Mara Thompson – DLP Candidate for St. John

At about 10.30 PM last night Mara Thompson was introduced to the Democratic Labour Party platform by long time family friend Hartley Henry. To the strains of Sister Sledge, We are Family, Mara was escorted to the podium by police amidst a throng of party supporters. Flanked by her three daughters and mother who flew in from St. Lucia for the special occasion Mara Thompson delivered a scripted maiden speech which was well received by the crowd.

Observing the enthusiastic crowd described by Prime Minister Stuart to number in the ‘dizzying thousands’, it became obvious to BU that there is a very special bond which exist between the Thompson family and the people of St. John. Even if Hudson Griffith had an outside chance of winning on January 20, that hope was erased by the embarrassing revelation he had to surrender his passport by order of the court of Barbados in 2006. It appears he was charged with assault. There was also the insinuation that he was involved in credit card fraud. Minister of Housing Michael Lashley promised to revealed more soon. Why would the Barbados Labour Party nominate someone of such ill repute becomes the question.

It should be obvious to all who were present at Gall Hill Mara Thompson is the real deal.

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

A. Freeman

Frank McConney, Director: 62,498 shares
    – Andrew Gittens, Director: 49,012 shares
    – Peter Williams, Director: 25,884 shares
    – Richard Edghill, Director: 3,000 shares

I had a feeling so. Once they get their windfall from the sale of their shares and whatever MILLION dollar bonus that EMERA promise them if they can pull it off, soon after that you will hear that they all retired and are laughing all the way to the Bank.

Tell me again CRUSOE, “what they think best”. BUT FOR WHOM?

2. Thanks for the warning David.
    I am well behaved.

I mentioned the children in the context of Mara’s role as parent
    Nothing about the children and trust me I will not go down that road.
    Let me assure you that there is nothing at stake for me personally in this election or any other.
    I call things as I see them and when I see one sided comments , I have to add some meat to the otherside of the scale in order to bring -balance.

This is the only reason I come here to this blog.
    I am a member of NO PARTY
    I love the short man because his heart is in the right place as opposed to ‘those’ who do what they know should be done to win a seat but are not genuine !–just good at creating impressions and fooling people.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

just observing

“there are real issues to be discussed”

The biggest issue is Hudson’s SALVATION ARMY THRIFT SHOP suit.

4. CCC:

You really have no respect for St John, if the only thing you can think of is a man’s suit.

I am sure that the people of St. John would like ANYBODY to take them seriously and help them upgrade their community.

5. Only if people would learn to ignore CCC’s stupid comments he would realize that he needs to post something worthwhile for others to engage him.

6. simply anonymous Avatar
    simply anonymous

every candidate who runs for elections has a family. none is ever alone. obama became president with his 2 kids and wife. what’s the big deal with mara running for st. john? she’s a woman, a mother and soon the representative for st. john. it will be a more taxing job than the one she previously held but so what? when esther byer- soukoo ran and won for st. george north. why did u not cry out then? she would make a great representative.

7. simply anonymous Avatar
    simply anonymous

@KISSMYA | January 8, 2011 at 12:40 PM |

u r a disgrace to involved the thompson’s daughter in your debate. she probably a teenager on becoming a women. even if there was a reason (and i’m sure there’s none) why they had to get her out of Barbados so what? u probably did worse when u were her age but ur family was never in the limelight. only immature adults would use such tactics such as yours to cascade over sensible debates

8. Truthman Burton Sir , please be assured that the name Hamilton Hill is no pseudonym . Hartley hails from St.George . Miles away from where “the faithful few from Quakers ” reside. My courage of conviction does not allow me to hide behind any fictitious name ,for example…… Checkit-out , for I see no shame associated with the pronouncement I AM A DEM .When naked opportunism breathed the breath of life into the lungs of the politically infirmed , gave voice to one who was not heard in better than six years , and then provided fuel for the vehicle of usurpation that made a mockery of the democratic process upon which “Little Bim ” is hinged , yet supporters such as yourself and the undercover Checkit-out feel the need to wave your flag , why would I need to hide ? Again I say that your captain presided over the most corrupt administration Barbados ever knew . H.H is a D.E.M.

9. Hamilton Hill or Hartley Henry or Wishing in Vain or ….

Re. your post of January 8, 2011 at 1:15 AM;

You are right. I think the BLP, over the last half century or so was a superior party to the DLP. But, if there were an election in the near future, I could not vote for the BLP as it is in a shambles, primarily due to Owen Arthur’s and the Gang of five’s intemperate and ill-advised actions to oust Mia Mottley and arguably compounded by her apparent “scorched earth” reaction. The current DLP has a few good parliamentarians headed by Sealy who appears to be doing a very good job at this time along with Chris Sinckler, the new AG, Stephen Lashley and I would have added Donville Inniss except for the recent QEH imbroglio. I think Freundel Stuart is a good man but not a good politician in the mould of the past great Prime Ministers of either side.

I think that Owen Arthur in his first 2 administrations kept a tight rein on his Ministers and ensured that there were no or minimal excesses. The alleged excesses, as far as I am aware took place in the third term. I don’t think that any party should be given more than two terms by the electorate.

There has been no tight reins used on Ministers in this current DLP administration. The blogs and indeed the real newspapers are replete with examples of behaviours which should have been nipped in the bud but were’nt. Just think of the gun incident for one.

Re. the names you mentioned that were paid significant sums from the public purse in the last BLP administration. Perhaps you can balance those names with the new names of consultants brought on by DT in this admin, starting with Hartley Henry who, while working exclusively for DT on a demonstrably part time basis, was doing similar work throught the sub-region, and still managed on his own to pull down much more than any of the individuals you mentioned. Why don’t you tell us how the aggregate amount you mentioned compare with the aggregate amount that DT authorized for his consultants as surely what is bad for the BLP should also be bad for the DLP.

10. Mr. Hill, is DEM the same as D.E.M. and, if not, what is a D.E.M.?

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Gatekeeper
    It is not my fault if no one in the Barbados Labour Party told Hudson that Polysster is not a good material to make a suit out of.

First of all it is cheap, wrinkles easily, keeps you hot, and looks odd.

If he can not choose something as simple as a proper suit, how do you expect him to represent the good people St. John and make proper decisions?

12. And the picky looking too small clothes Mara wears is couture clothing?

13. Truthman Burton Avatar

Wunna DEMS frighten to touch that Freundel Manifesto I posted above? Ever since I put it there, everybody bypassing it like one of those reckless PSV’s, and CCC tries to dominate the issues by talking excessively about an irrelevant suit!

I really want to know from Freundel Stuart himself if he ever got to see The St. John Development Plan (Thompson’s Legacy)he was asking David about at Question No. 3 in his (Freundel’s) DLP Presidential Manifesto. Mr. PM. Stuart, PLEASE let the public know, or you can get your Principal Political Advisor Hartley (ali assses WIV, Hamilton Hill and all the others) to provide the information.

Not even BU David ain’t nothing to do with the Freundel Manifesto!

14. I commented on it Burts !

15. Simply Obnoxious –
    why dont you go and bathe yuh skin , you flea infested mongrel.-wipe behind your ears well
    you old fart
    Why are you accusing me of something I did not do —-you ****** !!!

16. It would be interesting if someone could answer the following questions: Why has the St. John polyclinic not been built given that the present DLP administration has approved and started at least three buildings of comparable or greater cost namely two ten story office buildings in Warrens and a multi story car park at the Sandiford Convention Centre ? Does this not suggest that the St. John polyclinic was not a priority? Given that the Government claims to be cash-starved, will building the St.John polyclinic compromise the much needed refurbishment of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital or can I look forward to a Health Levy in 2011 to pay for the polyclinic?

17. Truthman Burton Avatar

@Ping Pong | January 8, 2011 at 5:44 AM |

“I was shocked to hear the Minister of Education Mr R Jones acknowledge that he is involved in the practice of the occult. He gleefully revealed that he “travels at night” and that he speaks to David Thompson. I know the nominations were done at the Lodge school but is the by-election (and the Government) being run by the lodge as well?”

I couldn’t make it to the DLP Meeting, and so I have no first hand knowledge of what transpired, but did Jones really say this? Did he reveal what Thompson told him exactly, or what the whole conversation with the dead man was about?

And did he really make a public request for Dr Esther Sookoo to examine him from waist down? JONES GOT THE HOTS FOR SOOKOO?

If so, I am embarrsed by my Minister of Education. Imagine that Jones in addition to being an occult obeah man, is also disrespectful. Wow! Jones talking to dead people! As GP would say ….. Murdah!

P.S.

18. @Truthman Burton

BU regards the Stuart manifesto back then as a dark period in DLP politics. It appears PM Stuart was able to patch up his differences with the late PM Thompson to a significant degree, not so Estwick and Kellman. It is the nature of politics. We wait to see if Arthur and Mottley can do same.

The question posed by you and Pong are valid. It seems the St. John Polyclinic has taken on a political dimension which makes the ability to rationally explain the situation a challenging one.

19. Truthman Burton Avatar

@KISSMYA | January 8, 2011 at 5:01 PM | I commented on it Burts !
    Thank you K, I had missed your response. And by the way K, these people “Simply Obnoxious” and his/her ilk were the same ones that said the most awful things about Hon Owen Arthur when the great leader and his wife lost their new born baby. These people from the Thompson Dynasty are fair game, because they all plan to hold that St.John seat, one after the other! The dead king so willed it …… A VERY UN-Barbadian thing!

20. They cant touch that manifesto
    Truthful Burton
    They cant
    If the BLP had spoken those words , it would be bitter to swallow but to have the present Prime Minister associated with those words when he was vying for office in the DLP is an indictment on the so-called legacy of Thompson.

The Manifesto condemns the DLP

BLP speakers need to pick it up and run hard with it and cause the present some anxious mments to explain it. Just ask him to expplain it.
    Hon Freundel Stuart
    Can you explain what you meant in this manifesto
    By the Way (BTW) What did Thompson do for Barbados though ??
    How much did he do for himself and now Mara come with this dynasty building nonsense that she is believed to be aiming to win this seat and hold it for another Thompson.

I said already that people does got all sorts of plans but everything happens for a reason.
    What I will say now
    Mara Thompson should be home putting her family FIRST !
    As for Hartley Henry !
    He is going to soon see when he get the shock of he life because the people in St. John are suffering and they will send a strong message of rejection to Mara Thompson and the DLP.

There are a lot of people in St. John who do not vote because they believe that the DLP will win anyway BUT this will change now because people will come out and vote BLP .
    Better believe it
    Keep on taking the people for granted Hartley

21. Truthman Burton Avatar

@Ping Pong | January 8, 2011 at 5:13 PM |
    Brilliant commentary on the issues Pong! Yet another indication that the DEMS have used and abused the poor St. John people. They have deceived and lied to the St.John people for 52 years, and are now in the process of further perpetrating the biggest political deception ever in Barbados, all for the sake of a DYNASTY.

Inside the BELLY OF GEORGE STREET, Political lying has become ENTRENCHED as a systemic phomenum!

22. @ David

You seem to be slowly becoming like the Nation and Advocate.

23. Truthman Burton Avatar

That was meant to be “Phenomenon.”

24. Truthman Burton Avatar

I wish to apologise to Mr. Ronald Jones. A pajarito just mentioned to me that I am wrong about Jonesey having the hots for Sookoo.

The pajarito (he just like Phony Marshall’s School Children that pass regularly by his gate) told me even if you serve up Sookoo on a golden platter in birthday suit, Ronald would not breathe hard or even blink an eye.

Pajarito told me that it is his understanding that Jonesey gets his hots from a different inclination. Murrrrdahhh.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

From over at BARBADOS FREE PRESS:-

” Skinning Cuffins
    January 8, 2011 at 1:36 pm

Mr. Griffith does not have a snow ball in hell chance of winning the by-election. In fact, the DLP could run Micky Mouse or Donald Duck in St. John and still win by a mile.

Griffith is cannon fodder, just watch how Owen deals with him…..watch the body language. If you are going to get a good tail licking you could at lease look the part and dress properly.

I recommend to the people of St. John NOT to vote for Griffith even if only because it is clear he does not have the fashion sense for Parliament. I suggest the fashion police put him under investigation”

26. Random Thoughts Avatar

Dear Ping Pong and Truthman Burton:

Ronald Jones did say that he travels at night, and that David Thompson talks to him.

This was immediatley after Mara’s sppech when Jones tried to raise some applause for her by saying tht hers was the greatest maiden Caribbean political speech he has ever heard.

The crowd response to Mara’s speech and to Jones’ assessment of it was lukewarm at best.

So Jones tried another tactic, the “travelling at night tactic”.

Because Jones understands that many, maybe even most Bajans still revere the the Yoruba god Obi, this in spite of the Christianity veneer.

And it worked. The “traveling” statement aroused the crowd.

But then the PM put them back to sleep again.

I know. I was there. Haven’t messed a political mreting since 1961.

27. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting “VERITY | January 7, 2011 at 2:40 PM | …@Liberal…Where were you last week when BLP operatives like Random Thoughts”

I am not a BLP operative.

I voted for you idiots too many times to be a BLP anything.

28. Now, now BLP operatives, play nice. I know you’re all into panic mode since Mara barnstorming launch night so you’re low down and desperate.

But surely you don’t expect to win the by-election on BU do you? Get out on the ground and do some work for a change. That doesn’t include roasting breadfruit like tourists “discovering the natives”. How patronising and insincere can you get? Haha.

And when I see Mia on the campaign trail and speaking on the platform then I will believe it. And even then, we all know it will all be an attempt to paper over the cracks. She’s really got poor Owen by the short and curlies! What a comedy in the BLP camp.

By the way, Carson, from what is going around the fashion police are not the law enforcers the man should be most worried about. I notice the BLP won’t touch that one, but its not going away. People are talking and it seems there is more juice to it. Why don’t the Bees just come out and explain that the whole thing is not true and save the poor man from all this negative speculation?

29. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting David | January 7, 2011 at 3:46 PM | “Interesting to listen to PM Stuart last night explaining why he could not in good conscience have called an early general election. He believed it would have been taking advantage of Barbadians in their moment of grief.”

The PM won’t take advangtage of “bereaved” Bajans and yet the DLP and/or the people of St.John have no compunction taking advantage of of the genuinely bereaved Mara and kids?

Surely Mara and her children are far more bereaved than the people of Barbaods.

As for me I am not bereaved at all and I am quite able to spend 10 seconds casting my vote whenever the PM feels like calling an election.

30. PM Stuart will need to pepper his platform speeches come next general election if he wants to close the meetings on a high. Agree that he was flat in St.John. Your assessment of Mara’s speech is off however, although scripted she held the attention of the crowd.

31. RT you will certainly be bereaved after this by-election when the BLP MPs start blaming and butchering each other for the heavy defeat and again after the general election when your BLP is sent back to Opposition with even fewer seats.

All I’m praying is that the police dont get sent to anybody’s house over some breadfruit that went missing in St. John today.

32. Remember the P.M. was ill that night of the meeting and almost fainted the newspapers said.

So no wonder he might have been a little flat.

33. The Dems like dealing with the dead. They vote for dead people in St John. In 1987, they voted for a dead Barrow, in 2011, they will again vote for a dead man, Thompson.

I wish that a certain blogger would get off the fashion scene, Mara is a bad dresser, has no sense of style or fashion, sadly enough, many have tried makeovers on her but she goes back to plain jane in no time. So please dont talk about style and clothes and Mara in the same sentence.

Truthful Burton, thanks for posting the Freundal indictment on Thompson, I lost my copy. We all know full well of the bloodletting that goes on in the DLP and it never fails to amuse me how thse Dems could dare to comment on the BLP. They are bold faced hypocrites.

I hear some DLP hack said that this election is a gauge on the BLP, not so, you see they admit that if you send a duppy in the name of the DLP those people will vote for the duppy.

By the way, fellow bloggers have you heard that Kenny Best had a alcohol fit over the Xmas period. The ambulance went three times to him, he refused to go, on the fourth time when whoever was with him called, the ambulance refused to go, they had to call the Minister of Health to get the ambulance to go back. So friends, when you see him in the chair, and as he says, “when I sits in this chair”, you know that most of the times, he’s half drunk. He seems to have missed his drinking partner, David.

34. To all DLP supporters
    If what the prodigal son said is true it only confirms my feelings that Mr. Best is the most ignorant politician in parliament and will be voted out the next election. I do live in St.Michael east and the stories that I hear about Mr. Best really shows that he no longer wants to be in Parliament.
    Here is one story. Mr. Best goes into a cook shop in the Ivy.
    A man said to him wait Mr. Best we are not seeing you
    He responded wait wunnah does see Jesus.

35. @ A Freemam …..a dem is a dem is a dem , as a mistake is a mistake is a mistake . Fagive ma . ah beg ya please.

36. Cuh Dear guys and gals. What have the most recent comments been on? Fashion, birthday suits and sexual inclination?

Will that serve to elect the most suitable candidate to make decisions and work?

What are the issues? For the people of St.John they may ask ‘what have you done for me lately?’.

For Barbadians, we may ask ‘what are the policies for employment, for spurring industry, for the health sector, for improving the tourism offering in Barbados, where are the brand name hotels, what of Clico/’

These are issues, not what Mara may or may not wear, not what Suckoo may or may not wear (despite how appealing that thought may be).

If we are going to discuss the election then talk susbtantive issues, other comments are sometimes conducive to conversation, but as an aside, whether anecdotal or humorous.

I do believe that BOTH parties have much to answer for.

37. Re patching differences” We wait to see if Arthur and Mottley can do same.”

I doubt it. It is clear that Arthur is setting the stage for either Dale Marshall or one other who we could ‘speculate’ may be interested, if he so desires, from another ‘dynasty’.

But, it is clear that those with much clout have chosen to remove Mia from the line up, for whatever reason. Indeed, whether she will ever lead the party in Government is a fair question.

However, I have said before and I say again, that the big mistake of the BLP is not bringing more young candidates to support the (fabulous (?) five) 😉

The DLP has a host of young candidates, even if somewhat inexperienced, they are now more experienced and viable than three years ago.

Succession planning in a business or any organisation is crucial, unless one wants to restrict power to oneself and sees issues in having others learn too much.

However, the St.John election could spring a margin surprise, which would be a good litmus test for the island election.

Hence, it would be good for the BLP to give it the ‘best shot’, which does not appear to be the case.

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I see that Hudson gone from Polyester suits to plaid shirts. He gone from bad to worse.

The only other person that I know who wears so many plaid shirts is CLYDE MASCOLL and he lost his seat last election to Chris Sinckler. He got quite a whipping. It is not surprising to me that Clyde Mascoll will be in St. John this week speaking on Hudson’s behalf. One fashion loser helping to bury another fashion loser.

Fashion challenge Clyde Mascoll and fashion challenge Hudson on the same platform. What next?

It can’t get any worse than this!

39. @CCC’The only other person that I know who wears so many plaid shirts is CLYDE MASCOLL and he lost his seat last election to Chris Sinckler’

———–

So, is your contention that Clyde Mascoll lost his seat because he wore plaid shirts? LOL

That must have been a real good batch of Extra Old!

40. Why would the DEMs be excited about the massive show of of support last Thursday?

Wunna think dat if I guh home and my wife and children all run and hug me up and kiss me and then tell me that dem love me real bad, that I would guh work de nex day and brag bout um, unless I know dat I ent really deserve um?
    Since the Bees trying to get a foot through the door, let them focus on the local issues and making all the promises they can think of. The DEMs instead should be addressing national issues.

Wunna could believe dat PSV operators using duh discretion to charge school children dat ride on duh vans and de Ministers parading pon de flatform in St.John and ain’t seh a word bout de issue.

41. With the way crime soaring in Barbados all people can talk about is crumpled suits and who is wearing what. People get serious and stop talking nonsense. Ask the politicians real question that concern the country. Who de hell cares who is wearing what. In the end what matters most should be who is taking care of the peoples business. This country needs Sound and Productive Leadership and it ain’t getting. Crime going throught the roof where are the Leaders . That is all I want to Know and what are they doing about it! Crumpled suitsmy a…s

42. Cuddear, going by the last few comments looks like the vibrancy of the Dems campaign giving the BLP pimps belly hurt! You guys haven’t seen anything yet!

43. Are the constituents of St. John happy that money could not be found to finish the road from Bowanston to Cherry Grove, or to fix any of the other notoriously bad ones, but some could be found to start the Warrens project?

44. It is not if Mara Thompson will win the St.John seat, it is by how much. In case the BLP makes ground on the seat, the DLP will have to go to the drawing board and make serious plans for the general elections then due in a short two years. Remember the austerity measures Sincklar just introduced, is now beginning to bite.

45. all the comments on this blog are so self serving with little or no regard of what”s in the best interest of the country.You people need to stop having a love fest with one individual canidate or party and show more respect for love of country! THe country has serious issues. No one person seems to focus on even wanting to know the canidate position on them

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

What is wrong with the comment,ac?

I thought that people were free to express their opinions.

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Ac, that includes BLP and DLP supporters.

48. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting Crusoe with reference to Carson C, Cadogan “That must have been a real good batch of Extra Old!”

No, no, not Extra Old. Extra Old is real real good rum and does not cause hallucinations.

CCC must have had some no name cheap white rum.

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

RANDOM THOUGHTS
    “CCC must have had some no name cheap white rum”

No, No, No.

Cheap white rum belongs to Owen.