Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is expected to announce the DLP candidate for St. John any day now. There is speculation that the wife of the late Prime Minister David Thompson is favoured to win the nomination.

Big BLP comedy in town!!
I see Owen turn up to make sure Hudson aint duck out at the last minute. You’ve heard about shotgun weddings, well word on the ground is that this was a shotgun nomination.
And hear Hudson “My chances are as good as any one else’s”.
You got that right, buddy your chances of winning are as good as mine, and I ain’t even running!
David;
I withdraw what I wrote in my post @ Checkit-out | January 5, 2011 at 7:51 AM |
There is no way that Owen would miss this elecion. He is too much of a political animal to miss a good show.
And besides we know don’t we that it is possible to disembark a cruise ship at any port and take the next flight home. You will lose a few dollars, but so what. Cruises are not that expensive, especially for a professional man who has been working for more that 40 years.
We understand this don’t we?
The PM understands it too I suppose.
Sure someone else going be leading or is the lady being put in place for the leadership? Hope not and that the gentleman is okay though, really.
On another matter, one should watch what liaisons one has, before yuh get chased out of politics for it.
So, is the future Opposition head (i.e. future PM) one Marshall, is he ‘The One’? Is Arthur playing the part of ‘Morpheus’.
Sir Owen Arthur sounds nice, don’t it.
I can’t wear to hear the St. Lucian accent in Parliament; it should make the anti-immigration folks like Negroman happy.
Wither Mia Mottley on the St. John campaign trail.
Also, for those who keep harping on the fact that Mara was born in St. Lucia you may be interested to read the following:
“HUDSON EVERETT GRIFFITH was born on August 8, 1965 to the Rev.Granville Griifth and the Rev.Audrey Griffith in St.Vincent where they were serving as missionaries for the Church of the Nazarene .
He came to Barbados at the age of four…”
loyal Subject
It doesn’t matter to me where these candidates were born, the late David Thompson was born in Britain. Your saying that Hudson Griffith was born in St Vincent cannot be compared with Mrs Thompson being born in St Lucia. The fact is that Hudson was born of Barbadian parents, Mara was born of St. Lucian parents. In any case they are both Caribbean natinals. It is just a matter of time when a Guyanese challenge for a seat in our parliament too.
Mara Thompson is a St Luican
That is a fact
Hubie was born to Bajan parents in St Vincent
There is no comparison.
Julie N WAS BORN IN BARBADOS
and went to St Lucia
———
Hubie can win this election
8000 voters in St.John and IN A NATIONAL SWING, the DLP candidate barely got half of that amount in the last election –barely !!!!.
Come on Hubie—YOU CAN DO IT !
There shall be no DYNASTY building in Barbados politics—NONE
This DLP Government is DOOMED to one term
DLP DOOMED,
doomed
DOOMED
doomed
Walter Rodney had a bomb separate him from the earthly plain.
Did this have implications for Barbados ?
How can a bombing in a Guyana Market affect Barbados
Scout I agree with you 100 % that it doesn’t matter about country of birth, that is precisely why I posted the info. It proves that its not an issue or a very minor one at that. Right now I’m listening to a speech by Michael Lashley, who like David Thompson, was born in England.
Is Mara Thompson a Member of the DLP
A CARD CARRYING MEMBER ?
PAID UP AND FINANCIAL.
MY SOURCES HAVE AN OPINION ON THIS
Do your sources also know if the man has been given back his passport or if the court still has it? It could be very embarrassing for him.
Dear loyal subject:
In the middle of an election campaigh the only thing the D’s can find to put on their website is the funeral speech of HH the late PM’s personal friend?
And tell me please if HHwas a personal friend what is an INpersonal friend?
Methinks that loyal subject is HH self.
No you fool. If you are on the DLP site you will see the meeting is being streamed live. That is election campaign material you nut. Also, you can see HH sitting on the platform in the live video chatting and laughing with Michael Lashley, not typing away posting messages on BU. Get your thoughts together for goodness sake.
And dont post anymore foolishness for me to reply to. Im here watching the video and enjoying myself.
Oh my, HH isnt a very exciting speaker, but gosh he really makes it sound like the Bees are seriously at war with each other. Mascoll to replace Cynthia Forde, wow. Maria Agard andf Beverly Lashly to be ousted by Owen’s men including Regiie Farley, wow. I’ve run out of popcorn.
We are family, we are family, la la la la
Its a bit weird to find out that Mara’s father also died of pacreatic cancer. What crosses we have to bear in life some times.
OMG. That woman is lethal!
“I do not have a bad word to say about my opponent, because like most of you in this constituency, I do not know him”. Yes my Queen!
@ loyal subject
The woman has a strong lucian accent and reading, what lethal what. stupse
You are my African Queen, make my heart go tingalingalingggggggg, la la la la
Enuff, nothing wrong with a st. lucian accent or reading. Owen Arthur isnt exactly fluent is he, with all his stammering and slurring and dentures clicking. Now shush while I’m watching the picture. hahaha
btw, glad to know you’re watching the main event and not the poor rakey BLP meeting, Enuff. haha
The first part of her speech that I heard was quite good actually
BUT WHAT WAS MOST AMUSING IS WHEN HARTLEY HENRY SAID THAT PM FUMBLE WAS LEADING THE SHIP [OF STATE] FROM THE STERN!
Ah mean we can all see that henry didnt have to say it too
Enuff
What sort of accent should the woman have? Do you think I apologise for my Bajan accent?
GP, I have to confess I must have underestimated Mara because I was very pleasantly surprised by her speech. There is something about her delivery that deceives you and then jolts you. I can’t explain it. She has a style of her own that’s for sure. It’s slightly awkward and a bit distracting but it works somehow, and she’s my Queen. Oh yes she is!
come on loyal subject, what is so great about reading a prepared speech. I thought she was going to speak to her costituents.
I have nothing against Mara or her accent. I merely emphasise her ‘lucianess’ to highlight the hypocrisy of the members of the anti-foreigner brigade on BU who refer to non-Barbadians in the vilest terms possible; yet support Mara. The safest seat in Barbados, home to two former Prime Ministers, could now be occupied by a woman with a foreign accent–long live CSME!! lbar
The SUBSTANCE of the speech, you non-gall hill imposter! Now go way.
You BLP freaks love nonsense like Mia not reading a speech, rambling all over the place like Poonka and saying nothing of substance. It’s not about style, its about SUBSTANCE. Glad you too are watching the main event though. Listen to Freundel and learn something.
What substane? That speech was nothing twrite home about.
THU, JANUARY 06, 2011 – 9:30 PM
DAVID THOMPSON’S DYING WISH was that his wife Mara represent the people of St John in the event that he could no longer do so.
That was revealed last night in Gall Hill by his former political advisor Hartley Henry at the Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) campaign launch for the January 20 by-election in St John.
Poor you. I am sure that the local and regional news media will for the most part disagree with you, and will find plenty to write about that unique and impactful maiden speech by Mara. Class is class, and she is class personified.
Good night gentle folks. A pleasure. Let’s do this again some time. I wonder if I could get a paid job blogging for the DLP.
God Bless.
loyal subject
You should not underestimate or be surprised by her speech. The woman is the daughter and ex wife of politicians so she knows what she is about
Her delivery and style is simple and as you say, she has a style of her own –she is herself, and she is confident within her self. That is her strengthg. Also she comes over as being genuinely humble.
@ from gall hill
re what is so great about reading a prepared speech.
some of the greatest speakers and lecturers read their talks or use notes. It provides STRUCTURE SEQUENCE INTO WHICH YOU WORK YOUR SUBSTANCE AND DEVELOP YOUR STYLE
@ ENUFF
I dont know Mrs Thompson; and frankly I wished that they had given the poor boy from St John the chance.
However, there have been Bajans who have taken high positions in St Lucia in the pass……and in other islands.
Note also that Paul Southwell [who was once PM of St Kitts ] was born in Dominica.
I am not against her being an MP.
Just got in from the meeting and I agree with “from gall hill” Mara’s speech wasn’t all that. It sounded like she was reading from bullet points prepared by somebody else.
When Ronald Jones came on stage and said that it was probably the best maiden speehc in the history of the Caribbean the response from from the home town crowd was lukewarm at best. I think that Jones expected loud applause and was surprised when it was not forthcoming.
I think that on Friday loyal subject will find that the local and regional media agree with me.
Mara’s speech was passable at best.
GP “the poor boy from St.John can now continue to live the good life without the pressures of politics.
He has achieved a lot and continues to serve Barbados in the financial capital of Canada.
When Owen inferred that only the BLP was capable of holding government in Barbados, he was labelled a dictator. Is there any difference between what he said and the late PM’s request that his wife and then daughter be the MP for St. John. Did he not infer that only the DLP and a Thompson were capable of representing St. John?
The Nation reports that the PM was not well right after the event. This does not bode well, unless he merely has the flu.
Is this why HH has been brought back in, is it also why it is essential to have Mara provide continuity?
@ENUFF| January 6, 2011 at 11:34 PM |
THU, JANUARY 06, 2011 – 9:30 PM
DAVID THOMPSON’S DYING WISH was that his wife Mara represent the people of St John in the event that he could no longer do so.
You have heard the term ruling from the grave, this is a prime example. I have nothing against Mrs Thompson but I find this rather disturbing. It appears that the late PM was a master manipulator. It is very difficult to deny a dying man his wishes. But to put that burden on his wife and family is very selfish and putting “family first” in St. John. This sends warning bells to the rest of Barbados. It is clear that this is the foundation of a dynasty. Dynasties have no place in Barbados politics. The resurrection has begun!
Here I am!
Random Thoughts, Enuff and islandgal, listen. David Thompson had as much right as anyone else to express his WISH/desire about who he wanted to represent St. John.
Expressing a WISH is not COMMANDING anyone to agree with that desire.
Mara was not COMMANDED to run, it was her own choice.
Nominating Mara is not COMMANDING anyone to vote for her. At the end of the day the choice is up to the majority of voters. So islandgal, leave out the foolish ‘master manipulator’ talk. What arrant hogwash, but at least you’re consistent.
And Enuff, David Thompson did not infer that only the DLP and a Thompson were capable of representing St. John. His point was that in his opinion Mara was the best person at this time and therefore that was his WISH. No such inference. He was not a dictator like Owen. Full stop.
Here I am. Look muh hey!
RT, you realise that everybody, including YOU, is talking about Mara’s speech this morning. Nobody is studying the mock stick or talking about his speech. So Mara must have done something right.
Haven’t gone to the BLP’s meetings yet, but I will. I always go to all party’s metings.
@loyal subject
You really need to give up.
“Nominating Mara is not COMMANDING anyone to vote for her. At the end of the day the choice is up to the majority of voters.”
We are not talking about any seat, we are talking ST. JOHN a DLP fortress where the CHOICE of the people is known.
“And Enuff, David Thompson did not infer that only the DLP and a Thompson were capable of representing St. John. His point was that in his opinion Mara was the best person at this time and therefore that was his WISH. No such inference. He was not a dictator like Owen. Full stop.”
How could he have known the best candidate without even knowing who were interested? And was it just about Mara and now or also Oya and then? Sure sounds and looks dictatorial me….ask Estwick et al.
continue to prove your low level of intelligence with your arguments.
No wonder the Dems in power, because if the majority of Bajans have the