Sweet Drink Tax!
Submitted by Anthony Davis

Minister Boyce, Minister of Health
Minister of Health John Boyce today linked high consumption, especially of sweet drinks, to the island’s exploding problem of noncommunicable diseases (NCDs) and expressed gratitude that the Ministry of Finance took on board the budget recommendations of an NCD Committee – Barbados Today (18 June 2015
Pray tell me, Messieurs Sinckler and Boyce, if this sweet drink – which has turned into sour drink, not only for Barbadians, […] but many of the tourists who come here – is so potent, and makes us so obese, why would you tax the sports drinks recommended for giving athletes a boost after working out or taking some form of exercise, as recommended by this Government and several other speakers along with eating healthy, as the panacea for reducing NCDs?
Are we to take it that you have reneged on your word of making exercising part of our daily routine of staying healthy?
I find it just another of the Minister of Finance’s ways of pushing his hand deeper into our pockets – nothing more, nothing less. When I see the centenarians whom the Governor General visits I don’t see any obese ones. They are usually slim. They would have drunk their share of sweet drinks such as Ju-c and Bim. Also it is well known that they used a lot of sugar in their tea, and sweet bread was one of the household staples. Even dumplings were loaded with sugar!
So you have to come with a more plausible excuse!
You are doing your best to circumvent putting anti-air pollution laws on the statute books probably because some of your friends/family own trucks, minibuses, ZRs, taxis, and also the Transport Board buses would have to fit diesel filters to their exhausts. There is also the annoying problem of those who only think of themselves – and not even their neighbours -and burn all kinds of rubbish indiscriminately whenever and wherever they like. They don’t think of those who walk, or drive by, and maybe suffering from asthma, or have some problem with their airways.
It is callous!
In Time Online dated 16 June, 2015, under the headline “The FDA is moving to eliminate trans fat, and here’s why that’s a good thing” the report stated:
“On Tuesday U.S. officials announced that they are moving forward with a ban on artificial trans fat in the food supply. Over the next three years, food manufacturers must remove the primary source of artificial trans fat – partially hydrogenated oils (PHOs) – from their products.”
“Trans fat is the byproduct of PHOs, and it’s created through a process called hydrogenation. This can give foods a certain taste and texture and it can up the shelf life of processed food.”
“Trans fat is linked to heart disease. This kind of fat has been shown to raise bad cholesterol and lower good cholesterol – which can increase risk of heart problems and even type-2 diabetes. Trans fat builds up plaque in arteries , which could lead to heart attack.”
Add to this the air pollution, and we have a cocktail of great volume.
You can tax sweet drinks, including sports drinks which those who exercise often, and strenuously, as they are needed to give them a boost after their exercise – and milk of all things which the poor, the needy, the vulnerable, and the pensioners rely on to put in their tea – as much as you want, Mr. Minister of Finance, in the end the NCDs will continue to spiral upwards if nothing is done about cleaning up the air in this country, and removing the noise polluters from its highways and byways.
It always amazes me how the Minister of Finance can push through some dreamed up tax within months and the other ministers have to wait up to a year to have their day before Cabinet, and longer for important legislation to get into the Statute books – e.g. anti-air and -noise pollution.
If the populace have to suffer from the black clouds which diesel exhaust vehicles leave, what use is it if the Minister of Finance burdens us with tax after tax as if taxes were going out of style, when individuals fall ill from the particulates which get into their blood stream, and they have to visit the hospital?
He wont get the amount of tax he is speculating about.
There are already people in this country who are surviving by the skin of their teeth, and living from pay check to pay check, because they can hardly buy a snow cone after the taxes, rent/mortgage, and bills are deducted from the pittance which they get as pay. We must remember that they also have to pay bus fares and purchase clothing/uniforms for themselves and their scions.
The Minister of Finance, on the other hand, has an MP vehicle at his disposal and is paid by the said people whose pockets he is pushing his hands into every five minutes. Also, his pension is secure, and he will get much more than those persons who are being discarded at Government’s and its quangos’ whims and fancies.
When this Government wanted a second term they talked a lot about “we” and “our” children, but I have not heard any of them use the above when it comes to the youth of this country for a long while. We means “we” as in their colleagues in the Cabinet, and Government as a whole, because this is a “people-centred Government”. The lower echelons of our society are bearing the brunt of everything which is going on in this country!
Our sense of “we” has shrivelled. Now when people talk about “our kids”, they talk about their own biological kids; they don’t think about all kids. This leads to a situation that’s bad for the economy and bad for democracy. But it’s also just not right. We have to care for other people’s kids too.
– Robert Putnam, PhD
![]()

Will drink Brita water or better.
LikeLike
What exactly is this tax going to do? Reduce consumption and put the retailers out of business? If these monkeys had any sense at all they should have encourage the manufacturers to reduce the amount of sugar in their products by a percentage and tax those over that percentage. This will encourage these manufacturers to reduce the sugar content in their products. So the Pine Hill Dairy will be shot in their foot if people stop buying their juices or will consumers pay the tax and still drink these high sugar cintent drinks?
LikeLiked by 1 person
Correction …..sugar content
LikeLike
Interesting piece and I would break out one remarks for quick comment:
“When I see the centenarians whom the Governor General visits I don’t see any obese ones. They are usually slim. They would have drunk their share of sweet drinks such as Ju-c and Bim. Also it is well known that they used a lot of sugar in their tea, and sweet bread ”
Firstly, I think by 100 most centenarians have lost any obesity but more relevant though is that the circumstances of our grand-mum lives are very different to that of our children today.
But yet a few of them will live to a hundred and more.
The tax may be onerous and all the tings you mentioned re dipping into pockets but the health idea behind it is very much on track
LikeLike
Bushie don’t make a habit of cussing EX-women, but what shiite are you talking Islandgal?
The ONLY sensible part of the damn budget is the sweet drink tax.
You understand that these drinks are TOTALY-USELESS, ADDICTIVE, SHIITE?
They have NO nutritional value….
They contribute to massive pollution/mosquitoes via the plastic and glass bottles
They DEFINITELY accelerate chronic ill health like diabetes
They are mostly IMPORTED – made with Tricki-shiite water and low quality sugar
They encourage the LAZY to substitute them for quality natural, nutritious drinks
Shiite man!!!
It we raise ZERO dollars in revenue from this measure, then that would be the best possible outcome…
Even if we raised twice the amount that the Stink Liar guessed, …at least then the brass bowls who are trying to kill themselves would be making a meaningful contribution to the QEH to cover the cost of cutting off their damn feet….
Put down the damn 2X4 and go long back out in the garden do…. 🙂
LikeLike
The tax is revenue in purpose and we all know it. The tax will not negatively impact consumption and we all know it.
LikeLiked by 1 person
BUSHSHITE……I wouldn’t normally speak to my EXes BUT you head so full of shoite that you have missed the boat BIG TIME! You can’t even see where I am coming from you IDIOT!
LikeLike
uh know! the blp misfits talk as if they have a reservoir of industries that produce. get real fuh christ sake this economy main source for production and generating revenue is tourism with agriculture a distant second .other than those two there is Nada!Nada. what the misfits refuse to accept and admit that in goods times the planners and negoitiators failed to prepare and plan for the future .also in retrospect everybody had a big party at the country expense now the debt collectors have arrived and whether the misfits like it or not the days of partying and freeness is over and the bills MUST be paid. crying not going help the piper/s want there dues. Get Real clowns.
LikeLike
Basically, on one hand the government imposed a 10% tax on “sweet drinks” in anticipation that people would consume less and concentrate on healthier lifestyles.
However, on the other hand, the same government removed certain fruits, vegetables and fish from the VAT free basket of goods, so that these items, (that actually promote healthier lifestyles) will now incur 17.5% VAT.
I bet when Donville did talking ’bout de cost of NCD to de hospital, he din take the 17.5% increase in health foods into consideration. These fellows are bare boo.
LikeLike
Oh, so raising the tax on sweet drinks will stop people buying them? Really? So now we don’t eat food any more because of the rise in prices? Or the number of cars on the road has halved because of the rise in gas prices? Gimme a break! 10% ain’t gonna make no difference at all.
As has been said already, force manufacturers to reduce the amount of sugar in these poisonous drinks! And ban these stalls outside schools that pump sugar into kids on the way into school and have them hyperactive and unmanageable all day and then pump em full again on their way out and have them hyperactive and unmanageable on public transport and at home in the evening.
Oh, wait! The poor black man just trying to earn a dollar with these stalls. OK. Let’s have thousands of obese, hyperactive and unmanageable kids disrupting the education of the masses and roaming the island high as kites, as long as YOU can afford to use the takings from your stall to buy a KFC large family bucket and a litre of Coke on the way home. Triple Steupse!
LikeLike
In a free market system it will be difficult for the government to legislate in a draconian way and we know it, everything is so politically poison anyway.
LikeLike
Did the cigarette tax stop people from smoking??? Thank you Mitchlans. If it is sugar consumption the Government wants to curb then put certain things in place to encourage manufacturers to reduce the sugar content in their products. Will these manufacturers switch over to artificial sweeteners like which is worst for your health. I would suggest they investigate the use of Stevia as a natural sweetener which is widely used in South America. It is low calorie and better for all. But we all know like smoking sugar is also an addiction and hard to break so the government will exploit the consumer’s weaknesses. They do not have any concern at all for the nation’s health. Strict manufacturing laws with imposed fines should help reduce the sugar consumption in over the counter drinks. However that will not stop home consumption and what about the wayside vendors who manufacture local fruit drinks?
Bushite the old dustbag on BU who thinks he knows EVERYTHING from the A-Z and can’t even figure out a sensible solution to this problem.
LikeLike
Correction should have put Bushite the old DOUCHE BAG !
LikeLike
@ Islandgal
…why would Bushie argue such minor points nuh…?
It matters not if the tax reduces consumption or even if consumption is increased…
In the first instance, people would likely opt for healthier alternatives (any shiite is better…) and in the long run live healthier lives with less pressure on the QEH…
…or secondly, the consumption will remain as it is with the brass bowls continuing to make Brassbados the amputation capital of the world, …however the tax would generate some needed extra $$$ to pay for the needed amputations (thus easing some pressure from peole like Bushie who pay NUFF taxes and try to live healthy lives…
or…(most likely for REAL BBs) consumption will increase, causing more pressure on the hospital, but then…EVEN MORE TAXES will be collected FROM THESE people to cover their medical needs in future…..
Bushie’s point is that win, draw, or loss ….the tax puts more RESPONSIBILITY on the consumers of the shiite for the consequences of their action…..
THAT….. is a SENSIBLE and FAIR tax…..
LikeLike
Artax
I yet to see how a government tax on soda would in any meaningful way incentivized the Barbadian public to consume less soda? That does not make good sense in my judgment. A public conscious campaign which focuses fundamentally on the real dangers of consuming too much soda which contains high level of corn- sugar would be a more sensible alternative. Research has shown that soda has contributed significantly to the epidemic of diabetes we now see in the Caribbean and elsewhere in the world today because of the high level of corn- sugar contain in this product. The state of Connecticut for example: has increased the price of cigarettes consecutively within the last five years, and yet it hasn’t in any meaningful way deter people from buying cigarettes. So I done see how a tax on soda would in any meaningful way impact consumption?
LikeLike
Dompey June 26, 2015 at 12:35 PM #
“The state of Connecticut for example: has increased the price of cigarettes consecutively within the last five years, and yet it hasn’t in any meaningful way deter people from buying cigarettes. So I done see how a tax on soda would in any meaningful way impact consumption?”
Perhaps you should pass this information on to Donville Inniss, Chris Sinckler, Freundel Stuart and John Boyce. They were the individuals that stated an increase in the price of “sweet drinks” would lead to less consumption. Not me.
My point is, I understand the reason why the 10% was imposed. As Bushie rightfully stated “the tax puts more RESPONSIBILITY on the consumers of the shiite for the consequences of their action…..”
However, if the government was actually serious about promoting healthy life styles, surely they would NOT HAVE REMOVED items such as beans, peas, certain vegetables, melons, papaya, spinach, fresh fruit, snapper, grouper or trout from the “basket of goods.” These items are now subject to 17.5% VAT, which will obviously make them MORE EXPENSIVE to the consumer.
LikeLike
Can anyone here remember when Mayor Bloomberg of New York tried to limit the sale of jumbo sized soft drinks in 2012? The soft drink industry pumped millions of dollars into PR campaigns against legislating what people could eat and drink. Soft drink companies and the civil groups took him to court and they won. What do we do in Barbados? Let the little idiot and his friendly fools legislate whatever they want and then we complain for fourteen days before humbly complying.
We hear of marches in Greece, London, Paris and elsewhere in protest of governments gone mad – in Barbados we meekly wait for next election. Where the bloody hell is the voice of the church, the unions, the chamber of commerce, the employers confederation, big business and the legal fraternity? Silent pack of cowards waiting for next election. This is probably how all the despots grabbed and maintained power in Africa – they walked all over the lily-livered cowards who were afraid to stand up to them when they started trampling on peoples rights.
My fear is that one day coming soon, this despicable excuse for a government will push the people of this country too far and once the 1937 DNA is resurrected and surges out of the barn, no amount of pleading and lamenting will return it to rest.
Just remember this people, when Bussa fought oppression, his actions were illegal at that time but he gave his life for a freedom he believed in and which we all enjoy today. For that, he became a National Hero.
We need a National Hall of Shame to which every one of this lot would find a place of dishonor.
LikeLike
With only 10,000 tonnes of sugar produced in Barbados this year, the sugar tax imposed by Government is to prepare us for the day, not far from now, when sugar in Barbados will become as scarce as Flying fish, Yams and Sea Eggs.
LikeLike
BUSHTEA you playing you don’t know human habits. THEY WILL NOT VOLUNTARY GIVE UP SUGAR! Unless there is an alternative like reduced sugar in these products there will be no change.
LikeLike
Islandgal
BUSHTEA you playing you don’t know human habits.
…and you playing you don’t know English…
Bet that they will voluntarily give up 10% more CASH to offset the QEH annual bill though…
Yuh could take a horse to water but yuh can’t make him drink….
Yuh could send a BB to Cave Hill, but yuh can’t make him think…
…so just like StinkLiar making the UWI BBs Pay….
He also making the ‘Sweet-drink-drinker’ pay…
So that Bushie will no longer be paying ALL the bills for “graduates in every home”
-all looking for clerical wuk…
…NOR all the bills for “diabetic hypertensives” in every damn home,
…on free insulin and in ‘free’ wheelchairs…
LikeLike
Correction …..Voluntarily give up sugar
LikeLike
Colonel Buggy
” When sugar in Barbados will becomes as scarce as flying-fish, yam and sea-eggs”
Well! I surely yearn for the day when sugar becomes a scarcity on the island of Barbados. Look how sugar reek havoc on the human body, and we still seem to think that by producing more of it that it will somehow benefit humanity in a meaningful way. Man you off your rocker if you honestly believe that we can do with more of this destructive commodity. I stop using sugar in my early thirties, when I read about its negatives effects on the human body, especially when one is progressive moving up in age. There are many other alterntives/ substitutes one can use although not as tasteful but are less harmful to the human body. You don’t need GP to google, copy and paste this information on BU for your reading information; take the initiative and research the information for yourself because your very health might just depend upon it.
LikeLike
Fearplay, no one in Barbados has thought as of yet to substitute sweet drinks for the more healthier mineral waters. Come on now, with this excess of brain-power in circulation in Barbados, it leaves one to question the authenticity of the claim that we have the highest standard of education in the Caribbbean. I have been troubled by the claim that Barbados has the highest standard of education in the Caribbean, and yet St. lucia has produced two notable Nobel Prize winners of international acclaimed. This very statement taken at face-value sounds more like a tautology to say the least. Now, no disrespect to Mr. Caswell Franklyn because I do believe that he is a very articulate man, but I have heard him commenting on the recent budget on Utube a few days ago, and I was quite surprised to discover that the man spoke with little or no eloquence of speech whatsoever. The man spoke like a raw Bajan from the lower echelon of the Barbadian society. Now I have listened to the Prime Minister numerous times, and I can say without much equivocation that he speaks with a tongue of eloquence sharpened on the Queen’s English.
LikeLike
@Anthony Davis “When I see the centenarians whom the Governor General visits I don’t see any obese ones. They are usually slim. They would have drunk their share of sweet drinks such as Ju-c and Bim. ”
Dear Anthony: You do not see any obese centenarians because obese people do not live to be 100 years old. The people whom you see with the GG would not have been Coke, Ju-C or Bim drinkers.
The Minister is right to impose a sweet drink tax. It may not work 100% but it is a start in the right direction. None of us should be drinking sweet drinks. The high quantities of liquid sugar in sweet drinks is killing us. Before electricity came to Barbados’ villages in the 1960’s people rarely drank sweet drinks, because sweet drinks do not taste good unless refrigerated, and hardly any Bajans had fridges before 1960. The people who are now a hundred years old, that is those born in 1915 or earlier were all older that 50 before Barbados became a sweet drinking nation. My grandmother who died in 1969 never had a refrigerator and I never, ever saw a sweet drink at her home. We lived in the same village and I visited her every day sometimes twice a day so I know. Also when Bajan households were very poor the average family bought a pound or two of sugar (wrapped in grey sheets of shop paper) per week and that sugar had to serve large households, more that 10 or twelve people per household were not uncommon before 1966.
I am not a member of or supporter of the DLP nor of the BLP.
LikeLike
@David June 26, 2015 at 9:47 AM “In a free market system”
Dear David you are a wise guy, wise enough to know that there is no such thing as a free market.
Stupseeeeeee!!!!!!!
LikeLike
Good idea – Sweet drink tax
Bad idea – VAT on frozen flying fish. I couldn’t believe this one.
Good idea – Removing the sweetie vendors from in front of the schools
Good idea – Replacing the sweetie vendors with coconut water vendors, and vendors of fresh local fruit, dunks, cashews, fat porks, gooseberries, tamarinds, mangoes, golden apples, sugar apples, bananas etc. (fresh imported fruit too) and no VAT on any of these things.
Good idea – A well designed and well planned long running public education campaign on the dangers of drinking and eating so much sugar, and salt and fat.
Good idea – More and better sidewalks so that people and especially children can actually walk to school, to work, to errands, to church, to visit family and friends. We don’t need flyovers so that parents can drive their children to school. We need sidewalks so that children can walk to school
LikeLike
Simple Simon,
People in this country do not like good ideas!
LikeLike
Bushie,
What happened to you and Islandgal? The two positions can coexist. They are not mutually exclusive. How about a tax on producers over a certain level of sugar content to encourage them to reduce AND a tax on consumers who insist on purchasing to assist in funding their medical care.
I am surprised at both of you!
LikeLike
I must be missing the point. I thought we were in the sugar production business and wanted to increase quantities produced and consumed. Something just not making sense. On one hand we are subsidizing the production of sugar so as to increase the quantity produced and consumed and now on the other hand, we going to tax the use of sugar with the end goal of reducing its consumption and thus its production.
LikeLike
@SITH June 27, 2015 at 9:41 AM “I must be missing the point. ”
Yes you are missing the point.
Do you really believe that if we increase sugar production, so that each Bajan eats one thousand pounds of sugar per year that we would all be better off.
For the record we used to have a singing group of young men called “One Thousand Pounds” 2/3 of that group died before the age of 50.
Is that what we want?
Tell me if you think that it is good public policy to produce and eat so much sugar that we are al dead before the age of 50?
LikeLike
Dear Sith:
One has to be sensible in order to discern sensible policies.
LikeLike
Could we please remember that added sugar is fine when used in moderation? It is excess use which is problematic. Sugar is not the enemy and so there is nothing wrong with a sugar industry. Just as there is nothing wrong with a rum industry because small amounts of alcohol do more good than harm. The problem is with the lack of control which human beings exhibit when using these products.
We must remember too that the older generation was more physically active and tended to utilize more of the sugar consumed. Sugar is used to produce energy and once utilized will pose few problems for the body. Let us then not demonize sugar but encourage responsible consumption. The same thing holds for salt. The body needs it in small amounts. The body also needs small amounts of fat. Most things on this earth have a use but can also be abused and used either excessively or in the wrong way. Moderation is the key to most things. Even drinking too much water can be detrimental to your health.
So again the problem is simply ……human beings and their behaviour. I don’t hold out any hope that the majority will ever get it right no matter what the government policy. We are just too lazy and too myopic. PERIOD!
LikeLike
“For the record we used to have a singing group of young men called “One Thousand Pounds” 2/3 of that group died before the age of 50.”
<a heref=”http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CB4QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.nationnews.com%2Fnationnews%2Fnews%2F52857%2Fcalypsonian-mighty-whitey-dies-56&ei=z8WOVdCGDIqmNs_vr9AG&usg=AFQjCNGgBUvYO3_qZsq_M4QyLxiUzk9FpQ&sig2=3wxN6qOrz3baGi1qf24Fdw&bvm=bv.96783405,d.eXY> Miss Information 1/3
Miss Information 2/3
Yes sugar wants banning but:
Myth: If you are overweight or obese, you will eventually develop type 2 diabetes.
Fact: Being overweight is a risk factor for developing this disease, but other risk factors such as family history, ethnicity and age also play a role. Unfortunately, too many people disregard the other risk factors for diabetes and think that weight is the only risk factor for type 2 diabetes. Most overweight people never develop type 2 diabetes, and many people with type 2 diabetes are at a normal weight or only moderately overweight.
Myth: Eating too much sugar causes diabetes.
Fact: The answer is not so simple. Type 1 diabetes is caused by genetics and unknown factors that trigger the onset of the disease; type 2 diabetes is caused by genetics and lifestyle factors.
Being overweight does increase your risk for developing type 2 diabetes, and a diet high in calories from any source contributes to weight gain. Research has shown that drinking sugary drinks is linked to type 2 diabetes.
The American Diabetes Association recommends that people should avoid intake of sugar-sweetened beverages to help prevent diabetes. Sugar-sweetened beverages include beverages like:
These will raise blood glucose and can provide several hundred calories in just one serving!
See for yourself:
See more at: http://www.diabetes.org/diabetes-basics/myths/#sthash.17EY6eNI.dpuf
LikeLike
Well that didn’t turn out as expected so give these a try:
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/52857/calypsonian-mighty-whitey-dies-56
http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/10/07/fatmans-dead/
LikeLike
Bushie, …What happened to you and Islandgal? The two positions can coexist.
What two positions what?!?
…you playing that you ent know….??!!!
The woman just vex because you come on the scene and got Bushie head hot…
She comes from one of those volcanic islands and play she got a volcanic temper too…and walking bout with a 2X4 … but Bushie whacker would shred dat…. 🙂
She just fire the Bushman because he give you some talk the other day…. (thought she was in the garden…) now she just opposing Bushie for spite…
hint….if bushie is being hung for a lamb we could as well go for the whole hog then…. wuh you say? LOL
You are correct about taking everything in moderation, but you are not considering the complex physiological and behavioural research that has gone into the production of these ‘food drugs’ in order to enhance PROFITS for unscrupulous manufacturers….
They are able to directly attack your palate with compounds that cause PHYSICAL ADDICTION to these ‘foods’…. making the concept of ‘moderation’ into a joke.
It is not a matter of moderation nowadays, but of awareness….
LikeLike
check it out
LikeLike
Bushie,
Tell Islandgal that I retired early and am no threat. I’m working on developing myself and my son and have little time for dalliance.
As for the issue at hand, I too have a great love of sodas, especially that cola that tastes soooo good ice cold. But addicted I am not. I do not buy them to bring home but will only have one when I’m out. And that is not very often. I love chocolate and ice cream and chocolate cake but have them in small quantities as a treat only once a month and often not at all for months. I have taken to making my own mauby, lemonade and sorrel with less sugar and I’m also drinking more water instead.
I haven’t encountered this physical addiction phenomenon. But then again I have always been weird. Look how easy it was for me to give up men! I discovered that they weren’t good for me either. Ha, ha!
LikeLike
Raw Bake
Who said eating too much sugar causes diabetes? I think you would well agree that process-sugar reeks havoc upon the human-body. And the consumption of too much sweet-drinks can cause obesity- which in term has a tendency to cause the onset of diabetes.
LikeLike
Raw Bake
I hope that I can safely concluded that you do not believe everything you read or hear on social-media?
LikeLike
Off topic Lets hope that the garden which juts out into the road at the entrance of Coverley Development ,depriving the ABC Highway of a vital stretch of the emergency hard shoulder , was not partly or wholly responsible for the tragedy which occurred thereabouts yesterday evening.
LikeLike
A fellow on the block told me that there has been an increase in the price of flavoured condoms.
LikeLike
So according to the gospel of Sinclair and the DLP; too much sweet drinks causes obesity which can cause diabetes, hence the tax to help offset the cost of treating its complications; what then is the rationale for not taxing the consumption of fried chicken and chips, all beef rotis, or macaroni pie and pork chops with coleslaw and potato salad on the side?
LikeLike
Colonel Buddy
I hardly think that the obstruction of that stretch is solely or partly responsible for the tradedy which took place yesterday evening. I would hazard a guess that it was contributory to the aggressive driving of the average Barbadian. I am still puzzled and somewhat perplexed by the way in which some Barbadians navigate those very narrow streets in Barbados as such high speeds. It is a phenomenon that has yet to be evaluated by experts in the field of physics to dertermine its possible causality.
LikeLike
Raw Bake
The rationale would be that it is quite evident that an excess consumption of Sweet-drinks have been linked to such health conditions as: diabetes, high-blood-pressure, high-chelesterol, obesity and various forms of cancer etc. And these are all linked to the high consumption of sweet-drinks -which in term have been proven to cause obesity- which has been linked to diabetes- and which is a major health problem in Barbados, America and elsewhere in the world.
LikeLike
Raw Bake
I am not quite sure about Barbados, but in America for example: it has been shown that most if not all of the soda/sweet-drinks are made with Corn-Sugar -which seems to be at the epicenter of the obesity epidemic- and which has led to the diabetes epidemic.
LikeLike
Big man, I am not really disputing what you say you know. All I am trying to say that Sincliar just trying to collect as much money as they can from wherever and whomever they can.
This tax is not about changing behaviours. If it does, then he would not have been a total waste.
LikeLike
Raw Bake
The prime minister has done what many of the governors in the States have done regarding cigarette prices. Cigarette prices have steadily climbed consecutively for the last five years. And one does not have to have a degree in quantum-physics to concluded that the high cigarette prices were meant as a deterrent against one of the major cancers in the States. And which so happened to be linked with cigarette smoking; which accounts for millions of preventable deaths annually.
LikeLike
Raw Bake
The healthcare system in America has gone proactive sir. Anually, I have to report to my medical insurance company a major check list of all of the preventive screening such( cholesterol, colorrectal/colonoscopy, vision, dental, and my wife’s mammography, cervical cancer screening etc) and if I am non-compliant, I am subject to a premium increase of a $100 per month, and an annual deductible of $350 per family member, and up to $1,400 per family. And this is done in the name of preventive- care which is part and parcel of the new Obamacare.
LikeLike
Raw Bake
Now, getting back to the tax on sweet-drinks in Barbados; to whom or where does this money goes? Some have ask to same question regarding the increase cost for those persons who are non-compliant regarding the new healthcare guidelines here in the states. To whom or where does this money goes?
LikeLike
The court has ruled in favour of the Barbados based COSCAP. The radio station BBS has been ordered to pay any outstanding royalties owed to COSCAP. BBS, as we are well aware, play mostly music recorded by foreign artistes . It would be interesting to know in what manner does COSCAP, remit these foreign singers or their estates with the monies apportioned to them. One wonders if Sir Cliff Richards, who now lives among us has ever received his cut,and the same goes for Rihanna and Sparrow.
LikeLike
Colonel Buggy
Oh! So you’re saying BBS never knew that no such Copy-Right-laws were in existence? I find that hard to accept in the year 2015; when even the local bootleggers are cognizant of the fact that it is illegal to copy and distribute an artist music without his/her expressed consent for monetary gain.
LikeLike
I remember quite vividly when Arrow came to the states in the late 1980’s, and sued this white American guy who had profited off of his song called Feeling Hot, Hot.
LikeLike
It appears to me that some are very happy to have soft drinks taxed under the pretext of protecting us from ourselves and safe guarding our health. Will we also rejoice when the MoF (minister of foolishness) imposes a Sargassum Tax, a Sahara Dust Tax, a Tsunami Tax, a Hurricane Tax, a Seaegg Tax and any other revenue raising tax that catches his fancy and to which he wishes to attach some esoteric name?
I cannot believe that we are so gullible as to fall for the nationalistic talk about coming to the aid of the country every time another tax is applied, as if we are not already the most highly taxed island in the Caribbean if not the hemisphere. We meekly paid high taxes because we were led to believe that that was the cost of the social services we enjoyed (not for free as some would have us believe). Now we are being asked (no, demanded) to pay more again for less and less. Free education my eye – every cent of that came from the taxpayer.
LikeLike
FearPlay THANK YOU for such a profound and lucid comment. Hitler was successful because had his supporters to do his dirty work.
Donna you were never my competition it is just a figment of BUSHSHITE’S imagination.
LikeLike
islandgal.
I understood it was all a running joke. I never took any of it seriously . Bushie can be a bit annoying sometimes but he does that on purpose. Don’t take the bait!
LikeLike
@Raw Bake June 27, 2015 at 3:52 PM “what then is the rationale for not taxing the consumption of fried chicken and chips, all beef rotis, or macaroni pie and pork chops with coleslaw and potato salad on the side?”
Because these prepared foods already attract 17.5% VAT
I bought a nice soup today, chicken breast, yellow split peas, butternut squash, brocolli stalks etc. and I paid 17.5% VAT on it even though it was a pretty healthy lunch.
LikeLike
Simple Simon
Let me guess Simple: that soup cost you about $200 bucks plus the 17.5 VAT. Talk about eating out in Bim; its the dread of those persons who are visiting Bim with young families.
LikeLike
Bushie can be a bit annoying sometimes but he does that on purpose
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Come on D…
What makes you think that….? LOL
We need to talk about your need for rehabilitative work..re this business of giving up on men….
As you know, different people have different levels of tolerance to addiction.
One fella can drink all kind of drinks and walk away…while another only need to smell some fumes and he mash up….
…same with Mary J and even Cocaine, and same with food…
You are clearly the type who can walk away…but trust Bushie, many others CAN’T.
On the same topic, your ‘walking away’ from men is a GROSS error….LOL ….that is one addiction that you should submit to….
…of course the challenge is finding a REAL man among the lotta brass bowls.. but you can always check with Bushie…. 🙂
@ Islandgal
Good morning sweetness….
…what’s cooking today?
LikeLike
“@ Islandgal
Good morning sweetness….
…what’s cooking today?”
I got a 2×4 soaking in some Turpentine waiting fuh to pelt in yuh backside if yuh ever cross my fence !
LikeLike
Dear Simple Simon,
Sweet drinks currently attract 17.5% VAT and were never in the basket. In other words they were never VAT free. On the other hand, salt, luncheon meat, corned beef and white flour remain in the VAT free basket.
Wunna could congratulate this David Copperfield MOF all wunna want but I ent gine follow multitude to do evil. Look pass the smokes and mirrors and realise that land tax gone up and not a squeak from those who claim to be looking out for we.
LikeLike
Mr Dompey
In Barbados rum and cigarettes are heavily taxed. Inspite of de lotta taxes, duh got some small shops in de country dat does sell mainly rum, cigarettes and sweet drinks. Sometimes yuh might find one or two hurricane season staples, but dem shops surviving in dese harsh economic times by selling rum and cigarettes and not from de items in de vat free basket.
Insurance companies in Barbados are not of the same species as the ones found in North America. Never admit liability is their motto or so it seems. Pick sense from nonsense.
LikeLike
@Dompey June 28, 2015 at 6:52 AM “Simple Simon…Let me guess Simple: that soup cost you about $200 bucks plus the 17.5 VAT.”
Nope.
The Simple is not so simple as to spend foolish money.
The soup cost $12.95 including VAT and was fresh, tasty, full of lovely fresh veggies and big enough to serve 2 people…but because I am lickerish I had the whole thing for myself.
LOL!!!!!!!!!!
LikeLike
@Raw Bake June 28, 2015 at 11:41 AM “Wunna could congratulate this David Copperfield MOF all wunna want…”
I was surprised to note in today’s Sunday Sun, page 6A halfway down the right hand column that included in the basket of VAT free goods are “edible offal of horses, asses, mules or hinnies, fresh chilled or frozen.
So yes please fresh and frozen ass is VAT free…poor people’s food I guess…but frozen flying fish attracts VAT at 17.5%
Marie Antoinette said “let them eat cake”
This Minister of Finance is saying wunna can eat ass,
Oh rass!!!!!!!!!!
LikeLike
Islandgal,
You are funny! Ha, ha, ha!
LikeLike
Bushie,
Too late! The brass bowls turned me off. After twelve years I would now need to be rewired.
True about that addictive thing though. I find it easier than most to give up things. It is not that easy for others. That is true. But it can be done. If there is a will……
LikeLike
Dompey June 27, 2015 at 4:11 PM #
Colonel Buddy
I hardly think that the obstruction of that stretch is solely or partly responsible for the tradedy which took place yesterday evening. I would hazard a guess that it was contributory to the aggressive driving of the average Barbadian.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………
In both the Nation and the Barbados Todays news
Ms Mottley at the political mass meeting on Sunday night , the 28 June,mind you.
Mottley links boy’s death to “obstruction” at Coverley
The Tragic death of Queen’s College bound student Abijah Holder -Phillips has made the political platform.
Opposition Leader Mia Mottley intimated Sunday night that the ABC Highway entrance to the Villages at Coverley in Christ Church was ordered to be removed more that two years ago……………………………………
LikeLike