Mara Thompson – DLP Candidate for St. John

At about 10.30 PM last night Mara Thompson was introduced to the Democratic Labour Party platform by long time family friend Hartley Henry. To the strains of Sister Sledge, We are Family, Mara was escorted to the podium by police amidst a throng of party supporters. Flanked by her three daughters and mother who flew in from St. Lucia for the special occasion Mara Thompson delivered a scripted maiden speech which was well received by the crowd.

Observing the enthusiastic crowd described by Prime Minister Stuart to number in the โ€˜dizzying thousandsโ€™, it became obvious to BU that there is a very special bond which exist between the Thompson family and the people of St. John. Even if Hudson Griffith had an outside chance of winning on January 20, that hope was erased by the embarrassing revelation he had to surrender his passport by order of the court of Barbados in 2006. It appears he was charged with assault. There was also the insinuation that he was involved in credit card fraud. Minister of Housing Michael Lashley promised to revealed more soon. Why would the Barbados Labour Party nominate someone of such ill repute becomes the question.

It should be obvious to all who were present at Gall Hill Mara Thompson is the real deal.

1. I , would like to know who has the superior candidate now . Case, chapter,and verse close down Owen. Mara delivered her self with a masterful speech, with so much confidence, class, and style that David surely must be well please with her. Owen what are you going to do with Griffith?The Dems say they have more to reveal about Griffith.Cat piss and pepper Owen.

2. Wishing In Vain Avatar

The entire evening was one of sincere warmth and love and Mara Thompson delivered herself to people of St. John with classic style and class.

You ask why Griffith ? It is more a refelection of their lack of respect for the voters of St John and mores over the voters of Barbados a callus disrespect for what is right and proper and what is just not done.

I dare say to have given the woman bearer Kerrie Symmonds a shot up there as bad as a woman beater that he is he is still slightly better than this crook and fraudster Griffith, someone charged with fraud and assault, what do they belief the people want in a representative in Parliament another crook to add to Owing, Gail Marshall, George Pain, Wuk for Wuk and Mottley ?
    The people of St John will scorn them for tryin to cast a fraud and someone who has committed assault.

Let the people of StJohn speak loud and clear on the 20 th of Jan2011.

3. Yes the slagging off & the dirt slinging has started. The race is on & may the best “Man” win.
    We will leave it until Mr Lashley comes back to give the public an update on the alleged assault & credit card fraud.
    The BLP is only getting a dose of their own medicine, as they are the ones who are very popular with the mud slinging & evidence of so & so. They need to get their act together, stop fighting among themselves & get this party started.
    They need new blood & new ideas. They need to act like an opposition & start giving the DLP a run for it’s money.
    Mara’s campaigning strategy will be subtle & aimed at the family, as this is how she was best portrayed. Others like Lashley will bring up the rear with the mud, goo & gore.
    We all watch as each man play their hand in this game.

4. Can w get an update on the BLP meeting?

Wither Mia Mottley?

5. You have heard the term ruling from the grave, this is a prime example. I have nothing against Mrs Thompson but I find this rather disturbing. It appears that the late PM was a master manipulator. It is very difficult to deny a dying man his wishes. But to put that burden on his wife and family is very selfish by putting โ€œfamily firstโ€ in St. John. This sends warning bells to the rest of Barbados. It is clear that this is the foundation of a dynasty. Dynasties have no place in Barbados politics. The resurrection has begun!

6. While Mara can confidently declare to St. John ‘Here I am’, poor Mia must be saying ‘Don’t look for me’. I hope Owen can deal with the ugly fall out from this likely election loss. Divided Opposition equals weak democracy, oh dear.

7. Islandgal, you should really rename yourself Cavegirl because your “Mara, stay home and press the children school clothes” argument belongs in the stone ages. You need to crawl out from under your rock into 2011. Seriously.

8. Put families first beginning with my Family – That should be Mara’s theme.

9. Carson C. cadogan Avatar
    Carson C. cadogan

Remember I said:-

“Get over it. The people of St. John called for David Thompson and now they are calling for Mrs. David Thompson”

“she will be the candidate and she will go on to win handsomely.”

“Look who the BLP is offering to the people of ST. John, A JOKE!”

10. Does anyone know if either of the parties will provide live audio/video streams of the political mass meetings via the Internet? I’m not currently in Barbados, but I would like to listen in on the proceedings, if possible…

11. Check it out
    You are being very disingenuous.
    She said her daughters were fully behind her decision to run for the seat. Put yourself in her shoes and you would have done the same thing. It is no lie that she walked the streets of St.John for a long time campaigning for her husband. She took the natural decision to formalize something she was doing for a long time, which is looking after the needs of the St.John people in his absence.
    Now letโ€™s look at your candidate. Is it true that he was before the courts for assault and his travel documents have be confiscated?
    That would be very irresponsible of your party for foisting on the women and families of St.John a person whose character is not very good.

12. It seems to be all over for the BLP’s candidate bar the counting. But some questions need to be asked on how the BLP got to this sorry pass, assuming that the info above on the candidate is true.

Were no background checks done?
    Did these revelations come out of the blue for the BLP after the nomination?
    Should OSA gingerly distance himself from the candidate or should he push on?
    Is Mia’s “scorched earth” policy re. OSA and the gang of 4 likely to pay real dividends 2 years from now or 7 years from now?

In the meantime it is quite ironic that the man who is the one most under a cloud in the current administration (there are several others) should be the person bringing out these allegations.
    There are some proverbs related to setting of crooks that might be apropos here.

13. Charlie; I did’nt see your post above before I posted mine.

However, to respond to the questions raised. “Put families first” is the DLP faux slogan. I merely added the “beginning with my family” to put the bye-election firmly within the context of that slogan.
    It is more than likely that David Thompson did indeed will the seat to Mara on his deathbed. Therefore he was setting up a first family of “the Thompsons”. The amended slogan for the by-election tries to put this into perspective. It is of lesser relevance to the General Barbados situation at present but may become so if moves are made to further elevate Mrs Thompson.

I think I answered the last part of your question in my post above. But I agree that, if Owen ARthur knew of the allegations before Nomination day and did nothing about it, it would have been, not only showing bad taste and being disrespectful to the people of St John but Totally Stupid. Owen Arthur is not stupid so I choose to believe that he did’nt know beforehand. What will be revelatory will be his and the party’s reaction to the story. Will they defend the candidate or quietly back away?

In any case, providence does not seem to be smiling at the BLP at this time.

14. It was the people’s choice , Islandgal 246 , as it will be whether another Thompson follows Mara . Given your stance we all understand your concern . Be at rest my dear , for we do things differently in George Street . St Micheal South Central elected Larry Mayers . The general council selected Richard Sealy but mutual concurrence paved the way for smooth sailing . Hey Islandgal246 ,did you get a chance to check out your girl Maria Agard ? She spoke of putting women first and had the nerve to mention Mia . I guess de bees aint easy .

15. Charlie. I forgot to add above. I have no party. Neither B nor D. Both of them are heavily populated with persons who really have little interest in the people they serve and are in it for self aggrandisement, irrespective of what they say.

The current BLP aspirant for the St John seat seems (if the allegations are correct) to be just slightly off the norm for politicians in general. I don’t think Mara (She presents as an honourable, good, hard working woman) fits into that mould. But I think that she could have rested on her laurels of service to St John and let someone else carry the fray for now. But other considerations, headed by loyalty to the wishes of her Husband, held sway.

16. This is a process that does NOTHING for the furtherance of the process of development for St. John or Barbados. Neither candidate has any special to add to the policy makers. What you dear friends are witnessing is the securing of a seat for a political party and not the securing of the future of a constituency or a country.

Its a whole lot of bull.

My only interest to be blunt, is the wife of the BLP candidate… WOW …! All I gotta do is sit back and wait for all the mud slinging to kick in and see what kind ah fall out, or falling out gun result …. WOW!

17. Now where did the BLP and DLP get all this money to campaign the way that they are …? Who supplying all this money, and for what ?

18. So much for Stuart’s comment of a clean campaign.Did we really believe that? Be careful what you start you may find the shoe very,very,uncomfortable to wear!!

19. I agree with BAFBP. This is nothing but a distraction from the hard times that are upon us. Since when did one seat matter so much to a people afflicted with economic worries?

By the way, is not there a claim of assault with a deadly weapon against a sitting MP? What happened to that? Should it not go to court and the magistrate take his passport?

20. Is there a difference between an allegation against a person and if a matter was processed in the court?

21. Not really, if the allegation is not tested in court because of a technicality. Was Griffith convicted?

22. @ David

Aren’t you just “splitting hairs” now? ๐Ÿ™‚

23. What about Kenny Best. Ask him about trinidad and when last he went there.

24. It’s wishful thinking that the BLP candidate will win this by-eletion. Reason being the DLP candidate who is the wife of the late Prime Minister would be returned because of the smypathy vote. I am wondering why if the late Prime Minister, who represented St John for so many years(lived in St Philip) did so much for the parish, as claimed by many, are the people of St John now looking for her to put things right

25. @de hood

How is it splitting hairs to separate what is an allegation and a charge, one which resulted in the confiscation of a passport?

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Over at Barbados Free Press they are saying that Hudson needs a new suit, he looks frumpy.

I wonder if his suit came from the Salvation Army thrift shop?

27. @ CCC

Tell us, CCC, where did your suit come from? At least he would have it obtained honestly and not sell his soul to fly to USA on company jet to buy it in Miami or New York!
    You see, CCC, people who put cocoa out in the sun to dry should look fuh when de rain “set up”!

28. @ de therapist

Careful how you choosing your non de plume, Sir. If one was to separate the word therapist what would we be left with?
    “The Rapist” obviously!
    Anyhow, what’s the “line up” on Mr. Best? He get declared “persona non grata” by de Triniis or “a person of interest” in an “investigation” in T&T?

29. @ David
    What is the difference between “a charge” before the court and “a charge” before the Privileges Committee in Parliament?
    Isn’t it still recognised in Barbados that one in INNOCENT until PROVEN guilty by a jury of one’s peers? Note I wrote “peers” not “pears”. ๐Ÿ™‚

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I hope that the Owen Arthur faction of the Barbados Labour Party are taking note of how many women are in the pictures in the newspaper supporting Mrs. David Thompson.

These are the same women who will whip the Owen Arthur faction of the BLP come next general elections.

31. David, a charge is an allegation, nothing more.

32. @ CCC
    Check up on your social etiquette. The woman should no longer be referred to as “Mrs. David Thompson”. The man, her husband, long dead and gone. She should rightly be referred to as the “Widow Thompson” or “Mrs. Mara Thompson”. Capiche?

33. @ de hood you sound like you have a tree branch stuck up your arse mate this is a blog not a bloddy wedding invitation from buckingham palace the man can call her mrs david thompson we all know what he means and i doubt the lady herself would take offence capiche?

34. This is why these blogs are so dangerous.A statement is made. None of you have any facts or know anything about these comments yet all are running around arguing and sounding as if what was said was the gospel truth.This is how rummers in Barbados fly and end up destroying peoples character.Does anyone know anything about the backgroung of the DLP candidate.Maybe some investigations should be conducted in St Lucia to see who she really is .All we know is that she married David Thompson.

35. Oh yes! What a difference a week makes.

@Liberal
    Where were you last week when BLP operatives like Random Thoughts, Anonus, Fran, Jenny M, and others were wucking up in the streets celebrating the baseless character assassination on this blog over the QEH issue? I wish I had heard you supporting my call for evidence and facts over rumour mongering and character assassination then.

By taking a dig at Mrs. Thompson I can tell you don’t really care about TRUTH, you’re just upset that your guy is on the receiving end with the UNSUBSTANTIATED talk about credit card fraud.

Demand TRUTH for everyone not just your BLP people. Otherwise I don’t want to hear you pontificating about TRUTH.

In the name of veracity,
    VERITY

36. Liberal
    Is a rummer the same thing as a rummy? Lol murdah

Verity
    When HH said last night that FUMBLE was guiding the ship (of state) from the STERN, was that a FUMBLE, OR WAS HE TELLING THE TRUTH?

37. @Leroy Payne | January 7, 2011 at 10:57 AM |
    RE Itโ€™s wishful thinking that the BLP candidate will win this by-eletion. Reason being the DLP candidate who is the wife of the late Prime Minister would be returned because of the smypathy vote.
    THOSE TWO STATEMENTS ARE STEEPED IN VERACITY.

I am wondering why if the late Prime Minister, who represented St John for so many years(lived in St Philip) did so much for the parish, as claimed by many, are the people of St John now looking for her to put things right

MANY ARE WONDERING THE SAME THING.LOL

BAFBFP | January 7, 2011 at 9:32 AM |
    This is a process that does NOTHING for the furtherance of the process of development for St. John or Barbados. Neither candidate has any special to add to the policy makers. What you dear friends are witnessing is the securing of a seat for a political party and not the securing of the future of a constituency or a country. Its a whole lot of bull.

THOSE STATEMENTS ARE STEEPED IN VERACITY. THEY ARE VERITIES LOL

@ Checkit-out | January 7, 2011 at 8:54 AM |
    RE I forgot to add above. I have no party. Neither B nor D. Both of them are heavily populated with persons who really have little interest in the people they serve and are in it for self aggrandisement, irrespective of what they say.
    THIS IS MORE VERITY AND VERACITY

RE. It is of lesser relevance to the General Barbados situation at present but may become so if moves are made to further elevate Mrs Thompson.

DO YOU THINK SUCH ELEVATION[S] HAS/HAVE ALREADY BEEN WILLED TOO? Is IT A VERACITY AND A VERITY THAT A DEAD MAN STILL LEADS THE DLP. AND THIS IS THE REASON THAT PM FUMBLE IS FUMBLING FROM THE STERN OF THE SHIP OF STATE AS CLEARLY ARTICULATED BY FARTLEY LAST NIGHT?

THE NEW TEAM IS FARTLEY & FUMBLE!
    WAS THAT WILLED TOO? oH ME AM!

38. Interesting to listen to PM Stuart last night explaining why he could not in good conscience have called an early general election. He believed it would have been taking advantage of Barbadians in their moment of grief.

Is the PM being simplistic? What about a political strategy of recognizing the challenge of managing in an austere environment and the need to grab the opportunities as they come.

39. @ Checkit-out | January 7, 2011 at 8:28 AM |
    It seems to be all over for the BLPโ€™s candidate bar the counting. But some questions need to be asked on how the BLP got to this sorry pass, assuming that the info above on the candidate is true.
    Were no background checks done?
    Did these revelations come out of the blue for the BLP after the nomination?
    Should OSA gingerly distance himself from the candidate or should he push on?
    Is Miaโ€™s โ€œscorched earthโ€ policy re. OSA and the gang of 4 likely to pay real dividends 2 years from now or 7 years from now?

You have asked some good questions.
    May I ask you for fun โ€ฆโ€ฆwhy should OSA gingerly distance himself from the BLPโ€™s candidate, when FUMBLE has apparently endorsed all the nonsense that happened recently at the QEH RE DEXTER DOLORES DONVILLE & THE DIOTROPHETIC DUNCE?

40. dAVID
    You should ask if he is a simpleton?
    Five new years is better than an uncertain next two years.
    I agree with you.
    His argument had the charactewristics of a seive- cant carry water.

41. @ da costa | January 7, 2011 at 2:03 PM |

@ de hood you sound like you have a tree branch stuck up your arse mate this is a blog not a bloddy wedding invitation from buckingham palace the man can call her mrs david thompson we all know what he means and i doubt the lady herself would take offence capiche?
    Having a “tree branch stuck up my arse” is one thing but whose DICK do you have stuck in your throat!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Capiche!

42. And, btw, shouldn’t it be Sherwood Forest and not Buckingham Palace? ๐Ÿ™‚

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

de hood | January 7, 2011 at 4:45 PM

This is just another example of how common some BLP supporters can be.

No wonder you are BLP supporters, deprave, corrupt, nasty little people.

44. Divide and rule seems to be the name of the game in politics.Poor Hudson Griffith walked smack into a class door!Now then! It was obvious that Mara Thompson would have won the by election as will she win the General Election.I”ll hand it to her.. she can hold her own.David Thompson’s legacy has only just begun.They say behind every sucessful man there is a woman so like T.C say…Put a woman in front.Mia your moment will come again….just remember Alecia Keys.No one.You have thousands behind uou!!!

45. @ Carson C. Cadogan | January 7, 2011 at 5:53 PM |

de hood | January 7, 2011 at 4:45 PM

This is just another example of how common some BLP supporters can be.

No wonder you are BLP supporters, deprave, corrupt, nasty little people.
    Why didn’t you point that out to the DLP yardFOUL who started this up? Oh, I forgot, you only have eyes to read certain comments! Well if you wish to now open your eyes you will see who started this. I have done you the favour of copying it here below for your perusal! So have a read:-

****da costa | January 7, 2011 at 2:03 PM |

@ de hood you sound like you have a tree branch stuck up your arse mate this is a blog not a bloddy wedding invitation from buckingham palace the man can call her mrs david thompson we all know what he means and i doubt the lady herself would take offence capiche?*****

46. @CCC: “No wonder you are BLP supporters, deprave, corrupt, nasty little people.

Tribalism aside…

…what are the ***issues*** being debated during this by-election?

Might there be debate about important issues?

47. @ CCC

So tell us, CCC, since Davy ded all de free flying on company jets done for you and de rest? Or allyuh latch on to annedder “gravy train” e.g. the one that originates somewhere by de Warrens roundabout?

48. This blog reads like an Akfred Hitchcock Movie: Dead Man Rules from the Grave”

49. lord come fuh yuh world Avatar
    lord come fuh yuh world

Suss crise, somebody tell de hood he like he got a branch up in he ass and he aint deny it, in fact he reply with a smiley face and say he got a whole forest up insida dey. Shite man, de fellow really gone ‘cross in trute. Can’t drink soup and none of he arguments pon dis blog can’t hold water neida. Murda!

50. hoodie
    David dead right? So Tonto horse didnt get to go to he Christmas party this year. sob sob boo hoo for Tonto horse.