Mara Thompson MP

The people of St. John in unprecedented fashion elected the wife of the late Prime Minister David Thompson to represent them in parliament. It was an expected result in a DLP safe seat which should encourage caution by Democratic Labour Party (DLP) supporters. To demonstrate the overwhelming support for Mara Thompson, she benefitted from a 5.5% swing in a recessionary economic climate by winning her seat 4,613 to Hudson Griffith’s 553 votes.  Bear in mind she did this in a rural parish which is described as the poorest in Barbados.

Now that the final distraction of the by-election is over, independent Barbadians would urge the government to focus its full capacity to managing the economy of Barbados. Since the late Prime Minister announced his illness last year there is the belief by many that the country has lacked forthright management for the last six months.

Both parties have their internal fires flickering and we hope that as we turn the page the interest of Barbados is put first, at this time, above the petty political ambitions of a few. The dire economic situation confronting Barbados merits a level of sacrifice, patriotism and enterprise by all Barbadians. Managing the economy in a sluggish global environment will not be easy and it will call for extraordinary vision and leadership from our leaders. Given the adversarial nature of our Westminster-style politics one must expect the unexpected in the fickle political climate which currently exist in Barbados.

On behalf of the BU household we extend congratulations to Mara Thompson on her election. She has been given an overwhelming mandate by the people of St, John to represent them in the House of Assembly. Mara should remember that to whom much is given, much is expected.

180 responses to “Mara Thompson Succeeds Her Husband In St. John”

1. Sargeant re your post of Jan 22, 2011 at 8:47 PM;

You wrote;
    “What is a “typical party supporter”? If you are going to read into other people’s political affiliation perhaps I should say that you are also a “typical party supporter””

I beg to disagree somewhat. The typical party supporter, imo, tends to agree totally with everything his preferred party does or says.
    On reflection, perhaps I was wrong. You might not be a typical party supporter as you do hint in your posts some slight disagreement with some DLP stances.

You also wrote:
    “In any event whomever the DLP nominated is their business whether one disagrees with them or not but certainly we can’t argue with them because they won and that’s all that matters, there is no prize for second place.”

I partially agree with you. But even though they won I think anyone should be free to question the specific choice if it is reasonable to assume that another choice would also have won and if some reasonable questions could be asked about the modalities of the choice.

You also said;
    “It is not whether A or B would have been a better candidate but based on the DLP support in St. John anyone that they nominated would have been a better candidate.”

That’s precisely what I was arguing. There was certainly no real effort to give the other aspirants a chance to compete as the Scout has stated above.

You also said;
    “The discussion is still about your arguments that Thompson sought to establish a dynastic succession to an elected office which I called “unadulterated crap”, let me also add stupid and overreaching.”

I think I’ve conceded earlier in this thread that Dynasty was probably somewhat overreaching and substituted the idea that DT, Mara and HH seem to have been actively pursuing the setting up of a Thompson Family Seat in St John.

From your standpoint and many others it may well be unadulterated crap and stupid. But in my view we will have to wait a few years to see if Mara is succeeded by one of her children to definitively declare the idea as unadulterated crap and stupid.

But in any case, the first steps in establishing the Thompson Family Seat (St John) have begun whether you think the idea is unadulterated crap or not. It may be instructive to check out if any one of the DT-Mara children has shown early signs of being extraordinarily politically gifted and whether or not it was true that DT made an explicit Deathbed wish in that regard.

2. @ liberal
    Please read my comments before you throw yourself into a response.
    You wrote on Jan 22@ 2:12pm
    HUGH you contradict yourself when you say physical infrastructure is not the only way to measure development but yet refer to it as a means to measure Barrow’s success between 1961-76.

I wrote on Jan 21 @9:29pm
    From 1961 to 1976 the social and physical development that took place in Barbados was staggering,

You will notice I have included “SOCIAL” in my original comment. Now explain how is that contradictory.

3. BU has had feedback for awhile that Mia Mottley committed some reprehensible act which is the reason the gang of 5 were galvanized into action to take her out from the leadership. Why we have not given much credence to the story is the fact that it was not a unanimous decision by the BLP parliamentary group. Why would Eastmond and Forde stay with Mottley if she has committed a wrong?

4. Some of you seem detached from how ordinary Barbadians live and behave.
    The people of St.John support Errol Barrow’s party.
    Mara Thompson is competent to represent the people of st.John.

Let’s move on to the serious issues facing Barbados and forget the crap about deathbeds and dynastys.

It cold as shite across North America so expect nuff Tourists running from the cold and that should bring in much needed US and Canadian dollars.

5. As people continue to harp on about the St.John election, which was a foregone conclusion, as we all know that the DLP could have run ‘Ninja Man’ and won, there is something worth taking from it.

If a total of 5166 voted and the register is somewhere around 8000, that means that 2834 people did not vote.

Assuming that 500 are away working, another 300 could not make it for sickness etc, that leaves roughly 2000 would really could not be bothered.

While the incumbents must be happy with the win, as a whole the Government should worry ‘behind the scenese’.

That 2000 may not come out for a foregone election, but IF things get rough’er’, they will come out to vote against an incumbent Government if they are fed up enough.

Compunding that, ‘IF’ things get really tough, the DLP will lose a fraction of their own voters, say 20%. 4613 less 20% (potentially going to BLP) is roughly 4613- 1150 approx = 3463.

Adding both the DLP’s lost votes to BLP and the prior non voters ‘IF’ they were annoyed enough, to BLP , we get potential BLP maximum votes of 553 (from 2010) plus 2000 (previous non-voters) plus 1150 (abdicated from voting for DLP if things get worse or do not improve) = 3703 for BLP (If the voters are totally vexed).

Potential result BLP 3703 to DLP 3463 , if things do not pick up for next election.

So, maybe, just maybe the seat is not as safe as we all think??

We shall see in two years.

I do not think that too much should be read into the DLP victory at this time. Things can go either way in a general election.

6. I was in Barbados during the run-up to the by-election and followed the campaign with interest. I’m sure it has not escaped Mara Thompson that she is following in illustrious dynastical footsteps, eg Aung Sun, Bhutto and Gandhi. Getting elected to office is the easy bit, now she has to prove herself to the electorate (locally and nationally), but if she does then there’s no reason why history should not be repeated: Prime Minister of Barbados!

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Crusoe
    “I do not think that too much should be read into the DLP victory at this time.”

The crushing defeat of Hudson”wrinkle up polyester suit”Griffith and Owen”seethru”Arthur by Mara has so devastated you BLP jokers that you are hallucinating.

8. And yes Hugh,there was tremendous social development during Owens three terms in office,that cannot be denied.You seem to think only physical development occured.Some research will show this to be so.

9. @Carson,

I am definitely not a BLP-ite. If you read my previous postings you will see impartiality.

I have shown figures to support what I said. Your ‘crushing defeat’ could have been achieved, as I said, by ‘Ninja Man’ and you know it.

Errol Barrow has yet again, won his seat.

The last point that I did not mention, is that young teenagers who will be eighteen at the next election, havew no clue who Barrow was. So, the potential for losing the seat increases as time passes.

That said, dont listen to me, not at all. Just wait until the next eleciton.

Opposition partiesd do not win elections, Governments lose elections, that is a fact of life.

So Owen et all, could ham it up, party away but all that matters for the next election is whether people eat, sleep and work (not necessary for some) in comfort.

If they do not, then woe betide you.

Remember how fast they turn pon Sandi?

A word to the wise, that!

10. St. John is DLP country. Let’s face it! If you check the last bye-election in 1987 you will notice that David Thompson received more votes that Barrow did in the General Election a year before. Hutson Linton was soundly beaten, getting just a bit more than 500 votes. And he was better known than Hudson Griffith. It seems to suggest that you have to compare Bye-Election results and not not bye-Election with General Election as some are doing.

In a bye-Election the government can bring out all of its resources and galvanise all its support especially in a stronghold.

So let us get back to business and stop the blame game.
    The moral of all this is that St. John belongs to the Dems. Hudson Griffith should find something more constructive to do and the BLP should leave ST. John to the Dems. I do not think they should even run a candidate in St. John again.

Remember when the Dems first won in 1961 they did not contest all of the seats. It is statistically impossible for the Bees to win St. John for the next fifty years. They should save the effort and let Mara be Queen of St. John for life and then pass it on to her children because that is what the Dems want.

The Bees should take heart. It only takes 16 seats to win government. St. John is not one of those seats. Don’t live in a fool’s paradise.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Crusoe

“The last point that I did not mention, is that young teenagers who will be eighteen at the next election, havew no clue who Barrow was”

……but they know who David Thompson was and they know who Mara Thompson is.
    and they have parents and grandparents who know who Barrow was and they will make sure that they(children and grandchildren) know as well.

So what is your point again?

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

My advise to all you BLP clowns on this blog.

They is more where that came from. Just wait on the General elections.

So you jokers can rationalise all you want, a lot of you will die from heart attack when the results of the next General elections are revealed.

Another piece of advise, do not remove Owen”seethru”Arthur from leading the BLP.

13. @ Crusoe —— If only I knew how to make contact with you , I could get you a leading role in ” Laff It Off”.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You BLP people have things “down side up”.

15. @Adrian Hinds | January 21, 2011 at 10:12 AM | The non-election is finally over. A political neophyte (would have been such no matter the winner) heads to parliament to be bored out of her mind having to make meaningless speeches, while following the dictates of centralize power.
    The BLP stupidly sought to make this election a referendum on the DLP and lost big. The DLP will be equally as stupid to think that Mara’s results means that Barbadians are on board with their handling of the economy. I expect no clear winner in the next general election.
    —————————————-
    Probably the most sensible and realistic comment I’ve seen here regarding the by-election results.

16. @Hamilton Hill,

Sorry, but I am not an actor. But you know, there is a saying that ‘power corrupts and absolute power…’. What is evident is that even a bit of time in ;power, brings and arrogance and pomposity that is very unbecoming.

And I am sorely disappointed that it is already quite evident in some, after only three years.

At least it took the other group ten.

Very sad, I was one who hoped otherwise.

But..power…

17. I’m expecting that Hudson Griffith will do much better in the next general election than he did in the recent by-election.

For those who asked why did the BLP candidate do so poorly in the by-election, you should also ask yourself why wasn’t David Thompson able to do much for St. John in all the years that he represented the constituency. The answer is politics. Even if Hudson Griffith had won by some miracle, how much could he possibly get done for the parish with the DLP administration in office? Thinking swing-voters in St. John who are more concern about progress in St. John, either voted Mara or abstained, because they realized that Mara is the more logical choice at time. The next general election will be a different story from the standpoint that no one may be certain which party will win the election.

18. @Jenny M

Even though I agree with some of what you have said, I think you’re crazy to suggest that the BLP should not even run a candidate in St. John because it is DLP country. As the younger generations in St. John become more educated and sophisticated, more and more of them will become swing voters rather than being devoted to any one political party. I believe that sometime within the next 20 years the BLP will win St. John if they keep earnestly plugging away at it.

19. I beg to differ with the political analysts who are condemning tht BLP in this by election loss. I do not think the BLP seriously thought that they had a chance in hell. The St John electorate is like none other.

When David Thompson’s grave was being dug, you had some St John folk carrying away pieces of the rocks to put in their houses as momentos, so what do you expect from persons with that sort of mentality? I know some people who wash their shoes off with Dettol or Savlon after going into a grave yard and here you have people taking away rocks from a graveyard. They hero worshipped David Thompson, so it is quite obvious that they would vote overwhelming for his “grieving” widow.

Peter Wickham always think he is an authority on every thing. That is a foolish statement he made that the BLP should not have contested the election. He would have been the first to lambaste the BLP had they not run a candidate. The BLP has nothing of which to be ashamed. Let the people of St John stick with the Dems. It’s their democratic right.

There is surely going to be another by election soon in Christ Church East and here is where the BLP would have to be judged if they do not win back that seat. Notice that Dennis Lowe’s sickness is being staged managed just like DT’s.

I am sick and tired of certain DLP people on this blog going on about Owen Arthur and calling him “seethru”. Why is it alright for DLP MPs to be known rummies and they get away with it but this blogger continues to harp on Owen Arthur’s .

David Thompson was heavy drinker of Absolut vodka. One of the main causes of pancreatic cancer is heavy drinking. He was also a well known smoker, ask any police about the raid in St Lawrence Gap when DT stumbled out. So stop throwing stones, the DLP aint clean either. By the way, what has become of Kenny Best since his drinking binge in December?

I am glad Mara won, she should be able now that she is a public figure to explain Families First and its finances as DT has made it clear that it should really be called MY FAMILY FIRST.

Barbados does not know that the DLP campaign was run out of Families First account, every cheque was signed by DT. Perhaps the DLP bloggers can explain how comes a general election was run out of a “private” account. Who were the donors and how much was put in? You DLP bloggers should know since you know how much Owen got. By the way, this same Families First was the “brains” behind Vyxz Cartel and Movado last year. They waited until the Commissioner turned his back and permission was then given. Did you not see that the show was only cancelled after DT returned to the island.

Dems stop slinging mud, deal with the issues, the election has been won. Get back to dealing with CLICO, the high cost of living, stagnation in the economy, the high deficit, unemployment, crime and violence.

20. Someone mentioned that Rommel Marshall attacked Owen Arthur on Barbados Today and I went and read the article.

No one takes Rommel seriously anymore. His political life is over. He can go back to the NDP from whence he came.

Again, all these people who were part of Arthur’s politics of inclusion are now the very ones cutting his rear end, not true Bees.

He used to be a real lackie for Owen but Rommel is vexed with Owen because he Rommel tried to use his parents to abuse the returning national car policy and Owen jacked him up for what he did and I think he had to pay the applicable duties, so now he has an axe to grind. He also went into NIS and got on like a yardfowl and then had to apologise to the staff.

He has no credibility to try now represent anybody. Why did he not go back to his old constituency, dont these same people in St Michael West Central need his representation? What does he know about St Joseph? One thing I hate when dealing with the human nature is selfishness, deception and dishonesty.

He went into St James Central, could not win and now up in St Joseph to cause problems, he cannot be a true Bee. He takes selfishness to a new level. You Rommel should give up, you are the one who is no longer relevant.

21. @ Crusoe —If not here at BU, then at Barbados Free Press I made that same point in relation to the reasons your leader ( and I stress the point your leader ) gave for the removal of Mia . Read an earlier posting of yours and offer an explanation for the pronoun We. What strikes me as funny is the way YOU and a few others fight so valiantly to create distance from that” Great Party” , yet in your every posting you extol its wondrous virtues . To each its own , but I LOVE MINE , will call them out when I see fit , and sure don’t feel the need to hide .

22. @Appollo 13,
    What is wrong if people took rocks as a momento of David Thompson’s death and burial? That is normal behavior when yu are deeply attached to someone you love. But of course, when one is saturated with partisan politics, vision becomes blurred.

Also, has it ever occurred to you that these rocks might have good monetary value in the future?

23. Credit to BAJAN REPORTER
    ………………………………………
    “Barbados Labour Party’s new Public Relations initiative – Insult the Electorate?
    We are being told that the candidate only managed to canvass ¼ of the constituency, as a reason why he got substantially fewer votes, than the person who ran before him, got three years ago. Yet, the candidate said that he was all over St. John with the former BLP candidate and that as a contractor who was given contract by the former BLP candidate (then Chairman of the RDC) he did work all over the St. John Constituency.

Already you begin to realise that a campaign headed by Mia Mottley would have had a different tone and for sure, the BLP base there would not have had good reason to stay home, as they did.

The people who seem to be finding a devastating defeat, a very bitter pill to swallow, are now finding all types of excuses why they were so rejected – even by their base, who seemed turn off by a mud-slinging style of politics.

We are now hearing, what is clearly an attempt to blame Mia Mottley (yet another attack on women) even in circumstances where Section 63. (j) of the Barbados Labour Party’s Constitution is crystal clear on what should happen when there is no functioning branch in a particular constituency.

* Section 63. (j) Provides:

“Where a Constituency Branch is not functioning and there has been no meeting of that Constituency Branch for more than four months, the General Secretary shall, after consultation with the Vice Chairman with responsibility in which that Constituency falls, the last or current Chairman and/ or Secretary of that Constituency Branch convene a meeting of that Constituency Branch for the purpose of reactivating the Branch and holding of elections if necessary.”

The real question is: who is the Vice Chairman with responsibility for St. John? Secondly, who is the administrative head of the BLP? Note the circle at which the arrow points!

The St. John By-election was a real fiasco for the BLP. It is easily the first time in the history of electoral politics in any country in the world – where the arguments advanced by any opposition, were so outrageous, that the Opposition served as the chief canvasser for the government by causing people to vote for the candidate of the ruling party. Mara polled 4,613 voted whereas the Opposition got 276 vote fewer than it did three years ago and with a puny 9% of the total votes cast.

We are being told that the candidate only managed to canvass ¼ of the constituency, as a reason why he got substantially fewer votes, than the person who ran before him, got three years ago. Yet, the candidate said that he was all over St. John with the former BLP candidate and that as a contractor who was given contract by the former BLP candidate (then Chairman of the RDC) he did work all over the St. John Constituency.

When David Thompson was ill and dying, Mia Mottley treated him with dignity and respect and even called on the country to pray for him and at a time too when some in her party were telling her that she should call on him to resign. Here is the question for you: did Mia’s approach (kindness, humanity and compassion towards David Thompson) anger or please the people of St. John and Barbados?

Already you begin to realise that a campaign headed by Mia Mottley would have had a different tone and for sure, the BLP base there would not have had good reason to stay home, as they did.

The first words Mia Mottley uttered on the platform were to extend condolence to the people of St. John to whom Thompson meant a lot. Would that have angered the people of St. John? On the platform, Mia Mottley made it clear that she was not going to be part of any campaign to attack and pull down anybody. Would that have angered the people of St. John who like Mara Thompson?”

24. Just sharing
    Would any of the points mentioned have changed the results of the electorates of St John? Whoever ran against Mara Thompson in St. John was in for a serious whipping. The worry for both parties is the 3000 or so people who didn’t go to the polls. Mara has to live up to the expectations of the people in St. John or some MIGHT vote against her in the general.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Thanks to Owen”seethru”Arthur the BLP is a divided party that it does not know which way is up.

It ran a piss poor campaign.

26. If the Dems can come back after the sound whippings the BLP gave them in three general elections when at one point they only had two MPs with Thompson and Kellman not even sitting down next to each other, far less speaking to one another, then the BLP can come back too, no fears.

And by the way Owen is still with us, the rum aint kill he like the vodka killed DT.

If the Bees ran a poor campaign, then the Dems ran a stick campaign.

27. C C C
    I’m glad the BLP lost the last general elections because they had long before that lost their way. However, Owen had the perfect oppurtunity two years before to call a snap general elections and he would have won. It would also have gone down as the poorest voter attendance because there was only one party to vote for. The DLP was in total shambles over the fight between David and Mascoll with some of the now senior members of this government making some juvenile comments and even running on call-in programs and spreading out their dirty linen. Thank God Owen didn’t call elections then asonly God knows that by now the entire country might have been sold out. Therefore don’t jump and skip because that party now has it problems, unlike the DLP most of their linen would be clean indoors. I hope the DLP would take a page from their book when their turn comes again, their last big battle lasted over a decade.

28. Brother Scout,happy new year to you & your family.
    Brother Scout do you have ever have anything positive to say about the Democratic Labour Party? Negative,negative comments always come from your post.
    Brother Scout,you have not not convinced me that you are not a Barbados Labour Party member or supporter.
    Brother Scout for a change please post something positive about the Democratic Labour Party and its performance since assuming political power in Barbados.
    It seems that you are only waiting with bated breath for infighting & the collapse of this government for you to gloat and say that I told you so.

29. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d most certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle
    for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

30. Awesome! Its actually amazing post, I have got much clear idea concerning
    from this piece of writing.