Rihanna, Barbadian Hero

The news that Rakim Mayers was arrested last Wednesday in Los Angeles after vacationing in Barbados with his girlfriend Rihanna breathed life into a simmering concern many Barbadians have to her being named a national hero of Barbados last year.

Rakim Mayers aka A$AP Rocky – an American rapper – is charged with assault with a deadly weapon in a non fatal shooting. He was released on a $550,000 bond – see report A$AP Rocky Arrested at LAX. There is the saying all PR is good PR, the blogmaster is unsure local government officials will agree given the recent event.

Although it is the boyfriend of national hero Rihanna who has generated the PR for Barbados, Barbadians who disagreed with Prime Minister Mia Mottley declaring Rihanna a national hero are unsurprised at the report this week out of Los Angeles. Rihanna achieved billionaire status because she operates in a space that is characterized as a commercial culture. Therefore her deportment in public and social circle will display characteristics that clash with traditional expectations of what a national hero should represent. The conflict for many Barbadians does not mean Rihanna has not achieved phenomenal success, it boils down to how a conservative Barbados perceives what are the characteristics a national hero should possess. 

The blogmaster is ambivalent to Rihanna given national hero status. She has demonstrated extraordinary business acumen and talent as an entertainer in a ultra-competitive business. She has also done her part as a philanthropist. All the more incredible, she has achieved phenomenal success coming from a 2×3 island. She deserves the title of Phenon. That said many voicing disapproval of her appointment sees a conflict between behaviour required to support her business objectives and the valueset that should define a Barbadian boy and girl. 

It must be repeated the majority of Barbadians are proud of what Robyn Rihanna Fenty has achieved. Too often the concern many Barbadians have at her elevation to national hero status is conflated with irrelevant positions coloured by political and narrow interest.

201 thoughts on “Rihanna, Barbadian Hero

1. Mia is nothing like Fidel. Fidel was for his people. He got rid of the American mafia, closed down the brothels, built housing for his people, built schools, roads, etc. Free education and most importantly, he was in the fields cutting canes with the workers every crop season. Will you ever see Mia do that? Mia is for the elites and keeping the blacks in subservience. Fidel managed to keep the Americans at bay and frothing at the mouth. Pleeeeeeease.

2. Thanks for the link TLSN….apparently the palace is determined to continue measuring the temperature, which is not likely to get any warmer…

3. @ African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved,

We live in strange times. The UK conservative government has zero respect for their black British citizens who have Caribbean Ancestry. Yet, they appear to have taken a sudden interest in their old colonies from within the Caribbean. For many decades, British governments ignored the Caribbean. Why the sudden interest? They abandoned their ties with the Caribbean in exchange for integrating with the European Union. Now that they have abandoned Europe they are desperately seeking alliances with whoever.

How’s Missing In Action proceeding with the new Barbados constitution?

4. Lorenzo
    The people of Barbados got rid of Stuart and now have to live under the iron fist of Mia
    A woman who has made all.kind of mistakes during her four years of goverance
    Insulted the people of Barbados broke many laws in the Constitution which would fit her purpose
    Tried aimlessly to attached ammendments to save purpose for blp friends and associates
    Making offers which is a mockery and offense to the Constitution
    Declaring elections during a pandemic resulting where most of the population stay at home all about her quest to win
    An unconstitutional Parliament
    made up of mostly her own Ministers
    The Rhianna debacle now stamped Shameful all across social media
    Is this what the people voted for
    A 30love looking like a dirty rag with 30 red spots

5. @ Lorenzo
    Please read what I wrote. I was making reference to a specific group. I know what I read and what was said. I was specifically stating that the Pan Africanists endorsed Mia. I read where one of them likened her to Fidel Castro.
    Please read carefully before you jump in.
    Nothing I wrote was anti- Mia or anti-BLP.
    It was a specific reference to a specific group.
    I am happy to be a ten year old who can read and comprehend what is written. From you, that is a very nice compliment. Thank you.
    Now go and have a good weekend.
    Ah gone, hear.

6. @ David
    I don’t have to identify anybody.
    Comrade Prescod, has a very long history of fighting the black cause. And while I don’t like the way he allowed Mottley to politically humiliate him, I still know and believe that he remains genuine to the cause.
    However, I read a whole lot of pro-Mia junk from others within the Pan Africanist movement, trying their utmost to tie Mia to an ideological and philosophical base to which she has never belonged.
    I was shock one day, to read one of them trying to elevate her to the likes of Comrade Castro.
    There and then I realized that they wanted to portray her in the light of some radical progressive black freedom fighter.
    She simply is not.
    In my humble opinion the Pan Africanists are now seen as just another pro-Mia faction. You note how quiet some have gone re: the continued ascendancy of Mark Maloney; note that they seldom talk about black economic enfranchisement; note they have not talked about the ravishes COVID inflicted on small black businesses; note they are very silent on 300 million being given to hoteliers; note that they are very diplomatic these days with their public utterances; note they have not questioned why a Foreigner has been given a top job in tourism for which several Barbadians are well well qualified.
    In other words, they have gone rather silent since 2018 on pro- Black issues.

• @William

You have to heap a significant blame on comrade Prescod. He is suppose to be the strident voice operating from deep in the bowels of the BLP. He has gone passive for 30 pieces of silver.

Prescod must be judged based on ‘ what have you done for us lately’. Hopefully his mentor the late Don Blackman will not rest uncomfortably in his grave.

7. “For many decades, British governments ignored the Caribbean. Why the sudden interest? ”

they know very well why….

“How’s Missing In Action proceeding with the new Barbados constitution?”

i asked that same question only yesterday, but we will have to ask Europe, they are the ones drafting it…lol

“There and then I realized that they wanted to portray her in the light of some radical progressive black freedom fighter.”

after shamelessly selling out to minorities, that would be a stretch…there is no in between, you are either pro-Black Afrikan or ya are not, but not only when it suits ya narrow agenda to look good to fool Afrikan Presidents…

“In other words, they have gone rather silent since 2018 on pro- Black issues”

collecting that salary like clockwork though…hope they don’t get the audacity when the swollen ego is deflated and the elite pretence has finally ended….to start back the pan afrikan fraud crap again…am sure they will be deserving of a stoning.

8. pat oliverApril 23, 2022 6:01 PM

Mia is nothing like Fidel. Fidel was for his people. He got rid of the American mafia, closed down the brothels, built housing for his people, built schools, roads, etc. Free education and most importantly, he was in the fields cutting canes with the workers every crop season. Will you ever see Mia do that? Mia is for the elites and keeping the blacks in subservience. Fidel managed to keep the Americans at bay and frothing at the mouth. Pleeeeeeease.

Fidel was supported by a tiny minority and backed by the USSR.

The USSR had no sugar.

Cuba with American investment during and after the war was producing in millions of tons per year FOR THE AMERICAN MARKET which until 1947 was experiencing rationing of sugar.

The USSR wanted it.

… and it got it and the US investment.

Like all investments in mechanical equipment it depreciates over time.

American companies had much of that investment written down by 1959.

Cuba was of use until the USSR rebuilt its production capability and then disintegrated.

https://www.law.georgetown.edu/international-law-journal/wp-content/uploads/sites/21/2018/08/GT-GJIL180020.pdf

https://imgur.com/eyWB8BY

9. And Yes the black Cacus made the PM a visit but was it really a visit or fact finding mission
    China now creeping slowly into the economic affairs of Barbados
    Biden wouldn’t like that

10. Rihanna is a Bajan phenom who’s captured the attention of the world becoming insanely rich and influential through music and business.

Barbadians are justly proud of Ri coming from a fly speck of an island achieving unimaginable success on the global stage at a tender age.

There’s no question of her massive contribution to Barbados punching above its weight.

Her choice in men is a whole different story. It appears to be her Achilles heel. Every living person has one so she is human after all.

The violent abusive Chris Brown and recently accused gunman Rocky unfortunately were bad choices. Didn’t she also go out with elite footballer Benzama who has fraud or blackmail charges over his head.

All right thinking people not only Bajans are concerned for Rihanna and her unborn child(ren) well being.

Trimester pregnancy is not a time for the stress and shocks Ri faces.

We sincerely wish her well.

The national hero status though popular didn’t resonate with all sections of the community some expressed fear over her young age and penchant for the alleged thug lifestyle.

The BLP sycophants are quick to curse anyone who questions the national hero status because she was inaugurated by their Lady to the Manor born grand pickney of the notorious Rugged.

Were Rihanna to be in the straits she’s in following national hero installment by the DLP the BLP would be directing the worse possible bad words at her all now. Its the politics.

Suffice to say Ri must understand because of her lofty perch in the architecture of Barbados nation hood when she makes an error like the Rocky fiasco collateral damage to Nation Barbados will result image wise and otherwise.

We wish Ri peace of mind urging her to obtain the best physical and phycological care possible to be in the correct frame of mind to deliver her first baby(ies) into a tumultuous and unpredictable world.

11. William Skinner April 23, 2022 7:00 PM #: “However, I read a whole lot of pro-Mia junk from others within the Pan Africanist movement, trying their utmost to tie Mia to an ideological and philosophical base to which she has never belonged.”

@ Mr. Skinner

Believe it or not, but, today when I read David’s comment about Comrade Prescod, what you outlined in your above comments, ‘immediately came to mind.’

I’ve realised certain members of the Pan African Movement seem to align themselves with the political party that is popular at the time.

They join the Opposition in talking about the ‘down trodden, black economic enfranchisement,’……. quoting Marcus Garvey, and showing concern for Haiti and Cuba.

It’s a shame former Director of the Commission for Pan-African Affairs, the late Dr. Ikael Tafari, was probably more committed to Pan Africanism and the realization of Caribbean/African relations than his Black counterparts.

12. @ David
    Don Blackman wrote them off and left Barbados. He returned when it was time to go to the Ancestors. I don’t recall him making any statement or views on Barbados when he left. But, I may be wrong.
    @ Artax
    My issue was not them supporting Mia. It was the embarrassing and pathetic attempts to cast her as the second coming of Comrade Castro.
    Quite frankly, I seriously believe that she is often embarrassed by some who come on BU trying to defend her. Most confident leaders prefer balanced critiques rather than excessive praise especially when they screw up.
    The classic one on BU was when the PM got involved with the man on the speaker phone and the police basically found herself in a potentially dangerous pickle.
    I read a comment on BU , where it was stated that Mia is like that because she will talk to anybody.
    There and then I realized how we make the cardinal error of using rather puerile judgments, when it comes to serious matters. That was an extremely poor error on the PMs part . In other countries she would have been in deep , deep shit.
    Then going above the substantive minister’s head with the vaccine deal was another bold piece of nonsense by Mia.
    We can draw all the comparisons in the world but the truth is that this administration is fumbling all over the place and every time it’s attacked we hear about what Stuart and Company did. MThe real truth is that the country has changed a whole lot since then and the party of the former government is in well earned shambles.
    We need leadership . This is no A+ leadership. I don’t care if she talks to people or not.
    To even think of comparing her with Comrade Castro is a travesty.
    It’s been fiasco after fiasco.
    And to top it all she stupidly went and announced a citizen will be in the Senate before it was possible. And then making offers of the Senate to a party that we the people have rejected totally at the polls.
    If this is stellar leadership we in deep shit.
    Peace,

13. Just as I thought! Lotta hypocrites talking crap, as usual.

Was Rihanna there when this incident is alleged to have occurred?

As for ASAP, this could be a street cred thing, although I don’t think he needs any more. He is well credentialed. But…four shots and all we have is a possible grazed hand?

Still, if the thing is genuine then I think we need to read his bio – father jailed for drug dealing, older brother murdered, adolescence spent in and out of homeless shelters, drug dealing to survive.

Anger management issues?

Rihanna may simply be guilty of what many women are guilty of – thinking she can love away the pain.

Unlike most of you, she is accustomed to the streets and its characters. What would scare you off would not scare her off. She would see past that to see the spark of good within.

Some of us would do well to stop wagging our tongues and our fingers and use our eyes and ears instead. Maybe we should look and listen for the good within some of our own ‘ inner city thugs”.

The mothers and relatives, even many in their neighbourhoods often describe them as “good boys who would do anything for you”. And you steupse and dismiss it rather than put it in context. Some of these “thugs” may actually be very good to those who call them good.

I suggest that we read the goodly judge Carlisle Greaves’ recent comments and admit once and for all what is breeding these “thugs”..

Their failings are our failures!

P.S. I will never forget the “thuggish” looking guy with gun earrings hanging from his ear who walked the length of the Licensing Authority to pick up the car keys I dropped while waiting in line to renew my license.

I was eight months pregnant and struggling to stoop. The policeman and collar and tied man directly behind me watched me struggle.

Go figure!

14. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol on said:

“It was the embarrassing and pathetic attempts to cast her as the second coming of Comrade Castro.”

it is your fantasy territory that you are the Fidel and Che revolutionaries incarnate

when politicians start talking blackness consciousness the plebs start claiming they were there before already

Fidel Castro- To the Brink of Nuclear Holocaust

Che Guevara- Doctor, Revolutionary, Murderer

15. Defending Hip Hop
    In Hip Hop there are not many personas who are good guys or girls
    US has Hip Hop Police studying translations of lyrics
    UK has Drill Police (which is a local genre but came from Chicago)

Chief Keef – Love Sosa

What did Chief Keef mean by Sosa?
    Chief Keef is often seen as a representation of the “Chiraq” gangsta rap culture that is present in Chicago. He often refers to himself as “Sosa” as do his peers and the media. The nickname “Sosa” is a reference to Alejandro Sosa, the drug kingpin in the movie Scarface.

I like Hip Hop because of the beats and samples from old records. The defense rests their case your honour.

16. @ Donna
    Well put. Her Excellency is certainly not to blame for her partners actions. Your analysis of the factors that contribute to such is something lost on the Barbadian, who considers an ordinary citizen stealing a tin of sardines a great crime but a Prime Minister advising a dishonest Speaker of the House and attorney, who robbed an elderly citizen , to get a lawyer, as no big thing.
    These are the same ones who witnessed a medical doctor/ parliamentarian pull a gun on another parliamentarian.
    Did they question the judgement of the partners of the speaker/ lawyer and the doctor/,parliamentarian.
    A former outstanding contributor to this blog used to refer to something called the “ Bajan/ Barbadian condition. It is a condition steeped in classism and snobbery.
    For all the talk about RiRi, the damn simple truth , is that going from a simple chattel house , from a district down in town to having more genuine foreign reserves than the country she comes from, will never sit well with some of us who have that Bajan condition.
    There are men who drink rum in broad daylight, never beat their partners and will not harm a fly drunk or sober.
    There are others, who only drink at home and will never be seen in a rum shop but they are very abusive in their homes and make their families live in hell after touching the bottle. I heard of several such stories .
    We have inherited and apparently are devoted to a level of hypocrisy from our days under the Massa whip that has conditioned us to divide and rule. It is indeed a social conditioning that we hate to talk about. But, it reveals itself daily.
    Rihanna’s money can be accepted and her millions of dollars in free advertising is welcomed. However, she should not be given the nations highest national honor because it will be better at around age 60. Pure crap. Heaven forbid that she expires before then and never got the award, we would then say :” but we could ah do more fuh she. Like it or not Rihanna is the most successful Caribbean entertainer/ business person of the century. The fact that she achieved such heights at such a young age is beyond remarkable.
    Yes, we may argue that others deserve national honors as well and yes we may argue that others may be more deserving . What we cannot argue is that on the merits of pure accomplishment, she does not deserve it!
    I have never heard that as a hurricane approaches the country, Her Excellency moved the price of sardines from wherever it was to 100% more. I have never heard H.E. call black Barbadian workers lazy luggards. However some who did were given Knighthoods. Not a word from us, the great lovers and protectors of Barbados.
    BTW, why the hell we did not shout out in anger when the original gangster was given the same award on the same night ? The very night we were supposed to throw his ass in prison .

Peace

17. +We have inherited and apparently are devoted to a level of hypocrisy from our days under the Massa whip that has conditioned us to divide and rule. It is indeed a social conditioning that we hate to talk about. But, it reveals itself daily.”

and then some…people are actually APPALLED that they get to witness this EVERY DAY from those hiding behind anonymous monikers…

first thing that came to my mind was that Rihanna, a Black Afrikan woman, is in her 3rd trimester and fighting off stress so that she and her unborn would survive the trauma of delivery,. and don’t need the wretched anonymous opinions of others at this time…..

..i guess some are not interested in her health or wellbeing, only in her money and what she could do for the island…if she was broke or trying to pull herself up by her creativity, she would be cussed and pulled down by the same nuisance posters on BU…

18. As old folks say uh mek yuh bed hard yuh lie in it
    If Rihanna was not a billionaire and the same scenario of disgust were mentioned against another individual
    The same tongues that are defending Rhianna by all means necessary would not be so kind
    That is where the hypocrisy is rooted
    Rhianna billionaire status in some people minds elevates her to do as she pleases even while carrying the bestowed honour of being called a Barbadian hero
    An honour which she did not earn as defined by the rules of heroism but was handed to her on a silver platter
    Now her Name reflects a person absorbed with self gratification a billionaire and a woman whose has become a household name having a boyfriend and baby father connected to crime
    One can bet for sure that if any other Barbadian woman living on home soil name had become involved with stories of that sourcing
    The tongues would wag in not nice manners or ways
    But who the cat likes the cat licks

19. “BTW, why the hell we did not shout out in anger when the original gangster was given the same award on the same night ?”

they are all too focused on promoting, supporting and protecting the racist, corrupt, thieving minority class at the expense of Black/Afrikan people ….there is something in it for them…

20. John2April 24, 2022 9:02 AM

AC.

Too jealous. You can’t touch Riri . Pull as hard as you can

Xccc
    Jealous not in a billion years
    I love the life I have easy laid back accept no favours
    Think of all the stress she has to go through
    Her life is not as easy as it seems
    Actually money can’t buy happiness

21. DavidApril 24, 2022 9:23 AM

How are you able to speak to if Rihanna is happy?

Xxcccc
    Are you serious with that question
    Do you not understand the pain involved when a loved one life is in serious jeopardy and facing jail time Her lifestyle is connected to Hollyweird and is constant under scrutiny
    Now this addition !can’t see any thing that would lend happiness at this time
    The baby might be her saving grace but can’t build the kind of happiness that can overcome the barrage of negative press surrounding the baby father

22. Heard this on the radio… (7 years ago)

Charles Baudelaire: Get Drunk
    One should always be drunk. That’s all that matters; But what with? With wine, with poetry, or with virtue, as you choose. But get drunk.

The blogmaster has to be drunk with passion for this effort. A diverse crew who is determined to rock the boat every inch of the way.

23. RIHANNA will likely become more worthy of the title BARBADIAN HERO as she gets older.

Go read this book. GARRY SOBERS: MY AUTOBIOGRAPHY

24. AC.

When you have a billion dollars you don’t worry and stress about ur man getting locked up for firing a few shots

get a few lawyer$ and if the bullets ain’t hit you gotta acquit.

Money can’t buy happiness? Then give away all of yours

• @Hants

Was joshing with the Sargeant. The picture was last night our hero and A$AP going to a baby shower dinner.

25. Speaking as a youth worker who mentored a young man from within six months of his release from GIS and beyond, I can say that I would make the same argument for a still broke young couple as I have for ASAP and Rihanna.

No hypocrisy here, that young man would tell you.

He too was from Westbury Rd. I never asked him why he was sent to GIS but I did ask him about the guys on the block – what their lives were like, what they talked about, what they thought about society.

I have been making the same case that I made here for more than twenty years.

Carlisle Greaves has seen many of these “thugs” come before him. He thinks we give up on the young ones too quickly.

I KNOW we give up on the young ones too quickly.

26. John2April 24, 2022 11:11 AM

Money can’t buy happiness? Then give away all of yours
    Xxcccc
    Actually I have already started doing such
    It doesn’t bother me to give as long as my moral compass remains in tack

As a mother and having to see my daughter involved in such a situation
    I would be devastated not only for my daughter but also for the baby whose entire life span would be reminded of her father’s actions
    Hopefully the judge would be lieninent and order him to do community service work along with anger management classes
    The baby doesn’t deserve to be a hashtag for the rest of it’s life and branded

27. FrankApril 24, 2022 3:27 PM

as long as my moral compass remains in tack…
    Keep on tacking, maybe you’ll catch a downwind soon.

Xxxxx
    Don’t worry about my catching anything
    However I won’t worry about catching nothing from u

28. @African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved April 24, 2022 7:16 AM

“…those hiding behind anonymous monikers…”

African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved is your real-real name then? Or are you too hiding too behind an anonymous moniker?

29. AC.

You you got the man tried , convicted and awaiting sentenced already.
    Then u will come in here and talk about human rights .

30. John2April 24, 2022 4:52 PM

AC.

You you got the man tried , convicted and awaiting sentenced already.
    Then u will come in here and talk about human rights
    Xxxx
    There is the court of public opinion where freedom of speech can be exercised
    Then there is the court of Justice
    where the wheels of justice cannot supersede a person’s right for a fair and speedy trial
    Given all.of the above asap Rocky was not denied any of his human rights

31. AC.

You are full of (sh)it

You are not talking about a court of public opinion when you say ‘I hope the judge will be lenient………,’

You moral compass needs calibrating

32. John2April 24, 2022 5:22 PM

AC.

You are full of (sh)it

You are not talking about a court of public opinion when you say ‘I hope the judge will be lenient………,’

You moral compass needs calibrating
    Xxxxxxxx
    In the court of public opinion all views ideas and opinions are welcome
    Such being the case the Constitution gives all an individuals such rights
    Anybody who is spewing shit. Is u and for all the wrong reasons

Btw if asap was in a communist country
    He would have been still languishing in a jail
    Let that sink in

33. @David
    Does A$AP qualify for such loyalty? They are not married yet
    +++++++
    Surely, she can’t jettison him now, the song said it all she is in for the long haul, and you want the tabloids to have orgies of delight.

The young man seems to be a magnet for trouble, there was that assault charge in Sweden and Trump had to intervene, later Trump was heard to complain that he never received so much as a “Thank you………”

34. ++++US President Donald Trump has demanded that Sweden “give ASAP Rocky his freedom” in a series of tweets.

The musician, real name Rakim Myers, has been charged with assault causing actual bodily harm in Stockholm. He will remain in custody until a trial takes place.

Mr Trump said on Twitter that Sweden had “let our African American community down”.

ASAP was arrested on 3 July following a fight that was captured on video.

Two other men who were with them at the time have also been charged with assault. The musician says that his group was being followed by a group of men and he acted in self-defence.

Donald Trump said last week that he had spoken to Swedish prime minister Stefan Lofven about ASAP’s case.

Rapper ASAP Rocky charged with assault in Sweden
    Prison boss defends ASAP Rocky jail conditions
    However on Thursday the president wrote that he was “very disappointed” in Mr Lofven for being “unable to act” and urged him to “treat Americans fairly”.

Give A$AP Rocky his FREEDOM. ++++

++++Rihanna attacks Donald Trump on his social networks and …
    https://webmediums.com/showbiz/rihanna-attacks…
    The famous pop singer, Rihanna, attacked the President of the United States, Donald Trum p, for a comment made on his social networks focused on the events in El Paso, Texas, where an armed person attacked innocents, leaving at least 20 dead and several people injured.

Rihanna launches vile attack on Trump: ‘I’m trying to save …
    https://www.lifezette.com/2020/04/rihanna-launches…
    The pop singer Rihanna just launched a truly vile attack on President Donald Trump for, as she claims, not saving American lives when it comes to the coronavirus.

Rihanna Disses Donald Trump For Playing Her Music At …

Rihanna had some choice words after she discovered her song ‘Don’t Stop the Music’ was being played at a Trump rally! Read her epic response here!Rihanna was..++++

Draw your own conclusions.

35. I think Ms Fenty needs to jet off to Lake Zurich, and meet with TinaT. There they could record their duet version of “What’s Love Got to do with it”, for release at a later date.
    When Bad girl RiRi and Badboy A$AP Rocky offspring arrives….the name ?
    @David we need a name game closer to the arrival date…lol

36. If The Jesus came today
    Would he be a Soul Singer
    Would he run Social Media
    Would he reach the People

37. @NorthernObserver April 24, 2022 11:47 PM “[when the] offspring arrives…the name ?
    we need a name game closer to the arrival date…lol”

I “feel” that it is a boy so thay cam name “him” Nathaniel. And they can can call him Nate or Nathan. I was saving this for my own grandson, but it seems that I will never get one as are a mostly female family, 21 female, 17 male.

I volunteer to be godmother to li’l Nate.

Lol!

38. @David April 24, 2022 3:33 PM “Rihanna is a girl who grew up in Westbury Road.”

On the front page of today’s Nation a 12 year old BOY from Westbury Road/Rihanna Drive who rescued a 93 year old man who was in difficulties in the sea last week. At that time he was asked why he did what he did and his response was “It was the right thing to do” and “i did not want him to suffer”, today he is saying “it was not a big deal”

In another thread David asked if good things happen in Barbados?

I respond again

YUP.

Let us celebrate ALL of our wonderful children. Let us celebrate the parents, the schools and the society which is nurturing them.

And of course another 12 year old, a girl this time, EARNED, not won 12 GOLD medals at last week’s Carifta swimming championships. A gold medal for every year of her life so far. She has her eyes set on the Olympics.

Let us celebrate ALL of our wonderful people.

It is written “a little child shall lead them.”

• @Simple Simon

There are good and bad things happening in any situation that mankind is present, event on BU.

• Let’s be clear on heroes
      There is a need for increased transparency and public confidence in the entire honours system.
      THE WHO AND WHY of any additions to the rank of National Hero on this island is not a national talking point. However, widening an already expansive list might become the point at issue.
      The waters may be tested this week whether the public is in the mood for debate on any addition to the pantheon of these heroes. We have already been forewarned that the existing list of 11 exalted individuals may be expanded in time for the observation of National Heroes Day on April 28.
      At the same time, the Mia Amor Mottley administration should indicate whether there will be further additions to this elite group of Barbadians. There should also be a disclosure of the members of the committee that chooses a National Hero since the system must be credible and based on merit.
      There needs to be a clear rationale for adding more names to the list, given the prevailing lukewarm appeal amongst citizens to the occasion. Most Barbadians recognise Heroes Day as first and foremost the celebration of the birthday of the Barbados Labour Party’s revered leader The Right Excellent Sir Grantley Adams. It is a political balancing act, given the Democratic Labour Party had earlier established a holiday on January 21 to mark the birthday of its esteemed skipper, The Right Excellent Errol Barrow.
      The fanfare and attention given to the National Heroes were evident in the early years after
      their introduction in 1998. The day has virtually lost its appeal over the years and the prevailing COVID-19 pandemic will prevent any mass celebrations by the ruling administration at its East Coast stomping ground.
      The country is fortunate to have two living National Heroes in The Right Excellent Sir Garfield Sobers and the Right Excellent Robyn Rihanna Fenty.
      There should be an explanation of what, if any, special privileges these two extraordinary Barbadians are entitled to and what is expected of them, given their highest-ranking status among all other nationals.
      When the proposed constitutional review process starts, the system to confer national honours and awards, including how public officers are celebrated for doing “their day job”, should be on its agenda. The existing approach needs to be reviewed and revamped. Barbados needs an independent national honours commission with clear criteria outlining not only the National Hero category but all other awards.
      Provisions should also be made for a forfeiture committee within any commission to deal within set guidelines where recipients of any national awards breach stipulated regulations.
      These civic matters must not be shrouded in mystery and treated as being beyond the comprehension and interest of the ordinary citizen. The citizenry is neither foolish nor indifferent to what is happening with the conferment of national awards, even if there is no raging public debate.
      There is a need for increased transparency and public confidence in the entire honours system.

39. “African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved is your real-real name then? Or are you too hiding too behind an anonymous moniker?”

my registered company name…, my photo, real name on websites…in the About sections…

.BU is the only site I carried an anonymous name, until it got too old to continue…nothing to hide… …..operative word is was….

40. TLSN. April 24, 2022 5:43 PM

Rihanna is a young lady and should have been allowed to develop organically without Mia thrusting on her some dumb title. It’s a pity she was not advised by her associates to give the two finger sign to Mia when she suggested offering her the title.

YOU ARE SO IGNORANT!!!!!

41. The gift that keeps on giving Rhianna and her side kick boyfriend
    In the ghetto world an unmarried pregnant woman is called a” A Baby Momma” now that can be added to her many titles such as
    Businesss woman
    Hero and
    Baby momma

42. Old female farts still hung up on a piece of paper from the government controlling one’s relationship.

ASAP may be a multi-millionaire but Rihanna is a BILLIONAIRE.

Maybe she is not yet ready to risk dividing her earnings.

43. @angela cox April 25, 2022 9:46 AM “an unmarried pregnant woman is called a” A Baby Momma”

So a married pregnant woman is called a baby daddy then?

Stupse.

All of us got here because our fathers and mothers fooped. My parents. Your parents. Me too. I haven’t heard of any virginal births in the last 2,000 years or so. So Rihanna did exactly what your mamma did. As we say in Barbados “ya mudda”

Or to be more explicit “ya fadda fooped ya mudda”

Stupssseee!!!

44. Just another titled bestowed upon her from within the ghetto culture
    That you would not understand
    Cuhsear don’t get yuh nickers all tied up in knots

45. @ TLSN April 24, 2022 5:43 PM

TLSN, we have not (yet) heard you giving a ‘shout-out’ to one of (y)our own compatriots (by descent) who has recently made history in the world of Art.

Have you read that Sonia Boyce has received recognition as the first black British woman to be so highly honoured by the international cognoscenti of the world of Art in Venice?

We can only hope that the Bajan government shows some kind of recognition too.

If any Prince Charlie or any other Johnny can receive Barbados’s highest honour designed for politically-painted Muttleys why not Sonia Boyce whose affinity with Barbados runs real deep.

46. Sonia Boyce Wins Top Prize at Venice Biennale

Boyce, the first Black woman to represent Britain at the Venice event, won the Golden Lion for her sound installation of five Black British female musicians singing a cappella.

The artist Sonia Boyce won Britain the top prize at the Venice Art Biennale, the world’s longest-running and most high-profile international exhibition of contemporary art.

“Feeling Her Way” — a sound installation of five Black British female musicians singing a cappella — took the Golden Lion for best national participation. Boyce is the first Black woman to represent Britain at the Venice event.

Saturday’s other big prize, the Golden Lion for best artist in the Biennale’s central exhibition, was won by the American artist Simone Leigh for her “powerfully persuasive monumental sculptural opening to the Arsenale,” one of the two main exhibition sites. The artist presented her work “Brick House,” a 16-foot-tall bronze of a Black woman with cornrows and a dome-shaped torso that combines the forms of a skirt and a clay house. It was first seen on the High Line in New York in 2019. Leigh is also representing the United States at this year’s event, so she has a show of her own in the American Pavilion.

“I have been around the block a few times, but this is probably the biggest commission I’ve ever done,” Boyce said in a telephone interview after the ceremony. “That was really a glorious challenge.”

“The project at the center of the pavilion is about the question of collective remembering, and resisting the erasure of women’s voices within the British music system,” she added. “It’s not just me celebrating.”

The Biennale’s five-person jury was steered this year by Adrienne Edwards, the director of curatorial affairs at the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York and a curator of the 2022 Whitney Biennial.

Thanks for reading The Times.

Subscribe to The Times

In announcing the awards, which were live-streamed on Saturday from Venice, Edwards said that Boyce offered “another reading of histories through the sonic.”

“In working collaboratively with other Black women,” Edwards said, Boyce “unpacks a plenitude of silenced stories.”

The Venice Biennale was founded in 1895 as an exhibition of new art from around the world. As the number of participating artists grew, other countries built pavilions for them, Belgium being the first in 1907.

There are 80 national pavilions at this year’s event, which was originally planned for 2021 but was postponed by the coronavirus pandemic.

The Biennale’s two-part central exhibition is curated each time by a different artistic director. This year’s director is the Italian-born Cecilia Alemani (the director and chief curator of New York’s High Line Art), who has taken the opportunity to reverse more than a century of male artistic domination and put on a show in which nine out of every 10 artists are women.

At the awards ceremony on Saturday, the Silver Lion for promising young participant in the central exhibition went to the Lebanese artist Ali Cherri, who presented a multichannel video focusing on a seasonal brickmaker in Sudan whose story overlaps with that of the construction of a monumental dam.

The jury — which also included Lorenzo Giusti, Julieta González, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung and Susanne Pfeffer — gave out four additional awards.

Special mentions for national participations went to France, represented by Zineb Sedira, an artist of Algerian descent, and to Uganda, represented by the artists Acaye Kerunen and Collin Sekajugo.

Special mentions for artists went to Shuvinai Ashoona, who produces fantastical drawings that evoke her Inuit community and culture, and to Lynn Hershman Leeson, a San Francisco-based artist who works with technology and artificial intelligence.

In March, Golden Lion awards for lifetime achievement were awarded to the artists Katharina Fritsch and Cecilia Vicuña.

The Venice Biennale runs through Nov. 27.

Source: New York Times

47. https://obitmoments.com/obituary/thelma-e-padmore/101/
    Remembering Thelma Padmore

In the mid 1950’s she joined a league of politicians and activists including Frederick “Sleepy” Smith, T.T. Lewis, and Errol Barrow, who were disaffected with the colonial government’s failure to win independence for the island, and later broke away to form the Democrat Labor Party under Barrow’s leadership. Padmore and Barrow became romantically involved around the time of his first election defeat as the head of the newly formed DLP. Later, in 1959 when her pregnancy threatened to derail Barrow’s political career in scandal, she quietly slipped out of the island and immigrated to England where she gave birth to their son in February 1960. Barrow would go on to lead the island to independence in 1966.

48. Cuhdear BajanApril 26, 2022 8:49 PM

https://obitmoments.com/obituary/thelma-e-padmore/101/
    Remembering Thelma Padmore

In the mid 1950’s she joined a league of politicians and activists including Frederick “Sleepy” Smith, T.T. Lewis, and Errol Barrow, who were disaffected with the colonial government’s failure to win independence for the island, and later broke away to form the Democrat Labor Party under Barrow’s leadership. Padmore and Barrow became romantically involved around the time of his first election defeat as the head of the newly formed DLP. Later, in 1959 when her pregnancy threatened to derail Barrow’s political career in scandal, she quietly slipped out of the island and immigrated to England where she gave birth to their son in February 1960. Barrow would go on to lead the island to independence in 1966.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Like your link don’t work no more!!!

Somebody mussee redirected it.

I always heard the big Barrow scandal was Mark Stokes who disappeared from the face of this earth in the 60’s because he had photos of the Dipper and his “Boys in the Band” as Angela Cole used to call them going the other way.

Ok so I heard the saying “He was born in a storm and died in a gale” which was supposed to indicate how he died and what he was doing at the time when his maker called but the lasting image I have of him was that he went the other way.

49. Cuhdear BajanApril 25, 2022 7:06 PM

@angela cox April 25, 2022 9:46 AM “an unmarried pregnant woman is called a” A Baby Momma”

So a married pregnant woman is called a baby daddy then?

.. the correct term I am told is “Birthing Person”

It is supposed to be more gender inclusive.

You are wedded to the past.

50. Ya lost me there when you talk about making giving birth gender inclusive. Although I am sure that all women would be glad if you men took turns in giving birth.

No I was not acquainted with Ms. Padmore.

51. What Ghetto does Rihanna live in?

#Rihanna #ASAPRocky #HouseTour
    Rihanna & A$AP Rocky | House Tour | $15 Million Beverly Hills Mansion & More

52. Cuhdear BajanApril 26, 2022 9:43 PM

Ya lost me there when you talk about making giving birth gender inclusive. Although I am sure that all women would be glad if you men took turns in giving birth.

No I was not acquainted with Ms. Padmore.

Like I said, you are wedded to the past!!

Ms. Padmore was born in Fairfield Land which would be down by Deacons Road, close to where she was baptised.

Doubt it was St. St. Philip where my grandfather was born.

Her father was a Tailor, most guys were back then and before, like my Great Grandfather in the generation before him.

Her parents baptised her at James Street Methodist Church so the family was Methodist.

Mother was a Herbert.

https://imgur.com/vYUWdMF

53. ” Sonia Boyce has received recognition as the first black British woman to be so highly honoured by the international cognoscenti of the world of Art in Venice?”

Thanks for that piece of news Miller….just added the link to my site..

54. Fenty LVMH Fenty stock high gain of 140fell to a,low 128 price yesterdayby
    Could this be the beginning of ripple effect

• The DOW fell 800 points yesterday. It is dishonest to single out a stock based on a one day performance.

55. DavidApril 27, 2022 10:05 AM

The DOW fell 800 points yesterday. It is dishonest to single out a stock based on a one day performance
    Xxx
    This stock has been falling since revelations
    Friday it was about 131
    Yesterday 128
    Would take a look again to today
    Understandably stocks do fluctuate
    What u must understand the realities which comes along with a brand when negative press is applied

56. RIHANNA ANTI
    The ANTI World Tour Live (HD) | (Made In America Audio Version)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4foZkDy9ef0
    00:00 – INTRO
    01:13 – STAY
    05:53 – LOVE THE WAY YOU LIE (PART II)
    07:30 – WOO
    10:13 – SEX WITH ME
    12:56 – BIRTHDAY CAKE
    15:00 – POUR IT UP
    16:30 – NUMB
    17:56 – BITCH BETTER HAVE MY MONEY
    22:02 – GOODNIGHT GOTHAM
    24:21 – CONSIDERATION
    26:58 – LIVE YOUR LIFE
    28:20 – RUN THIS TOWN
    29:59 – ALL OF THE LIGHTS
    31:07 – UMBRELLA
    32:58 – DESPERADO
    37:28 – MAN DOWN
    40:40 – RUDE BOY
    42:32 – WORK
    45:57 – TAKE CARE
    48:18 – WE FOUND LOVE
    50:30 – WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN
    54:34 – NEEDED ME
    57:35 – SAME OL’ MISTAKES
    1:01:40 – DIAMONDS
    1:06:04 – FOURFIVESECONDS
    1:09:04 – LOVE ON THE BRAIN
    1:12:50 KISS IT BETTER

57. The Greatest

“The director general of the World Health Organisation (WHO) yesterday congratulated Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley for leading the fight against dangerous diseases facing the globe, and for smaller countries to have better access to vaccines during the COVID-19 pandemic.”

“The addition of the International Leader Award is an exciting moment for the BBPA, as it makes the Harry Jerome Awards a truly global endeavor,” said BBPA Interim President Ross Cadastre. “We are proud to honour Prime Minister Mia Mottley of Barbados as our first recipient of the HJA International Leader Award and look forward to celebrating international excellence on an ongoing basis in the future.”

58. His people in Ethiopia don’t even like him and call him a fraud and sellout….can’t convince many people of anything…

59. @Hants

For a moment I thought you had gone AWOL, there was a discussion on the Fish Festival and I didn’t see any comment from you.

Leave a comment, join the discussion.