@Enuff
“Up to now you can’t say why the man is not deserving. In a small country how do you escape proximity to “power/decision-making”?”

Once I see you heading down this road, I know things bad.
No, No, No.
The onus is upon those conferring the honour to highlight the contributions, which are being recognized. Period.
Is Barbados, the country conferring the knighthood, doing so for work in Bermuda, Belize, Caymans, Turks and a little in Barbados too. Or for the leverage used in the BLP leadership battles.
Seems like another Marston Gibson were a Bajan leaves home and spends much of their career working elsewhere, only to return home and be knighted.
To me, if the PM had an ounce of moral decency, she would avoid selecting her father at all costs, especially in the first few opportunities she gets to bestow such an honour. What’s the rush? Is the man ill? – Northern Observer

To be honest the blogmaster does not pay too much attention to the New Year Honours list. The selection appears to be less than transparent and more importantly we are not enthused by a system that awards titles that is anchored to an irrelevant colonial past.

The New Year Honours List for 2019 released by the Government Information Service is as follows [blogmaster’s emphasis]:-

The Queen has been graciously pleased to approve the following awards in the 2019 New Year Honours:

KNIGHT BACHELOR (KtBach)

• Assad John HALOUTE for services to the hospitality industry and philanthropy

KNIGHT COMMANDER OF THE ORDER OF SAINT MICHAEL AND SAINT GEORGE (KCMG)

• Elliott Deighton MOTTLEY for services to the legal profession, diplomatic service and the community

ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE

COMMANDER OF THE ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE (CBE)

• Dr. Frances Louise CHANDLER, OBE for services to agriculture and sustainable development

OFFICER OF THE ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE (OBE)

• Ms. Cynthia Joan WILLIAMS for services to nursing and the community

MEMBER OF THE ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE (MBE)

• Reverend Hughson Carlos INNISS for services to youth empowerment and the fight against HIV/AIDS
  • John Wayne Anderson WATTS for services to environmental health

The decision to award Elliott Mottley a knighthood has attracted robust and muscular public comment across the length and breath of Barbados, notwithstanding the din generated by the holiday season. There is no need to be prolix with this matter. A repost of the blogmaster’s too brief comment to Northern Observer is enough.

Agree with this comment, the optics are bad and the brazenness of doing it in the first year of term is a foreboding act.

The opinion of the blogmaster is not meant to ignore Elliott’s Mottley’s contribution in his field of work. However, if the Prime Minister is serious about being a change agent she must avoid decisions that will distract and deepen citizen apathy. The herculean task to turn the country around is bigger than the aggrandisement of any family member. Even if that family member is her father. In fact some will suggest with good reason that the controversial waiver of the tax and penalties (NOT TAX DUE) in the amount of $1,051,872.28 to Elliott Mottley which came out of an audit of Mottley’s accounts is reward enough.

A word to the Prime Minister should be sufficient.

625 responses to “Prime Minister Mottley’s Father Awarded Knighthood”

1. @ V|incent,

The Queen of England is also Queen of Canada and Queen of Barbados.

2. T.Inniss

You and ac have taken note the Barbados Today story about the possible dropping of one of the charges against Donville is erroneous?

3. A comment to the blog master…,
    My opinion: The reply feature is impeding the flow of the conversatin and is not helping it…

You have to start at the top of a blog to see how the conversation has changed. You can no longer pick up from where you left off

4. If we had a vibrant Opposition they would been choking the newsfeeds with the Freundel Stuart bloodline speech NOT Arthur. Then again, it is Christmas!

5. @Theo,

I agree. All change is not for the better.

6. Noted, will revert.

7. ah guess so, but we shall see…lol

8. Vincent Codrington Avatar

WOW!! OUCH***!! Wuh Loss!!

David BU !!

You do like riots ,do you?

9. “So why are we behaving as if it is “not colonial and political BS”?”

Because it is INSULTING and DISRESPECTFUL…for the people who voted FOR CHANGE..on May 24th this year.

10. @Vincent

History is replete with examples of riots constructive to promote change!

11. Lawson..that… I guess so comment was for you…but..she said it under her breath in parliament in response to one of her stooges, most people am sure did not catch it.

12. Austin
    Show respect!Her Brittanic Majesty is how Sir Cameron addressed her.

13. “She is ,constitutionally,our gracious Queen by choice.”

really Vincent..and ya got the nerve to have sympathy for that beast..

speak for thyself…MY QUEEN GAVE BIRTH TO ME…YOUR queen DID NOT.

14. Removing a comment and leaving the reply is the worst of all worlds. What did WARU say to offend?

15. You are spot on. Arthur came to recognize her megalomania and hunger for power The entire Mottley family suffers from delusions of grandeur. They see themselves as the “Kennedys of Barbados”.

16. The whole thing stinks to the high heavens
    Makes me wonder how much influence her father had in helping her become an accredited lawyer. A subject which the blp yardfowls dismisses as insignificant to Mia leadership
    However a subject significant enough dealing with morals and ethical practices drawn up fanoly ties ..privileges..snd favouritism

17. @45…who cares, ask the Blogmaster about me , it bothers me not, happens SOMETIMES but is only you and other love to complain when it happens to you…which for certain reason yall should be question…the point has already been well made..though

Vincent….how many times have we said on here that since the facade of independence the leaders have made EXTREMELY BAD CHOICES….THAT was one of them..

When post slavey big. old hard back black men can call a beast in the UK..of all places ..THEIR queen ..a title that should be RESERVED..only for their mothers, wives or daughters…YA KNOW HOW DEEP THE INFESTATION AND POISON TO THE BLACK MINDS…HAVE SPREAD..

18. which for certain reasons yall should NEVER QUESTION. …@45

19. Isnt that how you snagged that white husband of yours,him thinking you had some money because everyone called you dam waru

20. A Bajan political dynasty has reached the ultimate goal of PRIME MINISTER.

Grandfather was a politician ( Mayor of Bridgetown ). Father was a politician and ambassador. Daughter “Mottley has been the Member of Parliament for the constituency of Saint Michael North East since 1994.

From 1994 to 2008, she held a succession of ministerial portfolios including the post of Attorney-General of Barbados becoming the first woman to be appointed as such”

21. Interesting!

“Ariana Grande has reportedly rejected a damehood.

The 25-year-old singer was offered the accolade after she visited the victims of last year’s Manchester bombing and for subsequently arranging a charity concert in the city – but Grande has declined the offer in a show of respect for the grieving families.”

22. Mariposa

That video with Owen should be listened to by all – it was a clear warning and alarm bell he was ringing hard for us to take heed.

Fly on the Wall @10:28 a.m.

Hence David/BU’s reference to Freundel Stuart speech on Bloodline.

Mariposa – you should try and get Freundel’s bloodline speech at the beginning of the election campaign – and post that one as well – if you can.

Many would now understand what Stuart was trying to tell us – see again that ‘fly on the wall’ post above @ 10:28 a.m.

The Democratic Labour Party need to do their homework and stop mainly trying to piggy back or benefit from the contribution of others – and instead to lead from in front.

I am tired of political leeches of whatever stripes – and I have very little hope that we would have many men and women of integrity coming forward and offering themselves for public service.

I am still convinced however that while there were some bad apples in the last government – there were more cabinet members who were not involved in graft – unlike the past Owen Arthur Cabinet and Team.

That is why I have for a while been putting my hope on honourable men and women of Integrity coming forward and holding elected members of parliament, members of the media, bias and paid guns in Academia as well as exposing the deceit, greed and corruption of those in the business community.

Let this article I trust – be a bright start from Barbados Underground – as we approach a new year – with an uncertain future.

23. “lawson December 31, 2018 10:52 AM

Isnt that how you snagged that white husband of yours,him thinking you had some money because everyone called you dam waru”

ha, ha ha…wouldn’t you just love to know,…lol

Ah had the family checked out BEFORE the marriage…they NEVER OWNED SLAVES…BLACK OR OTHERWISE..

24. Tek Da, Nothing but crooks, liars , scumbags , land and money laundering fraud, False and misleading statements upon the People, Public and the World , Now more Drugs will be fed to white students protected by their Supplies Crime Minister of Barbados and her BBLP drug running pack, We warn you all on this Blog! Now what? act like you did not KNOW! now the ZR drivers were warned for voting for crooks, Teck what ya voted for, Vote Better next time !

25. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ WARU

Until you get the GoB to change the Constitution and change the Head of State, the Queen of England will be referred to as Her Majesty, the Queen by me. I am presumed to know protocol and was trained to be respectful to my fellow human beings. Sorry, but my position will not be changing any time soon.

26. Knighthoods are the epitome of what it means to be the ‘Caribbean Nation’ as a well versed idiot here likes to talk about.

Given that lack of reasoning we say yes. That Elliot Mottley is well deserving of the highest dishonor of what ‘Caribbeanness’ really means.

But we rest in the conviction that there will be a time, coming soon, when the institutional and infantile mentalities which undergird these discourses will have an appointment with the guillotine.

The guillotine as a companion within the same ethos as the knighthood. What a wondrous day that will be!

27. Vincent I agree all kidding aside. You as well as I know a lot of people need to be led ( the sheeple ) whether it is a pope or a president, and as far as things go we could do a lot worse.

28. What became of Gorge Brathwaithe?

Is he using his computer for bitcoin mining? He must be fulltime on mMoney
    Did he pass on?
    Did his pen run out of ink?

Funny how he appeared a few weeks before and after the election. Must have gotten a sweet pick.
    i did not undertsand 90% of what he wrote and just as I started to understand, he disappeared. Well I guess I wait until 2022 to find out if he is still alive or his pen has ink.

29. “Sorry, but my position will not be changing any time soon.”

luckily FOR US ..the new and future generations of CARIBBEAN PEOPLE…descendants of UK ENSLAVEMENT OF THEIR ANCESTORS…will be nowhere nearly as brainwashed…or ACCEPTING OF THEIR OWN MEDIOCRITY…

30. Haven’t you wondered what become of Prodigal Son too ?

31. In saying that…honestly..I do not think that Barbados’ CURRENT leaders have what it takes INTELLECTUALLY…to change the constitution sufficiently or effectively…to BENEFIT their own people…those who WILL possess those SKILLS…. have not yet been born OR…are still growing to adulthood..

Hence the reason last year when I got introduced to the UK ratified Barbados constitution..up close and personal …post Windush scandal ….I saw right away that it needs to STAY. in place, just a bit longer…for a few very important reasons…

As things now stand …another decade will not make much of a difference…but after that..Barbados will really, really need their own constitution…besides, judging from Charles…ah don’t think he will tolerate or enable what his mother does…he tends to be a wild card, a dumb one… and a loose cannon.

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes the Archiver

You have made 4 excellent points culminating in THE PATTERN

MUGABE is a tyrant and she is bent on remaining in power forever or until her Mottleyian tribe is extinguished from the earth.

This is a very simple construct really.

The people were subjected to the Demonic Lyying Party fir 10 years.

The sheeple WILL SUFFER UNDER MUGABE FOR A TERM

But the people must wake up and replace Mugabe with a different type of leader SO THAT THIS WILL NEVER HAPPEN AGAIN

ALL HAIL MUGABE!!!

Oh by the way a Mr Lucas has said this about 3 times.

He asks us sheeple to review Sir Mugabe’s records in Bermuda so de ole man, IN KEEPING WITH A PROMISE TO KEEP WUNNA PUN WUNNA TOES, provides this link for you

http://www.bermuda.org.uk/infighting.htm

33. Is the creep Commissiong eligible for an ‘honour’ ? That would cap the whole nonsense.

34. For Lamming, the Caribbean is a very unique geographical region. Its people occupy an important global position:

“Globalisation, the buzzword of the age, started in the Caribbean. Its population is drawn from every branch of the human family. The Americas, in terms of its indigenous people, Africa; Europe; and Asia, with respect to our Indian, Chinese and Indonesian populations. We have produced a new kind of global family in this region over the course of the past five centuries through the process of conquest, slavery and colonialism. In a nutshell, Europe erected its institutions on a base of African and Asian labour in this region. That has given us a particular kind of sensibility. You throw a West Indian or Caribbean person into any social situation (in Europe, America, or Africa for instance) and he or she will operate as if they have always inhabited the place. There is no sense of estrangement.”

35. Has anyone ever considered how strangely Mia Mottley reacted when the following charges were made against her:

When the Counter charge to her accusation of certification was made by Dennis Lowe for her to bring her Legal Certificate of Education – she never responded.Her father did though .

You remember when Owen pointed to her – and Freundel too – of going behind his back and getting waivers for her father and for First Caribbean Bank. She never said if it was true or not – but her father came in a press conference and cried.

You remember when Owen Arthur and Chris Sinckler early this year in the house of Parliament – and this was borne out in the Court case involving former Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin – that Owen Arthur,David Thompson,Freundel Stuart,Faith Marshall- Harris,the official police driver of David Thompson etc were all tapped.

Owen told us that the person should be held responsible for it – SINCE HE ONLY REALISED THAT WHEN THE INFORMATION CAME OUT IN COURT -WITH THE DOTTIN CASE;

Chris Sinckler – asked the then Attorney General ( Mia Mottley at the time) – who would have been the person responsible for the police – to indicate what she knew about that tapping of phone – AND SHE ANSWERED NOT A WORD ABOUT WHETHER IT WAS TRUE OR FALSE – EXCEPT TO SAY IT WAS A RED HERRING.

Did any one in the media did investigative journalism or do any further follow – up on those issues.

Hell no – the BLP media shut that down – and told the public – ‘move along ,nothing to see here’.

This is what happens when certain groups: unions, business, university lecturers, media houses, etc all conspire to get a government out – and put another one in – without being honest about the danger of the traits of the person they were promoting and the disaster they were about to off load on the unsuspecting, gullible voters.

From the frying pan – into the fire.

36. Echoing the call for regional unity made by the Honorable Mininster Louis Farrakhan during his address in Jamaica in commemoration of the 19th anniversary of the Oct. 16, 1995 Million Man March, the Pan-Caribbean prime minister said: “We have to be very focused” so that the “new colonialism and imperialism” now being practiced by Western nations cannot pick us off “one-by-one.”
    Min. Farrakhan told the gathering in Jamaica: “The time demands the region stands together as one mighty nation in the sun.”

37. “honestly..I do not think that Barbados’ CURRENT leaders have what it takes INTELLECTUALLY…to change the constitution sufficiently or effectively…to BENEFIT their own people…those who WILL possess those SKILLS…. have not yet been born OR…are still growing to adulthood”

What you speak of is really disruption not simply change. Mia offered the country change. What we really needed was disruption.

Disruption unlike change does not start at the top it starts at the bottom. See the tech world for examples. Apple were not leaders in cellphones when they disrupted the cellphone industry.

Leaders manage, change can be managed, leaders like change. Disruption cannot be managed. Leaders do not want disruption

38. Those of us who dream of a true Caribbean Nation refuse to follow others who are at present totally incapable of understanding what the region faces.
    We have long passed knighthoods and other colonial gadgetry. George Lamming refused a knighthood decades ago.

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David Mr Blogmaster , @Vincent is quite right you do adore a riot …first of all you offered the quite riotous (risibly so) remark about buying a ticket to the BLP Change Express that was supposed to leave Bridgetown on May 24…fah real. I actually bought my ticket for the DLP ‘Get The Four Letter Out’ Bullet train and I was not left at the station…as you clearly were! You had the wrong marketing tix agent bro 🤣.

Then you have the other gem about “the Freundel Stuart bloodline speech”…now admitedly I know not the speech but if it’s the gist of the “Mottleys of Kennedys of Bdos’ then your riotous acts remain uproariously funny!

Are we giving political credence (valid tho he in fact may be) to a guy who has his OWN ‘bloodline line’ of long standing ‘as near to family as is humanely possible’ and discharges to them legal fees of $1.5M in water bills or $750K in cave visiting fees … is this the bloodline orator who has the goods on the PM…wha loss!

@Inniss, bro you too are funny…but in your case freaking amazingly, hypocritically laughable! …You are a BLP critic..ok I get dat but what’s with this political stale soup…

Alas, the electorate of this nation of Barbados has heard the Honourable Owen Arthur on “… her megalomania and hunger for power”. They heard this several times took heed and despite the eleventh hour pre election bombshell (supposedly) they STILL voted Ms Mottley to an unprecedented 30 -0 victory.

Your re-highlighting of Arthur’s concerns are nonsensical unless there is an actual VALID criminal case attached to it OR an attachment (besides the good man @Pieces cartton) that has political traction to damage her!

And @Fly, can you please tell us which well entrenched Bajan family with a history of high acclaim among their ranks be it from academic, political, career pursuits or some combination of all three who do NOT suffer “…from delusions of grandeur”

Very likely as you note the Mottley see themselves as the “Kennedys of Barbados” or even as local chieftans of their own royal all conquering dynasty (using an African dogma)…can you kill them for dat!

The issue remains the same… we Bajans have apparently accepted that belief because we elected the young princess over and over despite ALL the allegations of disturbing corruption, immorality and decadence…. who to blame!

So yes Mr Blogmaster, you do well with your riotous humour… good job 🤣,

40. BushT
    Why must disagreeing with what’s popular be defined as yardfowlism? I am employing a wider analysis of the act, and in MY opinion, notwithstanding the optics, once the man is fit for knighthood based on his contribution I see no issue. We must learn the term, “on balance”. This black and white approach to forming an opinion is colonial, ent?

41. Enuff…
    Well
    we all agree that, given the pedigree of the honour, he is fit.
    Wuh…If Allan Fields could be a Sir, then all of the South Coast is eligible….. and certainly Mottley.

But the point is a BIGGER one….
    Can you see why this has implications for the award of contracts? ….for appointments to important positions? ….for transparency? …for integrity?

Who the Hell makes such a BIG SHOW of bringing in their girlfriends, their family, their business partners, their personal pals into the PUBLIC affairs of Barbados – without regard for their competence or abilities?
    …only a ‘Trump-type’.

Who changes the constitution to appoint two unqualified chums ….
    But cannot even TOUCH a similar change that would allow an across the board pay-cut that could eliminate lay-offs?

You are NOT ‘disagreeing with what is popular’… (Bushie does THAT all the time)
    You are talking shiite….
    What wider analysis what??!!
    You are seeking to justify SEWAGE … like Maripoka did for 10 long years before May.

The DIFFERENCE is that you actually know better….

42. “notwithstanding the optics”

Enuff, this is politics.
    It is not the desert where this could be a mirage.
    Politicians should be aware of the optics and try to understand the perceptions of the voters.
    They should not do whatever they like and then send out apologists to dance their way out of the mess that was created.

43. Bush Tea

Your post at 1:18 p.m. sums it up well.

A lot of smoke and mirrors being employed by the blpites.

Look here – don’t look there. Steupes.

You see that second point about this action foreshadowing how Mottley will deal with Contracts or important appointments etc.

There is a saying : WHEN A MAN SHOWS YOU WHO HE IS – BELIEVE HIM.

44. Vincent Codrington December 31, 2018 11:16 AM

@ WARU

We have all the laws on the books, but we have crooks in office looking out for each other,We need no new laws at this point if we are not even using what is already there, DPP / COP are also crooks helping in this crime ring, All need to be removed, other Parties pun skvnt!!!!!!, none dealing with truth just want to help with the cover-up on a different level, Clean the House or Burn it !

45. @ T.Inniss December 31, 2018 11:38 AM

Haven’t you wondered what become of Prodigal Son too ?
    ……………………………………………………

Oh dear……you missed me? It is so kind of you to remember me……….this tickles me pink…..oh my my!!

I was just logging on to wish you all a healthy and happy New Year when I saw your post………..

I am doing fine……been travelling……hosting family and friends at home and going all over Barbados having a great time ……you dems on BU should try this and stop bitching over every thing the government does.

I am prepared to give my Prime Minister, Mia Amor Mottley time to pull this country out of the deep deep hole your party plunged it into……do you really think that it has been easy trying to unravel the junk the DLP did?

Here is wishing you all a speedy recovery from the REDWASH……I did not realise that the blows had inflicted such pain that seven months later it is still as sore as May 25th…the day after….poor souls……….

Anyways here is wishing all good health for 2019……I will be reading you all still bitching! Peace to you all!

46. Prodigal

You could really demonstrate some humility especially since we the tax payers are paying for that nice new cushy job you have been given.

Anyway I too wish you peace in the new year and that the eyes of your understanding may be enlightened.

Lets pray for God’s mercy on this land.The signs we see ahead do not look good.

47. Ken Loach,the film maker – who is responsible for exploring social issues in films -had this reason for not wanting recognition given in the Queen’s Honours List.

He said : “I turned down the OBE because its not a club you want to join when you look at the villians who got it”

Well said.

48. So the Country had a choice between a tyrant and a liar
    The country choose the tyrannt and many here voted for Her
    What does it say about a country who prides itself on education
    Guess what i voted for the lying party
    Today and for the next five years i am happy to say that my hands were not one of them that voted for a Tyrannt to oversee the countries affair.
    Now we as a people can sit back and watch the iron fist of tyranny ruled the land and not one thing can be done to change it

49. @Mariposa
    “So the Country had a choice between a tyrant and a liar”

The indications are there, but Mia still has to establish herself as a tyrant. On the other hand, the liar …,
    #TightenUpTheBowling
    #WeakArgument