228 responses to “Prime Minister Freundel Stuart’s Vision for Agriculture”

1. A lot of us may have an emotional attachment to sugar but just remember long before “sugar made us free”, sugar made us slaves.

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Such a silly comment to make Bentley. Totally irrelevant

3. Bentley you must be young…..very young…..shiite man, you musse born this century….
    Old Bajans without a single degree, a cane harvester, a motor vehicle or a power tool were able to produce sugar at globally competitive rates, on this same “limited land space” -but a bunch of PhDs and larmers on mega salaries can’t raise 20000 tons…?

With respect to costs….
    Boss, if you ask Bajan politicians to get involved in selling rainwater, they would make a “loss”….
    ….That just means “the taxpayers loss” but the ‘boys’ does be laughing all the way to the overseas banks….

Does it ever cross your mind that some of these ‘regulars’ continue year after year in we face on the TV talking a roll – with a stupid looking grin on their faces – BUT DONT EVER LEAVE THE FAILING INDUSTRY….?
    ….why is this so – do you think…?

4. Susanna & BT…
    You are correct in all you have said…. sugar can pay….in a previous post I sighted cane syrup crystals selling in nature stores for exhorbitant amounts…..something wrong with our thinking….. Susanna hit the nail on the head….some of us are to absorbed with the slavery thing..

5. The Bushman said:
    “a country with centuries in sugar, 60 years of free education ….and CANT RUN A 400 year old industry”

Maybe that’s the problem, the industry has run it’s course, when the Brits saw sugar, and some shit else they were enslaving people at that time and making mega millions off, was not working anymore in Barbados and the Caribbean, they hauled ass back to Britain and let the stragglers deal with the winding up, then they too left and the islanders were there to pick up the residue in the last 60 years, it has been profitable, but the politicians made absolutely sure they and their overseas consultants are the ones profiting, maybe it’s really time to move on, get creative and use the sugar for local consumption only…the key word here is GET CREATIVE WITHOUT BEING CORRUPT, if these politicians can get that basic discipline in their heads, it would be a win win situation……and yeah the DPP should be locked to fcuk up, all that corruption and he can’t lock up a soul, if that was Robert Morgenthau in New York, Dodds would be filled with politicians, lawyers, former CJ, former AG, insurance execs, the whole kit and kaboodle..

6. We keep loosing the plot….Brits/Slavery/Indenture…..has nothing to do with anything…

CAPITALISM….writ bold….the greenback has no melanin…

Either get a board or forever suck salt…

7. Vincent……..a board of what? more thieves?

8. Well Well….excellent….

9. past two and a half days of dribble and unsubstantiated facts by some idjiot call WELL! WELL! and one SSS or whoever that is……combined that with a BT the know it all ..made for interesting comedy central….

anyhow as one who profess to know NADA .. I…google a little info about the carribbean sugar industry and the negative impact from globalization

http://www.caricom.org/jsp/community/donor_conference_agriculture/preferences.pdf

10. AC…….as usual you are acting your tole as the ass wipe for the DLP, no great surprise there, but don’t ever try to act like anyone is lying about the corruption on the island, why? it just makes you more of a laughing stock…….and, you only learned the word globalization recently, it was being used from the 90’s in the US, it means bullshit, but as usual you are also unaware of the true meaning.

11. AC..

We are a tourist destination….we need pristine landscape
    We are into vegetable production(or should be on a large scale)….we need to rotate
    We want to make money….niche markets with Syrup crystals,molasses,muscavado sugar.,etc
    We can make fibre wood.
    We can fuel energy plants

Our problem is that we do not use the wisdom that lies in BIM,but prefer to read somebody elses thinking and use it as gospel.

I recall an international agency coming here to do an Ag. study,the individual came to me for comments,I said to him go to x place in Graeme HALL AND AND FIND ALL THE INFO REQUIRED .SO SAID SO DONE AND WE HAD SOME BEERS.

12. @Vincent

Like most issues in Barbados we determine what is the best approach based on political leaning and political expediency. We have always known the money is to be made in the valueaddeds but have lacked the will to move from the primary production stage. Ac is able to dredge up a report by some unknown agronomist BUT said agronomist cannot address the issue of what happens if we withdraw sugarcane the effect on growing other crops read rotation. This is not a brownie points debate.

13. now all i did was to take a little effort and read about the sugar industry decline and the many hurdles and pressures which the carribbean basin is under as it tries to find light at the end of a tunnel ..a very dark one indeed as government tries to incorporate many initiatives at a high cost to save the dreary sugar industry …..barbados is not alone in the sugar war,,but one can assumes that as the world gets smaller and more markets are open up sooner or later the big fish would eat up the little fish apparently a truth that has unfolded,,,,,btw david the report did give alternative initiatives that would be beneficial to the agriculture as well as help to increase a reasonable profitable earners for the sugar industry,,,,,,,,,,sometimes it is better to get information from those who have more availability to facts relating to an issue than to listen to advocates of hyperbole and perception ,,,,,,,,,,case and point exhibit A motor mouth WELL ! WELL ! and the duke of crapola the rght HON BUsH tEA,

14. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Here we have one those political cunts I told you about.. an A C, The partisan pup heads who are the reason why the island could never prosper because their loyalty to party stands far above their patriotism to country. Deep analyst is far beyond the ability of a person of your irk who cannot see past your big nose. You and all the other yard fowl cunts are the reason why the island is in the mess. And you dare to hurl an insult at the SSS you piece of wasteful political shit, .

15. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You read a report and that makes your facts authentic. GEEEZ H CHrist you are moron….

16. Oh Susanna…

Chuckle…where have you been…please give AC a break…

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Aye Vincent

Oh I went to the city centre. I cant give idiots like them a break. A lot of them come on here defending the policies of parties they know to be the detriment of the islands development but profitable to the pockets of their personal bank accounts. That shit makes me mad. Mad to see the wastage justified under a bundle of shitety rhetoric. The level of corruption in Barbados is ridiculous and these shites along with the piece of shite that dump on the SSS are so in to it that they believe it to be legit business. Why you think they all are so comfortable because they nothing can be done to their syndicate of crime…

18. @Dompey

the white forces were sucessfful in having the place closed down.

19. Oh Susanna…
    OK,Agreed…….waiting for your next step…mobiising the young in AG,identifying a site for a model farm,establishing an agro-processing plant,establishing a central location to receive produce.signing an mou’s with supermarkets,establishing a tourist/restaurant Ag.agency,establishing a Farmers cooperative,lobbying govt for incentives,lobbying for farm insurance,getting rid of praedial larceny…..chuckle….I can go on if you want….

20. Newblodd

The white forces…?
    Don’t quite get your drift?

21. @Vinvent

Are the retail and distribution channels controlled by Trinidad?

22. Uncle Wilbert, used to be owned and operated by two brothers and an American advisor of daily operations.

23. David….So what….measures can always be brought to bare if their is a will.

24. What measures Vincent?

There Caricom and COTED.

And don’t forget Barbados is a MDC.

25. David,are they written in stone……Stone can be blown up….

26. @Vincent

Of course not, in this case to blow up means withdrawing from Caricom.

27. David….SO????

28. In this case to blow up means withdrawing from Caricom
    ++++++++++
    Well THAT would never happen bout here….
    …makes too much sense.

29. Sugar Cane Production: A Race Against the Clock

Posted on June 16, 2013 by David | 121 Comments | Edit

UK Guardian

Photo: UK Guardian

At 32min.35sec of the Dr. David Estwick presentation of the Democratic Labour party (DLP) 2013 Manifesto Launch he laid out government’s strategic plan for restructuring  the sugar cane industry for generating valueaddeds by accepting financing from the Japanese.  That is diversification: using sugar cane to generate power (25,000 megawatts) by reducing the fuel bill by 150 million dollars among other recommendations. The cane industry restructuring project (CIRP) is estimated to cost 230 million dollars.

http://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2013/06/16/sugar-cane-production-a-race-against-the-clock/

30. David…
    Promises is a what again???

31. Comfort to a JA.

32. hell yes SSS male imposter pretending to be a woman…..ummm i saw your dead ass in the inner city trying to buy some assss,,,,,,,,negro ,,,,,,don;t try me….. you sadistic insipid degenerate,,,,what de hellll your fucking ass still living in the past you two faced moronic degenerate,,,,,,,,

33. Robert Goddard in his article published in 2001 in Agricultural History figures it was an imbalance between factory and field which set the stage for the collapse of the Sugar Industry.

He reckons if I understand it right that there were two factors which were the origin of this imbalance.

“One factor “intrinsic” to the industry was the change in the industry’s leadership from factory-owners/planters to purely planters.”

“The other factor was a pattern of “questionable” land use decisions taken by government agencies which alienated arable land in unpredictable ways, making it impossible for the industry’s leadership to match factory capacity to field supply.”

“In one striking case the two came together when the building contractor, C.O. Williams, became simultaneously the island’s largest landowner and an aggressive advocate of non-sugar agriculture”

“Williams played a paradoxical role during this time. Single handedly he stripped the factory division of 50,000 tonnes (metric tons) of cane supply while charged with guiding the industry as a member of the BSIL board.”

The article goes further:

“The phenomenom of conflict of interest mentioned earlier with regard to the management structure of BSIL, reappeared with regard to the dairy industry as well. C.O. Williams became not only the largest dairy farmer during the 1980′s, but chairman of the island’s only dairy as well. Control of dairy farming and the dairy coincided with upward pressure on milk prices paid by domestic consumers.

According to data compiled by the Llandell Mills Commodities Group, by the late 1980′s, Barbadian consumers were paying five times the price of milk as consumers in other territories.

Thus the reallocation of cane lands by the C.O. Williams Group reflected price structures distorted by monopolistic practices rather than longer term economic trends.”

We look on in shock and awe as agricultural land is concretised without realising that this result was set in train by decisions taken years ago.

The article published in the Agricultural History in 2001 by Robert Goddard is worth reading.
    I made this comment on BU way back in 2009 “Are we Serious about Agriculture”

Robert Goddard’s article is worth a read. … Agricultural History Volume 75 Issue 3 pp 329-345

It makes no sense having a new factory if there is not enough land dedicated to produce the output to feed it.

So no play play land use plan will work!!

Here is how he begins so the fall can be appreciated:

“The Barbados sugar industry started the decade of the 1980’s with more than $100 million in assets and less than $750,000 in outstanding debts. It controlled 35,000 of the island’s total area of 106,000 acres, employed 6,000 people, and generated $35 million a year in foreign exchange. Yet by 1986 the industry was bankrupt, and in 1992 a management takeover by the British company Booker Tate was accepted by the board of directors of Barbados Sugar Industry Limited (BSIL).”

34. I sent my last canes to Hayman’s factory in 1982,the plantation was heavily in debt and the BNB Ag, division was unable to facilitate any more monies.for the 1983 crop.

35. the article is well thought out and gives insight for reasons and other alternatives,,then come along the political yardfowls behaving in there usual defensive with a dismissive attitude challenging my politicial preference with unnecessary and outlanduish attacks,,only a political pimps and sexual degenerates the likes of an SSS ass clown would be insulted by an article which states the obvious,,,,, jack ass..btw the way SSS my preferences are highly acceptable unlike yours you drag queen….
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Globalization has demonstrated clearly that the Caribbean sugar and banana industries need to be more competitive. This can be achieved to some degree only through raising efficiency and productivity. For sugarcane, this would involve identifying and establishing higher yields with high cane:sugar varieties; more mechanization of operations; and overall improved operations in the factory
    In case competitiveness in sugar and banana cannot be achieved, perhaps a niche market can be identified where other economic crops can be exported. These may include livestock products,value-added products and other diversified crops such as fruits and spices. The challenge would be to identify relevant markets for these products and initiate vigorous marketing drives.CARICOM governments need to take a hard look and make judicious decisions based on solid facts and figures regarding the future of the sugar and banana industries. Decisions must be taken whether to shut down certain inefficient industries. The governments will have to decide whether to i) close down the industry altogether ii) close down only the unsalvageable ones or iii) to pump public funding to the losing concerns in an attempt to revitalize the industry and save jobs….

where in this article does B or D mentioned,,,,,,,,only from the mind of a retarded kneejerk leprechaun called a SSS…

36. @ John
    …yuh see why you can’t get a pick down Cattlewash now…?

37. $20m to help compensate farmers losses By Sue-Ann Wayow sue-ann.wayow@trinidadexpress.com Story Created: Apr 17, 2014 at 8:27 PM ECT Story Updated: Apr 17, 2014 at 8:27 PM ECT ALMOST $20 million is being spent by the State to compensate farmers for loss of produce and to encourage further agricultural development. Food Production Minister Devant Maharaj said on Wednesday that 1,620 cheques for incentives and flood relief will be distributed to farmers and fishermen. He was speaking at a ceremony to distribute 986 incentive cheques and 23 flood claim cheques. Those cheques were included in the 1,620 figure, he said. The function was held at the National Agricultural Marketing and Development Corporation (Namdevco) office in Debe. The cheques were distributed to people in the counties of Victoria, Mayaro, Nariva and St Patrick. Since the Agricultural Incentive Programme was revised, Maharaj said there was more interest shown in the sector. He said: “We have seen the number of applicants to the Agricultural Incentive Programme expand exponentially since its revision, and this surely indicates the new and renewed interest in the agriculture sector.” The main goal of the revised Agricultural Incentive Programme is to stimulate the productivity, competitiveness and sustainability of the agriculture and fisheries sector, Maharaj said. Under the programme, there are incentives to encourage youths in agriculture, increase level of mechanisation, facilitate year-round agricultural activities such as the promotion of on-farm irrigation systems, establish protected agricultural systems, improve husbandry practices and pasture management for increased productivity in the livestock sub-sector, support the sustainable management of fishing operations, encourage new investment  and support the establishment of post harvest facilities, he said.

38. Vincent Haynes | April 19, 2014 at 11:21 PM |

I sent my last canes to Hayman’s factory in 1982,the plantation was heavily in debt and the BNB Ag, division was unable to facilitate any more monies.for the 1983 crop.

My understanding of what happened in that period is that the Euro was devalued by 2 to 1. Since we were paid for the sugar we produced in Euros and our dollar was tied to the US $ the BDS $ we ended up with to pay the farmer for the canes was cut in half.

A plantation perhaps barely breaking even automatically had its revenue cut in half.

The result was a huge loss.

Again, my understanding, the BNB 1982 Act was passed whereby the BNB was mandated to finance the sugar industry because even though the foreign exchange earnings were cut in half, they remained significant enough to merit the sacrifice.

Some plantation owners decided to stop production of sugar rather than run up debts to the BNB which they could not repay, others continued producing and watched their financial position get eroded.

Some serious shenanigans went on with the debt and the power it gave a Government body over private enterprise. I would suggest that much of the problems relating to the taking of agricultural land out of agriculture relate to unprincipled individuals abusing their power.

Perhaps the sugar industry should have shut down back in the 1980’s.

39. Last I heard, some months ago when i was in Canada, Europe was seriously looking at cutting down on sugar imports because of the associated health issue, one morning dependent Barbados could very well wake up and hear that Europe has decided to stop sugar imports………THEN WHAT!!…lol

AC……unlike you, there are those of us who can actually see what will happen going forward and we know that your DLP masters stand behind you and prompt you while you type total shit on your computer…but here is the rub, while you are on here making a total ass of yourself your masters are drinking, eating and having a laugh with the likes of Owen, Mia and others in the BLP because they are irrevocably intertwined, let me explain, some of them are either related by blood, sex, god parents to each others children, partners in crime against the taxpayers for decades..etc, so while you tell us ad nauseam how corrupt the BLP have been for their 14 year reign, stating the obvious, the BLP now wait in the wings patiently to tell us how corrupt the DLP are and would have been for how long they are prancing around being self-serving at the taxpayers expence……a virtual TAG TEAM the BLP/DLP, the only victims are the taxpayers……..so AC, i am just trying to let the world know that you are not being picked on and you are no innocent on BU, just making it quite clear why most on BU would gladly and with malice aforethought manually wring your bare-necked yardfowl neck, because we know what is happening AC and the part you play in it as they traitor that you are to the taxpayers……by the way, you think i said anything yet, you just wait until all this shit with the insurance company and the involved politicians really hit the fan.

40. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@ the cunt AC
    The last time I check my female parts were intact the least I can say for your pretense ya pathetic cunt. People like you need you thieving political ass cart way to prison. Achieving all that you can through your parasitic attachment to a political party. You speaking the language of the SSS you piece of process nuffatarian shite. You are lousy piece of a twisted mouth liar. You are more the fraud and should not attribute blame, Your ass want locking to shite up you and all the other thieving cunts who masquerade purporting to do the better good but only interested in the all the good you can get from your crooked deals. Fucking idiot.

41. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

BRING IT ON YOU ACCIDENTAL CUNT – THINK THAT IS WHAT THE A C STANDS FOR AINT IT….BRING IT SHITTY DICK

42. SSS .screw ball ..truth is bitter. I see i mash yuh corns.now go f..k yuh self hermaphrodite yuh slimy sadistic screwball..

43. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Will the political PIMPY pup AC please make your presence known. Seems ya hot under the collar boy. Hope you ain’t getting a nervous break down because I wrestle your moronic feathers you TWOFT.

44. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

HAIL the ACCIDENTAL CUNT AC. Who proclaim with great trepidation a report that says sugar and banana at deaths door. The report thus substantiates and cannot be proven wrong because the report says so…All HAIL THE ASS-CROW. A C THE PEE-HOLE

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I AM GOING TORMENT YA ASS WHERE EVER YOU WRITE ON THIS BLOG TILL DAVID SEE IT FIT TO BAN ME. I WILL NOT STOP UNTIL YOUR ASS BE CONVERTED FROM THE FRAUD AND MASQUERADER YOU AND OTHER POLITICAL YARDFOWLS COME ON THIS BLOG AND DO. THE COUNTRY IS DIVIDED INTO TWO AND ALL YOU YARDFOWLS SET OUT TO DO IS TO DESTROY THE COUNTRY WHILST FULFILLING THE AGENDAS OF YOUR PUPPET MASTERS. YOU ARE A DANGER TO THIS ISLAND AND A BENEFICIARY OF THE PILFERING ACTIVITY OF THE BACK YARD DEALS.

46. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the Cunt AC
    Indeed you have mashed the corns of the SSS. You have no idea of what you do. I am going to expose your ass for the fraud that you are. You have mashed my corn and the SSS will ensure that you know what it feels like. YOUR ASS IS MINE…PISS PUP.

47. SSS. bring it on fowl poochhh!,,,,, btw here is another interesting article that you can learn from……the economics of sugar and slavery,, go online and read the book THE SUGAR REVOLUTION BY BW HIGMAN you can gain factual and real insight ,,,,,,,as one comment did alluded to such a fact but as usual you reverted to gibberish and sound bits in your stupidty to downplay the relevancy,,,,,hey slim ball be careful how you tread….. ac waters are very deep…..
    while your are at it you can also keep yuhself busy by reading another article,,,,,,,,,you can ask WELL to be the interpreter
    ,,,,,,,,she comes across like a parrot,,,,,,,always squaking……..
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………..

http://www.enciclopediapr.org/ing/article.cfm?ref=12013003

48. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the Cunt AC

Piss PuP. is providing his evidence to support his claim that the sugar industry has met its ultimate end. Whilst propagating his diatribe shite the expectation of Piss Pup is to achieve one objective. Argue strong on what cannot be done whilst providing nothing on what can be. Absolutely an ass wipe of the highest order. And more than likely a recipient of greased pole infiltration right up his faggoty ass. But I am gonna read what you sent. I like to read Cunty….

49. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the Cunt AC

Here I just went online and pulled an article too..
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/british/empire_seapower/barbados_01.shtml