Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley (l) Owen Arthur MP (r)
Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley (r) Owen Arthur M.P (l)

BU has been advised the reason former Prime Minister Owen Arthur resigned from the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) is because the executive was about to expel him from the party. Before the matter could be heard he quit. To be frank if this is true, and BU is doublechecking, Arthur took the right decision. The embarrassment of a former prime minister of fourteen years standing effectively being fired from the party would have been a big blow to the party for a man who has represented himself as a โ€˜redโ€™ for forty years. It is unfathomable Mia Mottley had any influence in the politics of removing Arthur, if she had, some may describe it as bold politics, others incredibly stupid.

What does the future holds?

The Arthur faction is still embedded in the BLP parliamentary group, Symmonds, Payne, Marshall and there is Mascoll on the inside. This may be the first of other resignation to follow. The possibilities are endless what may result from the dysfunctional politics being played out in Barbados in both political parties. The next hurdle for Mia Mottley will be how the legal matter between two MPs on her side plays out. What the implosion of the BLP spells is that it gives wriggle room for the Stuart led government to meander on their merry way seemingly unaware of how to resolve the mounting challenges facing the country.

206 responses to “Was the BLP About to Expel Former PM Arthur?”

1. TMW ..
    for one so driven by political interference and an activism that is driven by selfishness ….distrust and disunity ,,,,you of all people should have the nerve to be waving a finger in the air talking about any kind intelligence ,,,,,your need to lash out and insult is a sign of one who have lost their soul ,,maybe it is time for a bush bathe ,,,

2. @ NationBLPpaper
    An adroit observation. This represents an existential threat to the BLP but the scribes you cited have no vocabulary to deal with it. This development is outside their comfort zone. They are merely waiting until they are told how to think, for this kind of thing is not found on the 11+ exam paper. As much as the DLP may appear to be the immediate beneficiary they too have cause to worry, for the system itself maybe in free fall. These things put together speak to the inadequacy of mainstream media in Barbados and the world to do anything other than being the mouthpiece for certain vested interests.

3. But how much more could be expected when sycophants like Anne Gittens and Harold Hoyte were and are around

4. Even BU’s David recoils from certain implications of this political earthquake. Anybody who thinks the BLP will not pay a high price is merely dreaming.

5. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

@Georgie Porgie
    “SIR WHAT EXACTLY WOULD YOU LIKE THE NATION TO SAY ABOUT OWENโ€™S DEPARTURE FROM THE BLP?”
    Honesty. The Nation claims to be all the paper for all the people but yet has front loaded their paper with persons who have clear party bias and affiliation.
    How can you promote honest discussion when a newspaper invites commentary from those who spin only for one party?
    Did you realize that non of the major columnists in the Nation newspaper touched this “Arthur” issue in a serious way?
    Did you not realize that as BLP spokesman on the economy Mascoll refused to address the fact that Arthur called Mottley’s tax plan absurd?

The Nation newspaper has employed a cadre of BLP writers and therefore any issue like this which speaks of the vicious infighting in the BLP will be glossed over by these readers.

Compare that to how the Nation newspaper writers like Brandford and company dealt with an unsigned letter by a few MPs that was never delivered to the PM to discuss party issues.

The Nation newspaper can do better by giving different views. The article by Guyson Mayers in The Advocate titled “Bait and Switch” explaining how Mottley’s march was really a political stunt would never have made it to the Nation newspaper pages. Ask yourself why?

6. NationBLPnewspaper | August 13, 2014 at 10:48 PM |

โ€œMy question to Tennyson Joseph is : Would he give the same advice to calypsonians in his native St. Lucia who sing about the suffering of the St. Lucian people under his buddy Kenny Anthony?โ€

We like to play the โ€œforeigner cardโ€ when it is convenient to us, which more often than not make our motives seem hypocritical.

Iโ€™m sure you are aware that the DLP Member of Parliament for St. John, Mara Thompson, is a St. Lucian as well.

Are you comfortable with Mara Thompson, [a St. Lucian just like Tennyson Joseph] having a collective responsibility for the suffering of Barbadians under her buddy Freundel Stuart?

7. @ Artexe.
    Are you still acting vain. You need to get off the island a bit. So you can get a idea of real politics. The county is in a mess. Do some work instead of blogging. The purpose of a politician is not to be a politician. The purpose of a politician is to stand for something. When politics is just another jobโ€”when politicians care more for politics than for the countryโ€”politics is broken. By your actions, and again your blog that you are not fit for purpose.

8. One of component leaders of one of the parties within the Coalition of Unified Parties of Barbados took to inner Bridgetown on Monday afternoon of this week, to let his party’s voice be heard by pedestrians on what his party is about and on why voters in Barbados should vote for his party in the next election.

The leader of the Barbados United Reformation Congress, Mr. Rodney Braithwaite, in a meet and greet approach on Bolton Lane, Victoria Street, Swan Street, High Street, Marhill Street, Bridge Street, etc – introduced himself, as the leader of the party, to many prospective voters in this country.

He also apprised them of the fact that the party was formed in 2008, and took the time too to inform some of them of some of its principles.

A Christ Church resident, he, et al, called for the job reinstatement of many of those persons who recently lost work in the ongoing public service retrenchment exercise.

This message was emblazoned on a reading aid he was carrying.

We dare to state that he was warmly received by many people who – at the same time – took great interest in his speeches.

Indeed, Mr Braithwaite has committed himself and his party to actively promoting, and participating in, the progressive political activities of the CUP, and to greatly assisting in the removal of the DLP and BLP from the government of this country, owing to their gross and reckless mismanagement of many of this country’s affairs.

9. BLP Executive has endorsed Colin Jordan let us see if Mia accepts.

10. @ Artexe.
    Your limited experience in life, shows how far from the captioned matter.
    Trying to run the county like a business.
    The difference between running a business and running a county boils down to this: Try closing a local, little used fire station to save a few bucks. Outraged neighbors of all political stripes would storm the city council in protest.
    Now compare that to the silence that typically follows a corporate decision to close an underperforming branch bank or a surplus warehouse.
    The reactions are different and for good reason. Although corporations and governments are organizations, that may be one of the few traits they have in common. The role of a business, any business, is to make money.
    Successful companies typically accomplish that by producing products that consumers want. In addition, they must continuously find ways to reduce costs to better meet the bottom line.
    Not by, suggest you are the one to lead us out of the “darkness” with comparisons. Do some work today, before you get get demoted, this isn’t a popularity contest anymore. It’s not the place people want to come to to see the hardship of minors.

11. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

@Artaxerses
    You are conveniently missing the point. It is not about Nationality, it is about principle. Tennyson Joseph writes from a clear political bias as does several other writers in the Nation newspaper. That is undisputable.
    I made the comparison with St. Lucia to show that as a former SLP political candidate, he (Tennyson Joseph) refuses to in any way criticize the Kenny Anthony Government ,even though the unions and others in St. Lucia are crying out daily.
    He usually writes on some Caricom issues but refuses to touch the government of St. Lucia in the same way he refuses to criticize Mottley or deal with the serious charges implied by Arthur;s resignation speech.

Quite Frankly sir, it shows that Tennyson Joseph is about partisan politics and not principle. He should declare his hand instead of throwing big rocks while seated in his air conditioned glass house on the Hill.

12. @Funny Politics
    So the rumour is no longer as Mottley has determined that Agard will too unwell to continue when ever the next elections are called.
    +++++++++
    Wrong again! The good Dentist (some symmetry here Dentist adjusting the bite) is indeed unwell she has Miabola: Prognosis? Long term survival as an MP is iffy at best and at worst there is always the option of extracting more wisdom teeth or filling cavities ( and there are many cavities to fill as Bajans love their sweets). Owen was about to be forcefully infected so he jumped ship, the only antidote is to swear undying fealty to the Queen or suck up so much that your toadiness or lackyism is never in doubt.

I suspect one or two more MPs will come down with Miabola but they may be secretly taking the vaccine, Kerri how is the law practice?

13. Life Changer + | August 14, 2014 at 7:51 AM |
    “Your limited experience in life, shows how far from the captioned matter.”

It amazes me that you come to this blog, relishing in criticizing otherโ€™s contributors, calling them narcissist or accusing them of being out of their depth and describing posts as โ€œlemon in milkโ€. You display grandiosity by exaggerating achievements, while at the same time having a preoccupation of exhibiting arrogant and conceited behaviour. Criticism injures your fragile self-esteem, causing you to engage in devaluing the critic to give yourself a false sense of superiority. Hence, your attacks on me.
    Individuals like you have a tremendous need to control situations, and because of hidden agendas, you do not discuss the matter presented for dialog. This trait is further reflected by you introducing irrelevant information to a specific blog because you want to appear as being more intelligent than others. People like you refer to the internet for information, copy and paste, and present it to the blog as your own. This is to fulfill your need for admiration. This prognosis, which is indicative of you, justifies my conclusion that you are suffering from narcissism, which is a psychological disorder associated with grandiosity and a need for admiration.

Let me give the BU household two examples of how this individual has exhibited the traits as outlined above:

(1) โ€œLife Changer + | August 13, 2014 at 12:52 PM |: @ Plantation Deeds. Just a little insight into the rules of law.โ€: In response to Plantation Deeds, you submitted a post which began with: โ€œThe IMF encourages member countries to improve accountability by enhancing transparency in the disclosure of documents, in line with its Transparency Policy.โ€
    If the BU household were to go to http://www.imf.org/external/np/exr/facts/pdf/gov.pdf, they will observe that you have copied and pasted excerpts from the IMF Fact Sheet. You quoted from their document, in verbatim, without even synopsizing it in your own words., just to โ€œexhibitโ€ yourself perceived intellectualism.

(2) I now refer to your contribution, re: โ€œLife Changer + | August 13, 2014 at 4:20 PM | @ Dr David & side kick GORGIE PORGIE. As a few of us are realising this is getting out of your depthโ€, which you began with:
    โ€œDemocracy tames the militancy of religious fervor as part of the Enlightenment tradition and on a more practical basis through a necessary tolerance for compromise (necessary to avoid what Europe experienced through long periods of religiously inspired strife).โ€
    If BU contributors were to go to http://www.pfaw.org/media-center/publications/12-rules-mixing-religion, they will observe the article: โ€œ12 Rules for Mixing religion and Politicsโ€, and will identify yet another example of your โ€œcopy and pasteโ€.

These are examples of written work or ideas of others that you have copied [and pasted], thereby claiming their work your own. Additionally, this also indicates to me that you do not have the tertiary level education you brag about, because if you did, you would have applied the rules to using other peopleโ€™s work. You would have prefaced the contributions with any acknowledgement that the work is not yours, or you would have quoted the source of your information.

In the real world [and not your world of grandiosity], this act is known as PLAGIARISM, and is deemed a DISHONEST ACT.

Based on the evidence, BU can now realise that it is not โ€œDavid & side-kick Georgie Porgieโ€ who are out of their depth, it is you. Your puerile attempt to pejoratively critique my contributions does not negate this fact, and I will continue to highlight your fraud each time you post a contribution.

So, Life Changer +, by all accounts, you are a just a condescending, sanctimonious, narcissistic FRAUD parading on BU as an intellectual.

14. With Walcott having spent 2 hours in a meeting this morning with Mottley, we can now also confirm ( by Walcott) that Walcott has been given access and permission to press on to be named as the new candidate to replace Maria Agard when ever the next election is called, this was confirmed by Santia Bradshaw later this afternoon.
    So the rumour is no longer as Mottley has determined that Agard will too unwell to continue when ever the next elections are called.

15. @ Artexe
    More shite. And you don’t.
    Oh Artexe the original-The Jesus story is hardly original, much of it copied from other, earlier myths. Hercules had a prophesied birth, a divine father and mortal mother, and at the end of his life uttered the words, “It is finished” before ascending to Olympus. Osiris was born of a virgin, was hailed as king, rose from the grave and went to heaven. The early Romans had the pagan god Attis, born December 25th, crucified and rising again on a Sunday 200 years before the story of Christ. Dionysus, the Greek god and son of Zeus, was also born December 25th of a virgin mother, healed the sick, turned water to wine and was resurrected from death to save mankind. Itโ€™s also interesting to note at the December 25th Christmas holiday is actually based on the week-long Babylonian festival of Saturnalia (the festival of Saturn, the sun god, a pagan celebration).

16. Life Changer + | August 14, 2014 at 7:51 AM

โ€œSuccessful companies typically accomplish that by producing products that consumers want. In addition, they must continuously find ways to reduce costs to better meet the bottom line.โ€

You are such a fraudโ€ฆ yet another of your โ€œcopy and pasteโ€ to try to impress BU that you are intelligent.

If BU were to go to “www.onlinemba.com/blog/…government-should-not-run-like-a-business/”, you will see that he has quoted, in verbatim, an article from โ€œMinute MBAโ€, entitled โ€œ3 Reasons Why Government Shouldnโ€™t Be Run Like a Businessโ€.
    The top of the website has the following caption: โ€œMinute MBA is your opportunity to learn about the key concepts youโ€™ll be tackling while pursuing your online MBA degree by exploring the ABCs of business.โ€

Yet again BU will identify that this joker has used the ideas of another person and presented it to BU as though he was the original author.

However, itโ€™s his nature, he has to take control of the blog by presenting information that is irrelevant to the discussion, so as to make himself appear as being intelligent. Itโ€™s a psychological problem, so I understand.

Though you, or anyone else for that matter, may be critical of or disagree with my contributions, I can attest that they are my thoughts and not copied and pasted, and I always quote the source of my information.

I know that these revelations will obviously bruise his fragile self-esteem, and I will expect the reprisals will be harshโ€ฆโ€ฆ so what? This is expected from one who suffers from Narcissistic Personality Disorder (NPD).

17. Life Changer +, don’t care what you post to justify what you are doing, you are still a FRAUD.

Leave me alone, and try to concentrate your efforts in contributing on the topic on hand for discussion.

I’m finished with you….. you are a dishonest person.

18. @@ Artexe
    Perhaps we shoul meet.
    Ask you pal Dr David for my email, the go to LinkedIn you might meet a true Bajan myth.

19. @Artaxerxes
    Mottleyโ€™s responses to Arthurโ€™s actions, so far, have not been filled with hostility
    ++++++++++
    Having vanquished her opponent for the โ€œmythicalโ€ soul of the Party, it is dishonourable to rub salt in the wound by dancing a jig on his grave.

20. Life Changer + | August 14, 2014 at 7:51 AM

โ€œThe early Romans had the pagan god Attis, born December 25th, crucified and rising again on a Sunday 200 years before the story of Christ. Dionysus, the Greek god and son of Zeus, was also born December 25th of a virgin mother, healed the sick, turned water to wine and was resurrected from death to save mankind.โ€

Check the website: “www.thethinkingatheist.com/page/bible-contradictions”, and you will see the above is quoted, in verbatim, from an article posted on โ€œThe Thinking Atheistโ€.

21. http://therealnews.com/t2/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=31&Itemid=74&jumival=12192

Capitalism as both a political and more fundamentally as an economic system, has hit the fan. It ain’t wukking, and can’t be made to wuk!

22. @ Artexe.
    The man the myth,
    Can’t find me…
    No, well you will have to lock up meta blogger. Small Island ( third world ) with “witch doctor ” mentatity.
    I’m not asking for help paying my wages, I’ve earned mine. So has my Family, as “slaves” yes that’s right. Mr name. Is Ward….

23. “i challlenge u to name one DLP supporter that have retracted what they have said about OSA prior to his resignation”
    AC

24. @ Artexe the Bold.
    With a new toy.
    My one of my sons sent me a job offer to forward to you after making a further report about what’s going on with his sisters land.
    https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=5&ved=0CBoQjBAwBA&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.imf.org%2Fexternal%2Fnp%2Fadm%2Frec%2Fjob%2Fra.htm&ei=lMfsU5n-PKffsASmwoKYDA&usg=AFQjCNFrcG9IbuVPIjj5iODMN1QAUG3Vwg&sig2=1PX2UAdJ45bJrOcpR_EAgw
    You will have to produce something for him if you qualify….
    By the way I’ll tell you when you’ve had enough…
    Land theives like you are going to get exposed shortly. Then you will have to work for a living hopefully after a stretch in Dods.

25. Not so balance ..i did put forward an argument for a bipartainship approach….not one of the same..however most note worthy was OSA response to such an approach in the media..stating his politics of bipartianship was over.

26. @ Artaxerxes | August 14, 2014 at 8:56 AM |

Stop engaging that troll and it will go away. Nothing will hurt a person more than when he is ignored! Diss the man/woman.

27. Look we here on BU wasting time on this topic (not that I would not like it to go away, truth be told) when there is real suffering in the land.

David Ellis like to ask callers………….where is this widespread suffering that you are talking about? Well he got a first hand take of that suffering today. Three women called the programme, one lady’s plight brought tears to my eyes. She even said she has thought about suicide…that was heart wrenching. As usual, the dlp continue to lie to the people…playing them for fools as the lady said.

How could the five and ten man go on DLPTV and said that money to pay the severance was ready and then when the workers called the financial controller could say that no money has been made available. Damn Liars!

I hope all of these people remember their suffering when ever the fumble is forced to call elections!

28. @Prodigal Son

A sad reality is that the poor and vulnerable will always be with us.

29. @NationBLP

You condemn and label the Nation’s columnists as biased and for balance recommend an article by Guyson Mayers in the Advocate? Guyson Mayers is a card carrying member of the DLP evidenced by his past interest in running on the party’s ticket, chairmanship of the RDC and Police Commission and receipt of legal briefs (all of which he has lost) from this administration.
    You sir or madam are a hypocrite!

30. @ David
    Problems in the camp. I never favored any political party. Being a conservative or a liberal, a Republican or a Democrat, these are just labels that people use to categorize each other so that they can quickly decide whether or not they want to listen to what they have to say. Politicians are not interested in empathizing with each other. They simply try to do as little as possible in the way of serving the public while building their reputation among their peers, amassing power and wealth that is unimaginable to the common Barbadian citizen that they supposedly represent.

31. speaking of guyson mayers,,,,,,,actually i look forward to reading his sunday columns,,,,,,and an occasional read on Jeff cumberbatch…,,, in the nation……maybe on sunday i scan the editorial,,,,,,,and check wickham out ,,,just because,,,,,,,,,in barbados today,,, i am scratching my head ….noo,, noop,,,,,,

32. High all you lving people in Barbados.
    However mean your life is, meet it and live it: do not shun it and call it hard names. Cultivate poverty like a garden herb, like sage. Do not trouble yourself much to get new things, whether clothes or friends. Things do not change, we change. Sell your clothes and keep your thoughts. ~Henry David Thoreau

33. Hi David
    The picture of Mia Mottley above, the red around her lips….is that the evidence from one of her biting expeditions?

34. “David, how do you think it would feel to any person having run as a candidate of a political party and your supposedly leader were to announce your illness and that you will be pulled down and disposed of like a dirty rag?”

BLP, the best person to ask would be Mr David Estwick, he was the victim of that slimy political experience but he never ran from the battle. Perhaps he took to heart the words of Mr Erskine Sandiford that politics is no Sunday school.

35. What secret is Minister Lowe holding for the Prime Minister. He should have been fired over the unfair retrenchment of some NCC employees, now we are hearing that the Sanitation Service Authority, from a fleet of 50 something vehicles is now down to 12, one for each parish and one for Bridgetown. An availability of 24%.

36. OMG David
    If youโ€™re daily blogging and have fewer than 100 regular readers, and 20 or so of them are your friends (stupidblognames) and “family.”And letโ€™s face it; your mother and your pals are going to like everything you do, no matter how bad it is. “Thanks David great blog ” Thatโ€™s there daily job. The “Boys club is handicapped” Go take a copywriting course that will provide you the intensive training youโ€™ll need to enjoy lucrative attention.

37. @Anonymous

We all know who you are, life is always about change.

38. @ David
    With all the redundancies at the BTA is Peter Gilkes still a consultant?

39. @enuff

He is the ”Sailing Consultant”.

40. “now we are hearing that the Sanitation Service Authority, from a fleet of 50 something vehicles is now down to 12, one for each parish and one for Bridgetown. An availability of 24%.”
    That has been an endemic problem which has been festering long before Mr Lowe had responsibility for Sanitation. There is sufficient reliable information on record which suggests that -‘the half a loaf bread is better than none at all’- approach to the long standing problem only adds to the woes of maintaining an adequate fleet of vehicles to efficiently and effectively collect garbage. Unless, the authorities are prepared to bite the bullet and purchase all at once a full fleet of vehicles with the best of the existing vehicles maintained for back-up purposes thereby allowing the required and necessary maintenance checks to be performed on the new vehicles ; then the inherent garbage collection problems as a result of inadequate fleet which continually surface at a point in time over the years will remain the same.

41. David the Editorial in BarbadosToday is another “copy”of a topic discussed on BU

42. Anonnymos | August 15, 2014 at 8:35 AM |
    OMG David
    If youโ€™re daily blogging and have fewer than 100 regular readers, and 20 or so of them are your friends (stupidblognames) and โ€œfamily.โ€And letโ€™s face it; your mother and your pals are going to like everything you do, no matter how bad it is. โ€œThanks David great blog โ€ Thatโ€™s there daily job. The โ€œBoys club is handicappedโ€ Go take a copywriting course that will provide you the intensive training youโ€™ll need to enjoy lucrative attention.

David | August 15, 2014 at 10:48 AM |
    @Anonymous
    We all know who you are, life is always about change.

Thanks David, great reply!………. Lol

BU knows that โ€œAnonnymosโ€ and โ€œLife Changer +โ€ are both the same clown. So, I will ask him to read the below reply, consider his ways and attempt {which may be a Herculean task for him} to become wise.

Life changer + | August 12, 2014 at 4:19 PM |
    โ€œIf you were clever, you wouldnโ€™t use the same IP address. To explain, every computor leaves a traceable print. So when people need to trace people they can. Now go along and argue amongst โ€œyourselves.โ€……..โ€

This guy is a real nut case.

43. ื™ึทืขึฒืงึนื‘ ื ืงืžื” ื”ื™ื ืฉืœ
    Are you confusing cause and effect? I think a better question would be why poor places tend to be more religious. The answer becomes obvious.
    “Sticks and stones..”

44. @ Artexe

By the way, took you long enuf to respond.

“Sticks and Stones” is an English language children’s rhyme. It persuades the child victim of name-calling to ignore the taunt, to refrain from physical retaliation, and to remain calm and good-natured.
    “For the crowd”
    Here is one from a political parody. They are trying to recall the Governor there. The page is trying to get to show that aโ€ฆ err well, if you use the reader you can see for yourself.

45. @ Artax
    Masterful job……
    You the boss…. ๐Ÿ™‚

46. @ Hebal Drink aka Bush Tea.

Thanks Buddy, that’s worth a like.

47. Please note:

The Annual Conference of the Democratic Labour Party 2014.

The highlight of the Annual Conference of the Democratic Labour Party will be the address by our President and Prime Minister The Right Honourable Freundel Stuart MP QC the address can be viewed online.

The Prime Minister’s address will be streamed live tomorrow Sunday at 11.00 am via the party’s website – http://WWW.DLPBARBADOS.ORG

48. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

The Nation BLP newspaper has a front page headline “Done With Owen” in which they canvass the BLP stronghold of Black Bess to get voter reaction.
    Of course Sunday Sun editor and Mottley buddy Carol Martindale will have that headline on the front page.

The same constituents who voted for Owen overwhelmingly just a few months ago suddenly could be saying that he should have left every sense. Really?
    Black Bess votes party. If the BLP ran Winston Hall in St. Peter, Black Bess would vote for him. However,they are still many in St. Peter who support Owen Arthur. Maybe the Nation BLP newspaper should cover that aspect.

I look forward to a nation editor or columnist who has the balls to critically analyse the leadership of Ms. Mottley and admit whether she has been more focused on political stunts to promote herself as opposed to serious policy discussion and specific credible alternatives.

49. this was the first thought that came to my mind after reading the article,,,,,,THE DIRTY RAG HAS NO SOUL……