Barbadians were promised in recent days that 10 new garbage trucks – urgently needed – would have been mobilized in time for the Holidays. Although there has been no official announcement by the Mia Mottley government as to why a faulty configuration of the 10 trucks have prevented deployment, information in the public space indicates that the cab of the truck accommodates only two persons and the standing bar on the outside,  one instead of two. It should be noted this government in its infinite wisdom has recruited a PR/Communications team that is second to none if compared to previous governments. There is no reason information should not be readily available regarding matters affecting state apparatus.

The blogmaster is sympathetic to the fact there will be breakdowns in procedure from time to time, although it should never happen in a well functioning system. Garbage collection continues to be a hot button issue and the government leading into the last general election was not bashful about reminding the electorate the former government had not purchased a single garbage truck during its 10 year tenure.

The embarrassing fiasco currently playing out that the $400,000 dollar garbage truck x 10 will have to be retrofitted – no doubt at taxpayers expense – is cause for concern. Given the size of the procurement order, coupled with the importance of the transaction to maintaining a clean environment, a simple thought at the time of signing off on the purchase order should have suggested that those responsible ensure the garbage trucks  ‘fit for purpose’.

All that is left for the blogmaster to opine is that any self respecting administration should immediately request the resignation of the minister responsible (Trevor Prescod) and chairman of the Sanitation Service Authority (Rudy Grant) with immediate effect. We have to start to hold our officials accountable. Given historical behaviour the firing and or resignation of ministers appear to be removed from the remit of the Prime Minister.

The blogmaster is keenly aware the political polarization that exist means that every mistake will be amplified for political gain. This blogmaster is more concerned to ask – how was this sizeable mistake allowed to happen given the modus operandi of this government in period of enhanced financial surveillance ans austerity.

Thg more things change the more they remain the same.

668 responses to “Garbage Trucks Saga”

1. she is the one USURPING taxpayers money AND PENSIONERS MONEY TOO..

BTW…where are the yardfowls, they don’t call, they don’t write, ah even told Enuff ah missed her…ah even apologized…

2. @Donna,
    I usually read your posts. You are logical and they are well reasoned. However, do NOT belittle the overseas Bajans. The overseas Bajans helped build this site and made it what it is today. Some of us have been here since day one. Furthermore, we overseas Bajans are not the ones to build Barbados. We are NOT the ones who put it in its current state. We will build/save the countries where we were allowed the access and encouragement to live our “wonderful lives”. Many of us have issues with how we were treated in Barbados by Bajans…both black and white.

3. “I am asking YOU to tell the plain truth”

so which lies did i tell YOU…and who MADE YOU the truth judge…

BESIDES…when did i ever rob Barbados BILLIONS OF DOLLARS…i think you are losing FOCUS HERE…don’t you DARE try to make this about ME…you are out fo damn line..end of story..

4. The Blog is headed…GARBAGE TRUCKS SAGA…not WURA should tell the truth.

and i am still waiting for you to show me the lie…not the one about apologizing to fowl Enuff…the one that got ya acting like am your PM tiefing ya money and lying to ya..

5. The truths of yesterday have become the lies of today. Yet we see issues surfacing that remind us of the truths (schemes/scams/business deals) of yesterday. Some would urge silence rather than cleaning the infected wound and letting the stinking stagnant pus out.

Silence and docility have brought us to the point where we are.

Don’t be a silent victim because it only causes more victimization as some will believe they are getting away with their “truths’. See something, say something. Know something, say something. Some will ask for evidence, but that is a distraction. Let the police investigate if they want evidence.

Speak up, let the truth/lies out. The Bajan public is not ignorant. They will read and filter. Give them the information.

I would never advise young talented Barbadians to leave Barbados, but if they are finding stumbling blocks in their paths and are being frustrated, then they should try to solve those problems by whatever means are available. Don’t be a sacrificial lamb to please anyone. Sacrificial lambs all end up on an altar. Think of your nation, but think of yourself as well.

6. Oops..
    Those were random thoughts; unfiltered and my truth; not an attack on or defense of anyone.

7. That’s how they like to distract, but run up on me and i will not be gentle.

8. Where have you read people are being asked to be silent? People with Barbados at heart are being asked to be judicious how they prosecute the many issues. Who want a bull running around in a china shop approach to things?

9. @ David December 29, 2019 12:29 PM
    “A drive along the south coast for example see locals and tourists alike going about their business enjoying what a tropical paradise has to offer. There are problems but the sky is not falling as some would want to paint a picture.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

If only you were to pay a visit to those beaches on the south coast frequented by the same tourists you might want to take a coat of ‘colorful paint’ off your description of a tropical paradise.

Why not include in our ‘complete’ description of paradise in Bim the large piles of smelly garbage which the NCC punctiliously refuses to remove, especially at this time of the year when visitors looking for a tan are most visible.

Now please don’t blame the lack of garbage trucks, even if inappropriately configured, for this perennial state of dirty affairs.

Those traveling compactors are not scheduled to collect this type of garbage whether scattered, quite unsightly, on the ground to provide the picnic fare for the nocturnal population or placed in skips which no longer exist.

There is a serious management problem at the NCC when it comes to keeping the facilities at those beaches to acceptable standards of public hygiene.

White people might be accustomed to seeing busy squirrels, or even keeping gerbils as ‘ratty’ pe(s)ts; but when their tropical more aggressive ‘brown’ cousins are seen feeding from the same exposed garbage and competing for space on the benches then a whole set of health and safety bells go off in their heads. And quite rightly so, whether in paradise or in some smelly hellhole!

Please use your widely-read powerful social media to tell these incompetent managers to get their house in order before the Pied Piper of the South Coast has to be summoned along with the many undertakers in Barbados to take them to their final paradise.

We are not asking the Bajan authorities to take any crash course in rocket science but simply applying basic public hygiene standards they were taught in their first year of training (and even in their Sunday school classes)

‘Cleanliness is next to Go(o)dliness’, not so Blogmaster?

10. And speaking about those garbage trucks wuh so many people are saying that there were specifications already in place, consultants paid and everything to source those trucks…BEFORE ELECTION….Mariposa ya are a useless yardfowl….

so at the end of the day these RAN a SCAM and the Mexicans OUTSCAMMED THEM..and they DON’T DARE return those trucks…

dem a get wuh dem a pay fah…too love to run scams..lol

taxpayers GOT SCREWED AGAIN…but what does the TRUTH JUDGE CARE…

she wants truth…SO THERE..

11. @Miller

Do not come to the blogmaster with BS. Have a read of this blog intended to higjlya big problem and several have been posted. Do not get tie up!

12. so at the end of the day these RAN a SCAM and the Mexicans OUTSCAMMED THEM..and they DON’T DARE return those trucks…

ah just love the Mexicans, rudo.

13. So ah guess they will just regroup and slither out looking for the next scam…lol

all this fun and fowls are missing in action.

14. But Piece though…where are you though..

this is not a spectator sport you know.

15. How do some of these lost individuals who are talking about truths not even able to deal with it when staring in their faces and then want to cloud the issue with overseas vs local bullshit to deflect from facts.

Xxxxxxxxx

The long and short BLP won an 2018 Election promising TRANSPARENCY and INTEGRITY Legislation.

We have a situation where their deception have been exposed not done as required by Procurement Laws a Public Tender, detailed Specifications and a Surety Bond of over BD$100,000 for these garbage trucks was not done.

Garbage trucks for around BD$4,000,000 from Mexico was given to someone choosen ie handpicked which shows collusion.

This is plain and simple criminal behavior using taxpayers money.

This is also the exact same behavior of DLP for 10 years which BLP had promised to exposed and change.

The overseas Bajans are not the ones fooling and robbing the local taxpayers.

We will also not be gagged as our daily bread is not control by local shenanigans.

16. Dame BajansDecember 29, 2019 1:14 PM

@Donna,
    I usually read your posts. You are logical and they are well reasoned. However, do NOT belittle the overseas Bajans.

If the overseas people belittle me I reserve the right to strike back and I will. Who the hell do the overseas people think they are? Then they have the gall to come back here with the same superior attitude and complain about how they are treated. It is a two way street, respect due both ways!!!

“The overseas Bajans helped build this site and made it what it is today. Some of us have been here since day one.”

The problem is what it is today.

“Furthermore, we overseas Bajans are not the ones to build Barbados. We are NOT the ones who put it in its current state. We will build/save the countries where we were allowed the access and encouragement to live our “wonderful lives”. ”

Did you leave Barbados before you were born? Did you get nothing from Barbados? No education? No healthcare? Nothing?

Nevertheless, I never asked anyone to contribute to the saving of Barbados. I asked them not to discourage others from saving it.

PS. I too am living a wonderful life. And I do not begrudge you yours. I am happy for you. Don’t try to convince me that yours is better. And do not pretend to be living in heaven whilst poor disadvantaged Donna is rotting in hell.

I do recall you started with a compliment. Thank you for that and I do not find that you generally display the attitude of which I speak. Do not let a comment that was not directed at you get your hackles up and make you talk nonsense!

17. Wuhloss! A resident Bajan and a non- resident Bajan get embroiled in an argument and the whole non resident Bajan community is now suspect, even the blogmaster piling on. Wuhloss!

18. @ Baje December 29, 2019 2:47 PM

Excellent contribution!

The Truth hurts only those who are hiding behind the façade of hypocrisy and in the darkness of naked corruption.

Just look how the former outlaw the malevolently marked Maloney has been transformed from an effigy of contempt to an icon of saintly admiration and the US$ 175 million investment saviour to the Bajan economy driving around in his duty-free luxurious popemobile singing political hosanna to the highest MAM.

19. TheoGazzerts

DO I BEHAVE LIKE SOMEBODY WHO KEEPS SILENT???????
    I FIGHT MY BATTLES ALONE AND OFTEN GET THE DESIRED RESULT.

BUT THOUGH I AM LOUD I SPEAK ONLY THE UNVARNISHED TRUTH. NO EMBELLISHMENTS. THE TRUTH IS ENOUGH.

WARU,

Don’t know what you are on about. i did not accuse you of lying. I simply felt it better not to overstate the level and extent of poverty in Barbados. The real stats are still unacceptable.

But you seem to want to fight. Just bear in mind I have never run from one in person far less on BU.

But back to the topic.

20. @donna
    PS. How much ya willing to bet that I haven’t seen you

Wouldn’t waste my time cause u have never seen me
    You are fishing in dry pond with that pronouncement
    Blowing smoke does not impress me

As i said you can enjoy the economic and social decay of barbados no love lost
    More to come

21. @ Sargeant

Small island mentality.

The one complaining the most brought the Blog to a new low by first suggesting that they follow overseas media a lot which is how they knew that many people were having to give fronts in the USA to justify some imaginary points they were making.

Then they came about rats and Trump to show off their superior knowledge.

There is nothing wrong in loving the island however it does not mean that one should accept bullshit and have it packaged as something it is not.

22. I was under the impression Donna was a Brit – a Bajan by adoption.

23. @Donna December 28, 2019 10:24 PM “For the first time in decades the life expectancy of an American is on the decline and also this is the first generation that is destined to be poorer than their parents.”

Poorer, sicker, and likely to have shorter lives than their parents.

All of these things can be fixed.

But will they be fixed?

24. Like you people want to pretend there is no corruption where you are?

Steupse!

I keep telling you people we do have the internet and television down here.

You can gang up all you like and talk shite. I got a big shovel!

We Gathering was not my begging idea and I will not be participating. If Mia and co. are bereft of ideas, I am not. Barbadians who live here could do it on their own. We could clean up our act. What Bajans need is a vision, hope, motivation and encouragement to replace bad habits with good ones.

Problems need to be broken down into manageable pieces. If we look at an islandwide problem it looks overwhelming. But if we break it down into parishes and address it that way it becomes doable in our minds.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/12/28/honouring-judge-laurie-ann-smith-bovell/

25. @Donna

We gatherin is an idea borrowed from Ghana to create economic activity. There is nothing wrong with the approach.

26. But Donna why dont u talk to Mia who in one of her speeches stated that opening doors in Africa can give the youth a chance to seek other grounds in Africa while openly stating that the youth like sponges can absorb and adjust easily to other cultures

27. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ WARU

Six days shalt thou Labour but on the seventh day …

Dem is checking de ole man times to see commonalities and similarities in content.

Rum gotta sell so Sunday morning, when there are discounts, rummiels gather

28. DONNA & SIMPLE SIMON
    WHY ARE YOU ARGUING WITH THESE MORONS
    I HAVE LIVED IN THE USA FOR 16 YEARS AND IT IS DEFINITELY NOT HEAVEN
    I DONT UNDERSTAND WHY FOLK GO THROUGH THE HARDSHIPS AND DANGERS TO THEIR LIVES TO GET HERE

AMERICANS SEEM TO GO OUT OF THEIR WAY TO DO THINGS DIFFERENTLY OR WRONG
    AND THE STUFF IN THE BOOKS ARE NOT ACCURATE

RE If we break it down into parishes and address it that way it becomes doable
    LIKE PICKING UP THE GARBAGE FOR EXAMPLE

29. Born in England to Barbadian parents. Was fostered for some years by white folk while my mother was studying. Bajan by descent and by allegiance.

And I don’t accept bullshit from my mother or father or teachers and have never called it anything but bullshit That is why I would take on the whole lot of you one time and call out your bullshit!

I say again, Barbados has serious problems that need to be corrected. So do the places where you live. The problems are all fixable. The populace needs education and motivation to do so. It will never be perfect because human beings are not perfect but it can be much better.

I have fought my battles and I have won most of them. I did not run away and I am not sorry.

And if you want me to say that all is lost in Barbados and that young people should all flee to your heavenly abodes then I say again –

BULLSHIT!

30. GP,

I will take your advice. I dun!

31. The fundamental point is not that every time someone points out something that is dysfunctional in Barbados, replying other countries have dysfunctional institutions too. That is a defensively negative argument. The point is: is it true what people are saying, and if so, how can that be put right.

32. Piece…lol

lawd me gawd… am told they got caught redhanded in something ya don’t want to get caught redhanded in…but i will give someone else the respect and let them tell alyu…YIKES..lol

me nah want to be none ah dem…

33. @Hal Austin December 29, 2019 5:49 AM “let people in Barbados entice them back only to publicly humiliate them. It is a Bajan spectacular sport. Just read some of the anonymous monsters on BU.”

Can you provide evidence of Bajans publicly humiliating anyone? And where is this spectator sport held? Can you send me directions? And aren’t you one of the BU monsters, deeply afflicted with the Bajan condition?

34. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin
    I concur. In this society and on this Blog the counter argument is that other people are doing it so therefore it is right.

35. @ Hal

The fundamental point is not that every time someone points out something that is dysfunctional in Barbados, replying other countries have dysfunctional institutions too. That is a defensively negative argument. The point is: is it true what people are saying, and if so, how can that be put right.
    xxxxxxxxx

Hal when you have a pea brain one will pick at anything to justify one’s argument and become highly sensitive about it.

I left Barbados as an 18 years almost 19 years old on a full Scholarship to a US University and later did a Masters under another scholarship.

Came back to Barbados some years later and opened up a business employing many locals.

Within the first 2 years starting recieving local government contracts all under $100,000 until was asked to tender for a $250,000 contract by bid and then presentation infront of tendering committee.

Part of the tender was to submit a 10% Bond if successful.

Was awarded the first of many over an 7 year period.

However one had to jump through hoops via Central Purchasing Department because of Procurement Laws.

I don’t come on BU to become pitiful and wanting someone to feel sorry for me.

I have been successful local and overseas and know a better life.

I also know the difference in terms of getting ahead for those who have ambition and drive.

Facts are there are more opportunities outside Barbados than inside as highlighted by Mariposa re Mia reference to Africa.

When one is idiotic and has tunnel vision one can only argue their narrow perspective.

There is a much better life outside of Barbados in many other places for those seeking betterment in life.

36. “But you seem to want to fight. Just bear in mind I have never run from one in person far less on BU.”

Not fight…but tell you the time, can’t make it about me when poverty on the island just like the decayed infrastructure…IS A REALITY…you can stay delusional but do not try to rope me in …i know what a country on it’s last legs looks like, you may be enjoying the view, but those who know better are not..

talk is cheap, whisky is expensive.

37. @ Silly Simple

I am from the Ivy, that is where my heart is. The first time I visited the North of the country was on my return a few years ago. I knew River Bay, but St Joseph, St Andrew and St Peter were foreign territories.
    The same way that I live in the City State of London, not in the UK. I have nothing to do with people up North. I may have the Bajan Condition, but I am self-healing.

38. @Mariposa December 29, 2019 7:58 AM “Agree with your comments for the ole foggies.”

Mariposa, aren’t you an old fogie too? Stupsee!!!

@Mariposa December 29, 2019 7:58 AM “Any one with an opportunity to leave should not walk but run.”

Mariposa, we would be so glad if you would run, not walk from Barbados. Why you don’t let one of your BU admirers take you in you damn DLP nuisance.

39. @Hal Austin December 29, 2019 4:21 PM. “I may have the Bajan Condition, but I am self-healing.”

Glad to hear that you are healing.

Best of health and God’s blessings for 2020.

40. @ Baje

Read Plato’s Allegory. Best description of Barbados.

41. Why bother to point out anything to people suffering from a “Bajan condition” that has contributed to failed state status?

42. @Donna December 29, 2019 12:44 PM “I bet there are hungry children in Canada.”

Yes Donna. Yes. Sadly there are hungry children in Canada. There are hungry children in every country of the world. And even more sadly the children’s hunger is caused directly by the greed and avarice, and sheer bad mindedness of we the adults.

In Canada, 1.3 million children live in conditions of poverty (that’s 1 in 5). 1 in 2 Status First Nations children lives in poverty. 1 in 5 Edmontonian children (under the age of 18) live in poverty, which increases to 1 in 3 children in single-parent families.

43. Donba why u still nipping at my heels
    I told u to enjoy the joy of barbados social and economy conditions
    Don’t know why u are so upset

44. Canada has 36 or 7 MILLION PEOPLE

What is the land area of Canada in square miles?

The Terrirtories Of Canada By Size. Nunavut is the country’s largest territory, accounting for a 21.0% of the total land area. The territory’s total area is 808,185.17 square miles divided between land (747537.4 square miles) and water (60,647.76 square miles).

the bigger the country the bigger the problems…..it’s even too big to populate//

whereas Barbados…166 square miles

not even 300 thousand people

14W X 21L….

but they still got excuses and still comparing a rock ya can’t even see when ya travel too far off earth….with continents..steuppss…

45. This “we gathering” is nothing more than political poppy cock like the disastrous most talk about Cricket debacle that was touted as one of Barbados saving grace for the economy under the blp
    The most which would occur would be a yearlong fiesta at tax payers expense as govt goes overboard to plan yearly events which most likely would attract the koolaid drinkers looking for a free lunch or meal
    The local.economy would not get much of a boom as the prices in barbados are not competitive enough price wise to save the gathering any money
    The long and short being that govt would have made a foolish gamble out of high expectations of stimulating the economy and loss leaving the tax payers holding the bag
    But the again the voters list can be padded

46. Can somebody ask Mia when is she going to roll out a plan to create growth
    The monies borrowed must be paid back along with them useless trucks that dont worth what paddy shot at
    Well except for Mexico who is laughing all the way to the bank and barbados taxpayers are holding the bag
    Does anybody remember when OSA wanted to get rid of Mia
    If only he had got his wish

47. Baje December 28, 2019 2:09 PM

ANYONE WHO CAN ESCAPE THAT RATS NEST OF AN ISLAND AND GO ABROAD AT A CHANCE OF A BETTER LIFE THEY SHOULD DOESN’T MATTER WHETHER BE CANADA, UK, USA or elsewhere.

Baje December 28, 2019 4:06 PM

However I do know that there are far more greater opportunities outside the 2×3 island of Barbados where most people aren’t limited by who they know or whose asses they have to kiss to make a better life for themselves.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

Imagine calling my home a rat’s nest and getting upset when i point out that your home too has rats. Imagine one can talk about Bajans having to kiss ass to get ahead and getting upset when i point out that some Americans not only kiss ass but suck fronts.

Did we not agree we should not stay silent or call bullshit something else? Did you not want me to say that in America some people perform oral sex on prospective employers to get hired and current bosses to get promotions?

As I am certain some do in Barbados and in most countries.

How could I have taken the blog to a new low when Piece uses similar terminology as his trademark?

Is telling the truth now to be labelled “taking the blog to a new low”? Did the American journalists who reported the ‘me too” stories also “take it to a new low”?

Is there one law for the Medes and another for the Persians?

Well, Donna don’t play that!

Steupse!

48. i know what a country on it’s last legs looks like, you may be enjoying the view, but those who know better are not.._________________________________

Infrastructure needs some work. Country needs a clean up. Not insurmountable problems.

I shall now go take a walk in the beautiful development areas around my house where the houses look sweet as tail and the infrastructure is well maintained.

Some of us can still find a good view to appreciate.

49. Easy to tell when someone has reached their mental limit, another one to leave behind.