Mighty Gabby, Calypso King
Tony 'Admiral' Nelson

At a time when the country is struggling with indiscipline, the gun incident between Minister David Estwick and former Attorney General in the highest court of the land would not have helped. This matter remains outstanding several months after the incident occurred. The latest is that the matter has been referred to the Committee of Privileges by the Speaker of the House. Yet another matter buried to fade with time by our politicians.

Late late night the news broke that the 2010 Calypso King of Barbados was engaged in an altercation with CBC Radio Personality Tony ‘Admiral’ Nelson backstage at Cohobblopot, Kensington Oval. It seemed inevitable that something would snap among Crop Over stakeholders after the booing incident at Bushy Park last weekend. The crowd showed its displeasure at Terencia ‘TC’ Coward being declared one of the winners.  TC reacted in an unprecedented manner by forfeiting her right to participate in the face off with Anderson ‘Blood’ Anderson giving up her chance to win a car!

Pictures (only) compliments of Peter Boyce’s Facebook page.

It is no secret that Admiral Nelson blamed TC for for acting irresponsibly in the matter. He voiced on his show Festival Stage last week that because TC had admitted to having doubts about the face off part of the soca competition it convinced him she never intended to compete. It seems from the Mighty Gabby’s comments in the media he has taken Admiral’s criticism of TC to heart. The fact Admiral has been critical of his two competition songs would not have helped matters. Based on reports posted on Facebook the two got involved in an altercation backstage during the Cohobblopot Show. Details remain sketchy but it has been suggested that Admiral has referred the matter to the police and the Mighty Gabby had been arrested. BU will update this matter as more details come to hand.

A couple days ago popular Video Blogger Babbzy posted a scathing attack about her experience as a guest on Admiral’s show on her Website – here is the link, go to the sidebar on the left of the page, search for the video Babbzy Vs. The Laymans, she uses a few choice Bajan expletives!

It seems to BU that Admiral has increased his rhetoric this season and something was bound to happen as a consequence. We can only hope that cool heads prevail and the festival is not further soured by the incident.

275 responses to “Altercation Between 2010 Calypso King Mighty Gabby And Tony ‘Admiral’ Nelson Backstage Cohobblopot Show”

1. Flavour of the Month Avatar
      Flavour of the Month

To BAD MAN

Mr. Blunt asked the following

Do i now have to train my ear to listen for underlying tones and beats of jazz, reggae, hip hop, or maybe even a little Calypso before i can determine what the hell i’m listening to? I DON’T THINK SO !!!

—my answer —
      Yes you would have to Mr. Blunt if you want to say other than what the judges say. Please accept the judges decision: They are the experts. Respect authority. Stop questioning the judges decision–That is what you have to do and you would not have a problem

Why dont people just accept the judges decision . Bajan society has become so feminized that all we want is gossip and talk talk talk.

The judges are the authority figures and the experts . Are we not flying in the face of authority. Please consider this fact.

2. In all honesty, from the time I heard Gabby was coming back, I knew he’d win the crown – the last car he won is eleven years old and they had to give him some incentive to return!

Calypsonians need to recognise that they are not God and even Jesus had His critics when He walked this earth.

I hope I’m not digressing here, but I have noticed a lot of comments lately about Rihanna’s “Cultural Ambassador” post in light of her recent antics on and off stage. Gabby was also a so-called “Cultural Ambassador” – maybe we need to stop giving people that title because they obviously don’t understand what it means to be an Ambassador.

3. I agree with Admiral all the way

4. I find that we have a generation of people who are simplistic and simple minded. They posess a very narrow world view or no world view at all. Most of today’s generation seem ignorant of their history both recent and less recent.

Such people put forward views that are so devoid of reasoning, of comprehension and of objectivity and foresight and imagination, it is frighthening. Some of them feel that because they can drive an expensive vehicle or live in a certain accomodation whether rented or self-owned that their view must be forced on us. These people have no respect for established views and are quick to dismiss wisdom. That is why the West Indies Team is suffering now. All of the coaches stated that none of the men want to listen. Some things that I find recently:

-that a party song is one with a fast beat
      -that competition calypso with a few exceptions are expected to be slow and limited to social and political commentary or singing about other calypsonians.
      -that if the radio satation dont play a song , it aint no-good so as a DJ playing in the party , I cant make a hit by playing a song in the party. As a DJ I have to take my cue from radio (how stupid).

-that if the calypsonian dont please the crowd, that calypsonian should not win no matter what.

-if the calypsonian aint singing what I want to hear, I tune out and then say the singer aint sing nuttin or that I aint hear.

Man we so ignorant
      !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      The Question of Lyrics
      //////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
      There is a tendency in Barbados to be verboise and there is a lot of emphasis on who can talk and talk and talk, the more words you can use the more status you will gain in Barbadian society. There have been comments about people who use a lot of words as being people who are capable and to be admired. This is rooted deep in the psyche of the Barbadian being heavily influenced by England. One has often heard the expression –he cant even talk —and he is hated for that perception that he cant talk or liked for the perception that he -can talk-
      Grey Brome was described as cant talk but money talks and Grey Brome had money.
      When you come to calypso, people frown on a calypso with short lines and these people feel that a calypso must be filled with nuff words. Lyrics are the words used to express the theme and that theme is expressed in 25 words as opposed to 125 words, those 25 words are accepted as lyrics.

5. Of course Admiral is a pirate
      Ask him yuhself
      yuh asked if anybody ever bring a CD and say they get it from Admiral —–duhh !!!!!!!!!

94.7 is a 70/80/90 music station playing cunt from North America ? why ?

It should be playing Bajan music 100 %
      what purpose is it serving -a government owned radio station funded by the tax payers promoting american music during crop–over ??

Is that not a sign that somebody should get a day ? Man the country really sick , it aint well at all, we better count de cost. something really needs to happen bout here because , home drums should beat if it is Bim we love . When will black man arise and untie his hands eh ?

6. Adrian said:

“I think Gabby has a good defamation case against admiral.”

I was actually was thinking the same thing. I think admiral should cool it with the allegations of woman beating.

7. Adrian Hinds said:

“Defense of truth is not an absolute defence. The truth can still get you in trouble unless it is parliament where absolute defence is in play”

I was about to say that this was incorrect but I see that Jeff already addressed this comment. Unless any of these defences are available to Admiral I still think that he would be well advised to ease up on the allegations of “woman beating”.

8. @ Adrian : u didn’t see admiral ammended his comment of the site and took out ‘gender beater’. he prob was adviced.

9. Bonny Peppa in N.Y Chillin Avatar
      Bonny Peppa in N.Y Chillin

Do me a favour please and take down dat pic and put up one of my king, RPB pleezeeeeeeeeeeeeee. Tank you muchly.

RPB you is still my king darlin and I luv you rale badddddd. (Now there’s a gentleman fa ya).

10. I do not know what too place betwween gabby and admiral I am no gabby fan neither am I admiral’s I am a musician as well I went to you tube to listen to some latin music I was so suprise to see that it is very close to calypso if you take out the brass and stuff. What I realise is that gabby’s song is not IS NOT calypso music no where

11. Ha ha ah ah haha

What De Bird?

This is so funny

Admiral responsing Like a Girl

“Gabby is a GENDER beater”

Hah ah hah

He should Da run to SAVE

I woulda feel more entertain if I had seen some Punch Marks and some Black eye and Broken Jaws ,arm bones and ribs , Hospitalization and surgery

Then I would have know a SERIOUS FIGHT WHEN DOWN

Admiral response Just Sissy

This that tell me streigth Just who got beat up and just who won

Dont complain like a woman

Oh he a gender Beat

Hah ah haha a

Admiral get BEAT up

Gabby might get fine or spend time

i dont cause we just dont know who started know ,

what a laugh

this is pure proof that Crop over is just what I have alway seen it to be

CRAP OVER

I glad de CRAP OVER

it dont phase me

This is just a nonsense debate

12. Forget this squabble between Gabby and Admiral. Gabby is making an important point about the development of Calypso, View the following documentary on the music of Brazil (Part 1 of 6). Calypso is certainly part of the musical contribution of Africans to the Americas and to the world. The roots of Brazilian music as heard in Salvador certainly invite comparison to calypso.

13. Anyone remember this from 1986 – Bahia Girl by David Rudder?

14. BOnny Peppa In N.Y Chilling Avatar
      BOnny Peppa In N.Y Chilling

Telma
      you soun like a real backward GT banna de way you phrasin you sentences an i can’t undastan a word ya tryin ta sa. maybe you can’ undastan me needa.but cud crois man…………………..
      you glad de Crap over? ya klown.
      you prefer de Labour day jump-up in Brooklyn or Carabana in Canada?Ya klown.

Leff we Crop Over festival alone for me please ya illiterate donkey. (I’m just being kind)

15. Sad to say that the ignornace has ruled the day. Gabby has shown a deep knowledge and understanding of the calypso art form. Admiral has showed his ignorance. What happened in the altercation is known by only a small number of people, yet an entire nation is pass ing judgement. We should be shame.

16. I read all of the comments and they were allllll interesting!

I don’t know if I was Gabby what I would have done. I am not a Gabby fan although I like his music …….. and I can’t stand the admiral either I think he is an ass.

Therefore, the way how I have read these responses is to say that we as a society are very hypocritical and dangerous!!!!!!!!!

I don’t think that it will ever stop!!!!

I challenge anyone to be Gabby or Admiral at that point in time with all that adrenaline flowing and I know that everyone of us would have handled the situation differently.

As human, I probably would have hit the admiral toooo or I might have walked away!

Stupes who knows!!!!

17. I know everybody in Barbados & everybody knows this Negroman.
      A friend of mines who is the manager of a very popular calypsonian told me that the “Admiral” started the altercation by accosting “Gabby” by putting his hands in “Gabby’s” face.
      If an irritant like “Admiral”Nelson a constant critic who is in the habit of criticizing,insulting & belittling the music of local calypsonians had accosted any of the contributors who are lambasting “Gabby”,I wonder how many of those same contributors would have taken the high road & walk away.
      If as the “Admiral” claims that “Gabby”physically assaulted him why hasn’t “Gabby”be charged as yet?
      “Admiral Nelson deserves what he got from the “Gabby”and I am sorry that it was not a more severe beating that nuisance got.from “Gabby

18. An interesting exchange on Facebook between Terry Arthur of Square One fame and Tony Admiral Nelson.

VETERAN DJ/SHIT STIRRER VS THE VETERAN MUSICIAN

Wednesday at 6:36am

The following is a conversation between dj Admiral Nelson and veteran producer and musician Terry Arthur, member of Square One, Steel Pan Player, Percussionist, Producer of numerous hit songs all through the diaspora and wherever else calypso is played. One of those who helped take calypso to the world. His knowledge of and his love for and his dedication to this artform are unquestionable. This piece contains gross disrespect and would give people a clear perspective on why someone would want to slap Admiral in his face. Reader discretion is advised. For more info on the origins of Calypso please check out Terry Arthur’s Facebook page.
      Terry Ricardo Arthur: CALYPSO ..WITH THE LATIN FLAVOUR..CALYPSO BLUES…WILLIE ROSARIO …THIS WAS/IS A HUGEEE CALYPSO SONG…WITH A TWIST … ENJOY

Anthony Nelson: This is not Calypso…What is wrong with you people?? The inference to calypso and the calypso girl is how these guys looked at the west indies a long time ago, like a calypso island and a lot of them tried all sorts of things and called it calypso…Mexican, You should know better…This is R&B with the latin fusion…My question is….what is it? If you put Rum in a coke, it is no longer a coke and so BBC cant sell it as a coke. What makes calypso sooo different?

Terry Ricardo Arthur: YOU DONT DETERMINE WHAT IS CALYPSO ADMIRAL …CALYPSO CAN BE SUNG OVER ANYTHING..OR NTHING AT ALL ..ITS THE PHRASING …IT DID NOT JUST DROP FROM THE SKY,IT HAD TO COME OUT OF ANOTHER MUSIC FORM…IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN AND WILL ALWAYS BE A MIXTURE OF RHYTHMS..TO THIS DAY IT STILL HAS NOT BEEN DEFINED BY A DRUM PATTERN … NOW IF YOU WANT TO TALK ABOUT MODERN CALYPSO,THATS DIFFERENT …MEN USED TO SING CALYPSO OVER LATIN,JAZZ AND AFRO RHYTHMS..CHECK OUT THE SMITHSONIAN LOGS …UNTIL CALYPSO IS REDEFINED BY A PARTICULAR DRUM PATTERN IT SHALL REMAIN ,….BROADD..WHETHER WE LIKE IT OR NOT..EVEN SONGS LIKE THE BANANA SONG ARE LABELLED AS CALYPSO ( WHICH WAS ON ONE OF THE FIRST ALBUMS TO SELL A MILLION COPIES BY THE WAY ) ..CALLED CALYPSO ..BUT WAIT,YOU WANT TO TELL ME WHAT CALYPSO IS.? I HAVE STUDIED,RESEARCHED,WRITTEN

,ARRANGED,PRODUCED,PERFORM

ED ..EVERYTHING TO DO WITH CALYPSO MY WHOLE LIFE…I MAY NOT KNOW ABOUT CARS OR COMPUTERS OR R+B/FUNK OR ANYTHING ELSE..BUT ON THIS TOPIC SOMEHOW I THINK I AM A LITTLE MORE QUALIFIED ….UNTIL YOU DO ONE OF THE ABOVE THINGS IN CALYPSO (SUCCESSFULLY) ,JUST STICK TO PLAYING THE FINISHED PRODUCT/OR NT PLAYING IT WHEN IT COMES OUT ..TERRY MEXICAN ARTHUR..2010

Terry Ricardo Arthur: WAIT,I NOW KETCH MYSELF..IF YOU SEE A SONG NAMED ( CALYPSO BLUES) ,its one or two things,the calypso will be mixed with blues music..or the lyrics will be (blues) .i.e sad,or based on some kind of struggle,..so the calypso may not be pure,..and there is no telling what the split maybe..it could be 60/40 or 8010 ,or 50/50,who knows..but it would still be a calypso blues,..this is how it works ….i am a writer ….pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeee dont make me pull out my credentials to see who is the expert between me and you ADMIRAL….lol.

Anthony Nelson: to make it is to understand it mexican….you do soca, not calypso

Terry Ricardo Arthur: lets imagine that i only do soca,,for your sake,..still who would be more qualified on the subject..me or you ? ..you have no idea about what i have done in my career ,..you may even only know my bjan producing side ….you have not a clue about all of my work ..i may be quiet,but dont get it twisted

Anthony Nelson: This is a waste of my time….

Anthony Nelson: I respect you mexican,I really do, but you are not accurate here…but anyways, we is we

Terry Ricardo Arthur: this is not a waste of my time, I LIVE AND BREATHE THIS …ADMIRAL,THERE IS NO WAY IN HELL THAT YOU WOULD BE MORE QUALIFIED ON THIS TOPIC THAN I AM ….BELIEVE THAT..MAYBE R+B OR FUNK ,MAYBE EVEN RAGGAE..NOT THIS TRUST ME …

Anthony Nelson: I am a lot more qualified than you on this subject Mexican…I played pan long before you even thought about it…Of course you are better than I am because this is your profession and you play it almost every day. I played on cruise ships all over the place….you wont know that would you…..AND….the level of calypsoes I’ve heard, you have not dreamed to know about…wunna fellas just come to town…..lol

Terry Ricardo Arthur: BOY,TONY,I CANT WAIT TO PUT UP FACTS..i always had the research material in my house,left from my dad..but,who tell dem to give me access to internet ..hahahaha ..this is all i do all day,everyday ..hahahaha …lolhahaha,i can speak on no other subject though ,only calypso and soca music ..hahaha..well,maybe african dance and black history..lol..hahaha ..i here now trying to upload a calypso from 1905,hahaha..

Anthony Nelson: you dont have to upload it…I can give you…and most likely it’s from Trinidad….I have followed and researched kaiso all over the world so if you coming come good…Festival Stage……leh we gooo

Terry Ricardo Arthur: playing pan ?..that would qualify me the least ..lol..lets work it out..i was a PROFESSIONAL PAN PLAYER AT NINE…YOU ARE NOT 12 YEARS OLDER THAN ME..SO WORK IT OUT..YOU MAYBE SURPRISE TO SEE HOW LONG I WAS PLAYING PAN..HAHAHA..I AM QUALIFIED MORE THAN YOU IN EVERY AREA OF MUSIC EXCEPT TURN TABLES..DONT GO THERE..PLEASE TAKE YOUR ARGUMENTS TO THE LAYMEN..NOT ME..PAN PLAYING ON CRUISE SHIPS..LOL..I WAS THE FIRST PAN PLAYER TO EVER WIN EMPLOYEE OF THE MONTH ON ANY CRUISE SHIP..SHHHHHH,DONT TELL NOBODY,LOL..PLAYING IN THE JAZZ BAND,CALYPSO BAND AND R+B BAND ..SHHHHHHH….LETS MEET AND MAKE SOME CALYPSO SONGS ,.LOL ..BOY,I WAS BORN TO PLAY,WRITE,PRODUCE AND ARRANGE MUSIC..DONT GO THERE..LOL ,I AM NOT ONE OF THOSE GUYS THAT RUN AWAY..TRUST ME..

Terry Ricardo Arthur: YOU THINK I WILL COME ON FESTIVAL STAGE FOR YOU TO CUT ME OFF WHEN I START TO TALK ,I MUSSE MAD..GO OUT THERE AND MAKE SOMETHING,ANYTHING ,.BEFORE COMING TO ME ..MY WORK IS THERE TO SPEAK FOR ITSELF..EVEN LONGGGGG AFTER I HAVE GONE..MY LEGACY WILL BE THERE …I DID NOT SPEND A LIFETIME DOING WHAT I DO TO COME TO BOOST RATINGS ,I HAVE SONGS TO MAKE…TO BE PLAYED OR NOT PLAYED ..

Anthony Nelson: I WILL SHUT AND LET U HAVE YOUR SAY…………….I PROMISE

Anthony Nelson: MEXICAN, WE HAVE A GREAT RELATIONSHIP….I TREASURE IT MORE THAN MANY….BUT YOU KNOW I AM STRAIGHT…….YOU WOULD NOT WANT TO APPEAR ON THE STAGE, BUT IF YOU BRAVE, PLEASE COME….I WILL LET YOU GO FIRST THEN I WILL HAVE MY SAY…..

Terry Ricardo Arthur: nah man,..this is de only topic that i would talk on..this is down my alley…i make music,..i can pick down any calypso song..chord for chord..any cross rhythm i can detect,i am also a percussionist..this is what i do..i would not go and argue with roger skeete about racing cars…lol …i have done it at all levels ..i usually like to keep it a secret ,especially my outside work ….where else would a dj challenge a man with my track record./..i,who have been doing this am not an expert ,what would make him think that he is?…make your contribution (a good one i might add ) ..but this is a different ballgame ..howwww in the name of all that is good could he be more of an expert on this topic than me?..well,well,well.. all these people telling me i should not come down to this level but i think i have to..then i will go back to being quiet..lol..hahaha

Terry Ricardo Arthur: nah boy..tht is not for me..take up my work and ridicule if you want,..but not me..go and make or do something dealing with this music…really and trully,i dont even think that i should be entertaining this topic..we are not on the same level …you can go and humiliate whoever but not me..i have invested too much …the difference between me and you is that i hold each and everyone of these artists in high esteem,from pong to red plastic bag..i am STILL in awe of their work,regardless of all of my achievements ,i love them and by extension i love their work ,i dont like when you humiliate them and i would never put myself in that possition……you be good..

Terry Ricardo Arthur: crop over is done..you can extend and bring on some sports people now to mess up..or politicians..hahahahaha…

ratings would be nice..maybe the WEST INDIES CRICKET TEAM..HAHAHAHA.. what the hell would i be doing discussing music with you on there..unless,i bring along my keyboard and play extended chords and ask you to name them,..lol..hahaha..

19. TaurusbyNature Avatar

Whooo Grabby think he is????????? la lala lalala

20. Did Gabby assalt Admiral or pepper he wid licks?

This shirt tearing sounds so sissified.
      Two big men involved in an”assault” an nuh teet pun de groun nor
      face on mek.

21. There is going to be so much pressure placed on Admiral to back off this matter his head will get dizzy.

22. SYNCRESIS.

23. I am like the Admiral i have watched a lot of police all over the world but i have never studied them yet i can tell them about they work.What would i be a mock police. Some persons always think that making the most noise is winning an argument but i think not knowledge is power.It is time that Admiral put up these credentials he brags about or failing that shut up . Who Admiral think he is?

24. Did Admiral Nelson met his Water Loo,or just another,sh** house./?

25. Everyone stop and think for a minute! The media has only reported ONE side to the whole Gabby/Admiral incident and that is Admiral’s side. There must be a strong reason why Gabby’s side wasn’t published. Why don’t you people stop and think!!