Mighty Gabby, Calypso King
Tony 'Admiral' Nelson

At a time when the country is struggling with indiscipline, the gun incident between Minister David Estwick and former Attorney General in the highest court of the land would not have helped. This matter remains outstanding several months after the incident occurred. The latest is that the matter has been referred to the Committee of Privileges by the Speaker of the House. Yet another matter buried to fade with time by our politicians.

Late late night the news broke that the 2010 Calypso King of Barbados was engaged in an altercation with CBC Radio Personality Tony โ€˜Admiralโ€™ Nelson backstage at Cohobblopot, Kensington Oval. It seemed inevitable that something would snap among Crop Over stakeholders after the booing incident at Bushy Park last weekend. The crowd showed its displeasure at Terencia โ€˜TCโ€™ Coward being declared one of the winners.ย  TC reacted in an unprecedented manner by forfeiting her right to participate in the face off with Anderson โ€˜Bloodโ€™ Anderson giving up her chance to win a car!

Pictures (only) compliments of Peter Boyce’s Facebook page.

It is no secret that Admiral Nelson blamed TC for for acting irresponsibly in the matter. He voiced on his show Festival Stage last week that because TC had admitted to having doubts about the face off part of the soca competition it convinced him she never intended to compete. It seems from the Mighty Gabbyโ€™s comments in the media he has taken Admiralโ€™s criticism of TC to heart. The fact Admiral has been critical of his two competition songs would not have helped matters. Based on reports posted on Facebook the two got involved in an altercation backstage during the Cohobblopot Show. Details remain sketchy but it has been suggested that Admiral has referred the matter to the police and the Mighty Gabby had been arrested. BU will update this matter as more details come to hand.

A couple days ago popular Video Blogger Babbzy posted a scathing attack about her experience as a guest on Admiralโ€™s show on her Website โ€“ here is the link, go to the sidebar on the left of the page, search for the video Babbzy Vs. The Laymans, she uses a few choice Bajan expletives!

It seems to BU that Admiral has increased his rhetoric this season and something was bound to happen as a consequence. We can only hope that cool heads prevail and the festival is not further soured by the incident.

275 responses to “Altercation Between 2010 Calypso King Mighty Gabby And Tony ‘Admiral’ Nelson Backstage Cohobblopot Show”

1. You are quite right that the truth must be proved, hence creating a problem for the defense i.e. to prove the truth.

However, as far as I am concerned ‘IF’ the truth is proven, dont see much issue.

For example.

Supposing my neighbour Mr ‘X’ is a preacher, by profession. Supposing he and I always had quarrels about land space and boundaries.

If I see him one day in his patio, practising say, devil worship and burning candles and thing, then publish it, I wil, shock his poor congregation, cause them to run from the congregation, injure his reputation and earnings.

If I do not have evidence to support my claim, it will surely be malicious and a falsehood. Open to a libel action.

However, If I have a video of him screaming the name of lucifer and lamenting at the candles and incense, I think I have a pretty solid defense, would you not say?

Even if my action was malicious.

But, as you say, proof is the issue.

2. @Com-Vision,

The protection of intellectual property should be done via legal means in the law, possibly by injunction etc. Not rocket science there.

3. @Adrian Hinds,

Your comments are interesting.

In terms of defamatory statements by Admiral, are you referring only to the first part of the statement on his facebook page??

“GABBY the gender beater accosted me backstage at cohobblopot and destroyed my expensive shirt with his stupidity. It is clear that he enjoys using his hands when things are not in his favour.Women Beware!!!!! ”

If so, what part of this do you think is defamatory? What exactly is a gender beater?

What happens if Admiral removes this statement from his page, if he has not already done so, and denies that he ever wrote it?

4. @ Crusoe
      “The protection of intellectual property should be done via legal means in the law, possibly by injunction etc. Not rocket science there.”

You have a point, but here enters provocation, so in essence the person claiming to be victim was really the attacker, and the attacker the victim. The victim gets to the legal straits first, but since the law of equity says who comes to equity must come with clean hands, the waters become really muddied. Let me here legal opinion rather than common sense. I thank you for your insight though Crusoe.

5. BU was the first to post a comment to Admiral’s FB page this morning. We asked if he was pressing charges and we dropped the link to this blog. It appears Admiral was offended by the question, the link or both because we just checked and didn’t see the comment.

6. Sometimes you people on this blog make some good comments and sometimes you comment as though you were drinking. Today seems to be the latter for a lot of you, Admiral Nelson has a right to speak his mind as does anyone, within the frame work of the law. I applaud Admiral for his frankness even when he knows it will be unpopular. Unfortunately we have alot who complain and talk in the dark , just as we are doing here. Admiral has a radio and tv show, if anyone disagrees with his comment , then take him to school on his show. I am sure he would welcome the challenge. Whatever your issue is with Admiral or anyone you don”t like or agree with,. violence should never be an option. A lot of you seem to condone Gabby:s behaviour based on your dislike for Admiral”s ability toi speak his mind. I am happy however that the LAW disagrees with you .

7. Bajejun it seems as though you were present during the altercation therefore you would make a good witness.Why was Admiral backstage with Gabby was he in the middle of an interview then he should have a tape or a film of the altercation .I heard that there is neither tape nor film.Why was he there?

8. @ bullheads
      Admiral is part of the media, most media persons are allowed backstage. Security was there If he was not supposed to be there he would have been stopped.

9. Both Gabby & Admiral need to act their age and not their shoe size.

It’s embarrassing that these 2 grown men are acting out like school boyz. Chupse.

10. Backstage with Gabby. Why?

11. @bullheads,

What makes you think Admiral was backstage WITH Gabby? Why was Gabby there? Was he performing?

12. If he was near at pick of the crop judging okay but at the pot .I am just trying to understand if he was in the course of work.

13. The King always performs at the pot and the news report stated that the altercation took place right after Gabby had finished performing backstage.

14. seriously now for all of you that think that Admiral deserved the beating ,EXCELLENT, you now join the rank of cavemen in these times i still cant believe people think that abuse in any form is right no matter the recipient . Gabby needs to deal with his personal issues and keep his damn hands to himself .Admiral has his opinion and is free to voice it as he pleases any of you who thinks other wise only has to be brave enough and go hit the man for his mouth and end up before the lawcourts too .foolishness aint sense .what if i kicked the crap out of some of the people who wrote these stupid comments

15. @ lil……
      In the law courts a man is still innocent until proven guilty.We will await the truth .

16. The way things work in this country nothing will become of this, there will be third party involvment and all will be kept quiet

17. Sticks and stones can break my bones but words should never never harm me. It is disgraceful that a former cultural ambassador should resort to physical activity as appose to a lyrical response. Mighty Gabby should be DETRHRONED as an example to the youth that there is a consequence for not understanding that conflict resolution does not involve physical activity against the opponent. It would be interesting to see the outcome of this scenario. Hope like this blog it does not go “Underground”….. I await in anticipation.. Ashe Ole!!!!

18. Listen to me, I think some of you are over analysisng this thing. Gabby put his hands on Admiral! Provoked or not, angry or not, Nothing, justifies one person laying his / her hands on another! It is really that simple. While I pay no attention to Admiral, all need to realise that once you speak from your mouth you are excersing your right as a human being to do so. So no matter how angry you all are at admiral because he makes his opinion know, you all need to consider that it is just that, HIS OPINION!!!! I’m sure some are actually quite envious that he gets to tell ppl all day, everyday what he likes and dislikes, but you know what, that is the nature of h is job. Talk show host do it all over the tv and nobody says a damn thing, so why make his look controversial, when he is just telling you what he thinks? Seems a little strange to me! Hmmmm…………….

19. do you know if he struck Gabby first

20. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
      Jeff Cumberbatch

@AH,

I am afraid that you are incorrect this time. Once it can be proven, truth or justification is a complete defence in civil defamation. Even if you told the truth with a malicious motive, as often happens.

@Com-vision,

Your argument about the protection of one’s intellectual property is a clever one, but for starters the means employed to protect property must be commensurate with or prportionate to the infringement.

In any case I have some difficulty in wrapping my mind around a suggestion that INTELLECTUAL property could be harmed by trenchant criticism, thus allowing its owner to defend it. The infringement of intellectual property normally comes through unlicensed use, such as infringement of copyright. Criticism comes with the territory.

21. Admiral is no different from all of you here who are just simply giving your opinion, the difference is that its his job to do so and unfortunately he got hurt on the job LOL. Lets see how this plays out once Gabby has a chance to give his side of the story and I say that without picking sides or saying that he was wright. I would also like to say that alot of questions that John Public would like to ask and also alot of would like to say, Admiral is the one who would ask and the one who would say so respect is due to the man for what he does.

22. There are more questions than answers.Did Admiral have a legitimate pass for the night in question for backstage?If not was he trespassing.Only time will tell .Pappy say a fisherman would never say he fish stink.He also said a hungry man will eat a police boot.

23. Jeff Cumberbatch // August 2, 2010 at 8:09 PM

@AH,

I am afraid that you are incorrect this time. Once it can be proven, truth or justification is a complete defence in civil defamation. Even if you told the truth with a malicious motive, as often happens.
      ========================================

Not so fast Jeff two things.

1: Please interpret and present in layman terms, section 7. 2 and 8.2 of Barbados defamation act 1997

2: Please give us a local case where there was a sucessfull use of the defense of truth clause as contained in our laws.

24. whistling frog Avatar

I really dont know why all o wunna fretting soo,,,,,,,,Like one o dem is gods or whatever,,,like de saying go Yuh can tek de monkey out de jungle but yuh cant tek de jungle out de monkey ,,,,HEEEEE HAAAW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

25. This is hilarious…Everyone has an opinion but I don’t see those who dissagree sharing licks. Like Classic said “I wasn’t there”. Two egos and one big mess. Shame on both of them….

26. Admiral is making an idiot of himself by displaying contradictory behavior on the interview on Caribfyah tv. He said that twelve thousand persons canโ€™t be wrong by saying Gabby should not be calypso king and eight persons right. If they think we are idiots. What are you saying Admiral? That the crowd was selected to make the decision at the stadium. No! It was the eight judges who were selected to make the decision. They made it and therefore Gabby is the calypso king. It maybe unpopular but he is still the king. Like the goal scored by England but was denied by linesman and referee as no goal.
      Admiral can voice his anger at Gabby winning but he must on Public TV show some level of responsibility and admit that it was an organized competition with judges and their decision is final.

27. This is hilarious…Everyone has an opinion but I don’t see those who dissagree sharing licks. Like Classic said “I wasn’t there”. Two egos and one big mess. Shame on both of them. Let this play itself out in the courts…We will soon know the truth.

28. @ Fair Play…I hear you and though I could agree with you, and I do know you know better. Admiral was making a point. The Judges made their choice but doesn’t crop over exist because of the people. If no one goes out to the events then there would not be a crop over to begin with. So the people does have some input…I was listening on VOB and the announcers were stunned as well. They were looking for AC or Blood to win the crown. AC second sound was melodious and spoke of the issues of the day while making a play on Plastic Bag…That is calypso. Maybe there is a place for Gabby’s sound in the future as the craft evovles. Next year if someone comes with an R & B overtone what would we say then. Come one now…lets call a spade a spade.

29. @Brutus

I had initially base my opinion on the content of Anthony Nelson’s comments contained in his interview with Caribfyah.

Jeff Cumberbatch has opined that I am incorrect that the defence of truth clause in the Barbados defamation act of 1997 gives a “complete” defence in civil defamation cases.

Now I look through the entire act and cannot find such a discription as “complete defense” I see “absolute” and “qualified” defenses under privilages as insurmountable defenses against an action of defamation. But I know Jeff will set me straight. ๐Ÿ™‚

30. @Jeff Cumberbatch

Just to say thanks for the insight. I fully accept your word. You know your beans very well.

31. Can someone please tell me what is Calypso? Anthony Nelson contends that Gabby’s song “ole ashe” is not calypso and will never be calypso” He further suggest that many Barbadians are of liked mind for he believes that if there was a crowd response criteria Gabby would not have not have won. So if you are one of those Bajans to whom Anthony Nelson refers, please tell me ” WHAT IS CALYPSO?”

32. Admiral is an idiot !!! When TC get boo, Admiral get on Festival Stage and talk about the judges, and how there was criteria etc.

Now that Gabby wins, he is suggesting that the monarch should be the one that is most popular. This is part of what he said on the interview on Caribfyah tv. “Monarch, ruler of the people..the man who reigns, the man who governs, the man who is favourite among his subjects. Honestly, ask yourself – Is Mighty Gabby, the person that should have been chosen to win the title?…It is about the populace of this country. It is about you saying to me that 12,000 people foolish and only 8 sensible. Joke.”..

Based on what he is saying, TC should never have won her crown cause she certainly wasnt the most popular.

33. Abby
      Donโ€™t you feel that admiral is insulting the intelligence of the judges? When he said that ole ashae is not a calypso.
      They would not select me to judge the calypso competition because I do not have a clue about judging calypso. Those persons must have some level of competency in judging calypso to be selected .They must know the difference between R&B, Jazz, reggae and calypso. They normally read out the judgesโ€™ qualifications and they are all qualified for judging this type of competition

34. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
      Jeff Cumberbatch

@AH;

The interpretation of sections 7(2) and 8 (2) requires an appreciation of the position before these sections were enacted.

Previously, if there were a series of imputations, e.g if A were to call B a liar, a thief, and a homosexual… B could choose to sue A for defamation in respect of any accusation that he knew A could not prove and B would succeed even though A could have proven that the other two accusations were true.

Now, according to section 7 (2), even if B brings his action in respect of one charge (“in respect of the whole or part of any matter published…) A can now seek to prove the truth of the other two (“of any of the charges contained in such matter…) and, provided that the end result does not “materially injure B’s reputation, (considering what is proved to be true and what is not) then the defence of truth will be made out and A will win.

So if B sues in respect of “liar”, which is not proven; and A can prove that B is both a thief and a homosexual, it may reasonably be considered that B’s overall reputation is not materially injured. Of course, some may differ on this assessment, but I hope that you get my point.

Section 8(2) is to the same effect in respect of the defence of fair comment, once you grasp the point that this defence requires the person relying on it to establish the truth of the facts on which his comment is based. Previously, all these facts had to be proven as true.

Now, once the facts proven to be true provide a basis for the comment, it is irrelevant that ALL the facts he purported to rely on are not proven to be true.

I hope that I have been clear.

I am afraid that I am unaware of any local case where a defence of justification/truth was successful but we do not have that many reported cases on defamation as a whole.

For a case where justification was successfully pleaded, see ALEXANDER v NORTH EASTERN RY. CO. (1865 ) 122 ER 1221.

35. @ Fair Play

I agree. The problem with Admiral is that he feels he knows it all…

36. I think Gabby has a good defamation case against admiral.
      …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
      Adrian: Defamation my foot. You love to play devils advocate for popularity purpose, equivalent to the same Admiral. However, Admiral behave just like Simon Cowell. Have any of the American competitors assaulted him? No. These competitors use the criticism to be better persons. And BTW, I can say without mumbling that he is a woman beater way back from the 80’s. He was being fed, clothed, and given the opportunity to be under a roof. Yet, he beat and insulted a beautiful brown-skinned business woman morning and night. Ambassador my foot……he is more like a political parro.

37. Anyone who listens to the lyrics of Ole Ashay would understand why it IS a Calypso.

The word “Ole” is Brazillian and means ‘Ancestor’s Relic” though it is most commonly known as a phrase of approval. The word “Ashay” which is also spelt “Axรฉ” (with an accent) is an African-Brazilian word meaning spirit, or communal energy. It comes from the African Yoruba religion and is used in the Candomblรฉ and Umbanda religions meaning “soul”, “light”, “spirit” or “good vibration”.

As the name suggests, the song speaks about Calypso being a relic of our ancestors. The lyrics of the song explain the origin of the art form and tells the story of where it has come from the time of our ancestors to now. It then enlightens us of Gabby’s intention to revive the true ancestral relic, meaning the oooooold spirit of Calypso. The lyrics also show why the song has such a heavy Latin influence.

Verse 1 begins…
      In the old time days, the calypso was sung in a minor
      With a latin phase that emanated from Venezuela

Verse 2 explains that it started with the guitar and maracas. someone named “Atila” was first to bring violin, then Kitchener brought the horns to make it swing.
      Verse 2 goes on……
      Spoiler show Mello and Sparrow how de ting should go
      The two of them brought modern calypso

So he explains the evolution of the art from

Verse 3 says….
      Well a minor is a natural key to create emotion
      In the Calypso to make it flow like waves on the ocean
      Calypso today lacking in substance as you know
      So to my ancestors I had to go
      To bring back the Latino flavour in the calypso
      And help the culture tree to spout, yes, grow

I think the song explains itself quite nicely. Anyone wishing to question it’s authenticity would have to first do their own research and refute Gabby’s claim our ancestors originally developed calypso with a latin flare from Venezuela. The Caribbean isn’t the only place that had slaves from Africa, Latin America did too and a LOT of our musical influences are shared. “Ole Ashay” was rendered by the festival band and shows that the core instruments in Latin and Calypso are the same. When someone can brings proof that there is no ancestral linkage between Latin and Calypso I would then say that “Ole Ashe” is not a Calypso.

38. Now GoWeb, you now has thrown a spanner in the works. I do not think that admiral goes that deep.
      I was looking for the lyrics to the song and could not find them. You have given a little bit which shows Gabby is spreading information that was well researched. Now isnโ€™t calypso about spreading a message. Some calypsonians make the message so simple that Barbadians have become foolish and popularize ordinary nursery rhymes.

39. Anyone who listens to the lyrics of Ole Ashay would understand why it IS a Calypso.
      ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
      BTW. How can the judges score on lyrics without knowing what Ole Ashay mean. Was Wikipedia used whilst Gabby was singing? Was a Latin translator present? Lol.

40. Mike Sealy arranged this song.

Does anyone dare to suggest this man does not know kaiso?

On top of that does anyone suggest veteran Gabby does not know kaiso?

How can Admiral trump the two of these guys?

41. @Tell me Why
      You don’t have to know what “Ole Ashay” means to understand the song. That’s just a bonus. The lyrics spell it out fairly clearly.He might even have submitted the translation of the title when he submitted the lyrics.

42. @ David
      I know Mike Sealy personally, and believe me when I say that FEW people know Kaiso like Mike Sealy. You see, Mike Sealy isn’t an ordinary man and he doesn’t like ordinary music. He likes to push the limits and go beyond the status-quo without loosing the integrity of the music. You can ALWAYS tell when Mike Sealy arranged a song and I think this is just another one of those songs that will only be fully appreciated for the master-piece it is YEARS from now.

Also want to add that this is not the first time Gabby has used Latin influence in a Calypso. He has an old song that starts “Calypso is my music, ah goin use it”, which is also distinctively latin and people only hailed it as a masterpiece years after.

43. @Adrian Hinds who wrote:

I just wanted to be certain, cause de Atman thinks that the Artiste cannot do with radio airtime for their music. Barbados today has a growing clientel for their advertizing space, who are these bajan business people marketing their products and services too?
      ==============================================================

As they say, the higher the monkey climbs…(you know the rest). Can’t you see that not even David is lending any assistance to your view that websites can replace radio where Crop Over music is concern. I already told you that you are too far removed from this society to keep on pretending that you understand what is and what isn’t, and what should be from what shouldn’t be.

44. @Jeff
      thanks very much. I will come back to you on our defamation act later.

@Tell me why
      You had a chance to tell us about calypso and you blew it. LOL! I will never tell you stop blogging, but how does it feel to be 0 in 300? LOL!

@Goweb
      Thank you very much. Today on Festival stage face book page I wrote the following.

i live in a heavy Hispanic town in America. Can someone help me understand why I keep hearing calypso blaring in the Zuma class at the local YMCA run by by a hispanic fella who can barely speak english? Why is it that I can successfully shake a leg to salsa being a person raised on Calypso only? Who is Lord Shorty?

This is why I keep asking for a Admiral’s definition of calypso. It is so sad that Gabby got into an altercation with him. Admiral’s own ignorance alone could have been used against him.

If you just visit Trinidad’s government website on carnival and calypso you will see the history, and the changes that have taken place over the years.

45. GoWeb
      Can you post all the lyrics?

46. @Tell Me Why

AH plays devil’s advocate because he doesn’t have a clue what is going on and is trying to find out. He doesn’t even understand the laws pertaining to defamation of character, but he wants to dive into that realm with regards to this situation.

47. There is no official recording and the lyrics change slightly between the semis and the finals but here goes…..

Verse 1
      In the old time, the calypso was sung in a minor
      With a Latin phrase that emanated from Venezuela
      I come here tonight to render this sweet melody
      All you have to do is sing along
      I come here tonight to render this sweet minor key
      All you have to do is sing this song

Chorus 1
      When you here the drummer start to wail (Ole)
      When you here Calypso in detail (Ashay)
      When you here that rhythm start to fall (Ole)
      When you here the Spirit start to call (Ashay, Ashay, Ashay)

Chorus 2
      Big up ya Calypso (Ole)
      Everywhere you go (Ole)
      Let the people know
      Ya come from the land of rhythm and tempo

Big up ya Calypso (Ole)
      Everywhere you go (Ole)
      Let the people know

Verse 2
      Well in the old time days the Calypso was sung to a Cuatro
      With the guitar and the maracas to make / help it sweet for so
      Lion and Attila was first to bring violin
      Kitchener brought the horns to make it swing
      Spoiler taught / show Mello and Sparrow how de ting should go
      De two of them brought modern calypso

Chorus 1

Chorus 2
      Big up ya Calypso (Ole)
      Everywhere you go (Ole)
      Let the people know

Whether you’re Barbadian (Ole)
      Our Trinidadian (Ole)
      Vincentian, Grenadian

Verse 3
      Well a minor is a natural key to create emotion
      In the Calypso to make it flow like waves on the ocean
      Calypso today lacking in substance as you know
      So to my ancestors I had to go
      To bring back the Latino flavour in the calypso
      And help the culture tree to spout, yes, grow

Chorus 1

Chorus 2
      Big up ya Calypso (Ole)
      Everywhere you go (Ole)
      Let the people know

Flying fish and cou cou (Ole)
      Crab, bake and Callaloo (Ole)
      Sea egg on your menu

48. Just like most bajans I’m no fan of the Admiral either, but he should not have been physically assaulted for speaking his mind…no one should. End of story.

49. Muchacha – Crazy

50. In all honesty, i really am not a fan of the song ole ashae. however, i can appreciate its flavour. the blending of the music itself was sweet. when i first heard the music for it i said that was a winner. not because i liked it, but because the blend and twist was something that was unusual to our compettition. and we know gabby is a performer. and from what i hear (since i didn’t see it myself) gabby performed it well. i have always been a gabby fan. he has had some big hits in his time. some i liked, some i didn’t. and i still support him, but i do not support his attack on admiral. he let me down with that one.

now, i am not an admiral fan, he can be two mouthed when he is ready and don’t always have a clue what he is talking about. but i see the role he plays at this time of year. he will ask the questions that most of us would want to ask but seem afraid to ask. then we bash him when he does. with regard to him always being in the controversy …. there was that long before the admiral was at its core. all he does is point out the crap that happens and shows it to the people. every year i look forward to watching the show on tv. how many of you out there would have put wayne simmons on the spot and ask the questions admiral did? admiral reminds me of david ellis. he will always ask the important questions, even if they are not answered. we know why certain ministers hate to face ellis, just like certain others at cropover hate to face admiral.

now, at the end of it all, the judges decision is final. live with it. TC won. GABBY won.
      move on. i will end with this though ……. admiral was keen to point out that the bajan public was “not like that” when tc said she feared being attacked. here we have it, one week later. will admiral change his words now?