dispute it, not with all the evidence STILL OUT THERE from as far back as the 80s,,,they can neither run nor hide from this one….this is the END RESULT..

they did not think people would LIVE THIS LONG…to say what really went down..

38. @ Artax
    …forget it Boss…
    …the Auditor General demonstrates that ‘all is well’, and Caswell demonstrates that the Unions are on the ball.

@ FearPlay
    Have to agree with you about the waste of time….
    Imagine a political speech at this time …basically justifying political decisions and actions…. and NOTHING about a new way forward..

And the suggestion that this is not a ‘government problem’ but a ‘people problem’ to be solved…???
    WTH!!!

“Leadership” is not politics….
    ANYONE can ‘lead’ when the seas are calm…..

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

so is the AG going to tell us WHO those BEHIND the scenes funding the guns and drugs and the POVERTY that SPAWNS the crimes that’s causing all of this and the ESCALATION for the last 40 PLUS YEARS…

we don’t want the long pretty talk…either address it or it will go out there..

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

in this day and age they are still WITH THE MAMAGUYING…

41. Bush Tea

NEVER mentioned anything to IMPLY “the Auditor General demonstrates that ‘all is well’…”
    I simply used THAT Office as ONE example to indicate there are ‘flaws’ in your argument.

And, far from it “Caswell demonstrates that the Unions are on the ball.”
    But, he seems to have gone extremely quiet after nurses’ strike.

“All (cannot) be well or on the ball,” because there aren’t any perfect societies or systems.

This is what you guys do. Present absurd arguments and use ‘cop out’ comments when challenged.

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Am glad everyone saw that this is ONE BIG JOKE for them……hope when the laughing is OVER…..we don’t see tears, cause then we too will have cause to laugh…

just imagine….they KNOW who is behind the poverty, guns and drugs…

43. I am truly amazed that even a safety pin is able to evade customs inspections far less AK-47’s, Uzi’s and Glocks. Why do I say that? I have a package sitting in Customs at the GAIA for over a month and a half in customs awaiting inspection.

Now I know that the only reason it would take over 1 1/2 months for customs to clear a package is because they are meticulously inspecting every envelope, box, crate and carton for drugs, guns and ammunition. My package was shipped by Amazon and is approximately 10” square. This is the second time I’m having this experience. Last time was a November arrival and a January delivery from customs. Now here is the problem – most items out of the US have a 30 day return guarantee. When a package is delivered after two month in customs and there is a problem with the item, like the movie says “Who ya gonna call”?

Just as in the political campaigning theme of this press conference, all we hear are platitudes and plans to improve or improvements that have been made but no real change in reality.

If 39 Ministers and senior Minters all with their hands on the deck, not to mention almost 10, 000 specialist advisors under every category imaginable yet, we still “kan got dis”,

Yet government has assured business on numerous occasions that ease of doing business was and is a priority. Well let’s hope that the declaration to take guns off the streets and stamp out the drug culture bears more fruit than that barren promise of customs improvement

44. David

Few things wrong with this piece.

Firstly, you seemed to absolve Mottley and the BLP, historically, from a fair share of criticism as the DLP and their tribal members are to be tarred and feathered.

Secondly, locating yourself within a reactionary stanza cannot serve to roll back the hands of time. And you thereby join generations in the misguudance with perpetually contends that theirs was better than this one. Ignorance!

Are there not forces benefitting from the decadence you see? Advertisers, corporations and the like, should generalization of cause not be reconsidered.

And don’t we have more structural forces who represent similar levels of decadence as cited by you. We cite Charles Herbert who was. before his now checkered past, was a leading light in your eyes.

How cone his rassoul name was not called. We know not the outcome of that case but am willing to guess that it was legally kicked into the tall grass.

Your insistence that the ills of the Barbadian society have their genesis with the powerless while the people who rule the society get a pass is tiring.

45. Terence M BlackettJuly 8, 2022 8:15 AM

The “WORLD” is going to “HELL” in a pancart

It is supposed to.

Some however will change trains (or is it pancarts) before it reaches there.

46. Is that what you got from the piece Pacha? When reference is made to leadership vacuum to who are we referring?

47. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha..the PRETENSE is on…

don’t expect changes, am sure you won’t.

however, this is bigger than them….it grew into an over 40-YEAR-OLD MONSTER….and they have lost control of it..

48. Further Pacha if you follow the links in the blog there is How the Youts get so blog where the author Just Observing nails Mottley for closing schools to attend a concert at the gymnasium back in the day. And lots more: