In a country reported to have a high incidence rate of non communicable diseases one of the issues causing Bajan tongues to wag violently is the increase in the excise tax on ‘sweet drinks’. During last month’s budget presentation Prime Minister Mia Mottley decreed that effective 1 April 2022 (today) the excise tax on sweet drinks increases by 20%.

On the face of it one would have assumed the imposition of a sin tax in the prevailing circumstances should be accepted for what it is. Instead many Bajans are expressing that it is a revenue grab instead of part of a holistic approach to tackling the health of the nation. 

It seems ridiculous any government should have to legislate to encourage individuals to take responsibility for health decisions, such is the reality; people have to be protected from themselves. The government needs to tax citizens to ensure a balanced budget and at the same time implement effective policies to ensure there is a seamless relationship between achieving financial and non financial targets. Bad decisions taken by SOME Barbadians ultimately effect ALL Barbadians in the pockets.

Can we agree a national debate promoting a healthy lifestyle given the high incidence of NCDs is a good thing? The ‘proposed’ increase in the price of sweet drinks has triggered a national discussion, mission achieved. The blogmaster deliberately used the word proposed because a feature of the Mottley government has been to back out or delay a few decisions taken. Latest example is the postponement of breathalyzer testing because a metered taxi rate system needs to be implemented. You simply cannot make this stuff up.

There is voluminous information to support the conclusion sweet drinks have a high calorific content and therefore high consumption by individuals is likely to negatively impact ones health. The evidence is apparent that the current health trajectory Barbados is on must be interrupted. While we jabber away money must be found to pay for lifestyle choices made by Barbadians. If we want to drink sweet drinks and exhale smoke from our nostrils like Portvale factory, we must pay for it. A good government has to provide leadership that redounds to the benefit of the nation. There are numerous risk factors to manage as it relates to a healthy lifestylke, it is established sweet drinks contribute negatively to the risk factors associated with NCDs.

The blogmaster looks forward to those in the public and private sector charged with healthcare working together to implement effective measures to save Barbadians from themselves. 

See relevant link:

Sugary Drinks Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

251 responses to “Sweet Drink Tizzy”

1. The article does not address why the shortage of an important medical supply occurred.

Reagent supply at critical low

By Sheria Brathwaite sheriabrathwaite@nationnews.com

The Queen Elizabeth Hospital has been forced to suspend all blood tranfusions and surgeries with immediate effect, due to a dangerously low supply of testing reagent.
    In a document, dated March 29, 2022 Dr Christopher Nicholls from the Hospital’s Department of Haematology, informed the facility’s executive officers the suspension of services would remove the risk of using incompletely screened blood.
    Use of blood that hasn’t been screened for diseases such as Hepatitis B, Hepatitis C and Syphillis could put patients at too high a risk of contracting illnesses, or even death.
    However, in a press release issued yesterday, the QEH’s Director of Medical Services Dr Clyde Cave said the QEH was expecting to receive a shipment of the direly needed testing solutions today.
    “At a meeting with the staff in Blood Bank today (Tuesday) to discuss the on-going severe challenges and pressure the staff are experiencing in their attempts to meet all the requests for blood products, it was revealed that the lack of testing reagents for Hepatitis B, Syphilis and the soon to be depleted tests for Hepatitis C has placed the QEH Blood Bank in a crisis situation,” Nicholls had informed his superiors in the letter.
    “The lack of appropriate serological screening to ensure the safety of all blood products means that any collected units of blood or other blood products cannot and will not be released from the Blood Bank. Thus all previously fully tested units of blood and other blood products are from today being held in reserve for ‘clinical emergencies’ and all routine elective transfusions and surgeries will have to be suspended until further notice.”
    Great impact
    The haematologist said the lack of the testing solutions greatly impacted the services of several departments such as Obstetrics, Gynaecology, General Surgery, Orthopaedics, ENT (ear, nose and throat), Cardiothoracic, Neurosurgical and the Accident and Emergency Department.
    Other specialty areas such as Internal Medicine, the Medical Intensive Care Unit (MICU) and Surgical Intensive Care Unit, oncology, haematology, paediatrics were also significantly impacted as it relates to planning and implementation of treatments, especially chemotherapy.
    “This decision had to be taken as the current lack of appropriate testing reagents and equipment with respect to serological screening prevents the Blood Bank from providing safe and suitable blood products for the general public in Barbados.
    “The risk of incompletely screened blood/blood products being released with the potential of causing illness and fatalities is high in the current status and thus to protect patients, this decision re-routine elective transfusions and surgeries had to be
    undertaken.”
    Only 178
    As of Tuesday, there are only 178 fully screened units of blood at the Blood Bank to service the needs of the entire island.
    The units are not all of the same group and the amount that can be categorised as a “universal group”, which could be transferred to anyone, is less than 33 per cent.
    Admitting that there is indeed a lack of supplies, Cave said: “The hospital did experience a brief shortage of testing reagents for Hepatitis B, Syphillis and a depleted supply of testing reagents for Hepatitis C which limited our ability to screen donated blood products.
    “However, this shortage has been addressed and we are expecting a shipment of the necessary reagents to be delivered to the QEH tomorrow (today). The Laboratory Department has also been placed on standby and on receipt of the reagents will resume the testing of blood products.”
    Cave said that the service disruptions from the shortage were not major.
    “While this shortage has affected those awaiting elective surgery and blood transfusions, sufficient supplies of previously screened units of blood were reserved for urgent use and emergency surgeries. We regret the disruption this brief shortage has caused and the impact it has had on those awaiting elective transfusions and surgeries. However, we are actively developing a plan to reschedule those affected,” he said.
    In March, Cave said the QEH was back on track with reagents stating: “A week or two back, we were out of the reagent for testing for hepatitis B, which is one of the things we routinely test for in all donated blood, so there was a hold-up. But we have since sourced tests immediately from Jamaica, which were flown in for us.
    “We have well over 600 tests on standby and others are on their way, so the problem has been sorted out.”
    The Blood Bank’s last appeal for donors was in February and prior to that March 2021.

2. BBC still in dark about request for delay

Manufacturers of sugar sweetened drinks are still in the dark on whether the month-long moratorium they requested on the tax increase on such beverages would be implemented.
    Yesterday, general manager of Barbados Bottling Company, Andre Thomas, told the Weekend Nation that while they had not received feedback thus far, they wanted to chart a clear path as to what was expected over a five-year period.
    “We haven’t had any feedback from anywhere, but we’re very willing and ready to not have a knee-jerk reaction. We have been trying to engage with the Government and stakeholders for the last two years.
    “I remember two years ago when the Prime Minister said ‘I have you on notice, I want to see some significant change and we were making changes’. Since then, we have been trying to engage with everybody; ministers, stakeholders, but we’ve never been able to secure meetings with the right people to say what is the plan to address the situation,” he said.
    During last month’s budget, Prime Minster Mia Amor
    Mottley announced a ten per cent increase on all sugar sweetened beverages, bringing the tax on those drinks to 20 per cent, starting today.
    However, Thomas said the plan could not just be to raise taxes to deter people.
    “I think it has to be ‘I need you to move from this amount of grams of sugar to this amount of grams of sugar at such and such a time’ and we’re going to invest so much of the tax money to educate the consumer, and we’re going to focus on education of how to read labels and understanding how to read labels and explain to people they have other choices,” he said.
    While he noted Coke had several different formulas, he said the difference in the recipes was what Barbados used in local production, which was cane sugar as compared to other territories that used high fructose corn syrup.
    Using Sprite as an example, Thomas said the company reduced the sugar content in the beverage by 30 to 40 per cent, but sales fell by the same margin. (RA)

3. Tax won’t deter some buyers
    By Rachelle Agard
    rachelleagard@nationnews.com

Some customers remain unconcerned about the 20 per cent tax on sugar sweetened beverages and have vowed to pay “whatever price” for their drink of choice.
    Starting today, sugar sweetened beverages will attract a higher price, as announced by Prime Minister Mia Mottley during last month’s delivery of the Financial Statement And Budgetary Proposals, but at least one retailer said price increases would be gradual.
    When a Weekend Nation team took to the streets, many consumers said regardless of the price, people would continue to use the drinks.
    A woman who gave her name only as Carolyn said she did not care how much a bottle of Coke cost, she would purchase it.
    “I don’t have a stash at home, but as long as it is a Coke, I will pay anything for a Coke. Other than that, the other drinks I am not too fond of, but to quench my thirst, it is a Coke for me. I drink about one a day. I don’t go into too much Cokes right now, but before I used to do like three Cokes a day,” she said.
    A man, who gave his name as Rodney, said he would stop buying Coca-Cola if it costs more than $3.50.
    “If it goes over that, I ain’t goin’ want no soft drinks no more. I drink them every day. Sometimes when I’m working I drink three Cokes a day; the ones from the drink machine. I drink Coke and I drink rum and Coke too. I don’t carry home any, but only buy them when I’m outside. Only around Christmas time I might buy a case,” he said.
    However, another man who declined to give his name said his beef wasn’t with the price but the amount of sugar in drinks in Barbados generally.
    “You see how much sugar in the drinks here? When you look outside, in Trinidad [and Tobago], Dominica or St Lucia, the sugar is not so high. I want somebody to explain to me why the sugar content in drinks is so high in Barbados,” he said.
    However, chief operating officer at Popular Discounts, McArthur Barrow, said while there might be a price increase, it would be phased in as some retailers still had “old stock” on their hands.
    “It is really up to the drink manufacturers and distributors. Some of them have indicated to us that they will be raising their prices, so we will raise ours. We don’t have a choice. We will always
    try to cushion it as much as possible for the consumer. We understand Government’s intention, but we can’t swallow all those increases,” he said.
    He added: “Bear in mind that some supermarkets would have stock they would have bought before the price increase, so you would see price increases trickle in over time. It is not as if you throw a switch on April 1 because we would have stock at old prices. You’re not necessarily going to see every single item increase from April 1. It is going to be something that is phased in as the higher priced product is brought into the store. It also depends on the level of stock that each store keeps. Some stores will keep a higher level of stock than others, and might be able to maintain pricing, but generally speaking you will pass it on as required.”
    Managing director of Massy Stores, Randall Banfield, said: “If the manufacturers carry up the price, the price will change on the shelves.”
    Meanwhile, Andrew Bynoe, managing director of Carlton and Emerald City Supermarkets, said everything was in place for price increases from today.

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Some people just like ill health, natural selection……

…saw a nuisance commenter recently claiming something like “so don’t use sugar then”….n another thread, which had nothing to do with the topic…..not everyone uses sugar, some people are intelligent and know overuse is UNHEALTHY…no one needs sugar to survive..

Water is healthier, if distilled or boiled, than sugary drinks…

5. The PM is standing firm.

———-///

‘Act of treason’
    PM INSISTS THAT GOV’T MUST ACT TO REDUCE BARBADOS’ RELIANCE ON SUGAR
    By Kareem Smith
    Prime Minister Mia Mottley is unmoved by a last-minute plea from the Barbados Beverage Coalition to roll back a massive tax hike on sugar-sweetened beverages.
    On Thursday night, mere hours before the new measure was implemented, she declared that it would be “an act of treason” not to insist on reducing the country’s reliance on sugar.
    “We are a society that has one of the highest incidence of obesity – childhood obesity and adult obesity – and it is against that backdrop that I say to the soft drink and sweetened drinks manufacturers that our tax is not intended to penalise them, but it is intended to save our people,” Mottley declared.
    “And we want to save our people by ensuring that they have less access to sugar, because we simply cannot carry the cost anymore of the level of diabetes, hypertension and other chronic NCDs that are engulfing this nation.
    “When I see the numbers with respect to dialysis and the extent and pace with which they are growing, believe you me, I would be committing an act of treason if I do not insist on us reducing our reliance on sugar in this country,” she added.
    The PM made the comments at the launch of the University of the West Indies’ City Campus and the UWI Private Sector Forum, which was attended by former Chair and CEO of the Coca-Cola company, Neville Isdelle.
    Concerned stakeholders on Wednesday issued a joint statement urging policy-makers to pursue “true solutions” to the myriad of health-related challenges facing the country instead of moving the excise tax from 10 to 20 per cent.
    Ahead of a meeting on Friday with Minister of Health and Wellness Ian Gooding- Edghill, the group argued that sweet drinks accounted for less than one per cent of the sugar imported annually.
    They also contended that measures should more equitably target other leading causes of NCDs like the consumption of ultra-processed food.
    However, Mottley said the simple way to avoid the Government’s stringent measures was to reduce the levels of sugar in their products.
    “We believe that these firms should make money because we recognise that not everybody wants to drink water.
    I like water, I like to mind my own business too,” said Mottley, referencing a popular Trinidadian soca tune.
    “But we recognise that there is a role for them and I’d like to suggest that the easiest way to deal with that is by reducing the levels of sugar in our drinks. People may complain for the first month or two, but like everything else, they will get accustomed to it.
    Mauby is good for you without all of that sugar,” she added.
    Vice Chancellor of the UWI Professor Sir Hilary Beckles declared his support for the ‘sugar tax’ noting that Barbadians’ addiction to sugar is directly related to the experience of slavery and colonialism.
    “We have been made addicted to sugar by 300 years of consuming what we produce.
    We produce sugar and we consume it and now we are sick, addicted,” said Sir Hilary. kareemsmith@barbadostoday.bb

Source: Barbados Today

6. I am of the opinion that people would buy and consume what their pocket books can afford
    The price of health food drinks are our of the reach of many
    Hence govt needs to table a provision upon which people pocket books can be affordable to buy healthy products
    The fact remains that band aid policies would only reach a few while the majority gonna lift the band aids off and pursue a path of similarity and affordability

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Those business crooks are only interested in keeping the sugar-sick trade alive to inflate their balance sheet, heard one such nuisance yesterday talking about how no one consulted with them first about the tax and they are against it…, like someone is supposed to consult with them to ease the burden on the healthcare system……FUNDED BY TAXPAYERS…same taxes they rob…

8. The price of a bottled water is less than a sweet drink.

9. People who are fat and suffering from NCDs should always want to do the sensible thing and drink what is better for their health. Is drinking sweet drinks a good option if you are ailing from a NCD? If you are healthy shouldn’t you want to engage in healthy choices? What does being unable to afford healthy drinks have to do with it? Do without if it will benefit your health. Good health is not a commodity.

10. Listen the boss lady say wunna need to lose weight and if she could get a few dollars out the process for the treasury then everybody happy!

11. The tax will not stop some, but it will stop others.

This difference in behavior is seen across a whole spectrum. It is a less virulent form of the Covid-19 vaccine argument. Even Noah with his ark did not get a full house.

Just put the information out there and take preventative actions. The rest is up to the public

12. But the public as a whole has to pay for high rate of NCDs and other bad lifestyle choices? Who will pay for it?

13. @ David

By now you should’ve realized that some people’s sole purpose in life is to get up every morning and look for ‘every and anything’ to criticise.

Do you recall when, on August 1st, 2015, the former DLP administration implemented a 10% excise tax on locally produced and imported carbonated beverages, juices and sports drinks?

On July 7, 2017, while delivering the ‘Astor B. Watts weekly lecture on the topic, ‘Barbados’ health care system is world class – How is it funded?’, then Health Minister, John Boyce said Barbados was “the first country in the region to introduce a sugar tax of 10%,” which was one of several measures aimed at reducing the island’s high incidence of NCDs.
    He also said suggestions were made to increase the tax to 20% and even as high as 50%.

Obviously, those persons who are now criticising the proposed tax increase on ‘sweet drinks’ ………supported a similar increase in taxes implemented by the previous administration.
    At that time the “fact (DID NOT) remain that band aid policies would only reach a few.”

This clearly demonstrates the level of hypocrisy and dishonesty practiced by ‘operatives, foot soldiers and yard-fowl supporters’ of the BLP and DLP.

However, I’ll agree that the foods and beverages required to support a healthy lifestyle in Barbados are very expensive.
    Therefore, we should be advocating for a reduction in taxes on health foods.

14. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

What is the real strategic objective of a tax on an item we produce and sell abroad for centuries?
    Was not the originally stated purpose that of reducing obesity in the children of school age? Could not a more direct approach to reducing sugar sweetened drinks consumption in children be instituted? When did obesity among school age children start ? Was it really with the consumption of soft drinks? Is this one of the many unverified assumptions on which we base decisions?
    Is there a correlation between the increase in estrogen in farmed raised animals and the growth of obesity?
    Just igniting a think outside the box.

15. @Artax

It is amazing how quickly we retreat to taking adversarial roles on any matter. It is not the Bajan way.

16. @Vincent

What are the more direct approaches?

Where should we start? It has to some where right?

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

While we are on the subject of sweet drinks, please compare the sugar content of an 8 oz glass of juice,especially the imported ones,with an 8 oz glass of soft drink.

18. Barbadians are addicted to sugary drinks and raising the price of soft drinks will not cure NCD’s. What’s the difference between consuming a soft drink and consuming mauby sweetened to the max? What will stop someone’s addiction to sweetened drinks from purchasing a soft drink and adding simple syrup to adjust for their taste preference. If we are so desirous in tackling obesity, when can we look forward to an increase in consumption tax on the “thirteen” fast food restaurants, “The Ice Cream Van is Here”, Frosted Flakes for breakfast and Coconut Bread, PriceSmart and Foster’s Cakes?

Or have the soft drink manufacturers not been contributing to Party coffers as handsomely as some others have been doing?

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I remember at least 17 years ago when NYC BANNED all sodas in the schools and other areas….it did not take any long debate and back and forth…..all such machines were PROMPTLY removed from the schools and people APPLAUDED…because of the high incidences of childhood obesity, diabetes etc…end of discussion..

no one needs permission from any greedy soda sellers to protect the healthcare system from collapse and the people who abuse sodas from rotten health…and, which has NO NUTRITIONAL VALUE and should not be consumed anyway…it’s garbage…

i never used sugar until in my 40s and only briefly…

coca cola is used to clean car engines….

“School district policies that ban soda increased rapidly starting in 2006-2007, when districts that participated in federal school meal programs were required to design a wellness policy to target nutrition and physical activity.”

this should not even be a conversation with those sentimental about keeping ill health among the population alive and well..

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu
    I agree we have to start some where. NOT anywhere. Solutions to problems must be as direct as possible AND without causing collateral and unintentional damages.

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

If i had my way, ALL sodas would be banned…let the greedy weep and wail…and find something to sell that has nutritional value..

22. Wunna ( except me ) have glamourized obesity.

23. @FearPlay

Then raising the tax to 40% next time may help and at minimum generate revenue to fund amputations.

24. Where would you have started Vincent?

25. @David, Aren’t we there yet? 10% by the DLP and now 20% by the BLP…..oh, that’s only 30%. So, just 10% more to go. So, how about 13 ways to die from fried chicken, pizza and ice cream? Or are they untouchable?

26. We are here to a degree but there is always the tipping point. The old people had a saying when you play with razors you will get cut eventually.

27. Wuh de sugar nowadays en even sweet! Two teaspoons does nothing for my lemongrass tea, whereas it was plenty in years gone by.

Can anyone enlighten me as to why… and if it affects the calorie count?

Or do we have to add more to get the sweetness and therefore increase the calorie count?

28. Puzzle of why very similar sugars can taste much sweeter than others solved | Research | Chemistry World

https://www.chemistryworld.com/news/puzzle-of-why-very-similar-sugars-can-taste-much-sweeter-than-others-solved/3009291.article

29. MORNING MORONIC MOUTHERS
    I CHECKED IN FOR MY DAILY DOSE OF BULL SHIT FROM BU BETZPAENIC BRIMBLERS AND THE USUAL CULPRITS DID NOT DISSAPOINT

FIRST OF ALL I WILL SAY WITH OUT FEAR OF CONTRADICTION, THAT NOT ONLY IS MIA MUGABE MUTTLEY OBESE, AND HAVE BEEN SO, SINCE CHILDHOOD, BUT SHE IS ALSO A MEDICAL ILLITERATE.
    THERE IS NO WAY THAT SHE CAN PROVE THAT ANY NCD IS CAUSED BY IMBIBITION OF SUGAR.
    IF DIABETES WAS CAUSED BY IMBIBITION OF SUGAR EVERYONE WOULD HAVE DIABETES.

DIABETES IS CAUSED BY RELATIVE OR TOTAL DYSFUNCTION OF THE PANCREAS , AND ALSO BY AUTOIMMUNE CAUSES.
    IF NCD’S AND OBESITY WAS CAUSED BY IMBIBITION OF SUGAR EVERYONE WOULD HAVE DIABETES. NCD’S ARE ALSO CAUSED BY AUTOIMMUNE CAUSES

I AM GOING TO CHECK BACK LATER TO READ THE UTTER RUBBISH WRITEN BY BU MORONIC MEDICAL ILLITERATES WHO WILL NOW THINKING THAT YOU ARE WISE OR KNOW ANYTHING WILL SEEK TO CHALLENGE ME.
    DAT IS IF THIS POST DON’T GET TEK DUNG

FOLK GET FAT FROM TAKING IN AN EXCESS OF CALORIES. THIS MAY INCLUDE IMBIBITION OF EXCESS PROTEINS FATS AND ALCOHOL —NOT ONLY SUGAR.

SUGARS FATS PROTEINS AND ALCOHOL ARE ALL CONVERTED TO ACETYL CO ENZYME A…WHICH IS THE BUILDING BLOCK FOR STORED FAT IN THE BODY. IT IS ALSO THE BUILDING BLOCK FOR CHOLESTEROL AND ALL THE IMPORTANT COMPOUNDS IN THE BODY THAT FACILITATE GOOD HEALTH.

THE METABOLISM OF ALL LIVING THINGS BOTH PLANT AND ANIMAL, BOTH LARGE AND SMALL, BOTH FAT OR THIN REVOLVES AROUND THE GLUCOSE MOLECULE.

THIS IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED
    AH JUST TELLING YUH

VINCENT
    RE While we are on the subject of sweet drinks, please compare the sugar content of an 8 oz glass of juice,especially the imported ones,with an 8 oz glass of soft drink.
    THIS IS A SENSIBLE SUGGEGTION
    WHY DO WE NEED TO IMPORT THESE DRINKS ANYWAY
    YOU HAVE ALSO ASKED A NUMBER OF PERTINENT QUESTIONS BELOW, WHICH ARE NOT BEING ANSWERE PROPERLY
    What is the real strategic objective of a tax on an item we produce and sell abroad for centuries?
    Was not the originally stated purpose that of reducing obesity in the children of school age? Could not a more direct approach to reducing sugar sweetened drinks consumption in children be instituted? When did obesity among school age children start ? Was it really with the consumption of soft drinks? Is this one of the many unverified assumptions on which we base decisions?
    Is there a correlation between the increase in estrogen in farmed raised animals and the growth of obesity?

RE Just igniting a think outside the box.

WHO ON BU THINKS OUTSIDE OF THE BOX ON SUCH MATTERS

WATCH NOW FOR THE COMMUNICATOR IN MUSIC TO START UP
    WATCH FOR THE OLD TESTAMENT PROPHET WHO CONVERSED WITH DONKEYS TO JUMP IN

WATCH FOR SHE WHO KNOWS ALL, AND POSTS MORE REGULARLY DAILY WITH ONLY HATE SPEECH, BUT ADDS LITTLE, TO CONTINUE EFFLUXNG FROM HER CEREBRUM WHICH HAS NOW UNDERGONE METAPLASTIC CHANGE A KIN TO THE COLUMNAR EPITHELIEM OF THE RECTAL MUSOSA—AND THEREBY MIMICKING ITS FUNCTION IN HER UTTERANCES.

WATCH NOW FOR MORE OF THE RUBBISH AS COPIED BELOW…….AND THEN WEEP.
    BARBADOS HAS DEVOLVED TO FAECULENT MATERIAL. DOES ANY ONE ON THE ISLAND THINK ANY MORE?

People who are fat and suffering from NCDs should always want to do the sensible thing and drink what is better for their health. Is drinking sweet drinks a good option if you are ailing from a NCD? If you are healthy shouldn’t you want to engage in healthy choices? What does being unable to afford healthy drinks have to do with it? Do without if it will benefit your health. Good health is not a commodity.

THANKS FOR MY MORNING MIRTH
    WUNNAH CAN NOW CARRY ON SMARTLY

VINCENT SIR
    I HOPE THAT I HAVE GIVEN YOU ENOUGH BIOCHEMISTRY AND NUTRITION FACTS TO ASIST YOU AS YOU SEEK TO THINK OUT OF THE BOX IN SEARCH OF SERIOUS SINCERE SOLUTIONS TO THIS “”SUGARY”” PROBLEM

30. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ GP at 10 :30 AM

31. GP EX SCHOLAR REPORTING FROM MY GROUND Avatar
    GP EX SCHOLAR REPORTING FROM MY GROUND

RE Puzzle of why very similar sugars can taste much sweeter than others solved | Research | Chemistry World
    MONKEY HANDLING MUSKET AS WE SAY IN BIMSHIRE

THIS IS CLEARLY ONE OF THOSE PAPERS SUBMITTED FOR ACADEMIC REASONS THAT SAYS NOTHING REALLY THAT IS NEW.
    THE EXPERIMENTS WERE DONE IN VITRO, NOT IN VIVO, AND THERE FORE SAYS LITTLE ABOUT ENZYMES OR CO FACTORS.

CLEARLY THE FACT THAT GLUCOSE DIFFERS IN TASTE FROM THAT OF ITS ISOMER GALACTOSE, BY THE POSITIONING OF AN H ATOM OR FROM ITS ISOMER FRUCTOSE, WHICH IS A KETOSE RATHER THAN AN ALDOSE, IS DUE TO BONDING…….AS WAS INTENDED AND DESIGNED BY GOD, THE CREATOR…..THIS IS ONE CLEAR EXAMPLE WHY USING BIOCHEMISTRY ALONE, I CAN NOT BELIEVE IN EVOLUTION, AS THE WAY CREATION OCCURRED.

ALSO, IN ANY CASE TASTE IS A FUNCTION OF ONE’S TASTE BUDS, WHICH FUNCTION DIFFERENTLY FROM PERSION TO PERSON, AND MIGHT REGRESS WITH AGE, OVER TIME.

HENCE THE STATEMENT THAT SUGAR NO LONGER TASTES SWEET IS ONE BRED IN IGNORANCE OF THE WELL ESTABLISHED PHYSIOLOGY AND GENETICS. THIS EXACT ISSUE WAS ENUNCIATED ACCURATELY ON BU IN A MOST DETAILED PPT A FEW YEARS AGO.

SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED.

KEEP THE MIRTH COMING

32. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ GP at 10 :30 AM
    Your intervention certainly assists the process. Thank you very much. Like you I assume that commenters come on this blog to learn and to teach.I view the blog as an avenue for continuous learning . The preservation of our democracy and the development of our society depend on such efforts.

33. When I was in Primary school I ate nuff sugar cakes, sweeties, coconut with sugar sprinkle on it, sweet bread, pone,

I drank water from de pipe in the school yard. I drank water from de Stan pipe at de top of de gap.

I run bout nuff, played cricket in de hot sun pun de pasture an pun de beach, went swimming and hulling waves whenever possible and drank water from de stan pipe.

My minimally educated layman’s opinion is that the availability of clean drinking water would encourage people to use less sweet drinks an mek more homemade drinks sweetened with local sugar.

Then there is the option of increasing the supply of water coconuts.

34. I was listening to the radio and learnt the death of a close friend (Victor Roach) in 2019.
    As young men growing up in the SDA church we had many interesting discussions.
    I remember his earnestness, enthusiasm and his strong faith.
    Wherever you are, RIP Victor Roach.

35. THEO
    YUH OLE BACK SLIDDER
    ME AND VINCENT GWINE HOLD YOU AND WASH YOU IN LICKS DOWN BY HARRISON’S POINT LIGHTHOUSE FOR NEGLECTING TO CONTINUE TO FOLLOW THE LIGHT………AND NEGLECTING TO CONTINUE IN HIS WORD AS ENJOINED IN JOHN 8:31. LOL LOL LOL

SEEMS YOU HAD A GOOD INFLUENCE IN YOUR YOUTH MY FRIEND.

WAS NOT VICTOR ROACH A PASTOR WHO SPOKE OUT IN THE PRESS LOUDLY, CLEARLY, PERENNIALLY, PUBLICALLY AND FERVENTLY ON ALCOHOL ABUSE FROM A WHILE BACK…….PERHAPS 30 YEARS AGO AT LEAST?

RE HARRISON’S POINT LIGHTHOUSE
    I USED HARRISON’S POINT LIGHTHOUSE IN AN ADDRESS A FEW EVENINGS AGO IN A ZOOM MEETING AS AN ILLUSTRATION ON FOLLOWING JESUS THE LIGHT OF THE WORLD

IN1974 I TWICE HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO SAIL HOME FROM ST LUCIA ON ONE OF THE FEDERAL BOATS

WHEN YOU LEAVE CASTRIES HARBOUR AND SET SAIL AND COURSE FOR BARBADOS, YOU CAN SEE THE LIGHT FROM HARRISON’S POINT FLASHING FROM 100 OR SO MILES TO THE SOUTH EAST

ALL YOU HAVE TO DO ONCE YOU SEE THAT LIGHT IS TO SAIL TOWARDS THAT LIGHT AND YOU WILL ARRIVE AT DESTINATION BIMSHIRE.

LET US FOLLOW JESUS THE LIGHT OF THE WORLD
    HE IS COMING SOON

36. @Vincent

The head of the company responsible for making several sweet drink brand is suggesting the policy should be to apply a tax on all drinks which have x grams of sugar. He is a doctor.

37. Sugar / Barbados
    is the Devil’s Dub Plate

38. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ GP at 11:55 AM
    Ye.Theo is a back slider. In days of yore,he would have been beaten with many stripes. I had a few conversations with Victor Roach. Never had the urge to convert him to my denomination in the Christian Church. We know them by their fruits ; not their their mouthings. Lol!!

39. Dr. Kenneth Connell who is the deputy Dean at UWI has thrown his support for the increase in excise tax on sweet drinks to help to fuel bahavioural change in individuals and sweet drink manufacturers.

Again the discussion the increase has sparked is constructive. Let us hope it pushes the country to a win win position.

40. GP BU RETIRED "RESIDENT" DR Avatar
    GP BU RETIRED “RESIDENT” DR

A WORD ON ALCOHOL, ITS ROLE IN THE CAUSATION OF DIABETES AND BEER BELLIES INTER ALIA

ALCOHOL ABUSE WILL INDUCE DIABETES BY CAUSING PANCREATIC DYSFUNCTION, EITHER TOTAL OR PARTIAL, SECONDARY TO CHRONIC PANCREATITIS I.E SEVERE INFLAMMATION OF THE PANCREAS

IF ONE TAKES IN A SIGNIFICANT NUMBER OF CALORIES BY USING ALCOHOL ONE MIGHT GET A BEER BELLY THEREBY BECAUSE ALCOHOL IS CONVERTED TO ACETYL CO A IN THE BODY AND ACETYL CO A UNITS ARE NEEDED, AND IN FACT ESSENTIAL FOR SYNTHESIS OF STORED FAT IN THE BODY

ACETYLCOA IS THE SUBSTANC, WHICH IN THE KREB’S CYCLE IS FURTHER BROKEN DOWN TO EVENTUALLY FORM A COMPOUND CALLED ATP..WHICH IS ESSENTIALY THE CURRENCY THAT THE BODY PAYS TO GET WORK IN THE BODY DONE

ALCOHOL COUPLED WITH EXCITEMENT–AS IN THE CASE OF BOB WOLMER AT WORLD CUP CRICKET 2007 – OR WITH ANGER WILL CAUSE DEMISE BY HEART ATTACK.

SINCE ALCOHOLICS MAY HAVE ALCOHOL AS THEIR MAJOR DIETARY SOURCE OF ACETYL CO A AND THEREFORE ATP CURRENCY, ONE CANNOT ABRUPTLY REMOVE ALCOHOL FROM THEIR SYSTEM, OR THEY WILL CRASH ……..AND I DONT MEAN HERE IN A VEHICLE ACCIDENT……THEY WILL NOT BE ABLE TO FUNCTION.

ONE MUST GRADUALLY REMOVE THE ALCOHOL WHILE THE BODY’YS ENZYMES FOR HANDLING EITHER MEMBERS OF THE FOOD GROUPINGS BECOME INDUCED……OR START WORKING PROPERLY.

ALCOHOLICS TEND TO HAVE VITAMIN B DEFICIENCY DISEASES WHICH MANIFEST AS IMPAIRED BRAIN FUNCTION.

SINCE THE LIVER RECIEVES THE PRODUCTS OF THE BODIES DIGESTIVE ACTIVITY IN THE STOMACH FIRST, ALCOHOLICS TEND TO HAVE CHRONIC HEPATITIS DUE TO CHRONIC INFLAMMATORY ATTACKS THEREON.

MANY ALCOHOLICS, WHO MISTAKENLY THINK THAT THEY CAN HANDLE TIER LICKERS TEND TO DIE FROM CIRRHOSIS OF THE LIVER– WHICH IS ESSENTIALLY VERY ADVANCED AND IRREVERSIBLE CHRONIC INFLAMMATION OF THE LIVER.

THOSE ALCOHOLICS WHO OBVIOUSLY CAN NOT HANDLE THIER LICKERS WELL, ESSENTIALLY BECAUSE THEY ARE VERY SLOW METABOLIZERS OF THE SUBSTANCE, OFTEN FALL DUE TO INTOXICATION GET A HEAD INJURY AND DIE THEREFROM.

SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED
    I GONE FOR NOW

41. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu
    Perhaps he is concerned about the equity of the imposition. I am concerned about the(1) effectiveness of the tax in achieving what is regarded as a medical problem and (2) the imposition of a tax burden on the lower income groups whose caloric requirements are topped up by sweet/soft drinks. In my school days we drank at least one soft drink with our lunch. It made the difference whether our brains had enough fuel and electrolytes to absorb what we were taught.

42. A WORD ON ALCOHOL, ITS ROLE IN THE CAUSATION OF DIABETES AND BEER BELLIES INTER ALIA

ALCOHOL ABUSE WILL INDUCE DIABETES BY CAUSING PANCREATIC DYSFUNCTION, EITHER TOTAL OR PARTIAL, SECONDARY TO CHRONIC PANCREATITIS I.E SEVERE INFLAMMATION OF THE PANCREAS

IF ONE TAKES IN A SIGNIFICANT NUMBER OF CALORIES BY USING ALCOHOL ONE MIGHT GET A BEER BELLY THEREBY BECAUSE ALCOHOL IS CONVERTED TO ACETYL CO A IN THE BODY AND ACETYL CO A UNITS ARE NEEDED, AND IN FACT ESSENTIAL FOR SYNTHESIS OF STORED FAT IN THE BODY

ACETYLCOA IS THE SUBSTANC, WHICH IN THE KREB’S CYCLE IS FURTHER BROKEN DOWN TO EVENTUALLY FORM A COMPOUND CALLED ATP..WHICH IS ESSENTIALY THE CURRENCY THAT THE BODY PAYS TO GET WORK IN THE BODY DONE

ALCOHOL COUPLED WITH EXCITEMENT–AS IN THE CASE OF BOB WOLMER AT WORLD CUP CRICKET 2007 – OR WITH ANGER WILL CAUSE DEMISE BY HEART ATTACK.

SINCE ALCOHOLICS MAY HAVE ALCOHOL AS THEIR MAJOR DIETARY SOURCE OF ACETYL CO A AND THEREFORE ATP CURRENCY, ONE CANNOT ABRUPTLY REMOVE ALCOHOL FROM THEIR SYSTEM, OR THEY WILL CRASH ……..AND I DONT MEAN HERE IN A VEHICLE ACCIDENT……THEY WILL NOT BE ABLE TO FUNCTION.

ONE MUST GRADUALLY REMOVE THE ALCOHOL WHILE THE BODY’YS ENZYMES FOR HANDLING EITHER MEMBERS OF THE FOOD GROUPINGS BECOME INDUCED……OR START WORKING PROPERLY.

ALCOHOLICS TEND TO HAVE VITAMIN B DEFICIENCY DISEASES WHICH MANIFEST AS IMPAIRED BRAIN FUNCTION.

SINCE THE LIVER RECIEVES THE PRODUCTS OF THE BODIES DIGESTIVE ACTIVITY IN THE STOMACH FIRST, ALCOHOLICS TEND TO HAVE CHRONIC HEPATITIS DUE TO CHRONIC INFLAMMATORY ATTACKS THEREON.

MANY ALCOHOLICS, WHO MISTAKENLY THINK THAT THEY CAN HANDLE TIER LICKERS TEND TO DIE FROM CIRRHOSIS OF THE LIVER– WHICH IS ESSENTIALLY VERY ADVANCED AND IRREVERSIBLE CHRONIC INFLAMMATION OF THE LIVER.

THOSE ALCOHOLICS WHO OBVIOUSLY CAN NOT HANDLE THIER LICKERS WELL, ESSENTIALLY BECAUSE THEY ARE VERY SLOW METABOLIZERS OF THE SUBSTANCE, OFTEN FALL DUE TO INTOXICATION GET A HEAD INJURY AND DIE THEREFROM.

SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED
    I GONE FOR NOW

SHUT UP@!

I man Jah Jah soldier
    In Jah Army
    Brandy
    I fully endorse this

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

GP…why don’t you write an article on the health benefits of drinking clean water every day…..and the amounts that are important to keep the body healthy. People were socialized to hate drinking water and drink these garbage sodas iand other health destroying nonsense…nstead….now everyone is holding their heads at the rate of NCDs etc…

not only is coca cola used to clean care engines but people use it to clean their toilet bowls….why are people ingesting cleaning fluids instead of water should be the concern..

44. RE The head of the company responsible for making several sweet drink brand is suggesting the policy should be to apply a tax on all drinks which have x grams of sugar. He is a doctor.
    THIS MAKES SENSE BECAUSE IT MAKES SENSE WHETHER HE IS A DOCTOR OR NOT

RE Dr. Kenneth Connell who is the deputy Dean at UWI has thrown his support for the increase in excise tax on sweet drinks to help to fuel bahavioural change in individuals and sweet drink manufacturers.
    CLEARLY ALL DR’S OR DEANS DONT MAKE SENSE

IT HAS NOT BEEN PROVEN THAT AN increase in excise tax on sweet drinks WILL help to fuel bahavioural change IN RESPONSE TO SUGAR CONSUMPTION.
    WHEREAS SOME CONSUMERS MAY REDUCE THEIR PURCHASES OF SWEET DRINKS, OTHERS MAY CONTINUE THEIR CONSUMPTION OF SUGAR BY MAKING THEIR OWN SUGAR FLAVOURED DRINKS AT HOME
    AGAIN WE ARE PUTTING ALL THE BLAME ON SUGAR, WITHOUT AT ALL CONSIDERING ALL THE CONTEMPORARY FOOD ADDITIVES, AND CHEMICALS THAT ENTER OUR BODIES VIA APPLICATION TO OUR SKINS OR NASAL PASSAGES BY THE ,
    SEVERAL THINGS THAT WE SPRAY IN OUR HOMES AND GENERAL ENVIRONMENTS

IF MIA HAD A FUNCTIONING BRAIN SHE MIGHT PROMOTE THE USE OF ALTERNATIVE SWEETENERS LIKE SACCHARIN AND GIVE AN INCENTIVE FOR THE IMPORTATION OF SUCH SUCH AS NO TAX

WE CAN MAKE XYLITOL FROM BAGASSE FOR SWEET DRINK MANUFACTURE

BUT HAVING AN OBESE BODY AND A BIG MOUT AINT BRAIN IS IT?

RE Again the discussion the increase has sparked is constructive.

DISCUSSION IS ONLY CONSTRUCTIVE WHEN PEOPLE TALKING SENSE

BULL SHIITING AND WRONG POLICIES WILL NOT push the country to a win win position.

45. OK KIKI I WILL SHUT UP AND GO AND DO SOMETHING FOR MY PERSONAL BENEFIT
    WHY CAST MY BIOCHEMISTRY PEARLS TO SWINE OF YOUR ILK
    OFTEN MY SOLID SOUND POSTS ARE REMOVED BUT YOUR RUBBISH THAT OFFERS NOTHING WHATSOEVER IS ALLOWED . YOU DONT GET ME ANGRY AS YOU THINK YOU JUST CAUSE WE TO WONDER IF AS SOME OPINE IN COMEMMNTARY ON GENESIS 6 AND JUDE IF IT IS TRUE THAT DEVILS AND FALLEN ANGELS CAN ACTUALLY COHABIT WITH HUMAN FEMALES, AS YOU ARE UNDOUBTEDLY THE OFFSPRING OF SUCH A UNION
    I LEAVE YOU TO ENLIGHTEN THE BLOG
    YOU SEE I HAVE A PENCHANT NOT TO SUFFER FOOLS GLADLY ANYWHERE ANYTIME
    AND YOU ARE CLEARLY A FOOL

46. @GP
    @Vincent
    Thanks for the good laugh. I needed it after that news.

No good deed goes unpunished ….
    restarted thinking …. mouthings will follow

47. SHUT UP
    FOR FUCKS SAKE
    Black Man You are so full of ego
    You do not serve God
    OR HUMANITY

Along The Way
    Along The Way (Version)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_sVZ9-435VM

In any way
    We came the Long way
    I thought you knew

48. Mama Gonna Buy You a Diamond Ring

49. Living My Life
    Living My Culture

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PJDYvtQSKrI

50. The Long Way
    Longer Way Dub

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NFoVkWY43zs