BREAKING: Alex Tasker ordered extradited https://www.nationnews.com/2021/09/08/breaking-alex-tasker-ordered-extradited/

It is also a different version of how the story got out than what our own Attorney-General said last Thursday after the verdict was handed down. He said: “It is significant that the conviction came about because individuals who had knowledge of the events were prepared to speak out and to give evidence about wrongdoing.” The AG added: “This is something that is required at all levels in Barbados’ society whether dealing with the scourge of corruption or the scourge of gun violence.

Donville Inniss Case Points to Endemic Corruption in Barbados

The traditional media is off and running with the big headlines about the sentence federal District Court Judge Kiyo Matsumoto is scheduled to deliver today in New York in the Donville Inniss matter. It is the story traditional media will have a healthy appetite for because of flagging circulation.

Mia’s Red Bag has come up empty so far

The concern of the blogmaster confirmed in the deliberations during the Donville Inniss trial is the strong inference there is pervasive corrupt behaviour in the way business is conducted by some PUBLIC and PRIVATE officials in Barbados. Successive governments over the years have paid lip service to unearthing and punishing corruption even in the face of obvious indications of wrong doing. The Mia Mottley government is better placed than her predecessors given the unprecedented mandate handed to her government to do something about it. It is no secret however to those in the know that Donville and Mia are bosom buddies.

The following is a blog repost from January 20, 2020 which captures key concerns by the blogmaster, the late journalist Patrick Hoyos and the BU family.

Donville Inniss Case Points to Endemic Corruption in Barbados

The blogmaster found the Patrick Hoyos article to be – without prolix – a good summary of the Donville Inniss matter. Especially as it pertains to the inference other payments were made to Donville Inniss and that bribery by elected officials was commonplace in Barbados. Although we have the Attorney General et al saying that local laws would not have permitted prosecution of Inniss this position was challenged during the Inniss trial.

The blogmaster’s wish is that we have a dispassionate debate in Barbados and a call to action by our officials regarding the honest prosecution of public officials. It is ironic former Speaker of the House MICHAEL CARRINGTON and Adriel Brathwaite, former Attorney General showed support for Inniss by attending the trial in New York. CARRINGTON’s legacy will be that a High Court judge had to issue a court order for him to release monies due his client 70+ John Griffiths, the blogmaster will remember Brathwiate for promising to report to parliament the status of Mia Mottley’s qualification (LEC) to practice before the Courts of Barbados. He never did.

The time has come to arrest the moral and ethical rot- add criminal. We have started to experience the negative fallout of pushing our heads in the sand.

Time for the authorities to do a job.

Time for the Prime Minister, Attorney General and stakeholders to lead the charge.

Importantly, time for John Citizens to hold officials accountable.

Read full text of BU blog https://barbadosunderground.net/2020/01/24/donville-inniss-case-points-to-endemic-corruption-in-barbados/

817 responses to “Donville Inniss’ File Missing from Mottley’s Red Bag”

1. @ David

I should hope the gentleman on the radio was not comparing bribery with political contributions, as one is legal and the other illegal. There was even a time from memory when you got political contributions off your taxable income. To the best of my knowledge I never saw a tax exclusion for bribe payments!

The fact that anyone would attempt to compare the 2 acts is comical. This was a straight forward case of bribery and money laundering. If I make a contribution to a political party, or a church or charity, it was a legal tax deductible expense where I broke no laws. Now let me say though I am not sure if that is still the case in terms of tax allowance.

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

I never saw the invoice. You?
    Mrs Forde-Millar told the US court it was a ‘referral bonus’
    “Millar told the court that in August 2015, she attended a meeting with former chief executive officer (CEO) of ICBL Ingrid Innes and former senior vice-president with responsibility for business development and marketing Alex Tasker.
    Following that meeting, she said Innes instructed her to make “an urgent payment” of a referral bonus to Inniss.”
    [Quote]
    “Ricco also suggested to Millar that during an interview with the FBI she told them that Tasker had informed her that the monies to be paid to Inniss were “political payments, commissions and contributions”.
    She however said she could not recall making such a statement.”
    [Quote]

3. Meanwhile other social media platforms still blasting govt over all.the forgotten promises govt yet to fulfill

4. Some of you would like us to believe that you make political contributions in support of good governance. bullshit.

Political contributions are made to influence politicians.

Buh doan mine me. I have never even been in a tax bracket to justify making a contribution. lol

5. In this COVID Weekly exclusive, severed or laid-off workers connected to the tourism sector are fighting for access to money accumulated in pension funds. There is still time to read this and more in the latest edition of COVID Weekly

Read more here: https://bit.ly/3xvr8f9

#COVIDWeekly #BarbadosToday #BTNews #NewsYouCanTrust #COVIDEdition #Barbados

When is govt gonna put lock and chain on these business that steal from workers

6. These businesses are stealing left and right from the employees and govt mouth silent
    The Hilton exworkers.have been asking for their severance for months on end and not one penny received

7. David,

It seems you have misread my post. I never said corruption was not always there. I said Barbadians were tolerant of it until its cumulative effect became obvious.

8. @NO

The blogmaster had that nugget stuck in the brain for some reason. The bottom line is that the payment found not be a political contribution if it is he wanted the payment in USD.

9. @Donna

Fair enough, a reasonable position to hold.

10. Barbados recorded 17 new positive cases of COVID-19 on Wednesday, April 28, from among 320 tests conducted by the Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory.

The WHO eyes are on these small.island states
    Numbers look suspicious

11. @John A

The stain of the Donville conviction has set moved Barbadians to a different level of consciousness about corruption by public officials. It is something this government will have to deal with carefully as a general election approaches.

12. Government contracts are a licence to print money.
    Businesses can afford to pay bribes are it is recouped by overcharging for their services.
    Political contributions do not go into ministers pockets.
    Seems like Bajans have to eat the bullshit.

13. @NorthernObserver April 29, 2021 4:47 PM why didn’t ICBL deposit the funds in $BDD to his account in Barbados? Or alternatively, in $US to his account in Florida?”

Or better still how come ICBL did not accidentally or deliberately deposit the money to my account? At that time I had been their customer for decades, and I had paid them tens of thousands of dollars. They know my real-real name, my address,both my telephone numbers, all of my email addresses, all of my bank account information.

And yet not once did they is error deposit $0.01 to my account,

Can those of you people who are good at numbers explain why not because after I did not ask anyone at ICBL to write any cheques for me.

How does money end up in a Cabinet Minister’s account, and not in the account of a little, needy old lady who has been a good and faithful customer?

14. The question posed and remains unanswered is why does Inniss not have a crime to answer in Barbados. The fact local police cooperated with US investigators must tell us something.

15. “How does money end up in a Cabinet Minister’s account, and not in the account of a little, needy old lady who has been a good and faithful customer?”

If you were paid $36,000 in error I’m sure you would have informed the bank of the error.

It happened to me twice for $10,000 x 2 and I did.

16. “The question posed and remains unanswered is why does Inniss not have a crime to answer in Barbados. The fact local police cooperated with US investigators must tell us something.”

US has tougher financial laws and the powers to implement them.

17. @ David

I think what has happened too is that so many Bajans are under severe financial pressure now that they are seeing things differently. When the milk and honey was flowing people more looked the other way, but those days are now gone. Don’t expect forgiveness from the public when many can barely get to month end with money in their wallet!

18. @ David,

Inniss and who else should be charged for this crime ?

19. Central bank report.

20. “I think what has happened too is that so many Bajans are under severe financial pressure now that they are seeing things differently”

This case explains why people go into politics in Barbados, $36,000 is the average annual salary

21. @Hants

Where the investigation leads.

22. @NorthernObserver April 29, 2021 4:06 PM “SS look, back in the city, I lived just rond de corner from one of the heads of the Big 5 Banks. You know dem can’t even drive themselves (security protocol). But he had a fancy bicycle, and used to ride it bout all ovah de place. So he had a very big chauffeur driven ride, but that didn’t stop him from riding a bicycle.
    and I was expekkin yuh to tell mah dat whitehill couldn’t handle you…lol”

So I see that you used to live in a very, very fancy neighbourhood.

Back in the day my old man’s Raleigh was his transportation to work, yet super sweet guy that he was he permitted all of his children–except one who was afraid of falling–and a good number of his grandchildren to learn to ride on it, so we are all bike riders. One relative who lives in your city or former city has never bough a car even though earning a very decent income. Has always used public transport or bikes. But in the era of covid bikes may be becoming a luxury good. The kid in your city or former city tried to buy one recently and Canadian Tire, Walmart etc. were sold out of modest priced bikes. A specialist bike store had some nice ones, for about $1,000. Too rich for our taste.

Re our friend white hill. As I become older, near three score and ten, I’ve acknowledged that alas, flesh will fail us.

23. $36,000 is double* the average annual salary

24. https://barbadosunderground.net/2014/08/29/lisa-marshall-retrenched-worker-from-the-transport-board/

“The Hilton exworkers (who) have been asking for their severance for months on end and not one penny received.”

I’m happy to know you had a ‘change of heart’ and now showing concern.

Keep up the good work.

25. People keep saying that $36,000 USD is just pocket change. But is it really? I’ve just checked the U.S. Census and discovered that for Florida the per capita income in the last 12 months
    (in 2019 dollars) during the period 2015-2019 was $31,619 USD.

If I came into a legal $36,000 USD tax free cash I would feel like I had won the lotto.

But maybe I associate with too many poor rakey people, just like the poor rakey people of Florida and no doubt of other even poorer US states.

26. Angela Cox and Hants trying and failing to change the focus of this topic.This is about Mr Inniss being convicted and jailed for money laundering in the USA not about the Barbados economy nor covid cases.The dems on bfasstacks like the trini dem and Mr Benn looking for all kimd of excuses.Bottom line no one forcedr Inniss to do what he is accused of doing.He did the crime now he should do the time full stop.Talking of his children and the bribers will not change anything.Therefore as a guy said on brasstacks today stop looking for foolish excuses.

27. @ David April 29, 2021 6:39 PM
    “The question posed and remains unanswered is why does Inniss not have a crime to answer in Barbados. The fact local police cooperated with US investigators must tell us something.”

If we are to go with the argument of some blogger(s) how could there be any (meaningful) cooperation when there was No “complaint” received from the ICBL (or any of its agents). Neither were the local authorities ‘seized of’ any information about any ‘alleged’ criminal dealings involving the same accused Don to initiate any investigation?

Even in the face of the information which has been in the public domain since the Don’s conviction why is it that the other Bajan resident and citizen has not been charged for his alleged involvement in the criminal act(s) committed within the Bajan jurisdiction as competently outlined by our own “John A” blessed with that rare gift of Commonsense?

Let us all agree that the handling of this too politically-incestuous hot potato was contracted-out to foreign law enforcement to save the face of the Bajan duopoly from implosion.

Poor Parris must be wondering why he cannot change his name from Greenverbs to Ashton in order to evade his fate as the Bajan money-laundered lamb to be sacrificed to the wolves of international judicial observers.

28. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Cuhdear Bajan April 29, 2021 7:34 PM

That is pocket change when it is for money laundering and financial type crimes. These types of crimes are usually in the hundreds of thousands or millions.

Under normal circumstances, that transaction would not have gotten a second look but ICBL’s parent company would have been required to self report to the American authorities under FATCA regulations once they had the slightest suspicion of malfeasance or face hefty fines and penalties. That is why they got off so light.

You think the banks now asking all these questions on the source and expected size of your deposits when you open an account or deposit large sums because they want to market services to you to make more money. Asking for all that information costing them money in administration costs but they have to do it if they want to continue to play in US, UK and European financial systems.

29. Innis should be warned that if he wants to try and spin a yarn and lie on appeal, then he could face further criminal charges of perjury and could end up with a longer sentence. Courts are a different arena to the world of politics.

30. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@555dubstreet April 29, 2021 8:06 PM

The lawyers will take him for all he worth. I sure he spend more than the $36,000 in lawyer fees by now.

I wish the government would go to parliament and pass a law to suspend his pension while he in jail to keep we taxpayers from paying for his lawyers’ next New York apartment.

31. @Lorenzo April 29, 2021 7:48 PM ” no one forcedr Inniss to do what he is accused of doing.”

Correction: Not accused. CONVICTED.

32. “The question posed and remains unanswered is why does Inniss not have a crime to answer in Barbados”.

Would there be new charges or the same ones he faced already? Would this be double-jeopardy?

33. The US per capita GDP was $63,051 in 2020

$36,000 is 6.8 months worth of per capita GDP. I don’ regard that as a small amount, as I am surer most working people in the USA and the world don’t regard it as small change.

Never knew there were so many Bajans so rich that they can regard $36,000 USD as small change

34. (Quote):
    I wish the government would go to parliament and pass a law to suspend his pension while he in jail to keep we taxpayers from paying for his lawyers’ next New York apartment. (Unquote).

Oh, what foresight the Don has been well ‘endowed’ with!

Is this the same ‘odd-seeing’ Oracle of St. James who argued vehemently for the return of his 10% ministerial pay cut only because he, too, had bills to pay and children (unlike himself) to educate overseas?

The legal fees involved in this case will turn out to be more than just a financial millstone around the Don’s neck but also a life-long dildo of indebtedness up his poor behind measured in US$.

35. “I wish the government would go to parliament and pass a law to suspend his pension while he in jail to keep we taxpayers from paying for his lawyers’ next New York apartment.”

Government and Police has already indicated by words and actions that they don’t want any of this issue. Donville might have a little black book.

36. “(Hal is prime suspect)”
    I would bet my last penny this is not Hal. For Hal, that would be a regression to an extent that clinical/psychiatric intervention would be necessary

37. TheoldGezerds

Double jeopardy is an American jurisprudence concept, however; in America, you can be brought upon State and Federal charges for the same offense/ offence.

38. Liat Workers begging regional.shareholder govts for help in receiving their severance

Opposition Leader, Bishop Joseph Atherley said the involvement of the People’s party for Democracy and Development was not a partisan intervention, but merely one to facilitate the voices of the former workers being heard.

He noted that when all was said and done, they were Barbadian, and the Mottley administration had already gone out of its way to secure finance for people in other sectors also affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. (BA)

39. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@TheOGazerts April 29, 2021 8:33 PM

I suspect the most the authorities might be able to do here is a tax evasion charge on unreported earning.

I ain’t no lawyer, police, nor am I familiar with the whole affair but I would hazard to guess since all the physical transactions occurred in the US, there is nothing they can charge him here on unless either of the parties involved makes a report to the police about an extortion attempt or similar crime.

40. I only here for the comments.
    All these diaper changers (apologists,) pun here mekking bare mock sport..
    This is how Barbbados is run (operates).
    Wunna hard ears or what.

41. “How did they even get that company name?”

and the account number in Donville’s name to move the money from the dental company all over Long Island….how did they get that info…indeed..

42. For many Bajan families $72,000 BDS would pay the rent for 6 years. Has anybody ever paid your rent for 6 straight years? What a relief if someone had, especially if you were just starting out in family life.

In-state tuition at Miami Dade Community College is $2,838 USD per academic year, so one kid could complete a 2 year program for $5676. For $36,000 six youngsters from families who have not been able to access post secondary education before could have their tuition paid, get their foot on the career ladder and still there would be small change left over.

For most people in Barbados and the world $36,000 USD is a lot of money.

43. “I would bet my last penny this is not Hal. For Hal, that would be a regression to an extent that clinical/psychiatric intervention would be necessary”

Undercover reporters are known to role play as different characters and engage with people

44. LorenzoApril 29, 2021 7:48 PM

Angela Cox and Hants trying and failing to change the focus of this topic.This is about Mr Inniss being convicted and jailed for money laundering in the USA not about the Barbados economy nor covid cases.The dems on bfasstacks like the trini dem and Mr Benn looking for all kimd of excuses.Bottom line no one forcedr Inniss to do what he is accused of doing.He did the crime now he should do the time full stop.Talking of his children and the bribers will not change anything.Therefore as a guy said on brasstacks today stop looking for foolish excuses

Xxxxccccccccc
    Boring

This topic does not even make the top ten list on many social platforms
    People from both sides said their piece and most likely are trying to put the pieces of their livelihoods together
    Jobs are what is taking focus and water woes
    When all said and done none of Donville problems gonna add up to hill of beans in resolving peoples economic problems in Barbados
    Outside Barbados no one cares or knows Donville
    If govt is serious about stamping out corruption
    The same type of exuberance placed in passing the Emergency act even when they did not have enough votes
    Govt can apply same strategy
    So far on BU the talk has been centered around Donville which begs the question
    Then what

45. Didn’t see it in any of the famous NYC dailies, only the DOJ put out info., shows that small fries operate as big fish on small islands, until they are dragged into the international arena, then the smallness shows.

46. Angela Cox i know this topic got you dems embarassed as hell.No wonder you talking nonsense about making a top ten.Mariposa this ain, t going away so you can kiss 2023 away probably 2028 as well if life be spared.I wonder where your sidekick baje is who claimed he cussed both parties and now quiet as a church mouse the dems in the spotlight poor fella.Like i said earlier based on Mr Inniss past actions i have little sympathy for him.

47. Everybody wants to make comparisons now with big time crooks like Bernie Made-Off with the people’s money, and if it is not a multi million or multi billion dollar affair we want to say “it en neffen really”

We have gone completely mad.

48. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Cuhdear Bajan April 29, 2021 8:36 PM

The US per capita GDP was $63,051 in 2020

$36,000 is 6.8 months worth of per capita GDP. I don’ regard that as a small amount, as I am surer most working people in the USA and the world don’t regard it as small change.

Never knew there were so many Bajans so rich that they can regard $36,000 USD as small change

That is indeed a small change for the crime he was convicted of. I am 100% sure he will get laughed at everyday by his cellmates for going prison for such a small sum. This small amount for his crime is like if a bank robber held up a bank and got away with $1,000 instead of $100,000 from the bank’s safe. Everyone including you would be laughing at the bank robber just like most people are now laughing at him for his stupidity in firstly committing the crime and getting caught.

People charged with these types of crimes usually end up in court charged for multiple small sums over a number of months or years accumulating to large amounts or for one large sum and trying to skip the country.

49. @TheOGazerts April 29, 2021 8:33 PM “Would there be new charges or the same ones he faced already? Would this be double-jeopardy?”

it isn’t double jeopardy if the charges are in two different jurisdictions.

50. “People charged with these types of crimes usually end up in court charged for multiple small sums over a number of months or years accumulating to large amounts or for one large sum and trying to skip the country.”

Do you think it was the first time he took a bung, it seems common practice to get dirty with pressure for Government deals