Submitted by Charles Atlas
Steve Stoute, President BOA , Ronald Jones, President BFA, PM Fruendel Stuart

What is really wrong with Barbadians? There must be some kind of curse hanging over our heads. How else can we explain the proliferation of such mediocre leadership in so many areas of national life? Why does Ronald Jones think that he should impose himself on Barbados football for another four years? The sport has fallen into chaos – with falling rankings, a reputation for violence and hooliganism, low standards, and accusations of bribery under his watch. Even in his other conflicting national role he has shown his total inability to lead – best exemplified with the Alexandra affair.

In any other civilized country Jones would claim ‘personal reasons, medical reasons or just plain tiredness’ – and step aside to allow someone else to make an effort to turn things around. It is not as though there are no alternatives…. Randy Harris has shown himself to be more than capable of doing a better job in this position. One can only assume that Jones is hooked on the personal perks of the position and cares nothing about the success of football.

It is even worse with Steve Stoute. What exactly is he thinking? The man has been hanging around for forty years in sport and has no significant achievement to his name – except that he has served for a very long time. His stooge, Secretary General Erskine Simmons is even more of a liability to sport and clearly incapable of meaningful leadership. Barbados sport has fallen behind other Caribbean countries to the extent that at the London Olympics one got the impression that no serious sport was played in Barbados.

Has anyone ever heard Stoute articulate any meaningful policy or vision for sport? The man is just a pretender who has been living-it-up at the expense of local sport. After hosting one of the most successful Olympics ever, the president of the British Olympic Association immediately stepped down to make way for a new era in British sport. Here, after a lifetime of lame leadership and consistent failure, Stoute is seeking to ‘hang on’ for another four years. This again is a case where a clearly superior alternative candidate is willing to step up to the plate and bring new ideas and leadership to Sport.

Lt. Colonel Trevor Browne has been outlining long overdue policies and strategies for implementation – while Stoute appears bent on extending his failed tenure by another four long years. Why would he not just demit gracefully or at least outline how he plans to change his approach? One can only assume that he too is unable to give up the perks and benefits of the position, and that this overrides any concern about the success of national sport.

Now Prime Minister Stuart is a different kettle of fish in that he did not seek to become Prime Minister but was catapulted into the position. Nor can the actual results of his short and chaotic tenure be compared to those of Jones and Stoute. After all when all is said and done, for a small island with few resources, Barbados has actually done remarkably well so far in very difficult circumstances.

Where Mr. Stuart has disappointed has been in his failure to step up to the plate and inspire confidence. Leaders need to have a clear vision of the future; to communicate (or employ skilled communicators to do this on their behalf); they need to inspire; and they need to set and demand high standards.

One would like to think that if Prime Minister Stuart is unable to meet these leadership requirements, he too will elect to withdraw from the responsibility of national leadership whenever that election is called, and give way to someone who can do so and who also possesses his good attributes of fairness, honesty, thoughtfulness, and professionalism.

Let us see if Barbadians will turn over a new leaf and seek and demand the best possible leadership in national life in these upcoming elections, or if indeed we are condemned to mediocre leadership.

174 responses to “Time To Dump Dead Weights Leaders – Jones, Stoute… Frundy?”

1. @ To the point
    “money is often paid to the lawyer for the client, i received money from my lawyer that was paid into his account yah hear”

Don’t be stupid, I am sure that you are aware of the circumstances surrounding the payment of the $3.3M.

“Included in the balance owing by CHBL is a payment for $3.333mm made by CIL to the law firm of Thompson & Associates (legal advisors to CIL and CHBL) in January 2009, pursuant to an invoice dated December 2008 purportedly for fees or retainers related to various legal matters involving CHBL. Mr. Leroy Parris, the former Chairman of CIL and CHBL authorized the invoice for payment. We have been advised that although payment was made to Thompson & Associates, it was in fact to the benefit of Mr. Parris as partial payment of a “gratuity”. We note that this transaction was not disclosed in the Minutes at that time but was discussed by the Board following the appointment to the Board of the Government representative in mid-2009.” Forensic Report, page 4.

2. I have only been alive for 37 yrs The RT Hon Prime Minister for barbados is the wrost i have ever sen after Sandiford. Straight talk

3. The matter with the Roebuck Street historical building has not been approved as Captain Straughn promise . Prime Minister havent reply or respond to letters in the said matter . So how running the country since Mr.Thompson die
    PUBLIC SERVANTS

4. @Art

i know not what you speaketh of, and sont mind if i am stuipd as would not have to read or responsd to anything i said, If a forensic auidt was done for JAWS, greenland or Kesinton or 3ws or the prison or the construction of the coast guard, or the golden shower, or hardwood, i wonder what u art would find. Add to that the money that was handed to owen’s press secretary and while u r at it, who got moeny stashed away in accoounts overseas, or how the nicholls man got rich from the last administration. How the old man was duped in selling the land and some one from the last govt benefit, and what was the settlement to Beverley and who financed the settlement and why, among others.

5. @David

please as Ryan Thorpe not to ise out court of arms, i think it is an offence to do so without permission from the Cabinet Office..

6. @ To the point

There you go again with a lot of political diatribe. For goodness sake, let us be reasonable, please.

The DLP won the last election highlighting those things you listed in your post, while Thompson waited until he went to America to declare that BLP politicians had tax payers’ money in overseas bank accounts. Where is the evidence to substantiate this claim made by Thompson; and if your answer is that politicians do not lock-up other politicians, what sense does it make by mentioning it in the first place?
    The DLP had four and a half years to commission forensic audits into the entities you identified, but chose not to do so. Why and whose fault is that? An audit was done into the Hardwood fiasco and its results exonerated Mascoll.
    Bear in mind, that strategy worked during the last election campaign. People tired hearing about the same lame golden shower, prison, JAWS and the lot; come with something new.

Instead of being a parrot and repeating ad nauseum about secret bank accounts, as I have stated before, why did not Thompson hand over all the evidence of corruption to Stuart when he was AG, or now Stuart is PM, why has he not given the evidence to Adriel Brathwaite. Instead of criticising the court and prison, use them effectively to bring to justice all the perpetrators who stole the taxes. Having fail to do so, makes what you stated in your post to be utter nonsense.

Also, what is your point, Arthur paid his press secretary, and Thompson paid Harley Henry a salary of the public purse as the Political Consultant. Six is still half dozen.

You guys just run to the fore with a lot of party political diatribe without first being rational in your thinking.

7. @Art

I guess u got my drift having proven that u r smarter than a fifth grader. Thats is for every action there is a reaction, thus we all spit up in the air and let it drop back down in our face.

U now recognize that politicians are a special class or people, they form a clique so just put that in your pipe and smoke it. we need to concentrate on moving barbados forward, becasue whoever sit in those seat of power willl be corrup, power corrupts and absolute power corrupts sbsolutely. hope i got that right.

My mother use to tell me, if you cant give then u shouldnt take. LOL

8. @art

the difference is osa continue to pay his press secrtary when he was not current, harley was current, hope u got my drift or i need expand more.

9. Ryan Thorpe | September 29, 2012 at 3:55 PM |
    I have only been alive for 37 yrs The RT Hon Prime Minister for barbados is the wrost i have ever sen after Sandiford. Straight talk

I concur
    thumbs up to the comment
    you are correct

10. Artaxerxes,
    Ask “To the Point” if he knows how a two by three lawyer like the dead king could amass so much wealth according to Caswell, leaving 34 million.

Ask “To the Point” how a poor tail two by two lawyer like Michael Lashley could amass so much wealth in 4.5 years. Ask him/her why Lashley is called 5 & 10 and if the FBI has him under their radar.

Ask him/her how Minister Lowe could text a man to ask for his cut. Ask him/her if he/she knows of all the shady deals associated with Lowe. Why, even a diehard supporter like Wesley who credits himself with using VOB to get the DLP elected, wrote a scathing letter about Lowe.

Ask him/her how Patrick Todd could use taxpayers’ money to repair his father’s house.

Ask him/her about Kenny Worst dealings…………

Look I could go on but you get my drift……………..

11. prodigal you could ask them questions to the cows come home some of the same questions can be asked of OSA! !

12. But ac, OSA was judged in the last election. its now your party’s turn.

early reports from the poll is not looking good. the DLP in some shit.

13. According to the Cadres poll , there is a 6 % swing and if elections were called the BLP would win.

I dont need no poll to tell me that. I was saying the same thing eversince now. I believe that people are reading me on BU and copying ,

As I have said already .

The results of the next election for a government to run the affairs of Barbados are as follows:

BLP = 29 SEATS
    DLP = 0 SEAT
    INDEPENDENT = 1 seat

14. All these people who claim to have a feel on what is happening on the ground are useless in a period of a swing. Swings of around 5% are NOT detectable unless done through a scientific poll. The BLP discovered that and now it is the DLP’s turn. Either way the shite will continue, the only difference will be the source.

15. @Nnaki

Not bad…

“What now passes for middleclass is a social segment of arrogant mis-educated certificated asses incestuously living in the heights, terraces, parks and gardens, worshipping at the altar of materialism and totally oblivious to the termites that are eating away at the fabric of the growing apartheid society. A large mortgage, an expensive car and SUV, 1.5 piccaninnies with paper qualifications rolling off the mediocre mill at UWI do not make a middle class.
    The middle class is from where the social and political leadership and creative juices of a nation flow”

16. Hi, I log on to your new stuff like every week.
    Your story-telling style is witty, keep up the good work!

17. old onion bags Avatar

Jonesing Jonesing Jomesing AGAIN…….Man hush nah…..better still tie D hands…result : can’t talk……watch D feet den…. wait D man can dance? I ent kno…..who bout hay does ballroom ?…help a fella,….

18. Onions..you hear de shoite he was tawking???

19. Ryan Thorpe | September 29, 2012 at 3:55 PM |
    I have only been alive for 37 yrs The RT Hon Prime Minister for barbados is the wrost i have ever sen after Sandiford. Straight talk

COME TO THE TOP OF THE CLASS RYAN
    NOTICE I SAID COME —NOT GO
    ASK THE COMMENTERS ON THIS BLOG HOW MUCH TIMES I HAVE SAID IT.THEY ARE GOING TO WAIT UNTIL BARBADOS BREAKS DOWN COMPLETELY TO THEN TALK

20. old onion bags Avatar

@ Isgal

GIRL I IN SHOCK…….you read facebook comments? D whole a Bubddoes in SHOCK n Awe….Ronald wha you smokin boi?

21. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

What is really wrong with Barbadians? There must be some kind of curse hanging over our heads@ FRAUD , YOU ALL DONT WANT TO SAY THE TRUTH , CROOKS , ALL THE WAY SAME NASTY GROUP OF FELONS .

22. Leaders are born not make or for that matter have…a leadership role thrust upon them…….When you start WRONG….You can only end wrong.
    Next three years will be sheer HELL……we are a ship without a rudder and Comidus is our chart bearer…

23. DUMP DEM…….evaone ! DEAD WEIGHTS