In a country reported to have a high incidence rate of non communicable diseases one of the issues causing Bajan tongues to wag violently is the increase in the excise tax on ‘sweet drinks’. During last month’s budget presentation Prime Minister Mia Mottley decreed that effective 1 April 2022 (today) the excise tax on sweet drinks increases by 20%.

On the face of it one would have assumed the imposition of a sin tax in the prevailing circumstances should be accepted for what it is. Instead many Bajans are expressing that it is a revenue grab instead of part of a holistic approach to tackling the health of the nation. 

It seems ridiculous any government should have to legislate to encourage individuals to take responsibility for health decisions, such is the reality; people have to be protected from themselves. The government needs to tax citizens to ensure a balanced budget and at the same time implement effective policies to ensure there is a seamless relationship between achieving financial and non financial targets. Bad decisions taken by SOME Barbadians ultimately effect ALL Barbadians in the pockets.

Can we agree a national debate promoting a healthy lifestyle given the high incidence of NCDs is a good thing? The ‘proposed’ increase in the price of sweet drinks has triggered a national discussion, mission achieved. The blogmaster deliberately used the word proposed because a feature of the Mottley government has been to back out or delay a few decisions taken. Latest example is the postponement of breathalyzer testing because a metered taxi rate system needs to be implemented. You simply cannot make this stuff up.

There is voluminous information to support the conclusion sweet drinks have a high calorific content and therefore high consumption by individuals is likely to negatively impact ones health. The evidence is apparent that the current health trajectory Barbados is on must be interrupted. While we jabber away money must be found to pay for lifestyle choices made by Barbadians. If we want to drink sweet drinks and exhale smoke from our nostrils like Portvale factory, we must pay for it. A good government has to provide leadership that redounds to the benefit of the nation. There are numerous risk factors to manage as it relates to a healthy lifestylke, it is established sweet drinks contribute negatively to the risk factors associated with NCDs.

The blogmaster looks forward to those in the public and private sector charged with healthcare working together to implement effective measures to save Barbadians from themselves. 

See relevant link:

Sugary Drinks Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

251 responses to “Sweet Drink Tizzy”

1. Longer Way

2. THEO
    WE AINT LARFING AT ALL
    WE COMING FUH YUH TAIL I SHARING LICKS AND VINCENT BRINGING STRIPES
    AND WE BRINGING THAT ST JAMES BOY HANTS FUH YUH TOO. HE GWINE BEAT A DRUM TO INCREAS OR DECREASE THE RATE AND CONTROL THE RHYHM AND TIMING OF YOUR CALAMITY
    CAUSE YOU FUHGET RULE ONE BOUT A BREACH OF COMMON SENSE ETC AND YUH KNOW BETTER
    MURDAH? WE CANT HEAR YUH MAN? ALL WE COULD HEAR IS HANTS DRUMMING.

Vincent CodringtonApril 1, 2022 12:58 PM

@ David Bu
    Perhaps he is concerned about the equity of the imposition. I am concerned about the(1) effectiveness of the tax in achieving what is regarded as a medical problem and (2) the imposition of a tax burden on the lower income groups whose caloric requirements are topped up by sweet/soft drinks
    YOU ARE MAKING SENSE
    . In my school days we drank at least one soft drink with our lunch. It made the difference whether our brains had enough fuel and electrolytes to absorb what we were taught.

I AM NOT SURE IF THE SWEET DRINKS WE USED HAD IN ELECTROLYTES EXCEPT FOR 7 UP OR SPRITE, BUT THEY DEFINITELY FURNISHED GLUCOSE FOR FUEL.

ANY EXCESS GLUCOSE IMBIBED WAS USUALLY QUICKLY BURNED TO PROVIDE ENERGY TO RUN AND SKIP AND CLIMB TREES AND RUN ON THE BEACH AND SWIM ETC

THE CONTEMPORARY INCREASED CALORIE INTAKE AND REDUCED BURNING OF CALORIES DUE TO DECREASED EXERCISE HAS TO BE ADDRESSED AND PROBABLY MORE SOTHAN THE SUGAR CONTENT BECAUSE WE ARE GENRALLY TALKING IN MORE CALORIES FROM ALL FOOD GROUPS AND IN SOME CASES ALCOHOL THAT WE DID BEFORE, AND WE ARE WAKING AND READING LESS.

3. In God We Trust

4. Revelation
    Revelation Dub

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9_klL2qDik

5. ent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    ent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

Tetrahydrocannabinol
    I man Food
    C₂₁H₃₀O₂

Groovy Situation
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E-dkg6TVUmQ
    Live Up Rastaman
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pyATKd5qzIc

6. I am well aware of the aging effect on the taste buds, which is why I sought the opinion of younger taste buds also. The opinions were the same. Two teaspoons en saying nutten. Rather a crude investigation, though the results have always been the same. This is why I, in “ignorance”, ASKED FOR ENLIGHTENMENT, fully expecting your response.

I shall now retire to my study for contemplation. Doubtless, I shall solve the conundrum in short order!

Oh dear! Too many Agatha Christie audiobooks and too little time

7. Donna natural sugar can be gotten from eating fruit and dairy products. You can wean yourself from adding sugar to teas etc.

8. Actually, my investigations included the feedback from my cousin’s wife, a baker of great skill, whose customers who complain about THE INCONSISTENCY of the sweetness.

The baker too is perplexed, having followed her recipes exactly, always.

She admits to the inconsistency and wonders how to correct.

This is one reason why I wanted to know.

9. People gonna do whatever they want to do
    Did tax on gas curtail the number of cars daily on the road
    Sweet drinks have adjusted to the taste buds and believing that adding a tax to sweet drinks would lower intake in the numbers expected to lower diabetes is like shooting at fish in a barrel
    People would resort to buying pkg mixes where they can add any amount of sugar content to their own tasting
    Also along the way a consideration must be giving on the negative impact derived on slowing of sales and employment
    Can’t have it both ways

10. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ GP a 2 :11 PM
    Thanks again.
    In my day coke,seven ups and sprites were the favourite soft drinks at school. Since there were no water fountains as in the Primary schools, the apparent lower sugar content made these drinks more popular.
    I appreciate your reference to the higher caloric consumption of the current children and their reduced participation in physical activities.
    I note as well the items young parents put in their trolleys at the supermarkets. Mostly junk foods/snacks.

11. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Donna at 3 :50 PM
    . Exactly my experience. Some sweet breads and pone taste excessively sweet. I usually abandon them half way through.

12. Our bodies ‘handle’ what we eat in different ways, one must become aware and plan our meals accordingly.

13. VINCENT
    IT MAY BE POSSIBLE THAT “SUGAR” CRYSTALS OR “SUGAR” IS BEING SOLD THAT IS PROCESSED IN SOME WAY FROM THE SYRUP DIFFERENTLY FROM PREVIOUSLY

AS A BIOCHEMIST I AM TALKING ABOUT SUCROSE MOLECULES WHICH ARE COMPOSED OF FRUCTOSE & GLUCOSE MOLECULES . THESE WILL NOT AND CAN NOT CHANGE. WHETHER THEY ARE OLD OR YOUNG, EXPERIENCED OR NOVICES

SO WHAT PEOPLE PUTTING IN THEIR MOUTHS AS “”SUGAR”” WHETHER THEY ARE OLD OR YOUNG, EXPERIENCED OR NOVICES MUST HAVE A DIFFERENT COMPOSITION. TO “SUGAR ” OF OLD ……. BUT UM CAHN BE BECAUSE “THE SUGAR” HAS CHANGED.

FRUCTOSE IS THE SUGAR FOUND IN MOST FRUITS. IT IS SWEETER THAN ITS ISOMER GLUCOSE
    THE SWEETNESS OF FRUIT IS A FUNCTION OF ITS WATER CONTENT. OR ITS MONOSACCHARIDE CONTENT THUS SOME WATER MELONS ARE NOT AS SWEET AS OTHERS, BECAUSE OF THE FRUCTOSE : WATER RATION OF ITS COMPOSITION

I HAVE USED SACCHARIN FOR YEARS RATHER THAN SUGAR IN MY DRINKS
    THE ONLY SUCROSE I CONSUME IS IN THE CINNAMON ROLLS I USE WHEN I FEEL HYPO GLYCEMIC

CHROMIUM PICOLINATE AND CINNAMON ROLLS ARE EXCELLENT TOOLS IN THE MANAGEMENT OF DIABETES

14. RE Our bodies ‘handle’ what we eat in different ways, one must become aware and plan our meals accordingly.
    PLEASE KINDLY EXPLAIN THIS BULLSHIT STATEMENT PHYSIOLOGICALLY BIOCEMICALLY OR PHARMACOLOGICALLY OR PUT ON A VIDEO OF SOME MUSIC
    TEACH ME HOW YUH BODY DOES HANDLE A LIGHT SWEET OR A GWEN WORKMAN LEAD PIPE IN DIFFERENT WAYS
    LETS HAVE SOME MIRTH AS I ROCK

THE QUESTION IS WITH REFERENCE TO RELEVANT BASIC SCIENCE TEXTS PLEASE EXPLAIN HOW BODIES HANDLE WHAT WE EAT IN DIFFERENT WAYS.

15. In the old days before hospitals people kept themselves healthy by exercising as part of their lifestyles
    Chinese qigong has a number of different styles, or schools, which come from different sources. One style, which was developed by scholars and is now practiced by the general populace, is devoted to maintaining health. A second style developed by Chinese doctors concentrates on healing. A third style was developed in the Buddhist and Daoist religions to help the devotees reach the goal of immortality. This style seeks not only to improve and maintain health, but also to lengthen life. Once you become familiar with the Eight Pieces of Brocade, you will find that it is a very simple but effective way to maintain your health

16. Unfortunately we do not operate in the old days. This is a time where people drive and not walk. Are fixed to electronic devices instead of engaged in other active activities and to cap it, where several ingredients found in our foods and cupboards are artificial.

17. I also remember Mia in opposition said the Dlp administration cannot tax people to death to generate revenue
    Who would have thought that any and everything Mia gets her hands on would be tax out of people ability to buy basic products
    Now one evening galling has the nerve to the dig into his memory bank as a reminder what was done before under past govt
    Her hee hee give me a break

18. I realized more than 40 years ago, that the more soft drinks I drank, the thirstier I became, so I stopped drinking them completely. I used to take a turn hosting bridge about once a month. I used to buy diet coke for the players and I quit playing in a group about six years ago and there are still two cans in the fridge.

19. PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT DIET COK AND OTHER DIET DRINKS SHOULD BE AVOIDED
    THEY ARE CONSIDERED BY THE EXPERTS AND RESEARCHERS TO BE UNHEALTHY
    THIS IS ESPECIALLY SO FOR DIABETICS
    ALL SENSIBLE DIABETICS SHOULD AVOID DIABETIC CENTERS IN THEIR SUPERMARKETS AND THE ITEMS STOCKED THEREIN AS THEY ARE USUALLY ITEMS FILLED WITH CARBOHYDRATES LACED WITH SUBSTANCES NOT CALLED SUGARS. SO THE LABELLING IS QUITE DECEPTIVE

20. Skip to content
    We offer island-wide delivery and Curbside Pick-Up at our Warrens branch!

Barbados Flag
    Hello, Sign In
    Massy Stores Barbados
    Products search
    Search for products…

Home / Soft Drinks, Juices & Water / Soft Drinks / Isotonic Beverages / GATORADE Orange 20 oz

GATORADE Orange 20 oz
    $5.99

In Stock

Please select a substitute option in case this product is not available:
    Best Option
    None

Special Instructions:
    Optional – If requesting a substitute, please enter any special instructions or if selecting weighted items such as produce, seafood, cheese or meat, please describe in detail your request.

ADD TO WISHLIST
    Report incorrect product information.

Quick Overview
    GATORADE Orange 20 oz

SKU: 0005200032867 Categories: Isotonic Beverages, Soft Drinks, Soft Drinks, Juices & Water

Description
    GATORADE Orange 20 oz

Related products
    BBC Schweppes Ginger Ale Can 237ml
    In Stock
    $1.29

+
    JU C kola 500ml
    In Stock
    $2.19

+
    Realime Lime Juice Real Unswt 236 ml
    In Stock
    $7.89

+
    Realemon Lemon Juice Real 2.5oz
    In Stock
    $3.69

21. I think for once we can all agree on something…..dame bajans its time to clean out your fridge,

22. What a place!!

Trinidadians and Canadians decide our banking rates and charges
    Chinese manage our Airport
    Trinidadians decide how much sugar to put in our drinks and what food products we can buy
    Jamaicans manage our key tourist attraction
    Canadians for our electricity
    Irish for our communications
    Chinese build our houses
    The IMF was needed to tell us that we are spending too much, and earning too little
    An Irishman will be needed to rejuvenate our city
    Arabian investors are now attractive – inspire of their notoriety wrt relations with non Arabs

Meanwhile, Bajans are losing their homes and begging for handouts, pay raises, reduced electricity rates and VAT eases.
    …and our PM’s strength is running around the world eloquently begging for more handouts (sell outs) from anyone with money

Comment!
    Since the purpose of EDUCATION is to facilitate human and social development, why then, are we spending MILLIONS annually to create ‘degreed’ minions and workers for these imported masters? Since when is a degree needed to bend over and smile?

Questions!!
    Is it that Bajans ARE actually incompetent to run our own affairs after all? …is Bushie right about the Brassbowlery?

IF so….why not address the problem at the TOP?
    Instead of suffering from VISIONLESS leadership, why the donkey don’t we just import some competent politicians to run the place properly?

How come, in the face of continued, ABJECT failure of the LEGAL SYSTEM, we don’t contract a foreign Law Firm to clean up the local shiite – starting with an audit of lawyers’ client funds?

ANY set of brass bowls, who CHOOSE to appoint STRANGERS and FOREIGNERS to control their very BASIC needs actually do DESERVE to be starved, pressured, squeezed and DISPOSSESSED of their birthrights….. ESPECIALLY when that birthright is arguably the most blessed piece of real estate ANYWHERE on this shiite Earth.

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

Sometimes when you want something done, you do it, and concern yourself of the overall policy after. And fall out if any.
    We saw this on Republic. We have seen this on Senate selections. We have seen this……

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Since when is a degree needed to bend over and smile?”

64 MILLION DOLLAR question…

“why the donkey don’t we just import some competent politicians to run the place properly?”

since ya will go to that extreme….get rid of the shit for brains politicians ya have, stop voting for them period…and run/manage ya lives yaselves…or continue to be run into the ground…

“. ESPECIALLY when that birthright is arguably the most blessed piece of real estate ANYWHERE on this shiite Earth.”

did they not work overtime during covid to sell um and relegate their own people to mere property AGAIN,,..when it’s only their dumb fowls and followers/supporters should carry that degrading distinction…

,had not for RA…..

25. Your diet is less important than the daily exercise you do which will automatically start to select healthier food that the body craves when the effects start filtering through at a cellular level, you don’t have to go all Rock Balboa to win World Heavyweight Title or emulate marine training in bootcamp like in the movies. Find an easy practice that suits your age and level of fitness and do a deep dive into the various resources available on the net and build up your knowledge as a part of your daily training.
    Singing and Dancing is good for your mind body and soul and raises your spirit having some fun. Your mind body instinct knows what is good for you when you change up the plan and feed new stimuli.

太極拳十要 Ten Essentials of Tai Chi Quan

African Dance: Lesson 3: Dancing on the Clock

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Arabian investors are now attractive – inspire of their notoriety wrt relations with non Arabs”

can only shake our heads at that one, no comment necessary..

but i would move as far away as possible from reckless politicians, as an Afrikan descendant..

as i said for a whole damn decade….making it up as ya go along just to benefit ya self and the few has EXPIRED…..there are now only 2 choices.

…door 1 door 2….which will you go through…

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

am sure some people are tired of issuing certain warnings…but am still trying reservedly…

“Speaking by videoconference on Friday in a summit meeting with EU leaders, President Xi Jinping reportedly said it could take years or even decades for the global economy to recover from the consequences of the Russia-Ukraine war. He noted that the Ukraine crisis has come amid the Covid-19 pandemic and a “faltering global recovery.””

28. Barbados is the size of a town in a city and was struggling with it’s finance before Covid, deals are made to improve business and standards of life.

29. Very rarely is government the solution, here it is most definitely NOT.
    If a country is unhealthy then it means we have unhealthy families, it then means the parents and especially the mothers must take the blame NOT THE GOVERNMENT. From birth until 11 years old mothers are primarily responsible for what their children consume, a fat child is the mother’s fault. But I would get called every name in the book for stating an observable fact. If you and your family are unhealthy it is not the government’s fault, it is not BBC’s fault, it is not Haloute’s fault. It is yours and solely yours.
    Fast forward now and because of feminism and other factors mothers no longer cook, not because they can’t but because they are simply lazy, entitled and brainwashed into believing that gender roles are slavery. They hand their children lunch money, give no advice or instructions other than do not ask for more. A tax will have a minimal effect on this. It will just continue the expansion of the welfare/nanny state with Big Momma Mia in charge.
    But it gets worst, who are the primary users of state resources for treating NCDs, you guessed it, women by a mile. So the tax ensures the state coffers will be full and ready when all the fat women come with their hands out for welfare checks and free healthcare, while they provide their X.

David asked for a better starting point – Get rid of the liberal feminist abcdeq+ agenda and reaffirm the importance of gender roles to the family and society (Fathers/men protect and provide, Mothers/women nurture and care).
    The PM should lead from the front and get herself in shape. Default on some of that weight

30. @Bush Tea

Drumroll….

To tick a box.

31. “A WORD ON ALCOHOL, “

I got drunk yesterday drinking two different brandies and found it to be a useful reset.

32. @Redguard

Unfortunately the genie has escaped the bottle.

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

@RedG
    I am forced to ask, what is the role of the father?

34. If Bajans as animated about the dire state of governance in the country, NIS, unemployment among the youts, crumbling infrastructure etc as they are about paying 12 cents more for a sweet drink. Many do not aware it cost taxpayers 375 million to cut off limbs, dish out dialysis treatment among the others.

35. @N

In the traditional role the father complements the nurturing role of the mother by offering the security of protection and the chequebook.

36. “From birth until 11 years old mothers are primarily responsible for what their children consume, a fat child is the mother’s fault. But I would get called every name in the book for stating an observable fact. If you and your family are unhealthy it is not the government’s fault”

People over 50 need to start taking healthy lifestyle choices such as exercising if they want to live another 50 and improve the quality and length of their life. Obviously improvements can be made before effects of old age and inactivity set in. Youths have limitless energy to burn in physical activities lasting an hour.

37. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, SERIOUSLY! … Did u have your tea this morning with too much of that brandy others spoke of!🤦🏾‍♂️

Good Lord… u allow the solid base argument from @Redguard to be clothed in a sexist diatribe about the nurturing role of mothers just so. Wow.

So wait if as a father I am supposed to protect then why am I not fulfilling that role and taking my son and daughter out on de pasture, or round de block, or through de gully or to the beach for some regular exercise!

And then you offer the grand summary that apparently the entire set of health issues around that “taxpayers 375 million” is all about SWEET DRINKS and thus this tax will so ideally change behaviours to remedy the need “to cut off limbs, dish out dialysis treatment among the others.”

Brother… please go and get some sucrose in ur system. Fah real!

Blogger @Redguard accurately blames the PARENTS for bad lifestyle practices as the main culprit for adolescent obesity and beyond but for him to speak in the absolute terms of the female as the bad actress of that agenda is quite amazing…. almost like saying Jada is to blame for Will Smith’s stupidity 🙄 😇 … well maybe not!

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

one smart ass telling me this morning about…”well you know it’s we problem” am like what we what, there is NO WE in any of this, it’s you, yours and THEIR PROBLEM….am no part of any we….

told yall for a whole DECADE where this was leading, so don’t try to involve me now like we are family, i don’t know your ass……..not having any of it…quickest way to become my enemy is try to reel me in to this upcoming mess……that has LONGEVITY…

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

In the traditional role, the head of State was the Monarch’s representative?
    Complements is a nice word. Other than financial support (sometimes?), many (not all) played a less than ‘complementary’ role.

40. Mottley: Tax intended to save our people
    Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has doubled down on her decision to increase taxes on sugar-sweetened beverages by 100 per cent, saying that to do otherwise would be tantamount to an “act of treason”.
    Delivering the feature address at the launch of the University of the West Indies’ (UWI) City Campus in Bridgetown and the UWI Private Sector Forum at the historic Mutual Building on Lower Broad Street Thursday night, she said the increase was by no means punitive.
    “We are a society that has one of the highest incidence of obesity, childhood obesity and adult obesity, and it is against that backdrop that I say to the soft drink and sweetened drink manufacturers that our tax is not intended to penalise them, but it is intended to save our people,” Mottley said.
    “We want to save our people by ensuring that they have less access to sugar because we simply cannot carry the cost anymore of the level of diabetes, hypertension and other chronic NCDs (noncommunicable diseases) that are engulfing this nation. When I see the numbers with respect to dialysis and the extent and pace at which they are growing, believe you me, I would be committing an act of treason if I do not insist on us reducing our reliance on sugar in this country.”
    The 20 per cent tax on sweet drinks, which went into effect from yesterday, has had some pushback from manufacturers and
    retailers of these beverages, some of whom have called for alternative measures such as the removal of VAT on lowsugar drinks. Last month the Barbados Manufacturers’ Association warned that jobs could be on the line.
    However, Mottley made it clear that the best alternative will be reduction of the sugar put into these beverages.
    “We believe that those firms should continue to make money because we recognise that not everybody wants to drink water. We recognise that there is a role for them, and I would like to suggest that the easiest way to deal with that is by reducing the level of sugar in our drinks. People may complain for the first month or two but like everything else, they would get accustomed to it. Mauby is good for you without all of that sugar. Most things that are bitter are actually better for the body,” she said.
    UWI Vice Chancellor Professor Sir Hilary Beckles said there was a causal link between sugar production during slavery and present day addiction to sugar.
    Sir Hilary, who spoke prior to Mottley at the launch, said: “We have been made addicted to sugar by 300 years of consuming what we produce. We produce sugar and we consume it and now we are sick, addicted.”
    (CLM)

41. @Hants

You hold shares?

42. @Dee Word

You have the noggins to appreciate tongue-in-cheek stuff right?

43. APP questions legality of pandemic levy

The Alliance Party for Progress (APP) on Friday raised concerns about whether the controversial Pandemic Contribution Levy which took effect on Friday is legal.
    The Bishop Joseph Atherley-led party contends that a 1995 amendment to Section 112 of the Constitution by the then Owen Arthur administration prohibited any future Government from being able to reduce the pay or status of public officers “to their disadvantage”.
    “Therefore, one wonders whether the Government is concerned if its proposed Pandemic Contribution Levy – tax or sanction – runs contrary to Section 112 of the Constitution, particularly if it is the intention of the Government that public servants working for $6,250 and above will be trapped in its net.
    “If the proposed levy is intended to only relate to private sector employees earning $6,250 and above, then they may feel that the sanctions or the Pandemic Levy is discriminatory,” the APP said in a statement.
    It insisted that Government must not “become politically lawless”, particularly since there are no opposition voices in Parliament.
    Effective Friday, a worker earning an income of more than $6,250 monthly, is required to contribute one per cent of his/her monthly earnings for the next 12 months.
    The Pandemic Contribution Levy will also be applied at a rate of 15 per cent of the net income of companies in the telecommunications and commercial banking sectors, retail sale of petroleum products, and general and life insurance industry that had a net income above $5 million in 2020 and 2021.
    The levy was designed to get these commercial entities to contribute to the Government’s $1 billion COVID-19 bill.
    APP contends that the need for the Pandemic Contribution Levy on select corporate entities and individuals earning $6,250 or more was concerning since the Government negotiated affordable loans from the IDB as part of a larger package with the International Monetary Fund, the European Investment Bank, and the Development Bank of Latin America (CAF) totalling some US$492 million and all intended for pandemic support.
    The party argued that if the increased debt was to assist Barbados with the fallout from the pandemic, projected to result in a loss of about $500 million in revenue, there is no need to “choke and rob Barbadians” since in five years’ time when the interest payments become due, they will be accommodated in the Estimates.
    It, therefore, questioned whether the money from the tax will be placed in a special account and held until the interest on the loan becomes due, “or will it be squandered to finance the 2022-2023 deficit which cost in excess of $76 million”.
    “This is yet another example where the actions of the BLP [Barbados Labour Party] have been costly to anyone but itself.
    When it restructured the national debt, it eroded some $1.3 billion from the NIS.
    Now its levy on select individuals – even if constitutional in the case of public servants – will increase the cost of living for them.
    This is tax policy that punishes and is disadvantageous,” APP added.
    It charged that the Government now seems to be introducing austerity in small doses and questioned what further pain it had in store for the country.
    “We can only plead with the Government to follow the rule of law, consult and be responsible stewards of the mandate given,”
    APP said. (BT/PR)

Source: Barbados Today

44. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ GP at 3 : 42 PM

I note that you use saccharin as a sweetener. I had read some where that this had counter- indications. Does it not form part of the list of unsafe sweeteners.
    Thanks for explaining the biochemistry of sugar(s).

45. @DR. GP,
    The reason those two cokes are still in the fridge is because I drink absolutely no sweet drinks or fruit juices. I eat fresh fruit and drink water and lots of tea. There were three but I had an 87 year old Canadian gent in for Xmas and he likes coke with his rum. So who knows, they may be there when I have him again.

46. re Vincent CodringtonApril 2, 2022 10:30 AM

@ GP at 3 : 42 PM
    I note that you use saccharin as a sweetener. I had read some where that this had counter- indications. Does it not form part of the list of unsafe sweeteners. Thanks for explaining the biochemistry of sugar(s).

SACCHARIN WAS ATTACKED AS LONG AGO AS THE 80’S WHEN IT WAS SEEN AS A THREAT TO SUGAR GROWERS, VERY MUCH AS RECENTLY SIMILARLY IN THE USA INVERMECTION & HYDROXYCHLOROQUINONE WAS NOT ONLY ATTACKED BUT OUTLAWED BECAUSE IT WAS INIMICABLE TO POWERFUL DRUG COMPANY INTERESTS.

I HAVE NOT EXPERIENCED ANY UNTOWARD ADVERSE EFFECTS TO SACHARIN

I ONCE TRIED XYLITOL, WHICH IS A NATURAL PRODUCT THAT CAN BE EXTRACTED FROM THE BAGASSE WE HAVE THROWN AWAY FOR CENTURIES.

XYLITOL IT IS QUITE SAFE BUT TENDS TO BE ACCOMPANIED WITH SOFTER STOOLS
    ASPARTAME IS A COMPOSITION OF A FEW AMINO ACIDS, iT IS “”broken down into phenylalanine (50%), aspartic acid (40%) and methanol (10%) during metabolism in the body. The excess of phenylalanine blocks the transport of important amino acids to the brain contributing to reduced levels of dopamine and serotonin. Astrocytes directly affect the transport of this amino acid and also indirectly by modulation of carriers in the endothelium. Aspartic acid at high concentrations is a toxin that causes hyperexcitability of neurons and is also a precursor of other excitatory amino acid – glutamates. Their excess in quantity and lack of astrocytic uptake induces excitotoxicity and leads to the degeneration of astrocytes and neurons. The methanol metabolites cause CNS depression, vision disorders and other symptoms leading ultimately to metabolic acidosis and coma”

sTEVIA IS ANOTHER SAFE NATURAL PRODUCT USED FOR AGES BUT IT HAS AN UNPLEASNT AFTERTASTE

I HAD A POST ON BU ON THIS SUBJECT YEARS AGO, BUT AS AN INTELECTUAL YOU MIGHT FIND THIS ARTICLE INTERESTING AND INSTRUCTIVE
    https://academic.oup.com/nutritionreviews/article/74/11/670/2281652

THERE ARE A NUMBER OF INTERESTING ARTICLES ONLINE ON ALTERNATIVES TO SUCROSE
    BUT REMEMBER SUCROSE IS GOD ORDAINED, BECAUSE SUCROSE IS METABOLIZED TO GLUCOSE & FRUCTOSE
    GOD HAS DESIGNED THE MOST INGENIOUS METABOLIC PATHWAY CALLED GLYCOLYSIS IN WHICH GLUCOSE IS GRADUALY CONVERTED TO ACERYL CO A FOR THE GENERATION FOR ATP WHICH IS THE MAIN CURRENCY THE BODY PAYS TO DO WORK.

ONE SUCROSE MOLECULE IS ESSENTIALLY EQUAL TO TWO GLUCOSE MOLECULES SINCE EARLY IN GLYCOLYSIS, FRUCTOSE IS INCORPORATED INTO THIS PATHWAY…….

THE GLUCOSE MOLECULE IS THE STAR BECAUSE YOU NEED IT TO MAKE RIBOSE AND DEOXYRIBOSE FOR YOUR DNA AND RNA

NOTE ALSO LACTOSE FROM MILK IS BROKEN DOWN SUCH THAT 1 LACTOSE GIVES 1 GALACTOSE AND I GLUCOSE
    BUT
    BECAUSE GALACTOSE IS CONVERTED TO GLUCOSE, WHEN THE BABY NEEDS ATP I LACTOSE BECOMES 2 GLUCOSES
    BUT
    WHEN THE BABY WANTS TO MAKE GALACTOSIDES TO PROVIDE PROTECTION OF ITS NERVE CELLS IT CONVERTS THE LACTOSE INTO 2 GALACTOSES
    BABIES THAT DONT HAVE THE TWO EXTRA ENZYMES NEEDED TO CONVERT GLUCOSE TO GALACTOSE DIE FROM GALACTOSEMIA
    NOW ASK THE EVOLUTIONISTS TO EXPLAIN THAT TO YOU

47. PAT O
    I WAS NOT KNOCKING YOU AT ALL, BECAUSE I KNOW THAT YOU – AS A DIABETIC – READS WIDELY ON THE TOPIC, AND ARE THUS DEFINITELY ON TOP OF YOUR GAME IN THESE MATTERS, AND THAT YOU EXERT THE REQUIRED DISCIPLINE.—–WHICH WE SHOULD BE TEACHING FROM PRIMARY SCHOOL.IN THESE DAYS- INSTEAD OF REVERTING TO TAXES.

I SOUGHT MERELY, IN RESPONSE TO YOUR POST, TO WARN OTHERS WHO MIGHT BE UNAWARE, NOT TO TRUST THE PRODUCTS IN DIABETIC OR WEIGHT LOSS CENTERS IN SUPERMARKETS, INCLUDING DIET DRINKS, AND TO SUGGEST THAT THEY READ THE LABELS AS DEXTRANS MALTOSE ETC ARE SOURCES OF GLUCOSE, AND SO IS EVERYTHING SWEETENED WITH OR CONTAINING FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP DERIVATIVES

THIS IS ONE OF THE WAYS OUR EDUCATIONAL SYSTEM CAN BE EMPLOYED TO ACHIEVE THE REQUIRED BEHAVIORAL CHANGE.