Submitted by Charles Atlas
Steve Stoute, President BOA , Ronald Jones, President BFA, PM Fruendel Stuart

What is really wrong with Barbadians? There must be some kind of curse hanging over our heads. How else can we explain the proliferation of such mediocre leadership in so many areas of national life? Why does Ronald Jones think that he should impose himself on Barbados football for another four years? The sport has fallen into chaos – with falling rankings, a reputation for violence and hooliganism, low standards, and accusations of bribery under his watch. Even in his other conflicting national role he has shown his total inability to lead โ€“ best exemplified with the Alexandra affair.

In any other civilized country Jones would claim โ€˜personal reasons, medical reasons or just plain tirednessโ€™ – and step aside to allow someone else to make an effort to turn things around. It is not as though there are no alternativesโ€ฆ. Randy Harris has shown himself to be more than capable of doing a better job in this position. One can only assume that Jones is hooked on the personal perks of the position and cares nothing about the success of football.

It is even worse with Steve Stoute. What exactly is he thinking? The man has been hanging around for forty years in sport and has no significant achievement to his name – except that he has served for a very long time. His stooge, Secretary General Erskine Simmons is even more of a liability to sport and clearly incapable of meaningful leadership. Barbados sport has fallen behind other Caribbean countries to the extent that at the London Olympics one got the impression that no serious sport was played in Barbados.

Has anyone ever heard Stoute articulate any meaningful policy or vision for sport? The man is just a pretender who has been living-it-up at the expense of local sport. After hosting one of the most successful Olympics ever, the president of the British Olympic Association immediately stepped down to make way for a new era in British sport. Here, after a lifetime of lame leadership and consistent failure, Stoute is seeking to โ€˜hang onโ€™ for another four years. This again is a case where a clearly superior alternative candidate is willing to step up to the plate and bring new ideas and leadership to Sport.

Lt. Colonel Trevor Browne has been outlining long overdue policies and strategies for implementation – while Stoute appears bent on extending his failed tenure by another four long years. Why would he not just demit gracefully or at least outline how he plans to change his approach? One can only assume that he too is unable to give up the perks and benefits of the position, and that this overrides any concern about the success of national sport.

Now Prime Minister Stuart is a different kettle of fish in that he did not seek to become Prime Minister but was catapulted into the position. Nor can the actual results of his short and chaotic tenure be compared to those of Jones and Stoute. After all when all is said and done, for a small island with few resources, Barbados has actually done remarkably well so far in very difficult circumstances.

Where Mr. Stuart has disappointed has been in his failure to step up to the plate and inspire confidence. Leaders need to have a clear vision of the future; to communicate (or employ skilled communicators to do this on their behalf); they need to inspire; and they need to set and demand high standards.

One would like to think that if Prime Minister Stuart is unable to meet these leadership requirements, he too will elect to withdraw from the responsibility of national leadership whenever that election is called, and give way to someone who can do so and who also possesses his good attributes of fairness, honesty, thoughtfulness, and professionalism.

Let us see if Barbadians will turn over a new leaf and seek and demand the best possible leadership in national life in these upcoming elections, or if indeed we are condemned to mediocre leadership.

174 responses to “Time To Dump Dead Weights Leaders – Jones, Stoute… Frundy?”

1. Was very surprised to read Stoute’s newspaper comment that he believe he has the support of most members of the BOA Board and that several Federations had asked him to return. What was interesting is that he never said that several of the sports associations in Barbados had asked him to come back. BU interpreted Federations of bodies outside Barbados.

2. The truth is that Prime Ministers really are NOT a requirement for entities like Barbados. They can really make things bad, but the NEVER really make things better. All of this smoke about Stuart is more about image than about effectiveness since there really is NO such thing as an effective politician now is there …!

3. President of the Barbados Football Association Ronald Jones stated this week that Barbados has slipped down the rating to 175 because the team was inactive. Now the question which any rookie sports journalist should ask and report on, why has the team been inactive and who is responsible for the team being active.

4. Mr. Atlas

This is an interesting piece but I am afraid that of the three leaders that you have analyzed, you have only identified one viable alternative in the person of Randy Harris.

With respect to Ronald Jones, I completely agree with you. He is serving no useful purpose anywhere. He has not made a positive mark on any organization where he has inflicted himself. Even PM Stuart has dropped him from his “number 2” role (pun intended) in the Cabinet.

By the way, I keep hearing persistent reports that Jones made a plea to teachers, who were gathered at the Gymnasium as the beginning of the school term, to reflect him and the Government. If this is in fact true, he ought to be fired. He should not be allowed to canvass at an official gathering of civil servants.

You identified Lt. Col. Trevor Browne as an alternative to Steve Stoute, boy you really don’t know what you are saying. The credit union movement has not recovered from Browne’s leadership in the 1990s. He is best left playing soldier. I do not really follow sport, and know very little if anything of Steve Stoute but if he is worse than Browne, he should have been gotten rid of years ago.

As for Freundel Stuart, he is no Errol Barrow nor Tom Adams, and thankfully no Owen Arthur: he is more of an Erskine Sandiford. However, of all the pretenders to leadership of this country, despite his considerable failings, he is the only on that I have any confidence in. His problem is that when he inherited the prime ministership, he also inherited a constellation of clowns from which to draw a cabinet, and that is no easy task considering the raw material that he had to work with.

5. Good Leader
    You must have an honest understanding of who you are, what you know, and what you can do. Also, note that it is the followers, not the leader or someone else who determines if the leader is successful. If they do not trust or lack confidence in their leader, then they will be uninspired. To be successful you have to convince your followers, not yourself or your superiors, that you are worthy of being followed.

Followers

Different people require different styles of leadership. For example, a new hire requires more supervision than an experienced employee. A person who lacks motivation requires a different approach than one with a high degree of motivation. You must know your people! The fundamental starting point is having a good understanding of human nature, such as needs, emotions, and motivation. You must come to know your employeesโ€™ be, know, and do attributes.

Communication

You lead through two-way communication. Much of it is nonverbal. For instance, when you โ€œset the example,โ€ that communicates to your people that you would not ask them to perform anything that you would not be willing to do. What and how you communicate either builds or harms the relationship between you and your employees.

Tell how well and if, where….. these ‘ the parsimonious” fit in the sphere of things?…….did I hear a mumble…. “square and round”….or was that a fumbled iconography.

6. A leader by show the vision to convince the followers yes but the vision must be relevant and of value.We have no leaders on our landscape. It is a popularity contest or one to see who shake their keys the loudest.

7. Whenever an effective Leader is confronted about his leadership style he should be ready to pounce like a true TIGER and show medal and carry out executions proffered or leaveโ€ฆ.to do otherwise ….will only fester contempt and inbreedingโ€ฆ..Holding on to the last tether is senseless and costly( like a burnt pork chop)โ€ฆ..as inaction ( as now seen) will come back to YAM you….time runs like twine and the baller ent dun spinning yet…so too enters new chapters for UWI leadrship studies n Caribbean Books on government.

8. @Caswell

Interesting comment, you should expand on why you think Browne is responsible for credit union woes.

9. @Onion

Please put down the text books. It is all about results. Arthur’s legacy is what? A mountain of debt and a country built on services? We have to get real. Since Tom Adams we have not had a leader with the balls to chart a different path. To Stuart’s credit this government has attempted, and it can do more, to introduce alternative energy in a big way. The same old idea about subsidizing fossil fuel takes us back to where we started. BU agrees with the Cyber Park idea Arthur mentioned yesterday and the thrust to build out/enable ICT strategies which should have been started 10 years ago. We making sport, truly.

10. OSA should be added to the list for wrecking barbados economy and now trying to find a quick fix under the umbrella of privatisation

11. To say the DLP tried is an understatement of epic proportions…..the pointer is aiming towards MOF…..tried to do what..tax us to Timbuctu?….or should it be pointing at Jasper & Co…Casino gambling roulette and a Four Seasons sink hole soon the new address for the NIS?…. or should it be to Donville and the ‘new old people’s health gridirons’…..or the Low dung Dump…”where is my cut” memos? Tell me David why should I put down my text books to learn from such rummage?……A leader must be in charge at all times and this was not it….. to rue is just not cutting it ….nor a blame fabulous bird ac…it is what it is…

12. AC good morning ….you seem to have slept with OSA in your bed because the first name you call was was his. Girl you are so obsessed with this man that you are blaming him for every wrong in Barbados. Let him go girl you are haunted by this man so let him go and you will be at peace.

13. @Onions

What leadership what!?!

Was it leadership when Arthur confused the electorate and his own party as to was the co leader entering the last general election?

This weekend the Sunday Sun will release in drips and drabs the result of its Cadres poll. If we are to go by Wickham’s mouthings, the Kingmaker some say, the Stuart’s DLP remains behind the eight ball.

14. David
    Don’t make this thread meat for Trevor Eastmond matters…Are you trying to compare Stuart to Arthur?….or even Mia to Sinckler?….”Fourteen Golden Years” to “Four of the Most Horrific”……the Gods would “spew thunder and hail” at you for such mantra….so too the majority of Barbados as we shall soon see….

15. David
    “The Underworld is what the Greeks and Romans believed you went after you died. It was where everything horrible, evil, and sad lived. If you weren’t a hero or a favorite of the gods you were sent to that horrible place. What a dreadful thing to look forward to after your life was completed on Earth. I hope you enjoyed learning about the Underworld and the beliefs of the Greek and Roman peoples afterlife.”

Like we died since 2008 then……time for a second Resurrection….don’t you think ?

16. What a redundant alias—Charles Atlas
    WTF.
    Couldn’t you have chosen another alias, something with more zip ? Maybe you could have use your own name or do you derive some power from hiding behind an alias. Not that I am opposed to an alias but when choosing such, one should choose one that would validate what you post.

. charles atlas–oh please !!

17. David please ‘validate’ to the young lady that onions did not make this post….czu like they want to blame me for EVATHING…..lol…I musse Atlas.

18. Leadership goes beyond how we view a person: charisma, ruthlessness, etc. The problem we have is that after ; Sir Grantley Adams, Errol Barrow and to some degree Tom Adams, we have been searching or desirous of having similar personalities. There really are not any around.
    Also there are very few outstanding genuine community workers now. Gone are the Val Rosas (Mr. Rose) Softball cricket(Mr. Connell) Caribbean Womens League(Ms. Burke). It seems everything is now political. So every time the government changes.,selected operatives and yardfowls take over the community. In other words there are no community hatcheries present to breed good leaders. We are suffering form an overdose of BLP/DLP medicine that will eventually kill us all.

19. David , I am puzzled to find in Mr Owen Arthur the leadership credentials that his supporters keep shouting about . What further puzzles me is that people can still be searching for leadership credentials in a man who led this country for FOURTEEN years . Mr Arthur has demonstrated that he is no more than a buy-and-sell operator ; buy it today , sell it tomorrow if the price is right . We are now paying dearly for this totally visionless philosophy and Mr Clyde the DLP SPOKESMAN on economic affairs is best able to comment on this . If a young and vibrant Arthur could bot provide the answers before , how does he hope to convince anybody beyond the partisan shouter that a tired, worn out and intellectually drained Arthur can now provide a cure for the massive problems which his administration created? He shouts that the country is broke ; having been brought up as the son of a shopkeeper, would he please tell us why he is so eager to take over a broken down business? He certainly has not demonstrated he is a houdini and for sure he is no Messiah. Is he about to return to the selling-off plan ? If so , he must be reminded that there is not much left for him to sell .

20. of course I am referring to Mr Clyde Mascoll …..

21. @ Atlas
    Bushie agrees that Stuart appears to be uncomfortable in the role of PM and probably should seek to shed this burden. The problem is that leadership is such an exacting quality that viable alternatives, as Caswell said, are difficult to find.
    Bushie maintains that this is largely due to the fact that we have marginalized the educational development of our males through the approach taken to coeducation.

@ Caswell
    You seem to have a problem with certain types of “leaders” who have more balls than you. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Broomes of Ax comes to mind – and now Browne is another.
    Is this the same Browne, who along with Oriel Doyle defied all your best efforts to derail the formation of the insurance company by Credit Unions?
    Bushie seems to recall that the company has gone on to great things and that their vision has been achieved.

@ BAFBFP
    How do you mean prime ministers are not important? You serious? Their decisions can influence the whole society for generations.
    Do you ONLY think FOREX?

22. Mr. Kranklyn

and wherever you worked, u have left a legacy of conflict. I bet you that Ronald Jones has will soon act as deputy. My dream is going to come true shortly and your mouth would then be closed. Time longer than twine.

23. Onions
    David please โ€˜validateโ€™ to the young lady that onions did not make this postโ€ฆ.czu like they want to blame me for EVATHINGโ€ฆ..lolโ€ฆI musse Atlas
    Who accused you of anything? You jumped the gun on that one no one accused you of penning the piece so what is that Bajan saying again โ€œ The first fowl that cackleโ€ฆ..โ€
    BTW I read that Jones is not running again for the Football post, so you should try to stay current.

24. @To The Point | September 27, 2012 at 8:11 AM |

” Ronald Jones has will soon act as deputy. My dream is going to come true shortly and your mouth would then be closed. Time longer than twine”

hahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahaahahahahahahaha
    hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
    hahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahaahahahahahaahahahaha
    …..ARE U FOR REAL? some dreams are nightmares, i think ur is and will NEVER happen

25. @ Sarge
    You should know my vue magnifique sur by now……onions carry out his satire with ‘flair et de finesse’…..I am not an Atlas…no,no…maybe its you….bastard you…interesting ecritures though…..Napoleon trash wash..HA

26. โ€œThe challenge of leadership is to be strong, but not rude; be kind, but not weak; be bold, but not bully; be thoughtful, but not lazy; be humble, but not timid; be proud, but not arrogant; have humor, but without folly.โ€

LETS TAKE OVER BUSHTEA ……………WITH YARDBROOM TO SWEEP AWAY ANY COBWEBS ON OUR AGED/AGING BRAINS

27. @Sargeant

Jones has come public to say he is still weighing the decision to run.

@Puzzled

Many who don’t like Stuart are expressing reservations about Arthur but in BU judgement Arthur has the edge because of the feel good factor from the boom years.

28. The Prime Minister “inherited a constellation of clowns” … So he then because of his from the ranks can no longer be referred to as a clown as well … Listen, don’ talk foolishness hear …

Bush Tea

Prime Minister achieve NOTHING, but yes, they most certainly can seriously f#ck things up.

29. promotion

30. Required Information Avatar
    Required Information

“Many who donโ€™t like Stuart are expressing reservations about Arthur but in BU judgement Arthur has the edge because of the feel good factor from the boom years”

The DLP have not yet attacked OSA, so the feel good factor still sits comfortably with the voters-in-waiting. The scales will be adjusted when the DLP rolls out it campaign about the truth and extent of the problems of the 14 years of the Arthur administration.

Anyone thinking that the DLP is not cocked and ready is obviously not reading the signs. The elections will be this year and the BLP will be blitzed with the amount of information the DLP plans to put into the public domain and on the platform.

31. The “perceptiion” that OSAwas the architect behind the booming years was shattered after the global economy melt down the bardados economy and the gaping holes was left exposed for all to see. the myth that OSA was a “masterful economist was exposed yesterday when yesterday he fumbled his way At the chamber meeting delivering a quick fix plan of selling barbados assets to the higgest bidder needless to saywhich wouldbe followed by a never ending course of high borrowing the same recipe of sure failure

32. Deadbeat leaders ? We cannot leave out Owen Arthur- a man who was Prime Minister for 14 years with massive electoral majorities and inherited a small public service.
    He proceeds to inflate the same public service for political gain, creates a zillion statutory bodies and now comes on the eve of an election talking about red tape and beauracracy in government.
    Obviously, he is not serious!.a bare joker.

33. Talk CHEAP….Call the ELECTIONS then…..and Dun Um… wanna Jokers !

34. LOL @ GP
    GP, Yardbroom and Bushie?
    …well you know that Bushie want the PM pick….
    You able with the football?

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | September 27, 2012 at 10:12 AM |
    “At the chamber meeting delivering a quick fix plan of selling barbados assets to the higgest bidder needless to say which would be followed by a never ending course of high borrowing the same recipe of sure failure”

But wait, ac, we were of the view that you had already confirmed that OSA sold off all the assets prior to 2008 to keep his mirage of a burgeoning economy overflowing with forex.
    So where would these assets come from to sell off in his second incarnation of mismanagement.
    Are you referring to the assets acquired from the increase in borrowing of $2 billion from 2008 to 2011?
    Are you referring to the Pierhead marina, the Four Seasons, the new sugar factory, the cruise ship terminal, the new hospital up Kingsland, the $400 million WTE plant?

36. The DLP have not yet attacked OSA, so the feel good factor still sits comfortably with the voters-in-waiting.

Required information: The voters in waiting are not looking at attacks, but economic projections from parties. Remember, the so called cheque waving to supporters during the 2008 elections might haunt. If you give your enemy thousands of dollars, pray, tell me how many millions you will give your friend. Think about this: If in 14 years someone make 10 mistakes and someone else make the same amount of mistakes in 4 years…….Who better.

Peace my friend

37. BUSHIE
    IM ALRIGHT WITH YOU AS PM …….BUT YOU KNOW WHAT HAPPEN THE LAST TIME WE HAD A PM FROM CAWMERE. LOL MURDAH WUH LOSS

38. @required
    Claims of corruption and allegations will be like water off a duck’s back. The most it will achieve is keeping the independents home. the DLP will still lose on sheer partisan enthusiasm and numbers

@Tell Me Why
    ” If in 14 years someone make 10 mistakes and someone else make the same amount of mistakes in 4 years”

Bingo.

@!
    “He proceeds to inflate the same public service for political gain

Can anyone who make this claim on either side point to the statistics which support such?? And, what’s the difference between “inflating” a public service during times of “good,” and maintaining an inherited “inflated: public service during a time of severe recession?

@Bushie
    you would get my vote. Without even having to being a brown bag down Deacons for me ๐Ÿ™‚

Just Observing

39. Required Information Avatar
    Required Information

@ Tell me Why

The OSA cheque was then and is now incontrovertable evidence. If the DLP have more, something I am inclined to suspect, then it is going to be interesting.

The BLP has been claiming/projecting for 4 years that the economy was/has fallen off the cliff and that Barbados as a country was on the brink of collapse. That projection has not come to pass. Yes, there are hardships of alot of people but can you claim that those hardships rests ate the feet of the DLP and PM Stuart, I don’t believe any rational thinking person, aware of the world economy, would hold the DLP responsible.

In fact, I think alot of people might get the shock of their lives when the voters-in-waiting demonstrate that they feel the DLP has done a reasonable good job managing the affairs of the country, the economy, the society and its people.

40. Required Information: You said “In fact, I think alot of people might get the shock of their lives…..” You thinking it and the people doing it with an “X” are two different things.

41. So what,s your beef islangal ?did you miss OSA boots from under you r bed last nite?

42. Required Information Avatar
    Required Information

@ Tell me Why

I agree, all that matters/counts is where people place their X. If you believe this election is over already then I think you are counting your chickens before checking to see whether the eggs are adle or not.

Remember this:-
    “Be extremely subtle, even to the point of formlessness. Be extremely mysterious, even to the point of soundlessness. Thereby you can be the director of the opponent’s fate.” – Sun Tzu

I am dying, just dying to see when and how FS springs the trap. Its going to be something Bajans ain’t see or hear but before. It summary you could call it, letting you enemy wait with a false sense of security.

43. @Required

The suspense is killing us here.

Are you saying this election will be found on the ‘quality’ of leader and NOT issues of economics?

44. Required Information
    WE TOO…..SPRING IT, FAST, IN SITU,….NOW IF HE LIKES….QUIXS.

45. Required Information Avatar
    Required Information

I suspect the trap being set by the DLP is a pincer movement.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/b/bd/Pincer.png/800px-Pincer.png

Out on one flank will be Dr. Estwick, in the middle will be the Prime Minister (acting as the bate) and out on the other flank will be Chris Sinckler.

It will be characterised by how brutal a campaign it will be.

46. @ Required Info
    My neighbor went up to the States recently and buy A NEW KIND RATsquirrel TRAP….Being the now novice…..he nearly got his finger lick off…..with this new contraption ….Take care the same is not repeated …with the clone Sun Tzu…cuz traps and him duz be trouble..even eager

47. No miller from his outrageous speech yesterday it is apparant OSA is not finished selling off barbados i the few companies like BNOC BWA and the Transport which he catspraddled in his term would be high on his list for “Fire SALE” quick fix plan ask OSA but then again he is not known for being truthful by the way what happen to the solar company he had planned for the barbados economy and the 200million which disappeared along with the planned project.

48. @Required

Let us know when you have surrounded the enemy. At the moment general public (the electorate) does not seem to be aware of any movement. You must be confident leaving it this late.

49. Required Information Avatar
    Required Information

Don’t you find it slightly curious that OSA is now turning to matters of ecomonics after having flogged the ‘leadership’ issue to death? However, the economics issue takes him now where because the people of Barbados have tv’s, computers and spend hours on social media sites so they know the state of play in the world today.

I fear its too late but OSA now recognises that if ‘leadership’ is the main issue (FS has done nothing to prevent OSA from so making it an issue) then that brings into the equation the conduct of the BLP and primarily that of its former Prime Minister. Leadership has many components besides ability, components such as honesty, integrity, compassion and wisdom.

50. Onions wio care if you write the submission or not one of the same a lot of dead weed propaganda inflitrated with puupet hysteria and top off with political garbage sprinlked with plenty nonsense highlited with a wickham /hoyte nation poll laced with revegne