The news that Rakim Mayers was arrested last Wednesday in Los Angeles after vacationing in Barbados with his girlfriend Rihanna breathed life into a simmering concern many Barbadians have to her being named a national hero of Barbados last year.

Rakim Mayers aka A$AP Rocky – an American rapper – is charged with assault with a deadly weapon in a non fatal shooting. He was released on a $550,000 bond – see report A$AP Rocky Arrested at LAX. There is the saying all PR is good PR, the blogmaster is unsure local government officials will agree given the recent event.

Although it is the boyfriend of national hero Rihanna who has generated the PR for Barbados, Barbadians who disagreed with Prime Minister Mia Mottley declaring Rihanna a national hero are unsurprised at the report this week out of Los Angeles. Rihanna achieved billionaire status because she operates in a space that is characterized as a commercial culture. Therefore her deportment in public and social circle will display characteristics that clash with traditional expectations of what a national hero should represent. The conflict for many Barbadians does not mean Rihanna has not achieved phenomenal success, it boils down to how a conservative Barbados perceives what are the characteristics a national hero should possess. 

The blogmaster is ambivalent to Rihanna given national hero status. She has demonstrated extraordinary business acumen and talent as an entertainer in a ultra-competitive business. She has also done her part as a philanthropist. All the more incredible, she has achieved phenomenal success coming from a 2×3 island. She deserves the title of Phenon. That said many voicing disapproval of her appointment sees a conflict between behaviour required to support her business objectives and the valueset that should define a Barbadian boy and girl. 

It must be repeated the majority of Barbadians are proud of what Robyn Rihanna Fenty has achieved. Too often the concern many Barbadians have at her elevation to national hero status is conflated with irrelevant positions coloured by political and narrow interest.

201 responses to “Rihanna, Barbadian Hero”

1. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Cuhdear Bajan April 22, 2022 11:02 PM

Let me clarify, I believe our PM bent the original spirit and intent of the National Hero award as a entire life of achievement award. She should have created a second type of award one recognizing field pioneering achievements. and called it National Pioneer.

Naming someone a National Hero at such a young age is problematic and gives the impression they have reached the pinnacle and have nothing more of significance they can achieve in life. Rihanna is 34 and still has a long way to climb before she can claim a lifetime of achievement. We like to big up people when they halfway up the mountain like they already at the top because they got further than any bajans that tried before.

A critical biography is a great idea as well and our UWI historians and postgraduates should have been jumping to write it the second the National Hero is named if they were not so useless and slave and independence era focused. But an autobiography or authorized biography giving their life as seen through their eyes as no one but themselves can provide that perspective.

2. @ Cuhdear Bajan April 22, 2022 11:56 PM
    (Quote).
    Some old people have been washing their mouths on young people since at least the time of Plato, that’s about 2,500 years ago. It is what some old people do best.

““Children; they have bad manners, contempt for authority; they show disrespect for elders and love chatter in place of exercise. They no longer rise when elders enter the room, they contradict their parents and tyrannize their teachers. Children are now tyrants.”
    (Unquote).

A ‘solid’ piece of regurgitation of ‘liquid ‘commonsense there, dear Simple Simon, only if to prove there is nothing new under the Sun!

One thing that can be said about you is that the art of commonsense always seems to outweigh the new science called bullshitting.

If we were to judge national heroes by the moral values which existed during the times of their Earthly existence then the likes of Clement Payne would never see the light of day of national Heroism and who, himself, was judged to be a troublemaker, rabble-rouser and convicted criminal worthy of deportation and classified a persona non grata in the Christian-god-fearing State of Barbadoes when there was nothing different between what Clement (of direct Bajan descent) preached and what your sweet Jesus was crucified for.

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“the likes of Clement Payne would never see the light of day of national Heroism and who, himself, was judged to be a troublemaker, rabble-rouser and convicted criminal worthy of deportation and classified a persona non grata”

they only use Clement Payne when it suits their vile agendas, if he was here now, they would do the same thing to him, or even worse all over again.

don’t want to be any hero of theirs, don’t want any credit from any of them either….much prefer give credit to whom deserve it, rather than receive..

4. @ African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights ReservedApril 23, 2022 2:42 PM
    (Quote).
    they only use Clement Payne when it suits their vile agendas, if he was here now, they would do the same thing to him, or even worse all over again.
    (Unquote).

Spot on!

These black ‘s.o.bs’ in the Diaspora continue to denigrate the role of Marcus Mosiah Garvey, one of the greatest black men who ever walked the Earth and ought to be venerated like a god by black people just like they do with their ‘invented’ white Jesus.

Just listen to the current copycats pretending to be leaders of the black budding Caribbean tin pot dictatorships talking about ‘creating’ greater linkages with Africa as if this objective to save their sorry asses is something new.

It’s time the black race in the Diaspora elevate Marcus Garvey to the status of a god for the new Age of Knowledge just as they have, in their aura of stupidity, accepted a concocted white Jesus as their god for the age of the fisher of men.

We are going to emancipate ourselves from mental slavery, for though others may free the body, none but ourselves can free the mind.

Mind is our only ruler; sovereign. The man who is not able to develop and use his mind is bound to be the slave of the other man who uses his mind because man is related to man under all circumstances for good or ill.” – Marcus Garvey

5. @Miller

Are you saying you do not agree with regional leaders forging links with African countries?

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Miller…since Garvey’s words continue to be prophetic…they may as well…

“The weaker peoples must die. At present the Negroes are the weakest people and if we do not get power and strength now we shall be doomed to extermination.”

-Marcus Garvey

maybe they don’t mind and are eager to go meet this nonexistent white jesus…

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Miller…brace yourself…things are backfiring…and ya done know who will feel it the most…

“Britons told to get ready for a ‘truly horrific’ winter

As many as four in 10 people in Britain could fall into fuel poverty when the price cap rises again in October, the heads of the nation’s energy companies have told the UK Parliament, The Guardian reported this week. According to the publication, they have called for more government support for vulnerable households which are facing a “truly horrific” winter.

The chief executive of E.ON UK, Michael Lewis, said that between 30% and 40% of Britons could go into fuel poverty from October when the industry regulator is expected to put up the annual limit on tariffs”

8. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA, @ Miller
    Sooner or leader these self appointed leaders of some exclusive Pan Africanist organization had to be asked a few questions.
    They sat idly by and watched Prince Charles being given our highest national honor on the night when we were telling the former slave masters ,to go to hell!
    In 2018, they jumped on Mia’s bandwagon and endorsed her as the new Fidel Castro. An insult to the Comrade..
    Peace

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Sooner or leader these self appointed leaders of some exclusive Pan Africanist organization had to be asked a few questions.”

William…their scam got exposed for what it was…and although i saw it up close and personal how fraudulent they were years ago, still gave them the benefit of the doubt, until they showed AGAIN that they are jokers fooling the public…

what we can ask assertively is how many books by Marcus Garvey, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King etc are in the schools…..and if there are none, proves that the joke pan africanists thought no one would notice their true roles…to prevent real Pan Afrikanist from coming forward….but they have failed…cause with the advent of social media…they lost control of the script….now they have no influence anywhere and no one believes a word they say……KARMA>..

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

had to add more names……out of respect…

how many books by Marcus Garvey, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Kwame Ture, Kwame Nkrumah, etc

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…we can say with absolute confidence and certainty, that, was it not for social media…these DECEITFUL FRAUDS and LIARS…would have continued running that pan african scam on the people for as long as they lived and MALICIOUSLY kept them TRAPPED in oppression, suppressed daily etc on the island …for another half century or more…

.but they are not in control and have a lot to answer for….and will…

12. @William

Do you mean people like your pal comrade Trevor Prescod?

13. Mr Skinmer you talk a lot of shite at times.Who is they tjst jumped on Ms Mottley, s bandwagon and endorse her as the new Fidel Castro? As i recalled the people of Barbados realised the dems were grossly incompetent and had to go.Mr Stuart decided to delay the elections unnecessarily and was shown who really had the power in a free and fair election which Ms Mottley won.There this crap you posted about jumping a on a bandwagon and about the next Castro is total rubbish as i do not believe Ms Mottley wants to be anything like Mr Castro.We on this blog know you are anti Ms Mottley and the BLP but you behave lile a ten year old at times with your statements. I gone.

14. @ Lorenzo,
    I love your passion. However you are aiming it at the wrong person.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2022/apr/23/slavery-protesters-target-royal-tour-in-st-vincent

15. Mia is nothing like Fidel. Fidel was for his people. He got rid of the American mafia, closed down the brothels, built housing for his people, built schools, roads, etc. Free education and most importantly, he was in the fields cutting canes with the workers every crop season. Will you ever see Mia do that? Mia is for the elites and keeping the blacks in subservience. Fidel managed to keep the Americans at bay and frothing at the mouth. Pleeeeeeease.

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Thanks for the link TLSN….apparently the palace is determined to continue measuring the temperature, which is not likely to get any warmer…

17. @ African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved,

We live in strange times. The UK conservative government has zero respect for their black British citizens who have Caribbean Ancestry. Yet, they appear to have taken a sudden interest in their old colonies from within the Caribbean. For many decades, British governments ignored the Caribbean. Why the sudden interest? They abandoned their ties with the Caribbean in exchange for integrating with the European Union. Now that they have abandoned Europe they are desperately seeking alliances with whoever.

How’s Missing In Action proceeding with the new Barbados constitution?

18. Lorenzo
    The people of Barbados got rid of Stuart and now have to live under the iron fist of Mia
    A woman who has made all.kind of mistakes during her four years of goverance
    Insulted the people of Barbados broke many laws in the Constitution which would fit her purpose
    Tried aimlessly to attached ammendments to save purpose for blp friends and associates
    Making offers which is a mockery and offense to the Constitution
    Declaring elections during a pandemic resulting where most of the population stay at home all about her quest to win
    An unconstitutional Parliament
    made up of mostly her own Ministers
    The Rhianna debacle now stamped Shameful all across social media
    Is this what the people voted for
    A 30love looking like a dirty rag with 30 red spots

19. William Skinner Avatar

@ Lorenzo
    Please read what I wrote. I was making reference to a specific group. I know what I read and what was said. I was specifically stating that the Pan Africanists endorsed Mia. I read where one of them likened her to Fidel Castro.
    Please read carefully before you jump in.
    Nothing I wrote was anti- Mia or anti-BLP.
    It was a specific reference to a specific group.
    I am happy to be a ten year old who can read and comprehend what is written. From you, that is a very nice compliment. Thank you.
    Now go and have a good weekend.
    Ah gone, hear.

20. William Skinner Avatar

I don’t have to identify anybody.
    Comrade Prescod, has a very long history of fighting the black cause. And while I don’t like the way he allowed Mottley to politically humiliate him, I still know and believe that he remains genuine to the cause.
    However, I read a whole lot of pro-Mia junk from others within the Pan Africanist movement, trying their utmost to tie Mia to an ideological and philosophical base to which she has never belonged.
    I was shock one day, to read one of them trying to elevate her to the likes of Comrade Castro.
    There and then I realized that they wanted to portray her in the light of some radical progressive black freedom fighter.
    She simply is not.
    In my humble opinion the Pan Africanists are now seen as just another pro-Mia faction. You note how quiet some have gone re: the continued ascendancy of Mark Maloney; note that they seldom talk about black economic enfranchisement; note they have not talked about the ravishes COVID inflicted on small black businesses; note they are very silent on 300 million being given to hoteliers; note that they are very diplomatic these days with their public utterances; note they have not questioned why a Foreigner has been given a top job in tourism for which several Barbadians are well well qualified.
    In other words, they have gone rather silent since 2018 on pro- Black issues.

21. @William

You have to heap a significant blame on comrade Prescod. He is suppose to be the strident voice operating from deep in the bowels of the BLP. He has gone passive for 30 pieces of silver.

Prescod must be judged based on ‘ what have you done for us lately’. Hopefully his mentor the late Don Blackman will not rest uncomfortably in his grave.

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“For many decades, British governments ignored the Caribbean. Why the sudden interest? ”

they know very well why….

“How’s Missing In Action proceeding with the new Barbados constitution?”

i asked that same question only yesterday, but we will have to ask Europe, they are the ones drafting it…lol

“There and then I realized that they wanted to portray her in the light of some radical progressive black freedom fighter.”

after shamelessly selling out to minorities, that would be a stretch…there is no in between, you are either pro-Black Afrikan or ya are not, but not only when it suits ya narrow agenda to look good to fool Afrikan Presidents…

“In other words, they have gone rather silent since 2018 on pro- Black issues”

collecting that salary like clockwork though…hope they don’t get the audacity when the swollen ego is deflated and the elite pretence has finally ended….to start back the pan afrikan fraud crap again…am sure they will be deserving of a stoning.

23. pat oliverApril 23, 2022 6:01 PM

Mia is nothing like Fidel. Fidel was for his people. He got rid of the American mafia, closed down the brothels, built housing for his people, built schools, roads, etc. Free education and most importantly, he was in the fields cutting canes with the workers every crop season. Will you ever see Mia do that? Mia is for the elites and keeping the blacks in subservience. Fidel managed to keep the Americans at bay and frothing at the mouth. Pleeeeeeease.

Fidel was supported by a tiny minority and backed by the USSR.

The USSR had no sugar.

Cuba with American investment during and after the war was producing in millions of tons per year FOR THE AMERICAN MARKET which until 1947 was experiencing rationing of sugar.

The USSR wanted it.

… and it got it and the US investment.

Like all investments in mechanical equipment it depreciates over time.

American companies had much of that investment written down by 1959.

Cuba was of use until the USSR rebuilt its production capability and then disintegrated.

https://www.law.georgetown.edu/international-law-journal/wp-content/uploads/sites/21/2018/08/GT-GJIL180020.pdf

https://imgur.com/eyWB8BY

24. And Yes the black Cacus made the PM a visit but was it really a visit or fact finding mission
    China now creeping slowly into the economic affairs of Barbados
    Biden wouldn’t like that

25. Donks, Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks, Gripe and Josh

Rihanna is a Bajan phenom who’s captured the attention of the world becoming insanely rich and influential through music and business.

Barbadians are justly proud of Ri coming from a fly speck of an island achieving unimaginable success on the global stage at a tender age.

There’s no question of her massive contribution to Barbados punching above its weight.

Her choice in men is a whole different story. It appears to be her Achilles heel. Every living person has one so she is human after all.

The violent abusive Chris Brown and recently accused gunman Rocky unfortunately were bad choices. Didn’t she also go out with elite footballer Benzama who has fraud or blackmail charges over his head.

All right thinking people not only Bajans are concerned for Rihanna and her unborn child(ren) well being.

Trimester pregnancy is not a time for the stress and shocks Ri faces.

We sincerely wish her well.

The national hero status though popular didn’t resonate with all sections of the community some expressed fear over her young age and penchant for the alleged thug lifestyle.

The BLP sycophants are quick to curse anyone who questions the national hero status because she was inaugurated by their Lady to the Manor born grand pickney of the notorious Rugged.

Were Rihanna to be in the straits she’s in following national hero installment by the DLP the BLP would be directing the worse possible bad words at her all now. Its the politics.

Suffice to say Ri must understand because of her lofty perch in the architecture of Barbados nation hood when she makes an error like the Rocky fiasco collateral damage to Nation Barbados will result image wise and otherwise.

We wish Ri peace of mind urging her to obtain the best physical and phycological care possible to be in the correct frame of mind to deliver her first baby(ies) into a tumultuous and unpredictable world.

26. William Skinner April 23, 2022 7:00 PM #: “However, I read a whole lot of pro-Mia junk from others within the Pan Africanist movement, trying their utmost to tie Mia to an ideological and philosophical base to which she has never belonged.”

@ Mr. Skinner

Believe it or not, but, today when I read David’s comment about Comrade Prescod, what you outlined in your above comments, ‘immediately came to mind.’

I’ve realised certain members of the Pan African Movement seem to align themselves with the political party that is popular at the time.

They join the Opposition in talking about the ‘down trodden, black economic enfranchisement,’……. quoting Marcus Garvey, and showing concern for Haiti and Cuba.

It’s a shame former Director of the Commission for Pan-African Affairs, the late Dr. Ikael Tafari, was probably more committed to Pan Africanism and the realization of Caribbean/African relations than his Black counterparts.

27. William Skinner Avatar

Don Blackman wrote them off and left Barbados. He returned when it was time to go to the Ancestors. I don’t recall him making any statement or views on Barbados when he left. But, I may be wrong.
    @ Artax
    My issue was not them supporting Mia. It was the embarrassing and pathetic attempts to cast her as the second coming of Comrade Castro.
    Quite frankly, I seriously believe that she is often embarrassed by some who come on BU trying to defend her. Most confident leaders prefer balanced critiques rather than excessive praise especially when they screw up.
    The classic one on BU was when the PM got involved with the man on the speaker phone and the police basically found herself in a potentially dangerous pickle.
    I read a comment on BU , where it was stated that Mia is like that because she will talk to anybody.
    There and then I realized how we make the cardinal error of using rather puerile judgments, when it comes to serious matters. That was an extremely poor error on the PMs part . In other countries she would have been in deep , deep shit.
    Then going above the substantive minister’s head with the vaccine deal was another bold piece of nonsense by Mia.
    We can draw all the comparisons in the world but the truth is that this administration is fumbling all over the place and every time it’s attacked we hear about what Stuart and Company did. MThe real truth is that the country has changed a whole lot since then and the party of the former government is in well earned shambles.
    We need leadership . This is no A+ leadership. I don’t care if she talks to people or not.
    To even think of comparing her with Comrade Castro is a travesty.
    It’s been fiasco after fiasco.
    And to top it all she stupidly went and announced a citizen will be in the Senate before it was possible. And then making offers of the Senate to a party that we the people have rejected totally at the polls.
    If this is stellar leadership we in deep shit.
    Peace,

28. Don Blackman was one of the blogmaster’s favourite politicians growing up.

29. Just as I thought! Lotta hypocrites talking crap, as usual.

Was Rihanna there when this incident is alleged to have occurred?

As for ASAP, this could be a street cred thing, although I don’t think he needs any more. He is well credentialed. But…four shots and all we have is a possible grazed hand?

Still, if the thing is genuine then I think we need to read his bio – father jailed for drug dealing, older brother murdered, adolescence spent in and out of homeless shelters, drug dealing to survive.

Anger management issues?

Rihanna may simply be guilty of what many women are guilty of – thinking she can love away the pain.

Unlike most of you, she is accustomed to the streets and its characters. What would scare you off would not scare her off. She would see past that to see the spark of good within.

Some of us would do well to stop wagging our tongues and our fingers and use our eyes and ears instead. Maybe we should look and listen for the good within some of our own ‘ inner city thugs”.

The mothers and relatives, even many in their neighbourhoods often describe them as “good boys who would do anything for you”. And you steupse and dismiss it rather than put it in context. Some of these “thugs” may actually be very good to those who call them good.

I suggest that we read the goodly judge Carlisle Greaves’ recent comments and admit once and for all what is breeding these “thugs”..

Their failings are our failures!

P.S. I will never forget the “thuggish” looking guy with gun earrings hanging from his ear who walked the length of the Licensing Authority to pick up the car keys I dropped while waiting in line to renew my license.

I was eight months pregnant and struggling to stoop. The policeman and collar and tied man directly behind me watched me struggle.

Go figure!

30. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

“It was the embarrassing and pathetic attempts to cast her as the second coming of Comrade Castro.”

it is your fantasy territory that you are the Fidel and Che revolutionaries incarnate

when politicians start talking blackness consciousness the plebs start claiming they were there before already

Fidel Castro- To the Brink of Nuclear Holocaust

Che Guevara- Doctor, Revolutionary, Murderer

31. Defending Hip Hop
    In Hip Hop there are not many personas who are good guys or girls
    US has Hip Hop Police studying translations of lyrics
    UK has Drill Police (which is a local genre but came from Chicago)

Chief Keef – Love Sosa

What did Chief Keef mean by Sosa?
    Chief Keef is often seen as a representation of the “Chiraq” gangsta rap culture that is present in Chicago. He often refers to himself as “Sosa” as do his peers and the media. The nickname “Sosa” is a reference to Alejandro Sosa, the drug kingpin in the movie Scarface.

I like Hip Hop because of the beats and samples from old records. The defense rests their case your honour.

32. William Skinner Avatar

Well put. Her Excellency is certainly not to blame for her partners actions. Your analysis of the factors that contribute to such is something lost on the Barbadian, who considers an ordinary citizen stealing a tin of sardines a great crime but a Prime Minister advising a dishonest Speaker of the House and attorney, who robbed an elderly citizen , to get a lawyer, as no big thing.
    These are the same ones who witnessed a medical doctor/ parliamentarian pull a gun on another parliamentarian.
    Did they question the judgement of the partners of the speaker/ lawyer and the doctor/,parliamentarian.
    A former outstanding contributor to this blog used to refer to something called the “ Bajan/ Barbadian condition. It is a condition steeped in classism and snobbery.
    For all the talk about RiRi, the damn simple truth , is that going from a simple chattel house , from a district down in town to having more genuine foreign reserves than the country she comes from, will never sit well with some of us who have that Bajan condition.
    There are men who drink rum in broad daylight, never beat their partners and will not harm a fly drunk or sober.
    There are others, who only drink at home and will never be seen in a rum shop but they are very abusive in their homes and make their families live in hell after touching the bottle. I heard of several such stories .
    We have inherited and apparently are devoted to a level of hypocrisy from our days under the Massa whip that has conditioned us to divide and rule. It is indeed a social conditioning that we hate to talk about. But, it reveals itself daily.
    Rihanna’s money can be accepted and her millions of dollars in free advertising is welcomed. However, she should not be given the nations highest national honor because it will be better at around age 60. Pure crap. Heaven forbid that she expires before then and never got the award, we would then say :” but we could ah do more fuh she. Like it or not Rihanna is the most successful Caribbean entertainer/ business person of the century. The fact that she achieved such heights at such a young age is beyond remarkable.
    Yes, we may argue that others deserve national honors as well and yes we may argue that others may be more deserving . What we cannot argue is that on the merits of pure accomplishment, she does not deserve it!
    I have never heard that as a hurricane approaches the country, Her Excellency moved the price of sardines from wherever it was to 100% more. I have never heard H.E. call black Barbadian workers lazy luggards. However some who did were given Knighthoods. Not a word from us, the great lovers and protectors of Barbados.
    BTW, why the hell we did not shout out in anger when the original gangster was given the same award on the same night ? The very night we were supposed to throw his ass in prison .

Peace

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

+We have inherited and apparently are devoted to a level of hypocrisy from our days under the Massa whip that has conditioned us to divide and rule. It is indeed a social conditioning that we hate to talk about. But, it reveals itself daily.”

and then some…people are actually APPALLED that they get to witness this EVERY DAY from those hiding behind anonymous monikers…

first thing that came to my mind was that Rihanna, a Black Afrikan woman, is in her 3rd trimester and fighting off stress so that she and her unborn would survive the trauma of delivery,. and don’t need the wretched anonymous opinions of others at this time…..

..i guess some are not interested in her health or wellbeing, only in her money and what she could do for the island…if she was broke or trying to pull herself up by her creativity, she would be cussed and pulled down by the same nuisance posters on BU…

34. As old folks say uh mek yuh bed hard yuh lie in it
    If Rihanna was not a billionaire and the same scenario of disgust were mentioned against another individual
    The same tongues that are defending Rhianna by all means necessary would not be so kind
    That is where the hypocrisy is rooted
    Rhianna billionaire status in some people minds elevates her to do as she pleases even while carrying the bestowed honour of being called a Barbadian hero
    An honour which she did not earn as defined by the rules of heroism but was handed to her on a silver platter
    Now her Name reflects a person absorbed with self gratification a billionaire and a woman whose has become a household name having a boyfriend and baby father connected to crime
    One can bet for sure that if any other Barbadian woman living on home soil name had become involved with stories of that sourcing
    The tongues would wag in not nice manners or ways
    But who the cat likes the cat licks

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“BTW, why the hell we did not shout out in anger when the original gangster was given the same award on the same night ?”

they are all too focused on promoting, supporting and protecting the racist, corrupt, thieving minority class at the expense of Black/Afrikan people ….there is something in it for them…

36. AC.

Too jealous. You can’t touch Riri . Pull as hard as you can

37. John2April 24, 2022 9:02 AM

AC.

Too jealous. You can’t touch Riri . Pull as hard as you can

Xccc
    Jealous not in a billion years
    I love the life I have easy laid back accept no favours
    Think of all the stress she has to go through
    Her life is not as easy as it seems
    Actually money can’t buy happiness

38. How are you able to speak to if Rihanna is happy?

39. DavidApril 24, 2022 9:23 AM

How are you able to speak to if Rihanna is happy?

Xxcccc
    Are you serious with that question
    Do you not understand the pain involved when a loved one life is in serious jeopardy and facing jail time Her lifestyle is connected to Hollyweird and is constant under scrutiny
    Now this addition !can’t see any thing that would lend happiness at this time
    The baby might be her saving grace but can’t build the kind of happiness that can overcome the barrage of negative press surrounding the baby father

40. If you say so. Carry on.

41. Heard this on the radio… (7 years ago)

Charles Baudelaire: Get Drunk
    One should always be drunk. That’s all that matters; But what with? With wine, with poetry, or with virtue, as you choose. But get drunk.

The blogmaster has to be drunk with passion for this effort. A diverse crew who is determined to rock the boat every inch of the way.

42. RIHANNA will likely become more worthy of the title BARBADIAN HERO as she gets older.

Go read this book. GARRY SOBERS: MY AUTOBIOGRAPHY

43. @David
    Yours@9.33

Not sure why you didn’t attach this song to the photo that you posted

44. AC.

When you have a billion dollars you don’t worry and stress about ur man getting locked up for firing a few shots

get a few lawyer$ and if the bullets ain’t hit you gotta acquit.

Money can’t buy happiness? Then give away all of yours

45. @ Sargeant,

I prefer this one on YouTube

Glennis Grace – Love On The Brain – RTL LATE NIGHT/ SUMMER NIGHT

46. @Sargeant

Does A$AP qualify for such loyalty? They are not married yet.

47. @ David,

common law husband and baby daddy.

48. @Hants

Was joshing with the Sargeant. The picture was last night our hero and A$AP going to a baby shower dinner.

49. Speaking as a youth worker who mentored a young man from within six months of his release from GIS and beyond, I can say that I would make the same argument for a still broke young couple as I have for ASAP and Rihanna.

No hypocrisy here, that young man would tell you.

He too was from Westbury Rd. I never asked him why he was sent to GIS but I did ask him about the guys on the block – what their lives were like, what they talked about, what they thought about society.

I have been making the same case that I made here for more than twenty years.

Carlisle Greaves has seen many of these “thugs” come before him. He thinks we give up on the young ones too quickly.

I KNOW we give up on the young ones too quickly.