Mara Thompson – DLP Candidate for St. John

At about 10.30 PM last night Mara Thompson was introduced to the Democratic Labour Party platform by long time family friend Hartley Henry. To the strains of Sister Sledge, We are Family, Mara was escorted to the podium by police amidst a throng of party supporters. Flanked by her three daughters and mother who flew in from St. Lucia for the special occasion Mara Thompson delivered a scripted maiden speech which was well received by the crowd.

Observing the enthusiastic crowd described by Prime Minister Stuart to number in the ‘dizzying thousands’, it became obvious to BU that there is a very special bond which exist between the Thompson family and the people of St. John. Even if Hudson Griffith had an outside chance of winning on January 20, that hope was erased by the embarrassing revelation he had to surrender his passport by order of the court of Barbados in 2006. It appears he was charged with assault. There was also the insinuation that he was involved in credit card fraud. Minister of Housing Michael Lashley promised to revealed more soon. Why would the Barbados Labour Party nominate someone of such ill repute becomes the question.

It should be obvious to all who were present at Gall Hill Mara Thompson is the real deal.

1. Have to agree with some who have voiced disappointment with the level of debate. People get what they deserve anyway.

The issue which enuff has raised that Mara is a St. Lucian, does it matter?

Should we have a person not born in Barbados elected as a member of parliament?

2. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

The Nation news report that Mia is going to speak on BLP Platform this week. Is this the beginning of the healing process?
    Interesting times are ahead. I hope PM Stuart don’t have to eat his words about not calling the snap elections.

3. Mara Thompson is a St.Lucian by birth.
    So what.
    This is 2011. Barbados claims to be an “educated” near “first world” country.
    Doan mine me doh cause whe I live de las governor general was born in Haiti but Canada is firs wirl ahready.

4. Bad looking suits & too tight clothes? I came here looking for a high level of discussion and clever repartee. oops. wrong place.

5. In one of today’s paper I see a full page ad from the BLP, with the note on the bottom advising it to be a paid ad. Then on the next page a full colour, full page ad from the UWI congratulating the DLP PM! No note that it is a paid ad. But who could have paid for that page? Surely not the UWI which which claims to be so desperately short of cash!

6. CCC. Your behaviour regarding clothing remind us of yesteryear’s behaviour at weddings where females line up by the church wall just to criticise what everybody wearing. Shame on you CCC. Let’s deal with issues at hand. How are we going to address the increase in crime especially the recent robbery at a businessman home. Did the reduction in PSV fees improved the reckless behaviour of drivers. The outrageous increase in passport fees ranging from $175 to $300. The buffer to assist those workers who’s take-home package will be substantially reduced, notwithstanding the increases in bus fares, gasoline, groceries and the killer of them all – the fees related to medication from pharmacies. Will the Polyclinics or the Hospital pharmacies able to deal with the influx of prescriptions from patients? I respect Mara and the sincere substance within her maiden speech, but will the other speakers get back to the drawing board and deal with the many issues because after Mara’s win……WHAT’S NEXT!!!!!

7. Here is the BLP PAID AD which has been edited with the word on the right and posted on Facebook.

8. The two candidates in this by-election (in my honest opinion) have offered very little to nothing to the people of St.John and to Barbados. All this talk about St.John being under-developed and poor is baffling to me.

St.John is a rural parish. It is one of the bread basket parishes of Barbados supplying not only sugar and other foods but a significant portion of our water from Bowmanston. St.John possesses one of the most attractive landscapes in Barbados with Hackelton’s Cliff being one of the most stunning vistas on this island. Bath beach is a traditional picnic area for Barbadians. The people of St.John are as educated, entrepreneurial and creative as all other Barbadians. In the light of the above, I would have thought that any candidate for election to the House of Assembly would state their position on:

(i) environmental management,

(ii) agricultural transformation and diversification including agro-processing,

(iii) protection and management of areas of exceptional beauty and recreational potential for the benefit of all Barbadians,

(iv) maintenance and installation of social amenities such as post offices, police stations, yes clinics, playing fields, schools, fire stations etc.

I will stop here but leave readers with what I fear may be a rather large ‘fly in the ointment’. It is CLICO. This troubled company is probably the single largest land holder in St.John.

Thus will St.John be properly managed in a sustainable, integrated and democratic fashion or will it be paved over and sold out to whom-so-ever in the name of some nebulus “development” plan?

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Tell me Why

Take a hike.
    Why don’t you comment on the BLP’s childish and desperate ad on page 2a of today’s Nation Newspaper?

10. @ Ping Pong
    Those issues you raised are developmental, and there you have confirmed that the parish is under-developed or you prefer ‘under-utilised’?

@ Hants
    I have no issue with Mara being St. Lucian and an MP, it is the double standards regarding the issue of ‘foreigners’ that I abhor.

@CCC
    Plaid shirts are actually popular right now, just walk down Swan Street. Again you showing your ignorance.

11. @Verity,
    The water on your brain does not allow you to think clearly, so I understand.

I am neither for b or d, I am for this country of Barbados which I desire to bequeath to my children and my children’s children. A country which I see is being over taken by other ethnic groups, I see an escalation of crime, and a type of crime that is so unfamiliar to us.

I see businesses and properties being bought by other groups and wonder if one day I will wake up and find that Barbados no longer belongs to us as Barrow said.

I see a higher cost a living and all sorts of ignorant excuses for it, while poor people suffering, I see water and lights rate increase while the promises made went out through the door. I see thieving politicians lining their pockets while ordinary people find it hard to make ends meet.

This is not about any party, this is about the survival of a people who seems on the verge of being ‘penned’ in either by all our coastal or large pieced of lands being taken up by those with big money, or downtrodden by a justice system that spews out one law for poor blacks and another for Bjerkhamn.

This is about JUSTICE FOR ALL BARBADIANS.

@Charlie
    I agree with you about Kenny Best, the man is the most ‘igrunt’ politician i have ever heard in parliament. Somebody needs to give him a few lessons in the English language, how to reason, and when reasoning one must compare like with like.

Charlie i hope you ding vote fah he. LOL

12. Most of the time Bajans complain , and complain. Here is an opportunity for all in volved to personnally get into the faces of those who are seeking high office in this election and demand of them real answer. The people of St. John should not be hoodwinked into thinking that because a certain party or individual has been able to dictate to them fo x number of years that it should be easy pickings for the candidate to win. This election should be about the parish of ST. John and the serious neglect given to them over the years by both parties. Stop listening to both candidates and start asking the hard questions. Also look around and ask yourself Does anybody really care. Let the part and the candidates fight among themselves while the people diligently seekthe truth. St , John you have been taken for granted . Now it is time to say ENOUGH is ENOUGH! we will take matters into our own hands

13. David then you would be victimizing the former pm. So maybe the statement should be Not born in Barbados or barbadian parent(s).

14. No Queen for me, thanks Avatar
    No Queen for me, thanks

@David,
    Showing your deeply partisan stripes again I see.
    why not show us the BLP Queen ad as well as the DLP reply?
    I for one agree with the sentiment of the ad. Hereditry priviledge has no place in a modern democracy. Mara is a candidate not a queen, and an inexperienced one at that… she is touchable just as much as the ten thousand dollar man, Lashley attacking Hudson is fair game.
    How much has she and her first family profited from Clico while depositors lose their life savings?

15. Enuff

It appears to me that when politicians and by extension the public use the word “development”, it is in the sense of attaining an urban character and infrastructure. Would it be desirable to subdivide St.John into a large number of housing areas similar to say Kingsland or West Terrace or Emerald Park? What would be the impact on the water supply, agricultural output, etc?

I do not think that St.John is under-developed or under-utilised. I think the parish is under threat of the wrong kind of development. The proposed (?) development of Pickering in St. Lucy is a case in point.

16. @No Queen

Whether BU is partisan or not you and others are always afforded the right of reply. If you have the BLP image email it to us, our scanner is on the blink. It is why BU stated the image on FB had verbiage added to it.

17. St. John is about the most scenic parish on the island. The infrastructure has badly deteriorated over the years it is very difficult to traverse. A Touristic stop for many, the deplorable state of the roads leaves one looking for a road in the hole.
    My wish for the people of St. John is that they hold their representative accountable for the development of their parish. Whether it is the D’s or B’s , both parties have to accept some blame for the deplorable state of the roads. Barbadians must put country first and STOP IDOLIZING and DEIFYING POLITICIANS.

18. Fair And Balance
    Don’t hold your breath too long about healing in the BLP.
    The Nation newspaper quoted Mia Mottley in saying that Owen Arthur asked Dale Marshall to call her to get her to speak on the platform. Now what kind of healing is that if after three months and a new year and your leader cannot call one of his members one on one.
    Mia will have to speak because she still wants to lead the BLP and will have to be deceitful like Arthur and go and talk about all kinds of esoteric things that do not promote Owen Arthur as leading a good campaign.
    The BLP is missing the boat with that advertisement and has now loss even bigger.
    Suppose the DLP gets the police mug shot of Hudson Griffith and put it in the Nation with a screaming headline charge with assault and endangering life.
    You BLP supporters have a problem with honesty and decency.
    Every time someone tries to bring some level of honesty to politics you all say what it has to do with being a politician and that is why you should not be put back in government until some of the frauds are locked up.

19. simply anonymous Avatar
    simply anonymous

@Truthman Burton | January 8, 2011 at 5:34 PM |
    @KISSMYA | January 8, 2011 at 5:01 PM | I commented on it Burts !
    “… “Simply Obnoxious” and his/her ilk were the same ones that said the most awful things about Hon Owen Arthur when the great leader and his wife lost their new born baby.”

1. r u 2 idiots fa real. KISSMYA,u make me laugh – lol really, really loud. first thing. i am young, very young so yes, i may be obnoxious but NOT OLD, i am a sweet young thing and i can say what the hell i feel to. you had NO right bringing mara daughter into ur stupid debate
    2. @Truthman Burton. “yes, i am sweet mixed blood bajan female. when julie lost her baby, i cried. she’s a nice person. everything is not about politics. i think u over, over 40s should stay off these blogs. ur day has long since past. we showed that when we elected david thompson not the alcoholic and we will show it again when we elect mara not the other one… what’s his name? ur such silly, silly men or women lol and another thing, it is only old rats who went to the old school that believe they can call people dumb names and get somewhere with it – i think u 2 r heading down the path of senility. hahahahahahaha

20. from Nationnews,”Construction mogul Bjorn Bjerkhamn has fenced off a parcel of land he owns at Road View in St Peter, leaving six householders hemmed in.”

When is this kind a (insert multiple expletives) going to stop?

21. @Ping Pong | January 9, 2011 at 4:21 PM |

It appears to me that when politicians and by extension the public use the word “development”, it is in the sense of attaining an urban character and infrastructure. Would it be desirable to subdivide St.John into a large number of housing areas similar to say Kingsland or West Terrace or Emerald Park? What would be the impact on the water supply, agricultural output, etc?

I do not think that St.John is under-developed or under-utilised. I think the parish is under threat of the wrong kind of development. The proposed (?) development of Pickering in St. Lucy is a case in point.

=============================
    Very well said Ping Pong. I’m in total agreement with you.

22. @ Ping Pong

You have me lost!!

23. @islandgal246 | January 9, 2011 at 4:35 PM | St. John is about the most scenic parish on the island. The infrastructure has badly deteriorated over the years it is very difficult to traverse. A Touristic stop for many, the deplorable state of the roads leaves one looking for a road in the hole.
    My wish for the people of St. John is that they hold their representative accountable for the development of their parish. Whether it is the D’s or B’s , both parties have to accept some blame for the deplorable state of the roads. Barbadians must put country first and STOP IDOLIZING and DEIFYING POLITICIANS.
    ========================
    You are right on the money Islandgal246. Well said.

24. My development plan for St. John…this is just my two cents worth.

I would fix the roads pronto and the Health Clinic (the old name “Poly” has too many bad memories)

I would establish an eco friendly resort, consisting of Camping Grounds for persons who love the natural environment. These camp grounds will located on the pasture in Bath. Small cottages with sleeping and bathroom accommodations. Eating and dining areas will be communal. There will be hikes, horseback riding, donkey riding (if they are still available) fishing trips available for campers. There will also be a small market for fresh produce including fresh Milk straight from the cow. There will also be workshops on local cookery, pottery and dancercise. I would set up a fitness and wellness centre for the people and visitors. I would encourage a small Bed and Breakfast community offering accommodation to visitors and locals.

I would sell Villa Nova and start compensating the CLICO shareholders. I would encourage the new owners of Villa Nova to reopen and establish a medical Tourism Facility there. This will be available for International Medical professionals only. Why we don’t want our badly needed Doctors to be otherwise occupied.

I would encourage small family run restaurants to be established. Local fisher folk can benefit with an immediate market for their fish.

I would restore Codrington College and the grounds. We must not let our history and heritage crumble before our eyes. We must become the protectors for places like these.

I would encourage householders to beautify their surroundings and stress how important it is for their well being as well.

Give the people an opportunity where they can help develop and help themselves and their community.

25. @Islandgirl

That is what we are talking about.

26. No no Islandgirl, as an Atheist myself, I would not restore nah Codrington College, I would commandeer it and convert it to a technology based tertiary level educational institution that targets production oriented individuals from the entire region … ja ja!

27. @ BAFBFP | January 9, 2011 at 6:33 PM |

You must remember our history however inhumane it is is ours. It is up to us to use it to our advantage. It is obvious you might have forgotten that Christopher Codrington was one of the pioneers of Free Education. I agree, we can introduce courses like those you have mentioned for that institution and we can’t only be churning out priests alone from there.

28. BU family who wish to follow the DLP’s mass meeting tonight can join the live stream online at http://www.dlpbarbados.org/cms

I hope you will be enlightened and inspired.

(I may also provide immediate text updates if there are major developments)
    God Bless.

29. David I hope you don’t mind me providing a few updates along the way. I dont want to abuse your forum.

30. @loyal subject

Feel free and we invite the BLP people to do same.

31. Respect to you sir!

32. islandgal246

I am moved by your sincerity and desire to do the right thing by way of conservation and so on, but I must refuse your offer to join you in this process as I have absolutely no respect for anything Anglican… Sorry ma’am, and I did forget to mention the part about a plan to impale all of the remaining priests on said site. Please be reminded that though Codrington was one for free education, his plan was targeted at freed “people of colour” as indeed he had NO sympathy for my Great Great Grand parents who were in fact mere Slaves …

33. First time I’ve heard Senator Andre Worrell speak. Not a bad speaker, not great either. But getting quite a lot of crowd response.

He makes an interesting point. Will Mia only speak on the issues or will she openly endorse Hudson as well?

Is she simply coming to speak on the national issues to show up Owen?

34. The moke I think about it, I like how Mia has made herself a main attraction in this campaign. Her actions, for better or for worse, will probably mark the defining moment in the BLP campaign. Methinks Owen Arthur has been outfoxed by Mia. She has put herself in a win-win situation.

35. Chairperson Irene Sandiford-Garner mentions that there are 2 Marshalls canvassing in St. Joseph.

So will it be Rommell Marshall (Mia Bee?) vs Dale Marshall (Owen Bee) in Grantley Adams’ former seat come next election?

36. The moke I think about it, what I see from the streaming link is a number of loud mont’ people doing only what is necessary to appeal to the lowest common denominator… nothing more. These political parties have out lived their usefulness … long time …!

One of them just said that “Democracy is at at the helm of everything we stand for” … My God man, Democracy killin’ we …!

37. Stephen Lashley is picking up on something Andre Worrell mentioned and really driving it home – don’t be compalcent and stay home, come out in your droves and vote for Mara because if the Bees get so much as 1 more vote than last time around they will walk about and brag like they won something.

Maasive crowd reaction to the mention of the three BLP men eating roast breadfruit in the paper. What comedy. Murdah!

38. Lashley comments on the BLP’s full page ad about Mara, after Owen promised the BLP would have a clean campaign. Tells the people to punish the BLP and Owen for insulting Mara, David Thompson and the rest of the DLP.

39. So basically the same old, same old @ the mass meeting.

40. Oh gosh man, Irene just do an imitation of Hudson Griffith that nearly give me a stroke. “I gine build roads” (swinging he body leff) “I gine build houses” (swinging he body right). Murdah! Cuddear don’t do him so.

Irene, my Queen, you looking nice and rosy and smiling so lovely. Mwah!

41. Anthony the same old same old is at the BLP meeting, with Owen Arthur Extra Old. Haha

42. My dear sir. You have not mention one point at all at which they would use to improve st john with the win so i say again same old same old.

43. The manifesto will be set out by the candidate, no? Isn’t that how it’s usually done? She hasn’t spoken yet.

44. PS. Dont be so humourless.

45. John Boyce, Transp Min, is listing the roads done, in progress, and to be done in St. John.

46. Ahh finally something worth listening too.

47. We are family, get up everybody and sing, la la la

48. Irene quotes the Chairman of the hospital board: “I will fire you today and give you communion tomorrow!” Hmmm. Interesting.

49. http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/another-massive-crowd-for-mara/

Another massive crowd for Mara
    printshare0 comments Sun, January 09, 2011 – 8:30 PM

Once again the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) has another massive turnout in St John tonight, this time in the village of Sherbourne.

The ruling party continues its campaigning, supporting Mara Thompson, the DLP candidate in the St John by-election.

There was a rousing welcome by chairman Irene Sandiford Garner ahead of several speakers for the night.

50. Random Thoughts Avatar

David | January 8, 2011 at 12:43 PM | @Kissmya…You are about to cross a line, leave the children out of the conversation.”

But David the oldest child is not a child.

She is as we say in Barbados a hard backed woman.