In a week the Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados reported good quarter performance in the economy for the period January to March 2026, Barbados recorded another homicide, bringing the count for 2026 to 23. On current trajectory the blogmaster conservatively projects Barbados will record its highest number of 55 since Barbados Underground started the homicide tracker, relying on barbadoscrimeblog.com repository of data.

Barbadians have become numb to routine shootings across the 166 square mile island in recent years. This desensitisation and normalisation have become baked into the Bajan psyche. It begs the question, where will we land as a nation on current trajectory?

In 2018 when the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) won an unprecedented 30 seats, the most ardent supporter marked it down as a deserved victory given what had transpired during the so-called period of the lost decade. It repeated in 2022 and 2026 and we find ourselves in a country where an obvious constitutional crisis is not being given the required attention by its citizenry, including the media and academia.

How many times the well worn saying has been quoted in this space – “democracy is the worst form of government, except for all the others.” If our democratic system has inherent flaws, then every check and balance must operate at full strength to ensure that governance functions in practice, not merely in name. How can we feel comfortable as civic minded educated citizens if there is no ‘living’ Public Accounts Committee (PAC)to highlight just one check and balance, the last Auditor General retired in April 2025, over one year later and what? There is an environment that is fertile for opposition politics, however, we can manage only a token opposition given the feeble and mechanical dissent that prevails. If we continue to trivialise and give lip service to important matters what will be the result? The result is current state.

One group- and there are others- in our society that continues to fail given our investment in education is academia. Our culture is one that inflicts severe criticism on the political class but what about academia? By academia we mean – professors at UWI, Cave Hill; the researchers, lecturers, academic administrators, even some members of the student guild. We hear from a few but the injections of views and reviews of events occurring in society is not strident enough to resonate with a cynical and apathetic public. We are not getting the return on education (ROE) given the significant allocation to the national budget.

There must be something that continues to restrict us from solving our problems. One clear example: our inability to address the chaos in the public service sector (PSV). For over 50 years this group has been allowed to terrorise Barbados; sprout a subculture that has forced us to leave thousands of our young people behind – in the process, destabilising our small society.

The blogmaster has also become numb to what is a continuing creep towards societal decline. Do you remember when Barbados Underground highlighted indiscretions in the Barbados court system in the early 2000s, the many that accused the blogmaster of being alarmist? Do you recall when almost weekly Barbados Underground opined on the implications of not addressing our waste management system, and this was before waste was allowed to run on the streets on the South Coast. A reminder waste management is not about purchasing garbage trucks.

Barbados drifts, not because the warnings from here and elsewhere were unclear, but because the recurring of events have dulled our senses. The homicides increase, key institutions are visibly in decline, we have 3 billion dollars in foreign reserves BUT much of it borrowed, there is no oversight we can trust; the people we elect and hire to manage are asleep at the switch. Yet we have to listen to moderators, social media influencers, political scientists, some from academia et al offering empty explanations why citizens have become cynical and apathetic.

This is how a society slides, not in a single dramatic collapse, but through a steady erosion of standards that we quietly allow to normalise. What are WE doing?

76 responses to “Understanding Barbados’ societal decline amid economic growth”

1. @ David

Top shelf post with much much more that could be said.

The responses are as expected for better or for worse. Have a look at Gladwell’s Revenge of the Tipping Point.

For the Star Wars fans we are fully in the age of the Dark Side. Sad but true.

As Bushie hints, the downward cycle may be fully in motion leading to the inevitable end and the inevitable new beginning. Who knows.

Regardless though, this is where we are, this is who we are and this (or that) rock is ours.

Would be great if we used our borrowed time to genuinely and wholistically make it better, but hey, we like it so!

Peace!

Just observing

2. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

PHASE 2

3. @Observing

Sadly we are on a fast boat to nowhere.

4. @BU.David… Sadly we are on a fast boat to nowhere.

I respectuflly disagree.

We can navigate this “now”.

Just like we did during Covid.

5. @Chris

Of course we can navigate it but what will trigger the course correction? This is the problem.

6. “Well we know about the borrowing cause we got certificates in how to do that !”

@ John A

Barbados is a society in which government is expected to ‘foot the bill’ for everything.

For example, farmers believe taxpayers should compensate them whenever they lose crops as a result of excessive rainfall, while fishermen, in the absence of insurance, want their damaged boats replaced by taxpayers as well.
    I’m sure how many farmers or fishermen who actually file income tax returns or contribute to the NIS fund would surprise you.

Public transportation, garbage collection, housing, education, healthcare are all subsidised by the taxpayer, rather than allowing market forces to determine prices.

Barbados is the only regional territory where there is a fixed rate islandwide for public transportation.

Government also has to fund long-term infrastructure projects and social welfare programmes, manage economic crises created by recessions, pandemics or wars, and pay off existing local and foreign debts.

Let’s be fair. Every year, government expenditure exceeds revenue, and I’m sure you’re aware Barbados does not have any natural resources, such as diamond, gold, bauxite or oil, and depends primarily on a fickle tourism industry.

‘To make matters worse,’ immigration legislation has been drafted to ensure nationals from the other Caribbean territories enjoy those ‘amenities’ as well, by allowing them to apply and obtain citizenship after living here for 6 months.

As a ‘one door shop keeper,’ you should know this is ‘financially unsustainable.’

Under those circumstances, what are government’s options to fund providing and maintaining those services, other than raising taxes or “borrowing and begging?”

Ironically, we have the same people who are advocating for NIS to pay non-contributory pensions to those persons who have never contributed to the NIS fund, accusing government of “begging and borrowing.”

7. Move on up.

8. @ Hants

Is the real or nominal gdp ? But then again who give a shit?

9. @ Artax

I hear you and here are a few suggestions.

Stop writing off $500 million in Vat as uncollectable and improved your collection process. In other words don’t wait till people owe nuff act when their payment faultered initually. Secondly wunna should of given that debt to the private collection agencies to let them see what they could collect. 80 cents on every dollar they would of collected would of reached the treasury.

Tighten up customs so that the wash of stuff coming in here under invoiced paying little duty to no duty stops.

Try and keep way from things like Carifesta where you budget $3.5M and spend $35M don’t happen again.

Shut down Hope fast and let small private contractors tender while appointing independant non fowl Quantity Surveyors to monitor the projects and sign off on payments.

Shut CBC and consolidate channel 8 into the GIS.

Create a vehicle impound for all vehicles found with no insurance. Charge $100 a day as an impound fee ALONG with the relevant fine for driving without insurance. Make all road traffic breaches a ticketable offence paid withing 48 hours at any police station, with the exception of accidents which include bodily harm or death. This would ease the traffic court and bring in serious cashflow.

Make it mandatory that no boat or fishing boat license will be renewed without proof of insurance. Give the coast guard powers to stop and check ALL powered vessels for this, including Jet Skis and Ski boats. You got boats selling over $200 thousand dollars in fish a year and then coming to me to help to fix their boat!

Finally stop running A welfare state where everything is given away for the dam vote. You were given 3 wins at 30 to 0 what you frighten to lose? The freeness needs to end as its being supported by excessive borrowing. The country also needs to tighten all of its collection agencies and stop the wastage and overruns that have now become standard finance practice.

Right I done fuh now.

10. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

IS IT SOMETHING IN THE WATER OR NOT*

11. @ John A

‘Well said.’

I agree with you 1,000%.

12. @John A: “Create a vehicle impound for all vehicles found with no insurance.

To share… Last Sunday I went to Pricemart to collect an order. It took 45 minutes because there was a “system problem”; the order was lost and so someone had to pick up our items.

While I was pacing around, I noticed a moterbike in the space.

No plates. Probably no insurance. Probably an employee.

Low hanging fruit for enforcement.

13. @ Artax

Thanks, the solutions are out there and to be honest not that hard to implement.

Take the flyover issue. The leaders quick to say we need flyovers. Well we know flyovers here will be expensive cause they got nuff steal in them. But look at when we made the comment about traffic, it was when every road connecting the North to South were ALL being repaired at the same time. Before we consider even a flyover poster on a wall, get all your road repairs, potlholes, BWA “gutters” left after repairs etc. sorted. Get the 30% of uninsured vehicles off the road and park them in the impound facility as well. That should ease traffic flow a bit and put a few $$$ in the treasury. From there look at all the T junctions with build up and install a left turn lane on them. No reason to get in a long tail line turning right if you could turn left in a dedicated left turn lane.

Now how does the highway flow? Well you come down the road sailing then you have to stop at EVERY roundabout to give traffic coming from the right the road. Take one roundabout at a time and increase it to 4 lanes and not 2. This means you have a left lane for those turning left, 2 lanes for keeping straight and an inside right lane for turning right. That way the 2 middle lanes flow steady all the time. You then enter the highway as you do say at the Belle with entry lanes going both ways. It works all over the UK why would here be different? This would be way cheaper than flyovers, less ugly and safer for all involved. You better also put cameras on ALL these roundabouts with a 7 day 24 hour record setting. That way any accident would be seen once the date and time of the accident is noted. You could also report ALL the PSVs who would break the lane rules, after all dat is dem culture so to do.

I mean if as a one door shop keeper up in the bush in St Farlip I can see this just from driving on the road, you mean the big brain people in the air conditioned government vehicles don’t see it? They must be sitting too high in the seat, they need to borrow my teenage Toyota that lower to the ground for a few days and see what I see.

I guess it easier to think big than think smart, especially when it ain’t their money dem spending!

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

I don’t pay attention as I used to…..but what exactly are these three Bills from the House last October?

An Act to grant an additional sum of money out of the Consolidated Fund
    and to appropriate the same for the services of the Island for the Financial Year
    ended 31st March, 2023.
    WHEREAS the sum of money granted out of the Consolidated Fund by the
    Appropriation Act, 2022 for the services of the Island for the Financial Year
    ended 31st March, 2023 has proved insufficient to meet the demands for such
    services;
    Dated October 30 2025
    Supplementary grant of $540,126,199

and to appropriate the same for the services of the Island for the Financial Year
    that ended 31st March, 2024.
    Appropriation Act, 2023 for the services of the Island for the Financial Year
    that ended 31st March, 2024 has proved insufficient to meet the demands for
    such services;
    Dated October 30 2025
    Supplementary grant of $343,429,903

that ended 31st March, 2025.
    Appropriation Act, 2024 for the services of the Island for the Financial Year
    that ended 31st March, 2025 has proved insufficient to meet the demands for
    such services;
    Dated October 30 2025
    Supplementary grant of $730,938,983

15. @NO

What can we say except these bills show continued wonton spending by this government of gullible taxpayers money. Who gives a shit?

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

Ask War General?
    When I suggested some time back, unaudited numbers produced in government documents were not worth a shit, and furthermore they didn’t “add up”; some were offended.
    I gather $1.5billion over 3 years is a “minor variance”.
    As you stated correctly, who gives a shit?

17. @NO

They give a shit about if the wife will share the video?

18. @ Northern

Well if practically all state entities have not been able to submit audited financials to central government what you expect?

The annual exercise of a budget is no more that one big “guestimate.” The persons running the state entities don’t have a clue what money they need to function, hence the constant need for additional draw downs during the financial year. Even issues as basic as receivables I guarantee have a large component of bad debt in them being carried forward. An audit would age those receivables and write off what is deemed as uncollectable. So take ALL the entities practicing this style of business and multiply the gross effect of this at state level.

But it don’t stop there no sir. Add to that the “Carifestas” where overruns are standard and do not run not into a percentage of the budget, but a multiple of what was budgeted. When that happens there is no formal enquiry either, you just move on smartly with that being the cost of a big party.

When all the above happens and our books don’t balance but have a large deficit what do we do then? We run hard to the IMF and say “Boss give muh a few dollars to see muh tru.”

19. The notion that taxpayers anywhere have any money has long died.

Only those unwilling to face current realities still harbour such public ownership concepts.

It’s long been clear that any and all things of value are effectively owned and controlled by the elites everywhere. Even if a taxpayer currently possesses a thing, transfer by way of government intermediation, is a growing threat.

Was the raiding of the NNIS not been proof certain? Has anybody even attempted to reimburst that once public fund? And has this systematic destruction of the public welfare state not repeated itself over and over again?

The elites running end-stage capitalism believe that all the currencies belong to them, to be use for their interests.

In these circumstances, ordinary taxpayers are the equivalent of serfs paying tribute to the landlord simple to be!

It’s the law of the jungle. The strong take whatever they want, and the poor must bear what they must, sic.

20. @ NO

My gestimate would be for the SOEs that needed additional funding at end of financial year ( TB, QEH AND BWA )

21. “The persons running the state entities don’t have a clue what money they need to function, hence the constant need for additional draw downs during the financial year.”

@ John A

Your above comment is not entirely true.

I’m sure you’re aware that ‘estimating revenue and expenditure,’ is simply an ‘estimate.’

There are several reasons why some SOE prepare supplementary estimates. For example, Draft Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure are prepared by all departments and SOEs within each ministry, which are explained and discussed at the ministerial level.

Sometimes recommendations are made to ‘cut the budget’ by the minister and P.S.

Further cuts are recommended when the accountants and heads of departments meet with the finance minister.
    The Estimates are then prepared and debated in Parliament.

A SOE, for example, may incur unforeseen expenses as a result of the Board of Directors making certain decisions that affect expenditure.
    I recall the Board of a certain SOE decided to employ the services of a private accounting firm, owned by a member of the particular political party that ‘was in power’ at that time, to provide accounting and auditing services for $3,000 per month and $50,000 per year respectively.

Additionally, the minister may send some people from his/her constituency for jobs that were not originally included in the budget for personal or other personal emoluments and NIS expense.

Obviously, such decisions would require supplemental votes.

It seems as though government operates within a culture that, ‘the money isn’t ours, so we could spend it how we feel like.’

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

@John2
    I can agree entirely with your terminology…”guesstimate”. We are all in the same sinking dory.

the most recent addendum to expenses is here
    https://www.barbadosparliament.com/uploads/bill_resolution/786ceec2de7860d96972282fc63a3f98.pdf
    Let’s remember, these are NOT, Total Expenses, rather those expenses not already accounted for, additional expenses.
    And you are correct
    Sub-programme 0527 – Transport Board (Subsidy) 19,154,094
    Sub-programme 0378 – Procurement for QEH (EIB) 17,238,578
    Sub-programme 0375 – Queen Elizabeth Hospital 68,785,604
    Sub-programme 0542 – Barbados Water Authority 8,000,000

Some of the larger line entries are
    Sub-programme 0347 – Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. 83,613,112
    ub-programme 0462 – Barbados Investment and Development
    Corporation 24,078,392
    Sub-programme 0311 – GovTech Barbados Ltd. 17,000,000
    Sub-programme 7156 – General Management and
    Coordination Services 21,401,526
    Sub-programme 0428 – National Assistance Board 23,355,300
    Sub-programme 0372 – Sanitation Service Authority 35,157,422
    Sub-programme 0636 – Barbados Agricultural Development
    Marketing Company 17,400,000
    Sub-programme 0178 – Incentives and Other Subsidies 12,027,319
    Sub-programme 0142 – National Insurance Department 55,000,000
    Sub-programme 0432 – National Sports Council 15,000,000

and my personal favourite
    Sub-programme 0022 – Contingencies 53,271,701
    (appreciate Contigencies is a Budgeting term, once actualized they are no longer contingent)
    And there is another $30,000,000 in various Educational related expenses

Soooo….it is very broad. Almost as if somebody stopped counting after 9 months, and these are the last 3 months which were accidentally omitted.

The prior year? Anybody who reads BU monthly will not be surprised…

Sub-programme 0637 – Barbados Agricultural Management
    Company 43,398,989
    Sub-programme 0454 – National Petroleum Corporation (NPC) 18,605,092
    Sub-programme 0533 – National Housing Corporation 14,496,847
    Sub-programme 0527 – Transport Board (Subsidy) 24,138,894
    ub-programme 0542 – Barbados Water Authority 17,024,161
    Sub-programme 0511 – Highway Construction and
    Maintenance Services 30,000,000
    Sub-programme 0347 – Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. 33,500,000

And 23-24

Sub-programme 0347 – Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. 86,500,000
    PROGRAMME 070 – CABINET SECRETARIAT
    Sub-programme 7020 – General Management and
    Coordination Services 12,046,633
    Sub-programme 0012 – Special Payment of Personal Emoluments 56,984,342
    Sub-programme 0427 – Welfare Department 16,700,001
    Sub-programme 0636 – Barbados Agricultural Management
    Company 23,587,250
    Sub-programme 0533 – National Housing Corporation 27,977,753
    etc etc
    Appreciate, these EXTRA expenses, now NEGATE all those surpluses?

How could they miss ALL these expenses in prior years?

23. @ Northern

I find what you have published deliberately embarrassing. LOL

Artax you too bad! Employment of political friends not budgeted for. But wait how a man could qoute 3 thousand dollars a month or fifty thousand a year and be taken seriously. Dem numbers don’t tally.

Sadly though as it is I can only say that based on the Carifesta accounting there is little change and adherance coming our way soon.

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

@johnA
    I did not publish one shite. That is copy and paste. You could call it Well Well?

It was actually published on the Barbados Parliament website late in 2025. It has been in the public domain for many months. But alas, I haven’t been reading it. As the chair emeritus of the BUI @enuff constantly reminds us, info is within the public domain but it is neither sought nor read. I was guilty of that.

25. @ Northen

100% for a ball well bowled sir! Don’t mind Enuf may come here and called it wide or a no ball. Lol