228 responses to “Prime Minister Freundel Stuart’s Vision for Agriculture”

1. @Vincent

There you go.

2. David…..Thanks…..will see how this compares with the one I contributed to in 2000…..must find these time lines.

3. […] David Filed under: Barbados News Tagged: Agriculture, Barbados Agriculture, Fruendel Stuart …read […]

4. Yup….Good history….good projection…..roughly the same,as far as training is concerned we were going to use 4-H and Brucevale…..will await timelines for implementation….presume that will be be heard shortly from the minister.

5. St George's Dragon Avatar

Sorry to be pessimistic but why should this be any different from normal – lots of work in consultation and preparing a plan – then little or no implementation?

6. St.G D….totally agree with you,but innocent until proven guilty….the beauty of plans for the Min. of Ag. is that their is nothing new and all the consultancy plans going back 50 years for most of the same ideas(they forgot about making the Scotland District the bread basket of Bim) are lying in some room at Graeme Hall….so very little to do as we await implementation timeline and the start.

7. The Prime Minister is Minister of Defense and Security and therefore have it in his hands to put the Defense Force on Agricultural Crop security at Night around Barbados. No soldiers are being retrenched and we are not fighting any wars. What is so hard to understand about farmers losing cows, sheep and crops every night and soldiers sleeping in a barrack. This may also help the police with the bandits who move around back roads when they carry out robberies. Praedial larceny is the biggest deterrent for farmers producing more food Mr. Prime Minister. You said it in your speech, but like it is a plan to do something when this was going on too long.

8. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

PM is a Crook, liar and Scumbag, No matter what he say he will always be a vote buying low life,, He maybe your PM , He will never be Mine , He was AG that Crook Violet Beckles and did the same as PM,
    He is the same Nasty man no matter his words , 23.8 acres of land,
    Free from Dukes Plantation, They must have got it free to start.with?? like others and this maybe a kick back ,
    In any case We at PLANTATION DEEDS TRUST nothing COW AND SIR HAM., PM and AG says
    DUKES 1913 181 ACRES
    DUKES 1920 181 ACRES ROSE OWNER
    DUKES LISTED 1924 268 ACRES ROSE OWNER
    1947 ACRES NOT LISTED , HAYNES OWNER
    DUKES 2014 TO GIVE 23.8 ACRES OF ? .EDGEHILLS OF OWNER?
    More games by your PM , buying time , to much talk , get to work crook.
    VERY SHORT HISTORY FOR THIS PLANTATION . 1630 TO 2014 THIS IS ALL THEY HAVE?

9. @Vincent

The PM like you stated has hit all the right points in his speech but it is all about execution and to date we have done done a good job.

10. I agree the 4-H is what is needed to get the farming sector working and stop these thefts
    H=hawkeyed
    H-handcuff
    H- harm
    H- hang

11. Excerpts from the PM’s address.

“……….Dr. Chelston W. D. Brathwaite former Director General of the Inter American Institute for Agricultural Sciences (IICA), who, as Chairman of the National Agricultural Commission, carried out extensive research on the future of agriculture. Then with the assistance of IICA, his team put together a detailed document containing essential information for a White Paper on Agriculture.”

“…….the document was presented to the Cabinet in November last year, as a Draft National
    Agricultural Policy paper entitled: “A Vision for the Future of Agriculture in Barbados”.

PM says the white paper was presented to Cabinet November 2014. This is April and nearly 5 months later. When is the public going to see this document? 1 year later, 2 , 3, 5? Will we ever see it or will the Minister and PM continue to refer to it in speeches and the public never get sight of it? Is it a secret classified document? Is it a coincidence that both the PM’s address a “AGRICULTURE: A VISION FOR THE FUTURE “ and Dr. Brathwaite’s white paper “A Vision for the Future of Agriculture in Barbados”, are similarly titled?

12. Clay pots and terra cotta Soldiers Avatar
    Clay pots and terra cotta Soldiers

I guess all them white sugar farmers and Sagicor must be none too happy that the PM throw his full support behind Estwick and the Sugar Cane Industry, including the new multi-purpose factory at Andrews complete with co-generation.

13. Why should govt and taxpayers foot the security bill for farmers..it is the farmers business and they should explore all any every avenue for the private electronic monotoring of their business. What if other business should ask a similar request..the govt hand is to impose stiffer penalities including jail time.another suggestions would be for govt to issue permits to these farmers for electronic fencing on their permises.a sure and proven way to deter and keep these thieves out permanetly

est for a level playing field..the govt roistop
    pass laws wit

14. @acj,

Farmers would be willing to pay all security cost if they could make enough profit to pay for these costs.

15. @Hants

Agriculture is subsidized all over the world where sucessful. As usual ac will try to simplify the isssue. Out of curiosity, how does the opposition regard agriculture? we really making mocksport.

16. David I just read PM Stuart’s speech in its entirety.

The good thing about it is a stated plan.

However, it should be noted that back in the 70s there was the BMC which provided a market for vegetable and fruit farmers.

There was a “cooperative” for Chicken farmers that allowed them to buy feed on credit and pay for it when the broilers were slaughtered.

There were several “missions” where people from overseas came to Barbados to assist farmers with methods and technologies.

I will not bore you with details but Barbados has had all the “tools” to create a food secure country except the strong leadership required to implement the plans our brainiacs produce.

17. @Hants

We slipped in the Arthur years when we shifted to building out a service economy. And we know Mascoll does not see the economics in pushing agriculture.

18. David just a little cut and paste from the Globe & Mail,

“Government support totalled $6.9-billion in 2011.

The main beneficiaries of government support are Canadian dairy, poultry and egg producers, who set their own prices and are protected from most foreign competition by prohibitively high tariffs

19. David the only reason we are having this discussion is because there is a major forex problem looming and lines of credit will dry up.

Bajans will not respect Agriculture unless the supermarket shelves are bare.

20. @Hants

Sadly you are correct a catastrophiic event will have to take place to change behaviour.

21. Simplyfying .it is not as what others are suggesting for govt to freely give twenty hours security.the farmers need to form an independant association to address these issues . Also with some aid of limited govt funding p

t

22. @Notradamus

You are correct, it is all part of a culture of secrecy as far government business is concerned. Make the analysis done by Dr. Brathwaite public. Good to hear these matters are being discussed on the talk show today.

23. No post Independence Govt in Barbados has been interested in Agriculture from the Prime Minister down the line – the no cane blade speech, the call for workers to stop working by 11 am are all prime examples of this.
    A lot of talk no meaningful action – what is the sense of earning all the millions in ForEX thru Tourism and then having to use it to pay for the food to feed them. Until we return with proper support for Agriculture we will continue to spin top in mud.

24. Simplyfying .it is not as easy as what others are suggesting for govt to freely give twenty hours security.the farmers need to form an independant association to address these issues . Also with some aid of limited govt funding which would primerally target problematic areas.the concerns
    are real

t

25. Tudor wrote “what is the sense of earning all the millions in ForEX thru Tourism and then having to use it to pay for the food to feed them.”

Absolutely brilliant.

26. @Tudor

What is missing from your input is not recognizinv this is the approved model, i.e. we generate forex to pay for consumption.

27. We see in the Nation useless-paper that somebody is calling for a halt of imports. This is impossible for it would require a re-negotiation WTO rules etc. Rules which are the treaty obligations of Barbados. Where were these people when this most modern colonialism was being set up. Maybe they were deluded by the false notion that is was really about ‘free trade’. For neither trade nor markets are or were ever free!

28. @Pacha

While the Latin Americans were marching we in the Caribbean believed it would be business as usual.

29. Simplyfying .it is not as easy as what others are suggesting for govt to freely give twenty hours security.the farmers need to form an independant association or if they already have one to address these issues . Also with some aid of limited govt funding which would primerally target problematic areas.the concerns
    are real and govt is living off a shoe string budget asking govt for twenty four hours security is unreasonable

t

30. Let’s hope the local aquaculture promoters get into gear and start providing the local market with tilapia and shrimp sooner rather than later. Have you noticed how much of the tilapia and shrimp in our local grocery stores appear to come from China and/or Vietnam? Well see this;

Bloomberg: Asian Seafood Raised on Pig Feces Approved for U.S. Consumers

At Chen Qiang’s tilapia farm in Yangjiang city in China’s Guangdong province, which borders Hong Kong, Chen feeds fish partly with feces from hundreds of pigs and geese. That practice is dangerous for American consumers, says Michael Doyle, director of the University of Georgia’s Center for Food Safety.

“The manure the Chinese use to feed fish is frequently contaminated with microbes like salmonella,” says Doyle, who has studied foodborne diseases in China.

On a sweltering, overcast day in August, the smell of excrement is overpowering. After seeing dead fish on the surface, Chen, 45, wades barefoot into his murky pond to open a pipe that adds fresh water from a nearby canal. Exporters buy his fish to sell to U.S. companies.

Yang Shuiquan, chairman of a government-sponsored tilapia aquaculture association in Lianjiang, 200 kilometers from Yangjiang, says he discourages using feces as food because it contaminates water and makes fish more susceptible to diseases. He says a growing number of Guangdong farmers adopt that practice anyway because of fierce competition.

“Many farmers have switched to feces and have stopped using commercial feed,” he says.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2012-10-11/asian-seafood-raised-on-pig-feces-approved-for-u-s-consumers.html

31. Green Monkey……that would have to be FDA approving that stuff, that is why the Caribbean governments including Barbados should not be allowing certain medicines, vaccines, foodstuff etc to be consumed by their people without thorough research.

32. Pacha, many developed countries thumb their noses at WTO treaty obligations when it suits them. They know that if a case is taken to the WTO, they have at least 5 years to carry on doing what they are doing. In the Caribbean we sit back and let the others walk all over us. Look at what the US Virgin Islands are doing to rum with their massive subsidy of the Deageo distillery in St Croix. We (other Caribbean rum-producing countries) should have been at the WTO two years ago, but it wasn’t deemed important enough. Then there was Trinidad in the mid-eighties closing-off all competing Caricom products from their market. We just sat back and let it happen, and many local companies went out of business. Now we have the LDC’s supporting multi-national breweries with tariffs when they should have graduated from LDC status 20 years ago. We are useless, absolutely useless at protecting our own. On the contrary, we seem to encourage exactly the opposite.

33. @ Peltdownman
    “….We are useless, absolutely useless at protecting our own. On the contrary, we seem to encourage exactly the opposite”
    ++++++++++
    Another brilliant definition of the Bajan brass bowl…..thanks Pelt….

34. According to the MoA the government is looking at increasing the fine for crop theft from $500 to 5,000. BU’s suggestion is for the government to hold a town hall meeting to get buyin.

35. Fines don`t work only enforcement.

36. In fairness to the MoA he is quoted increasing fines is one of many suggestions with Cabinet:

Thu, April 17, 2014 – 12:10 AM

CABINET is in possession of suggestions made by the Ministry of Agriculture to combat the troubling issue of crop theft.

Among the suggestions is an increase in fines from $500 to $5 000 and up, in addition to one year in prison.

This was revealed yesterday by Minister of Agriculture Dr David Estwick when he addressed the Barbados Agricultural Society seminar on Agriculture: A Vision For the Future at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre.

He told participants, who included farmers and officials from various agriculture organisations, that the ministry had developed a praedial larceny committee as a result of its desire to establish food zones across Barbados beginning with St George.
    Please read the full story in today’s WEEKEND NATION, or in the eNATION edition.

37. David you notice all of a sudden “Agriculture and Food Security” is a priority in Barbados.

BU bloggers including my( BLP antagonist Millertheanuki ) has been saying this for a long time.

This sudden interest and action (Food zone in St George ) tells me that forex is dwindling and action is being taken in response to potential crisis.

I hope they will make St.Phillip a “Food Zone” too.

38. This brings back memories of the early 90’s,when everybody was involved in backyard farming with the outgoing and incoming govts. promising to have learnt a lesson and that self sufficiency in food was a must……40,000 acres would be kept under agriculture,praedial larceny would be a thing of the past,the youth would be exposed to agriculture at an early age in schools and communities,agro-processing would be pursued,niche markets would be identified,and on and on and on the lotta long talk and promisses.

……and you are saying David?

39. Barbados Museum & Historical Society’s photo.
    3 hrs

The Barbados Museum & Historical Society invites you to the first panel in the 2014 Lecture Series “Big Grain Rice and beyond: Feeding Barbados Yesterday and Today” on Tuesday April 22nd 2014 at 7.00 pm at Queen’s Park Steel Shed.

The panel which will be feature Mr. Edward Cumberbatch, Mr. Trevor Rudder and Mr. Peter Webster and will be moderated by Prof. Sean Carrington and is entitled “The Scotland District: An Under-Exploited Bread Basket?”.

40. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

David | April 17, 2014 at 10:24 AM |

Sadly you are correct a catastrophiic event will have to take place to change behaviour.@

WE AGREE AND THAT IS WHERE WE ARE NOW, JUST AWAITING IMPACT

41. Yes, Vincent, I feel yaa brother…. bring back the donkey cart days. When I used to circumambulated the streets of Bridgetown with my ten toes firmly planted on the hot pavement.

42. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart’s Vision for Agriculture@ The Crook PM needs an eye doctor , He cant see she-it.
    He saw nothing as AG, He see nothing as PM , But he did see fraud in VOTING , The New AG Brathwaithe was to go to the crook COP Dottin to find out about some house being built in TnT and Barbados at the same time by someone her does not like ,,, Where did this Person get 1.5 Million to build 2 houses at the same time he said.
    Crook for Life and to the Bone.

We, I ,maybe the only ones that can call the PM a crook and have Proof, and that will speak it,
    He Crook from I, us , We, Bajan’s ,Nation of People.Law and Laws.
    When you vote for crooks , enjoy the pain , Maybe next time , you all will know better , You have less than 4 years to learn and not forget,

43. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Agriculture is not a collar and tie; suit case in hand job. Its not a skin bleached by air conditioning and fancy covering of dynamic looking roofs in offices, for which we place the prestige. Its a field we feel that is low key, low intelligence output and a reminiscent of slavery’s past. Its not big money or easy money. The inputs into Agriculture does not derive the outputs certain people expect to get when collusions are done in secret to derive in secret the Ka-ching ring of the deal. A back burner approach is better suited to the cultures, both Agri and Aqua. Their neglect over the years is synonymous with misplaced priorities of respective political parties in the power chairs. So its funny now that the stone that the builder rejected and continues to reject is now looking like the chief corner stone that holds the keys to economic stability in a futile attempt to reduce imports. A plan for Agriculture, now rolled out in the 21st Century years later when other countries saw the great importance of Agriculture as a foundation to their economies growth and independent needs, is now taking its place amongst the list of importance by the policy makers. Bare Shite!!!. It is bare shite, when billions of dollars are spent in concrete development that negatively impacts on our Agricultural reserves whilst the infrastructure for Agriculture and Aquaculture remains in shite street. How do you all feel about buying fish from stinkeroos such as Oistins and Bridgetown Fish markets. The potential for exporting fish, when fish was a plenty and allow to spoil because of stupidity, could have materialize if these decision makers saw it as having significant potential as a FOREX earner. We like to ignore until the very thing we ignore comes back to bite is in the arse. So now is Agriculture kicking arse and getting a hearing. Hooray!!!

44. @ Sunny Sunshine Shine (in whatever order)
    TEN OUT OF TEN.

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Tea Bush (in whatever order)

My man my name is Susanne Alias Sunshine Sunny Shine. Get it right or face the wrath of the triple S burn. Tea Bush doan sound like Bush Tea. So get it right!!!. What say ye?

46. Susanne…..Remember the 90’s……Ag. will be a 9 month wonder if the fx starts flowing,it will be forgotten again as it was by 2000.

47. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Vincent……. YOU KNOW!!. These Kubbas, so desperate for a fix, any fix that Agriculture is now taking its rightful place up the pecking order of things. As per usual we only act at the crisis, Crisis gone Agriculture put out to graze in dry grass again.

You got some political Kubbas in here too, blind is shite. Farming in Barbados needs subsidies and huge cash flow inputs from government to give it a real nice kick start. Vincent would you agree with me that farming can be done under the controls of a GGHE i.e. Gated Green House Environment. I mean if we spend nearly 100 million on Greenland Waste money project, give away 10 million to CLICO, spend nearly a billion on a prison, by George my Goodly Follows we can pump some millions into my GGHE concept. WuhLoss that is mine here. I come up wid that. No stealing now Yard-fowls.

48. @ Sunshine Sunny Shine
    Bushie still like Sunny Sunshine Shine ….but nuff respects SSS

BTW- Bush Tea /Tea Bush …who gives a rats….once the whacker wukking… 🙂

@ Vincent
    Ya hook up wid ya girl SSS and kicking dust nuh….
    If ya think SSS easy ya lie doh… She wusser than the one with the 4X4 wallaba hear…?!

49. Susanne….you are correct with respect to greenhouses and furthermore with the available technology we can produce anything here(AC from solar can produce colder clime crops)without using up much land to feed the nation.This has been known for a long time.

Back to reality….what are we going to do with the taxes succesive governments get from the merchants….that is the Elephant in the room.

BT…..Chuckle……you are glutton for blows from the ladies.