Crime and Violence Expose Leadership Vacuum

It has been a period of uncomfortable crime and violence that has engulfed Barbados. To be expected there is finger pointing, gnashing of teeth and frustration by the public directed at the authorities. There is resignation that lawlessness has become an entrenched behaviour and the relatively quiet and orderly society that characterised Barbados society in days of yore has gone the way of the dodo.

In 2009 the blogmaster posted a number of blogs around the theme weeds were starting to shoot up on our well manicured lawns. Many commenters suggested the blogmaster was being an alarmist. In fact the same observation was levelled when BU highlighted our dysfunctional court system in the series Tales from the Courts. Sadly our leaders with the citizenry complicit because of apathy and cynicism has led to the current state of things. 

…the deviance must be tackled in the homes but guess what, we have many children who don’t live in homes. This means the government by proxy must play the role as step-father, or stepmother for that matter…

Barbados Underground (2010)

The breakdown and decline in the social fabric of Barbados society did not start ‘yesterday’. The blogmaster again recalls the hullabaloo when a decision was taken to bring Vybz Kartel and Movado to Barbados by the Barbados Youth Action Program (an organisation affiliated to government) under the chairmanship of then Minister Hamilton Lashley. It bears reminding Lashley is known as a social practitioner par excellence. These were two dancehall artists known for smutty lyrics and behaviour. Minister Ronald Jones at the time to his credit expressed displeasure at the staging of the show. Then there was the public disagreement between then Commissioner Dottin and his deputy Bertie Hinds about staging the show. This is an example to illustrate how key leaders in our small society were unable to see the obvious, a government affiliate promoting a Vybz Kartel Movado show at a time when deviant behaviour, especially by our youth, was a concerned.

The other example of double standards fast tracking the decline of the society was the so called Trojan Riddim saga – How de Yutes Get so?, a group of artists known in the music underground for pushing smutty and anti social lyrics released a video to YouTube which provoked Prime Minister Mia Mottley to demand the artists remove it. The artists ignored Mottley, however, a few weeks many of the artists were included in Barbados Labour Party (BLP) sponsored activities. Soon after government continues to contract artists who were involved, Lil Rick, Peter Ram et al.

The examples cited are representative what will inevitably occur if there is a lack of leadership. It will be supplanted by the prevailing subculture. Is it too late to stem the anti social behaviour enveloping the global space? Probably yes although the blogmaster being the eternal optimist will never say never.

Who will show us the way to the truth and the light?

225 thoughts on “Crime and Violence Expose Leadership Vacuum

1. Tour de horizon!

Dey looking for the wrong kind of “leadership” in the wrong places.

A brigade is 3 to 5 thousand “men”, in Siversh alone, Ukraine has lost 30 percent of a brigade in a single day. Sixteen hundred men.

Is there no mercy in Western capitals? The jails are being opened and inmates are being sent to the front lines.

Ukraine is being destroyed in a lost cause. The cause of White supremacy!

What type of misleadership is this. Why not send Abraham et al to the front as well since there’s no interest by these school boys in the tectonic shifts rocking the world.

The propaganda war, long given up by the mainstream presstitutes, is barely alive as Mother Russia is winning on all fronts, every battle on anf off the lines of engagement. Whether diplomatic, military, economic, propaganda, public opinion, political. All victories for Russia and defeats for the West!

Where are their cowardice apologists here?

https://youtu.be/QZMRcimqQk0

https://youtu.be/xKOSASN01cs

2. “Where are their cowardice apologists here?”

you done these are TALK ONLY, if a fire cracker goes off they will RUN and leave the blog…never to be seen again…..

.they only got mout fah weeeeeeee…lol

3. US told: Help region fight gun crimes
    American congresswoman calls on government to curb pipeline of weapons to the Caribbean
    By Tony Best
    Afederal lawmaker in Washington who grew up in predominantly West Indian immigrant homes and neighbourhoods in Brooklyn wants Washington to do more to help the island nations and coastal Caribbean states crack down on the flood of illegal guns in the region.
    Congresswoman Yvette Clarke, who represents New York’s Ninth Congressional District in the US House of Representatives, has welcomed announced plans of New York City’s Mayor Eric Adams to link arms with the English, French, Creole and Spanish-speaking in a battle against gun trafficking in countries that range from Jamaica, Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana to The Bahamas and their neighbours in the rest of the Caribbean archipelago of island-nations and coastal states.
    Common sense
    “We are fighting to get common sense gun laws enacted in the United States and while we are dealing with the carnage in our (US) streets, we have to deal with the carnage in the Western Hemisphere (caused by) American made guns finding their way into an illicit international trade that can overwhelm very fragile economies and social and civic environments in the Caribbean,” the federal elected official said.
    “We [in the US] have a responsibility not only to press for stricter gun laws [at home] but the enforcement of gun trafficking laws that would curb the illicit trade in guns taking place in the Caribbean,” she said. “I would love to work with the mayor on this. It is really an international phenomenon. Once you go into international waters it becomes a federal [government] issue. There is a role for our Federal Bureau of Investigations, the CIA [Central Intelligence Agency] and the Department of Homeland Security in making sure that we go after” those masterminds of the illicit gun trade which can foster “destabilisation “of the Caribbean.
    The help Clarke has in mind ranges from the training of police officers, sharing intelligence about gun trafficking and assisting the islands and coastal states in the enforcement of international gun laws and providing “resources” to fight the scourge.
    “There is no doubt in my mind that the resources the US can bring to bear are tremendous,” the Congresswoman said during a recent conversation with the Sunday Sun.
    Speaking at last month’s
    reception to celebrate
    Caribbean Heritage Month across the US, Adams said his administration was “fighting hard to stop this oversaturation and fixation with guns” because the bullets were not only killing victims in New York but also in Jamaica’s Montego Bay, Barbados, St Vincent and Trinidad. “They are the same weapons” being fired in the five boroughs of New York City, asserted the mayor.
    “We want to open up a relationship with the Caribbean community. The problems you are fighting back home, many of them are being fed by this country [US],” insisted the mayor, who until his mayoral election victory last November was Brooklyn’s Borough President. “Gun violence that is born here (in America) finds its way to Trinidad, Jamaica, Haiti, St Vincent [and] Barbados. Those are the same guns [seen in New York]. We are talking about ending gun violence.”
    Battling upsurge
    For its part, New York City itself is battling an upsurge in gun violence, which it traces to what is being called the “iron pipelines”, the trafficking in handguns made in such southern states as Georgia, North Carolina, Virginia and Florida and then trafficked along Interstate-95 highway system ending up in New York, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Connecticut.
    Clarke has decried the gun trade, saying it is profitable for manufacturers.
    The elected official is facing a Republican political opponent in the US mid-term Congressional election in five months’ time.
    Tens of thousands of Barbadians, Vincentians, Grenadians, Haitians and other West Indians live work, study, worship and vote in Clarke’s electoral district and are considered a key base of political support.

4. Govt slammed on gun violence
    By John Boyce
    johnboyce@nationnews.com

A psychologist has chastised Government for its approach to gun violence in Barbados.
    Dr Anthony Cummins, principal psychologist of the Centre For Influence and Solutions Inc., said while all hands must be on deck to combat the increasing number of shootings, there must be a more calculated effort on the part of Government to resolve the issue.
    “In the midst of all of the killings, we have had one single message from the Attorney General [Dale Marshall] talking about the situation,” Cummins said prior to Marshall’s press conference at Government Headquarters
    on Friday.
    The Attorney General, speaking to the last Sunday Sun in relation to the shootings, had stated: “The fact of the matter is that there is a criminal element out there who are intent on doing each other harm without recognising that they are retarding the society in a very serious way. It is early days yet, the investigation into these offences is ongoing, but I can assure the public that the Barbados Police Service is on the job to keep our streets safe.”
    However, Cummins said more could be done.
    “Though we welcome his voice, Government has all of the resources at its disposal to help. Our Prime Minister [Mia Amor Mottley] has several advisors and consultants on debt, the economy, almost everything, but with men dying like this, they should have some advisors who can speak to them about this and get to the root cause,” he said.
    He added that it was not difficult to reach the men in the society since during the heat of the COVID-19 pandemic, Government reached “the whole of Barbados” with hampers.
    Citing the last General Election as another example of reaching people, he said canvassers “knocked on every door”, and Government could do the same thing.
    “If you look at the statistics that they are showing us from as far back as 2018, you would understand, according to the statistics that they release, what the Commissioner of Police [Richard Boyce] is saying,” he said.
    In an effort to curb gun violence, Boyce also announced that the Barbados Police Service and the Barbados Defence Force would team up as one means of tackling the brazen shootings.
    But Cummins said: “It is not enough to say that you are now going to work with the soldiers and police to try to curb this situation. These men need help . . . not just jail,” he said.

5. Sociopaths and capitalists
    The most dangerous person in any society is the person who feels that they have no stake in it. The man or woman who does not feel like he belongs to the society, who feels like the society does not care about them, will not care about protecting or defending the society. They will burn it to the ground if given the chance.
    When a large number of people feel like they have no stake in the society, because that society does not or cannot provide for them, the society is in trouble. But things are even worse when even those who are reasonably well off fail to recognise that the society is their responsibility and also fail to take seriously their stake in it.
    When we think about the dangerous citizen who has no stake in the society we may automatically think about a poor person. Often a young man with a gun. Think some more. There is an extremely dangerous category of man or woman who we do not think about in this way. This is the rich person who only has a stake in a society is to the extent that they can exploit it.
    This person also does not care about protecting the society, only extracting from it.
    A rich person who has no genuine stake in society is just as, or more dangerous than a poor one, because they may have more influence and resources. They contribute to creating the conditions which widen the wealth gap and increase social instability.
    These are the people who import firearms, buy politicians and policy and engage in other destructive activities to extract exorbitant profits.
    The idea of a responsibility to society and others in it is demonised. To some people ‘socialism’ is a dirty word.
    But, an enlightened capitalist is also an enlightened socialist. He or she understands that their success stands on the foundation of a stable society.
    A integral part of their capitalist strategy is investing back into the society which provides for their success. Unfortunately, the ideology that is promoted today is a sociopathic form of capitalism which says that a capitalist’s only responsibility is to capital accumulation and profit.
    Society could fend for itself.
    For us in the Caribbean this has been our reality from the beginning.
    The Caribbean was born in a situation where European capitalists saw these islands and the majority of its inhabitants as targets for exploitation. This situation changed somewhat with the independence movement and the rise of black governments with socialist leanings.
    However, the seductive lure of a sociopathic capitalism coupled with the persistent exploitative mindset and structure of the plantation is strong. Everybody wants to be a massa.
    We are struggling under the weight of a culture which promotes capital accumulation and money, as the only value. Predictably we see the rise of dangerous, sociopathic men and women from among the poor who feel like they have little opportunity to make it across the wealth gap by legal capital accumulation and hence feel like they have little stake in the society.
    But, do we recognise how this situation has been created by dangerous sociopathic men and women from among the upper echelons whose mindset is that their only stake in society is to take from society? Do we realise that this mindset has become prevalent across all demographics today? The rapper 50 Cent was reflecting the spirit of the age when he made popular the motto, “Get rich or die trying”. But in the Caribbean it has long been, “Get rich and suck the society dry in the process.”

Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email: adriangreen14 @gmail.com.

6. David

Perhaps John Boyce may have omitted pertinent information from his article to probably be within the confines of allotted column space, but, based on what I have read, Dr Anthony Cummins’ comments on how ‘government’ should ‘tackle’ gun crimes were vague and simplistic.
    Other than essentially saying ‘government’ “should have some advisors who can speak to them about this and get to the root cause,” what are his solutions?

What purpose does former Police Commissioner Darwin Dottin serve in his role as a consultant to the Attorney General’s Office or the Police Service?
    How best could the Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit’s resources be utilized, in developing a strategy based on its research and statistics?

Barbados is a relatively small society, where, as the ‘saying’ goes, ‘everybody knows everybody.’
    As such, gathering information and intelligence is not such a difficult task.
    You would be surprised to know that some people ‘duz talk nuff’ and are often willing to ‘volunteer information.’

But, the reality is, there are some ‘criminal networks’ that enjoy certain benefits and a level of protection.

Remember the Brazilian ‘drug man,’ Antonio Pain, who, under mysterious circumstances, escaped from Glendairy Prison?

There was a ‘prostitution ring’ in Barbados, comprising members of certain law enforcement agencies and involving women from certain South American countries.
    Those women were informed in advance, when immigration and police would be conducting raids of brothels or ‘clubs’ in Nelson Street, surrounding districts…… or elsewhere. They would remain at home on that particular night to avoid being caught and deported.

Reminds me of another case involving a Syrian (or Lebanese), named Dib El Habib (the last name subject to correction) and a former police/immigration officer, who were arrested and charged for possession of ‘fake’ passports and a large quantity of cocaine, after a successful sting operation on a popular beach.
    Dib owned two restaurants in Bridgetown. He was subsequently found guilty as charged and sentenced to life imprisonment.

The problem is, we DO NOT want to have a SERIOUS DISCUSSION about crime.

• @Artax

We know the root of the problem. We have a system that is designed to frustrate the prosecution of ‘certain’ people in society and the media is largely complicit.

7. Oh hell! Even Brother Artax the numbers man has better words than I do.

“The problem is that, we DO NOT want to have a SERIOUS DISCUSSION about crime.”

NAILED IT!

And dah is why we got skin Teets for an AG.

• The blogmaster was very disappointed to observe the levity that was injected into the press conference given the weight of the problem being faced by the country. We must do better.

8. Last week on BU, I highlighted the terrible homicide rates in Barbados and the Caribbean region. I made the point that Barbados has twice the homicide rate as the gun toting USA. Somehow Dub 555 was unable to get his head around this point. The homicide rate is the ratio between a set number, normally 100,000 and the average number of homicides committed in a country’s total population.

Artax’s, above contribution is excellent. There is a clear correlation with serious crime on the island perpetuated by our minority communities who have enrolled a cadre of black enablers to facilitate their misdemeanours which have spawned corruption and organised crime.

Added to the above, we cannot ignore the rampant role played by government since independence to disenfranchise the African population whilst enabling the minority communities to generate their wealth.

There will never be a serious debate on crime in Barbados due to the shared relationship between government and criminal minority/mafia organisations. Our governments are in far too deep to offer solutions because their hands are tied. Their solution is to focus on the young black males toting their weapons. I hope that these same guns are not pointed in the direction of our politicians.

The sterling efforts of our Sri Lankan comrades is a reminder to Barbadians as to how they should get the ball rolling.

https://www.worldatlas.com/articles/murder-rates-by-country.html

9. Is port St. Charles allowed to police itself
    If so then why ?
    Never once throughout the many press conferences and social media mouthing by the AG has a concerned of probability and possibilities be brought to the table of concerns by the local media
    It is as if port St. Charles does not lie under the jurisdiction that governs state law when it comes to criminal activity
    Yet one constantly hear that the poor people cannot have the large amounts of excess to guns and drugs
    But when it comes to any question of the asking about PortSt.Charles the hands off approach is accepted

• Don’t recall you being so concerned when the scanners at the Port were out of order for years?

10. People should watch Narcos series about Drug Cartels to learn about who really owns the Cities and their Police and Politicians and runs all the businesses and has the population as informers.

11. Similarly to any port of entry in Barbados, police, immigration and customs officers are stationed at Port St. Charles.

12. ArtaxJuly 10, 2022 8:29 AM

Similarly to any port of entry in Barbados, police, immigration and customs officers are stationed at Port St. Charles
    Xxcc
    The same can be said at the Bridgetown Port and sea Port
    Yet…questions are being asked
    Not enough to state what might be transpiring at Port St. CHARLES
    More transparency and accountability as to effort and govt control should be opened to public scrutiny

13. DavidJuly 10, 2022 8:31 AM

Don’t recall you being so concerned when the scanners at the Port were out of order for years
    Xxc
    Is that your final answer
    Maybe you are in the early stages of Alzhemiers
    BTW crime continues to escalate and no stone should be left unturned to get to the bottom of this issue
    Selfish interest breeds crime

14. Never once throughout the many press conferences and social media mouthing by the AG has a concerned of probability and possibilities be brought to the table of concerns by the local media……
    WTF does this gobbledegook mean?
    If English isn’t your primary language, then write in that, and it’ll be translated.

15. Credible
    Facts
    Selfish interest breeds crime
    Xxxxxxxx
    Hate to step on the elite toes and those who support the elite causes whilst crying crocodile tears for the country

16. Wondering how folks can at times “attack” and then defend the same item.
    It’s a B characteristic and it’s a D characteristic.
    If D proposes, then B opposes.
    Later on, B may propose and support the same issue.
    “Hands off. This problem existed before today. You had your turn, now it is our turn”
    And a few moments later, they will be blaming and calling for action by citizens.

17. FrankJuly 10, 2022 8:56 AM

Never once throughout the many press conferences and social media mouthing by the AG has a concerned of probability and possibilities be brought to the table of concerns by the local media……
    WTF does this gobbledegook mean?
    If English isn’t your primary language, then write in that, and it’ll be translated

Ccccccc
    Never thought within the realm of all possibilities and probability that the Minister of Cherry 🍒 picking would believe that changing his identity would not be observed
    Artax
    And may I say hello Frank so obvious

18. Theo….good to see you have mapped out the roller coaster of idiocy….

stay clear of it..

“This is the rich person who only has a stake in a society is to the extent that they can exploit it.
    This person also does not care about protecting the society, only extracting from it.”

exactly, and that’s who need STARVING and EXPOSING EVERYWHERE…parasites, no one has any use for them either…a gang of generational criminals..

“These are the people who import firearms, buy politicians and policy and engage in other destructive activities to extract exorbitant profits.”

the names of both them and the politicians THEY BUY need to be out there EVERY DAY…

19. TheO,

Huh? You have a tendency to late understanding.

Since you have, in your way, come to the aid of your lame yardfowl, let me jump in to make the fight a fair one!

What I UNDERSTAND is that a hopeful blogmaster had high hopes, whether reasonable or not, for this government. These hopes have been dashed somewhat. He now believes that the only way to achieve change for the better is for citizens to DEMAND it in no uncertain terms.

He is scornful of ac because he KNOWS that, even though SOME of her criticisms have merit, when next her party returns to government, these criticisms of the exact same actions will disappear without a trace and be replaced by a defense worthy of Johnny Cochran.

Hope that helps.

Signed,
    Someone who also thought that this government would have had sense enough to see that it was change or die time for this country

20. It never ceases to amaze me how people cannot see that if David’s only aim was to get rid of the DLP, he could damn well pretend to throw his hands up in the air, declare this blog to be ineffective at bringing about change AND SHUT IT DOWN.

But you guys are so blinded by your belief own radical methods, that anyone, with different methods of achieving the same things, is suspect.

You should read Ralph Jemmott’s article as I did yesterday. He referenced the different mindsets of radical progressives or revolutionaries and those who would temper their radical tendencies for fear of creating chaos.

One sees a better structure emerging after the collapse. Others see that process as too uncertain for their comfort.

It does not mean that they are apologists for the status quo.

Breaking it down-

Goals =same
    Methods= different

Jeeze!

21. David

Kindly inform angela cox that the contribution by Frank July 10, 2022 8:56 AM, was NOT posted by me.

Thank you in anticipation of your cooperation.

22. “Somehow Dub 555 was unable to get his head around this point. “

My point (which got deleted due to the ricochet of Dr GP and Waru taking shots at each other about the skin colour of her husband) was that comparing a population of less than 300,000 and 3,300,000,000 and saying the body count ratio is double is ignoring the total body count of the population that is over 1,000 times bigger and has over 500 time more chopped liver.
    Yanks love to produce statistics dividing by nationality and race to downplay their high crime levels and prison village industry scams.

Manic Panic Attacks from reading Daily News
    Oldies are scared shitless about violent crime numbers rising compared to their good old days in their safe Barbadian homes , but youngsters are used to it and not shocked by it at all and still go out without any fear.

23. A good defense of the blogmaster, but, in my case, not really needed.

I see a man who is attempting to wear at least two shoes.. one moment wishing the very best for Barbados and urging us to do better and the next moment doing a duet with Lorenzo.

It is natural that some criticism comes his way after performing the ‘greatest hits’. My comments are restricted to the Lorenzo type personality.

• The blogmaster could care less what you or any commenter believe. The problem with you is an innate inability to stay focused on what is relevant.

24. @ Donna
    Why would @ David shut down a blog that serves his purpose.
    Really ? Well, dat wun mek nuh sense uh tall.
    De man win 30-0 twice and looking forward now to 90-0.
    @ David is doing just fine.
    Carry on smartly muh brudduh we got yuh back. We got dis.

• @William

You held same opinion when the blog was posting articles from Hartley Henry weekly and others of DLP colours and was overrun by commenters wishing in vain et al. You lot need to focus on the issues.

25. @ Theo
    Som uh wunnuh ungrateful as hell. In stead uh writing someting positive you gine write foolishness ‘ bout @ David singing duets wid people.
    All wunnuh so looking fuh a utopia. Dey en no utopias anywhere., Wunnuh want full employment , Dey en no full employment anywhere. Wunnuh want guns off de streets. All over de world got guns pon de streets. Wunnuh want prices to com dong. Prices high every wey. Wunnuh so want gas prices to com dong. Gas prices high every where.
    Try and focus on de positive.
    Next ting yuh gine want is de rain to fall pon crop over..
    Talking nonsense ‘ bout de blogmaster singing duets.
    Really. Dah is de bess you can do Theo?
    You like yuh topless wid yuh bottom out or someting so bosie.

26. THERE IS A REASON WHY YOU ARE A HARRISON COLLEGE GRADUATE

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

I see a man who is attempting to wear at least two shoes.. one moment wishing the very best for Barbados and urging us to do better and the next moment doing a duet with Lorenzo.

It is natural that some criticism comes his way after performing the ‘greatest hits’. My comments are restricted to the Lorenzo type personality.

27. ArtaxJuly 10, 2022 11:20 AM

Kindly inform angela cox that the contribution by Frank July 10, 2022 8:56 AM, was NOT posted by me.

Thank you in anticipation of your cooperation.
    Xxxxxcc
    There he goes like siisy complaining

Oh btw awaiting to hear Frank denial
    Was expecting both

28. Even Sunday is not considered a day of rest and peace

An elderly man found dead in his house with a wound to his head

29. TheO,

And I see a bunch of people lacking in comprehension.

There are no two personalities. My reaction to ac is the same. I just don’t play her game anymore.

Lorenzo and enuff are not around to irritate me much, whereas ac is relentless.

Am I too an apologist for the BLP?

Steupse!

William Skinner,

So…. how is the blogmaster futhering the 90:0 cause by allowing you lot to attack both him and the Government all day?

And what evidence do you have that he was a factor in the 60:0?

Wunnuh mekking muh laff doah!

But, if the blogmaster can stand the stupidity, then carry on STUPIDLY!

30. But looks much crosses ac is relentless
    But look.muh crosses ac never attacks unless provoke to do so
    Most time I sit in the gallery on occasion venture out to shoot marbles my presence the l. ings
    Sometimes some roadside tennis
    Other than that I stay cool

31. 1/1

angela cox

I’ve often mentioned in this forum that ‘you DON’T THINK BEFORE POSTING your contributions, you’re a TOXIC INDIVIDUAL, LIAR and POLITICAL YARD-FOWL..
    And, you’ve demonstrated on several occasions that you DO NOT have any CREDIBILITY on BU, while believing ‘having the last word’ gives you power to win any argument.

After a BRIEF interaction with you on the ‘Theresa’ thread, Lisa came to an ‘identical’ conclusion and decided not to engage you in discussion any further.

But, your fans would prefer to ‘throw stones from the sidelines’ and revere you as a poet, rather than call you out for the semi-literate buffoon you are.

Your fans give you kudos for ‘taking on’ more than one of your critics. What they purposely and conveniently refuse to acknowledge is the fact that you’ve NEVER been able to JUSTIFY any POSITION you’ve taken on any ARGUMENT you PRESENTED to BU.
    In other words, you’ve ALWAYS been PROVEN to be WRONG.

angela cox to make a ‘long story short,’ you’re an IDIOT…… an appallingly ignorant semi-literate buffoon and ignoramus POLITICAL YARD-FOWL……

…… something I’ve SUCCESSFULLY PROVEN on SEVERAL OCCASIONS.

YOU may have the last word.

32. Ghee whizz never knew that one person could have that many monikers
    Thanks what a great idea 😊😊😊😊

33. Leadership?

Uber Files: Massive leak reveals how top politicians secretly helped Uber

Thousands of leaked files have exposed how Uber courted top politicians, and how far it went to avoid justice. They detail the extensive help Uber got from leaders such as Emmanuel Macron and ex-EU commissioner Neelie Kroes. They also show how the taxi firm’s former boss personally ordered the use of a “kill switch” to prevent raiding police from accessing computers.
    Uber says its “past behaviour wasn’t in line with present values” and it is a “different company” today. The Uber Files are a trove of more than 124,000 records, including 83,000 emails and 1,000 other files involving conversations, spanning 2013 to 2017. They were leaked to the Guardian, and shared with the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists and a number of media organisations including BBC Panorama. They reveal, for the first time, how a $90m-a-year lobbying and public relations effort recruited friendly politicians to help in its campaign to disrupt Europe’s taxi industry.
    More here:
    https://www.bbc.com/news/business-62057321

34. @ Artax
    “angela cox to make a ‘long story short,’ you’re an IDIOT…… an appallingly ignorant semi-literate buffoon and ignoramus POLITICAL YARD-FOWL……”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    Does this explain your love for ac too?
    Bushie. is in the exact same bind…. boss

ac is an enigma, a permanent fixture of BU for EVER!!
    cussed by everyone except TheO
    dissed by the blogmaster
    constantly assaulted (with battery) by Artax
    regularly whacked by the bushman
    Her man left long ago and headed for Arizona (the nearest desert – as prescribed in the Bible)
    …. yet angela NEVER deviates, changes, apologies or retreats….
    …and now we learn that she is a road tennis hotshot too boot….

Admit it Artax …. yuh GOTTA admire the braided lady.

35. @ac 5:32
    I have been diligently studying your poetry. Yesterday,one of your items had 19 syllable and was close to a haiku.

Your 5:32 contribution has exactly 17 syllables (perfect for a haiku), a d you ended with five syllables in the last line. However, I was unable to get the poem using 5-7 formula from your first line. Perhaps, the haiku is too short to effectively deliver your message. I would suggest that your shortest poem be a quintain.

Do you know there is a type of poem called acrostic (a poem or other composition in which the first letter of each line spells out a word). I would love to see you do a poem which both acrostic and a quintain.

36. For the record, I agree/disagree with some of what ac says. However, there is no reward in indicating when this happens and too besides… She is grown.

Cannot even control the woman in my house or my now adult son. Not taking on any new problems

37. My longevity on bu can be attributed to all the names that my enemies has pinned on me
    But Alas not one of them been able to defeat my presence
    Yet I rise

38. But Alas not one of them been able to defeat my presence
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    It is young days yet ac
    Bushie has $5 riding on Artax to get you ejected….
    …no matter WHAT shiite poem you write….

39. DR. Yearwood is proving that unity is an essential component of a institution …party or group
    Barbadians and others meet him with open arms in New York on Saturday

40. Oh dear! Ac sent me to look up the word “relentless” to see if the meaning had changed.

Poor girl must be disappointed too to find out that the last “murder” was a well-planned suicide.

Probably saw amputation in his future and was having none of it.

TheO,

From a post you made several weeks ago I thought you had come to understand the problem with your cherry picking from the ac cherry tree.

Funny that you should be living in a glass house while throwing stones at the blogmaster.

Enough time-wasting for today.

I gone!

41. “From a post you made several weeks ago I thought you had come to understand the problem with your cherry picking from the ac cherry tree.”

Donna

Does that mean there are TWO (2) “Ministers of Cherry 🍒 Picking?”

42. “Admit it Artax …. yuh GOTTA admire the braided lady.”

Bush Tea

Don’t hate the lady, simply because I don’t know her….. never met her. Don’t admire her either.

Her role in this forum is to promote the Democratic Labour Party, ‘by all means necessary,’ even if it means going into the ‘realm of political absurdity’ to do so.

Can’t admire that.

Kinda reminds me of Eric ‘Fly’ Sealy.

43. “Her role in this forum is to promote the Democratic Labour Party, ‘by all means necessary,’ even if it means going into the ‘realm of political absurdity’ to do so”
    And politics is absurd, so nothing wrong with this?
    Even this morning we have Dr.Y in NY. What was omitted, is the D’s in NY were vexed as shiite with Froon, I attended one of their last gatherings prior to 2018, only bec I have a buddy who is a strong D and happened to be in NY. Like remittances, their contributions are needed badly. Raising money is tough at the best of times, more so when you don’t have a single seat. Also, several of these ‘living awayers’ are suspect, Dr.Y isn’t a ‘true D’. So once we understand the term Unity means, selling himself as bona fide and getting some badly needed funds, all is good.

• @NO

Interesting observation about Yearwood seen as an outsider. There is a recent message where he reads the riot act to members of the old guard – by his determination – who continue to bad talk/undermine the party.

Interesting times ahead.

44. Flying to NYC and London to promote Barbados Opposition Politics seems like an easy gig for the wannabe PM.
    Seems like foreign sponsorship ginalship* to circumvent party toxicity in Little Island and quid pro quo** is the way to go as a plan of attack plan of action. You scratch my back and I’ll scratch yours he said to the overseas #throwashade posse. Next “they” will engage in psyops*** psychlogical warfare propaganda operations.

(*) (Jamaican slang) (noun) A con man or trickster. (verb) to trick someone, usually out of money. (noun) The man is a ginnal!

(**) a favour or advantage granted in return for something.

(***) PSYOPS can be considered a type of brainwashing since they seek to exploit and shape people’s thoughts and actions. One example of PSYOPS is propaganda, a type of communication or advertisement that aims to influence a targeted group’s way of thinking or decision-making.

45. So what’s wrong with getting funding
    Isn’t that part of leadership
    As long as the funding is accessed or obtained illegally the Dr. should pursue any mean legally that will support the Party
    Didn’t OSA obtained a big fact check from some big time congolermate during an election campagain cycle
    Dr.Yearwood is a highly intelligent person and would do that which is right proper and in the best interest of the party during the building period

46. @ Artax
    From that statement, I suspect you really did not know Eric Sealy very well.
    Eric Sealy was perhaps more astute than many of us and was by any standards a brilliant orator who understood the political landscape better than most.
    He exposed the iniquities of both the Dees and Bees with equal venom.
    Sealy was way politically superior to all the defenders and apologists of the Bees and Dees , who contribute to BU.
    He was also very positively mentioned in a book written by Walter Rodney.

47. 1/1

Some people use words of which they don’t know the meaning.
    ‘Relentless’ immediately comes to mind. Now they’re on about “cherry picking.’

Some sources define ‘cherry picking’ as a logical fallacy that occurs when someone FOCUSES ONLY on EVIDENCE that SUPPORTS their opinions, while IGNORING evidence that CONTRADICTS it.
    Perhaps similar to ‘confirmation bias.’
    ‘Cherry picking’ can affect everything from how people PRESENT MISLEADING RHETORIC to how they CONDUCT their INTERNAL REASONING PROCESS.

Let’s use the old Fairchild Street market as an example.
    That market was closed sometime during 2012 with some of its occupants being relocated to Golden Square Market, while a few others plied their trade on the old market’s environs.
    The former administration built a number of stalls in Jordan’s Lane, which remained unoccupied for over 3 years, until they were eventually dismantled by people residing in the surrounding communities and the building materials stolen.
    When this fact was presented to BU, ACCOMPANIED by PHOTOGRAPHS, angela cox insisted it was an UNTRUTH and MALICIOUS attempt to embarras the DLP.

Now, fast forward to construction of the new market facilities.
    Her criticisms of the project were based on a video in which its narrator spewed misleading information.
    angela cox ‘cherry picked’ information from the video where the narrator suggested the project was ongoing for 4 years and ‘guv’ment did spending millions and millions of dollars building pig pens fuh people to sell outta.’

The project commenced a few months after the demolition of Golden Square in February 2019, and was delayed by COVID-19 lockdowns and restrictions, while the video surfaced some time during 2021.
    Yet, she joined the narrator in ‘talking about 4 years.’

She IGNORED facts from CREDIBLE SOURCES that CONTRADICTED the erroneous rhetoric presented by the narrator, simply because it served the purpose of her political agenda.

This is how she conducts her internal reasoning process.
    In other words, she DOES NOT THINK, before posting.

The issue with ‘cherry picking’ in this case isn’t that it promoted a point of view which opposed construction of the new market, but rather that it presented evidence against its construction in a manner that was MISLEADING, by IGNORING all of the EVIDENCE for it and FOCUSING primarily on untruths.

According to the ‘Tradewinds’ song, “Civilization:”
    🎶 ‘Now, answer me QUICK, who civilised…. and who does cherry PICK?” 🎵

48. Mr. Skinner

I remember there were times when Eric Sealy mounded his platform to defend the DLP and criticise the BLP….. vice versa.

49. @David
    we must recognize that many of the overseas party supporters are from ‘old guards’. I know in Canada, at the time of the last election, when I floated DrY amongst a few of them as a future leader, they were rather dismissive, and questioned, shall I say, ‘his pedigree’. Then again, the second 30-0 hadn’t occurred, and they had great ‘hope’. But, he really needed to win that seat to earn his keep. And why the B supporters will call him another night watchman.

• Unless he is able to secure and sustain funding it will be difficult for him to fire up the party apparatus to compete with BLP. The DLP is a party lodged at ground zero. Unfortunately as you survey the political landscape there is no budding alternative.

50. Will the England Canada America DLP Posse Run Barbados Politics
    Discuss for Bonus Marks

King Tubby’s Special

A Serious Version

Straight To Babylon Boy’s Head

Straight To The Capitalist Head

51. @ Artax
    Exactly., so I can’t see how anybody who only criticizes the Bees or Dees can remind you of Sealy. In other words Sealy, politically, was far more superior to the well known Kool aid drinkers , on both sides, who frequent BU, with their predictable one sided baloney.
    I don’t know how he got the nick name fly but I have heard a few explanations.
    I’m more concerned with his brilliant grassroots political skills.
    Of course such skills will not readily be recognized by those who believe that they are only possessed by those from the higher socio economic order.
    I prefer Walter Rodney’s positive view of Sealy.

52. DavidJuly 11, 2022 12:50 PM

Unless he is able to secure and sustain funding it will be difficult for him to fire up the party apparatus to compete with BLP. The DLP is a party lodged at ground zero. Unfortunately as you survey the political landscape there is no budding alternative

Xxxxxx
    60-0 can be beaten even by an unknown
    Nothing magical about that number as was proven inGrenada

53. DavidJuly 11, 2022 12:01 PM

@NO

Interesting observation about Yearwood seen as an outsider. There is a recent message where he reads the riot act to members of the old guard – by his determination – who continue to bad talk/undermine the party.

Interesting times ahead
    Xcccc
    And he is absolutely correct
    No one side self serving interest should be allowed to sow seeds of disunity

54. Mr. Skinner

I respect your right to “prefer Walter Rodney’s positive view of Sealy.”
    It more or less confirms your particular bias.

RE: “……so I can’t see how anybody who only criticizes the Bees or Dees can remind you of Sealy.”

I cannot control what you ‘can or cannot see.’ I simply ‘said,’ “there were times when Eric Sealy mounded his platform to defend the DLP and criticise the BLP….. vice versa.”

In other words, information received suggests there were times when Mr. Sealy ‘was PAID to sing for his supper.’
    An opinion held by several political observers…… something I suspect you’ll ‘say’ you’ve never ‘heard’ before.

Remember, you ‘said,’ “Eric Sealy was perhaps more astute than many of us and was by any standards a brilliant orator who understood the political landscape better than most.
    He exposed the iniquities of both the Dees and Bees with equal venom.”

IF IT’S TRUE he ACTUALLY ‘sang for his supper,’ then, in that regard, perhaps on one hand, he was able to cleverly and successfully market those skills you described, amongst both BLP and DLP…… not only to the advantage of the political party that paid him, but to his advantage as well…….

…… while on the other, he independently “exposed the iniquities of both the Dees and Bees with equal venom.”

55. Eric Fly was a hired gun.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    So how is that different from ANY of the shiite lawyers that we hold in such high esteem?
    …Well except of course that Eric Fly did not have ready access to client funds for his personal benefit…

Lawyers are so ‘ETHICAL’ that, depending on who hires them first, they are able to argue convincingly for that person’s cause where, if the OPPOSITE party had hired them, they would have a diametrical opposite stand.

There is NO consideration of taking a MORAL stand based on RIGHTNESS.

No wonder Eric Fly was held in high regard in brassbados.

• @Bush Tea

Don’t get your knickers in a bunch. It was an intervention to shatter an untruth posited above before it took wings.

56. any opportunity to paint lawyers in their true light will be exploited by the bush man in the absence of the trusty whacker…!

57. @ Artax @ David
    Whatever was said of Mr. Eric Sealy and I have heard many things said, all I am saying , and it is my personal opinion, is that politically, he was head and shoulders above the Kool-aid drinkers, who come here on BU ,with their one sided views on behalf of the DLP or BLP.
    I have formed this opinion having had the opportunity to hear and converse with Mr. Sealy and of reading the bias , kettle calling the pot black pilferage of the Kool-aid drinkers on BU, in their defense of the DLP and BLP.
    And that remains their democratic right.
    Peace

58. This Facebook post is no longer available. It may have been removed or the privacy settings of the post may have changed
    Xxxxxx
    Funny how it has been shared on other social media platforms without any form of interception
    Anyhow that’s political gang bangers at work

59. Artax,

By definition, TheO is more fittingly described as the Minister of Cherry Picking than you are.

I gone again. It is not every day that one can stand the nonsensical positions on BU.

60. Minister of Cherry Picking seems to have a secretary to pick on every note and comment
    Since the Minister of Cherry Picking has an avaricious taste for criticism all back up.by a secretary
    I thought it best to give the secretary the nice title of Minister of Pick uh Nose

61. The meaning of AVARICIOUS is greedy of gain; excessively acquisitive especially in seeking to hoard riches.
    An insatiable desire for wealth.

Having or showing an extreme greed for wealth or material gain.
    ‘Avaricious corporate bosses looking to maximize profits.’
    ~~~~~~~~~~

“…..an avaricious taste for criticism….”

So sayeth the ‘Minister of MISEDUCATION.’

🤣 🤣 🤣

62. TheO
    Yah better be careful the prune action doesn’t lead to pooch picker.
    But after a 41 mile drive one way I thought maybe you picked a 🌶️ or two 😂

63. Guyana: Two arrested after plane makes illegal landing
    GEORGETOWN, GUYANA – Police have detained two foreign nationals after a singleengine plane bearing what appeared to be United States registration markings, N5470Z, made an illegal landing at the Mahdia airstrip in Region 8 (Potaro-Siparuni) on Sunday.
    Police said that bags bearing the marking “King Coca 30” packed with what they believed to be cocaine, were found strapped inside the aircraft .
    Bags containing what the authorities say is cocaine being unloaded from plane that made an illegal landing in Guyana In a statement late Sunday, the police said the cocaine and some marijuana were being weighed by anti-narcotics police at the Criminal Investigations Department Headquarters in the presence of a Colombian pilot, 42-year-old Rodrigues Estiven and Brazilian co-pilot 24-year Mateus Vinicius Alberto.
    They said the marking, King Coca 30, on eight of the 10 bags of cocaine is similar to the King Coca-branded 973 blocks of cocaine that had been seized in South Africa last year from aboard a Panama-registered fishing vessel.
    The police were also trying to ascertain where was the intended destination of the plane that landed at the Mahdia airstrip at about 2:20 pm (local time) on Sunday.
    Police said they also found two Global Positioning Service (GPS) devices, one satellite phone, one radio set and two cellular phones.
    Media reports said that law enforcement authorities also found empty fuel drums on board the aircraft suggesting that a precautionary landing was made to secure additional supplies of fuel.
    In the past, several abandoned or crashed and burned illegal aircraft have been found in several parts of the interior of Guyana and Suriname. (Loop News)

64. DLP president again offers to work with Gov’t in crime fight
    For the second time in less than a week, Democratic Labour Party (DLP) President Dr Ronnie Yearwood has offered to work with Attorney General Dale Marshall on a bi-partisan response to the country’s troubling crime situation.
    In an interview with Barbados TODAY on Wednesday, Dr Yearwood said that after hearing the AG’s latest crime plan at a press conference over the weekend, it was evident that he could use some help.
    “Looking at what the AG said, I think that he is struggling. I think that he needs help, I think that he is not clear on what needs to happen given this excessive focus on policing,” said Yearwood.
    “I’ve extended a hand of bipartisanship to the Attorney General at his last press conference. I understand that he accepted it, but I think those may have been mere words because since then he has not reached out to my office or to me personally to set up our first meeting and see where we are and help us understand what the government’s plan is.
    “We want to know how, as the second largest vote-taking party, we can help to widen that net a little bit and bring in other social groups and NGOs and see how we can really do this together as a country,” he added.
    As Yearwood spoke with Barbados TODAY, news broke of a shooting at President Kennedy Drive St Michael, adding to a spate of gun play on the island that has left 12 dead in recent weeks.
    Over the weekend, the AG warned the country’s criminal elements that they would not be allowed to hold the people of Barbados for ransom.
    Backed by Police Commissioner Richard Boyce, Marshall announced plans to reduce the flow of guns from source market countries noting that hundreds of guns had been taken off the streets and intercepted at the ports of entry in recent years.
    But the DLP president is not convinced that the AG’s strategy addresses many of the social factors contributing to crime.
    “In order for that aspect to succeed and continue to succeed and be sustainable whether in the short, medium or long term, you actually need to address the reasons why someone would take up a gun in the first place,” said Yearwood.
    “The reality is that when you look at all the studies and the data, you are not just going to randomly run and take up a gun and go out there and shoot someone.
    There’s a whole set of push and pull factors often associated with deprivation, poverty, lack of opportunity, poor educational chances, broken families or families who are on the edge and feel shut out from mainstream society,” he added.
    According to Dr Yearwood, the AG’s approach need not include just DLP representation, but could also embrace many other well-placed civil society groups and organisations.
    “That is where I think the Attorney General is lacking perspective and lacking depth and that is why I propose the bipartisan approach, because I genuinely think that he needs help,” Dr Yearwood declared.
    “As a party, we will help and there are loads of other people out there; sociologists, psychologists, youth workers.
    There are lots of people that he can bring to bear on this situation.
    “This does not require some kind of cowboy, tough-man approach, where you say ‘I got this’, because we recognise you don’t have this,” said the DLP president.
    Yearwood spoke of growing levels of hopelessness throughout the country due to a lack of opportunity linked to the current economic climate.
    He said that the “bipartisan approach” would therefore need to look at providing better opportunities for young men, many of whom, he believes, are the main breadwinners in several households.
    Dr Yearwood maintained that his approach to issues like crime would be different from Marshall’s, who, when in Opposition in 2016 called for the resignation of then AG Adriel Brathwaite.
    “I don’t wish to perpetuate that kind of politics and that’s why I would hope that he has grown up to recognise that a bipartisan approach is probably the way forward. I can only wish that he has learnt from what he did when he was in opposition,” said the DLP President. (TD)

• If Ronnie has suggestions to make to government about how crime can be better fought let him submit his ideas in writing, he can publish what he sent to cover off the political angle. The blogmaster will be surprised if Mottley were to him political oxygen by meeting with him (DLP).

65. LOL … right on @David. Respectfully to the new DLP president I would say to him: where were your plans 8 years ago when your party was similarly struggling with crime !

But just as respectfully, clearly the goodly doc is hitting all the awesome political themes with his “bipartisanship” approach. He sound too sweet and playing real smart.😎

But yeah …zero political oxygen he would get from the Mottley admin … political gamesmanship is HER forte! 🤣

Oh the other thing of course is either her or the AG could reach for their phones and speed dial any of those dons who attended the opening of that first 30 – 0 parliament and immediately address this spate of criminal activity … afterall, that’s the entire reason for having connections in the right places isn’t it!!

Peace out.

66. “As citizens of an island we claim to love and are committed to, we should be prepared to share the joys and sorrows of the society. It is not good enough that one race experiences all the pain while others who are in the minority enjoy the privileges of being Bajan.

There is much work to be done to build a just and fair society. Maybe hope lies with this present generation of black, brown and white Barbadians.”

John Goddard, retired but always an educator.
    Barbados Today 7/14/22

Shows that there are citizens outside of those on BU, who speak the truth.

67. (Quote)
    Marshall announced plans to reduce the flow of guns from source market countries noting that hundreds of guns had been taken off the streets and intercepted at the ports of entry in recent years.
    But the DLP president is not convinced that the AG’s strategy addresses many of the social factors contributing to crime.
    (Unquote).

@ David [BU]

Blogmaster, the Referee, what do you think of the above claim?

Where is the evidence to substantiate such?

Shouldn’t the same importers of illicit firearms, by now, have been charged and hauled before the courts with the requisite publicity (exposure) as given to the poor and politically unconnected for stealing and other minor criminal offences?

Maybe the opportunity has arisen for MAM to draw her long-concealed dagger of revenge by reshuffling her cabinet of incompetents less one smiley face as the political sacrificial lamb to appease the budding Sri Lanka-type masses.

68. de pedantic Dribbler July 14, 2022 7:38 AM#: “Respectfully to the new DLP president I would say to him: where were your plans 8 years ago when your party was similarly struggling with crime!”

dpD

Remember, in 2016, Dr. Ronnie Yearwood was seeking to be nominated as the BLP’s candidate for St. James South, to ‘run’ against Donville Inniss in the 2018 general elections.

So, one could reasonably assume, eight (8) years ago, he was a member of the BLP.

He lost the nomination to Sandra Husbands and, ‘the rest is history.’

69. Have to agree with Dribbles…
    One of our REALLY big problems is this tendency of NOVICES who get elected because of the PAUCITY of any creditable opponents to suddenly ascribe to themselves ‘GOD-LIKE’ rights, wisdom and knowledge.
    They ALL do it….

Little shitehounds who were previously unemployed and largely unemployable, (Owen was a classic example) and who had LITTLE to show by way of personal accomplishments, SUDDENLY become global authorities.

Yearwood should spend some time trying to master such skills as group dynamics, problem solving and public communication skills BEFORE jumping around talking shiite about solving complex issues that even elude COMPETENT practitioners.

Same shiite with Mia.
    …Have NEVER succeeded with a SINGLE major initiative after DECADES in parliament, most notable making total messes of EDUTECH, Dodds, and Four Seasons, but now running around talking shiite about solving GLOBAL problems….

the Bible says, He that is faithful in small things, BEHOLD, he shall be given authority over BIG challenges…
    BASIC COMMON SENSE… learn to crawl before trying to run at olympics.

Let Yearwood work on the damn DLP mess first, ..and show that he can do that successfully….
    THEN we will listen to his BIG solutions…
    Tired of the lotta shiite talk now….

70. “Little shitehounds who were previously unemployed and largely unemployable, (Owen was a classic example) and who had LITTLE to show by way of personal accomplishments, SUDDENLY become global authorities.”

and world advisors, when no one asked them, and they are clueless anyway…steupppsss

should stick to what they are good at, though it’s difficult to define..

71. Don’t even know why Dr. Yearwood would get himself caught up with a govt of clueless incompetents
    The PM told all and sundry that this govt can be an opposition unto itself
    Big works must come by her
    Those comments came out of a mouth obsessed with 60-0 arrogance
    Short and sweet telling the people their is nothing here fuh wunna to do
    Mind wunna own business

72. LET ME SHOW 2 EXAMPLES OF HOW STUPID MOST
    VOTERS ARE ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND WHO SEEMS TO BE BRAIN DEAD.

WHILST BLP WAS IN OPPOSITION BIG MARCH AND PROMISES TO IMPROVE THE ECONOMY.

CURRENT ATTORNEY GENERAL WENT INTO NEW ORLEANS IN A PUBLICITY STUNT TO CURB CRIME WHEN IN OPPOSITION AND HAD ALL THE SOLUTIONS.

FIRST TERM RECORD BORROWING AND DEBT.

FIRST TERM RECORD MURDERS

IDIIOTS STILL VOTED FOR THE STATUS QUO.

NO VIABLE 3RD PARTY.

FAST FORWARD TO 2022 MORE INCREASES IN ALL AREAS IN NEGATIVITY.

HOWEVER ALL BLACKS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND LIVING IN PARADISE.

ARE THEY BRAIN DEAD OR BRAIN WASHED?

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.