Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley (l) Owen Arthur MP (r)
Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley (r) Owen Arthur M.P (l)

BU has been advised the reason former Prime Minister Owen Arthur resigned from the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) is because the executive was about to expel him from the party. Before the matter could be heard he quit. To be frank if this is true, and BU is doublechecking, Arthur took the right decision. The embarrassment of a former prime minister of fourteen years standing effectively being fired from the party would have been a big blow to the party for a man who has represented himself as a โ€˜redโ€™ for forty years. It is unfathomable Mia Mottley had any influence in the politics of removing Arthur, if she had, some may describe it as bold politics, others incredibly stupid.

What does the future holds?

The Arthur faction is still embedded in the BLP parliamentary group, Symmonds, Payne, Marshall and there is Mascoll on the inside. This may be the first of other resignation to follow. The possibilities are endless what may result from the dysfunctional politics being played out in Barbados in both political parties. The next hurdle for Mia Mottley will be how the legal matter between two MPs on her side plays out. What the implosion of the BLP spells is that it gives wriggle room for the Stuart led government to meander on their merry way seemingly unaware of how to resolve the mounting challenges facing the country.

206 responses to “Was the BLP About to Expel Former PM Arthur?”

1. “Arthur had nearly 20 years to observe how Mottley would operate if she was given power and his judgement is that it would not be in the countryโ€™s best interest”.

And…………….??? Why if you dems claimed to have so much info on OSA during the last election to let go……………..you dont think that Mia had 20 years to do the same?

How soon you dems forget the blood letting and open warfare in the dlp under Sandi and then the dead king.

2. Life changer + | August 12, 2014 at 3:10 PM |

” As I stated, your blogs are like lemon in milk,”

Thanks for the critique.
    I have conceded…….. once again you have proven I’m no match for your superior intellect. Can you teach me how I can make my contributions as intellectually stimulating and be pure milk like yours?

3. Life Changer +++ Avatar
    Life Changer +++

Life changer + | August 12, 2014 at 3:23 PM |

Perhaps Mr Artther is a Libertarian?

Letโ€™s start with Websterโ€™s definition not your interpretation.
    A person who upholds the principles of individual liberty especially of thought and action.
    Libertarian: a member of a political party advocating libertarian principles.

Libertarians believe in, and pursue, personal freedom while maintaining personal responsibility. The Libertarian Party itself serves a much larger pro-liberty community with the specific mission of electing Libertarians to public office.

โ€œLibertarians strongly oppose any government interfering in their personal, family and business decisions. Essentially, we believe all Bajans should be free to live their lives and pursue their interests as they see fit as long as they do no harm to another.

In a nutshell, they are advocates for a smaller government, lower taxes and more freedom you must know a few surely.

Are you Carson C. Cadogan? because all your blogs are always “off topic”. Y
    Wuh dis got to do wid Was the BLP about to expel former PM Arthur? A whole heap a shit. You like u is one a dem people who does like to hear yuhself talk. You never post anything we can understand relating to the topic.

4. @ Artexe, the leader.
    The best way I could answer your blog for the way you add “spin” to the site is;
    Right wing is about accepting how history, diversity and individual freedom has shaped the nation. Limited government regulation and control, and allowing individual effort to plan the nation. Government control is tolerated on the condition that it does not unjustly interfere with the individuals right to self-fulfillment. Extreme right wing groups support nationalism and tend to be suspicious of immigration. You would also be considered right wing if you believe the individual is ultimately responsible for themselves and the government does not owe anyone anything (like health care and social security). Under a right wing political system, the government does not own or control anything that private enterprise is capable of running. Smaller government and fewer taxes.

Left wing is about using academic knowlege to control government with the intention of shaping society for the needs of the majority. Extreme left wing could be considered communism, where no individual owns anything and the government controls and distibutes money and assets to everyone equally. Individuality may be tolerated to the extent that it doesn’t harm this plan. Extreme left wing political ideology is based on the premise that no one person should be entitled to any more than another, things like social policy and government control of assets ensures this remains the case. Today, left wing policies tend to favour globalisation and compassion for immigrants and refugees. Which can’t be you.

Most of your blogs have a politcal policy close to centre – neither left or right so please stop the spin.

5. Artexe. Do some work….

6. Life Changer +++ Avatar
    Life Changer +++

Life changer + | August 12, 2014 at 4:00 PM |

Artexe. Do some workโ€ฆ.

Thanks… I yield…… yet why are you using valuable blog space to write more shite? You are a jackass who has too much on his hands. I leave you with this:

Go placidly amid the noise and haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence.
    As far as possible without surrender be on good terms with all persons.
    Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and ignorant; they too have their story.
    Avoid loud and aggressive persons, they are vexations to the spirit.
    If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain and bitter;
    for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.

7. Life Changer +++ | August 12, 2014 at 4:06 PM |

I don’t help with this person, but thanks anyhow.

8. @ Artexe
    If you were clever, you wouldn’t use the same IP address.
    To explain, every computor leaves a traceable print.
    So when people need to trace people they can. Now go along and argue amongst “yourselves.”

9. Arterexes …are u calling OSA a “Fraud extradoinaire.”?

10. ac | August 12, 2014 at 4:21 PM |

“Arterexes โ€ฆare u calling OSA a โ€œFraud extradoinaire.โ€?”

Hahahaha, AC…… I have to agree with you on this one…lol

Life Changer +
    @ Artexe
    “If you were clever, you wouldnโ€™t use the same IP address.”

Even if it was me, it would be impossible for you to determine my IP address, unless you are the facilitator of this blog.

But what is your fascination with me that I am constantly the focus of your contributions? I don’t think this it is healthy.

11. @ Artexe.
    Try Google. Ask a search engine.
    My answer to you, If we told you, then we couldn’t catch all the criminals that use the internet for their past crimes, or present one’s could we?
    So if the international law needed proof of criminal activity say coming from someone’s house or work, any where in the world they CAN have all the evidence on a silver platter so to speak.
    Now please go along.

12. If we were to check some of the facts, Owen Arthur has a history of undermining Mia Mottley, especially when it seems as though her popularity is soaring. We must also be reminded of Arthur identifying Clyde Mascoll as his co-leader at the time she was deputy prime minister.
    Remember in 2010, a Wickham poll suggested that Miaโ€™s popularity had increased over that of Arthur, and he immediately called a press conference at UWI to assassinate character so as to make her look unsuitable for leadership.

I also recall during a DLP campaign meeting in February 2013 held in Orange Hill, St. James, Stuart revealed to the audience that Arthur gave him a note suggesting he [Stuart] should take Mottley off his [Arthur’s] hand.

In a 6 paged letter dated December 30, 2013, Arthur outlined the reasons why he refused to attend a special meeting of the BLP parliamentary group. He went on to indicate that he no longer had faith or confidence in her and was not subjecting himself to her leadership. Arthur was particularly annoyed by the fact Mottley went against his wishe and identified him as a nominee in her proposed โ€œeminent persons groupโ€ [which he termed a gimmick] to deal with the Barbadosโ€™ economic crisis. Arthur was also noticeably absent during Miaโ€™s Rubbing Shoulders and Peopleโ€™s Forum initiatives she used to get feedback on issues affecting Barbadians.

In response to his resigning from the BLP, Mia stated โ€œOwen Arthur served the Barbados Labour Party and Barbados at a critical time before the end of the last century. He helped to lay the foundation for the Barbados that is and the Barbados that we are struggling to preserve,โ€
    โ€œAs Mr. Arthur rallies to the end of this parliamentary term and thereafter, we hope that he will continue to make himself available in the service of this country. Even though he will no longer be sitting as a member of this party, we hope that in the spirit of national cooperation he will work with us on issues as he will with others, just as we will work with any member of the Barbadian society towards the restoration of hope.โ€

Mottleyโ€™s responses to Arthurโ€™s actions, so far, have not been filled with hostility.

13. Life Changer

The kind of socialist ideology, where the wealth is distributed equally amongst the citizenry seems to be a great idea, as long as government, the main ower of the material resources; isn’t viewed with some measure of displeasure by the citizenry.

14. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Artaxerxes;
    Ignore Life Changer + . He is a troll.
    He is similar to Dompey and might even be Dompey.
    He is right about IP addresses though.

Congrats on some excellent posts re. the Owen Arthur matter. I suspect that your analysis of his reactions that always followed when Mia came with some new initiative seems to be spot on target. Following from that analysis the last straw was when he realized that his “team” was on to him when they all walked with Mia.

15. @ac | August 12, 2014 at 4:21 PM |

Arterexes โ€ฆare u calling OSA a โ€œFraud extradoinaire.โ€? ……………..

No, he is calling you, the dead king, Fumble, Stinkliar and the rest of you dems…………frauds extraordinaire!

16. Funny to listen to Minister Donville hardening the rhetoric directed at Arthur. What a difference a week makes.

17. AC……you really did deserve that verbal slap upside your empty head….lol

18. @ Artaxerxes | August 12, 2014 at 4:58 PM |

If we were to check some of the facts, Owen Arthur has a history of undermining Mia Mottley, especially when it seems as though her popularity is soaring…………………………

Another good post.

This man is such a disappointment to me. He is behaving just like David Thompson and his goons like Stinkliar, Donville, Michael Lashley and the rest of the pack treated Clyde Mascoll.

Why is that that OSA feels that only him can be a leader? When he was leader did he tolerate any dissent in the BLP? Just asking!

19. ac | August 12, 2014 at 4:21 PM |
    Arterexes โ€ฆare u calling OSA a โ€œFraud extradoinaire.โ€?
    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; Artaxerxes | August 12, 2014 at 4:32 PM |

Hahahaha, ACโ€ฆโ€ฆ I have to agree with you on this oneโ€ฆlol
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Prodigal Son | August 12, 2014 at 5:32 PM |

No, he is calling you, the dead king, Fumble, Stinkliar and the rest of you demsโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆfrauds extraordinaire!

sorry prodigal but arterexes,,,,,, answered the question in the affirmative,,,,,,,,,and for fourteen long years too.

20. Well Well | August 12, 2014 at 5:37 PM |

ACโ€ฆโ€ฆyou really did deserve that verbal slap upside your empty headโ€ฆ.lol

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    not paying you nuh mind ding bat

21. are-we-there-yet | August 12, 2014 at 5:17 PM |

โ€œIgnore Life Changer + . He is a troll. He is similar to Dompey and might even be Dompey. He is right about IP addresses though.โ€

Thanks….. I try to logical and analytical in my contributions.

I know about IP addresses, this is not anything new. These are the first things you learn in any basic information technology course. You also learn about IP addresses and other things like that in the level 1 UWI course, โ€œCOMP 1000 Introduction to Computersโ€ as well.
    However, common sense would tell me that the facilitator of this blog, especially because of the nature of the some discussions that takes place on BU, would take all precautions to offer as much protection as he possibly could to contributors.
    These people use โ€œGoogleโ€ and other search engines to access information and present it to make themselves appear as being intelligent. The first thing you are taught at university is not to rely on the validity of information displayed on regular internet site. There are sites that are authenticated specifically for academic research purposes.

22. Prodigal Son | August 12, 2014 at 5:42 PM |

Thanks Prodigal

I agree with you, I see no difference between the Arthur/Mottley and Mascoll/Thompson situations

23. neva …neva thought i would be reading these kind of comments by the BLP supporters ,,,about the cunning and despicable wrong doings of OSA,,,,, so far not one of his loyal supporters have step up to the plate to defend him,,, man this is going to a bloody war of words unlike any,,,,

24. Did you defend Clyde Mascoll when your dead king tried to destroy him in his quest to take back over the DLP?

25. We are here wasting time debating OSA and the poor NCC workers whom this wicked government sent home have not had their matter heard yet, despite the assurance from the lazy do for nothing Fumble that the matter would be dealt with expeditiously.

In the mean time, these poor people suffer while the DLP wild boys get fatter and fatter! You think these displaced workers care about OSA not getting his way to become leader of the BLP again?

26. Who cares if he jumped or was pushed. The fact is he is gone and the bees can rebuild. Of more concern is the state of out economy and surviving the worst government ever to befall our fair land

27. David,

What did Donville say on the 5.30 news? I tuned in late and they were on to the St Joseph stabbing incident. Grateful for an update!

28. @ life Changer.
    Google applies query expansion to the submitted search query, transforming it into the query that will actually be used to retrieve results. As with page ranking, the exact details of the algorithm Google uses are deliberately obscure, but certainly the following transformations are among those that occur. Besides the main search-engine feature of searching for text, Google Search has more than 22 “special features” (activated by entering any of dozens of trigger words) when searching.Searches made by search engines, including Google, leave traces. This raises concerns about privacy. In principle, if details of a user’s searches are found, those with access to the informationโ€”principally state agencies responsible for law enforcement and similar mattersโ€”can make deductions about the user’s activities. This has been used for the detection and prosecution of lawbreakers; for example a murderer was found and convicted after searching for terms such as “tips with killing with a baseball bat” or even enter bank accounts.

29. Foundation School producing braniacs.

“Officials there said yesterday that having examined the results for the upper sixth students who took Unit 2 and comparing them to the performance in Unit 1, Cheryse Greenidge had met the requirements for a Barbados Scholarship.”

30. prodigal what yu guys don.t seem to understand is the gravity and magnitude of OSA a former PM and leader of his party ,,, resignation from his Party and becoming an independent this kind of political drama is unprecedented,,,,,this would be written in history books,,,u keep talking about a Mascolll..wuh mascoll decision cannot carry the same implications and ripple effects as OSA decision ..a decision which can impact not only his party but his life as well…as a part of his legacy,,,,,mascoll drama only going resurface when shit like this happens,,,the need to bring up mascoll debacle is a( stage) red herring meant to keep DLP supporters at bay,,,,not going to work,,,,,,

31. two good examples from cerca 1960 were DR BOBBY THOMAS WHO WAS A BARBADOS SCHOLAR AND DR VICTOR SAMUEL EVELYN–ONE OF THE BEST! ALSO A GOOD ATHLETE AND PIANIST

32. @Life Chganger aka Google +

Do you think us for JAs? Please stick to one moniker.

@Artax

You are correct, BU is a hosted blog and the IPs are located on WordPress platform accessible by BU admins only.

33. GP…..Dr. Evelyn is still doing well and playing the piano, brilliant internist.

34. Hants

There is only one brainiac I know of in the Caribbean and he was the late great Sir Arthur Lewis. Question: what has any of the other academics you speak so highly of, done to revolutionized the world of academia?

35. Hants

Having a PHD does not make one a brianiac. Show me their ground breaking research which it designed to transform as well as uplift the human condition.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artaxerxes | August 12, 2014 at 4:58 PM |

A very well presented analysis of the Arthur vendetta.
    It’s thoroughly based on facts with a sound conclusion.
    It’s good to see the BU intelligentsia (the likes of Prodigal Son and A-W-T-Y) have your back on this clearly successful essay in revealing the facts and not dwelling on emotionally charged political diatribe as is the wont of the likes of ac and Sargeant.

If Arthur has solid reasons to wage a war against Mia ever becoming leader of the BLP (LOTO) or P M why the heck doesnโ€™t he present convincing evidence to support his actions? Why did he walk away (again) in February 2013 from the leadership of the parliamentary group? If he has objections on โ€˜moralโ€™ grounds to Mia becoming P M because of some concerns about her alleged private lifestyle then he has not only to look into an old rum glass for reflection but also to extend his moral concerns to include the present incumbent.
    As a man who likes to be close to the โ€˜spiritsโ€™ he should ask himself what moral justification does he have to judge another while singing his favorite hymn โ€œGreat Is Thy Faithfulnessโ€. Those who are without sin cast the first stone, OSA.

By his mere actions over the last 2 weeks he has successfully squandered any scintilla of an opportunity of ever becoming PM again; not to save the Bajan economy from further collapse but with the sole โ€˜selfishโ€™ intent of exercising a reign of vindictiveness, political tribalism and downright demagoguery while gorging on a gluttonous diet of broken egotism.

Let the people decide on Mia. Your God moves in a mysterious ways and February 2013 was one of those โ€˜prayed-forโ€™ outcomes.
    You have failed politically in your demolition job on Mia.
    Let her go from your lost soul and you might just be set free psychologically!

37. In response to a question of a poll of 2007/8 conducted by cadres as to which candidate is most preferred for leading this country,51% said Owen Arthur, 29% said David Thompson,9% said Mai Mottley and 7% said Freundel Stuart.
    Mia is now at the hellum, the rudder brek way and the inchcape rock dead
    ahead.

38. @Hants
    Foundation School producing braniacs
    ++++++++++
    It has always produced โ€œbrainiacsโ€ some late developing who excel in their fields mostly overseas but others went on to HC which claimed the glory.

39. So if the rumblings about Dr. Agard are true does that mean as they say in the NCAA basketball world that she is one and done?

So if they seek to replace her with Dr. JW does that mean the constituency will vote for any BLP candidate as long as they have the title โ€œDr.โ€ in front of their names as in Dr. Duguid; Dr. Agard and hopefully Dr. Walcott? Mia better get Dr. Mascoll on the phone since he can be touted as Owenโ€™s replacement as far as Economic โ€œknow howโ€ goes and he can save Barbados while the other Doctor may save the occasional life.

Owenโ€™s replacement? On second thoughts Mia tell him you dialled the wrong number.

40. miller wuh happen to those good ole days when OSA ruled,,,,,,,,now i can;t belive my ears,,,,,,,,,,,gotta go i really gonna need to buy some cotton swaps, and to think this is only the beginning………..plax plax,,,,,OSA getting a beat down,,,,,Plax plax,,,,,

41. BLP / Be Left Party Avatar
    BLP / Be Left Party

Now BS sorry I meant PS, I need to correct your intentional action to take Mottley away from the firing line in this latest error in making good solid political decisions to keep the BLP together, her first major error is to lock horns with Arthur she is light years away from him in this political world, what he has forgotten about political maneuvers she has not yet learnt.
    It is made worse by her latest act of political ignorance by trying to gain favour with Walcott over Arthur for her to sell out Maria Agard to the fancy of Walcott and then walk around telling people that Walcott is to replace Agard because Agard is sick is nothing less that disgusting on the part of Mottley it is as low a thing any leader could do or even think to do.
    So BS sorry PS your statement that Agard was at war with her Executive and not Mottley is grossly misleading as the truth is that Agard is not at war with her executive but solely and has been confirmed she is at WAR with Mottley and her corrupt and vile ways.

42. ac,
    Your posts are the lowest of the low! You add nothing to the debates only dlp political drivel.

Had BU been in existence during the David Thompson era, it would have been interesting to have seen your opinions………
    ……. when he and Kellman were fighting each other
    ……. when the dlp yardfowls booed Brandford Taitt out out George Street, ……..when Thompson and Fumble went after each other to become President again as he began his quest to take back up his throne
    …….when the dlp elders called Clyde Mascoll and told him to step down
    …….when the elders told Clyde Mascoll that he did not have the pedigree to lead the DLP (and they have the gall to talk about classism in the BLP)
    ……..when Thompson fought Clyde Mascoll to become leader of the Opposition
    …….when Michael Lashley, Richard Sealy and the other traitors went to the GG to tell him they no longer supported Clyde Mascoll. (Their constant nagging of the gentleman forced him to get out of the rat race)
    ………when there was a mass exodus of people from the DLP

If only!!!

43. BLP / Be Left Party Avatar
    BLP / Be Left Party

The issue is not really with Agard at all the issue is much more serious than that it revolves around a lack of mature, sensible, level headed and rational Leadership which is very much lacking as this case has exposed, the damage done to Agard’s confidence in this leader has to be destroyed and shattered no longer can she trust Mottley and even worse is that she cannot feel comfortable near Mottley in or out of politics, when Mottley is capable of tossing aside one of your own who is the person holding that seat with lies that the lady is sick and needs to be replaced is Mottley at her sickest and her worse, maybe she is trying to firm up her GAY and LESBIAN agenda to promote more Lesbianism and Gays in Barbadian society may be to have a known Buller in her fold helps her cause, as I understand that Mottley is no longer living the single life as she has acquired a live in wife and Holder was a wife of a man and not a woman up to the recent death of her real real husband.

44. w uh any DEM PM……………as in your case,,,,,,A former PM and the leader ..a leader which was hand picked by OSA fighting and u want to compare the two instances as the same,,,,,,,,uh know what ac contribute enough to make yuh shit yuh pants,,,every thing arterexes writing ac have said multiple times to be cussed at and spit at ,,but now i get the last laugh again and enjoying every belly full of it,,,

45. @ BLP / Be Left Party | August 12, 2014 at 10:43 PM |

You can be as disrespectful as you wish.

I am very close to a member of the executive… so there you have it. Why would Dr Walcott want to go to the West when he can easily win in the south. The dems will not have the stash of money they had in 2013 to give away to the wild boys in Carters Gap again.

It is in your interest to blame Mia for everything, go right ahead. If this helps to make OSA the victim, be my guest.

OSA is history now, deal with that and let the party move forward….that is if you care anything about the BLP or only about yourself and OSA. Why do you OSA supporters believe that only OSA can be leader of the BLP?

There were leaders before him and there will be long, long after him. Why cannot OSA ride off into the sunset with his dignity and his head help high? No one disputes his intellect and his ability…….that has never been in doubt but why is OSA subjecting himself to this level of behaviour after all that he has achieved?

I am not against OSA, his actions have pained me as a supporter!

46. millertheanunnaki | August 12, 2014 at 9:31 PM |

On Sunday November 14, 2010 during the BLPโ€™s 72nd annual conference held at Deighton Griffith School, Arthur thanked Mottley for the service she had rendered to the party and said he thought โ€œthe world of herโ€. He is reported as saying there was no place in the BLP for the forces of destruction. There was no place in the BLP for the forces of destruction.
    โ€œWe must also commit ourselves to conduct our affairs in an orderly and disciplined manner, and one which lifts up and burnishes rather than tears down the image of the party,โ€ he said. [Surely Arthurโ€™s recent actions fall far from these words].
    He also said members had to remember that only disciplined institutions could and would be depended on to lead mature and sophisticated societies, especially during times of turmoil. Arthur stressed that there was no place for โ€œinstitutional indisciplineโ€ in the BLP. He took exception to recent internal disquiet being aired in the media. [Arthur was accompanied by the press when he submitted his resignation].

The intrigue of this situation unfolded even more during a BLP political meeting held in March 2012 at Haggatt Hall, St. Michael, where Arthur publically declared his confidence in Mia, by informing the audience he was giving her the responsibility of replying to the 2012-2013 estimates on behalf of the BLP [she replied on Monday, 12 march 2012].

Based on some of this evidence we must ask ourselves this question: Why is it when Owen Arthur leads the BLP he has confidence in Mia Mottley, but when he is not at the helm he comes over as being a disgruntled person?

47. @Artaxerxes

The Gang of 5 affair makes your argument dated. It is obvious by subsequent events Arthur was showering platitudes on Mia.

48. BLP / Be Left Party Avatar
    BLP / Be Left Party

PS this is no longer anything to do with Arthur vs Mottley this is all about the treatment of a lady of the BLP an elected official that quick and just easy so Mottley is prepared to jettison for another LADY Walcott.

49. This spat with Dr. Agard does it explain why she sits on the Opposition backbench?

50. David
    We see you are doing some house cleaning, like Nicodemus.