Submitted by Charles Atlas
Steve Stoute, President BOA , Ronald Jones, President BFA, PM Fruendel Stuart

What is really wrong with Barbadians? There must be some kind of curse hanging over our heads. How else can we explain the proliferation of such mediocre leadership in so many areas of national life? Why does Ronald Jones think that he should impose himself on Barbados football for another four years? The sport has fallen into chaos – with falling rankings, a reputation for violence and hooliganism, low standards, and accusations of bribery under his watch. Even in his other conflicting national role he has shown his total inability to lead – best exemplified with the Alexandra affair.

In any other civilized country Jones would claim ‘personal reasons, medical reasons or just plain tiredness’ – and step aside to allow someone else to make an effort to turn things around. It is not as though there are no alternatives…. Randy Harris has shown himself to be more than capable of doing a better job in this position. One can only assume that Jones is hooked on the personal perks of the position and cares nothing about the success of football.

It is even worse with Steve Stoute. What exactly is he thinking? The man has been hanging around for forty years in sport and has no significant achievement to his name – except that he has served for a very long time. His stooge, Secretary General Erskine Simmons is even more of a liability to sport and clearly incapable of meaningful leadership. Barbados sport has fallen behind other Caribbean countries to the extent that at the London Olympics one got the impression that no serious sport was played in Barbados.

Has anyone ever heard Stoute articulate any meaningful policy or vision for sport? The man is just a pretender who has been living-it-up at the expense of local sport. After hosting one of the most successful Olympics ever, the president of the British Olympic Association immediately stepped down to make way for a new era in British sport. Here, after a lifetime of lame leadership and consistent failure, Stoute is seeking to ‘hang on’ for another four years. This again is a case where a clearly superior alternative candidate is willing to step up to the plate and bring new ideas and leadership to Sport.

Lt. Colonel Trevor Browne has been outlining long overdue policies and strategies for implementation – while Stoute appears bent on extending his failed tenure by another four long years. Why would he not just demit gracefully or at least outline how he plans to change his approach? One can only assume that he too is unable to give up the perks and benefits of the position, and that this overrides any concern about the success of national sport.

Now Prime Minister Stuart is a different kettle of fish in that he did not seek to become Prime Minister but was catapulted into the position. Nor can the actual results of his short and chaotic tenure be compared to those of Jones and Stoute. After all when all is said and done, for a small island with few resources, Barbados has actually done remarkably well so far in very difficult circumstances.

Where Mr. Stuart has disappointed has been in his failure to step up to the plate and inspire confidence. Leaders need to have a clear vision of the future; to communicate (or employ skilled communicators to do this on their behalf); they need to inspire; and they need to set and demand high standards.

One would like to think that if Prime Minister Stuart is unable to meet these leadership requirements, he too will elect to withdraw from the responsibility of national leadership whenever that election is called, and give way to someone who can do so and who also possesses his good attributes of fairness, honesty, thoughtfulness, and professionalism.

Let us see if Barbadians will turn over a new leaf and seek and demand the best possible leadership in national life in these upcoming elections, or if indeed we are condemned to mediocre leadership.

174 responses to “Time To Dump Dead Weights Leaders – Jones, Stoute… Frundy?”

1. @ac
    Wait you ever write anything YET?….I never see one shoite from you….you like you got the sticky pen fever (SAS)…..or short attention span..fa real doa ask David…not my style of writing…I did not write this…

2. @Required

I agree that we don’t know of any strategy, but Sun Tzu also mentioned three ways to bring misfortune to your army.

1) commanding them in ignorance of their (in)ability.
    2) governing the troops in the same way you govern your kingdom.
    3) using your officers without discrimination, through ignorance of adaptation to circumstances.

I’ll let the BU household decide if any of these traits have been exhibited by your “master strategist” FS.

Remember, the army can be depleted, the battle be lost, the soldiers decimated, yet the general lives to fight and govern his town at his pleasure.

Just observing.

3. Required Information Avatar
    Required Information

@ Observing(…)

We shall soon see. These are my observation from the side lines. The man says its going to be the ‘Mother of all battles’ so i have take him his word and try to decipher the plan/strategy. This Estwick/Sinckler thing is a deliberate fabrication, I am certain of it.

4. The submission is about the kind of leadership we are prepared to have foisted on us, the public. By any definition Barbados is suffering a crisis of leadership in several spheres of civil society. Of course those among us who are blinded by strips will be comfortable wrapped in the blanket soaked in the myopic.

5. @required
    “i have take him his word and try to decipher the plan/strategy.”

How many other words have you taken him on?

Sometimes when things are too simple to be true they usually are. I applaud your faith though. Travel lightly.

“By any definition Barbados is suffering a crisis of leadership in several spheres of civil society. ”

That is an understatement. But, to reach a “solution” we have to ask the question how did we get in this abyss? Where were leaders supposed to have been moulded, raised, pushed forward and empowered?

Who dropped the ball? which area of our development was found wanting? Which section of our nationhood has failed? Will this be the new normal of mediocrity and “patheticness”

Just observing questions.

6. @Observing

A fat lazy middle class whose value system is anchored to ‘things’ and status.

7. Balls …bare balls…..coal dust fallowed to the wind…..DLP structure in bare shambles…..cannot even but hold meeting in constituency offices…this body ent speakin to that body…and some talking CHEESE BALLS… Bid the Eager Ado but now they ready to Hue….The man is no Genghis Khan…. that simple….

8. David,

It is true that Mr. Steve Stoute will be the BLP standard bearer in St. Philip South.

I am reliably informed that necessary paraphenilia ( t- shirts , posters) are being printed at this time.

Steve is a good choice for the BLP in St. Philip South.

Another Stoute set to make his mark in the Eastern parish.

9. Your strategy is understood.

10. @ !

“Deadbeat leaders ? We cannot leave out Owen Arthur- a man who was Prime Minister for 14 years with massive electoral majorities and inherited a small public service. He proceeds to inflate the same public service for political gain, creates a zillion statutory bodies and now comes on the eve of an election talking about red tape and beauracracy in government.”

Here’s an extract from the Special Audit of BWA:

5.9 Discussions with HR personnel did not provide sufficient clarity on which posts should be advertised. Files for seventy-two (72) persons hired during the period April 2008 to December 2010 were reviewed. These persons were employed in twenty (20) different posts. BWA provided evidence of vacancies being advertised for only four (4) of these posts.

Clearly your party did not see anything wrong with further inflating the Service. People are tired of the red herrings.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Required Information | September 27, 2012 at 12:27 PM |

A piece of advice that is required reading by you.
    Do not make any reference whatsoever to the philosophy of Sun Tzu when trying to justify the leadership style of Freundel Stuart or any political strategies or tactics of the current crop of DLP politicians.
    You should stick to what you know best. You can quote the Bible and Jesus but leave Eastern thought out of it. You will be far better off and in your own bailiwick.
    Nothing the DLP did and continues to do during the present term in government would qualify as being worthy of the Master’s commendation. Do you think Sun Wu would have been impressed with any of his military students if as a leader that student had made the number of blunders in such a short period of time?
    Why is the DLP in this present electoral predicament? The most elementary student of Sun would have called elections in 2011. For that most foolish of mistakes by a brain-dead vacillating strategist for a leader it would cause the DLP to pay heavily at the polls.

Again, “Required Information”, stick to your bible when trying to build a case to justify the DLP’s ineptitude and woeful leadership performance. Maybe a Shakespeare play or a Greek tragicomedy
    might be more apt or even the story of Nero fiddling while Rome burns.

12. What's the point Avatar
    What’s the point

Hey folks,

I have just learnt that the BLP annual conference slated for October 2012 has been cancelled.

Mia Mottley has determined that despite the proximity of the General Elections, she wants to challenge Owen Arthur for the leadership of the BLP.

By George……bring back muh hat !

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | September 27, 2012 at 1:23 PM |
    “A fat lazy middle class whose value system is anchored to ‘things’ and status.”
    There is no more middle class- black or otherwise- in Barbados any longer.
    Barbados once had a black and “brown” (coloured) middle class that was the backbone of the educational system, the bureaucracy (civil service) the Arts and Culture which propelled this country to be the Number One developing nation in the World. What we have now is a “materialistic class”.
    What now passes for middleclass is a social segment of arrogant mis-educated certificated asses incestuously living in the heights, terraces, parks and gardens, worshipping at the altar of materialism and totally oblivious to the termites that are eating away at the fabric of the growing apartheid society. A large mortgage, an expensive car and SUV, 1.5 piccaninnies with paper qualifications rolling off the mediocre mill at UWI do not make a middle class.
    The middle class is from where the social and political leadership and creative juices of a nation flow.

14. It is official, Jones will NOT be vying for the BFA presidency this Sunday. He informed the board late last night. One wonders why he held on to the position for the last 4 years and stymied the growth of football in Barbados (wearing two caps) but then the light bulb went off…Jack Warner.

15. Ha ha ha … It was my considered opinion that the definition of voluntarily unemployed was fashioned to incorporate a number of people in such a way as to make the unemployment figure look far better than it really was. Now I am being told that people were co-opted en mass to swell the ranks of the public service … What a scam …! Murda. Anyone that points to an improved unemployment rate under any particular administration in the past twenty years is a fraud …. HA HA HA

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | September 27, 2012 at 6:02 PM |
    “Anyone that points to an improved unemployment rate under any particular administration in the past twenty years is a fraud”

Do you know what has become of the data and findings from the 2010 National Census?
    Word has it that the findings on unemployment on the ground are so embarrassing that the unemployment figures quoted for the last 10 years would appear to be totally fudged for political purposes. As a result there are being suppressed for fear of making the present administration look bad.
    BTW, happy belated b/d on behalf of Peter Wickham, Dennis Johnson and your truly David Ellis (LOL!!). 54, Yes! Getting velly, velly young indeed; No!

17. Miller

You ain’ no more David Ellis than I is dah fella that you referring to pun de program … HA HA HA. Listen, behave hear …!

18. “In fact, I think alot of people might get the shock of their lives when the voters-in-waiting demonstrate that they feel the DLP has done a reasonable good job managing the affairs of the country, the economy, the society and its people.”

if Barbados was to do this, they would deserve everything they get next. how can one make a comment like that when we see what is going on? $600K on a football game? in these time? and you think that is “reasonable good job managing”? forget everything else.

in 14 years Arthur won 3 elections. that means in 3 times at the polls the country approve of his handling of Barbados. when in those 14 years has there been a call like we have now for elections?

you guys need to take you head out of the sand.

19. What are all these snide comments about $600000 spent on an annual football tournament? Are we saying that our young players do not deserve anything of value being invested in their art and talent?

Are we not the same people who are highly impressed by European clubs spending $20Mil to buy a particular player and paying players millions in salaries to perform this same skill and talent?

Even If only 200 players are involved in this tournament this works out at $3000 investment in each player. In a situation where one of them can possibly go on to become an international success, why is this a bad investment? Compare it with what we invest in each student in our so-called education system…….and where are the national leaders being produced by this expensive education?

Stop playing politics for politics sake do!!!

20. In a tough global economic environment, incumbents from Barack Obama in the North to Kamla in T&T will be challenged but the Barbados economy was long in need of restructuring. Owen Arthur is part of the problem not the solution.
    We need to continue the development of our alternative energy industry, diversify our tourism source markets and restructure our sugar and agricultural sector as Dr. Estwick and Dr. Chelston Brathwaite are undertaking.This DLP government has acted responsibly in these economic circumstances.
    We fool ourselves if we believe that Arthur has some magic which no one else in Barbados or the world has- Utter Nonsense!
    Barbados like many of our neighbours has its challenges but we are not tanking as the gloom and doom BLP prophets are suggesting.

One must also admit that this is an extremely weak and uninspiring field of BLP candidates – recycling muscle Mary and Wuk fa Wuk is not what Barbados needs right now.

21. Onions I was starting to worry if all Barbadians were losing the ability to think. I was so happy tonight to see Father Davidson’s article Straight up ‘it’s all gambling in Barbados Today. Onions read it and see that all the BLP people shouting about casino gambling are all hypocrites.

Dr.Duguid goes in the parliament and complains about this bankrupt country yet still construction is going on at his building site behind Springer school where there are about six two storey four apartment buildings going up.

22. David (not BU)

“in 14 years Arthur won 3 elections. that means in 3 times at the polls the country approve of his handling of Barbados.” Yah pussy. So the infighting involving Thompson and Mascoll had nothing to do with it … Stupse.

23. We all know the David Thompson football tournament has some level of politics in it, however the point about the need to mobilize programs which target out youth, especially at the low spectrum is important in economic depressed times. We cannot forget our social responsibility to the vulnerable in society.

24. BAFBFP you are a real jackass. when did the infighting with Thompson and Mascoll start? you just open your trap and shite comes out? 1994, 1999, 2003. tell me when the fighting start you joker. go in the corner and let big people talk, when they want to fart they will call on you.

as for the football tournament, i see nothing wrong with developing the game but this is madness. if your point was development why not join with Lime and have one tournament? in a country this small with only so much players we have two tournament playing at the same time and we can’t afford the $600K. you know it, i know it. how does the jokers running the country don’t know it?

this smacks of arrogance. how much buses that $600K could fix to get running on the road? how much houses that $600K could repair? what could $600K do in the QEH, the BTA, BWA?

its a f-ing waste and this is coming from a football fan.

25. Look who talking about big people talking… Big you might be but convenient lacking in something… As far as I am aware, and I have been ’bout here for long, Owen Arthur did the DLP a BIG favour by removing Mascoll from their ranks. Had he not done so Arthur might have had a fourth term. It was not a vote for Arthur, never was, it was a vote against the confusion that the opposition was throwing up. You stink, and you it don’ even appear as though you even awake …. Jackass ..!

26. What are all these snide comments about $600000 spent on an annual football tournament? Are we saying that our young players do not deserve anything of value being invested in their art and talent?

Mr Bush Tea: You know that I respect your deliberations, but ah can’t believe you mek de above statement. Yes, de youts deserve funds to support football or any other sport,,,,but wuh de hell doh tekking we hard earn taxpayers money to sponsor football. Wuh doh didn’t beg like Mia and get private sponsorship like Lime. $20,000.00 from each council is pure bull and besides, wuh is de reason for having two football tournaments playing at the same time. Duh really wasting we money for political gain. And Bush I can’t believe you talking bout “Stop playing politics for politics sake do!!!”

27. Like everybody else I am stunned that Steve Stoute a monumental failure for forty years is running again. He should pack his things and leave office taking Simmons with him. Ditto to Ronald Jones this is not a criticism of his Ministerial portfolio but his football stewardship been long and horrible he and his BFA pimps literally ruined football. Jones’ mate Jack-al Warner is one of the world’s most corrupt people.

28. “BAFBFP | September 28, 2012 at 12:03 AM |

Look who talking about big people talking… Big you might be but convenient lacking in something… As far as I am aware, and I have been ’bout here for long, Owen Arthur did the DLP a BIG favour by removing Mascoll from their ranks. Had he not done so Arthur might have had a fourth term. It was not a vote for Arthur, never was, it was a vote against the confusion that the opposition was throwing up. You stink, and you it don’ even appear as though you even awake …. Jackass ..!”

you realise you have not said when the Thompson Mascoll fighting start? you just move onto another point, which has nothing to do with what we are talking about.

i understand this is what you are good at, clouding the issue but i’m better than that son. this is what you said:

BAFBFP | September 27, 2012 at 10:10 PM |

David (not BU)

“ Yah pussy. So the infighting involving Thompson and Mascoll had nothing to do with it … Stupse.”

answer my question let us see who is the pussy. when did the fighting start? if you don’t know, ask and then going and look in a mirror and see what or who a pussy looks like.

29. When did the infighting start … From the time their were both Young Dems and still attending Camere … What the f#ck difference does it make …? Sandy put the DLP in a tail spin and left a power vacuum that still has not been properly resolved. I hate talking politics, I see it as a blatant waste of time, but when individuals purposely misinterpret scenarios and as a result give credit to mediocrity then such individuals have to be pulled up , and in this case that individual is you! Back off Bro …go sniff someone else’s ass!

30. @David (not BU)

BFBAF is correct, since Barrow died the DLP leadership has been unsettled. It has manifested itself in many ways the most visible being the Mascoll Thompson fight. Don’t forget the struggle between Mascoll and Taitt which was messy as well.

31. David thnx for the sup, but really you shouldn’t have bothered… this is too trivial

32. oh brother, you people really don’t have a clue.

33. @David (not BU)

Hope you are not suggesting the repository on these matters reside you and only you…lol.

34. It appears Jones decided to step down? Dead Trees are claiming so…

35. @ Tell me Why
    If you think about it carefully you too would be concerned that we are prepared to spend half billion dollars each year – including something over $150Mil on tertiary students, and with demonstrably piss poor results in terms of leadership, management and national productivity.
    What is the great sin in spending $0.6M on supporting the talent in the most popular sport among our young men in Barbados?

Bushie was not dealing with the organization of the tournament or the other arrangements, simply responding to the idea of spending this money in support of our young football talent as opposed to using it on largesse like fixing private houses, etc.

Your other error may have been in your “having respect for Bushie’s deliberations”. Cuddear man!
    What respect what?!
    ……for the ramblings of a BUSHMAN.?!?!

36. David | September 28, 2012 at 7:53 AM |

@David (not BU)

Hope you are not suggesting the repository on these matters reside you and only you…lol.

i don’t think so at all but will i know is facts don’t change.

37. Look the thing with this First Past the Post is that the only definitives are those that can be drawn from the marginal seats that are affected by a national swing. It is a piss poor system. If 3% of the people that voted felt that they were not prepared to have a troubled DLP run the country well then that would be the sentiment that would carry in a 3% swing. I hate the system. Personally I have NO problem with a dictatorship that is nation centred, but this is what we have to work with … a’ight ..!

38. @BAFBFP

The problem with a dictatorship is that there are no guarantees.

39. Hi David; I think that the risk is worth it, given what we have right now …!

40. @ BAFBFP
    If you have no problem with a dictatorship you should have no problem with the current system. What would you consider it to be?
    The only modification is that we get to elect which of the two parties get to give us the dick.
    LOL this is even worse than an imposed dictator. Remember when parents used to make you select the tamarind rod with which to cut your tail….? The ultimate flogging.
    Just now we will have to choose either a “B” rod or a “D” rod to tar our behinds.

41. The so-called “social programme” and “investment” known as the David Thompson Memorial Football Classic is being broadcast live from Gall Hill, St. John on CBC. wahlosss

42. Bush

Yep. But you see the ones cutting we tails are the people that finance these shite parties. You see if you are prepare to risk a dictator that will be guaranteed say a fifteen year reign (with checks and balances of course) then the opportunity of having these “backers” dicktate policy will be seriously reduced … or at least this is my take on things …

43. BAFBFP
    wHAT WE NEED IS A BENIGN DICTATOR
    SOMEONE WHO IS WILLING TO DO THE RIGHT THING COME WHAT MAY AND WHO IS NOT AFRAID TO BE REPLACED AFTER ONE TERM. YES I KNOW THATS A MIRACLE……BUT I FEEL THE BUSHMAN CAN BE TRUSTED TO DO THIS. HE WILL GET SOME LIKE MINDED FELLAS TO FOLLOW HIM

44. @ GP
    Now GP, like everyone else, Bushie is very pleased to have you back in the BU family (where you will always belong), but you see this penchant you have for splashing your bovine stuff on the bushman?…..dont bring it back…. 🙂

What kind of dictator would a Bushman make?
    How long do you think it would be before Onions and ac join forces again and put a contract out for bush? …and you ever heard about Islandgal?….that woman is normally worser than Bonny Pepper was on her bad days…and she has a sycle.
    How long before Caswell come after Bushie with his 3-man “Unity” to pressure the bushman? …with rules, regulations and strikes?
    …LOL ..even David would start putting some licks in Bushie tail, couse you know David ain’t easy…

No no GP, leave out Bushie. He already signed up with the BBE party, and those ‘elections’ coming real soon.

45. @ david

I understand the poll commissioned by the Nation Newspaper will reveal on Sunday that only the DLP is only safe in five constituencies. 1. Dennis Kellman 2. David Estwick 3. Mara Thompson 4. Michael Lashley and 5. Ester Byer Suckoo.

If connect this does not bode well for PM Stuart and Chris Sinckler. So where does that leave the DLP if they end up in opposition, will it be Kellman, Estwick or Lashley.

46. I agree with David (not BU).

I do not think that there is a fellow who would disagree with developing and trying to hone the football skills of our young men but it cannot be RIGHT to take up $600,000 of taxpayers monies again this year to waste just so! No! No! No! Not when things are so hard here!

Not when we have people working in government who have not been paid for six months, yes, six months! We have persons who have been waiting for their tax refunds and cannot get them. This is a government whose priorities are all misplaced.

You cannot help but admire Mia Mottley in this regard, she got private investors to further her agenda. It is good she got lime to give back some of the “overcharges” they take from us!

Pray tell me, why would the DLP do this again this year when they do not even want to whisper the dead king’s name in public!

$600,000 could buy one or two garbage trucks! In my area, we have now gone from two collections a week to one every two and a half weeks. My garbage men told me that the SSA only have 10 trucks working to service the whole of Barbados. And we have $600,000 to waste to prop up the “legacy” of one David Thompson.

Hey, onions, miller, I have noticed that the gold plate bearing the name “Thompson Associates” has been taken down from its lofty place! So much for his legacy!

47. Notice Bush Tea ain’ ‘fraid me. This I think be very good thing considering that at his age I really would have concern about the posibility of him overstaying his welcome … HA HA HA …!

You ever hear ’bout a Malignant dictator … HA HA HA

48. No concern

49. @Mr.Paper -Mate

Until BU eyeballs the poll we will reserve opinion for the moment.

50. Prodigal Son

I do not understand your reasoning with respect to LIME’s sponsorship of Mia’s football competition. LIME is putting money behind her to enhance her chances and make her more appealing nationally. On the other hand, the DLP does not have the resources to outspent LIME so they are using Government funds to promote their chances. That ought to be a crime.