Submitted by Charles Atlas
Steve Stoute, President BOA , Ronald Jones, President BFA, PM Fruendel Stuart

What is really wrong with Barbadians? There must be some kind of curse hanging over our heads. How else can we explain the proliferation of such mediocre leadership in so many areas of national life? Why does Ronald Jones think that he should impose himself on Barbados football for another four years? The sport has fallen into chaos – with falling rankings, a reputation for violence and hooliganism, low standards, and accusations of bribery under his watch. Even in his other conflicting national role he has shown his total inability to lead – best exemplified with the Alexandra affair.

In any other civilized country Jones would claim ‘personal reasons, medical reasons or just plain tiredness’ – and step aside to allow someone else to make an effort to turn things around. It is not as though there are no alternatives…. Randy Harris has shown himself to be more than capable of doing a better job in this position. One can only assume that Jones is hooked on the personal perks of the position and cares nothing about the success of football.

It is even worse with Steve Stoute. What exactly is he thinking? The man has been hanging around for forty years in sport and has no significant achievement to his name – except that he has served for a very long time. His stooge, Secretary General Erskine Simmons is even more of a liability to sport and clearly incapable of meaningful leadership. Barbados sport has fallen behind other Caribbean countries to the extent that at the London Olympics one got the impression that no serious sport was played in Barbados.

Has anyone ever heard Stoute articulate any meaningful policy or vision for sport? The man is just a pretender who has been living-it-up at the expense of local sport. After hosting one of the most successful Olympics ever, the president of the British Olympic Association immediately stepped down to make way for a new era in British sport. Here, after a lifetime of lame leadership and consistent failure, Stoute is seeking to ‘hang on’ for another four years. This again is a case where a clearly superior alternative candidate is willing to step up to the plate and bring new ideas and leadership to Sport.

Lt. Colonel Trevor Browne has been outlining long overdue policies and strategies for implementation – while Stoute appears bent on extending his failed tenure by another four long years. Why would he not just demit gracefully or at least outline how he plans to change his approach? One can only assume that he too is unable to give up the perks and benefits of the position, and that this overrides any concern about the success of national sport.

Now Prime Minister Stuart is a different kettle of fish in that he did not seek to become Prime Minister but was catapulted into the position. Nor can the actual results of his short and chaotic tenure be compared to those of Jones and Stoute. After all when all is said and done, for a small island with few resources, Barbados has actually done remarkably well so far in very difficult circumstances.

Where Mr. Stuart has disappointed has been in his failure to step up to the plate and inspire confidence. Leaders need to have a clear vision of the future; to communicate (or employ skilled communicators to do this on their behalf); they need to inspire; and they need to set and demand high standards.

One would like to think that if Prime Minister Stuart is unable to meet these leadership requirements, he too will elect to withdraw from the responsibility of national leadership whenever that election is called, and give way to someone who can do so and who also possesses his good attributes of fairness, honesty, thoughtfulness, and professionalism.

Let us see if Barbadians will turn over a new leaf and seek and demand the best possible leadership in national life in these upcoming elections, or if indeed we are condemned to mediocre leadership.

174 responses to “Time To Dump Dead Weights Leaders – Jones, Stoute… Frundy?”

1. BUSHTEA

WITH BAFBFP AND GP ON YOUR SIDE WE WOULD PULL IT OFF
    BUT YOU ARE CORRECT. WE JUST NEED TO BE PATIENT AND WAIT FOR THE PRINCE OF PEACE TO MAKE HIS SOON APPEARANCE.

2. what’s all the fuss about the football tournament does any body realise keeping the youth in social programs is a lot less than keepin them in jail .steupseee. the past govt built golden showers what kind of vision was that and for what purpose. if one youth is saved from a life of crime by having such programs football or whatever it was all worth it. better than some golden piss pot that only good for jobby.

3. GP

My man you and Bush could stick around an’ wait for the Prince of Peace to put in an appearance … Good luck, I plan to be long long gone when dah happens hear …

4. BAFBFP
    I plan to be long long gone when dah happens hear …
    LOL in that case it may be time to get your ticket sorted out now…

5. Caswell,

You are making my same point. Mia is using PRIVATE money, the government is suing TAXPAYERS money to buy votes.

Did not a minister (was it Jones) recently said that Bajans like too much freeness? Yet they are pushing more freeness………………. OMG!

6. @ Prodical
    How is it “freeness” for teams of young athletes to practice and train for years and then to compete in 90+ minutes at full throttle – entertaining hundreds or thousands of spectators?
    In many countries this is BIG BUSINESS – utilizing local talent, local organizational skills and supporting local small businesses.

Are you suggesting that this sort of development should be left to the whims and generosity of big businesses?

Politics aside, this 600 grand may be some of the VERY best money spent by government in the last year.

7. @ Prodigal
    A five game competition is unlikely to hone any skills. The $1 million spent over the last two years would have been better spent investing in some kind of football academy for young promising footballers.

@ Bush Tea
    Are you saying other government spending has been that bad, or, as Miller commented, yuh tongue forked?

8. Bush Tea,

Do you remember a Barbadian footballer who was lucky to get a contract to play professional in England? Do you remember that he went and was back sooner than ever because he could not deal with playing in the cold? No one seem to have told him that football is played all during the winter months.

Not too many of these footballers would be able to endure playing football in December, January, February or march! So they can only play in Barbados! So like you, thank the taxpayers for a $600,000 windfall, the best money the government ever spent! Never mind buses, police vehicles and garbage trucks are in short supply!

9. My point is a little different: put simply, LIME is trying to influence the electorate in favour of Mia. They figure that they would be able to do as they like is she is PM and they are putting their money behind her, plain and simple.

10. AC

I agree with you that it would cost a lot less to keep the youth in social programmes than to keep them in jail. However, I suggest that you come out of the forest and get a better look at the trees. It would be a lot better if Government used its resources to create an environment where those same young people can find jobs. If they are criminally minded, after the 90 minute match that would leave ample time to engage in whatever criminal activity the choose. On the other hand, if they were out working all day they would not have enough time to commit any offences plus, they would have money in their pockets so some of the incentive for offending would diminish

11. Be careful how you knock Ronald Jones, his last act as Minister of Education,since he is on a rebranding crusade, may be to rename all of the older secondary schools. ie Erskine Sandiford Secondary School,Crumpton Street, Tom Adams Secondary School, Bow Road,
    James Cameron Tudor Secondary School,Martindales Road , Frank Barker Secondary School , Oistin Hill.

12. “…and you ever heard about Islandgal?….that woman is normally worser than Bonny Pepper was on her bad days…and she has a sycle.”

Bushman you call my name? You are wrong about me, Bonny Pepper was the Queen I was just her maid in waiting! LOLLL What sycle yuh tawkin bout? De one wid two pedals?

13. He may well want to but the school called Harrison College will never be renamed. For one Darcy Boyce will block it and all the old boys network will rebel!

Futhermore, putting the name of the man most Barbadians believe to be the worst PM Barbados ever had on it. Hell, no!!!

14. caswell do you know how much money a football player earns. this type of social program can take those with less academic skill and give them an opportunity of becoming professional. look man not everyone can be academically inclined but for those who have a natural talent having someone to mold or refine those talent would open opportunities and jobs much more than which govt can provide to some of us it might not mean much but to those involved it is a golden opportunity which many of the youth seized upon as a way of hope.

15. @Prodical

how much garbage trucks, buses the money wasted on Greenland, Kesinton Oval and JAWS that money could buy?

16. Naming a secondary school after Sandiford … Jesus H C’rist. The man spen’ tax payers’ money, not his own, but tax payers’ money from the consolidated fund and from the Central Bank to build a conference center and then turn ’round and accept some ass choosing to name it after hem … Stupse …! It din’ cost he a blood sweat or tear to build.

17. Those with Less Academic Skill ?
    how snotty !
    WHEN will class consciousness end among Bajans ?
    Those with Less Academic Skill
    WHAT the F does that mean ??

18. @ ac (10.30 p.m.)
    Please tell Bushie that your lawyer husband wrote that blog using your handle ac. That is so well said that the bushman almost forgave you for teaming up with Onions and Caswell on the AX issue 🙂

@ Islandgal
    You must know that the student often outgrows the teacher. Bonny would be proud of you.
    The sycle Bushie meant is the one with an “I”. Don’t know why the “y” turned up….. LOL – the one that cuts bush 🙂

@ Prodical and Caswell
    Wait, wunna think that football is 90 minutes and that’s it? It takes years of developing skills, physical fitness, speed, agility, the ability to make split second decisions and perform under pressure.
    Playing competition level football is MUCH HARDER work that most of the mock jobs wunna talking about.

Take Caswell for example. When last you think he had a sweat? Even with the goat milk he is a three minute man, and he CERTAINLY don’t sweat when the day come – visiting various government offices maliciousing in people’s business 🙂

Onions is another one. He NEVER worked a day in his life. And not even Hoad’s goat milk can help him with a little sweat – cause Onions got BARE mouth… He just hoping that O$A get back the big pick so that he can benefit from more politics of inclusion.

What buy what garbage truck what Prodical? Instead of buying more garbage trucks Bajans better start learning to Reuse Recycle and Reduce. It is time we stop bringing so much of the world’s junk here at great expense to our economy and environment.

Football is a mass sport, it involves the vulnerable young men in constructive business and it requires training, effort and skill.
    Money well spent.

@ JUST ASKING
    Those with less academic skill is just a pragmatic way to say that different people have different talents.
    Do you have any idea how bright people like MME, GP and Observing are? Skippa, when those fellows hold a light bulb it does glow…. 🙂

On the other hand, we have been trying here on BU for months now to get Onions and ac to see some light without ANY success (although ac like she turning a corner recently)

“Less academic skill” just mean that Bushie can’t grasp book work as fast as those bright boys and gals…..but everyone can outdo the onions 🙂

19. We need to start pumping more money into developing sports and our youth. We always focus on the traditional economic model. The fact is our traditional model cannot satisfy the students/yutes we are annually dumping into the society every year, it does not have the capacity. We have to drive non traditional approaches to soak up the excess, sports and culture represent opportunities which successive government have underutilized; especially the BLP.

20. Bushie

You really feel that this Thompson memorial football competition is designed to develop any skill or anything else. It is a crass political attempt to get votes, with little if any regard for the development of the players. (The same can be said for Mia’s). If you ever get a chance to look at the voting statistics over the years, you would see a pattern: older people and young girls are the ones that bother to vote. So please don’t try to make these football competitions to be anything else than they really are. Football in Barbados has been going nowhere for the last 14 years with deadweight Jones sitting on top. These fly-by-night competitions are just political nonsense.

These young men NEED skills training and jobs; ninety minutes on the football will not suffice. Additionally, they should be taught how to deliver themselves. I saw some of them being interviewed and you would believe that their coach was Kenny Best.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bushie:

We will all be for the further development of football at the grassroots level with an annual tournament called the David Thompson memorial Tournament if the funding of the tournament was done from the “Families First Account” still holding millions in escrow.

Any programmes for the development of football in Barbados and funded from taxpayers money must be done through the relevant agency National Sports Council (NSC) with no partisan political strings attached. Why name a tournament funded by taxpayers (both d & B) after a man who never kicked a ball in a goal. Sweet Cakes was not a footballer; ask Caswell or Mascoll.

Since it is being funded by taxpayers why not name the tournament which will be executed by the NSC after a well-known Bajan Footballer like Gas Clarke or Carlos Griffith or one of the many stalwarts of the local football pitch.

22. @ Caswell and Miller
    Wunna tag teaming on the poor bushman now?

Bushie will not try to defend the indefensible, the BLP using the Lime tournament for political reasons and the DLP using the David Thompson one likewise.
    BUT THIS IS A DIFFERENT ARGUMENT ALTOGETHER!

The original argument with Prodical was whether the money could have been better spent on fixing houses, buying garbage trucks etc.
    LOL – looks like bushiewon THAT one 🙂

Of course it IS a case of self interest. But so are practically every thing else done around here.
    Does anyone doubt that even BU bloggers have agendas? Someone accused Caswell of trying to promote his union and take workers from NUPW recently via a BU stand.
    Miller clearly has a political interest to defend and Bush Tea is admittedly biased in his positions.

LOL the only seemingly altruistic one among us seems to be David of BU whose motivation for all his outstanding hard work continues to elude the bushman

23. @ac

“caswell do you know how much money a football player earns. this type of social program can take those with less academic skill and give them an opportunity of becoming professional.”

So if en entire season of BFA organised football is not producing professional footballs, pray tell how FIVE matches would do so? lmao
    Furthermore, $600,000/30/16= $1250. That is the most an individual player can receive but is unlikely to given that part of the $600,000 goes to other associated costs. Unless the money is spent on an academy or a proper semi-professional league that talk about ‘becoming professional’ is nothing but a red herring. The constituency councils’ money could have established either.

24. I WOULD LIKE TO ASK THE DLP……TO STOP GIVING WAY WE MONEY…..TANNIS SHUDDA FOOT LASHLEY BILL PERSONALLY……when I used to play football ..cuddnt even buy a pair of boots den….played wid a ole bladder ball den….but Gibbers on the left win DID CLASS….took a banana from 150 and score up at Presentation waana Cawmeees cud remember? D nets did brek down…..whalossss

25. @Bushie

i feel left out, u aaint even notice me, am i that invisible?LOL

@Caswell

the point of the matter is, an opportunity was created for those young men to train for and looking forward to, their technical skills is what i am concerned about. They passed through our educational system. A motive can be ascribed to every action, just like your writing is politcal and your expecation is that u would be rewared whenever your party get back power. your party yEvery action Every thing we do ca

26. you know what would nice info to have, what is the cost of the BFA regular season?

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ To The Point | September 29, 2012 at 10:01 AM |

Why don’t you tell us how much is still in the “Family First Account” and then we will listen to your proposals on how to improve the technical sporting skills of the young members of the the David Thompson Memorial football family?

28. In true BLP style you guys are always quick to unearth many of the vital safety nets that are in place to provide an accomodate a safe place and enviroment for those who can ill afford or do not have enogh acess or sufficient personnal funding for such programmes. a society is not only made for the rich and for those who have easy access but for all especially those with limited means a society which ignores its youth is lacking in vision and is waiting for the inevitable a life of crime

29. The David Thompson Memorial Football Classic–the name says it all.

30. Caswell what ever the thompson football tourment be politically it is the step in the right direction maybe this can be a case forb one hand washing the other be that as it may the design in place would benefit society as a whole in the long run. one kid benefitting from this programme can save govt thousands of dollars if such child choose a life of crime .caswell this picture is too big for you to grasp

31. ac come off it. how can the David Thompson Memorial Football Classic do in a couple of weeks what the BFA can’t do in a season? it it because it name David Thompson? give me a break.

32. @ ac
    Stop talking rubbish. You recall all the lighted hard courts and playing fields the last government provided? What about the OASIS Project that your party denounced? What about YES? Were they designed for the rich?

33. @enuff

So you agree that the measures by the BLP were meant to target at the young and disadvantaged very much as the DLP people are saying? Same crap different colour though.

34. @Miller

tell us howmuch pass through the st peter development foundation or what u call it. and then u can talk to me.

35. @Enuff

u r spiting up in the air and the spit is landing in your face, think aout that

36. @ david

Feel free to interpret it however you want. But a weed whacker got a life beyond 5 football matches and the potential to own more than $800….but wait who says the football tournament is for boys on the block?

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ To The Point | September 29, 2012 at 12:07 PM |
    “tell us howmuch pass through the st peter development foundation or what u call it. and then u can talk to me.”

I don’t know!
    “I WILL NEVER LIE, CHEAT OR STEAL”! Sounds familiar like ‘families first’?

38. @enuff

You should not diminish the feeling which these boys on the block may engender in the knowledge that the government spending some money on them.

39. @Miller

i will never deposit a cheque that was meant for the party in my bank account, sounds familiar>

40. @Miller

when i come back from picking avocados hope u got the tesponse

41. @ to the point
    Man sorry if you feel left out, not intended, on the contrary your name says it all.
    Fellows, let us call this one a win for the football side. From the time Onions came in with that talk bout the banana kick at presentation college wunna side was on the way to losing the argument.
    Why Onions don’t talk bout the time he got sent off for playing the fool…. 🙂

@ Enuff
    Cuddear man don’t let the side down talking about “5 football matches”. Some athletes train for a lifetime to play in a single competition – which may involve less than 5 matches.
    You watch the Olympics? Even school competitions may mean the world to an athlete.
    Not everyone is big-up like you with brand name goals you know! 🙂

42. @Miller
    just completed the task, i picked pears and bredfruits and took some for my neighbours. I did not put any in the st peter development fun, my bank account or the family first thing and how about that

43. bush

i just come out the bush with some fruits, wait yah think ac gun like this next bush amn like me that got so much bush in the back yard.

AC

anything on ax affair?

44. LOL@ To The Point
    As long as you keep close to the bush and share with your neighbors and watch out for old onions you will always be to the point.
    Bushie did some reaping this morning too…

45. @ David
    “You should not diminish the feeling which these boys on the block may engender in the knowledge that the government spending some money on them.”

You mean like they felt about Project Oasis including the females that were involved? I am not against spending on the ‘boys on the block’. Read my posts again.

46. @ To the point

“i will never deposit a cheque that was meant for the party in my bank account, sounds familiar”

Don’t go there, yuh, remember “Late Prime Minister David Thompson’s law firm received a whopping $3.3 million in legal and retainer fees from CLICO International Life Insurance Limited (CIL), but the fees were actually destined for former CLICO executive chairman Leroy Parris.”

In which category of lie, cheat or steal does this fall into?

The more things change, the more they remain the same.

47. @Enuff

We are on the same page here, the point politicos must grab is ‘same salt fish’.

48. !@art

money is often paid to the lawyer for the client, i received money from my lawyer that was paid into his account yah hear

49. Barbados needs a change in Government
    Everything points to it
    Owen wins/hands over the reins -mid-term
    Its a no brainer !

50. @ to the point
    Man stop trying to trick we.

BY TIM SLINGER | WED, FEBRUARY 22, 2012 – 12:10 PM
    Late Prime Minister David Thompson’s law firm received a whopping $3.3 million in legal and retainer fees from CLICO International Life Insurance Limited (CIL), but the fees were actually destined for former CLICO executive chairman Leroy Parris.

Unless LP is a lawyer your comment makes no sense.