Mighty Gabby, Calypso King
Tony 'Admiral' Nelson

At a time when the country is struggling with indiscipline, the gun incident between Minister David Estwick and former Attorney General in the highest court of the land would not have helped. This matter remains outstanding several months after the incident occurred. The latest is that the matter has been referred to the Committee of Privileges by the Speaker of the House. Yet another matter buried to fade with time by our politicians.

Late late night the news broke that the 2010 Calypso King of Barbados was engaged in an altercation with CBC Radio Personality Tony โ€˜Admiralโ€™ Nelson backstage at Cohobblopot, Kensington Oval. It seemed inevitable that something would snap among Crop Over stakeholders after the booing incident at Bushy Park last weekend. The crowd showed its displeasure at Terencia โ€˜TCโ€™ Coward being declared one of the winners.ย  TC reacted in an unprecedented manner by forfeiting her right to participate in the face off with Anderson โ€˜Bloodโ€™ Anderson giving up her chance to win a car!

Pictures (only) compliments of Peter Boyce’s Facebook page.

It is no secret that Admiral Nelson blamed TC for for acting irresponsibly in the matter. He voiced on his show Festival Stage last week that because TC had admitted to having doubts about the face off part of the soca competition it convinced him she never intended to compete. It seems from the Mighty Gabbyโ€™s comments in the media he has taken Admiralโ€™s criticism of TC to heart. The fact Admiral has been critical of his two competition songs would not have helped matters. Based on reports posted on Facebook the two got involved in an altercation backstage during the Cohobblopot Show. Details remain sketchy but it has been suggested that Admiral has referred the matter to the police and the Mighty Gabby had been arrested. BU will update this matter as more details come to hand.

A couple days ago popular Video Blogger Babbzy posted a scathing attack about her experience as a guest on Admiralโ€™s show on her Website โ€“ here is the link, go to the sidebar on the left of the page, search for the video Babbzy Vs. The Laymans, she uses a few choice Bajan expletives!

It seems to BU that Admiral has increased his rhetoric this season and something was bound to happen as a consequence. We can only hope that cool heads prevail and the festival is not further soured by the incident.

275 responses to “Altercation Between 2010 Calypso King Mighty Gabby And Tony ‘Admiral’ Nelson Backstage Cohobblopot Show”

1. Question to any legal minds out there. When Admirals says “there is an arrest warrant out for Gabby”, is that defamation of character ??

2. @GoWEB,

I think you underestimate the level of sophistication of the majority(?) of fans who go to the finals. People complained when Gabby won in 2000 singing about wukking up. Do you think that understanding Ole Ashe is enough to accept Gabby as the best on the night?

Why do you say that “Something’s Happening” is not a kaiso?

Where are the criteria for the competition listed? I would love to read them.

3. If a song a song has lyrics , it has lyrics. What is strong lyrics and what is weak lyrics. Will allyuh just cut the crap.

WHAT THE HECK IS A LYRICAL MASTER ? –

all yuh full of crap

4. Wuh loss. I gine tell yuh if something’s Happening ain’t calypso, then wunnuh bettuh stop singing calypso. You cannot go anywhere in the US north east amongst bajans in their 40-60’s and don’t play RPB something’s happening. I nearly get thrown out of my good friend uh mine house for not having that song in my digital collection on my laptop. I had to get onto Islandmix.com real quick.

5. Tuh tell yuh de truth dah song got a Joseph Niles ring to it.

6. @Brutus what is your take on Kidsite?

7. @Brutus

I don’t know where the criteria is listed but I was involved with the Experience Calypso tent when Kareen Clarke’s song got disqualified because it only had two verses. I remember this especially because I had questioned her about the number of verses even before the season officially started and she said she didn’t think it would be an issue but it turned out to be. Therefore I was the most shocked person when RBP sang “Something’s Happening” with only two verses and won with it. As for the musical aspect, “Something’s happening” is soca, not kaiso. He could easily have won the Sweet Soca competition with that. Please note, I’m not complaining about the song, just pointing out that it’s the same type of situation we have now, except that people loved it because it made them feel good.

8. @KISSMYA

Lyrics are not lyrics. What I mean is there are lyrics and THEN there are lyrics.

For example, RPB wrote TC’s “Stimulus” but the lyrics aren’t as strongs as his own “Signs”.

This is a line from “Stimulus”……..
      When the people we send to represent
      Can’t behave themselves in parliament
      That is stimulus, stimulus

This is a line from “Signs”……..
      One Marshall said he was threatened by a parliamentarian
      A next marshall was summoned to remove the leader of Opposition
      Is that not a sign?, Is that not a sign?

The lines from “Stimulus” are no where near as clever as the ones from “Signs”.
      No one can say RPB was talking about Dale Marshall because he couples the line with a line about an actual uniformed marshal, which was also a topical issue.

That’s the difference.

9. @Go WEB
      All of this talk about Lyrics and Lyrical masters is old hash .I thought that once the lyrics dealt with your topic adequately that they were strong.i may be wrong but are you saying that if the lyrics are a lot (verbiose) that the persons is a lyrical master.If two children are given a topic to write about their fathers one being a doctor and the other beng a grave digger and they both write with good grammar punctuation etc.Who nshould get the best score.They both could get the same score once they deal with the topic.A lot of words dont make you a Lyrical Master.

10. I agree wid everything kissmya say!! ka boom,so so true!!!!!!!!!

11. @bullheads

The illustration above isn’t meant to show that one song is more wordy than the next. The number of words in the song aren’t relevant. It’s how cleverly you can write.

Saying that Hamilton Lashley won’t stop crossing the floor takes no wit or mastery to compose. But to create a song where you say you love to party and you created your own dance and…..

I jump over here (a party)
      Jump over there (a party)
      Jump back here (a party)
      That’s the way to do the Hammie…
      (La La) (La La La)

This is lyrical mastery because the writer has illustrated that Hamilton Lashley jumps from party to party without saying so. He also says Hammies name without saying so because the name of the dance in “Hammie” and the hookline afterwards is “La La”. If you can’t see the difference in Lyrical Mastery and just writing that Hammie keep crossing the floor, then I can’t help you any further.

12. @David,

I didn’t hear Kid Site’s songs this year. But he has never impressed me that much. He tends to be very wordy but not very clever I find. Ever year one of the analysts on TV talks about how sweet his melodies are but I always find them a bit simplistic.

13. Sorry, that last post was to Adrian Hinds, not David.

14. @GoWEB,

If somebody wants to argue that lyrics are lyrics then there is no point debating it with them.

Now if you are saying that soca is not eligible for the competition that opens another can of worms and we will really need to examine the rules. It seems to me that a lot of soca has won the competition in previous years.

Did you really have to go La La as an example of Bag’s lyrical mastery? It is a good concept but he really made no attempt to develop the song lyrically as he might normally do.

15. @ Brutus
      I’m not that impressed with La La but it’s one of the best examples considering what was presented this year.

I’m not arguing if a soca is eligible or not, just that the same way we accept soca in the social commentary contest, we shouldn’t quarrel when someone brings another fusion.

16. @GoWeb

B-side(s) its me who D-side(s) la la lalala.

17. I personally think there is more to this story and its sounds very personal but even if Gabby was provoked he should have walk away….remember to err is human we all make mistakes i think these two adults should be able to sit down and work this out

18. if Edwin could win with “A Song In My Head” and “Oba” then why Gabby cant win with “Ole Ashe” and “Haiti”.

Both Gabby and Admiral have point worth considering:
      – the songs are not strictly calypso as defined by the music that has been offered before
      – and the music must evolve if it is to survive.

a lot of the problems experienced this year stem from the fact that people are just recycling same old tunes and melodies and expect to be greeted with applause.

19. I agree with you Baje009. thats why the music will continue to just be seasonal and can’t be marketed anywhere past our own shores.

20. What RPB has done over the years is to add imagery to the issues of the day with two songs.This has been said to be lyrical mastery.Perhaps he is the historical lyrical master.Is that not a sign ah?

21. AS for the altercatio the truth will come out in court.But then again we will question the magistrate or judges decision .Is that not a sign of the times.

22. @ GoWEB // August 3, 2010 at 12:42 P

… How come no one complained about โ€œSomethingโ€™s Happeningโ€? That wasnโ€™t a kaiso and it didnโ€™t even meet the criteria (only had two verses). Kareen Clarke had a song named โ€œBarbadosโ€ that was disqualified because it only had two verses. โ€œSomethingโ€™s Happeningโ€

The song must have catchy lyrics too and definitely have meaning such as the song ‘Something Happening” – not Gabby’s song. Try NOT to don’t put Gabby and RPB together. RPB has class.

23. Following the discussion it seems we have a situation where the NCF gives a group of people (judges) a set of rules (criteria) to judge the performances of Calypsonians (Soca/Calypso).

Thousands of people (fans) turn up at venues with individual ideas of who should be a Monarch. Individual preferences for Calypsonians in the competition are shaped by a number of reasons; the parish the Calypsonian lives in, a sweet voice, individual preferences of what is a calypso etc.

This year the 2010 competitions if we are to judge from crowd reaction (booing) the criteria applied by the judges resulted in winners far removed from what the public agrees.

What does this tell us? Incorrect application of the criteria? We would have to see the criteria and be knowledgeable to apply that criteria.

Should the winner of the competitions after enduring the rigour of judging equate to a popular Monarch? Of course not!

Is it time to do away with competition and have a Calypso singing festival? What are the implications of doing so? Could it retard the Calypso art form?

24. Bajan PRINCESS( you figure it out) Avatar
      Bajan PRINCESS( you figure it out)

To ALL of those who have something Negative to say about Gabby ESPECIALLY Ms. COPY RITE. wunna could Kiss my rasole. All of wunna talkin C**T!!!!!! wunna was dey to see what de f**k happen? Ms. Copy Rite talking bout she wish she could get she hand pun Gabby fuh hittin Admiral well BITCH I wish you would… I would PERSONALLY find you and you ass. You thought Admiral get he ass cut it would be NOTHING comapred to what the f**k you would get, Do yourself a favor and fall the f**k back. You are entitled to your opinion but all that you wish you could put your hands on Gabby will NEVER happen I GUARANTEE it. Admiral just looking for money.

25. @David
      There were always rules which only the judges have but the tent managers, calypsonians etc. This is not a discovery this was in place from time in memorial.Have you just come to town?

26. David:
      You are being inadvertently?subsumed into the elitist agenda.

Every popular focal point must have its derogatives pointed out by the counter-culture,
      Every common skin shade must have its perceived faults highlighted by its superiors
      Every nuance of religion will be attacked by the truly faithful omniscient ones.
      Every political decision made by a small democracy will be held up to ridicule.

What decisions can we take, when the Party Monarch is booed.

I’ve but scratched the surface here, but the truth is we are a small close knit, patriotic community, so where does all this discord come from.
      I am sorry to say it comes from above .
      No, not the almighty, but the mighty who no matter what, benefit greatly from the direction Barbados takes under successive compliant governments.

Bear this in mind, whilst we are discussing the Guyanese illegal immigrants , the sexuality of our politicians, the impact of a collapsing dollar, or the pathetic tantrums of a washed up calypsonian, the powers that be are carrying on as usual, under the cloak of popular indignation, laughing all the way to the bank, and beyond.

Hate the colour: Hate the money: Hate the religion: Hate the school: Hate everybody.

Divide and rule, peeps. Who’s keeping quiet, and who’s benefitting from all this.

Hate is destructive, recognise the problem and deal with it, as the majority voice.

27. David it is obvious that the judging criteria is flawed.

Not because of the crowd response but because Gabby’s Ole Ashe ,while a great song is distinctly different from the others.

I suggest that the criteria be set based on Calypso/soca and latin influences should not be allowed in the competition.

Calypsonians can experiment and produce songs like Ole Ashe outside of competition and market them in Brazil.

28. What is getting lost in all of this is that Barbados produces some of the best musicians and calypsonians in the caribbean.

The calypsonians need to put the controversy behind them and try and make some money from their efforts.

Let the marketing and the tours begin.

29. @MS.Anon quote ”the older folks are just that old. who gives a damn, you had your day, get over it and get out.”

Yeah. Old folks…..like Andy Roberts in cricket, Holding too could bowl. These current bowlers cant even take a wicket without taking in a hundred runs.

The great Rohan Kanhai, Clive Lloyd, Sir Viv, now we got jokers who dont see a hundred in twenty matches.

In politics, Errol Barrow, who lead and made great ideas to live by ‘friend of all, satellite of none’.

Eric Sealy, the precursor in Barbados of these blogs, being oftentimes the sole alternate mouthpiece vs the two big parties.

Bands like the Merrymen, who played not only in Barbados, but Canada, and ruled for ages, even though a few like Rihanna have now made a breakthrough.

Likewise the ‘old’ calypso is melodic, aside from Ediwn and maybe Blood, the current ‘young’ crop’s music is garbage.

Honestly, absolute crap.

Guh dun, guh dun, duh gun.

I mean, really wonderful.

Yet, you wish to ‘write-off’ old.

I can tell you, if Kitchener, Gabby and Bag were playing at the gymnasium and three ‘youngsters’ at Kensington, I know who would be making money that night.

Class is permanent, form is temporary.

30. @ Hants
      Do you now want to change the criteria because persons did not like the result.The calypsonians knew the criteria before hand. If the criteria is changed and there is another unpopular result by some persons thinking will we think of changing the criteria again.It seems as though if persons are caught speeding on Spring Garden they would want the speed limit raised.I think we are creating a storm in a tea cup.

31. @bullheads

What you are missing is that there is something called evaluation. Nothing wrong with changing a system if there is merit.

@Crusoe and Straight Talk

Wow, pace like fire from both ends!

32. @David
      A decision based on the criteria that some persons dont like dont raise merit.In the past when there have been unpopular decisions and there have been many starting from as far back as Liar and Blackpawn.

33. @ bullheads,
      Ole Ashe is closer to salsa then calypso.It sounds very “cuban” to me.

I love the song and I think Gabby is still one of the best calypsonians in the Caribbean but Ole Ashe should not be judged as a calypso.

Get the Marketing machine in gear BTA. This song must be used in marketing Barbados in Brazil.

34. Credit must be given to the backing band. They made a stellar contribution to the competition.

35. I thought AC should have won judging on what I saw and heard…and he was not my favorite going in…John King was.

36. Go back listen to the lyrics and the melody(together).listen to the drum beat (Calypso).Remember the Calypso did not originate in Barbados.Check its derivatives, check the origin then marry the lyrics with the melody.Some person posted the lyrics today.

37. Is this the kind of Kaiso we want?

38. Compare apples with apples that is old time Calypso.
      Perhaps that is what the people want.Change is constant.ole ashe

39. TO KISSMYA: While one may not be able to tell you what is a lyrical master, do you want me to tell you what or who is an idiot?

40. Gabby is a singer,Sheldon Hope is a singer ,Adrian Clarke is a singer. R.P.B. is a lyrical master.This is a singing competition.The words or shall we say the “clarion call” of Carrol Roberts on V.O.B.since she said it time and again.Every time I hear Black Stalin ,Billy Ocean comes to mind.Long before we found out the decision Dennis Johnson hinted that they would get the only interview…….dahhh.

41. @David,

That is sweet kaiso! The piano accompaniment is very interesting – never heard that for calypso before.

42. @Brutus

It is being circulated via FB by Ian Alleyne popular local guitarist/musician.

43. Someone posted this on Admiral’s facebook page (they also posted GoWEB’s lyrics for Ole Ashe from BU).:

Also noted Barbadian musician John Roett had this to say in response to Admiral in a link today re the song:

“I played the song at Cohobblopot on Sunday. We were given the charts at 1:30 the evening and Mike Sealy, the arranger of the song, and Keith Ellis, the director of the festival band, came down to run through it with the band…, given it’s complexity. The song morphs in and out of various rhythms, all of which are a part of kaiso, calypso, soca, call it what you may. For example, in verse 2, the instructions are to change the latin piano rhythm to a calypso strum, the drums revert to an “old time kaiso beat”, and the bass goes back to playing on the one of the bar, soca/calypso feel, as opposed to “off the one” as pertains to the south american feel. The cowbell of certain latin grooves are virtual carbon copies of a spouge cowbell, with the exact same placement on the bar, and this is the case with with Ole Ashe.The rhythms of our heritage throughout the region are all intertwined, and elements of all are present in others, taken and shaped in the culture of the individual region, and expressed musically very much in the way that the people speak. Music is an extension of who we are as a people, and each country reflects that in their music.Coupled with the lyrical content, I understand where the song was going, and what it was trying to show. And from having played it myself, it was a stunning arrangement. It is so sad when we are placed in this situation. Music is never meant to do this, and it’s really counter productive when we divide ourselves along these lines. The music would never want it to be like that. I hope we can find a way to move on for the betterment of all involved.

44. @Brutus

Just posted this blog link to Admiral’s Page, will see how long he lets it stay up.

What is interesting is to read the comments from the Bajan journalists and musicians, almost to a man they are onside with Gabby. Many of them believe Admiral should have been dealt with a long time ago. The interesting observation is that the musicians have not understood the power of standing up in numbers. All they have to do is refuse to do interviews with Admiral if they feel that strongly about it. Force Admiral to meet them half way.

45. BOnny Peppa In N.Y Chilling Avatar
      BOnny Peppa In N.Y Chilling

Bajan Princess
      Ya pissy bitch. Go n look fa a corna ta piss in. Ya mangey dog. Ya doan scare me wid de lung tawk, ya ………………………………………..

Admiral, I luv ya baddddddddddddddddd.

Atman
      doan get jellus. You is my numero uno.

46. how can some1 actually say admiral is a music pirate ..where is the cds he suppose to have pirated NOONE has ever bought a cd forward n said well yea admiral pirated this cd n i hav it as proof …..and for the idiot that said admiral have a whole radio station n he aint play no 2010 calypso that station is strickly 70’s 80’s n 90’s music IDIOT …….admiral is a realist n most people cant handle that……….good work admiral let the critics keep HATING

47. How can Gabby get vex when somebody talk bout he ? Does Gabby remember his songs MIiss Barbados, Boots, Mr T, Jack or The List ? First of all let me get dis straight. Is Gabby telling me that he entered a Calypso competition with a ‘Calypso’ that only the trained ear can detect the calypso part of it. Hmm.. I see.. I listen to lots of music and if i hear a latin song thats it, its a latin song. Do i now have to train my ear to listen for underlying tones and beats of jazz, reggae, hip hop, or maybe even a little Calypso before i can determine what the hell i’m listening to? I DON’T THINK SO !!!

48. I added Admiral as a friend so as to visit festival stage page to view the comments. At that time which was before the incidence, he had 1021 friends. Now this morning he has 1402 friends. This means the controversy worked for him getting more attention.

49. Flavour of the Month Avatar
      Flavour of the Month

Yes you would have to Mr. Blunt if you want to say other than what the judges say. Please accept the judges decision: They are the experts. Respect authority. Stop questioning the judges decision–That is what you have to do and you would not have a problem

Why dont people just accept the judges decision . Bajan society has become so feminized that all we want is gossip and talk talk talk.

The judges are the authority figures and the experts . Are we not flying in the face of authority. Please consider this fact.

50. Bad man saying nuttin Avatar
      Bad man saying nuttin

Don’t be an ass flavour of the month. How can criticizing a decision you are not in favour of be likened to not respecting authority?

It is your democratic right to criticize decisions that you oppose whether those decisions are made by a Ministry, a politician , a judge or a panel of judges.

For an enlightened or educated person it is even more than a right , it is a responsibility. Criticism and comment are the hallmarks of a democracy.

If Barbadians learned how to criticize, agitate and take action against measures we opposed we would have a better country.

Bajans must learn to speak with their voices, their pockets and their votes.