Mighty Gabby, Calypso King
Tony 'Admiral' Nelson

At a time when the country is struggling with indiscipline, the gun incident between Minister David Estwick and former Attorney General in the highest court of the land would not have helped. This matter remains outstanding several months after the incident occurred. The latest is that the matter has been referred to the Committee of Privileges by the Speaker of the House. Yet another matter buried to fade with time by our politicians.

Late late night the news broke that the 2010 Calypso King of Barbados was engaged in an altercation with CBC Radio Personality Tony โ€˜Admiralโ€™ Nelson backstage at Cohobblopot, Kensington Oval. It seemed inevitable that something would snap among Crop Over stakeholders after the booing incident at Bushy Park last weekend. The crowd showed its displeasure at Terencia โ€˜TCโ€™ Coward being declared one of the winners.ย  TC reacted in an unprecedented manner by forfeiting her right to participate in the face off with Anderson โ€˜Bloodโ€™ Anderson giving up her chance to win a car!

Pictures (only) compliments of Peter Boyce’s Facebook page.

It is no secret that Admiral Nelson blamed TC for for acting irresponsibly in the matter. He voiced on his show Festival Stage last week that because TC had admitted to having doubts about the face off part of the soca competition it convinced him she never intended to compete. It seems from the Mighty Gabbyโ€™s comments in the media he has taken Admiralโ€™s criticism of TC to heart. The fact Admiral has been critical of his two competition songs would not have helped matters. Based on reports posted on Facebook the two got involved in an altercation backstage during the Cohobblopot Show. Details remain sketchy but it has been suggested that Admiral has referred the matter to the police and the Mighty Gabby had been arrested. BU will update this matter as more details come to hand.

A couple days ago popular Video Blogger Babbzy posted a scathing attack about her experience as a guest on Admiralโ€™s show on her Website โ€“ here is the link, go to the sidebar on the left of the page, search for the video Babbzy Vs. The Laymans, she uses a few choice Bajan expletives!

It seems to BU that Admiral has increased his rhetoric this season and something was bound to happen as a consequence. We can only hope that cool heads prevail and the festival is not further soured by the incident.

275 responses to “Altercation Between 2010 Calypso King Mighty Gabby And Tony ‘Admiral’ Nelson Backstage Cohobblopot Show”

1. About the lyrics posted above, just some background for those wondering…

Verse 2 says in the old time days the Calypso was sang to a “Cuatro”. In case you are wondering, the cuatro is any of several Latin American instruments of the guitar or lute family. The cuatro is smaller than a guitar. This instrument is found in South America, Trinidad & Tobago and other territories of the West Indies, including Venezuela.

Several people are also mentioned in verse 2 who were crucial in the transformation of Calypso.

“Roaring Lion” (Rafael de Leon, Aroquita) was a Trinidadian calypso singer/composer.

“Attila the Hun” (Raymond Quevedo) was another Trinidadian calypsonian in the 1930s and 1940s. He was one of the pioneers in spreading awareness of calypso beyond Trinidad and Tobago. Together with the Roaring Lion (Rafael de Leon) he brought calypso to the United States for the first time in 1934.

“Lord Kitchener” (Aldwyn Roberts) was one of the most internationally famous calypsonians.

2. @GoWeb

Thanks, truly appreciate the background on Ole Ashay

3. I prefer not to speculate on the assault incident because up to now we have only heard one side of the story. Despite I have info from someone who was also backstage, that info doesn’t hold any water until both parties have spoken. Until something more concrete is revealed it is dangerous to pick sides and talk about who is right or wrong.

4. @GoWeb

If you are close to Gabby you should remind him that there is a PR battle being fought by Admiral using social media. He may want to consider the ramifications of such to his earned reputation and a likely response very carefully.

5. Also want to add that this is not the first time Gabby has used Latin influence in a Calypso. He has an old song that starts โ€œCalypso is my music, ah goin use itโ€, which is also distinctively latin and people only hailed it as a masterpiece years after.
      …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
      The Latin influence in the above song is not noticeable as this 2010 calypso which is 99.9% Salsa mixed with .1% Calypso. Probably, Gabby might be using this song to immigrate to Brazil. Yuh tink Gabbs foolish!!!!!!!!

6. I’m not close to Gabby. Met him at a Calypso workshop I participated in but he probably would even remember me. Anyway, I’m aware that Admiral seems to have the advantage at this point with all the media coverage relating his version of the events but not that much time has passed and I’m sure either of two things will happen…..Gabby will break his silence or Admiral will decide to become silent when he discovers he is hard-pressed to find witnesses.
      We talk about the ramifications of being in the media but let me ask this question….
      Does anybody know if Mr. Bjerkhamn has given a statement yet? Does anybody care?

7. @GoWeb

We talk about the ramifications of being in the media but let me ask this questionโ€ฆ.
      Does anybody know if Mr. Bjerkhamn has given a statement yet? Does anybody care?

Good point, we have been following this matte very closely. Credit to Barbados Today Online who has been posting updates on his Court appearances.

8. The song is a calypso and Gabby is correct about the Latin influence. Anyone doubting that it is a calypso should talk to Dr. Hollis Liverpool-Chalkdust. Anyone who has study the history of music and particularly calypso in the caribbean knows that calypso was infleuenced by the latin music from nearby Venezuela. Latin music and calypso is like American English and British English -same thing with few differences realting to accent and expression. Listen to the horns in any old calypso and note exact phrases in latin music.

In time to come this song under discussion will be hailed as a master piece. In 1982, the crowd booed Gabby fom the time he started to sing -‘Calypso’ right thru the whole song . Sometime after it was hailed as a master piece.

Even though it is his opinion ADMIRAL is wrong when he says that the song is not and will never be a calypso. The artist defines art and if Gabby says it is a calypso for all intents and purposes, it is a calypso.

Everytime someone tries to take calypso to new heights, idiots come along and say it aint calypso and all that crap. They did the same thing with voice in my head by Edwin in 1995 .

Admiral Nelson does not have any interest in the development of calypso, he is about making himself relevant at Crop Over time by seeking controversy. That is why Larry Mayers did not return to host Festival Stage.

Admiral Nelson has committed a lot of ‘sins’ and if he is being paid back now by Gabby whether Gabby is right or wrong, it is Karma.

Eddy Grant proved Admiral Nelson to be the biggest music pirate in Barbados years ago. Ask Gabby how Eddy did it -(I know but will elaborate at another time), Admiral brought this upon himself, he had a cut ass coming ever since. Poonka sang a song called ‘Johnny’ in digust about Admiral Nelson and Poonka nearly knock the daylights out of him one night outside the radio station. Wunna rhink ASSMIRAL sweet though? Krosfyah tell he –dont touch their music.

But he loves the attention because he craves attention so he is feeling good tonite even though he got his ass whacked. Gabby might have broken the law and might be found guilty but many people have broken the law for history defining moments–this is one such time

Kudos to Gabby
      Admiral needs to go and play music and stop the crap talk every year as soon as Crop Over starts. Both he and Dennis Johnson. I hate to hear the two jackasses when the year come. The time they spend talking shoite -(according to Bonny Peppa –Oh how I miss her) , they could be promoting the music on air. Barbados does not need Dennis Johnson nor Admiral Nelson talking talking talking talking——-What controversy what ?-Play music man !

9. After all the shoite Admiral talked about Gabby, he turned around and assaulted Gabby by invading the mans space and demanding an interview, Yuh dont know that Admiral lucky GABBY AINT KICK HE IN HE BALLS.

10. @ KISSMYA

While all may agree there are mitigating circumstances given the history behind this matter, in all fairness, two grown men should not have to resort to the physical to resolve matters.

11. Were there any witnesses to the incident?
      If there were no witnesses, whose word will be believed?
      What about tangible evidence? Is a photograph of a torn shirt reliable evidence?
      Is there any other way that Admiral’s expensive shirt could have been torn than by Gabby manhandling him?
      Is there any evidence of a physical assault on Admiral’s body?
      What is the likelihood of the case being heard and of Gabby being found guilty of assault?
      Are we being a bit premature in apportioning blame at this stage?
      Are we jumping to conclusions on this matter?

12. Does anyone have an audio recording of Ole Ashe?

13. Sooooooooo. Are the intellegentia @ the BTA going to use Gabby’s Ole Ashe in TV commercials in Brazil?

14. @HANTS
      Maybe you meant to be sarcastic, I do not know, but I would say a brilliant idea.

15. @ David

why not ?

why is America fighting in Vietnam ——-(2) ?
      sometimes there will be war before peace

16. @KISSMYA

Couldn’t Gabby have simply ignored the request from Admiral for an interview and treated him as if he was invisible rather than pulling a Mike Tyson?

17. @Brutas

I doubt anyone has an audio recording and it’s not available on BajanTube.

18. @HAnts

Good suggestion, can see why you are an HC boy…lol.

19. Gabby did not win farely

20. @Bajan in NC
      “Gabby did not win farely”

You are so very right. He was the judge, and the judges the performers; it was Gabby who had to tune his ear to lyrics, melody, rendition and all those things to determine based upon the criteria that Gabby should win and the judges should lose. Hence, it cannot be fair, it has to be ‘farely ‘complicated that he could do so much on the night and adjudge himself the winner. Get REAL. The man is 9 time CHAMPION. Maybe not your choice, you were not there, I was not there, and we were not judges. Talk about something else.

21. There are horses for courses ….. former calypso king = class…. out de top draw this situation would never happen to him u have to be able to control ur self under any unforeseable situation, as a representative of barbados and the art form regardless of what happen the best of gabby should always be shown to the public he just won a calypso crown for goodness sake show some class….. don’t go and kick ass

22. @Brutus
      {Does anyone have an audio recording of Ole Ashe?}

Give me an email address to send it to.

23. @Mystery Man,

Maybe you could email it to David, along with Haiti if you have that too.

Thanks

@Brutus

The physical email was removed to prevent spammers and replaced with a link to the address.

24. Thanks David.

25. A Thinking Man Avatar

bullheads // August 2, 2010 at 3:12 PM

Why was Admiral backstage was he working,was he doing an interview? Who was he interviewing? Did he go there to interfer with Gabby?Was he on assingment?
      ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

everybody talking and talking and talking but clearly none of you know Admiral. this is his moment, this is what he ( Admiral) wanted, sounds like a jokes? talk to anyone who works at CBC and see how he gets under their skin and goes out his way to provoke them and when i say provoke i mean go after the person(s) to get them to react not with words but with actions. like i said, a quick call to CBC, if you know anyone who works there could confirm this.

i was not there but i would love to see how many people will come forward and talk about Admiral’s daily actions in CBC. How many times has Gabby gone before the court for beating up people?

the story Admiral is selling is that this is not about a song or anything he said on air, it’s about a woman, that is why he drop his “gender beater” line. he is selling, don’t know who is buying.

but without all the facts Gabby is wrong? Gabby is this and that. we are so fast to cast aside that we have not heard Gabby’s side. oh sorry, i forgot. we know…

26. This case will go nowhere.
      A story in todayโ€™s press said Gabby turned up at the Police station with his lawyer and laid a complaint against Admiral.
      They did not say he was arrested.
      Admiral said on his FB page that a warrant was out for Gabby arrest.

27. @Jeff

Could you comment on how sub judice action will affect Admiral’s ability to discuss this matter on his CBC show tomorrow?

He has been hyping his Wednesday show and one suspects he would want to discuss the matter, even cursorily.

BU’s position is if he is allowed it would smack of hypocrisy and double standards given the frequency that media houses in Barbados hide under the blanket of sub judice to not discuss other matters.

28. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
      Jeff Cumberbatch

Just saw this, David.

But is the matter sub judice? Has a charge in fact been laid? If so, any discussion of the matter by Admiral would appear to be in contempt of court. Yes, the media do at times overstate the question of sub judice in their own interest. I suppose that they are being cautious.

29. @Jeff

The term ‘sub judice’ was used loosely to make the point that based on Admiral’s mouthings he will be pressing charges. In anticipation of such wouldn’t CBC and Admiral be advised to use best judgement by shutting Admiral up? He could prejudice the matter couldn’t he?

30. A Thinking Man Avatar

David, will Admiral be on the air? that is a discussion at CBC, will have to wait and see the out come, so you are kind of jumping the gun with your question.

31. Bonny Peppa in N.Y Chillin Avatar
      Bonny Peppa in N.Y Chillin

I hate dat shite-hound Gabby, I hope he get a heavy fine in he ass. Keep ya hands ta yaself. Come n hit me now fa sayin so.

Admiral, dis is you girl Ms. Copy-rite, I backin you all de way n ef ya want a ‘false-oath tekka’, I gun soon get back home. Tek um lite n lie low til I get back.

Gabby

Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.

32. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
      Jeff Cumberbatch

Agreed, David. I was just making the point that for it to be considered sub judice or, literally “under a judge”, it has to be in court, not merely threatened.

As for the shutting up, CBC has access to legal advice…in the word of BAFBP…no?

33. @A Thinking Man

It is clear from Admiral’s interactions on FB or by CBC employees like Diane Forte there is a reasonable expectation that he intends to host the show tomorrow. If moves are afoot to remove him we shall have to wait and see.

34. Always some controversy
      If Gabby hit Admiral he was wrong…..or was it just a case of grabbling up Admiral’s shirt and it ripped in his hands?
      Admiral like me you or anyone else is entitled to his opinion and he needs to realise that other people are entitled to theirs.
      Gabby by now should be able to take criticism in his stride.
      The NCF need to re-look at their judging criteria as to me it is here where the problems lie. They should also involve the public’s opinion. It is after all the public, whether they be here in Trinidad, US, Canada that can make or break a tune. Re Gabby & TC as the saying goes 60 million Frenchmen can’t be wrong.

35. A Thinking Man Avatar

well he could be opening CBC for a lawsuit. looks like the fun is now going to start.

36. man, this sums up what is wrong wid bim…

bajans are a bunch of wimps! a bunch of pretenders…Admiral is de only man who calls a spade a spade during dis cropover ting and people getting vex wid he every year. In fact I would state Bim needs more persons like Admiral who say what needs to be said. Wunna got shite hounds like gabby tink he is God’s gift to de island.

Who is Gabby that he can’t be criticised? Man, wunna mekkin bare mock sport.
      Admiral talk ya talk do!

37. @Alpha
      Admiral did not call a spade a spade. He said something was NOT a spade, but is yet to tell us what IS a spade.
      However Admiral like he aint want tuh talk nuh more. He told me this morning that his opinion on what is calypso is not important or necessary.

38. @ Brutus

I have made the recordings available to BU. It’s up to them if they will post them.

39. Many thanks, Mystery Man.

40. I think both men should forget about it, and move on. No one was injured, at least physically. A few years ago we were speaking of conflict resolution, and we were saying to the youth sometimes it is just best to walk away.

41. As promised Mystery Man delivered.

Enjoy and remember these songs have been made available for the listening pleasure ONLY.

Gabby – Ole Ashae โ€“ Finals

Gabby – O Haiti โ€“ Finals

Gabby – O Haiti – Finals – Presentation

42. i believe Gabby won because you old people with no common sense and living in barbados always make backward decisions such as that- by giving an undeserving old man a crown just because years ago he had many hit songs – it’s pathetic. Admiral did the right thing he did not lay a finger on Gabby. He displayed much more maturity than Gabby. Gabby has seen for himself that the people (young people) has no interest in him. the older folks are just that old. who gives a damn, you had your day, get over it and get out.

43. Adrian Hinds // August 2, 2010 at 8:13 AM

I love the cropover season for the calypso singing, and the band costumes. What does this Admiral Nelson do????? Gabby should have remain above this talking โ€œhead.โ€ Yet another useless media personality that thinks there is something more to their talk and play a song activity.

Admiral has more personality than you. He knows how to tell the truth. you? you’re living with your head between your a.s

44. @ David

You may be guilty of posting all dead link …dead dead dead..no?

45. @BAFBFP

What computer they make in China?

Can read mp3 format, no?

46. @Ms anon

Lady, please get real. What do you mean that Admiral “knows how to tell the truth?” Don’t we all especially if it suits us. And pray tell me, if I believe it is calypso, and admiral does not believe it is calypso, and many others not sure one way or the other, and then others who do not even care, whose truth is he telling? STOP BEING HYPOCRITES! Admiral has no exclusive right to speak on my behalf or on yours, or on anyone else’s. In addition, he is suggesting that we the listeners do not believe it is calypso, and he has not asked my opinion or yours. Truth my ass, he is the same bold-faced liar as you could be or I could be if any of us wanted to do that. As far as I am concerned, there is mutual disrespect by both persons to Bajans. Charge them both or exonerate them both, their behaviours are both bad.

47. I listened to both songs carefully – I had heard them before but it is difficult to catch the melody from Gabby’s live performances if you only hear them once.

I think the appreciation of both songs will grow with time but I don’t know if they are really Gabby classics.

I don’t think it is a big stretch to accept Ole Ashe as calypso – musically I don’t think it strays very far from what we know and accept as calypso.

In terms of lyrics I would score both songs as average – but this is typical of Gabby. Melodically, they are interesting and different, but I don’t find them to be exceptional at all. I wouldn’t even describe them as innovative – just interesting and different.

48. @ Brutus
      Although the songs are not lyrically the best, I think that’s what set Gabby apart. We are accustomed to having reasonably good lyrics in our competition. The problem has been that the melodies were all recycled or not very good. Gabby’s melodies have obviously made him stand out in the pack of ordinary arrangements.

49. @GoWEB,

I agree that throughout the years Gabby has been the master of melody in the same way that RPB has been the lyrical master.

I think the verdict from the audience at the finals though was that they were not so impressed by Gabby’s melodies on this occasion. So, to what extent is melody judged on technical criteria and would Gabby have scored high in these criteria? And to what extent does the arrangement factor into judging melody? It may be argued that the arrangement of the two songs was so heavy and complex that, coupled with Gabby’s rendition, they detracted from the melodies. But were the underlying melodies so fantastic, especially Haiti?

Now the question of rendition is another interesting area. Historically Gabby has been far ahead in rendition, but this time I didn’t find he was very impressive. Certainly he has nothing on Adrian Clarke and John King, and even Sheldon Hope.

50. @Brutus

I wasn’t at the finals but I don’t get the impression people weren’t taken by the melodies. The major complaint I hear is that people didn’t understand the song. I haven’t heard any major complaints about “O Haiti”, but people didn’t understand “Ole Ashay”. To be honest, I think people just comee to finals to hears people sing about Politicians and other Calypsonians. They would accept singing about wukking-up too. When they don’t get that they are upset. How come no one complained about “Something’s Happening”? That wasn’t a kaiso and it didn’t even meet the criteria (only had two verses). Kareen Clarke had a song named “Barbados” that was disqualified because it only had two verses. “Something’s Happening” went ahead and won the crown, no complaints, no questions asked. If Gabby had sung about wukking up or about something lewd in the same melody of “Ole Ashay” no one would have complained.