[Barbados Underground]  Yes Jeff, Charles Herbert faces a monumental task, not least because he has already been convicted in the court of public opinion. The social meaning of the case has become about the history of race relations in Barbados, so although the court case is supposed to consider the evidence dispassionately, I am not certain that a jury will lack bias

1,362 responses to “Chairman of Goddards Enterprises Asserts His Innocence”

1. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Hal Austin

I marveled at PLT feedback to you when you questioned how he knew Charles Herbert was innocent and he answered when you suggested he go to the Police with his information was that it was who he got his information from directly.

HA HA HA all I can do is laugh, Money brain needs to point his clown assertion at some of HC former mates.

The same crooked Police who work with the traffickers. take bribes and plant evidence when suits them.

I am glad someone high in the Judicial had more sense to see through this bullshit and to charge all 3 individuals with the drug trafficking.

2. Corporate Governance

CORPORATE GOVERNANCE OVERVIEW

The Board of Directors believes that good corporate governance is essential to the efficient and prudent operation of the GEL Group’s business. To this end, it has developed strong corporate governance policies and procedures which are continually strengthened to ensure their soundness in keeping with best practice.

The maximum number of directors permitted by the Company’s Articles of Continuance is 15. There are currently nine members, eight independent non-executive directors including the Chairman, and one executive member. The Board meets formally every month while special Board meetings are convened as necessary. (quote)

The only reference to a non-executive chairman, and it is buried in a throw away phrase. This statement should be in the audited Annual Report. If this is what the chairman of BU wants to call good corporate governance, so be it. Another manifestation of Barbados as a failed state,

3. Whiatleblower,
    Fair enough, now for some more info on those polluting Bim with drugs.(U know very lil about me)

4. CH is married to a Goddard. He also owns plenty nuff shares from what I see in the GEL Financials. Made perfect sense to appoint him to the Chairmanship of GEL.

5. Whistleblower,
    U are assuming that PLT does NOT know honest Police. Just because several members of a given group are corrupt, does not mean that every last one in the said group is corrupt. White people had black slaves and treated them badly therefore all white people alive today are bad humans that hate black people???? In 1830 at least 900 plantations in Louisiana were owned by non whites, according Henry Louis Gates, History Prof Harvard U.

6. those non whites owned slaves.

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Hal, LOL🤣…you are taking pedantic to the ‘far away galaxy’ realm. The reference to non-executiv chairman is SURELY not considered as deeply important to Goddard’s Board and by extension what they consider material for their shareholders, business partners and customers as it is to you.

You are displaying a fanatical quest for precision that would have been mandatory in the City, in London, its equivalent Wall St in NY or indeed if Goddards was trading on any major country stock market…but it is NOT.

The distinction for the purposes of the possible Herbert indictment here in Bdos, the region or indeed back in your neck of the world is truly IRRELEVANT…the damage has been done regardless.

I had to laugh at the top because several years ago I got quite peeved similarly 🤣. In that case the Nation’s Business Authority would do these pen profiles of local company boards and willfully refuse to differentiate executive and non-executive directors…so hear me via email: Dear Mr Editor, blah blah you should identify those directors who are non-executive. It is relevant because blah blah… Regards (a future pedantic dribbler)!

Never ever got a pang of a response email from them (probably never read any of mine anyhow😁) and of course up to the last time – many years now – I read a copy of the paper they never corrected that lil nagging point of contention.

All that to say I get your drift most forcefully….BUT it really don’t mek a jot of difference in this brouhha!

8. Now Hal, see if you can find what a non executive director/chairman in the Companies Act of Barbados … if you can!!

9. does/is

10. … and I am not questioning your ability to google!!

11. Then check the articles of the company …. which I am yet to check and probably won’t

12. Also look for the word independent in the Companies Act and the Articles

13. I think what is giving white bajans the beejeemus is that having financed the BLP’s campaign and having used traditional media and social media to finish the job – they felt that the 30 – 0 win on the 24th May,meant that they had everything in the bag.

So in their minds Charles Herbert would have been a darling in the said voters’ minds and after that press conference by Herbert it would have been easy breeze.Hmmm.

Alas they have not taken into account the ‘contrary nature’ of bajans – who would sometimes go in the opposite direction you expect them to.

So today bajans are not buying that ‘cuddear’ story they pushing, where they have managed to draw in blacks like Peter Thompson – who seem willing to bet their last dollar that Herbert is innocent.

Well I don’t know if he is innocent or guilty but I know that certain things don’t add up and information coming from the ground drip by drip is not painting such an angelic picture and are pointing out past links to other things.

I would like to be able to hear the evidence in court to hear him on the witness stand, and I would suggest to the Director of Public Prosecution, Ms Babb that she handles this case HERSELF AND MAKE 3 AND 4 COPIES OF NOTES AS SOON AS SHE GETS THE INFORMATION.

14. de pedantic,

GEL is a listed company, not a family-owned one.

15. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ Money Brain

U are assuming that PLT does NOT know honest Police. Just because several members of a given group are corrupt, does not mean that every last one in the said group is corrupt.

Sir I assume nothing, however you must not live full time on the island of Barbados.

All the major drug dealers and traffickers including guns traffickers are tied closely to Police who act as look-out protection and couriers whilst earning good money on the side.

I know for a fact as far high-up the Command chain to Inspector/Superintendent levels and could be higher.

We are talking that there are more corrupt Police in Barbados than good.

How do you know that PLT didn’t get his source of info from one of the bad one’s?

I used to have a lot of respect for local Police and had them above a pedestal when compared to other regional forces.

However based on personal experience and observations the Police Force as it is has become a long time ago a MAJOR part of the problem and not the solution to crime fighting in Barbados.

16. “now for some more info on those polluting Bim with drugs.”

you won’t want to hear that info MoneyB.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ T.Inniss July 30, 2018 4:33 PM
    “Alas they have not taken into account the ‘contrary nature’ of bajans – who would sometimes go in the opposite direction you expect them to.
    So today bajans are not buying that ‘cuddear’ story they pushing, where they have managed to draw in blacks like Peter Thompson – who seem willing to bet their last dollar that Herbert is innocent.

You are right on the money this time around, Mr. T I!
    What a set of double portion of baloney eaters black Bajans really are!

But how do you explain the ‘fact’ (not allegation) that the proven deathtrap at the Coverley concrete jungle is still in situ despite its illegal erection?

Therefore, one can only conclude that the Bajan white person responsible for its erection must have both administrations in his deeply ‘cemented’ pockets.

The cleaning of the sewage tanks at the Bridgetown plant was done with haste. Why not the removal the dangerous hazard posing as another fatal accident waiting to happen?

18. Agree Miller that contraption at Coverley Villages should have been moved post haste.

19. “I cannot fathom Herbert pursuing such stupid illegal drug activity.”

These are words from Peter Lawrence Thompson. My question is why are you so confident that Mr. Herbert is not guilty. You went to school with him. Do you really know him. Is he your friend?
    Unlike you I TRUST NOONE. Not sure if you read your bible but these passages have caused me to think like that.

Isaiah 2:22 (GNT) Put no more confidence in mortals. What are they worth?

Psalm 146:3 (NLT) Don’t put your confidence in powerful people; there is no help for you there.

Women and men have murdered their children and people never thought they would do it. All I can say is what my grandmother said. “The people you trust are the ones that deceive you”. I have been terribly deceived by people I trusted. I know.

20. Hal Austin
    July 30, 2018 5:02 PM

de pedantic,
    GEL is a listed company, not a family-owned one.

It would seem unbelievable that after all the noise this would need saying!!

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@Barbados Underground Whistleblower

what ever happened to the situation with JOHN ANNELL

22. While Charles Herbert and his accomplice Rogers are enjoying the luxury of freedom. Prescod is languishing away in jail
    Three men all charged with trafficking drugs two free and the other a black already serving time in jail
    The fact that Charles Herbert and his friend state that they are innocent and nothing of the same was said about Prescod (one of the crew members) is a tell that the case would focus on Prescod as the mastermind behind the vessel having the drugs

23. Do you think before you write? Is it Herbert and Rogers’ fault that Prescod does not have the wherewithal to attract a surety? Why dont you go and put up the 450k?

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Peter Lawrence Thompson

Either You are being disingenuous or as Inniss indicated You are a white boy plant

And While that would saddens me after all these years I have become accustomed to the facilities of man

I will explain why I am tempted to agree with T Inniss though

I sent you a link to a UNHCR website with a US DEA report citing a marijuana per pound price of $2,000 / LB

You claim to be a cunsultant with extensive knowledge of these things and you deliberated on the amount provided and come back with an amount which to de ingrunt readers thst you have been sent to seduce IS IN US DOLLARS

But You repeat your point to us sheeple to disclaim our concern as to why the bail money was discounted.

Steupseee

This is why Owen coined the phrase negrocrat.

25. David where in any my above comment did i place blame on Herbert or Rogers for Prescod not being out on bail.
    Why dont you read with understanding before you spew your vomit all over the blog

26. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie

“What ever happened to the situation with JOHN ANNELL”

This one dirty cop is one of the real bad ones, he has been heavily involved with the strip club owners in their drug trafficking and human trafficking primarily of the Jamaican/Stripper prostitutes.

Knowing him he is still heavily involved with a number of the other bad apples in the Force.

His case will continue to drag on in the local courts.

Will not be surprise if his file disappears and he is never convicted, remember the case file (Disclosure) has to be prepared from evidence provided by fellow officers.

The most interesting case is the Police officer who shot and murdered a father BLUES and wounded his son as it is alleged that they caught his Policeman boyfriend stealing who was a known thief and batty boy.

Initially during his first appearance in Magistrate’s Criminal Court he was surrounded by an outpouring of fellow police officers who cared not that he had murdered a man in cold blood and wounded his son over his thief boyfriend.

That incident goes to show that Police in Barbados don’t gave a damn about the people of Barbados only their current or former colleagues in their criminal gang.

27. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ Pieceundertherock

“This is why Owen coined the phrase negrocrat”

YOU HAVE HIT THE NAIL ON ITS HEAD.

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

what about the lawyers?

about 20 years ago I was told by an employee that she was invited to an orgy at which the late Teddy Walcott and Our darling Sandra M was in attendance

what do you know about lawyer crime and inter or intra legal orgies?

29. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ Gorgie Porgie

“what do you know about lawyer crime and inter or intra legal orgies?”

I know nothing about ANY orgies within that group.

However I know that this is another group filled with many many bad apples.

I really don’t know where to start however in reading BU many of them have been highlighted including in both Political parties.

30. GP @ 6:31 p.m.

Now that’s an interesting name you raised right there.You like you hearing things all the way in Amurica lol.

This place getting steamy hot.All sorts of things being thrown around.

31. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@pieceuhderockyeahright July 30, 2018 7:06 PM
    “You are a white boy plant”… “negrocrat”
    The ad hominem attacks signal that the thinking process has gone bankrupt. You can do better… you have been familiar with what I post on BU for the past three years.

I reside in a comfortable but modest board house on a nondescript St Philip village road. I drive a Toyota to work each weekday in Bridgetown leaving at 6:25 am and returning home at 4:00 pm. I don’t golf or play tennis and when I go sailing it is on other peoples’ boats. I am a member of the Barbados Museum, the Afrikan Heritage Foundation, the Barbados National Trust (yes I know about their history and I’m there to change it), and a group of citizens working to establish a branch of Transparency International in Barbados. I dine out maybe two or three times each month. I’m married to a woman who is a philosopher and is smarter than I am.

There, my life is an open book. I know that I lead a privileged life, but negrocrat doesn’t quite describe me.

32. What are the lyrics to the song again?
    Do you know where you’re going to;
    Do you like the things life’s showing you
    Where are we going to
    Do you know?

A propos to nothing – Have you all noticed the sudden spate of killing recently all over Barbados?

Are the drug lord vexed that this shipment was seized?

Crop over here yuh know

Are we seeing any tangible benefits since May 24th?

Really now – Do we know where we are going?

Do we like what we are seeing – what life is showing us ?

huh?

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    they requested I not bother.
    Based on the director training programme I attend a few years ago, the ‘standard’ for most publicly traded corporations (in NAmercia, of relevance only that many professional firms in Barbados now take direction from here) is that most of the directors, save one or two senior staff, are directors who are not employees. Whether you choose to call them independent, non-executive, director at large etc, they form the vast majority. Hence, it is the executive members who require identification. for example, Chairman and CEO, or Director and SVP Marketing. If they are not identified, one may safely know they are not employees. Because some jurisdictions are in transition, you get norms from both the old and the new overlapping.
    Furthermore, to this specific topic, you obviously are not a shareholder in GEL? Or you would know all this. So if you have no skin in the game, exactly what difference does it make to you?
    Now if you want real confusion it is your country, and some the Euros, where the highest executive position is commonly called ‘Managing Director’ (as it is at GEL). Then you get Director of Marketing etc, and none of these people are Directors on the Board but employee titles. So when you read that somebody’s profession is Director, you have not a clue what it means.
    I know Barbados is a failed society.

34. Northern Observer planted the idea that the Ecstacy crew were cleared by the Authorities and were still home when suspicious people including the police observed certain movements which resulted in the trio having to return to the vessel. The news that acting on a tip off,the heavily armed drug squad and border protection people boarded the Ecstacy on the high seas and escorted it to the Port is more likely nearer the truth than the yarn spun by sympathizer Northern.Like Anne I have learned in managing people of all hues and cultures,dont trust anybody.Protect your azz is my watchword.

35. David
    July 30, 2018 7:00 PM

Do you think before you write? Is it Herbert and Rogers’ fault that Prescod does not have the wherewithal to attract a surety? Why dont you go and put up the 450k?

Mariposa has already said that Mr. Prescod is better off with the Police as things disappear in Barbados.

I took that to mean it won’t be Mariposa’s $450K that is proffered as bail.

36. Mariposa

I have to agree with David BU’s question: “Do you think before you write?”

And in his comments, he never suggested you “placed blame on Herbert or Rogers for Prescod not being out on bail.”

Another example of your inability to understand what you read…… and think before you write.

Your July 30, 2018 6:56PM contribution is loaded with INNUENDO, malicious and misleading statements.

Firstly, the comment “Three men all charged with trafficking drugs two free and the other a black already serving time in jail….”

……..is not only DISHONEST, MALICIOUS and MISLEADING, but clearly IMPLIES something untoward occurred……..

……. especially when you know the 3 individuals were offered bail, but Prescod was remanded because he FAILED TO to make bail due to the lack of a surety.

Secondly, your comments re: “The fact that Charles Herbert and his friend state that they are innocent and nothing of the same was said about Prescod (one of the crew members) is a tell that the case would focus on Prescod as the mastermind behind the vessel having the drugs…”

…….. are also DISHONEST, MALICIOUS and MISLEADING.

You are aware Herbert and Rogers were released on bail with two sureties……and they used the opportunity afforded to them by the press interview to declare their innocence……

…….being REMANDED, Prescod was DENIED a SIMILAR opportunity.

Unless you’re suggesting Herbert and Rogers should have declared Prescod’s innocence on his behalf.

Thirdly, for you to make a bold, definitive statement that “the case would focus on Prescod as the mastermind behind the vessel having the drugs…”…..

……..indicates you are privy to the results of the police investigation and the direction in which the DPP will prosecute the case.

I jes doan know wuh part you come from.

37. This is for the whites pointing at blacks and for the blacks pointing at white

‘Twelve voices were shouting in anger, and they were all alike. No question, now, what had happened to the faces of the pigs. The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.”

Can you differentiate between the stance taken by MB and PLT? It is not my intention to assail the character of MB or PLT in anyway, I simply want to point out that, to reduce this to situation to just black vs. white is absurd.

38. Doesnt bother me one bit Artax whether u agree with David
    The point of my comment would have been found in the last paragraph where i entertained the thought of Prescod taking the fall for Herbert and Roger since no mention of Prescod innocence made way out of the mouth of Herbert or Roger after their release
    Therfore it behooves me to understand where in the world David interject his two cents worth of criticism by suggesting that i put up the bail for Prescod
    In fact it also beehoves me to understand any of his pointing out that my stating that Prescod being in jail had anything to do with Herbert freedom
    Artax what you ought to be pursuing and watching closely are what. implications Herbert close association with the blp might be of major concern having negative implications for any of the blp ministers involved in illegal activity when Prescod sings like a bird to cover his.a.ss instead of u brown nosing inside David black hole

39. Hal

The only reference to a non-executive chairman, and it is buried in a throw away phrase. This statement should be in the audited Annual Report. If this is what the chairman of BU wants to call good corporate governance, so be it. Another manifestation of Barbados as a failed state,

If you look in the companies act I don’t think you will find the term!!

That’s probably why the audited financials do not mention it.

As far as I can see it reflects a style of management, not a legal status.

That’s why I think you will find it as you put it “buried as a throw away phrase”.

You are a director or you are not as far as I can see.

I have served on boards since 1985 and now I see the term I can understand what it may mean.

For example, in the 1990’s, probably 1994 when the Bees got in, I was appointed to be a member of the board of management of a Government institution.

The board met monthly except if it was necessary to meet otherwise.

I took no part in the day to day management of the institution.

I was one of the designated cheque signers but I can’t remember ever having to question the financial controller who paid the bills and whose staff wrote the cheques.

He was always at the BOM meetings but he was not a member.

I guess I could describe myself as a non-executive director of that institution for a while.

I got paid the princely sum of $120.00 per meeting after a major raise in pay all of the board members received.

Monthly meetings started at 4:00pm and went until.

The chairman obviously got more because before the board met to consider any major matter he had been involved in the working through of the details with the staff who dealt with the day to day management of the institution.

The major perk after the $120.00 was the food after the meeting!!

Both chairmen I served with were themselves businessmen who could hardly have been expected to take the time to contribute, but, nonetheless, did.

None of the board members could be said to have had free time.

I always viewed my role and those of others as bringing skills, experience and contacts to bear and making them available as required.

Obviously, there is an element of legal responsibility attached as with any director or board.

40. Independent AND non-executive

Here is my interpretation of Independent.

Lets look at the Cabinet and consider the ministers as directors.

The GOB think of as a business entity which is involved in various activities, health care, road works, sewage etc etc.

For directors/ministers to be considered independent it should not be the case that any one of them should for example have a clinic which depends on GOB contracts, owns a construction firm that does road work or is involved in a company that provides sewage services to the GOB.

I think that GEL’s claim that its directors are independent means none of them are involved in any business which might conflict with the business interests of GEL.

That is an important statement to make to the public who own the company.

But look in the Companies Act for the independent directors and I don’t think you will find such a requirement.

I would suggest it is assumed or dealt with as parent/subsidiary rules.

There is a requirement for an independent auditor however.

41. Artax why dont you go wrestle with Adrian Loveridge.He penned an article on Bu about govt taxing the tourism industry to death.
    I bet you dare not go and talk crap cause he slammed the govt real good

42. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ARTAX ASKS WITH RESPECT TO THE JACKASS ANGELA COLE AKA MARIPOSA

I jes doan know wuh part you come from.

THE MENTAL ASYLUM IN HELL!

SHE SO DAMN STUPID EVEN SATAN COULD NOT TOLERATE THE FOOL AND SENT HER BACK

43. GP bro you better start teking uh meds yuh seem to be missing more than one screw
    Trump like he got yuh head turn real bad
    Btw what de hell got u going crazy
    Maybe it is time you start serving God instead of Trump
    The bible say you cant serve two masters at one time you would end up on the road to destruction
    Fuh sure you like you heading in that direction
    Be Good ole man may God have mercy on your miserable soul
    Phew…

44. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

Walter Oneal Prescod’s stay in prison has been extended for at least another two weeks.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/07/30/prescod-still-searching-for-surety/

45. Paint it all

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

AC ASKS what de hell got u going crazy
    ANSWER my sweet sexy young wife——she not an old hag like cold ugly angela cole………murdah

re Trump like he got yuh head turn real bad
    HE GOT A RALLY IN TAMPA TOMORROW EVENING BOUT TWO HOURS FROM MY HOME,,,,,,,,,,YOU WANT ME GET YOU SOME TICKETS TO ATTEND? LOL LOL

47. Boy that is life when lambs lie down with lions
    Prescod boy unless you got real goods on them plus a good defence lawyer yuh a.rse gonna rot in Dodds
    Them two said nothing about three crew members innocent only two by mentioned name..which leaves you swimming with out a life jacket
    Boy turn state witness yuh hear

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Gabriel
    where did I say this
    ‘Northern Observer planted the idea that the Ecstacy crew were cleared by the Authorities and were still home when suspicious people including the police observed certain movements which resulted in the trio having to return to the vessel.’
    I said…. they cleared customs and immigration and it was after that, the boat was approached by the Coast Guard and RBPF. In other words, the contraband was not discovered by customs.
    I never said they were at home? or anything else about police observing anything.
    So tell us where you got that information?

49. Georgie Porgie Avatar

IS THAT YOU AC AKA MARIPOSA
    IF I WAS TO SEE YOU COMING I WOULD JUMP IN DE CAREENAGE FOR FEAR

50. Madam

I’ll deal with the last part of your contribution…..first.

We are all aware that you may know “a thing or two” about “brown nosing inside someone’s black hole,”……..

……..having demonstrated an EXPERT ability in that undertaking…..as it relates to your DEFENDING every member of the DLP, whether RIGHT or WRONG.

I can state “categorically” and without fear of contradiction, that you can NEVER find any, words, phrases or statements in any of my contributions to BU…….. that would SUGGEST or give a CLEAR INDICATION I’m DEFENDING the BLP…..or that I’m a member or supporter of that political party.

Unless you have information that “definitively” indicates otherwise……

……… tell me why should I be “pursuing and watching closely (the) implications Herbert close association with the blp might be of major concern having negative implications for any of the blp ministers involved in illegal activity?”

However, I suspect my criticisms of the DLP is the basis upon which you assume I’m a BLP supporter.

If we go by that logic, then all the people that were responsible for the DLP’s 30-0 drubbing…….. are BLP supporters.

But the “defining difference” between you and me lies in the fact that, whereas you are vehemently critical of the BLP and unswervingly in your support of the DLP……..

……….I’m critical of the former inept DLP administration……and consistent in highlighting the nonsense in your shiite arguments.