BREAKING: Alex Tasker ordered extradited https://www.nationnews.com/2021/09/08/breaking-alex-tasker-ordered-extradited/

It is also a different version of how the story got out than what our own Attorney-General said last Thursday after the verdict was handed down. He said: “It is significant that the conviction came about because individuals who had knowledge of the events were prepared to speak out and to give evidence about wrongdoing.” The AG added: “This is something that is required at all levels in Barbados’ society whether dealing with the scourge of corruption or the scourge of gun violence.

Donville Inniss Case Points to Endemic Corruption in Barbados

The traditional media is off and running with the big headlines about the sentence federal District Court Judge Kiyo Matsumoto is scheduled to deliver today in New York in the Donville Inniss matter. It is the story traditional media will have a healthy appetite for because of flagging circulation.

Mia’s Red Bag has come up empty so far

The concern of the blogmaster confirmed in the deliberations during the Donville Inniss trial is the strong inference there is pervasive corrupt behaviour in the way business is conducted by some PUBLIC and PRIVATE officials in Barbados. Successive governments over the years have paid lip service to unearthing and punishing corruption even in the face of obvious indications of wrong doing. The Mia Mottley government is better placed than her predecessors given the unprecedented mandate handed to her government to do something about it. It is no secret however to those in the know that Donville and Mia are bosom buddies.

The following is a blog repost from January 20, 2020 which captures key concerns by the blogmaster, the late journalist Patrick Hoyos and the BU family.

Donville Inniss Case Points to Endemic Corruption in Barbados

The blogmaster found the Patrick Hoyos article to be – without prolix – a good summary of the Donville Inniss matter. Especially as it pertains to the inference other payments were made to Donville Inniss and that bribery by elected officials was commonplace in Barbados. Although we have the Attorney General et al saying that local laws would not have permitted prosecution of Inniss this position was challenged during the Inniss trial.

The blogmaster’s wish is that we have a dispassionate debate in Barbados and a call to action by our officials regarding the honest prosecution of public officials. It is ironic former Speaker of the House MICHAEL CARRINGTON and Adriel Brathwaite, former Attorney General showed support for Inniss by attending the trial in New York. CARRINGTON’s legacy will be that a High Court judge had to issue a court order for him to release monies due his client 70+ John Griffiths, the blogmaster will remember Brathwiate for promising to report to parliament the status of Mia Mottley’s qualification (LEC) to practice before the Courts of Barbados. He never did.

The time has come to arrest the moral and ethical rot- add criminal. We have started to experience the negative fallout of pushing our heads in the sand.

Time for the authorities to do a job.

Time for the Prime Minister, Attorney General and stakeholders to lead the charge.

Importantly, time for John Citizens to hold officials accountable.

Read full text of BU blog https://barbadosunderground.net/2020/01/24/donville-inniss-case-points-to-endemic-corruption-in-barbados/

817 responses to “Donville Inniss’ File Missing from Mottley’s Red Bag”

1. Bajan’s Finest
    Poor ole Inniss got got for $36.000 in the wash that’s $1.500 per month for 24 months doing bird inna penitentiary
    https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/former-minister-industry-and-member-parliament-barbados-sentenced-laundering-bribes

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    you are correct. BUT, the CFO WAS involved. That why in return for becoming a Stateside witness, she received immunity from prosecution. Once she ‘flipped’ the DOJ had their case, they didn’t need Innes or Tasker to flip.

3. Here are the words of a penitent who pleaded guilty to breaking “only” $25,590 USD worth of church windows and who at the first opportunity and gave investigators his full cooperation during their probe, and who has been on remand for MORE than 3 years.

“Appearing before a virtual sitting of the No. 2 Supreme Court…he told Justice Randall Worrell he was [at the time of the offence] under the influence of drugs and confused.

He said: “Sir I was under the influence of drugs and other things. That wasn’t me that really did that damage to the church, I was confused. I was going through a lot. I WOULD LIKE TO SAY THAT I AM TRULY SORRY FOR WHAT I DID.

“Jail give me like so much time to look into myself and where I was going wrong. I was on the wrong path AND NOW I FEEL LIKE I GOING ON THE RIGHT TRACK, sir.”

4. @ Artax

As for who else may be involved I guess that will come to light as the situation evolves further in the USA, as I know we will see nothing done about it locally. After all the AG says he is glad to see the matter come to an end.

5. “Donville Inniss engaged in a bribery and money laundering scheme to line his own pockets AT THE EXPENSE OF THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS,” said Acting Assistant Attorney General Nicholas L. McQuaid of the Justice Department’s Criminal Division.

6. The department appreciates the cooperation provided by its law enforcement colleagues in Barbados during this investigation.

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS

Normally I refrain, but do you realise this ENTIRE episode became public because of an ESTROGEN battle?

Sometimes the most innocuous statements have merit. I will provide the link first
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/01/14/former-icbl-officer-i-wrote-the-invoices/

Now focus on the following extraction from that lengthy article.
    “Under cross-examination by defense attorney Anthony Ricco, Millar said she had a tumultuous relationship with Innes from the time she took up her post.
    She described Innes as a “heavy-handed” boss who verbally abused her.”

You know what likely happened? DI & AT had a relationship. They worked out “a deal”. But to execute that deal, Tasker needed his CEO’s approval. She was a rookie CEO, never run anything like ICBL before. And neither she nor Tasker are accountants. So the CEO goes to her CFO Millar and tells her “what to do”. And apparently “how to do it”, including going to Tasker and he will tell you how to make out the Invoice. Now the CFO should, beyond questioning the deal (which she did according to her testimony) and method, have provided her CEO with OPTIONS. But because they had a nasty relationship, the CFO just did what ‘she was told’.

This SUNK Donville. He had no idea of the inner workings of ICBL. He made a deal, and the money appeared in his friend’s dental company account as planned. He had no idea HOW it got there. It was the HOW that exposed the scheme.
    Even an accounting ignoramus like myself, knows there are multiple alternate ways to transfer funds that would NOT include going through head office. To reference the missing @Hal, this is when incompetence exposes.

8. “Barbados has developed governance structures and institutions that mark us as what has been described as ‘the best governed Black society in the world’. Since independence, we Barbadians have sought constantly to improve our systems of law and governance so as to ensure they best reflect our characteristics and values as a nation.”
    (Mia Mottley, 16 Sep 2020)

9. @Northern

I give you 100% for your summation of the way it panned out and that is why there is a clear breach of law that started right here on Bajan soil. Dem fellows ain’t learn nothing from watching TV and Law and Order? Nobody didn’t tell them that cash dont have no owner?

Them was over confident that nothing would come of it in good old Bim, they wasn’t banking on Uncle Sam getting involved though.

10. best slave society…they have no shame are disloyal to, disrespect and dishonor their ancestors while boasting about robbing their people and keeping them in financial bondage…..and away from their African culture, education, religions traditions and ancestral leanings and got the nerve to think they are taking the popuation into bondage in Ghana with their land scam….instead of allowing the people the freedom to be autonomous and decide their own future and destiny……the population better remove themselves from these traitors…..ASAP.

11. And…ya can bet ya ass that this information is ALL OVER Ghana….watch muh nuh..

12. @ NorthernObserver April 28, 2021 3:32 PM

I made a reference to the CFO in my April 28, 2021 1:29 PM contribution re: “The “Bermuda Company” referenced in the above excerpts is Bermuda Fire & Marine (BF&M Ltd.), an insurance company headquartered in Bermuda. I believe “Executive 1” refers to the Financial Controller who gave evidence against Inniss, Innes and Tasker.”

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    apologies, what happens when I scan vs reading ALL that is posted.
    I was referring to your later comment “Don’t you believe the investigations would’ve revealed if other people, including the CFO and members of the Board were involved?”
    hence my reply…”you are correct. BUT, the CFO WAS involved. That why in return for becoming a Stateside witness, she received immunity from prosecution. Once she ‘flipped’ the DOJ had their case, they didn’t need Innes or Tasker to flip.

14. I wouldn’t use the term estrogen battle.

The testosterone charged people had no business “working out a deal” with MY MONEY. I was at the a customer of ICBL and had no idea that the testosterone loaded deal making people were using my premiums in this way.

@NO “She was a rookie CEO, never run anything like ICBL before.”
    I like to ask questions. Since as you say she was a rookie CEO, never ran anything like ICBL before” my question is how on earth did she get hired? And why did she stay if and when she discovered that the company was unlike anything she ever had experienced before?

Sometimes we have to quit jobs. Sometimes we have to say to “bosses” “you can ask me to do such and such but I will not do it.” Then you take up your handbag, give the people their keys and ID and leave the people place.

@NO “Now the CFO should, beyond questioning the deal (which she did according to her testimony) and method, have provided her CEO with OPTIONS.”

Would one of the options have been “No.”

I wonder if the “no” option had been exercised if Ms. Millar would have been able to keep her job? Or if pressure would have been exerted to “get de rid ‘o she?” because she would have been seen as an obstacle to the “success” of the deal making testosterone loaded people.

Understand that in Barbados it is not unknown for employees to be suspended or dismissed for doing the right thing, or for refusing to do the wrong thing as happened to a relative of mine. The principal of that company a testosterone loaded person has been charged but has not yet been tried, may well die of old age before that case is concluded.

15. Comment submitted by T Fields via email:

Just as the systemic racist cancer that permeates the entire United States policing establishment is proving to the world that it is not just a bad apple or two that executes people of color as a matter of choice, so too the Inniss debacle makes crystal clear that the whispered suspicions over the years about political shenanigans, involving large sums of public moneys is indicative of an underlying cancer deserving of an independent commission of inquiry, unencumbered by political interference or influence.

While the specific act of which Inniss was accused and convicted is to be frowned upon and discouraged, I would encourage everyone on this blog with access to Netflix to view the documentary “Dirty Money”, for an education on what constitutes American justice. Every episode is an eye-opener to what is fair and just within that system. Of particular interest is the episode on the international bank HSBC and how their money laundering endeavours compared to that of Inniss and the even-handedness in the administration of justice.

Many years ago while in conversation with a pest control service provider, he remarked that not seeing a roach or rodent did not mean they were not present but said he, if you see one then you know that there is a major problem. We have seen Mr Inniss.

What is the Red Bag going to do about it?

16. Well HSBC does not operate out of Barbados, that is a matter for the US people..

….and ANOTHER go nowhere inquiry that they will only TIEF tens of millions of tax payers dollars and share between themselves and their friends just to find no wrong doing, ain’t doing nothing either…

17. It’s just another way of saying, it happens everywhere, so how is that supposed to feed the people who are suffering and lost billions of dollars due to DECADES of corruption, have no water, lost their estates to the thieves in the parliament, the judiciary and bar association…..and can’t get their severance payments from thieving racist hoteliers.

…i could name a thousands companies that do the same thing worldwide and none of it has anything to do with what the African population has experienced for over 50 years AND STILL ARE…..in Barbados…

none of that is a solution.

18. Ironically there was this 2 hour debate where the discussion was about this mental block….can’t see past the …it happens everywhere scenario…..stuck in a time warp…..it solves nothing, people have to discipline their minds and no, no one can help you with that…

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    I knew that would fire yah up…lol
    “how on earth did she get hired”, you should pose that question to the Chairman.
    “why did she stay”, money and the prestige of being a CEO. Remuneration and status tends to soften a lot of ills?
    “Would one of the options have been “No.” I guess that all depends on timing. But I imagine the deal was done, it was how to execute it. “No” was not the CFO decision. Yes she could have resigned.
    You can read
    https://www.nationnews.com/2013/03/17/as-ceo-a-new-ingrid-emerges/

My point to you was not about sex hormones, rather, both sexes are equally capable of ‘doing sh!!te’. The question you didn’t ask, is why the CEO didn’t say No. It was her call? Dig down, and it likely had something to do with numbers and performance. With bonuses and other incentives, both sexes understand very well how bread is buttered. A lil outside poonanny may cost $10000/yr, but so does 2 Channel handbags?? And these days the fifty and sixty something female execs have boy toys too, they however prefer to call them ‘personal trainers’…lol

20. @NO

Now you have given me nightmares.

21. William Skinner Avatar

@ John A
    Have you taken into consideration that if nothing further is done , a massive cover up by the Duopoly is the desired result?
    Have we you taken into consideration that once we start to really dig , it would be discovered that members from both sides of the Duopoly would be involved. And I am not speaking about the ICBL alone.
    These are matters we need to recognize. Anybody who believes that only one side of theDuopoly is involved in any form of corruption are just out of touch with reality.

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

@David April 28, 2021 7:19 PM
    Not really, they seem to rotate about 3 per year, and the departing Directors had been long term. Looking back, there seems to have been an effort to trim the Board to 10. These organizations go through phases, of increasing and decreasing around an optimum number, especially if the Chair changes and/or there have been significant acquisitions/mergers/sales etc

23. @NO

Noted.

24. As someone said on another platform…REPROGRAM yourselves or be REPROGRAMMED BY SOMEONE ELSE.

“Have we you taken into consideration that once we start to really dig , it would be discovered that members from both sides of the Duopoly would be involved. And I am not speaking about the ICBL alone.”

that CONSPIRACY started around 2015-16, DBLP all knew about it when the one now fighting extradition was running hither and yon “looking for a way to save the company” because insurance companies were complaining at that time, so they grouped themselves together as insurance companies and decided to do something…well yall know that had to include jokers from both governments…..no “big works can’t happen without them” they must be in every corrupt thing including the second economy of containers of drugs and guns operated by the minority criminal cartel, the second governement who are a law unto themselves and misuse the TAXPAYER PAID police force for protection, they could never do that without the corrupt governments either, they said it, no big works can happen without them….

William…the cover up started…”let’s put this behind us, it’s over” like somebody is buying that shite when there is still the extradition of CO-CONSPIRATORS…and MANY KNOW WHAT REALLY HAPPENED….they can’t muzzle or kill everyone..

25. “Normally I refrain, but do you realise this ENTIRE episode became public because of an ESTROGEN battle?”

Nowadays you have to perform financial tasks by the book or you are liable for the crime under AML SAR CYA POC laws

“Have you taken into consideration that if nothing further is done , a massive cover up by the Duopoly is the desired result?”

Certain Parties are known for corruption and sleaze which will always emerge over time, just remember Governments work for all, not having a ball. We all got to face reality, inna GP it no nice living in a slum. Babylon stall.

General Penitentiary, Penitentiary Dub, Nitty Gritty

26. NorthernObserver April 28, 2021 8:54 PM

Truth. However, was it HER call?

27. Hence the TITLE of the blog…”Donville Inniss’ File Missing from Mia’s Red Bag”

turns out the red bag of EVIDENCE of DLP corruption is missing as well..

28. David I got a “Your comment is awaiting moderation.” pingback

Two Sevens Clash / Prophecy Reveal Vs See Them A Come / Natty Pass Him G.C.E.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UTuHiyVjvo

29. @Northern Observer said knows there are multiple alternate ways to transfer funds that would NOT include going through head office.

So Northern, I is wondring, how comes the head office peeps did not ask what it was for when they were asked to make the payment? Doesnt wire transfers at head office have to be approved by a body at head office too?

I juss axing.

30. William Skinner April 28, 2021 10:01 PM

Iffin yuh pull a bone from a skeleton in a closet, yuh know alla de skeletons going come crashing out, nuh?

Yuh feel people chupidy, as the Trinis say?

31. WURA-War-on-U April 28, 2021 3:11 PM

Waru… my Brumley opinion is that your statement shows that you are less aware than you say.

Go poke a dragon and find out what happens.

32. End of the day, the statement that ‘the matter is closed’ is appropriate and fitting for the current economic climate of Barbados.

Enact integrity legislation, appoint an integrity commission, made up of a cross section of community leaders and move forward with a clean slate.

Any other direction is self defeating for the country and people.

You are aware that we are in an economic war, right? This is about survival.

33. As a lawmaker and a lawbreaker GP is where the Don rightfully belongs banged up to rights, he must have known about the checks and balances in place and and regulatory laws against financial crime. Don’t Bajan ministers undergo mandatory training in AML like all financial workers.
    Hadn’t Innis even heard of OFAC (The Office of Foreign Assets Control (“OFAC”) of the US Department of the Treasury).
    Sometimes false leaders and politicians believe they are the smartest, but when they not as smart as they thought they were then they look the dumbest and start bawling when busted. He should have played for the long con, why go for short change when there is more are stake and you can have and lose the whole enchilada.
    The harder they come the harder they fall.

34. @Crusoe

Many of the challenges we have to battle in a small country and this is not only a Barbados problem is the incestuous nature that prevails and how it impacts good decision making. We have to implement good governance framework to nurture a culture of high performance in all spheres of society. As a people we have to become more strident in a structured way to hold our decisions more accountable. In this regard political opposition, traditional media, NGOS etc must step up.

35. “Go poke a dragon and find out what happens”.

been poking them for 8 YEARS..because they are DETERMINED and believe themselves ENTITLED to violate Black human rights….they are the ONES will see WHAT WILL HAPPEN…if they POKE BACK….they can’t live long enuff to deal with that fallout…..let’s see them handle AN ALL OUT WAR…in their present situation.

36. “End of the day, the statement that ‘the matter is closed’ is appropriate and fitting for the current economic climate of Barbados.”

you said it yourself…they CANNOT AFFORD to POKE ANYONE….they will ALL BE BROUGHT TO THE GROUND….in the most PUBLIC MANNER..

37. “Many of the challenges we have to battle in a small country and this is not only a Barbados problem is the incestuous nature that prevails and how it impacts good decision making.”

An old Cherokee is teaching his grandson about life. “A fight is going on inside me,” he said to the boy. “It is a terrible fight and it is between two wolves. One is evil – he is anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.”

He continued, “The other is good – he is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith. The same fight is going on inside you – and inside every other person, too.”

The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather, “Which wolf will win?”

The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”

Wolves In Sheep’s Clothing, I Kong

Yes they talk about democracy
    talking all about equality
    they talk about integrity
    talking all about morality
    yet they deal all in iniquity
    to further their own vanity
    and therefore can only bring sorrow eventually
    my brothers
    talking about wolves in sheep clothing

they talk about their honesty
    talking all about their purity
    but their words are like the wind that are blown
    one never really knows on the journey so
    and therefore can only bring sorrow eventually
    my brothers
    talking about wolves in sheep clothing

38. These systems of corruption ALWAYS come to an end. Especially when they have exposed themselves THAT MUCH over time, by telling themselves and everyone else how untouchable they are…in their insulting and disrespectful arrogance.

39. This is a good saying Kiki. Unfortunately as long as a system is man made it will be characterized by human failings. We must continue to make better. It will never be perfect:

40. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    without them….

“William…the cover up started…”let’s put this behind us, it’s over” like somebody is buying that shite when there is still the extradition of CO-CONSPIRATORS…and MANY KNOW WHAT REALLY HAPPENED….they can’t muzzle or kill everyone..”
    Can you imagine that they are saying it’s all over and people on BU buy that? There are still the efforts to extradite Tasker but we are saying : it’s all over; let’s move on ; it’s an embarrassment to Barbados; it’s an embarrassment to the DLP etc
    In the meantime, in real life, Tusker is fighting not to be extradited because of the same matter that is “all over.”
    After the ball was over , Mary took off her wooden legs and placed them against the wall/ Oh what has become of my Mary , after the ball…,( apologies to the Merrymen)

41. We know that corruption is par for the course in Barbadian politics but it is only since our goose is almost cooked and can lay no more eggs, gold or otherwise that we have become desperate to stop it.

The attitude up until recently was, “Wuh he would have to be a fool to get in poor and get put out poor!”

Or, as WURA reminded me just recently,

“Wuh he would have to get someting fuh heself!”

Little bit o’ corruption was expected and tolerated because the average Bajan did not understand the full cost to the country. And we managed to ping along for decades without that cost being fully exposed for the drain it was to the public purse and the economy.

So addressing corruption was not a priority until Bajans were wading through sewage, drowning in garbage, languishing at bus stops and dying for water, stripped of their government jobs, shut out of university and still being asked to pay NSRL!

So….. given this tolerance, how many of our previous government ministers of either party kept their hands clean?

Probably not many!

Obviously this means that the RED BAG will remain a political FOOTBALL and nothing more! Obviously outting a fellow crook would be to out yourself! They each know where the other person’s bodies are buried or whose skeletons are in which closet.

The only chance we have of getting off this merry-go-round would be a new party of persons who never formed the government.

But Bajans are afraid of splitting the vote and ending up with whichever party they deem to be the worst at the time.

My stupid idea would have been for Mia to bite the bullet, take the heat for letting bygones be bygones. Perhaps she could have proposed and passed a statute of limitations on the crimes, wiped each slate clean, passed biting integrity legislation and determined and communicated that any future corruption would not be tolerated.

I leave you guys to poke the holes in that for me and then patch them.

42. “Unfortunately as long as a system is man made it will be characterized by human failings. We must continue to make better. It will never be perfect”

The story ultimately is about choice and self empowerment, perhaps choice is that most valuable word these days, we do have choice, we have a capacity for honour and own it in life, and continually chose it and nourish it and nurture it every day

43. “In the meantime, in real life, Tusker is fighting not to be extradited because of the same matter that is “all over.”
    After the ball was over , Mary took off her wooden legs and placed them against the wall/ Oh what has become of my Mary , after the ball…,( apologies to the Merrymen)”

Lol….,

Let them go poking at anybody and they will see, some people issue threats…,but the more PATIENT ones ISSUE PROMISES.

44. “Little bit o’ corruption was expected and tolerated because the average Bajan did not understand the full cost to the country. And we managed to ping along for decades without that cost being fully exposed for the drain it was to the public purse and the economy.”

And that is why it escalated to such a degree….the people were WARNED FOR YEARS…do NOT tolerate any type of thefts of tax dollars, pension money etc or corruption, it not only destroys their lives and disenfranchises their current and future generations but irreversably damages the entire economic system and country….but that was in the early days…,and no one listened, some said we were lying, unfortunately those are the ones now sufffering the most…,the crooks in the parliament, judiciary, bar association wear curruption as a badge of PRIDE and HONOR…yall were warned, check the archives.

William….”dah is how we do tings bout here, wanna tink wanna could come bout here and change anyting because wunna went to America….wunna betta go back weh wunna come from do….wunna does always come back heh mad.”…….lol….that’s what they STILL echo from deceitful, corrupt politicians..

.that’s what Donville told the court…that’s how business is done on the island….NEVER without the element of coorruption..

Myself and others by the tens of thousands were told that over decades, but crappaud is now smoking those pipes…,ironic that Donville claimed to like the way things are done in US…am sure they all did…they just REFUSE to apply any of the positives to the island…,can’t interrupt the cash flow or corruption to theirs and minority crooks pockets.

45. Do not agree Donna. There was always corruption possibly to the same magnitude that exist today. The advent of social media giving citizens a chance to share in real time, a more rigid global financial system that calls for uncompromising compliance are a few changes to what is advancing this matter.

46. @William

Most serious commenters on the blog have already raised concerns about the AG and PM mentioning closure of the matter. In fact the blogmaster has mentioned it several times and even went as far as to include the ‘red bag’ on the blog. If you disagree with a particular commenter call that person out but your generalization is disingenuous.

47. The pipeline.of corruption AND criminality are about to be shutdown, let them poke Northern. Our spirits are NEVER to be DISTURBED.

48. I had intended not to make this point but after 247 comments the narrative remains. Has the government not enlisted forensic experts from the UK? Didn’t the AG recently even sought supplementary funding in parliament to continue their engagement? I don’t think charges can be brought based on WURA’s ever expanding “files”.

49. How do people know the Government is doing nothing, the best form of movement appears to be no movement.
    4 ounces of energy can move 10,000 pounds with proper practice.