Mara Thompson – DLP Candidate for St. John

At about 10.30 PM last night Mara Thompson was introduced to the Democratic Labour Party platform by long time family friend Hartley Henry. To the strains of Sister Sledge, We are Family, Mara was escorted to the podium by police amidst a throng of party supporters. Flanked by her three daughters and mother who flew in from St. Lucia for the special occasion Mara Thompson delivered a scripted maiden speech which was well received by the crowd.

Observing the enthusiastic crowd described by Prime Minister Stuart to number in the โ€˜dizzying thousandsโ€™, it became obvious to BU that there is a very special bond which exist between the Thompson family and the people of St. John. Even if Hudson Griffith had an outside chance of winning on January 20, that hope was erased by the embarrassing revelation he had to surrender his passport by order of the court of Barbados in 2006. It appears he was charged with assault. There was also the insinuation that he was involved in credit card fraud. Minister of Housing Michael Lashley promised to revealed more soon. Why would the Barbados Labour Party nominate someone of such ill repute becomes the question.

It should be obvious to all who were present at Gall Hill Mara Thompson is the real deal.

1. @ lord come fuh yuh world | January 7, 2011 at 6:59 PM
    Thanks for you welcoming me to the club. Are you a “grandmaster”?
    You seem to know all about dis ‘crossin’ over bidness! However, I must humbly decline your invite at this time. Perhaps you can give me a bit more info on the mechanics involved and I’ll ponder on it! Good enough for you?

2. @ GP
    Hi Doc, good to see you still around for de New Year. Buh looka muh crosses doe, yuh see ah gettin invite tuh de “cross-over” club, what ever dat be? DEM fellas musse mad fuh virgins in DEM club but ah tinks ah is a bit too ol’ to be joining any club so dese days. DEM bess tek ah drive down by Pinfold Street and see wuh DEM could find down dey so. Wuh yuh say ,Doc?
    Btw, he ain’t only ded but he well planted long time ago. But I onderstannin’ DEM planning a “resurrection” come de 20th. Doan let DEM in on the “secret” that DEM is got a likkle longer tuh wait fuh dat tuh tek place. As you would say. . . .. . .MURRDAHH!!

3. Is there any truth to the supposed charges against the BLP candidate or was that a pile of bollocks?

Shame…Anyway has either candidate articulated any issues thus far?

@ GP:
    Do you ‘put on’ a BU persona or are you more or less ( in your ‘real life’) how you come across on this blog?..Just curious & not being facetious here

4. So its official. Hartley Henry practically said so. David Thompson himself started the process going for the development of the Thompson Dynasty. Anyone still questions the report of the deathbed wish? Anyone still questions his fixation on the prime ministership and his probable desire to bring it back to the family eventually?

As for the people of St John tipping the scales. That could have been easily orchestrated once the word was put out that it was the final wish of the maximum leader.

5. @ Checkit Out
    Do you remember the night when Sandi came on CBC TV talking to a dead man i.e de dead Dipper?
    Now David running the DLP from the grave.
    soon we will be called Zombiebados oy Duppybados

6. Some really funny posts on here – yu’all need to put on a comedy act.
    Oh forgot you already have its called the DLP ๐Ÿ˜‰

7. on the other hand OSA LOOKING LIKE A WALKING CADAVER

8. Carson C. cadogan Avatar
    Carson C. cadogan

Some people think that Bajans stupid.

All the time, crime rate is the lowest in the region, crime down, now that the St. John election has been called all of a sudden Darwin saying crime rate up.

Is he on the Barbados Labour Party election team? Is he their campaign manager.

Time for him to go home.

9. Georgie Porgie;

You wrote above “You have asked some good questions.
    May I ask you for fun โ€ฆโ€ฆwhy should OSA gingerly distance himself from the BLPโ€™s candidate, when FUMBLE has apparently endorsed all the nonsense that happened recently at the QEH RE DEXTER DOLORES DONVILLE & THE DIOTROPHETIC DUNCE?”

They are two quite different personalities. Owen Arthur acts while Freundel Stuart does’nt appear to do so until he absolutely can’t avoid doing something, and then it is often too late.

That Owen seems not to have reacted so far in regard to the “revelations” or allegations about the BLP candidate’s passport, and purported propensity for credit card irregularities, suggests to me that there is another side to the story and no strategic withdrawal might be necessary.

There are “rumours” of serious infelicities being carried out by several DLP ministers and top operatives. Freundel Stuart knows about most if not all of them yet nothing has been done so far and will probably never be done. Owen Arthur, on the other hand, moved a number of Ministers of his government for far less. David Thompson, similarly, summarily moved a couple of ministers for cause. He was also action oriented.

Re. the three D’s you mention above. Minister D should be warned that he should be careful to leave his door closed, and choose his words carefully, when bawling out operatives for indulging in certain actions that he himself ordered. Such incidents lend some verity to your take on the minister in the QEH debacle.

10. Carson C. cadogan Avatar
    Carson C. cadogan

This from over at BARBADOS FREE PRESS:-

“Skinning Cuffins
    January 7, 2011 at 9:59 pm
    This idiot Griffith is pure cannon fodder. I guest the BLP had to get some jackass to do the suicide mission. The suit is really horrible but not as horrible as that foolish look on his face and that huge mouth full of canine chompers.

Is it true he was adopted from Australia by his parents and that he is Aboriginal? If yes, what part of Australia is he from, is he part of the stolen generation?”

REAL HILARIOUS!

11. Thanks Check it out for your thoughts.

12. Wunna people is sumting else doh.
    What makes Hardly Henry’s word gospel?

The way I see it, Mrs. Thompson does not need the DLP nearly as much as the DLP need her because she could have easily won as an independent. The hierarchy of the party did not have the balls to face the ghost of Dave, so they allowed the misguided people of St. John to lead the party down a path that is not in the best interest of the party.

If wunna tink dat de rest o Barbados like St. John, then crapaud smoke wunna pipe. I dun seh I ent voting fuh none o wunna DEMs but wunna ears like duh hard or wunna feel that I mekking mock sport.
    Awrite , we gine soon seh.

13. @GP

Not saying PM Stuart is not entitled to making a decision as he saw fit but the reason he gave is highly suspect. In fact it means the Opposition can predict his actions.

14. We are on the same page here David.

Raw Bake
    re The hierarchy of the party did not have the balls to face the ghost of Dave,

Probably true, Sir!

15. Barbados Today reports Michael Lashleyโ€™s speech that suggests that Mr. Griffith is really charged with assault on Shurland Moore and his travel documents were confiscated by Magistrate Birch in 2007.He has to report to the police station every Monday and Friday by 9.30 am.
    I know it is only a charge and no trial has been carried out yet but why would you bring a man who is liable to be charged with assault to represent people.
    Do not bring any comparisons with persons who are already in the parliament, he is now starting and therefore should be of impeccable character.
    I think that in the process of ousting Mia they forgot to do a full check on his background.

16. You ever heard about innocent until proven guilty? Wuh wrong wid u?
    Now tell de people about de land down bath dat certain wives of certain men bought. Oh dem wuz only rumours.
    Michael Lashley should be the last body to point fingers at anybody.
    Background check my ass, if background checks were mandatory for aspiring politicians you think parliament would have in so many lawyers?
    Wunna people is something else fuh trute.

17. We really need to use some commonsense here. Who would nominate a person to run in an election if that person has a court matter pending? If we assume that the BLP knew about the matter why would they not proactively deal with it to obviate the political fodder that would be made of it?

18. Charlie; I read the Barbados Today report and your comments above appear eminently reasonable . However, it seems to me that we have heard only one side of the story so far. It also appears that the story was known before Michael Lashley came up with it last night at the DLP’s first mass meeting. Remember that one of the bloggers here made reference to the incident, obliquely and only understandably after the Lashley revelations, two days ago. If the poster knew, it is probable that the BLP hierarchy also knew about the alleged incident (note that the article indicates that on being further questioned, Mr Griffith referred the reporter to his campaign manager after suggesting that there was another side to the story). It therefore seems that the BLP hierarchy knew of the incident and apparently did not think it rose to the level of discarding the candidate. I suspect that they will let the St John electorate and all of us know soon what the other side is.

19. Truthman Burton Avatar

Everybody knows about this manifesto? It is authored by Freundel …… and he talking bout he was taught Latin and Classics etc. at Foundation , but never TREACHERY?

He displayed complete inertia when he was left in charge by Thompson, with full devolved authority. He DID ABSOLUTELY NOTHING for ALL those months Thompy was away on his sick bed. Things went wild bout here, and the ministers did as they liked …. EVEN DRAW GUN IN PARLIAMENT !

And Freundel using foolish analogy that as a guest in the house which the host left in his care, he couldn’t move around the furniture as soon as the man turn the corner! THAT WOULD BE TREACHERY HE SAYS!

Well Freundel, this following MANIFESTO of YOURS ON THOMPSON, is either TREACHERY OR THE TRUTH OR BOTH!

MAKE UP YOUR MIND FOR ONCE? DON’T KEEP “LEADING FROM THE STERN,” as Hartley says!

Freundel’s Manifesto against David Thompson and circulated by Freundel for the Presidency of The DLP in their landmark 50th Annual General Conference:

David Thompson for President of DLP in 2005

Delegates

The Decision is Yours

50th Annual Conference of The DLP

(1) From 1994 to 2001, David Thompson led the DLP; with a free hand to do as he saw fit. Did we not end up with the unusual act of the people of Barbados voting against the opposition in 1999?

(2) Where is the 1994 IMF Letter supposedly signed by Owen Arthur which was to be produced in Queen’s Park?

(3) Where is The St. John Development Plan?

(4) Why was there a mass exodus of several of the candidates who ran in both the 1994 and 1999 General Elections under the leadership of David Thompson?

(5) Why would a number of former candidates (who are still members) never want to take part in an election again under the leadership of David Thompson?

(6) Why was a BLP member Delisle Bradshaw (908 votes) presented to the DLP as a candidate instead of Undine Whittaker in St.Michael South East in 1999?

(7) Why was Patrick Todd not permitted to run in the City in 1999 as the preferred candidate?

(8) With all the supposed financial attraction in 1994 and 1999 why is the Party so highly indebted after these two general elections?

(9) By whom and why were the seats already lost by the DLP in the 1999 election later declared vacant?

(10) Why was our manifesto of 1999 distributed 48 hours before Polling Day of January 20th?

(11) Can anyone explain why the supposed most popular national figure as DLP leader save only two seats in the 99 General Election?

(12) What has transpired since the resignation of David Thompson; 6 weeks after the 2001 Annual Conference to encourage me or you to want the member for St. John to lead us anywhere at this time?

(13) What level of commitment has the member for St.John given to the Administration of The Party or support offered to the Parliamentary Group to justify support to become the President and Chairman of the Party at this time?

(14) Do we want to return to the days of INTERNAL HATE, INFIGHTING, BLOODLETTING, CURSING and RULING BY DIVISION?

(15) Can we expect a sudden resignation again from the post of President, if the member for St. John is not soon made the Leader of The Opposition by the other six sitting members in Parliament?

(16) Can we expect to ask for the support of the voters of Barbados, if we present to them a leader which they so clearly rejected in 1999?

THINK!!! Would you want the 17 candidates already selected replaced?

VOTE For Stability and Continuity
    VOTE Freundel First on August 21st
    Keep Freundel Stuart President of The DLP

Published By Those Dedicated To
    The Legacy of Barrow and The Future of The DLP
    and Barbados.

20. In parentheses the word rumours appears in your piece . This was followed by treatment usually reserved for factual imformation . Were it not for your bold proclamation (i have no party neither B nor D ) one could easily look past the zeal of your efforts . Checkit-out your style of composition suggests a sound education , and your insistence of impartiality certainly bodes well for a pick at The Barbados Nation . Like Albert Branford you have no party but a preference . Owen moved a number of his ministers for far less , and PM Stuart in his two minutes in office makes for fair comparison . When did he move minister Lynch ? Had he done so he would have sat through the duration of Brass-tacks -Sunday . Remove your rose-coloured glasses CHECKIT-OUT , and with the same zeal remind us about the $57,475.87 this man you want to canonize paid monthly to Phillip Goddard ,($15,444.34) Angela Walcott ($5,196.00) Keisha Ward ($2,706.41) Victor Hinkson ($1,000 ) Anthony Gabby Carter ($6,350.00 ) Trevor Marshall ($4,000) Mark Williams ($5,671.80) Mackie Holder ($7,708.04) Hammie La($6,400.00) Densil Agard ($3,000.00) . Now that is factual imformation well deserving of zeal of your type. Party or preference , your obvious slant suggests that you found favour with the officer who presided over the most corrupt administration in Barbadian Politics . CHECK THAT OUT ,Checkit-out .

21. Truthman Burton Avatar

Mr. F. Stuart
    Please let the People of Barbados, and especially the people of St.John know whether or not you received an answer from David Thompson in respect of question three (3) above before he died.

Did he ever produce for you, the dubious and elusive document called the St. John Development Plan? Did you ever get to see it and was anything in it ever implemented for the poor people of St.John? Or was it similarly imaginary like that IMF document also in your MANIFESTO at question No. 2 above?

Mara lied when she said that the BLP NEVER did anything for St.John, but tell us about this Development Plan that you yourself knew nothing about either, and you were so eager to know about when you published the manifesto above.

Fifty two years of representation by DLP parliamentarians, and nothing of significance to show for it! Wuh legacy wunnah talking bout?

22. Truthman Burton Avatar

@HAMILTON HILL | January 8, 2011 at 1:15 AM |
    ALIAS FARTLEY … SORRY …..HARTLEY.
    ” ……..and with the same zeal remind us about the $57,475.87 this man you want to canonize paid monthly to Phillip Goddard ,($15,444.34) Angela Walcott ($5,196.00) Keisha Ward ($2,706.41) Victor Hinkson ($1,000 ) Anthony Gabby Carter ($6,350.00 ) Trevor Marshall ($4,000) Mark Williams ($5,671.80) Mackie Holder ($7,708.04) Hammie La($6,400.00) Densil Agard ($3,000.00) . Now that is factual imformation well deserving of zeal of your type”

You made no mention of your $160,000 per year for three years, plus perks like free private jet rides and shopping trips bout the world, all for writing crap in the papers and manufacturing smart and nasty political lies for the dearly departed. How much Mara paying you now?

23. I was shocked to hear the Minister of Education Mr R Jones acknowledge that he is involved in the practice of the occult. He gleefully revealed that he “travels at night” and that he speaks to David Thompson. I know the nominations were done at the Lodge school but is the by-election (and the Government) being run by the lodge as well?

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFFTOPIC

I see that the son of TOM ADAMS is saying that we must not sell complete control of the Barbados Light and Power Company TO OVERSEAS INTERETS. He puts a very compelling argument why it must not be done.
    I am glad to see that I have the support of such an individual. He may well be the only sensible ADAMS.

I say do not listen to whatever the lying Barbados Light and Power Company management say unless they say not to sell the shares.

No doubt the management stands to make millions in bonuses if they can fool Barbadians into selling their birthright of shares in the in the power company.. I do not trust them.

HAVE SOME PRIDE IN THINGS BARBADOS, DO NOT SELL YOUR BARBADOS LIGHT AND POWER COMPANY SHARES!

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This EMERA scam must be a St. John election and a Barbados issue.

26. @ CCC
    Did you check with DLP headquarters before posting the above??? Are you sure the sale of shares in BL&P to Emera should be an election issue? This is very surprising coming from you; conflicting loyalties here?

27. @CCC you said ”I say do not listen to whatever the lying Barbados Light and Power Company management say unless they say not to sell the shares”

——–

What you are saying is that unless the BL&P Management say what you want them to say and not what they think best and that they should say, then you will not listen or agree with what they say, as you view is that everyone should agree with what you and you alone say.

Hilarious.

Then, @CCC ‘Emera scam’. What? Can the rest of us have some of what you appear to be imbibing?

Now, if you had said ‘maybe the Clico debacle should be a major part of the St.John election’, then I could see a point.

@General, why cant the parties not present a ‘home-grown’ St.John candidate, do they not think that St.John people have the intellectual capacity to represent in Parliament?

28. @Ping Pong | January 8, 2011 at 5:44 AM |
    ——
    Have I logged into the ‘twilight zone’ version of the BU this morning, is this true wha t you say?

That Jones claimed to travel and talk to Thompson?

Can anyone say fruitcake? I really wonder sometimes.

On your point of the lodge though…GOOD QUESTION!

29. @ Crusoe
    LOL, I was thinking the same : What is going on here today. Is CCC drunk, or is somebody else using his name? And what about Ronald Jones and talking to the dead???
    On another note, Rawdon Adams and his emergence last year is VERY interesting. From that time I heard certain rumblings…….
    Now even some DLP members seem to be in agreement with him.

30. @ Crusoe and Independent

Another gem from Mr R Jones, Minister of Education; on introducing the Minister of Labour Dr E Byer-Suckoo, he (Jones) declared that he wanted her to examine him but only from the waist down because everything from waist up was working well! Ah yes, this from the party that claims to respect women or is it that Jones was declaring that he is impotent?

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

CRUSOE
    “What you are saying is that unless the BL&P Management say what you want them to say and not what they think best”

What they think is “best” will be best for them personally but not for the country.

When they agree with me then the whole country will benefit.

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I think that the best advice that the Managenent of Barbados Light and Power Company can give at this time would be to EMERA, “TAKE YOUR OFFER AND STUFF IT WHERE THE SUN DOES NOT SHINE”

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Does the Managing Director of Barbados Light and Power company own shares in the company?
    And does the other members of Management own shares as well?

The country would like to know.

34. Not to nitpick but when Jones introduced PM Stuart it was a tad too informal and familiar for the occasion. He needs to curb his exuberance and be mindful of protocol, even on a political platform.

Same advice to Mara when she referred to PM Stuart as Fruendel but she is forgiven this one time.

35. David you would probably forgive Mara if a she were to commit murder.

Carson, I intend to sell my shares, don’t sell yours.

36. @sprat

Why do you think we stated:

Same advice to Mara when she referred to PM Stuart as Fruendel but she is forgiven this one time.

37. You missed my point. I am saying that you would forgive her again and again… for anything!

38. I think that Mara Thompson should be home minding she children and leave the St.John by election to a real politician . She said that she is not a politician.
    I feel for Dr. Leroy.
    Ah wonder what Dr. David is saying about this.
    Hartley Henry and the DLP are going down the wrong road.

She must take care what happen to she husband dont happen to Mara Thompson .

When I predicted what would happen to David Thompson on this blog, nobody listen

39. @spratt

Ok, did not know you were blessed with clairvoyance.

@Kissmya

Is Dr. Byer-Suckoo a politician?

What makes a person a politician anyway?

40. Mara needs to mind her children but from what I heard about the first girl and why they had to get she out of Barbados, (if it is true) – it seems that Mara needs to do a better job but how can she do it even though there is talk about Families first !! duh !!!!!

(if it is true)
    I would not repeat -it- because I dont know but —-
    well I will say no more !!!!!

41. @Kissmya

You are about to cross a line, leave the children out of the conversation.

42. Carson C. Cadogan | January 8, 2011 at 11:58 AM |
    At December 31, 2009:
    – Frank McConney, Director: 62,498 shares
    – Andrew Gittens, Director: 49,012 shares
    – Peter Williams, Director: 25,884 shares
    – Richard Edghill, Director: 3,000 shares
    – NIS: 3,979,388 shares
    – Sagicor Group: 1,322,238 shares

43. I dont know David !
    She said it —–
    not me
    She said that she is not a politician .

This cult worship thing is disturbing though !
    This Dy–nasty building is not good.
    Man appoints !!——————finish it,

David Thompson ?????

Everything happens for a reason.
    DLP synchophants might want certain things but they might not get what they want.
    They said they wanted to lower the cost of living too——–duh !!!!!

44. The only sensible Adams because he agrees with you ??

OH ! you are so full of shit !!!

45. It would be very unfortunate if the recommendation of the Board of Directors of Light & Power Holdings is to sell the shares at the current offer price of $25.70 to Emera. Having paid that amount for its initial, non-controlling interest, the share price, for additional shares to enable Emera to gain control, should really include a premium. The directors should seek an alternative offer, possibly from a consortium of Barbadian entities (NIS, Sagicor, Credit Unions, Sir Charles, Sir David, Sir Kyffin).

46. @Carson Cadogan
    I find that you are very simplistic and trivial. The suit that the man has on is not the issue, there are real issues to be discussed on either side. Make a relevant contribution to the debate and stop wasting people’s time.

@Charlie
    there are persons in Parliament who before elected were (in one case) about to be charged for molestation (that one went to the child care board) and (2) the other one had to run out of Trinidad.Then we have homosexuals, thieves, and adulterers walking the hallowed halls of our parliament. Wa check wa, dat is who we does elect to lead we parliament

47. Is there any truth that the person who Minister Lashley referred as having been charged in 2006 is a person of the same with the same name as the BLP candidate?

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

KISSMYA

“Hartley Henry and the DLP are going down the wrong road.”

Once this statement comes from you I know that they must be doing everything right.

Thanks for the endorsement!

49. TRUTHMAN BURTON !!!!!

You deserve a reward, a medal , national recognition.

Go to the top of the class for reproducing the ‘Manifesto.’

you made my year !!!!!!