BREAKING: Alex Tasker ordered extradited https://www.nationnews.com/2021/09/08/breaking-alex-tasker-ordered-extradited/

It is also a different version of how the story got out than what our own Attorney-General said last Thursday after the verdict was handed down. He said: “It is significant that the conviction came about because individuals who had knowledge of the events were prepared to speak out and to give evidence about wrongdoing.” The AG added: “This is something that is required at all levels in Barbados’ society whether dealing with the scourge of corruption or the scourge of gun violence.

Donville Inniss Case Points to Endemic Corruption in Barbados

The traditional media is off and running with the big headlines about the sentence federal District Court Judge Kiyo Matsumoto is scheduled to deliver today in New York in the Donville Inniss matter. It is the story traditional media will have a healthy appetite for because of flagging circulation.

Mia’s Red Bag has come up empty so far

The concern of the blogmaster confirmed in the deliberations during the Donville Inniss trial is the strong inference there is pervasive corrupt behaviour in the way business is conducted by some PUBLIC and PRIVATE officials in Barbados. Successive governments over the years have paid lip service to unearthing and punishing corruption even in the face of obvious indications of wrong doing. The Mia Mottley government is better placed than her predecessors given the unprecedented mandate handed to her government to do something about it. It is no secret however to those in the know that Donville and Mia are bosom buddies.

The following is a blog repost from January 20, 2020 which captures key concerns by the blogmaster, the late journalist Patrick Hoyos and the BU family.

Donville Inniss Case Points to Endemic Corruption in Barbados

The blogmaster found the Patrick Hoyos article to be – without prolix – a good summary of the Donville Inniss matter. Especially as it pertains to the inference other payments were made to Donville Inniss and that bribery by elected officials was commonplace in Barbados. Although we have the Attorney General et al saying that local laws would not have permitted prosecution of Inniss this position was challenged during the Inniss trial.

The blogmaster’s wish is that we have a dispassionate debate in Barbados and a call to action by our officials regarding the honest prosecution of public officials. It is ironic former Speaker of the House MICHAEL CARRINGTON and Adriel Brathwaite, former Attorney General showed support for Inniss by attending the trial in New York. CARRINGTON’s legacy will be that a High Court judge had to issue a court order for him to release monies due his client 70+ John Griffiths, the blogmaster will remember Brathwiate for promising to report to parliament the status of Mia Mottley’s qualification (LEC) to practice before the Courts of Barbados. He never did.

The time has come to arrest the moral and ethical rot- add criminal. We have started to experience the negative fallout of pushing our heads in the sand.

Time for the authorities to do a job.

Time for the Prime Minister, Attorney General and stakeholders to lead the charge.

Importantly, time for John Citizens to hold officials accountable.

Read full text of BU blog https://barbadosunderground.net/2020/01/24/donville-inniss-case-points-to-endemic-corruption-in-barbados/

817 responses to “Donville Inniss’ File Missing from Mottley’s Red Bag”

1. @Artax “Officials from ICBL’s parent company discovered the transactions and made a complaint to the US authorities, hence, the investigation. Perhaps you may want to explain to BU, upon what basis would CoP Griffith instruct officers from the Financial Crimes Unit to investigate that matter?”

The USA officials have collected convincing and CONVICTING evidence. I am sure they would be DELIGHTED to share this with Barbados’ officials if only Barbados officials would ask for it.

My questions to you Artax:

Have Barbados officials requested this information, and if not why not?

2. @ Critical Analyzer April 28, 2021 9:20 AM
    “What one needs to wonder is if a report was made to the Barbados authorities in addition to the one made to the US authorities?”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And who says that path was not officially followed by a member of the BoD?

Isn’t the same banana republic-type jurisdiction currently faced with a recently published Auditor General’s report containing strong recommendations that legal proceedings be instituted against those involved in the financial infelicities at the BWA to the tune of over $1 billion?

What do you think is going to happen to the recommendation to initiate legal action as permanently recorded in that ‘Report’?

3. Here is the bottoline- Mia pranced on political platforms and promised Bajans she will attack corruption in public office like we have never witnessed. Three years hence , nada.

#donvilleisnotawin

4. @Miller

What about the water meters?

5. @Donville Inniss “I do hope that no upcoming politician back home would have to endure what I went through for the past 32 months.”

I would change if these words a little bit to read as follows:

“I do hope that no upcoming politician back home would do what I have been convicted of doing by a jury of my peers of doing.”

6. David said, April 28, 2021 10:59 AM It is important to recognize ICBL was hurriedly dumped by its former parent. Pick sense from it.
    Artax said, Officials from ICBL’s parent company discovered the transactions and made a complaint to the US authorities, hence, the investigation.

Lookie, I is onliest a lil fella from Brumley, I ent got much sense. But tell muh, you meanses to tell me dat the bosses in the parent didnt know how contracts was being written, all this time? I tink dat thems systems and controls must be real, real poor. Dat is all I feel aboutit.

But gih dem credit for being good choirboys and calling the cops wen dem ‘discover’ it. Them is good, as we does say.

But tell muh doh, how comses a company dat ent had nuttin to do wid Amurca, find itself reporting a crime to Amurcan law peoples? Isnt dat company British?

Iffin dem report a crime, it would be tuh de British or Bajans, no? Because dat should be de first port of call, no?

I jess saying dat I from Brumley, but I doan onnerstand some of dese high falutin tings.

I would leave dat tuh wunna bright peoples.

Sumting come intuh muh mind, dat my granny nused tuh say, sumting bout a mortar an pestle.

7. As the old saying goes, you make your bed you have to lay in it.

8. Where were the water meters from?

9. David April 28, 2021 12:20 PM As the old saying goes, you make your bed you have to lay in it.

One of the truest words I have ever heard. Never fails. We all have learnt that lesson, many times over for some of us.

10. @Crusoe

The Auditor General Report 2016 | Business as Usual – Barbados Underground

https://barbadosunderground.net/2017/08/02/the-auditor-general-report-2016-business-as-usual/

11. Miller April 28, 2021 11:48 AM

Reading what he said, his inferences are clear. I find it interesting that he chose to highlight that.

12. David April 28, 2021 12:34 PM

Grim reading. Incestuous relationships are the issue. Difficult to untangle.

13. Yeap
    Many a message was sent also to a govt having a 30-0 victory but is yet to passed a bill grounded against corruption
    Innis fate was sealed however this govt has left itself exposed to allegations of corruption by not passing the corruption blll

14. I do not rejoice that Donville has been convicted and sentenced to 2 years in prison.
    I am not sad that Donville has been convicted and sentenced to 2 years in prison.
    I’ve never spent any of his money and I know for sure that I will never spend any.

But I have long had a poor opinion of Donville, in truth I have long regarded him as an idiot and his conviction has convinced me that my opinion is sound.

When Donville was Minister of Health I approached him about the case of a young non Bajan relative, a person not born in Barbados or of Bajan parents, but who had lived in Barbados since childhood, and who by that time had been working and paying taxes in Barbados for years. I asked Donville why tax payers resident in Barbados could not access health services, without a payment at the point of delivery since they live, work and pay taxes here, and health care services are paid for by the tax payers money.

Donville’s response was “paying taxes has nothing to do with providing health care services” and then he brushed me off like I was a dengue bearing mosquito. I was stunned as I thought then and I think now now that health services were/are being provided in Barbados PRINCIPALLY because the citizens/residents/corporation pay taxes.

I thought then that Donville was foolish.
    I think now that Donville is foolish.

P.S. My young relative was not sick then, is not sick now, but I had hoped to have a sensible conversation with the then Minister of Health about the injustice of people paying taxes for a service which they could not then access.

I thought then that Donville was foolish.
    I think now that Donville is foolish.

15. @ Cuhdear Bajan April 28, 2021 12:10 PM

“My question to you” Cuhdear Bajan:

I’m wondering why you would ask me that question……. and not ‘Tie P’ or ‘Teets Marshall?’

16. Ya have to keep reminding a few people that the US CONVICTED DONVILLE USING BARBADOS’ LAWS…..

i don’t know how hard that is for someone to understand, it’s not rocket science…if they could prosecute so could Barbados using the SAME LAWS….wuh um is dem wun………it’s not a US law, it’s Barbados; OWN…cause if i dared write that in standard english, not a fella would understand it…

they legislated it, as a matter of fact, slave masters did in 1929 or thereabouts, they ain’t even got no shame to still have it on their statute books to use it as a shield to be corrupt…makes me wonder how many laws still laying there to lock them up….cause they refused to remove the slave laws and slave codes because it’s so profitable to them and destructive to the Black population, am sure those same laws can now all be TURNED AGAINST THEM…since they love them so much….

17. @Crusoe April 28, 2021 12:44 PM “Grim reading. Incestuous relationships.”

Biological incest is a very bad thing, Practice incest and even though it may feel sweet at the time, you are liked to end up with a phucked up child or grandchild, or maybe a chiild who is your grandchild.

Political incest the same thing. The political incest may have felt sweet to the political parents who went before Donville.

Donville is now the phucked up child of political incest. And I know that for him it don’t feel sweet.

18. Based on the comments I’ve read on this issue, I’m forced to ask how many people in this forum took the time to read the Superseding Indictment and other documents related to the case before commenting?

19. The old people were wise, they had these wise sayings, and many more besides:

As you make your bed so must you lay in it.
    There is more in the mortar than the pestle
    Wha’ sweeten goat mout’ does bu’n he tail
    Night does run till day catch ‘e.
    The higher the monkey climb, the more ya see ‘e tail
    Yah can hide and buy land, but ya can’t hide and work it.

20. “Donville’s response was “paying taxes has nothing to do with providing health care services” and then he brushed me off like I was a dengue bearing mosquito.”

ya met the real Donville, what ya had going against you, you were not a corrupt minority…they only respond favorably to them, love to be behind closed doors with them, well we know how that turned out…….back then i said they all need an attitude adjustment, guess ya never met Ronald jackass Jones, that one is idiot squared…he missed an opportunity to push the young generation into the world of IT, web designs, programming, all because he thought his title made him important to listen to a Black woman with locks, guess we saw how that turned out too……now a whole generation of young people are 25 years behind, just as the frauds in haunted house like it..

the people are trapped by colonial manufactured idiots..

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    “This crime originated with a Barbadian business in the parish of St Michael located in Barbados. The funds were sent out of here illegally for a purpose other than a legal transaction via our central bank.”

Your error in thinking, is key to what transpired. As a subsidiary of BF&M, ICBL got its parent to cut the cheques in $US, which were subsequently deposited in the US account of Crystal Dental Labs. The funds would then have been reconciled later, on an inter-company basis. Nothing was sent out of here via our CBB. This is how, and why, BF&M got involved.

Nor is the case in the USA over. The original indictment was against 3 persons, DI has been the only one to set foot on US soil. The DOJ is seeking the extradition of the other 2 parties in the case, Innes and Tasker.

22. all because he thought his title made him important too important to listen to a Black woman with locks,

23. This is my favorite, often said to young people who wish to engage in premature sexual activity:

Wha’ sweeten goat mout’ does bu’n he tail

Because as we all know, fooping is sweet, very, very, very sweet [ me too] but child raising is hearing the biological judge say “I sentence you to 20 years of hard labor.”

A word to the wise…

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

re Pension. Thanks. DI was crying about financial ruin, if only everybody had a Minister’s pension to live on to claim ruin?

25. @ David

Your point about the rushed sale of the shares by ICBL to the west coast company also makes one ask ” wait just so after the donville issue de fuh sale?”

I mean you could sell you shares anytime that is true, but why offload them then? Also why were the shares not publically advertised but sold to the west coast company quietly?

It didn’t matter to me cause I was no shareholder in it, but if I was a few questions there would have to of been answered too!

26. @NO

The pension will probably be allocated to supporting the family on the ground.

27. John A April 28, 2021 10:38 AM

I’ve decided to answer your “few simple questions.”

RE: “Where was the bribe paid from, did the funds originate from a bajan or American source? If bajan dem brek the law.

According to page 3, II Fraudulent Schemes, of the ‘Superseding Indictment Cr. No. 18-134 (S-1XKAM); (T. 18, U.S.C., $$ 982(a)(1), 982(bxl), 1956(h),2 and 3551 et seg.; T.21, U.S.C., $ 853(p)):

(11) In furtherance of the scheme, the defendant INGRID INNES, the defendant ALEX TASKER and ICBL Executive 1 caused ICBL’s majority shareholder, the Bermuda Company, to make bribe payments to the defendant DONVILLE INNISS through a United States bank account in the name of the New York Dental Company, which had no actual business with ICBL. ICBL employees, including INNES, TASKER and ICBL Executive l, did not disclose to the Bermuda Company that the payments were for the benefit of a Barbadian government official and instead falsely claimed that the payments were for “[c]onsulting services.”

(15) On or about August 17, 2015, the Bermuda Company transferred approximately $16,536.73 to the New York Dental Company Bank Account based on a false invoice provided by the defendant INGRID INNES, the defendant ALEX TASKER and ICBL Executive 1 for purported consulting services.
    On or about August 19, 2015, the New York Dental Company transferred approximately $16,000 to a Bank I account in the United States in the name of the defendant DONVILLE INNISS (the “INNISS Bank Account”) via a check transaction. The New York Dental Company check for approximately $16,000 was made payable to INNISS.

The “Bermuda Company” referenced in the above excerpts is Bermuda Fire & Marine (BF&M Ltd.), an insurance company headquartered in Bermuda. I believe “Executive 1” refers to the Financial Controller who gave evidence against Inniss, Innes and Tasker.

All payments ORIGINATED from ICBL’s majority shareholder, BF&M Ltd. in BERMUDA and were transferred to Inniss’ friend’s dental company’s bank account in New York, So, obviously “the funds (DID NOT) originate from a bajan or American source.”

RE: “Were the funds remitted for a purpose that is a legitimate one on behalf of the operations of ICBL? If no dem brek the law.”

No, the funds the funds were not. And, based on the above information, I believe Innes and Tasker would be guilty of an offence, because they provided BF&M with the ‘false invoice’ to facilitate payment to Inniss.
    However, Innes’ and Tasker’s names are also listed on the indictment. And, I’m sure you’re aware an extradition of Tasker to the USA is being sought by the US Justice Department.

RE: “Who instructed and approved the payment of the funds knowing that they were in fact not for the legitimate operations of ICBL? IF dem got a name dem brek the law.”

According to the indictment, (11) ICBL employees, including INNES, TASKER and ICBL Executive l, DID NOT DISCLOSE to the Bermuda Company that the payments were for the benefit of a Barbadian government official and instead falsely claimed that the payments were for “[c]onsulting services.”

BF&M approved payment of the funds probably believing the invoices were legitimate.

RE: “Who issued the invoice for the payment of the funds that were remitted to the dentist office for product or services not provided? That is fraud at the very least he brek de law.”

Wouldn’t those persons be Innes and Tasker? Aren’t their names included on the indictment?

28. @ Northern

Thanks for that info so now you got a case for inter company association for purpose of illicit financial activity.

Lord this case only now starting then if what you say is correct as you got the local entity that should be dealt with here and the others up there.

You know the higher the monkey climb what they say does happen .

29. @Artax April 28, 2021 1:07 PM “@ Cuhdear Bajan April 28, 2021 12:10 PM. “My question to you” Cuhdear Bajan: I’m wondering why you would ask me that question……. and not ‘Tie P’ or ‘Teets Marshall?’”

I only asked you because you are a person commenting here. You are a very intelligent men, so are Teets and so isTieP, so any of you bright guys or any of the bright people on BU can answer.

30. @Artax

The payment originated by the parent BUT its subsidiary ICBL would have been the requester and a due to created in the ledger.

31. @ Artax

There you go you have the persons who are responsible for where the whole issue started right here in Bim.

All you have to do is take the final deposit that was made in the dental account now and work back to where the invoice was issued and all involved will be uncovered.

Also was the board in either company required to authorise such a payment if so they too need to be held accountable.

32. And Donville further went on with reference to the health funding question:

I like how they do things in America.

So be it/Amen.

33. I always hear the Old people say you could hide and buy ground but you can’t hide and work it.

34. “Nothing was sent out of here via our CBB”

Northern…the CONSPIRACY started in Barbados….everyone is only looking at the money laundering charges…..but to even get to that stage, there had to be conspiracy, meetings that everyone knew about and employees at ICBL complained about…this was long before they did the money transfers around Long Island using this dental company….so i know legal intelligence was still evolving in 1929, yall are saying that the legislature back then put nothing about conspiracy charges on the statute books, that’s what yall are saying…

35. The other question is on an amount like that are others persons such as the board or CFO supposed to sign off on it? Under the financial rules of the company what authorisation is required and by who for such an invoice to be approved for submission with regard to payment ?

Them got nuff questions that need to be answered right here on the rock.

36. “Also was the board in either company required to authorise such a payment if so they too need to be held accountable.”

the one who is fighting extradition now, that one’s name got called with a bunch of other people about orchestrating some nonsense to save the company, he was some type of head at the time, this is around 2016..it did not start yesterday, it was a thing….people know about this, it’s no secret…it caused trouble at the company…he resigned or whatever, but others could be questioned….the problem is the intimidation to shut them up……so that the names of some real players don’t get called.

37. And remember that the old people were a bunch of illiterate or semi-literate laborers and fishers, they hadn’t gone to Harrison College nor the University of the West Indies, they hadn’t gone to Yale nor Harvard, nor the Sorbonne, nor Oxford nor Cambridge, nor the London School of Economics, in fact some of them had never even gone to church because they had no “church clothes” nor “church shoes.” They hadn’t read Aristotle nor Plato, none of then were certified anything, some may not even have had a birth certificate, because who had the time to walk miles register a birth when they had to return to work as soon as possible, but yet they left us with words of wisdom:

Wha’ sweeten goat mout’ does bu’n ‘e tail.

True then.

True now.

38. The then management had to run like hell…they were all over the Apes Hill scam too where the pensioners and am sure taxpayers lost tens of millions of dollars and no one is talking…they should snag Robinson for that, what a sellout….this thing stretches far and wide, everyone was dipping their hands in public funds via contracts.

39. @David April 28, 2021 1:25 PM @NO. The pension will probably be allocated to supporting the family on the ground.”

Why?

They are adults. They can look fa wuk, not so?

40. yall stay there. wuh i even know about the meeting place in Consett Bay, St. John…the poisson cookout…

41. They took Thompson literally, all of this was created at the poisson cookout on Saturday mornings, Consett Bay, the whole island knew about it….told yall, it’s no secret, it’s just the finer details ya might be missing, but no one was surprised this turned into a lock up situation..

42. An elderly, sick prisoner in under no moral nor legal obligation to support his wife or adult children.

43. @Simple Simon

Try not to loose a sense of being reasonable.

44. I think that his Barbados pension should be held in a Barbados government account until such time as he is released from prison in the USA, since neither his wife nor children earned the pension, and because the USA taxpayers will be providing “free” food, shelter, medical care, entertainment, recreation, transportation, spiritual care etc.

So he does not need any money until 2 years have passed.

45. Told yall for years to watch these people in the parliament and the minorities they treat as 1st class citizens while treating the majority African population who pay their salaries as 2nd class citizens….i warned you…

46. @ John A

This was a money laundering case and, obviously, what you’ve suggested would have been undertaken and ‘persons of interest’ interviewed during the course of the investigation. It’s probably the reason why the FBI was able ascertain details of transactions relating to when invoices were issued, transfers of funds from BF&M to Crystal Dental Labs, when those funds were deposited and cheques written to Inniss.

Don’t you believe the investigations would’ve revealed if other people, including the CFO and members of the Board were involved?

47. @David April 28, 2021 2:16 PM “Simple Simon. Try not to loose a sense of being reasonable.”

I am the most reasonable person on this blog.

I went to work at 18 years and 2 months and NOBODY has supported me since then. I did all kinda things to earn money, except prostitution and drug and gun dealing. My real-real para-professional job, baby sitting, domestic work, making and selling coconut bread, working ground–still working ground. In September 2019 one of my youngsters was in university and we were running out of money. I said “find work” Youngster found a 12 hour per week job in intended professional filed, went to school one whole day and 2 night a week, and all day Saturday and all day Sunday went to work in a warehouse to pack goods that people had ordered on line. Youngster found something to love about a routine warehouse packing job, The cute little outfits and toys that doting grannies were buying for Christmas for their beloved grands.

Sometimes we are foolish enough to believe that we can carry our children for ever. But we women know that the time comes when WE HAVE TO EXPEL our babies from their comfort in our wombs, because by 9 months our wombs are hurting. Or as my beloved mother told us the time comes “when you have to take the bubbies out of the baby’s mouth.” Sometimes we have to tell our beloved children “I can’t carry you anymore”

48. A lotta wunna ain’t no different to the reverend:
    “Hewitt explained that he never had cause to suspect that Inniss suffered from the cancer of political corruption that destroys developing countries and eats away at citizen’s faith in democracy. He concluded to the judge that he was aware that Inniss has maintained his innocence throughout this matter and is planning to appeal his conviction towards exonerating himself and his reputation, and that he stands by him.
    Furthermore, note the author of these Donville stories from the arrest to now and the slant of the storyline. A whole setta gum bumping until it hits home or near home. #waryoftowncriers

49. wait a minute, didn’t Mia’s big red bag of DLP non-evidence of corruption say that the corruption took place around a lot of shady contracts…..a real easy tie in.

50. Now if i was a really wicked person….i would use that bag of evidence to bring everybody to heel and extort who i can.