Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley (l) Owen Arthur MP (r)
Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley (r) Owen Arthur M.P (l)

BU has been advised the reason former Prime Minister Owen Arthur resigned from the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) is because the executive was about to expel him from the party. Before the matter could be heard he quit. To be frank if this is true, and BU is doublechecking, Arthur took the right decision. The embarrassment of a former prime minister of fourteen years standing effectively being fired from the party would have been a big blow to the party for a man who has represented himself as a ‘red’ for forty years. It is unfathomable Mia Mottley had any influence in the politics of removing Arthur, if she had, some may describe it as bold politics, others incredibly stupid.

What does the future holds?

The Arthur faction is still embedded in the BLP parliamentary group, Symmonds, Payne, Marshall and there is Mascoll on the inside. This may be the first of other resignation to follow. The possibilities are endless what may result from the dysfunctional politics being played out in Barbados in both political parties. The next hurdle for Mia Mottley will be how the legal matter between two MPs on her side plays out. What the implosion of the BLP spells is that it gives wriggle room for the Stuart led government to meander on their merry way seemingly unaware of how to resolve the mounting challenges facing the country.

206 responses to “Was the BLP About to Expel Former PM Arthur?”

1. @David
    Your last sentence made an omission. It left the impression that the BLP or anybody else has any answers to what is happening in Barbados. In truth, nobody does. We are still studying the wider ramification of OSA actions and are, for the moment, unconvinced that it has any benefits whatsoever for the BLP.

2. But David. We said we wanted a National Unity Government a Government of National Salvation. Maybe somewhere between Arthur’s ‘Politics of Inclusion’, being on the front bench of the DLP as an ‘independent’ and possibly the defected of 4 or 5 more we already have the makings of a bi-partisan government. This is how we meant when we were the first to call for this after the last election but it matter not what colour the cat is, once it catches mice.

3. not

4. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

Pachamama | August 12, 2014 at 6:33 AM |

Your last sentence made an omission. It left the impression that the BLP or anybody else has any answers to what is happening in Barbados. In truth, nobody does.@

Speak for your self , We know at PLANTATION DEEDS what going on and how to fix,
    No one cares about this long term and time crook Owen .
    Better for you to leave that dog with MIA , Bitches and crooks end up on the same hump.

Close your ears to what is truth , for truth is the only thing that will save Barbados , So now they may look for a 4th Party to move on with their plan,

Audit, Admit or go to JAIL, that is where crooks liars and scumbags belong,

1. balance | August 12, 2014 at 5:21 AM |
      “Please confirm the reason Owen quit the BLP was because the executive allowed a motion to be brought to expel him from the party. Arthur in his judgment before it could be heard he quit”

On the surface the action might seem bad and out of place but do not let us be side-tracked by Mr. Arthur’s hollow moaning and groaning because that was the excuse he was looking for anyhow and an opposition clearly devoid of thought played into his machinations giving him the excuse he wanted I suspect much to his delight. Analytically speaking, the volatile situation in the BLP created by Mr. Arthur’s frequent criticisms of MS Mottley in the press and his maverick type approach purportedly on behalf of his constituents to the municipal solid waste/environmental levy tax had to be brought to a head at some point in time if the party seeking to capture the confidence of the 20% floating vote was to move forward as an organization. Mr. Arthur has made his move and he should not be shedding crocodile tears now. Mr. Estwick did not resign from the DLP when certain elements in his party sought to remove him from his constituency seat. It is publicly known that had not the cat been let out of the bag by Ms Kaymar Jordan, eleven members of Mr. Stuart’s party had plans in place to seek his removal. Mr. Stuart did not allow it to fracture the party. Mr. Arthur has made his decision for good or ill and he should not now be seeking support for his action by shedding crocodile tears. Only time will tell if history will absolve him.

5. @Pacha

You are aware of the shortcomings of the Westminster system we try to practice. It is all about adversarial politics. Arthur leading a disgruntled group is not the answer either.

6. @balance | August 12, 2014 at 7:07 AM | Mr. Estwick is not Barbados’ longest-serving prime minister, Mr. Arthur is. In my view, Mr. Arthur (for whom I hold no brief at all) did the right thing. Indeed, the only thing he could do. Whether he hoped he would be put in that position or not, or whether he engineered it, is completely irrelevant – he should never have been given the excuse or put in that position. That it happened demonstrates clearly and unambiguously that MAM has no control over her party. After all, how could anyone in their right mind expect to seek the expulsion from the party of its longest-serving PM and that he would simply surrender and allow it to happen? As for Mr. Arthur’s critique of the BLP and its leadership, we are a democracy…. it is his right. The solution for the BLP and its leadership would have been simply to put in place transparent and unassailable policies that would serve Barbados and its people. Instead, they have created what amounts to a political vacuum, whereby, as David says, with the opposition in complete and total disarray the Government can now continue with its process of non-action and allow the country to slip further and further down the drain. The idea proposed by David that Arthur is the first of many MPs who may choose to desert the BLP, cannot be considered at all unreasonable. I can see no flaw in David’s reasoning, based on his information.

To my friend the Mighty Miller I have to say that my confidence in MAM as a PM is shattered. For, if she cannot control her own party and deal with dissent within it, from whatever source, then she doesn’t stand a hope in hell of running the country. And if she was complicit in a move to expel Mr. Arthur, then her judgement is very questionable.

However, I write on the assumption (unproven) that David’s information is accurate, as, absent his confirmation of the information from credible sources, must we all. But there had to be something to provide the trigger for Arthur’s departure. If this is not it (and this would certainly explain it fully) then I, for one, am most interested to know what it was. David’s “rumour”, if true, certainly ticks all the boxes.

7. As we have said on here and else there are many human and cosmological change driven forces that are continuing to help destroy these intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt and discredited factions many local people refer to as the DLP and BLP.

Ultimately, in the not too distant future, they MUST be driven by the broad masses and middle classes from the parliament of this country.

8. @ David
    Why are you invested in the maintenance of the Westminster system? You are always one of the people calling for change but when it starts to appear you recoil. The typical Bajan mindset. Sometimes ‘change’ is not pretty or predictable. History is full with all sorts of changes, whose origins, development and end were largely unknown. We are still wedded to the idea that had Stuart offered Arthur a chance for a bi-partisan government, just after the last election, he would have taken it. Well, history may have well proven us right.

9. @ Amused
    Why should MAM or any other individual have ‘control’ of a political party?

10. Why are people like Amused and David trying to restore order out of chaos? Chaos is good. From it we have a chance to make a better country, world.

11. @ David
    Don’t you get a sense that this thing about adversarial politics is getting a tad worn? China has no adversarial politics. The USA has no real adversarial politics, it is no less a one-party state than China. Britain has a coalition government. What is this quaint idea about which you speak?

12. Whatever the reasons..it is obvious OSA felt “enough was enough”…however one cannot disregard the role in which OSA played in earlier times in causing division within his party.. starting with the overturn of MIA leadership…in all respect…the turning point could have been more his own undoing than others.when one looks back at his pivotal role and disrespectful mouthings toward MIA

13. @ David.
    Lets look at the “ignorence is bliss”
    term for Bajan’s.
    A person who is not very smart or capable who doesn’t realize his limitations might feel better about himself than if he knew that he was falling short of his peers.
    An actor or an author who decides to steer clear of all reviews in order to avoid potentially seeing bad ones is an example of someone who believes that ignorance is bliss.
    A person who doesn’t watch the news and is not aware of a dangerous robbery that went on right next door to his house might feel happier not knowing that he was so close to becoming a crime victim.
    It must be frustrating to say, “now you know what ya going to do?”….
    Just another day at de rum shop…

14. @David
    Where there is smoke there is fire, the threat was out there for all to hear, a sitting MP no less brought it up on the political platform and the silence from the LOP and the Executive was deafening. They didn’t censure the member or indicate that Prescod et al were entitled to their own opinion.

@Balance
    This is a BLP issue, let the DLP deal with their own divisions, all indications are that Arthur jumped before he was pushed no wonder he spoke of humiliation, trust you to try to spray perfume on dog shit.
    Is there any wonder that Arthur refused to sit on the same side as some of these people? He barely avoided an “Et tu (insert name) scenario.

15. @Sargeant. “……….trust you to try to spray perfume on dog shit.” You must be reading my mind.

16. To the person behind the pseudonym – Pachamama,

In your 7.51 am, August 12, 2014 comment, under this thread, you are so absolutely right in your assessment there of this person called David.

Imagine an essentially politically conservative like him having started this essentially progressive blog continuing to pander to so many BU comments which suggest tinkering with or applying superficial cosmetic remedies to so many deep rooted incorrigible disorders malfunctions in many of our social political material and financial systems, when it is clear that serious proper fundamental and root and branch systemic change is needed and necessary in so many aspects of the affairs of this country?

But what do you expect from a person who is a journalist and substantially bereft of a fundamental social studies/analytic background training?

17. @ PDC
    David need not answer a “spin doctor”
    He actually produces something.

If your suggesting that some of the bloggers on this site should show their credentials for commenting like Bachelor’s Degree required withg previous agency and/or hospitality experience.
    Hands-on experience with industry standard SEM optimization and management tools: Google AdWords, Microsoft AdCenter, any of the major ad servers (DoubleClick, Atlas, Mediaplex, etc.): Google certification a big plus.
    Relevant digital media experience, or working for Google for 15 years like I have may help provide the way to your enlightenment. You do very little.

18. To the person going by the pseudonym – Pachamama,

Anytime this person called David can refer to Barbados as a democracy; can blog that there are only two parties in this country; can blog that the PDC’s leader is a Rastafarian, in spite of the evidence to the contrary, we in the PDC and many others must know what kettle of fish we are dealing with here.

19. @Pacha

You seek to debate a different issue.

Trying to expell Arthur would explain George Griffith’s statement on Sunday that all will ne revealed in the fullness of time.

20. @David
    We would not be too bothered by the political talk of gadflies like GG. Bajans know OSA well and based on this we are in a good position to think in certain ways about the politics.

21. BLP / Be Left Party Avatar
    BLP / Be Left Party

David were you to sit and chat with Mr Arthur you would hear the pain in his voice when he describes Mottley and her pack of Goons, and that both she and the Goons have tried to discredit him at every step along the way and when an idiot like Prescod whom he said lived off of remittances from Perez and Gaddafi that someone as insignifcant as Prescod could seek his removal from the party with the blessing of Mottley it was time for him to exit the party.

Mind you unknown to many it is not the Symmonds and Payne and Marshall type that will exit the party first, you will be surprised to learn that most likely the first to walk will be a female of the party, as from her recent writings on her Facebook page where she described Mottley as being in a hurry and trying to cause disunity and unrest in civil society, and this is not the way forward, that her words were not overlooked, and she has been the focus of Mottley’s attention ( and no not in that beat up and bite way ) but she has been put in a very difficult position as a sitting member of the BLP, the seat is to be given up by Agard under Mottley’s gusie that Agard is unwell and unfit to continue as the representative and the seat made vacant for Jerome Walcott to slide in a safe seat as a thank you for his most recent show of support to Mottley over Arthur, so with all the infighting going on within the BLP, Mottley in her wisdom has begun yet another battle with someone who had no reason to go to war, now Ms Agard has every reason to take on Mottley, as Toppin, Payne, Marshall, Symmonds and Clarke also have reason to shed themselves of Mottley and her Goons as described by Mr Arthur in his every utterance on the subject of Mottley and the leadship of what was ojce described as a great party now in disrepute and turmoil and confusion .

22. Sarge And Amused, you both have your views which i respect but i am entitled to mine as well. I am on record as saying that the country owes Mr Arthur a debt of gratitude for his management of the economy of14 years which brought the country out of the economic morass inflicted upon it by the DLP. so i do not have any problems with Mr Arthur since i have never met him personally; no one can deny the fact that it was Mr Arthur’s inability to accept a lesser role in his party’s affairs that led to the present situation arising out of his frequent criticisms of Ms Mottley and her actions in public.Mr Arthur stated the war not Ms Mottley. At what point did the party lose its soul?

23. PDC

So what if the PDC’s leader is a rastafarian? Are you or David suggesting that there is something troubling about being a rastafarian? I think that it is time we as Barbadians and especially those on the island, move beyond this narrow- minded way of think. It is difficult to be inclusive, when one has been enveloped in a culture which have had little or no growth in terms of it intellectual development. Listen! It is only when one has discarded his or her cultural values, that he or she is able to stand back and examine which a strict scutiny, the values, principles and convictions, which have given rise to his or her tribalistic way of thinking. It is a denial of the mental and intellectual freedom, when one dislike an individual because he or she favor a rastafarian worldview. And let’s assume for one moment that leader of the PDC is a rastafarian, what has that to do with his or her to ability to separate his religious convictions from his or her political affairs.

24. @ BLP / Be Left Party | August 12, 2014 at 10:56 AM |

I do not think that all you have written on Maria Agard is quite true. Maria’s problem is not of Mia’s making, her problem is that she is not getting on with her executive. It may be worth your while to check your facts. Do not try to tarnish Mia in your quest to join the others to destroy her.

I would like to ask if OSA as leader would have tolerated any of the behaviour he exhibited when he was leader.

Dont answer me, I am so sick of all of this.

25. @David
    There is an implicit acceptance in the question that the BLP is a group to belong to or the DLP for that matter. Is this really so?

26. @BLP
    What you said about Maria Agard is correct

27. BLP / Be Left Party | August 12, 2014 at 10:56 AM |
    “and when an idiot like Prescod whom he said lived off of remittances from Perez and Gaddafi that someone as insignifcant as Prescod could seek his removal from the party with the blessing of Mottley it was time for him to exit the party.”

Wait, is this the same “idiot” and “insignificant” Prescod( formerly of DLP and NDP) that Arthur brought into the BLP with his “politics of inclusion” and appointed as Minister of Social Transformation….lol…

28. @Pacha

In the prevailing system yes.

29. War in the east,
    War in the west,
    War up north,
    War down south
    War – war
    Rumours of war.
    And until that day,
    The Bajan island continent
    Will not know peace,
    We politicians will fight – we find it necessary
    And we know we shall win
    As we are confident
    In the victory

30. I understand that Michael Lashley was the centre of attention yesterday as the PAC and its chairman, Mia Mottley when on a rampage against his actions when he was Minister of Housing.

31. I see the usual blp foot soldiers avoiding this thread like the bubonic plague..what,s up wid that…one thing for certain things gonna get ugly…unfortunately fuh mia ..it is too late in the game for she to recover..hint..hint..more bombshells heading in her ..direction. The avalanche of blame is going be worst than that which sank the titaniv

32. I see the usual blp foot soldiers avoiding this thread like the bubonic plague..what,s up wid that…one thing for certain things gonna get ugly…unfortunately fuh mia ..it is too late in the game for she to recover..hint..hint..more bombshells heading in her. ..direction. The iceberg blame is going be worst than that which sank the titanic

33. @David

More 50% disagree

34. ac
    Just like the bombshells that destroyed the DLP during 1994-2007.

35. BLP / Be Left Party | August 12, 2014 at 10:56 AM |

“David were you to sit and chat with Mr Arthur you would hear the pain in his voice when he describes Mottley and her pack of Goons, and that both she and the Goons have tried to discredit him at every step along the way….”

If we were to analyse this entire situation, we must be fair to Mia Mottley. Whatever one may perceive or not about her actions towards Arthur, she has never once made them public and has chosen to remain resolute in her responses.

Let us be honest in our assessment of Owen Arthur. This man is a political strategist and is versed in “political warfare”. People like him dwell on sympathy and being seen as “the victim”, their modus operandi is one that sees them undermining others, and yet accuses those persons of disrespecting them.
    I remember in the 1990s, he pulled sympathy trick # 1: he said that he could not make a living as a politician and wanted to resign from the BLP; however, he was reenergized when Henry Forde left the party.

What happened after the 2008 elections and defeat # 1? Arthur decided to step down as leader of the BLP and handed the reins of leadership over to Mottley. Many of us seem to have forgotten that Arthur hardly attended parliament for two years, only ensuring his visit was long enough to be “marked present” in the attendance book. A door opened for him…… David Thompson became ill and his death was imminent. This gave Arthur the assumption a general election was pending. So he and HIS GOONS, capitalized on the situation by BRINGING a no confidence motion against Mottley, so he could become Opposition Leader, thereby positioning himself to become PM again. Unfortunately, Thompson died and Arthur led the BLP to defeat #2 at the polls [despite it was a by-election].

A similar situation played out after the 2013 general elections… this was defeat # 3 for Arthur, and once again he stepped down as leader and Mottley was voted as the Opposition Leader. The DLP has become more unpopular in Barbados, even among their supporters; and especially when the downgrades, broken promises, increase in taxation, retrenched workers, arrogance of ministers, failed economic policies and the DLP’s seemingly being unable to manage the country, are some of the variables taken into consideration. Obviously, Arthur senses a victory in sight for the BLP………. but not with him as leader.
    So what does he do? He continues to attack Mottley’s leadership style, expresses his loss of confidence in her and declares, in innuendo, that she is unfit for leadership. After all, people will believe Arthur because they will assume he has an intimate knowledge of her politics. However, he has informed all and sundry that this is his final term, so he must be strategically trying to place someone of his choice as the BLP leader [perhaps the man he once identified as his “co-leader”?].
    The march curtailed his strategy, since he never anticipated the other GOONS would express consolidarity (agreement among individuals usually intolerant of each another) with Mottley. Hence, he resigns from the party to see himself as being the victim in this scenario, despite the fact he has been the aggressor from the beginning.

36. It is clear that national politics and the internal BLP dynamics have moved beyond OSA, he is all but completely irrelevant now. It is hard to see how OSA returns to be a dominant force in Barbadian politics, its virtually impossible. The most he can hope for now is to play the role of spoiler, someone outside the tent pissing in on the BLP and more specifically Mia Mottley..

37. When it comes to OSA and MAM, one wonders who has what on whom. The viciousness of OSA against MAM seems to suggest that MAM holds the upper hand.

38. Now AC, don’t get ahead of yourself, because this infighting is not unique to the BLP.

Recall after the 2003 general elections, the DLP was able to gain 7 additional seats, which reflected 45% of the vote. When the vote came up for opposition leader, two long standing parliamentarians did not vote for Clyde Mascoll, but chose to vote for themselves instead.

We are also aware that the former leader was an infrequent participant, in attendance or contribution, of the DLP parliamentary group meetings, while Kellman blamed to distance of the venue’s location as a contributing factor for his non-attendance.

However, when Mascoll tendered his resignation for the first time in July 2005, Kellman arrived at the same venue approximately 2 hours before the meeting was schedule to commence.

39. It’s clear to see how far people can get away from the captioned matter. All the he said she said. “In politics, transparency is used as a means of holding public officials accountable and fighting corruption. When a government’s meetings are open to the press and the public, its budgets may be reviewed by anyone, and its laws and decisions are open to discussion, it is seen as transparent, and there is less opportunity for the authorities to abuse the system for their own interests.”
    My explanation as a way to show you that I understand what it really means.
    **It means that a politician needs to be more open and honest. Make private documents and information public, releasing budgets, private meetings, etc. to the public. A politician must not keep things secretive. That way the public can get a clear understanding of who a politician is and if they see that they are legit, that are capable of doing their jobs. Making sure they are real. An open government ASAP. Vote that in first. No one in politics is accountable, and why. They get paid to “spin” the bullshit all day everyday.

40. @ Artaxerxes
    This is the easiest method of all in a downward spiral toward undermining yourself. This is a trap–by phrasing things nicely, you might think it’s enough. However, in reality, it’s about how you make other people feel. In 10 years, nobody will remember what you said day to day, but rather the overall impression you’ve left on someone.
    Try stating what you would do if you qualified to help run the county… Leader.

41. Life changer + | August 12, 2014 at 2:29 PM |

I have refrained myself from being rude to you. However, just like you, I have a right to my opinion, even if you agree with it or not. I respect your views, and likewise you should respect mine.

I know that people like you feel superior in environments like these, especially when you assume the other contributors’ intellects are way below yours. It inflates your ego that you can hide under the cloak of anonymity to make pejorative comments about others, while trying to impress us about your intellectual prowess and the fact you worked at Microsoft for 15 years, all of which are unimportant in settings like this.

Please bear in mind that the facilitators of this blog have provided a forum for individuals to “voice” their opinions. Contributors are more inclined to read each other’s views, and bring facts to substantiate if they agree or disagree…. yet they continue to remain respectful to each other.
    Perhaps in the real world, this is something difficult for you to do, since those you confront are aware of your abilities and react accordingly.

Sir, it would serve you and the blog better, if you try to concentrate more on contributing on the issue BU presents for discussion, rather than trying to be subtly critical of me.

This blog is not about me.

42. Should have read: “I have restrained myself from being rude to you. However, just like you, I have a right to my opinion, even if you agree with it or not. I respect your views, and likewise you should respect mine.”

43. @ Artexe
    As I stated, your blogs are like lemon in milk, as when we added only one drop of milk into milk then complete milk will become curd, same as politicians consider some matter related to transparency than their complete work will waste. We should understand that Barbados is a secular country where we find religion and is also a democratic country. Politicians are the person who represent our country in the world and lead our country in all fields, so that person should be secular, intelligent, kind so that he can understand the situation without consideing religion race or position. You should also change our mind set first and first consider your self as Man not as
    arrogant underling getting $500.000 a year and not interested in transparency, so we all could see what you are supposed to be doing.

44. Perhaps Mr Artther is a Libertarian?

Let’s start with Webster’s definition not your interpretation.
    A person who upholds the principles of individual liberty especially of thought and action.
    Libertarian: a member of a political party advocating libertarian principles.

Libertarians believe in, and pursue, personal freedom while maintaining personal responsibility. The Libertarian Party itself serves a much larger pro-liberty community with the specific mission of electing Libertarians to public office.

“Libertarians strongly oppose any government interfering in their personal, family and business decisions. Essentially, we believe all Bajans should be free to live their lives and pursue their interests as they see fit as long as they do no harm to another.

In a nutshell, they are advocates for a smaller government, lower taxes and more freedom you must know a few surely.

45. @David
    It is unfathomable Mia Mottley had any influence in the politics of removing Arthur,
    That my dear David is the untold story that will unfold. That while Mia Mottley was appearing publicly not to attack Arthur, she was working through her surrogates to undermine Arthur and perceived Arthur loyalists for some time now.
    The strategy also included publicly giving Arthur loyalists positions while the real Mottley crew called the shots. That is why the “Leader of Opposition Business” in the House Of Assembly had to go on national media and imply that “Mottley does not listen”. Kerrie just had a title for strategic reasons like Jerome in the Senate.
    The fact is God help this country if that Mottley crew ever gets political power in Barbados.
    The BLP supporters should be thankful that Owen Arthur chose to step away from the BLP infighting and the attempts by the Mottley loyalists to throw him out of the party after he won 3 resounding election victories for them. Arthur could have aired all of Mottley’s nasty linen in public. Instead he tried to get as far away from her as he can.
    Arthur had nearly 20 years to observe how Mottley would operate if she was given power and his judgement is that it would not be in the country’s best interest.

46. @ Artaxerxes | August 12, 2014 at 1:46 PM |

Excellent assessment, Arta.

The DLP has hardly done anything right for the past six years and by all accounts, they should long have been a thing of the past. Every time it would seem that things would be settling down and the BLP would get the upper hand, OSA would throw another tantrum disrupting the party unity.

I am at a loss. If anyone would have told me that OSA would try to destroy the BLP who made him, I would say never. But what can you say……..

47. @Bajanfuhlife

Yet Arthur promoted her?

Is it because he needed her to win?

What.

48. @ Prodigal & Artexe
    I “Never”argue with stupid people. They will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.”

49. @ Bajanfuhlife
    Will MIA seek to replace Maria Agard with Jerome in Christ Church West? Is Jerome now a MIA surrogate or still a OSA loyalist? Apply your theory to these questions