Mighty Gabby, Calypso King
Tony 'Admiral' Nelson

At a time when the country is struggling with indiscipline, the gun incident between Minister David Estwick and former Attorney General in the highest court of the land would not have helped. This matter remains outstanding several months after the incident occurred. The latest is that the matter has been referred to the Committee of Privileges by the Speaker of the House. Yet another matter buried to fade with time by our politicians.

Late late night the news broke that the 2010 Calypso King of Barbados was engaged in an altercation with CBC Radio Personality Tony โ€˜Admiralโ€™ Nelson backstage at Cohobblopot, Kensington Oval. It seemed inevitable that something would snap among Crop Over stakeholders after the booing incident at Bushy Park last weekend. The crowd showed its displeasure at Terencia โ€˜TCโ€™ Coward being declared one of the winners.ย  TC reacted in an unprecedented manner by forfeiting her right to participate in the face off with Anderson โ€˜Bloodโ€™ Anderson giving up her chance to win a car!

Pictures (only) compliments of Peter Boyce’s Facebook page.

It is no secret that Admiral Nelson blamed TC for for acting irresponsibly in the matter. He voiced on his show Festival Stage last week that because TC had admitted to having doubts about the face off part of the soca competition it convinced him she never intended to compete. It seems from the Mighty Gabbyโ€™s comments in the media he has taken Admiralโ€™s criticism of TC to heart. The fact Admiral has been critical of his two competition songs would not have helped matters. Based on reports posted on Facebook the two got involved in an altercation backstage during the Cohobblopot Show. Details remain sketchy but it has been suggested that Admiral has referred the matter to the police and the Mighty Gabby had been arrested. BU will update this matter as more details come to hand.

A couple days ago popular Video Blogger Babbzy posted a scathing attack about her experience as a guest on Admiralโ€™s show on her Website โ€“ here is the link, go to the sidebar on the left of the page, search for the video Babbzy Vs. The Laymans, she uses a few choice Bajan expletives!

It seems to BU that Admiral has increased his rhetoric this season and something was bound to happen as a consequence. We can only hope that cool heads prevail and the festival is not further soured by the incident.

275 responses to “Altercation Between 2010 Calypso King Mighty Gabby And Tony ‘Admiral’ Nelson Backstage Cohobblopot Show”

1. Okay, shall we blame this on `de yoots’? I think not. How about “dub music”? Hmmm….I guess it was an all kaiso affair, so the Vibes Kartels and the Movardos could hardly be blamed. In fact the 2010 Cohobblopot was toted as sporting a 100% Bajan cast, so maybe a Bajan brawl was scripted (a la WWE style).

Wuh loss!!! Look wuh mi sweet Buhbaydus come to!

2. i am glad that admiral got his ass cut by gabby and it was not me who had to do it..its good time that admiral knows that he is not the voice of barbados

3. It just goes to show…whether Reggae, R&B, Soca etc. People and NOT the music is to blame.
      Admiral has his opinion, just like all of us on this blog. Now let’s see who has more too lose.

4. @Technician

Not sure if is a fair comparison.

5. i dislike admiral very much, but gabby who is my boy had no right to beat him… gabby needs to stop this hitting thing and understand talk is cheap…. but on the other hand…
      this charge should teach gabby to keep his damn hands to himself… and all those people saying they know him and he peaceful and so on, if he was charged for all those woman beatings reports made against him at worthing police station, many would be saying oh, there goes another one… sometimes things like this has to happen to show the bad side of us when we try to portray innocence and to teach us lessons… time was long overdue i say… this time the S/Sgt of worthing isn’t there to save him…

6. Former CBC Journalist has reported on her Facebool page the following:

‘There shall be no mercy,’ that is how Admiral says he is dealing with the alleged attack from Gabby, spoke to Admiral minutes ago and he said he filed a complaint at the Central Police Station and Gabby has been arrested, the incident happen around 9:30 pm, Admiral said the attack was unprovoked. Trying to get Gabby.

7. Its an unfortunate situation, I await to hear Gabby’s version of what transpired, if yuh could beat people for voicing their opinion, i would probably would get beat every week, several times a week

8. Here is what Admiral posted on his Facebook page a little while ago:

Let me say this for my facebook fans….GABBY the gender beater accosted me backstage at cohobblopot and destroyed my expensive shirt with his stupidity. It is clear that he enjoys using his hands when things are not in his favour.Women Beware!!!!! Gabby is very upset with me for saying that his song is not and will ne…ver be a CALYPSO.His peers feel that way too and thousands of Barbadians who I wished had the balls to tell him. GABBY seems very troubled by by statement about his song and his newly appointed title. It it true what the old people say”THE TRUTH HURTS”

9. I am no fan of Admiral, I was also annoyed regarding of his bashment of TC who was not responsible for the judges decision. However, let me put my views in perspective. Even though TC was announced winner of the Sweet Soca section, I agreed with her for not appearing on the final clash due to the behaviour of the crowds. And I disagree with the head of security with the NCFand even Admiral regarding the language of “Who should be the one responsible for stating they life in danger. The complainant or someone else?” Secondly, after Gabby’s win, he totally show his true colours by refusing to be interviewed. That is poor for a so called ambassador and a 9-time calypso king. I will say that if Gabby like all this beating, why not become a drummer since he can beat morning to night. And thirdly, don’t tell me about no provocation in this matter.

10. I love Gabbs & admire him for the musical contribution he has made to this country, but he had no right to lay his hands on Admiral. Yes, we are all human & we Err in our judgment, but Barbadians have to understand that this is a free country & everyone have the right to speak freely. If Gabbs had a problem with Admiral defaming his character, then he should have taken it to the Law Courts. Admiral is a Media Employee & I am sure that most Bajans watch American TV & see the talk shows. Admiral is no different from these people, he was doing his job & was exercising his constitutional right. I am saddened by the unfolding events. I am wandering if Bajans think that Admiral is an idiot? Do we really think that Gabby could whoop Admiral’s ass in a ring? Admiral was smarter that that. He took pics of his torn shirt & is labeled a victim & Gabbs the aggressor. I hope those who are laughing at Nelson & Glorifying Gabbs, will put up money to pay the fine or do the time for Gabbs. SHAME!!!!!!!!

11. I love the cropover season for the calypso singing, and the band costumes. What does this Admiral Nelson do????? Gabby should have remain above this talking “head.” Yet another useless media personality that thinks there is something more to their talk and play a song activity.

12. Thinkie Sweets Avatar

If Gabby assault Admiral he wrong no matter how stink Admiral is. Gabby wrong. I know we all lose our heads sometimes but there are some people who when they lose their head the whole country will notice…Gabby is one such person. He is human but he wrong wrong wrong man. Admiral don’t have many fans but we know what he does give. I would like to know wha really went down. Gabby had in drinks or wha? If it wasnt Admiral I would encourage de body to carry Gabby to de grind as one of Barbados’ Ambassadors and as someone who young people (not me) consider a role model. But knowing Admiral he will show no mercy anyway without prompting and encouragement. If Admiral provoke Gabby he wrong too.

13. Here is an interview with the Admiral on the matter. Admiral is not easing up!

14. After reading Gabbyโ€™s interview in the Nation I thought hmmmnn there goes a man who is thin skinned and thinks that he is beyond criticism. Everyone gets criticised and in the entertainment field more so. That a 62 year old man who was an official representative of Barbados would resort to violence to silence those who criticise him is very distressing

15. @David
      Of course he would not ease up. This is what admiral lives for. He is driven by a wish to be seen and heard at all cost, and Gabby gave into this need by responding to Admiral’s criticism. Now it is all about the Admiral the victim to keep the attention him, so that he can sell his opinion of Gabby’s and TC’s contribution to this years calypso competition. Without them he is nothing, and without this incident to garner the attention he so needs to frame his arguments he would be none wiser.

It is a really sad way to live I think. By christmas this will be dead, and Admiral will be alone once again, having to dream up yet another controversy from which he can be in the spot light, come 2011. Gabby made this year, light work for Nelson. Gabby should be shamed for being so easily used.

16. Say what you will Adrian CBC Festival Stage rating will be through the roof on Wednesday.

A sad occurrence indeed.

Of interest is how the Calypso stakeholders will react. Will they draw battle lines?

17. Gabby and Admiral is family. Bloodd thicker than water.

Anyhow Admiral had it coming eversince–Ask Poonka WHO NEARLY BUST HE ASS already. One is not condoning wrong doing and if Gabby broke the law , Gabby will face the consequences BUT sometimes things will happen to trigger change and Gabby has always been a change agent.

Admiral got a whole radio station 94. 7 and he aint play no 2010 music —what a hypocrite and pun the radio talking shite about people music.–Ask Fingall (hint). Any where else in the world more serious things woulda happen to the pirate Admiral Nelson–like a big lawsuit.

This thing gwine get more ignorant cause the people in the media doing shite –not playing people music and talking shite all the time. ARTISTES NEED TO SUE THESE PEOPLE FOR TALKING SHITE ABOUT THEIR MUSIC.

After artistes spend money to produce songs , they not playing the music and talking foolishness. Somebody got to do something about the lack of airplay—-15 radio sataions and they picking out 15 songs and playing them over and over again and saying that them cant play all and a bunch of shite.

They got DJs taking payola: A man pay a DJ money to play a song and the DJ play the man song once . These stinking things now in CROP OVER all because people getting selfish and Greedy.

I believe that in a competition, nobody should be critiquing people’s songs like what Admiral was doing on TV–he and Elizabeth Watson and Cleve Scott—-(all non-.Barbadians) were doing during the competition. This matter should be like a court case–no comments until the competition finish.

This year, Admiral Nelson tried to destroy TC, -the MC from Allstars—Jennifer, all the artistes whose music he aint playing -and now Gabby . Since 2004, Admiral say he aint care about calypsonians and have refused to play local music, playing shite pun 94.7 everyday—old American shite music like a sexual song called ==’ my big guitar’ and then got de gall to critique people music——-ADMIRAL IS A HYPOCRITE !!!

Dont let me talk about PIRATING !!!!!

18. If Gladstone Holder was alive he would beat “Admiral” Nelson too, for brutalising the English language.

If Gabby was not provoked, then I will make him (Gabby) pay for “Admiral’s” English lessons.

That would have a wonderful outcome for Gabby, who would have to create more music to be able to afford Nelson’s lessons;it would keep “Admiral” off the air for a long time, since he needs a lot of work to get his English up-to-speed; and it will keep the public happy since we love Gabby’s music and loathe “Admiral’s” tirades and bad English.

19. Adrian. This one is above you. You simply ain’t got a clue with this fracas, however, if Gabbs wrong, he wrong regardless if words started the melee. Gabbs loves to beat.

20. Admiral is a reflection of a certain “type” we have in Barbados who does nothing to promote crop over, every year he comes with the same negative criticism of those involved in festival rarely does he offer a solution. Even though Gabby is appears to be wrong this action was long over due many of us wanted to punch him and trust me if a dark alley presented it self Admiral would have got some serious licks long time ago, not for speaking ill of people but for the many wrong & dishonest act he has comments against may. He’s not a nice person, and if you want take a about gender beaters he too is one, but of course he represent a certain type that there design is only to pull down our race not up lift it. Show an Indian or White on TV pulling down there own. Even though Gabby appears to be wrong I have no sympathy for Admiral a man with a long history of try to distroy people…I say cast to the LIONs

21. Tell me Why // August 2, 2010 at 9:14 AM

Adrian. This one is above you. You simply ainโ€™t got a clue with this fracas, however, if Gabbs wrong, he wrong regardless if words started the melee. Gabbs loves to beat.
      ==========================================

I don’t agree. I just listen to Admiral’s interview and I am correct in my views of Admiral. The young lady ask him why it is, every year he is involve in controversy?

Babbsy a canadian Bajan stated a very old truism about songs made for the local audiance not being readily accepted by the north american west Indian audiance and Admiral takes her to task for this.

I leave folks like you to carry on about the obvious and the simple. Striking someone is illegal, I do not have to add anything to that, you obviously see a need too.

For me cropover needs calypso, it can do without talking “heads” like the Admiral. His nick name frames his behaviour over the years.

22. @Kissmya
      The artists needs to embrace islandmix.com, bajantube.com and other such sites and forget about the radio stations. I do not listen to any Bajan radio and I am up on all the calypso this year, last year etc.

23. Baffled Student Avatar
      Baffled Student

As young person I am baffled at your comments!! Admiral was simply doing his job! What is so hard for us to understand? We want to beat another man because he speaks his mind? Can I beat my teacher because she says I am not paying attention to my work and I am lazy? Again you adults baffle me? What hope is there for me learning from you all? As far as I am concerned, everyone of you are HYPOCRITES too!

24. well this was the same gabby who sang on kid site’s unfortunate experience with his parents.

same gabby who said he was the only horse in the race while the others were donkeys.

the man is talented but totally lacks class

25. Winston Clarke Avatar

There is no doubt that Admiral’s Festival Stage helps to fuel the festival and generate interest. Experience has taught me that musicians and entertainers hate to be criticized. Admiral has as democratic as right to voice an opinion; the benefit of the airways to voice these opinions does not confer on any one the right to be violent towards him. CBC would do a considerable disservice to the festival and this country if Admiral were removed.

26. What is interesting about this matter is we have the Calysonians grumbling behind the scenes that Gabby’s 2010 songs are not of the Kaiso genre. Then we have those with a bottle-up resentment for Admiral over the years because of his outspokenness.

The days and weeks ahead should be interesting. Gabby punching Admiral although wrong must be viewed against the background of the machinations of recent years.

27. @Tell me Why

If I was Gabby I would refuse to be interviewed too. He said the ONLY person he would talk to is Denis Johnson. Would you want to be interviewed by people who lambasted you all season? When you didn’t have anything they blistered you and then want to get an interview when you get a crown?

28. I went to the finals. I was not pleased with the decision, but I accepted it. What has really soured me is the media after blitz with gabby and TC.

Calypso contests are a popular art form. The audience has a right to express its approval/disapproval of a result (within limits of course.) I clearly don’t meet gabby’s and tc’s standards in terms of my right to express an opinon on the music. So you kow what I will stop going to the show.

Again, the nation, with wade gibbons as the front this time, simply acts as a mouthpiece for which ever cause it favours. I will soon stop buying that paper.

29. Would be amusing if the powers that be at CBC tell admiral not to talk about the incident on the show, inform him that it’s not his personal soap box (though fat chance of that). Let the law deal with it and consider the matter closed. Snuff the hype before it gets admiral more air time.

30. My intelligent agent is disappointed the two of them did not knock each other out … permanently…no? That would be two Wrongs makin’ Right decision..no?

31. @Technician who wrote:

It just goes to showโ€ฆwhether Reggae, R&B, Soca etc. People and NOT the music is to blame.
      ================================================================

I don’t see how you can say that considering the powerful effect that music and lyrics have on the psyche of human beings. The problem lies with both the behaviour of some people and lyrical content of some songs.

32. Widout reading all de comments, I would love to get my han pun Gabby fa hittin my man de Admiral. Gabby is a real klown.Sing or sing not, he is a klown.I did nevva like he.

Admiral, dis is you girl Ms.Copy-rite. And I still love you wid all my hart. Doan min’ de critics. You is keep it real

When I call home and hear dat Gabby win de crown, I did feel hurtzzzzzzzzzzz. I can’ stan Gabby fa shoite.

(N.Y nice n cool man)

33. Bajan Tube does not pay royalties ; radio stations do.

And this is where the shite in local music started with people like Dennis Johnson, Ronnie Clarke, Admiral Hinds, Thesia Hinds, Hurricane John Doe , Mix 96 , Slam AND THE REST censoring people music —because only certain people’s music is to play,
      Bare shite gwine on bout hey and um had to blow up sometime

Radio station people are –cultural -criminals !!!!!

34. Yes KISSMYA

Shite shite shite.. bring back Prime Minister A’tur …nah?

35. @Baffled Student
      The law will take its course, I aint about that, the police do not need my help, and I do not need to go on about the obvious and the simple, regarding the altercation.

Ask these jokers what pre competition rules did Gabby break by singing a song that is different from all the rest? Maybe if they would attempt to set themselves apart by taking advantage of the rules or lack thereof and come with a song that centers a bit more on one of the several music forms from with Calypso is derived they too would have had a better chance at winning. What is calypso???? they need to answer this and maybe their creativity would lead them to the crown.

@Winston
      I think the reality of Admiral Nelson’s involvement in Cropover is soaked in controversy. We can do without it and him.

@Anon
      Calypsonians do battle with each other through their songs. It is a historical fact that calypso was use to poke fun at authority figures.

36. Bad man sayin nuttin Avatar
      Bad man sayin nuttin

I despise Admiral. I think he is a self-righteous pompous person with an over inflated value of his own worth. Despite that you can’t always discount the message because of the messenger.
      Admiral only saying what a lot of Bajans thinking.

That Gabby was not the winner on Friday night.
      That a lot of shite being produced and played by Dj’s because it benefits them.

For years judges have had an elitist view towards the competition when it suits them. They do believe that they are superior intellectually and therefore they make unpopular choices which they justify on the flimsiest of technical criteria. Like Gabby winning this year. Like TC beating Nahtalie last year. Like Rita beating John King. Like Edwin winning while he was too hoarse to sing. Like Observer not winning with scratch attack. Lots of people have won the crown who shouldn’t have and they have been told so.

Who is Gabby that he can’t be told so?
      Who is Gabby that he can’t be booed?
      Who is TC that she can’t be booed?

The Brazil football team got booed. Real Madrid got booed. The Yankees get booed. The Patriots got booed. All at home by their OWN fans because they were displeased by the standard of performance. 50 and 60 thousand at a time booing and waving white flags in some cases. The Dixie chicks got booed for a whole year. Lebron James getting booed.

A crowd has a right to express its displeasure as long as it is not violent.
      Admiral has the right to express his displeasure.
      Gabby did not have the right to hit him. If we could hit every body we didtn like or say something unflattering about us it would be the wild wild west.

Oh and one more thing the battle between the slow calypso and the fast one that all sorta idiots say should never happen because it disadvantages the slower song, it came off in the Peoples Monarch and the slower song won. Y’all forget “Sak Passe” win a Road March and what “Something Happening” did last year? If the song sweet whether fast or slow it got a chance. There was nothing wrong with the concept of a soca royale showdown. TC should have come out and performed for her fans and take the beating that Blood would have put on her like a woman.

37. There are few Calypsonians that I purchase their music, nuh lie. Gabby tops the list. LOL!

WHO GABBY THINK HE IS.

38. Some fool here wrote:

The artists needs to embrace islandmix.com, bajantube.com and other such sites and forget about the radio stations. I do not listen to any Bajan radio and I am up on all the calypso this year, last year etc.
      ================================================================

What a stupid statement. This fool expects the Barbadian public to enjoy the music of our festival by sitting in front of a computer each day clicking here and clicking there, and typing here and typing there. That may suit you up there in Boston pal, but we want to hear our music as we drive around in our cars, when we go to the rumshops for a drink, and just about everywhere we go on the island. That has always been, and will continue to be, the most efficient and convenient way for the music to reach the masses dude.

@Tell Me Why

You are right. That guy AH really doesn’t have a clue about what’s going on. He just “types”.

39. A person has to make choices and be prepared to accept the consequences.

If Gabby beat up Admiral and he has to go to jail it should be worth it to him.

I gine write a calypso titled “Barbados,a nation of hypocrites”.

When I was a boy 50 years ago, fighting and violence was common place and nutten en change because it is the nature of the ungodly (right GP?). Gabby will now join a few big ups in the beating category except is a man he beat.

As an aside, all the calypsoes I heard so far this cropover are lame,sub standard crap.

Think about last year (Red Plastic Bag’s “Something happening” and his songs this year.

I hope they will be inspired to produce the top quality material they are capable of next year so Gabby won’t win just by singing something “different”.

40. If Gabby had done with Admiral comments what I do or is it what do not do with ATMAN comments, he would be walking with his head held high and Admiral would not be billing his wednesday show as the best one of the year. LOL!

41. DID ANYONE WHO IS COMMENTING WITNESS THIS ALTERCATION.?DOES ANYONE KNOW WHAT ACTUALLY HAPPENED? wHERE BACKSTAGE DID THE ALTERCATION TAKE PLACE? WHY ALL OF THE STRONG COMMENTS WHEN WE HAVE ONLY HEARD ONE SIDE OF THE STORY? TIME WILL TELL.

42. de calypsonians will have nuff songs to write bout all this action next year, that is all i have to say.

43. Many of todays pop culture artiste got their break via social media and the willingness to self promote; be it via their own website or some social gathering website.

On the local front, Joseph Niles popularity did not come about from radio stations, it had its beginning in his willingness to walk the length and breath of Barbados to sell his works. Social media makes that task a little easier.

44. he deserve what he get , he always bad mouthing everybody , so what goes around comes around , from the time i was small admiral had a dirty criticizing mind and he aint change it at all

45. Given the comments on this story it seems that people think Gabby is wrong but Admiral deserved it (the sobriquet โ€œAdmiralโ€ is puzzling but thatโ€™s not the subject of discussion) . Guess what folks – all of us are stating an opinion it doesnโ€™t mean its right or wrong it is just an opinion. If you disagree with me does that give you the right to attack me physically? Gabby has been around a long time and by now should have been able to withstand any criticism of his work, his resume should speak for itself. He canโ€™t be wrong and right at the same time, but there are other allegations here about his penchant for beating others so perhaps it canโ€™t be helped.

46. WHO GABBY REALLY THINKS HE IS to go & assault DJ Admiral Nelson backstage at the Cohobblopot show? I didn’t know what really happened until mom told me about it this morning. And from reading different comments on the same incident, I believe it was wrong for Gabby to take what happened to TC & the Big Show tent to heart in order to go & do somehing stupid to Admiral. I am not saying it is wrong to be sympathetic of these things but as an artist you can’t do that. As a staunch Red Plastic Bag enthusiast I am not a big fan of Gabby but I love his music nonetheless. Take what happened between both of them 25 years ago when Gabby took his song “Culture” which he wrote for Gryner & made Bag nervous when the man from the East forgot the 3rd. verse in his song, “You Should Know Better”. Perhaps, the title of that song should be made for Gabberts himself as he is mostly known for jumping in the competition at the very last minute & assaulting his opponents in order to win the crown. Gabs, boy, you really need ‘chrissening’. Edwin Yearwood should probably do the job when you’ll be bawling “Aiie!! Aiie!! Aiie!! Aiie!!” after the demons are being released from your soul.

47. @ sexy slims. I definitely agree with you. Even Kid Site will jump back in competition as well and lash out at his mentor, the Mighty Gabby.

48. @Adrian Hinds

You are forced to either ignore my comments or agree with me…uh mean, anything else is futile. When you type nonsense I will call you to account pal.

49. Atman // August 2, 2010 at 11:41 AM

@Adrian Hinds

You are forced to either ignore my comments or agree with meโ€ฆuh mean, anything else is futile. When you type nonsense I will call you to account pal.
      ========================================

Today is suffer the fools day. Whatever rocks your boat.

I don’t ever ignore your comments. I am always in agreement. LOL!

50. Since Assmiral likes to be so judgmental, does he come with positive suggestions?
      If yuh don’t have nothing good to say keep yuh mout shut!!!!…..at some point yuh mout does get yuh in trouble…..keep on that track and you will not only get a cuff…..enough said..