The news that Rakim Mayers was arrested last Wednesday in Los Angeles after vacationing in Barbados with his girlfriend Rihanna breathed life into a simmering concern many Barbadians have to her being named a national hero of Barbados last year.

Rakim Mayers aka A$AP Rocky – an American rapper – is charged with assault with a deadly weapon in a non fatal shooting. He was released on a $550,000 bond – see report A$AP Rocky Arrested at LAX. There is the saying all PR is good PR, the blogmaster is unsure local government officials will agree given the recent event.

Although it is the boyfriend of national hero Rihanna who has generated the PR for Barbados, Barbadians who disagreed with Prime Minister Mia Mottley declaring Rihanna a national hero are unsurprised at the report this week out of Los Angeles. Rihanna achieved billionaire status because she operates in a space that is characterized as a commercial culture. Therefore her deportment in public and social circle will display characteristics that clash with traditional expectations of what a national hero should represent. The conflict for many Barbadians does not mean Rihanna has not achieved phenomenal success, it boils down to how a conservative Barbados perceives what are the characteristics a national hero should possess. 

The blogmaster is ambivalent to Rihanna given national hero status. She has demonstrated extraordinary business acumen and talent as an entertainer in a ultra-competitive business. She has also done her part as a philanthropist. All the more incredible, she has achieved phenomenal success coming from a 2×3 island. She deserves the title of Phenon. That said many voicing disapproval of her appointment sees a conflict between behaviour required to support her business objectives and the valueset that should define a Barbadian boy and girl. 

It must be repeated the majority of Barbadians are proud of what Robyn Rihanna Fenty has achieved. Too often the concern many Barbadians have at her elevation to national hero status is conflated with irrelevant positions coloured by political and narrow interest.

201 responses to “Rihanna, Barbadian Hero”

1. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

Where your mind goes your energy flows… Is Bu Barbadian gossip click bait for Pagan Ritualized Churchianity?
    Yes for sure
    DahnMuDo- Sensing Energy as the Foundation of Martial Arts | 10 Minute Daily Routines

2. The only colour Red is the only colour that has narrowed the meaning of being a hero
    The PM used her influenced in bestowing such a prestigious honour on Rhianna
    Obviously no due diligence was taken into concern of the potential danger and damage which can be brought upon such and honour tied to her lifestyle before bestowing such a prestigious honour upon her
    Just simply taking regulations and making changes all done in Parliament and presto A hero was born
    Today all across social media her name of being a business woman and philanthropist is not headlined
    But one of being called a pregnant baby momma scantily dressed and a baby having a father handcuffed and might be heading for jail

3. Singers are Heroes whereas trolls like AC are snot

4. Whole Heep (Dub Vox) Whole Bleep
    STR8WYZ · Scientist · Sly & Robbie ℗

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhQWXJ6nT-4

5. Sometimes if people don’t have anything to ‘say,’ they should probably just keep quiet, rather than waking up everyday looking for the slightest thing to criticise.

I recall when former PM Thompson appointed the same Rihanna as an Ambassador, some people criticised the appointment for reasons similar to what we’re now reading, (except references to her pregnancy).

At that time, the current critics ignored those criticisms, to vehemently defend the appointment.
    They did not find it necessary to talk about Rihanna’s “lifestyle” or “due diligence,” because “YELLOW was the only colour that narrowed the meaning of being an Ambassador.”
    “The late PM Thompson used his influence (‘and the old school tie’), in bestowing such a prestigious honour on Rhianna.”

‘Right’ becomes ‘wrong’……. and ‘wrong,’ becomes ‘right’ according to when ‘your political party is in power.’

‘What uh thing.’

6. @Arrax

People can critique Rihanna’s national hero status without attacking her lifestyle. She didn’t select herself, when the PM (government) selected her they should have known what they were buying into.

7. When the former DLP administration repaired Rihanna’s childhood home and made it a tourist attraction……. or when she donated money to the QEH, those same persons did not ‘talk’ about “her lifestyle” or “due diligence.”

They were busy singing her praises, while ‘bigging up’ the ‘government.’

8. @Artax

We shouldn’t have a problem with individuals criticizing anything, all we ask is that it is based on some rationale that makes sense.

9. ⭐ 💫 🌟 🌠 ✨ I believe pop star ⭐ superstar ⭐ Rihanna has been blessed to be the 1st member of B.B.C. Barbadian Billionaires Club.. Tell me if I am wrong

10. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Making her an Ambassador is fine as ambassadorship can be revoked.

National Hero status is a lifetime achievement award and should never be awarded before age 60,only after a lifetime of achievement. National Heroes should also automatically have an autobiography written as part of the award.

As I said under a previous article, we need another class of award to recognise extremely outstanding achievements in various fields with a catchy name like Bajan Star of … e.g Bajan Star of Entertainment, Bajan Star of Sports, etc.

11. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@555dubstreet April 22, 2022 6:34 AM

Kyffin Simpson was already an member and chances are one or both of the Williams were probably also there already too. I willing to bet Maloney is also there as well.

The billionaire club is not so exclusive and unachievable once your business operates internationally.

12. So what
    Yes criticism of her present pregancy attire is warranted her being in the public eye and she has not hide but allowed her self to be exposed for all and any crticism
    All which now ties in with her status as a hero
    Not expecting her to be a Mither Theresa
    But proper moral guidance is also expected of a country national heroes
    The honor bestowed includes not one person but carries along an image of a people country and society
    Her boyfriend handcuffed before the world is also another attachment to her name
    What in the world has happened to a society of people when wrong cannot be seen when applied to political self interest

13. The onus is not on Rihanna to adjust her behaviour which is acceptable to her target audience and more important her choice. The onus was on government to apply criteria for the position that aligned with the sensibilities of majority of Barbadians. It seems the young people have no problem with it, it is the older heads. What it exposes is a lack of leadership that should have reconciled the divided positions.

14. What is a Rapper without street cred? Remember when Diddy was charged for shooting at someone when he had Jennifer Lopez in the limo? Didn’t Jayzee face charges for stabbing a record executive? Look who he is married to today, and the list goes on

BTW I believe the chap’s name is Mayers not Myers, please get the facts right.

15. I will not get on Rihanna for the actions of another.

This is a grown man who is not her child. There is always a risk something will come out no matter how careful you are.

There is enough to flap lips on without faking outrage. Some are double dipping and will triple dip if the opportunity arises.

16. Get mad all wunna want but I don’t see a hero in Rhianna
    What I see is a political footstool planted in the minds of Barbadians as a hero
    Her heroism can only be justified through political lens
    Outside of her philanthropy nothing else underscores her vigilance and benevolence of
    a person giving of herself where sacrificed is required
    A sacrifice that merits goals beyond being a philanthropist
    A sacrifice of the highest order one which merits giving without asking or looking for anything in return

17. We can have difference of opinions. But sometimes it seems as if we want to add things together and rehash an old conversation.

Rihanna has to exercise caution in her affairs but cannot be held responsible for the actions of others.

She might have accepted the national award but I doubt she begged for it. Blame the GoB for poor decision making.

I did not like the pictures, but I know that I am not her target audience.

My reaction to her is mixed.. proud of her, disapproving at time and at other times just not interested.

Rhianna, you go girl!

18. Names mentioned having similar atrocities are not attached to individuals who are considered heroes
    A hero Title comes with guarded responsibility
    And without a taint of financial blessings attached

19. It looks as if not one or two, but a stable of dead horses.

Kind of amusing to see a dead horse leading the pack.

Have a great day, Barbados

20. Thanks for picking up the typo Sargeant.

21. DavidApril 22, 2022 7:32 AM

It seems the young people have no problem with it, it is the older heads.
    Xxx
    Of course the young people have no problem
    But then again look.at their trend in clothing attire and who they belive to be the moral compass for social guidance
    Taking advice on the topic of being a hero can be described as an exercise in futility in discussion with many of today’s youth

22. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

A simple 30 second fact check would prove CA is talking out of his bum hole
    and geezer is only worth $400 million
    … You better check yo’ self before you wreck yo’ self
    ‘Cause I’m bad for your health
    I come real stealth
    Dropping bombs on your moms
    Fuck car alarms
    Doing foul crime, I’m that nigga wit’ yo’ Alpine
    Sold it for a six-o, always let tricks know
    And friends know, we got the indo

23. William Skinner Avatar

Our National Hero, H.E. Rihanna Fenty did not pull a gun on anybody. Her fashion statements aren’t a threat to our society or national security. She has never done anything to bring our country into disrepute.
    What really are our values : dressing in finely tailored suits and going into parliament to plan the destruction of poor black bajans; attempting to import and sell vaccines at six times the price; refusing to pay citizens for compulsorily acquired properties; sitting as a Speaker in parliament while ripping off senior citizens.
    Tell me about these wonderful core values that Rihanna is abandoning.
    @ Cudearbajan
    In one breath we speak of developing our youth and in another we want to wait until they live to 60 plus to give them the country’s highest award.
    Rihanna should have waited until she was 60 to selflessly promote Barbados; until she was 60 to give school children tablets during the peak of COVID; until she was 60 to put a wing on the hospital.
    Amazingly , she did all those things before she was fully “ mature “and had experienced all the things that can happen in ones existence.
    We are masters at running with the hare and hunting with the hound.
    Peace

24. Well stated William. Many throwing rocks at Rihanna have no problem stiffing their conscience as it relates to political morality. For example the speaker of the House withholding the funds belonging to a 70 year old.

25. Well this is how the eyes see Barbados National Hero
    A business woman lacking the God given sense to protect her interest morally and that of the baby
    Say what all wunna like it is a stain that reflects poor judgement by this govt

https://youtu.be/A5srtUIjOBs

26. Petty of me
    I doubt a member of the billionaire’s club would be risking his reputation in a $12M dollar scam.

But a front man can make good money.

27. William Skinner Avatar

@ Angela Cox
    I did not see you write anything on the six year old , who sold her first piece of art work.
    There are many young people who are not quite impressed with Rihanna.
    There are many older citizens who adore her.
    Give it a break : is Rihanna to be more harshly judged than the woman who was wukking up on the little boy during crop over. Is she to be more harshly judged than those participating in the bands on Crop Over. They leave everything exposed.
    Pregnancy is a beautiful , wonderful experience of a woman’s being. It’s to be adored and enjoyed , not hidden.
    Rihanna like her or not, is by far one of the most intelligent citizens we have ever had from our country.
    Pure Bajan; pure excellence disproving that nasty belief that black Bajans can’t run any business and we always failing
    It is what the much maligned Freundel Stuart once said is a “ dingy myth” . We never paid much attention when he spoke because he did not believe we only understood Bajan dialect!
    She has become a billionaire in the most capitalist country. Surpassing the achievements of all the inheritors of those that once enslaved us.
    Think on these things and don’t be distracted. We have many more Rihanna’s to unearth. Who Jah bless no man curse.
    Peace

28. And the news gets worse

Police intentionally “blindsided” ASAP Rocky with their Wednesday arrest of the Testing artist at LAX, per a new report.

TMZ, which was among the outlets initially reporting on the arrest, said Thursday that both Rocky and Rihanna were returning from Barbados at the time of the arrest. “At least” 10 officers were waiting for Rocky when his plane arrived at a private terminal, at which point a “shocked” Rihanna is said to have “looked on” as he was arrested.

As previously reported, Rocky was arrested on Wednesday in connection with a shooting police says occurred in the Hollywood area last November. In an initial public statement, the Los Angeles Police Department detailed the alleged shooting incident and confirmed Rocky had been arrested for assault with a deadly weapon. The Los Angeles County District Attorney’s Office will decide whether charges will be pursued.

The latest TMZ report says that Rocky’s arrest had been planned for more than a week, with the nature of how it was carried out allegedly having baffled his team.

In many cases of this nature, it’s customary for police to arrange a voluntary surrender by making contact with a lawyer and planning for the individual to turn themselves in. In this instance, however, police elected to not give Rocky or his team notice. Per sources cited in the report, this was done intentionally so police could simultaneously carry out a search of Rocky’s home.

The latter aspect of Wednesday’s developments has been widely criticized, with footage (see above) showing the use of a battering ram. One of Rocky’s neighbors, meanwhile, was reported as having told New York Times writer Joe Coscarelli they were “frankly offended” by how police handled the situation. “He’s a great neighbor,” the witness said of Rocky. Furthermore, Rihanna reportedly wanted to stop by Rocky’s to pick up some of her things. Police, however, are alleged to have not allowed this.

Neither Rocky nor Rihanna—who are currently expecting their first child together—have publicly commented on any of this. A source told Entertainment Tonight on Wednesday that the arrest “was not something [Rihanna and Rocky] saw coming.” Rocky was later reported to have posted $550,000 in bail, at which point he was released. Per online booking documents,

29. 12 Characteristics of Heroism
    How many if any apply……….
    Bravery
    Conviction
    Courage
    Determination
    Helpful
    Honesty
    Inspirational
    Moral integrity
    Protective
    Self-sacrifice
    Selflessness
    Strength

30. @William

You should know her modus operandi by now, she is attacking Rihanna to hit at Mia Mottley. By any means necessary.

31. @Wily

Almost all apply to Rihanna. It comes down to interpretation and application.

32. It says a lot when most of you have so much to say about the most visible and successful Barbadian striding the global stage and the top blog addresses a dysfunctional system which is failing our youth and none of you have anything to say.

Rh hypocrites.

33. Listen in the music industry if the baby daddy in prison that is bonus points for you image!

Seriously though no one is perfect and she has done alot to help this island and its people. Let’s not beat up on her because of what this guy did. However as Wily said above she may well fall short if you use his standards for a national hero. We all know it was done to rope in the younger crowd in terms of the whole national hero thing though so there you have it.

34. @William
    Topic at hand goes hand in hand with Rhianna being a National hero and her boyfriend being handcuffed within plain sight of her after leaving Barbados and arriving in LA
    I did not create the story or elevate Rhianna to hero status
    Now her personnel problem is being opened and exposed to the eyes of the world
    Yes I have a vested image as a Barbadian as to how the image of Barbados is protrayed world wide when placed in the hands of its citizens
    And if criticism or praise is warranted i would not hesitate to deliver on any side
    The fact being their is a Barbadiam image that goes along with the name Rhianna her being named National hero

35. @John A

What Wily posted are qualities determined by someone or sone people. It is not the gospel.

36. Like

DavidApril 22, 2022 9:48 AM

@John A

What Wily posted are qualities determined by someone or sone people. It is not the gospel.
    Xxxx
    What is the gospel King David
    No moral grounded
    6mths pregnant belly exposed
    And philanthropy
    Is that the new criteria
    King David
    Some of these voices are those who criticize politicians immoral actions
    However when Barbados National hero image an image which is a reflection of Barbados and barbadians
    When that image is subjected to scorn and ridicule the supporting voices find all kind of asinine excuses to lend support for a wrong
    What a ting doah

37. AC

Left Riri lone do

Go to any beach anywhere and u will see womensss dress in less the riri.

U don’t want she as a hero. U made that point and we got it. No I will bet u she don’t care a rats donkey what you think
    There a millions out there that willing to ‘worship’ her

38. In Cowboy Gun Land with it’s Industrial Prison complex the Pork Chop Patrol regularly kill Run Away Dreads for routine traffic stops and then mindlessly read their standard script spiel “I was scared for my life” and walk free

Mr. Shakur, can you please explain the meaning
    Behind your violent lyrics?
    Explain the meaning?
    The fuck these niggaz talkin bout?
    Damn…
    Police, FREEZE!
    Can’t get shit off!
    I said FREEZE you miserable black son of a bitch!
    What, come on, come on!
    My attitude is shitty
    My message to the censorship committee
    Who’s the biggest gang of niggas in the city?
    The critics or the cops?
    The courts or the crooks, don’t look so confused
    Take a closer look:
    Niggas get they neck broke daily
    Tryin to stay jail free
    What the fuck does Quayle know
    What young black males need?
    Please tell me
    Message to the censorship committee
    Huh, I pack a nine millimeter cause I gotta
    Livin hotter than the 4th of July, if I gotta die, I gotta
    Momma told me, “Don’t let em fade me
    Nigga don’t let em make you crazy!”
    Game is what she gave me
    Gotta watch your back, strapped
    Real niggas rat-pack
    If you get your ass taxed, bring a gat back
    That’s not the way we made it
    That’s just the way it is
    Slangin rocks, fed a nigga’s kids
    I came up
    My message to the censorship committee
    Cops pull me over, check my plates, but I’m legal
    You couldn’t get me, figure fuck with a niggas people
    They got me trapped, gat with the motherfuckin hammer back
    Cops on my back, just cause I’m black, Snap
    Now I’m guilty?
    Message to the censorship committee
    All you punk police will never find peace
    On the streets til the niggas get a piece, fuck em!
    They kill you to control ya
    Pay top dollar for your soul
    Real niggas don’t fold, straight souljah!
    Can’t find peace on the streets
    Til the niggas get a piece, fuck police, hear them screamin
    Fuck em! Can’t find peace on the streets
    Til the niggas get a piece, fuck police, hear them screamin
    (I hear ya!)
    Til the niggas get a piece, fuck police, screamin
    (I hear ya!)
    Til the niggas get a piece, fuck police, screamin
    (I hear ya!)
    Til the niggas get a piece, fuck police (I hear ya!)
    The niggas scream fuck em!
    Motherfuckin punk police (I hear ya!)
    Thinkin they run the motherfuckin streets
    It’s mo’ niggas than it’s police
    Think (I hear ya!)
    One nigga, teach two niggas
    Teach three niggas, teach fo’ niggas (I hear ya!)
    Teach mo’ niggas, and we could run this shit!
    I hear ya!
    They finally pulled me over and I laughed
    Remember Rodney King and I blast on his punk ass (I hear ya!)

39. ac June 6, 2014 8:56 AM #: “the video where rhianna receives the iconic award. i see a WOMAN WHO IS CONFIDANT ..SELF ASSURED AND A WOMAN WHO DOES NOT MEASURE HERSELF BY WHAT SHE WEARS..the sensationalisation is what drives her sales..something which she and her business handlers are fully aware of USING IT TO HER ADVANTAGE despite the negative fallout which seems to be mimnal in respect to her success..”

ac June 8, 2014 7:05 PM #: “did any one hear rhianna mentioned the crop over festival in the video .i meaning that lots of naked exposure for the barbados economy…,,COME ON CUT THE GIRL SOME SLAC …U GO GIRL,,,,,,,who de hell would be talking about barbados on a world wide stage in 2014 except fuh u,,,,,IF U GOT IT FLAUNT,,,don;t let these moral policies who ain;t got nuttin to give u stop uh thunder.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Should anyone in this forum take angela cox seriously?

40. John2April 22, 2022 11:11 AM

AC

Left Riri lone do

Go to any beach anywhere and u will see womensss dress in less the riri.

U don’t want she as a hero. U made that point and we got it. No I will bet u she don’t care a rats donkey what you think
    There a millions out there that willing to ‘worship’
    Xxcccc
    Send that message to the local and international
    BTW the headlines surrounding her were created by her own doing
    BTW I love the beach not a sun goodness

41. my opinion lends to the issue at hand upon which Rhiana flaws and mistakes are placed upon National hero status
    Her being a billionaire does not exempt her actions and behaviour
    Deal with that Artax

42. She will be and got what u will never have
    She is more of an asset and done more for Barbados than you will ever do in 10 of ur lifetime.

There is no one with out flaws. Even MLK had flaws

43. I don’t have to “deal with” anything.

You, on the other hand, have to “deal with” your ‘partisan hypocrisy.’

When “Rhiana flaws and mistakes were placed upon Ambassadorial status,” you conveniently ignored them……. to defend her instead, because she was appointed by the former DLP administration.

It’s all a ‘political game’ to you. You’re not genuinely interested or concerned about Barbados, as you claim to be. This is evidenced by the fact that you would find all types of reasons to DEFEND an issue, if it was articulated by the DLP………

…….. and would subsequently find all types of reasons to CRITICISE the SAME issue if it was articulated by Mia Mottley.

It’s clear your loyalty lies with the DLP ‘first and foremost’……….and your mission in this forum, which seems to be criticising Mottley ‘by any means necessary.’

And, you don’t respect anyone. You’re prepared to use people and discard them, as long as they serve the purpose of assisting you in achieving your narrow political agenda.

It’s people like you and those of your ilk that are responsible for the ‘political division’ in this island.

44. HERO
    a person who is admired for having done something very brave or having achieved something great

HEROINE
    a woman admired and emulated for her achievements and qualities.

45. @ David,@Artax, This is not the first nor will it be the last time that the bestowing of this national hero award will be questioned. Realistically you don’t have to keep wondering what next will happen to bring it into the limelight as something will always be on the horizon. That is why dead heroes or those past their primes are best.
    Her persona, celebrity status etc. and the title are at odds and some do not wish to admit this. They keep on making excuses. I don’t have a problem with Rihanna and besides she is pregnant and this is a terrible time to be stressed.
    However since the honour of national hero was bestowed anything that will bring the name of Barbados into disrepute should be of concern to us all and the government should accept blame.

46. Ponzi schemes too.🤣🤣

47. Agree with all Heather stated
    Rhianna being a hero brings responsibility attached to that status is a people and country whose integrity should remind intact
    Before Rhianna became the Barbados National hero
    Her day to day ongoing gave little of concern
    How must such a status bestowed and not be guarded and protected with eagle eyes especially by those who called themselves patriots and love the country

48. She goes by the name Rihanna.

49. @ Enuff, if that is all you CAN tell me, it speak volumes. You don’t have anything to bring to the table.

50. Heather April 22, 2022 1:06 PM #: “However since the honour of national hero was bestowed anything that will bring the name of Barbados into disrepute should be of concern to us all and the government should accept blame.”

@ Heather

If you read previous BU articles on Rihanna, you’ll realize she has always been ‘heavily supported or criticised.’
    Interestingly, some persons have maintained their views about her, while some persons who criticised her then, are praising her now…… vice-versa.

There are a myriad of issues for which ‘government’ should be held accountable, that deserve serious discussion.
    Yet, we prefer to spend an entire day focusing on trivial nonsense, such as Mottley wearing scarves; ‘her hands waving, eyes staring and fists pumping;’ what background she took a photograph; Freundel Stuart’s nose; Owen Arthur drinking rum……and, what Rihanna does, wears or with whom she is involved in a relationship.

Although I am happy the young lady has been successful in her endeavours, I’m not a fan of her genre of music and do care about what happens in that ‘world.’
    But, I remain concern about any fallout the island may suffer as a result of her…. or anyone else’s behaviour.

We should bear in mind the American culture is significantly different from ours.

Ironically, however, Donville Inniss “brought the name of Barbados into disrepute,” and we focused our discussion on whether or not he would contest future general elections.